Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

37 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

37 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
11
1-20 of 35 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Not a pet vacuum for me
9/11/2013

Customer review by VBLocal

2.0 stars 9/11/2013 by VBLocal
by VBLocal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased this to replace an ancient Dirt Devil that was being held together by duct tape. I have two dogs and a cat, so the "Pet" aspect appealed to me. Negatives:-doesn't pick up the pet hair no matter what pile setting I try. I think it picks it up, but then clumps get redeposited and spread around! It does pick up some hair, but just not nearly as well as my old vac. Also, the collection cylinder is very small, so I am constantly having to stop and empty. I personally don't like the design where I have to unsnap the cylinder at the bottom to open it (the old one was twice the size and you just unscrewed the top and dumped it). Positives: The product is modestly priced and very lightweight, and the hose feature has incredible suction. It does pick up dirt well and so might give to a friend or family member who doesn't have pets or large areas to vacuum. Delivery from Walmart was excellent.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VBLocal
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not worth the money
7/27/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/27/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this vacuum brand new used it twice and now it's stopped sucking through the bottom of the vacuum to where you can only use the hand attachment. I emptied the cup before it even got to the dirt line cup but it's clogged under the bottom portion of the vacuum so you have to take the whole thing apart to try and find the problem. the hoses are not clogged and I've only vacuumed 2 rooms of carpet. It's a piece of trash and now I have to go spend more money to buy something else. I will never buy another dirt devil again. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Frankfort, ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not what I hoped for.
3/5/2013

Customer review by reneegavin

2.0 stars 3/5/2013 by reneegavin
by reneegavin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really, really did not like this vacuum. It did, however, have 2 pluses, which is why it got 2 stars. It did a great job on carpets, and the attachable power brush worked GREAT on the steps, which is a first. However, that's where it ends. It is very heavy (my fault- I should have checked the weight). On my bare floors, it picked up the dirt and proceeded to shoot it out behind it. The hose constantly fell off of it's holder. The hose also continuously popped out of it's slot. I ended up returning this and buying a Shark Navigator Deluxe. So far so good.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reneegavin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great vacuum
3/30/2013

Customer review by kdjfskd8

5.0 stars 3/30/2013 by kdjfskd8
by kdjfskd8

I did not want to buy this vacuum as it "looked" cheap, but that's exactly why we ended up with it. It was on sale and in stock. We've had it for about a year now and I love it! It "steers" very smooth, empties easily, filters are very accessible and easy to clean, very user friendly. Pet cleaning tool works very well on hair. It has quite a bit of suction power, no need to go over the same area again and again. Would definitely recommend and our next vac will be a dirt devil too.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kdjfskd8
Madison
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Stop!!! It's a waste of time & money
12/9/2013

Customer review by Cherry2pointO

1.0 stars 12/9/2013 by Cherry2pointO
by Cherry2pointO

I bought this vacuum in July because I have 3 St. Bernard's and it was suppose to be good with picking up pet hair. At the beginning, it was great! It did everything it suppose to do with no problems. Then a month went by and the belt broke, for some reason my vacuum starts to smell like something's burning and when I turn it over I find out that my belt is broken time and time again. I'm only vacuuming hair and small pieces of dirt, so I'm not understanding what is going on (my old vacuum did better than this but after 5yrs I wore it out#. Two months later, the vacuum kept getting clogged up. I had to take the whole thing apart to get a little bit of hair. After battling this problem for 2 months. I notice that the suction wasn't as strong as when I first bought this. Now, the thing shuts off in the middle of vacuuming. I've had vacuums for longer this and never have I experienced these many problems. I believe in taking care of your stuff in order to have it last for a long time but it doesn't make a difference with this vacuum. This isn't worth the headache. I have kept this vacuum cleaned in and out #filters and all) I check the holes before using, and it looks brand new but doesn't hold up to it's purpose. I've decided not to be cheap and get a Hoover shoulder pro vac which if you're a clean freak like me..... IT CLEANS!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cherry2pointO
Ft. Washington, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
My second or third similar model
8/30/2013

Customer review by chacote

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by chacote
by chacote
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my second or third of the Dirt Devil 12amp vacs - They last me about 3-4 years- The performance meets all my needs -3 cats - so much hair, they think it is summer all year round - I have never had a problem with this vacc - they give you a 3 year warrenty- What else could you ask for ??Best $100 dollar vacc you can buy !!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chacote
Lakeport CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great vacuum!
2/8/2013

Customer review by dogcatowner

5.0 stars 2/8/2013 by dogcatowner
by dogcatowner
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It got all the dog/cat hair on the carpet and the rugs and more (dirt accumulated since the old vacuum could get it)

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dogcatowner
Newark
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Made my carpet look new again!
4/9/2013

Customer review by Lovestospenddacash

5.0 stars 4/9/2013 by Lovestospenddacash
by Lovestospenddacash
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I owned a Dirt Devil for 9 years and loved it. Then 2 years ago I decided to try a different brand *being cheap* the first time I used that vac I knew I had made a mistake so this time I decided to go back and I am so glad I did this vac is so powerful that it made my carpet (in the traffic areas) look refreshed as it does when I shampoo. It raised the crushed carpet and made it look new again. I Love It! It is sturdy but not heavy I believe it will last a long time just as the first one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lovestospenddacash
Indy,IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent!!
9/2/2013

Customer review by Crispin606

5.0 stars 9/2/2013 by Crispin606
by Crispin606
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent !! I thought it was going suck up my carpe! Very light to push around.. I bought this Dirt Devil.. because I have a carpet cleaner from Dirt Devil and it is also excellent also. great product!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crispin606
Woodbridge Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not great
11/21/2013

Customer review by manualfocus

2.0 stars 11/21/2013 by manualfocus
by manualfocus

I bought this in August and now in November it is no longer picking up pet fur. Going to see about getting it fixed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
manualfocus
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
You don't have to spend a lot...
3/3/2013

Customer review by GrandpaRick

5.0 stars 3/3/2013 by GrandpaRick
by GrandpaRick
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Did a goodly amount of research on-line, before purchase on line, very pleased with purchase, AND price

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandpaRick
Merrillville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disapointed
4/8/2013

Customer review by Beth1671

1.0 stars 4/8/2013 by Beth1671
by Beth1671

I have owned this vacuum for four months. It does have great suction, but the vacuum itself is falling apart. In four months my power button has broken off. Luckily it broke while the power was on, so now we just plug it in for power, but it is VERY annoying not to have a power button. This past weekend, one of the pieces on the side that hold the hoses broke off. Just broke, wasn't banged against the wall or used roughly. I use the vacuum 2 to 3 times a week and ever week I wonder what part will break off. I am very disapointed with this purchase. I don't like spending over $100 for a vacuum and have pieces fall off. 4 months I've owned it and I can't even turn it on!! I would not recommend this product. I thought dirt devil was a good brand that I could trust. That's not true.

Comment from Ian - 4/9/2013

Hi Beth1671, We can only imagine how annoyed you must be w/o that power pedal but we can have this repaired if you can get your Power Reach to a Dirt Devil Authorized dealer in your area. Please take the vacuum in as soon as you can so that we can take care of you. Thanks so much. http://dirtdevil.com/locator/

Beth1671
Springfield, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
Great for pet friendly homes
1/11/2013

Customer review by TheJollyRancher

5.0 stars 1/11/2013 by TheJollyRancher
by TheJollyRancher
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheJollyRancher
Oil Valley, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
awesome for dog hair removal!
3/24/2013

Customer review by LadyCeeJay

4.0 stars 3/24/2013 by LadyCeeJay
by LadyCeeJay
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this is a very outstanding dirt devil! and it really picks every dog hair up and than some. it's way better than previous vacuum I had from BigLots.... way better!!! the only thing I did not like and Walmart should revise, it should be packaged & delivered in a plain brown or white box like everything is! it was on my door step and could've been stolen, if I lived somewhere questionable!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LadyCeeJay
South Central PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Must have!
5/14/2013

Customer review by Sunhead

5.0 stars 5/14/2013 by Sunhead
by Sunhead
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is an excellent product! It has great suction and really picks up the pet hair! The first time I used it I was amazed! I could not believe all of the hair and dirt my old vacuum left behind!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sunhead
Lake Milton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best you can get at any price
8/9/2014

Customer review by Arclight56

5.0 stars 8/9/2014 by Arclight56
by Arclight56

I feel bad for the folks that gave this one star. I have had my vacuum for a year and have never had it turn off on me. They must have been unlucky enough to get defective units. The last person seems illiterate so take that review for what it's worth. This thing has tremendous suction that's why you have to empty the canister a lot. This sucks up EVERYTHING it touches. For those that think it's too much of a bother to empty, just get a vacuum that doesn't work so well. There are 600 dollar v a chums out there that should help you out.

Arclight56
Mission Viejo, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
dirt devil
8/13/2013

Customer review by dianekl

4.0 stars 8/13/2013 by dianekl
by dianekl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i like it very much except for the fact that it does not have an automatic cord rewinder

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dianekl
bflo ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/1/2013

Customer review by thankful44

4.0 stars 4/1/2013 by thankful44
by thankful44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great suction, I wish the cord was longer and I wish I ould get under things more.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thankful44
Glen Allen, Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
worst vacuum ever
3/7/2015

Customer review by Binsky

1.0 stars 3/7/2015 by Binsky
by Binsky

I hate this vacuum so much. The canister gets dirt stuck and the belt constantly wants to come off. And if you have cats and cat litter. Grab a broom because this vacuum will not pick it up. Hard wood floors here I come.

Comment from John - 3/7/2015

Hi Binsky, With this model, as in any without a brushroll On/Off feature, you may see scattering of debris like kitty litter on bare floors. That being said, your belt should not be coming off like it is and we would like to get some more details and see how we can help. Please email John.Hitch@ttifloorcare.com for further assistance. Thanks!

Binsky
Virginia Beach, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:1 month
ecological saving worth the static dust mess
3/14/2014

Customer review by rtw20817

4.0 stars 3/14/2014 by rtw20817
by rtw20817

i have had the dirt devil bagless unit UD40275 for two years and use it less often than i should. i have to empty the dust collector at least 4 times in my 1200 sq ft unit primarily carpeted. i am only now having to replace the HEPA filter, and have rinsed out the foam filter sometimes more than once per cleaning. my greatest satisfaction is the HEPA filter and the baglessness! i doubt that there is a way to eliminate the clingy static dust, but do wish your engineers might address it? just saying.

rtw20817
Bethesda, MD, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews