Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 31 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

31 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

31 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

43%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
16
1-20 of 30 total reviews
43%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews
GREAT!
5/28/2014

Customer review by Vacuum123

5.0 stars 5/28/2014 by Vacuum123
by Vacuum123

I was looking for a vacuum that had a little more power but not so heavy. My last vacuum was very heavy which made it hard to push and carry up and downstairs. This has fantastic suction and really picks up everything...the cord is long...and the cup easily empties at the bottom. The hose attachment works well

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vacuum123
Delmont PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Good vacuum could be excellent
5/20/2016

Customer review by Misadventure

4.0 stars 5/20/2016 by Misadventure
by Misadventure
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This vacuum picks up stuff I thought was picked up by my old vacuum. It's quiet, easy to use and clean but the hose comes loose from the base occasionally and the cord won't stay in the little holder. There should be some sort of clasp for the hose going into the base and also a way to keep the cord up out of the way. It's good and except for a couple of adjustments that I suggested I love it. I bought one for my sister.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Misadventure
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Price! Does the Job!
4/3/2014

Customer review by MiaWorkoutBoy

4.0 stars 4/3/2014 by MiaWorkoutBoy
by MiaWorkoutBoy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Light weight and easy to assemble. Cleans very well without much effort. Has all the basics and accessories. Quiet motor.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MiaWorkoutBoy
Miami, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible vacuum!
6/2/2016

Customer review by Linds

1.0 stars 6/2/2016 by Linds
by Linds

I have not owned this vacuum very long. It keeps clogging non-stop and shuts off. I should not have to unclog the hose EVERY time I use the vacuum. The store won't accept it back as it is past their return policy. Worst vacuum I have ever owned. The tools are a joke.

Linds
Barrie, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
good product
10/26/2012

Customer review by louie2e

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by louie2e
by louie2e
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This works better than my Oreck ever did & for a fraction of the cost. I don't have to buy or replace bags either.

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
louie2e
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Spend more money for a better Vacuum
7/27/2013

Customer review by Sashas

3.0 stars 7/27/2013 by Sashas
by Sashas
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's a shame that vacuums come with only a year or two warranty, we have to buy a new one every year? I did buy the extended warranty on this. It is my first bag less vacuum and I was right, I don't like it. I have asthma and allergies and I have to wear a medical mask when I empty the container because dirt and dust flies every where and all over the garbage bag. It does pick up dirt and hair much better than my old vacuum but I don't see this lasting very long. It was all that I could afford right now.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sashas
Cheyenne, WY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
too light, turbo brush a joke!
1/26/2016

Customer review by Tonto7

2.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Tonto7
by Tonto7

I bought this to clean my basement rec room. It has worked ok so far, no clogging or overheating like others have had, but using the hand tools is difficult. Everytime you pull on the extension hose, even lightly, the unit gets pulled along or falls over. This makes it extremely difficult to work with on stairs. The Turbo cleaning head is a joke. The brushes are driven by the air being drawn through the tool. The housing is made of two plastic pieces held together by an "O" ring. There is so much air leakage at the seam that the brushes on the head barely rotate unless you squeeze the two halves together tightly by hand. Needless to say, when you try to vacuum a sofa or chair, the brushes immediately stop rotating. Guess I'll try gluing the two halves together to see if that helps. Can't hurt...it doesn't work the way it is!

Tonto7
Enfield, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very nice vacuum!
4/28/2016

Customer review by Fred the Cat

5.0 stars 4/28/2016 by Fred the Cat
by Fred the Cat

This thing works awesome. However, it does require maintenance. After every use I clean all the parts. It is very easy to take apart. If it doesn't suck up debris, either the hose is plugged, the exhaust filter and or foam is plugged, or the canister is full inside - that is assuming the motor is running. If the beater bar/brush doesn't turn and the motor is running - is the belt on? Did it fall off or break? I have read the bad reviews and I can explain it like this if I may: if you want a vac that doesn't require any maintenance, then buy a worthless bag vacuum and just change the bag. However, even those vacuums can plug in the hose or the bag can fill up. The reason the bag-less vacs work so well is, if you keep them clean - hoses clear, canister and filters clean and clear, they move as much air out as they pull in. That's the key - AIR FLOW. That's why bag vacs lose suction so soon, and these don't. Once the inside of the bag gets a thin layer of dust on it, the air flow drops dramatically and so does the suction. Also, if it runs and shuts off and you don't see any dirt movement inside the canister (that's part of why it's clear), like the other person said, something is wrong. If the motor gets too hot, again, due to lack of air flow (air flow cools the motor as well as sucking up debris) and it has internal overload, which mos do, it will shut down until it cools off, then reset itself. Once it resets, it should start again. In closing, let me say this: if you are all thumbs and you don't know which end of the tool you are supposed to use when using tools (like my brother) don't buy one of these vacuums unless someone mechanical can help you take care of it. It is a simple, reliable effective machine. However, it does have one weakness: you have to TAKE CARE OF and MAINTAIN the dang thing!!! That's all I have to say, thank-you.

Fred the Cat
Minneapolis, MN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Belt was installed wrong from factory, burned up
6/2/2013

Customer review by DDBelt99

1.0 stars 6/2/2013 by DDBelt99
by DDBelt99

I received this as part of a gift program from my employer. I selected this vacuum as I had a need and have had great success with Dirt Devil in the past. Assembly went smoothly, although the directions were poorly written. Within 1 minute of use the belt was destroyed. It was not properly installed at the factory. Of course there wasn't a spare belt in the box. Normally I would just return to the store but since this was delivered VIA UPS, it was very inconvenient to replace the belt. I understand that things happen, but a little forethought by adding a spare belt in the box would have been proper customer service. Now consider the opportunity cost of that money savings campaign. You could have had a better review. I would make it a point to buy a Dirt Devil brand belt instead of now going out of my way to ensure that I buy aftermarket brand, regardless of cost. You could have had a loyal customer for life, who would freely offer you the benefit of a strong word of mouth campaign. Pros: Light, no bag, good attachments Cons: Poor directions for assembly. "Cheap feel", prone to incorrect assembly at the factory.

DDBelt99
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Male
6/12/2013

Customer review by VOICE2REMEMBER

5.0 stars 6/12/2013 by VOICE2REMEMBER
by VOICE2REMEMBER
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I HAVE ONLY USED IT TO VACCUM MY APARTMENT TWICE AND IT PERFORMS VERY WELL. THE BASE IS SMALL ENOUGH TO GET BETWEEN MY FURNITURE, BUT BIG ENOUGH TO COVER THE SPACE NEEDED WHEN I VACCUM. I PREVIOULY OWED A DIRT DEVIL THAT QUIT WORKING AFTER SEVERAL YEARS. HOWEVER, THIS IS A BETTER LOOKING AND PERFORMING VACCUM CLEANER.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VOICE2REMEMBER
DECATUR, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good power, light weight
2/6/2013

Customer review by Wisconsininplant

4.0 stars 2/6/2013 by Wisconsininplant
by Wisconsininplant
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Haven't had vac long but like it. Has good power and is light weight

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wisconsininplant
avada, co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
disappointed
9/11/2015

Customer review by slowrysc

1.0 stars 9/11/2015 by slowrysc
by slowrysc

I purchased this vacuum through a rewards program less than 30 days ago. After using it only 3 times it just stopped working. I have cleaned the parts and washed the filter, but it still does not work. Very disappointing. I have called the support line but was left on hold for so long with elevator music that I gave up.

slowrysc
South Carolina, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Overheats after 10 min
4/22/2014

Customer review by janddnelson

1.0 stars 4/22/2014 by janddnelson
by janddnelson

I bought this as a Christmas gift for myself as my old hoover was in need of replacement. It worked fine for the first 2 or 3 months. Then today, I was trying to vacuum just the upstairs of our townhome, and within 1o minutes, it cut off. It was very hot. I thought I had blown a fuse and even tried another plug, but nothing. After about 30 min, it was cool enough to restart. However after 5 min, it is off again. I would like a working vacuum that I can run at least 30-45 min that will not cut off on me. Do you have something like that Dirt Devil???

janddnelson
Manassas, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Male
Pathetic
9/2/2013

Customer review by mikey

1.0 stars 9/2/2013 by mikey
by mikey

Similar story here, received this thru employer gift program. Had it for about 4 weeks. Intention was to use this downstairs and keep the Dyson upstairs. At first I thought it was pretty good, my wife hated it and kept dragging the Dyson up & down. I just tried to use it in the kitchen and got annoyed as the same little thread would get pulled in the front and get blown out the back, instead of getting sucked up. There is now more crud on the floor than before I turned this on. Not worth the price I paid for it, and it was free.

mikey
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Male
Already died!
8/1/2015

Customer review by megd11985

1.0 stars 8/1/2015 by megd11985
by megd11985

I purchased this vacuum about 4 months ago. While using it today it just died! I have never had this happen. I loved it but really only after 4 months??? I only use the vacuum twice a week. It wasnt a belt or anything like that. It just stopped working!

megd11985
Lexington, KY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
Constanly overheats and has very little suction
12/5/2013

Customer review by actionmarinejem

1.0 stars 12/5/2013 by actionmarinejem
by actionmarinejem

I had bought the Dirt Devil Vigor because I have had great luck with this company in the past. Unfortunately, after only using it for the second time the vacuum simply shut off and got very hot. I then disassembled the vacuum and thoroughly cleaned all the parts and let it cool off. After reassembling the vacuum it still didn't even have enough power to use the hand attachment and would just throw the dirt behind it instead over sucking it up.

actionmarinejem
Holyoke, MA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Male
Horrible!
12/1/2014

Customer review by Vicki

1.0 stars 12/1/2014 by Vicki
by Vicki

My Mom got this for me and it has been a pain in the butt since day one. It has horrible suction and does not pick up dirt on bare floors. I have made sure the dial is on the bare floor setting and it spits the dirt out the back end. This is such a waste of money and I will never recommend a Dirt Devil product to anyone after the troubles I have had with the vacuum. I am extremely disappointed.

Vicki
Battle Creek, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 month
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Female
Poor suction and overheats
6/9/2013

Customer review by turtlenutt

1.0 stars 6/9/2013 by turtlenutt
by turtlenutt

I received this vacuum from my employer award program. For the first week it worked great. I have had the vacuum now for a few months and it spits dirt out the back, attachments have no suction, and it overheats frequently which causes it to stop working for at least an hour. The dirt canister broke when trying to empty it. I have rinsed out the filter several times thinking that was the issue with suction but it didn't help. 

turtlenutt
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
Not a good purchase
5/23/2015

Customer review by Traci

1.0 stars 5/23/2015 by Traci
by Traci

Purchased less than six months ago. The suction is not working with the accessories, there is a burnt smell after 2 mins of use. Vacuum does not pick up, seems to push dirt around. After five minutes of use it will turn off.

Traci
Newtown Grant, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
Excellent Vacuum!!!
4/20/2015

Customer review by Jade

5.0 stars 4/20/2015 by Jade
by Jade

I have to say that I am majorly impressed with this inexpensive vacuum. I have a new Kirby and Electrolux and this vacuum cleaner is as powerful as they are. This is my first dirt devil that I've ever owned and I have to say that I would highly recommend this product.

Jade
WV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Male
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews