Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 30 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

30 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

30 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

38%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
17
1-20 of 29 total reviews
38%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
too light, turbo brush a joke!
1/26/2016

Customer review by Tonto7

2.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Tonto7
by Tonto7

I bought this to clean my basement rec room. It has worked ok so far, no clogging or overheating like others have had, but using the hand tools is difficult. Everytime you pull on the extension hose, even lightly, the unit gets pulled along or falls over. This makes it extremely difficult to work with on stairs. The Turbo cleaning head is a joke. The brushes are driven by the air being drawn through the tool. The housing is made of two plastic pieces held together by an "O" ring. There is so much air leakage at the seam that the brushes on the head barely rotate unless you squeeze the two halves together tightly by hand. Needless to say, when you try to vacuum a sofa or chair, the brushes immediately stop rotating. Guess I'll try gluing the two halves together to see if that helps. Can't hurt...it doesn't work the way it is!

Comment from Joscelyn - 1/26/2016

Hi Tonto7! Oh no, we have no idea how this must be frustrating and a laboring process for you. Your Vigor should be working at its optimal abilities and we want to help! You're absolutely correct, the turbo tool is air driven and will work best when being held at an angle on upholstery/furniture. This will ensure even air distribution and will allow the tool to capture as much hair/debris as possible. To ensure the unit will stay in place when the attachments are being used, be sure to lock the unit in to the upright position. That should keep everything in working order. Let us know if you need anything further. Thank you!

Tonto7
Enfield, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
The World's Worst Vacuum
9/4/2015

Customer review by Unimpressedwithdirtdevil1

1.0 stars 9/4/2015 by Unimpressedwithdirtdevil1
by Unimpressedwithdirtdevil1

After using the vacuum once the suction failed and all the dirt was spitting out ( I could feel it hitting my feet!) And by the second time I used it I gave up in frustration and swept the house instead. This vacuum gets clogged instantly with cat hair, and I only have one shorthair cat! I was feeling paranoid and tested my theory by gathering some dirt and trying to suck it up... Nope, it just spread the dirt everywhere!!! I had brought the vacuum to a repair shop convinced that it must be broken, they removed a clog. When I brought it home to use it, I vacuumed 2 rooms and gave up again since it was already spitting out dirt and failing to suck up everything. I have spent more time cleaning the filter every week, fixing the turbo tool and hunting for the next clog that I'm questiong whether I should be paid for just using the darn thing, honestly its a full time job! This was the biggest waste of money!!! I will never ever buy dirt devil again!!! Stay away people this vacuum is the devil...

Unimpressedwithdirtdevil1
Would recommend to a friend? No
GREAT!
5/28/2014

Customer review by Vacuum123

5.0 stars 5/28/2014 by Vacuum123
by Vacuum123

I was looking for a vacuum that had a little more power but not so heavy. My last vacuum was very heavy which made it hard to push and carry up and downstairs. This has fantastic suction and really picks up everything...the cord is long...and the cup easily empties at the bottom. The hose attachment works well

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vacuum123
Delmont PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Great Price! Does the Job!
4/3/2014

Customer review by MiaWorkoutBoy

4.0 stars 4/3/2014 by MiaWorkoutBoy
by MiaWorkoutBoy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Light weight and easy to assemble. Cleans very well without much effort. Has all the basics and accessories. Quiet motor.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MiaWorkoutBoy
Miami, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good product
10/26/2012

Customer review by louie2e

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by louie2e
by louie2e
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This works better than my Oreck ever did & for a fraction of the cost. I don't have to buy or replace bags either.

Was this review helpful? (16) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
louie2e
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Clogs every 2 minutes!
9/25/2015

Customer review by Trace

1.0 stars 9/25/2015 by Trace
by Trace

I bought this about 2 months ago and used it about 5 times. The first couple times using it I was very impressed. It had good suction power and was lightweight. The last 2 times of use the vacuum clogged repeatedly and spit out dirt. This vacuum now sits in my garage because it is useless. I am very disappointed in this product and if I had my receipt I would definitely return it

Comment from Joscelyn - 9/25/2015

Hi Trace! We don't want you to be disappoined about using your Vigor. We have a suggestion as to why it may be clogging. If the vacuum is repeatedly spitting out dirt, it's simply just a clogged hose or dirty filter. Try these steps below for us? Remove the dirt canister like so: http://bit.ly/1LSCERH. Once done, you'll see a filter grill cover that houses the filter cartridge. Remove the cartridge and tap it out against the inside of a waste can. To ensure all debris have been eliminated. Rinse the filter and cartridge under running water and let it air dry for 24 hours. When checking the flexible hose for obstructions, simply press the hose release button, then insert a broom stick through to clear out any unwanted material. After this has been completed, your unit should be working like new! Let us know if this helps!

Trace
Rochester, MN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
disappointed
9/11/2015

Customer review by slowrysc

1.0 stars 9/11/2015 by slowrysc
by slowrysc

I purchased this vacuum through a rewards program less than 30 days ago. After using it only 3 times it just stopped working. I have cleaned the parts and washed the filter, but it still does not work. Very disappointing. I have called the support line but was left on hold for so long with elevator music that I gave up.

Comment from Kenya - 9/14/2015

Hi slowrysc! We think we have a good idea why your Vigor no longer picks up. It sounds like it’s clogged. Try these quick steps to check & clear your vacuum. Remove the hose from both ends and use a broom stick to loosen and remove any obstructions. Next, hold the filter under running water until it runs clear and allow 24 hours to air dry outside the vacuum. Lastly, remove the red air director and clear of debris. Also be sure your brushes are still spinning. That should do it. Let us know if you still need us!

slowrysc
South Carolina, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Belt was installed wrong from factory, burned up
6/2/2013

Customer review by DDBelt99

1.0 stars 6/2/2013 by DDBelt99
by DDBelt99

I received this as part of a gift program from my employer. I selected this vacuum as I had a need and have had great success with Dirt Devil in the past. Assembly went smoothly, although the directions were poorly written. Within 1 minute of use the belt was destroyed. It was not properly installed at the factory. Of course there wasn't a spare belt in the box. Normally I would just return to the store but since this was delivered VIA UPS, it was very inconvenient to replace the belt. I understand that things happen, but a little forethought by adding a spare belt in the box would have been proper customer service. Now consider the opportunity cost of that money savings campaign. You could have had a better review. I would make it a point to buy a Dirt Devil brand belt instead of now going out of my way to ensure that I buy aftermarket brand, regardless of cost. You could have had a loyal customer for life, who would freely offer you the benefit of a strong word of mouth campaign. Pros: Light, no bag, good attachments Cons: Poor directions for assembly. "Cheap feel", prone to incorrect assembly at the factory.

Comment from Ian - 6/4/2013

Hi! you are right. That is not something that you should have to worry about with a new Dirt Devil at home. We're reaching out to you via e-mail so that we can make this right. Thanks so much!

DDBelt99
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Spend more money for a better Vacuum
7/27/2013

Customer review by Sashas

3.0 stars 7/27/2013 by Sashas
by Sashas
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's a shame that vacuums come with only a year or two warranty, we have to buy a new one every year? I did buy the extended warranty on this. It is my first bag less vacuum and I was right, I don't like it. I have asthma and allergies and I have to wear a medical mask when I empty the container because dirt and dust flies every where and all over the garbage bag. It does pick up dirt and hair much better than my old vacuum but I don't see this lasting very long. It was all that I could afford right now.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sashas
Cheyenne, WY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Already died!
8/1/2015

Customer review by megd11985

1.0 stars 8/1/2015 by megd11985
by megd11985

I purchased this vacuum about 4 months ago. While using it today it just died! I have never had this happen. I loved it but really only after 4 months??? I only use the vacuum twice a week. It wasnt a belt or anything like that. It just stopped working!

Comment from Kenya - 8/14/2015

Hi! We understand it can be surprising when your Vigor suddenly shuts off. This is actually to protect the motor. It sounds like there is a clog in the vacuum. We have some suggestions to clear obstructions. Try this; remove the hose completely and run a broom stick through it to remove any clogs. Wash the filter under running water and allow 24 hours to air dry. We recommend replacing the filter every 6-12 months. If you need a replacement filter they are always available here: http://bit.ly/1DQPvXc . Let us know if you still need us!

megd11985
Lexington, KY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
6/12/2013

Customer review by VOICE2REMEMBER

5.0 stars 6/12/2013 by VOICE2REMEMBER
by VOICE2REMEMBER
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I HAVE ONLY USED IT TO VACCUM MY APARTMENT TWICE AND IT PERFORMS VERY WELL. THE BASE IS SMALL ENOUGH TO GET BETWEEN MY FURNITURE, BUT BIG ENOUGH TO COVER THE SPACE NEEDED WHEN I VACCUM. I PREVIOULY OWED A DIRT DEVIL THAT QUIT WORKING AFTER SEVERAL YEARS. HOWEVER, THIS IS A BETTER LOOKING AND PERFORMING VACCUM CLEANER.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VOICE2REMEMBER
DECATUR, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a good purchase
5/23/2015

Customer review by Traci

1.0 stars 5/23/2015 by Traci
by Traci

Purchased less than six months ago. The suction is not working with the accessories, there is a burnt smell after 2 mins of use. Vacuum does not pick up, seems to push dirt around. After five minutes of use it will turn off.

Comment from John - 5/26/2015

Hi Traci, It sounds like you may have a clog. If your Vigor is shutting down after 5 minutes, here's what to do: First, check the foam filters to make sure they're not clogged. Next remove the main hose and run a broom through it to knock out any debris. Finally, if you haven't found the source, check the lower nozzle. You should be able to look down into it to check for obstructions. Just use a wire utensil to pull out any debris out. And that burnt smell could be the belt being overworked. If you raise the height adjust so the brushroll is barley touching the carpet, this should reduce the tension on the belt. We're sending you an email to make sure this helps. thanks!

Traci
Newtown Grant, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
Excellent Vacuum!!!
4/20/2015

Customer review by Jade

5.0 stars 4/20/2015 by Jade
by Jade

I have to say that I am majorly impressed with this inexpensive vacuum. I have a new Kirby and Electrolux and this vacuum cleaner is as powerful as they are. This is my first dirt devil that I've ever owned and I have to say that I would highly recommend this product.

Jade
WV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Good power, light weight
2/6/2013

Customer review by Wisconsininplant

4.0 stars 2/6/2013 by Wisconsininplant
by Wisconsininplant
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Haven't had vac long but like it. Has good power and is light weight

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wisconsininplant
avada, co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overheats after 10 min
4/22/2014

Customer review by janddnelson

1.0 stars 4/22/2014 by janddnelson
by janddnelson

I bought this as a Christmas gift for myself as my old hoover was in need of replacement. It worked fine for the first 2 or 3 months. Then today, I was trying to vacuum just the upstairs of our townhome, and within 1o minutes, it cut off. It was very hot. I thought I had blown a fuse and even tried another plug, but nothing. After about 30 min, it was cool enough to restart. However after 5 min, it is off again. I would like a working vacuum that I can run at least 30-45 min that will not cut off on me. Do you have something like that Dirt Devil???

janddnelson
Manassas, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Pathetic
9/2/2013

Customer review by mikey

1.0 stars 9/2/2013 by mikey
by mikey

Similar story here, received this thru employer gift program. Had it for about 4 weeks. Intention was to use this downstairs and keep the Dyson upstairs. At first I thought it was pretty good, my wife hated it and kept dragging the Dyson up & down. I just tried to use it in the kitchen and got annoyed as the same little thread would get pulled in the front and get blown out the back, instead of getting sucked up. There is now more crud on the floor than before I turned this on. Not worth the price I paid for it, and it was free.

Comment from Ian - 10/5/2013

Hi Mikey, your Vigor should pick up just fine on bare floors and carpets. Please always be sure that the height adjustment dial is set for "bare floor" when using it on that kind of surface. If this still doesn't work, just let us know. We're always here to help.

mikey
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Horrible!
12/1/2014

Customer review by Vicki

1.0 stars 12/1/2014 by Vicki
by Vicki

My Mom got this for me and it has been a pain in the butt since day one. It has horrible suction and does not pick up dirt on bare floors. I have made sure the dial is on the bare floor setting and it spits the dirt out the back end. This is such a waste of money and I will never recommend a Dirt Devil product to anyone after the troubles I have had with the vacuum. I am extremely disappointed.

Vicki
Battle Creek, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Usage frequency:Weekly
Length of ownership:1 month
Constanly overheats and has very little suction
12/5/2013

Customer review by actionmarinejem

1.0 stars 12/5/2013 by actionmarinejem
by actionmarinejem

I had bought the Dirt Devil Vigor because I have had great luck with this company in the past. Unfortunately, after only using it for the second time the vacuum simply shut off and got very hot. I then disassembled the vacuum and thoroughly cleaned all the parts and let it cool off. After reassembling the vacuum it still didn't even have enough power to use the hand attachment and would just throw the dirt behind it instead over sucking it up.

actionmarinejem
Holyoke, MA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
light weight
1/5/2015

Customer review by laurie

1.0 stars 1/5/2015 by laurie
by laurie

I too chose this product from employer catalog. To my surprise after 2 uses it now throws dirt out the back. What a waste of time and energy. Looks like from reviews its a common problem.

Comment from John - 1/6/2015

Hi Laurie, It sounds like you may have a clog somewhere. Try checking the the airway is clear by checking the filter, and detach the main hose and drop a broom stick through the circular end to push any debris out through the rectangular end, If this doesn't work, please email John.Hitch@ttifloorcare.com for further assistance. Thanks!

laurie
indiana
Gender:Female
Level of expertise:Beginner
Usage frequency:Weekly
Length of ownership:1 week
Poor suction and overheats
6/9/2013

Customer review by turtlenutt

1.0 stars 6/9/2013 by turtlenutt
by turtlenutt

I received this vacuum from my employer award program. For the first week it worked great. I have had the vacuum now for a few months and it spits dirt out the back, attachments have no suction, and it overheats frequently which causes it to stop working for at least an hour. The dirt canister broke when trying to empty it. I have rinsed out the filter several times thinking that was the issue with suction but it didn't help. 

turtlenutt
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews