Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1534 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

1534 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

1534 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1267
4 stars
224
3 stars
16
2 stars
12
1 stars
15
1-20 of 1462 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1462 total reviews
1-20 of 1462 reviews
I'm Smitten
10/6/2012

Customer review by AmyinSF

5.0 stars 10/6/2012 by AmyinSF
by AmyinSF
Walmart associate

I'm Smitten! This is by far the coolest, most amazing vacuum I have ever used. I love it and so does my dog. It’s fun for me to use and its fun for him to chase. Every time I pull it out he chases it around the house and play bows with it as if it were another puppy, it’s pretty cute. For starters, it’s beautiful and so nicely designed. The shape is sleek, the pink is a hot color, and the size is compact so it’s not bulky and ugly. Most importantly it works so extremely well. I have owned my fair amount of vacuums by a variety of brands and this is by far the best I have ever used. The quality makes it totally worth the money spent because I know I won’t have to buy another for a long time. I know it’s kinda pricy but it’s so worth the money! It's such a quality item and you can tell that very smart people spent a long time thinking about each and every piece and why/how it works. Here is why I love it: The chord is super long, longer than any other vac I have used My house is a combo of hardwood and area rugs and moving from one to another is not an issue at all The carpets just look so clean; it really does a great job sucking up stuff, specifically dog hair I use and love every attachment it came with It picks up so much nasty stuff, it’s incredible. It’s easy to open and dump it out. It was extremely easy to set up and get going

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AmyinSF
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
More than expected!
12/20/2013

Customer review by DCarr

5.0 stars 12/20/2013 by DCarr
by DCarr

Having watched the Dyson Vacuum since it was first introduced, I was always very interested in the concept of the bagless machines. The Dyson looked the best but was priced higher than I wanted to pay for a vacuum. After trying a different manufacture of the bagless vacuum for a couple years I decided to spend the additional dollars and get a Dyson. The warranty and reputation were enough to justify the additional money if the Dyson preformed close to what it was projected to do. To my delight the Dyson has exceeded my expectations by a large amount. The Dyson suction is far greater than the other unit I used and the extraction of the dust from the air is fantastic. The one thing that I noticed early on is that there is no dust collecting on the outside of the Dyson after using it. The prior machine was always covered with dust after each time even though I cleaned the machine after each use. Our carpet is cleaner than it has ever been and the color has even come back. Thank you Dyson!

DCarr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
2/24/2014

Customer review by shakrr

4.0 stars 2/24/2014 by shakrr
by shakrr

I needed a new machine for my tile floors that I could turn off the brush, I only have carpet in the bedrooms. Pros this machine has lots of power and love the turning and ease of using and the bag-less feature is easy to empty. Cons I feel I have to wash the dirt off after emptying this cause I still see a lot in it and it looks to build up on the inside of the individual tubes inside. And trying to use the hose to use on the baseboards or fans is impossible to use due the amount of suction colasping the hose, the hose also seems to kink at the wand part no real handle and its awkward to use I can only use about three foot of the hose because the machine wants to roll to where I am at making it not usable on tile floors I can only use it on the stairs if I leave it at the bottom and pull the hose out to the top I have 60 days to return to sears where I bought it if not happy with it I might keep it and use my old machine for the baseboards and fans since it is a bad design for the hose

shakrr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
The "Animal" DC41
3/7/2012

Customer review by Aeonixx

5.0 stars 3/7/2012 by Aeonixx
by Aeonixx

This is my second Dyson vacuum. I bought the Animal when it first came out and I didn't think a stupid vacuum would make any difference to me what so ever. Big deal you push it around and hopefully it picks up last nights party, muddy feet, what ever. Vacuuming was a mundane task and me being the Cool stud that I am, I would never touch a vacuum. Until I bought that first Dyson Animal. My wife had to fight me for vacuuming rights! I loved that thing. Power, killer suction, easy to use attachments,no bag OMG the list goes on. My daughter just moved into her new house (she has two children) . Now I couldn't let those kids run around on a dirty floor and it was the perfect excuse to go but the DC42. So I gave her my old Dyson. It still runs like the day I bought it, perfectly. But the new Animal is a machine made in Heaven as far as I am concerned. Yahoo, I am very impressed and I am the cool stud that didn't give squat about a house cleaning tool. Ha Ha Ha Look at me writing a comment LOL

Aeonixx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Love my Dyson
1/19/2014

Customer review by CLB3

5.0 stars 1/19/2014 by CLB3
by CLB3

I got my Dyson for Christmas. I ask for one for 3 years and finally got it!!!! I LOVE IT!!!!! I am one of those people who loves to clean. I thought my old vacuum was the best until I used the Dyson. We had a dog (who went to a better place in May) and I used to vacuum almost every day. The dog hair that I got out of my carpets after using my Dyson for the first time I was so embarrassed. I use it about 3 to 4 times a week now and I am still picking up so much stuff. Since using the Dyson, we have notice that we do not have allergies systmons as we did in the past. I love the attachment to clean the ceiling fans and air vents. I don’t have to get a ladder or chair because the hose extends long enough to reach and is so easy to use. I can plug the 30 foot cord into a socket and do the whole house without out plugging it. Emptying it is a snap and the dust and dirt does not fly all over. At this time I can only say great things about it. I just pray it last as long as they say it will.

CLB3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Hard to get used to
3/21/2012

Customer review by kcpaull

4.0 stars 3/21/2012 by kcpaull
by kcpaull

The thing I like best about my Dyson DC41 Animal is it's weight. It's so light I can pick it up easily. It weighs less than one of my cats who's a real chunk who sheds a lot. Compared to other upright vacuums I've owned it feels like it's going to fall apart at any moment but since it hasn't and I've given it a thorough workout, I doubt that it will. I'm so used to those rigidly made monsters that weigh 30 pounds the DC41 feels like vacuuming with a transformer until you get used to the way the whole thing works. It certainly picks up cat hair like a charm. I have three cats and as spring is here they are all shedding like crazy and I can see just how much of their fur it's picking up. It's a little clumsy getting the hose out to use but once you get used to it, it's not so bad. I would recommend this to anyone. While it is very expensive, it comes with a 2 year complete warranty which you won't see in many other vacuums. It's also very quiet while running in comparison to other vacuums.

kcpaull
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
I just purchased my second Dyson
12/22/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/22/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have had my DC07 for a few years now and it's still running and in use. I decided to buy the new DC41 Animal Complete recently and am quite happy with it. There are just a couple of things that are needed on the new one. Even though the new Dyson has floor to carpet height adjustment, I tried to use it on my tiled floor and it did not clean quite as I expected. I used the floor attachment that came with this model and it did the job. The only problem while using the floor attachment, the hose could not extend enough. The hose kept pulling the vacuum along with it. Also, the extension on the hose is not long enough and does not have a handle like the DC07 model. This caused me to vacuum leaning over and it caused my back to hurt after I finished. Dyson should look into extending the extension and make sure that the handle can attach to the extension, and also, the hose needs to be able to extend without the vacuum pulling with it. Other than these items, the Dyson is a very good vacuum.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Expensive but worth it
11/4/2013

Customer review by DoesntLookDirtyToMe

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by DoesntLookDirtyToMe
by DoesntLookDirtyToMe

I vacuum the center. The wife dusts but had been taken in by those Dyson ads about balls and attachments. I wasn't. Our old top-rated vacuum was only 7 years old and had three lights - red, yellow, & green - to indicate carpet cleanness. I also wasn't sure that the see-through canister would remain see-through for long or be easy to dump. I was wrong. After vacuuming 2 feet in our clean-to-look-at dining room, I shut off the Dyson to marvel at the obvious accumulation of dirt. The canister was 1/3rd full with cat hair from our short hair and non-descript dirt from this one 11 x 11 room. The carpet looked a shade lighter. Two weeks later when I felt there just might be a need to vacuum again, the house still yielded 3 emptyings of dirt. The see-through canister is not only painless to empty but provides that visual validation that makes vacuuming worth while. You can't find a more powerful machine. Will there be anything left of our carpets after a year of Dyson? Will our cat be denuded?

DoesntLookDirtyToMe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent Product
3/28/2012

Customer review by kguare

5.0 stars 3/28/2012 by kguare
by kguare

I'm amazed at the power on this machine - it is extremely lightweight, yet it sucks up dirt that you would never know was there. It took me a while to finally purchase this machine as I was afraid of being let down or ripped off by really good commercials, but let me tell you, it was DEFINITELY WORTH THE MONEY. If you think your floors are clean, please vacuum your floors, then borrow this machine from a friend or family member and try it. You will not believe how much it will still pull up, even after you just vacuumed. One thing I absolutely love, besides the suction power, is the ability to go from one floor to the next without adjusting the height of the machine for different carpet types or bare floor. . . it is really easy to use this vacuum and I am so happy I bought it. I honestly can tell you, after going through a vacuum every year or two due to being ultimately unhappy with the machine, is that I will never by another vacuum that doesn't have the name Dyson on it :)

kguare
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Money Well Spent!
12/21/2011

Customer review by leeba

5.0 stars 12/21/2011 by leeba
by leeba

If you have ever wondered if you are getting your monies worth with a Dyson? You will. This is my 2nd Dyson. My first one was purchased seven years ago (and back then everyone thought I was crazy). It's moved across the country 3 times, picked up enough hair to construct at least 50 dogs, enough LEGOs to build a small town and still it kept on. I noticed over the last few weeks that it was making a funny sound, but otherwise seemed to work. But today it gave up the ghost. R.I.P Dyson 07. Today I went out and purchased the new DC41 and love it! It is so light weight and the carpet looks brand new. It pulled out all sorts of indention marks in the carpet. I can't believe all the dirt that was sucked up. I just vacuumed yesterday! The ball feature is great. It takes a little getting used to, but you'll love how much closer you can get to the walls and under the furniture. One aspect that Dyson really excels at is how easy it is to take apart if there are any issues/clogs. This is money WELL SPENT!!

leeba
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
should you invest in a dyson? yes
3/22/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/22/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

this Dyson is my 2nd actually, I bought one 6 years ago and it was actually given away because after SIX years it still works wonderfully.i bought a new one because I just wanted to try the ball one haha! I have 4 children a boy and girls & 2 dogs that shed A-lot! the price of this product is worth every penny, as a Dyson owner for going on 7 years now I can say there product is amazing. we gotta admit there's hardly anything that lasts anymore. this does! if you love those vacuum streaks in your carpet and that soft fluffy support you get when you first get a carpet this is the vacuum for you, because it will do this year after year, and no I don't vacuum every day not by a long shot I don't have time! but this product never lets you down and id never switch. I also have wood floors on the first floor, the fact that you don't have to pray everything like dust and hair gets sucked up is amazing, I don't have much time in my day and Dyson truly is my cleaning done easy!!

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Good product/terrible website instructions
4/7/2014

Customer review by SoCal

4.0 stars 4/7/2014 by SoCal
by SoCal

No complaints, only praise for the product itself DC Animal 41. It moves well (if you ride a bike or motorcycle you can handle this), cleans amazingly close to the edge of a wall, the head is low and vacuums under the edge of furniture nicely, fantastic suction, not too heavy though not exactly light weight (smaller ones are). The container is easily emptied and mine came with all sorts of attachments.....with no explanation as to what they are for and there are no real instructions to this thing. A couple of diagrams on how to put it together, but no words, that's it. I always feel like I'm breaking it when I put it in position to vacuum. Instructional video sent by Dyson via their website didn't work (along with not allowing me to register the vacuum, saying the number was ID # was wrong on the box) , pictures didn't answer questions regarding all the attachments. It would be nice if they just included a manual since I've now had difficulty with their website twice.

SoCal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Definately not the best dyson......
2/5/2012

Customer review by wonbyjc

2.0 stars 2/5/2012 by wonbyjc
by wonbyjc

This is my 5th dyson vacuum I have owned, and after using it for a few months, I decided to write a review, though I typically never do this, but I do read the reviews. I am glad I still kept my old dyson vacuum on top of buying this one. This one has some great features, it maneuvers around wonderfully and the filters are very easy to clean and its very sleek looking, however, it does not pick up the great at all to be honest. I have a long hair dog, only one in the home. I vacuum probably 2 to 3 times a day as I am pretty picky about hair and stuff, and with my Dyson DC 24 I only have to sweep over an area once, with this one, it is at least 2-3 times and then it sorta picks things up. I am not at all impressed with the suction power of this machine. My advice would be to buy an older animal dyson vacuum. This one also is a little more lightweight which is good. I have sworn by Dyson for a long time. My husband also says the same thing, it doesnt pick up too great at all. I am just trying to be honest.

wonbyjc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Dyson Animal does the job
12/14/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is my first ever Dyson. We have 2 cats and a hectic lifestyle. I purchased the Dyson Animal Complete and was not expecting too much. But this vacuum is the first one that actually gets up all the dirt and pet hair and other things that are on the floors. Prior to getting this vacuum, I would actually rake the cat hair off the carpets for a very long time. Then, with blisters, would use my standard vacuum (so you know how I felt about that!). The Dyson Animal Complete gets up All the pet hair/dirt without raking one bit. My carpets and floors never looked so clean - you can really see the difference. But best of all, my husband is able to breathe much easier since all the fur is up. He even vacuumed the drapes with the attachment and was astonished at all it got up easily. We next used another attachment on our bed spread. The Dyson Animal Vacuum is worth every penny we paid - and then some. I only wish I had bought this sooner....but at least I have it now!

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
DC41 Animal
11/18/2013

Customer review by MariaEsther

5.0 stars 11/18/2013 by MariaEsther
by MariaEsther

First and foremost, I would like to say that I am very impressed by the power and the ergonomic design of the vacuum. It is very easy to maneuver and it seems as if the vacuum could operate by itself. The instructions so as to assemble the machine are very simple, short and clear. The vacuum is very easy to clean and it can be put away or storage within seconds. I confess that I am obsessed with cleaning the house and I vacuum the carpet five days a week! I have a cat and I must keep the house tidy as much as possible for my husband is allergic to cats. So far, I cannot think of negative aspects of the vacuum at all levels (design, function, effectiveness, etc.). I have used other brands and by far Dyson is the best brand in the market at this time. I purchased it in October 2013 and although it is expensive, I have no regrets at all. This is my personal opinion and I am accountable for what I am writing. I would recommend this brand to anyone looking to buy a vacuum without hesitation (no doubts in my mind).

MariaEsther
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
I think my DC41 is AWESOME!
2/7/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/7/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I recently purchased a DC41. After years of using other brands, I was tired of vacuums that didn't work well on my hardwood floors and area rugs and were heavy and cumbersome to use. So I read a lot and talked with people who had a Dyson and finally bought one myself. I must say that this is the best vacuum that I have ever had. The suction is incredible. I have hardwood floors, tile floors and some area rugs and two large dogs who shed and a cat who sheds. The Dyson handles all of this with ease. I was stunned with how much it captured from the area rugs. I like the way it turns and moves easily across the floors. There is no leftover dusty smell after I use it. It empties like a dream. I find that this machine is much quieter than any previous vacuum that I owned. I have used the attachments and they work very well and are easy to use. The machine is light and easy for me to carry up my stairs. The cord is long enough for me to do a large area at one time. I highly recommend this product. You won't go wrong.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Convenient and Effective
3/31/2014

Customer review by wdrbbq

5.0 stars 3/31/2014 by wdrbbq
by wdrbbq

While not as light as I had anticipated, it's easy to use and quite maneuverable. I'm used to a canister machine, which means I'm used to dragging it behind me all over the house and quite often tipping it over while dragging it, clogging the filters. The Dyson was a new experience for me: nothing to drag and being able to get into tight spots with ease. It's the sports car of vacuums with unparalleled handling agility. Of course, all of this would be irrelevant without superior suction. I vacuumed the house with the old canister first and then the Dyson. The transparent dust bin showed me how much I had missed and was a snap to empty and remount. The extendable hose and attachments make it easy to get into areas high up without having to contend with the weight of the entire machine also. The only thing I would do differently, and I know it's difficult having to deal with more than one language, would be to give some written instructions for assembly assistance. With pictures only was a little confusing at times.

wdrbbq
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very Satisfied
12/20/2013

Customer review by dustbuster

5.0 stars 12/20/2013 by dustbuster
by dustbuster

Definitely has good suction and is great for getting up pet hair. Also lighter, quieter and much more maneuverable than other "traditional" vacuums we've used. If I could make recommendations for improvement, they would include some type of indicator light or other "alert" system to tell you when the "bare floor" mode has been activated. There is a button to press when you are using the machine on a bare floor but it is right next to the on/off button and it doesn't light up or anything to let you know you've activated it. So if you go back and forth a lot between carpet/rug and bare floor, you have to constantly be checking to see which mode you're in. But beyond that, I'd have to say I'm very pleased with the machine and its cleaning power, and happy, too that even though there is stronger suction than other machines I've used, the Dyson doesn't "suck up area rugs" like more traditional vacs that rely on fast-spinning roller brushes to create the suction.

dustbuster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
incredible customer service, great product
7/1/2013

Customer review by nickles

5.0 stars 7/1/2013 by nickles
by nickles

I bought my Animal when I moved to the Anoka Sand Plain and bought a house that formally had cats. The Animal took care of tons of cat hair. Then I bought a Cocker Spaniel that had a heavy coat and the Dyson was really put to the test. I groom my dog and always have lots of hair clipping that the Dyson can handle. 8 years latter I wondered if it was doing the job as well as when first purchased. I called the hot line and told them I was out of warranty. They told me that was not a problem and advised me how to check the filters. In 8 years I had never cleaned the B filter. It was really dirty. I figured since I was taking it apart I would apart completely disassemble the machine and give it a thorough cleaning. The Customer Service rep talked me through the procedure and gave me great hints. I am not a handy person but I was able to get my neglected machine in top working order. I have never had such a positive experience with a customer service program.

nickles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
There really is a difference ...
10/26/2013

Customer review by MiltNTX

5.0 stars 10/26/2013 by MiltNTX
by MiltNTX

We have been using the DC41 for a few months now and are extremely pleased with the performance and ease of use. The design of both the vacuum itself and the attachments is great. I am usually not a fan of vacuum-driven attachments (ones with little turbos inside that run brushes, etc) but the Dyson ones actually work! The DC41 Animal Complete package came with most everything we needed, except the dog groomer (would have thought the "animal" pkg would have that, huh?) -- I didn't think much of it, especially given the price, but after the first use on our shedding Husky I was sold. The only thing it needs is a hose extender so I can put the vacuum in another room while using it on the dogs - they just don't like the sound of a vacuum, even the relatively-quiet Dyson. Long-term reliability remains to be seen, but the general engineering quality is very good (I'm an engineer myself and can usually find flaws in every design -- so far none for the Dyson).

MiltNTX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
1-20 of 1462 total reviews
1-20 of 1462 reviews