Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

37 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

37 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
11
1-20 of 35 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Disapointed
4/8/2013

Customer review by Beth1671

1.0 stars 4/8/2013 by Beth1671
by Beth1671

I have owned this vacuum for four months. It does have great suction, but the vacuum itself is falling apart. In four months my power button has broken off. Luckily it broke while the power was on, so now we just plug it in for power, but it is VERY annoying not to have a power button. This past weekend, one of the pieces on the side that hold the hoses broke off. Just broke, wasn't banged against the wall or used roughly. I use the vacuum 2 to 3 times a week and ever week I wonder what part will break off. I am very disapointed with this purchase. I don't like spending over $100 for a vacuum and have pieces fall off. 4 months I've owned it and I can't even turn it on!! I would not recommend this product. I thought dirt devil was a good brand that I could trust. That's not true.

Beth1671
Springfield, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
Best you can get at any price
8/9/2014

Customer review by Arclight56

5.0 stars 8/9/2014 by Arclight56
by Arclight56

I feel bad for the folks that gave this one star. I have had my vacuum for a year and have never had it turn off on me. They must have been unlucky enough to get defective units. The last person seems illiterate so take that review for what it's worth. This thing has tremendous suction that's why you have to empty the canister a lot. This sucks up EVERYTHING it touches. For those that think it's too much of a bother to empty, just get a vacuum that doesn't work so well. There are 600 dollar v a chums out there that should help you out.

Arclight56
Mission Viejo, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:3 months
Gender:Male
ecological saving worth the static dust mess
3/14/2014

Customer review by rtw20817

4.0 stars 3/14/2014 by rtw20817
by rtw20817

i have had the dirt devil bagless unit UD40275 for two years and use it less often than i should. i have to empty the dust collector at least 4 times in my 1200 sq ft unit primarily carpeted. i am only now having to replace the HEPA filter, and have rinsed out the foam filter sometimes more than once per cleaning. my greatest satisfaction is the HEPA filter and the baglessness! i doubt that there is a way to eliminate the clingy static dust, but do wish your engineers might address it? just saying.

rtw20817
Bethesda, MD, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:3 months
Gender:Female
Good product except for the 'cyclone cup-
10/20/2013

Customer review by rae549

3.0 stars 10/20/2013 by rae549
by rae549

Was very pleased with this heavier-than usual vacuum when I first owned and used it. Almost a year later, the plastic cup for the dirt, gets clogged way at the top, with NO way to get hair, etc out. I have spent hours tonight scraping out hair batch by batch-finally gave up. Cannot get the red middle part out due to twisted hairs around it. Bad design. Every other feature I liked, but this is frustrating and non productive!

rae549
Would recommend to a friend? No
Shuts down EVERY TIME!
4/19/2014

Customer review by MrWeller

1.0 stars 4/19/2014 by MrWeller
by MrWeller

We've had this new vacuum cleaner for 7 months and are thoroughly disgusted with its performance! Seems to do well for the five minutes you can vacuum with it before it shuts itself off! Don't waste your money on this model and spend your money on one that will work! We've pulled out the old vacuum and will hope we can get someone to give us $20 on a garage sale so we can get rid of this junk!

MrWeller
South Dakota, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Male
Great Vacuum
7/29/2013

Customer review by johnlich

5.0 stars 7/29/2013 by johnlich
by johnlich

I've owned this vacuum since living in my apartment (moved in 2010) and I have had only minimal problems caused by myself. I have replaced the belt, however that was my own fault by sucking up a sock, causing the motor to melt the belt due to friction. Other than the belt, everything has been phenomenal with this vacuum and I do recommend it for medium-to-large apartments.

johnlich
Buffalo, NY
Length of ownership:3 months
Gender:Male
Vacuum
6/19/2014

Customer review by Fonddragon

1.0 stars 6/19/2014 by Fonddragon
by Fonddragon

I have oreck vacuum and its very good and belt broke and special order over 3 wks and I decide to buy emgerecy vacuum today. Use first time today and not happy cuz keep hose fell off while i vacuum 5 or more for 15 mins. I gave up and went to bed. I guess I have to use duct tape to keep in during I vacuum. One thing it's nice have wand to clean dashboard or edge.

Fonddragon
Columbia, MD, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
Worst Vacuum I have ever owned!
1/27/2014

Customer review by KimG1960

1.0 stars 1/27/2014 by KimG1960
by KimG1960

Shuts off by itself if the filter is dirty. It needs to be cleaned pretty much after each use! Picks up very good, but can't get the upstairs or downstairs done in one day. Constantly emptying the canister while using, but before I'm done, it shuts down and I need to clean the filter, then you need to wait about 24 hours before it will turn on again.

KimG1960
Southern Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Female
Best vacuum ever!!!!
9/19/2013

Customer review by jdmc

5.0 stars 9/19/2013 by jdmc
by jdmc

I have OCD, a two year old and three dogs. We vaccum our 1500 sq foot home at least twice daily. Maybe more. I am very paticular about the vacuum i use. I have had every brand but this is my first Dirt Devil. Hands down this is the best vacuum I have ever used. Very powerful and so far dependable. Make this your next vacuum and thank me later.

jdmc
Memphis, TN
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Male
love this
9/27/2014

Customer review by shera1952

4.0 stars 9/27/2014 by shera1952
by shera1952

This vac works very well. yes there are a few things you have to clean if you have animals. filters to wash, no big deal. as long as you put it together right, it will work. If it shut off on you it is probably full or filters dirty. that to me is a safety feature. my only problem is I can't get all the screws out to replace fi

shera1952
Lake City, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:3 months
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Level of expertise:Advanced
belt confusion
9/19/2013

Customer review by WvTrucker

3.0 stars 9/19/2013 by WvTrucker
by WvTrucker

Have had this model for a few months and have been happy with it. The belt broke yesterday. Heres the problem. The Manual and stamped on the bottom of the vaccum it says "Belt Type 23" but stamped on the belt it says "Style 20". So, do I find a 23 or 20 style belt?!?!?

WvTrucker
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Male
worst vacuum ever
3/7/2015

Customer review by Binsky

1.0 stars 3/7/2015 by Binsky
by Binsky

I hate this vacuum so much. The canister gets dirt stuck and the belt constantly wants to come off. And if you have cats and cat litter. Grab a broom because this vacuum will not pick it up. Hard wood floors here I come.

Binsky
Virginia Beach, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Great suction
3/31/2013

Customer review by ladybird

1.0 stars 3/31/2013 by ladybird
by ladybird

I purchased this item and the first time I used it within a 10 minutes the belt came off. Put it back on and it kept coming off. Not a great product. Waste of time and money.

ladybird
Belleville ON
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
dirt devil power reach pet multi-cyclonic bag less upright
10/8/2014

Customer review by tommy13

1.0 stars 10/8/2014 by tommy13
by tommy13

I have had it for a month and it is the worst machine I have ever had.  It is already shorting out and not picking anything up and spitting dirt out

tommy13
Las Cruces, NM, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Male
Level of expertise:Advanced
Broke second time I used it!
1/1/2014

Customer review by Mia1

1.0 stars 1/1/2014 by Mia1
by Mia1

Used it once and emptied the dirt. Tried to use the vacuum the next day and it started smoking. This is the worst vacuum ever, I hate it. 

Mia1
Calgary, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Good power picks up dirt verry well
7/26/2013

Customer review by mudbog

4.0 stars 7/26/2013 by mudbog
by mudbog

Bought it 2 years ago worked well. Lately it won't last more then 10 minutes and it shuts down will not restart for about half hour

mudbog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:3 months
Gender:Male
Not happy : (
7/2/2013

Customer review by Trish

1.0 stars 7/2/2013 by Trish
by Trish

Very disappointed with this product. Suction horrible although I have checked for blockage, none found.

Trish
LaGrange Ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
Not a pet vacuum for me
9/11/2013

Customer review by VBLocal

2.0 stars 9/11/2013 by VBLocal
by VBLocal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased this to replace an ancient Dirt Devil that was being held together by duct tape. I have two dogs and a cat, so the "Pet" aspect appealed to me. Negatives:-doesn't pick up the pet hair no matter what pile setting I try. I think it picks it up, but then clumps get redeposited and spread around! It does pick up some hair, but just not nearly as well as my old vac. Also, the collection cylinder is very small, so I am constantly having to stop and empty. I personally don't like the design where I have to unsnap the cylinder at the bottom to open it (the old one was twice the size and you just unscrewed the top and dumped it). Positives: The product is modestly priced and very lightweight, and the hose feature has incredible suction. It does pick up dirt well and so might give to a friend or family member who doesn't have pets or large areas to vacuum. Delivery from Walmart was excellent.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VBLocal
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not worth the money
7/27/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/27/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this vacuum brand new used it twice and now it's stopped sucking through the bottom of the vacuum to where you can only use the hand attachment. I emptied the cup before it even got to the dirt line cup but it's clogged under the bottom portion of the vacuum so you have to take the whole thing apart to try and find the problem. the hoses are not clogged and I've only vacuumed 2 rooms of carpet. It's a piece of trash and now I have to go spend more money to buy something else. I will never buy another dirt devil again. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Frankfort, ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not what I hoped for.
3/5/2013

Customer review by reneegavin

2.0 stars 3/5/2013 by reneegavin
by reneegavin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really, really did not like this vacuum. It did, however, have 2 pluses, which is why it got 2 stars. It did a great job on carpets, and the attachable power brush worked GREAT on the steps, which is a first. However, that's where it ends. It is very heavy (my fault- I should have checked the weight). On my bare floors, it picked up the dirt and proceeded to shoot it out behind it. The hose constantly fell off of it's holder. The hose also continuously popped out of it's slot. I ended up returning this and buying a Shark Navigator Deluxe. So far so good.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reneegavin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews