Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

21 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

21 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

43%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
1-18 of 18 total reviews
43%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Underpowered and flawed
8/12/2012

Customer review by vanillinvillain

2.0 stars 8/12/2012 by vanillinvillain
by vanillinvillain

I bought this speaker a little over a year ago from Wal-mart. It looks amazing and the price was competitive at around $100. The first problem I noticed about the system was that it had a difficult time recognizing the remote. I later found out that a design flaw in the grill caused the IR signal to be partially blocked by the grill's "lattice." I removed the grill and snipped off a couple of the plastic lines behind the cloth and it registered much better (although, after all of the incessant button pressing I did before mending the problem, I had worn out the button-cell battery and had to buy a new one). The replacement battery is still going strong. It's been almost a year. It comes with an "auto volume limiter," but it doesn't perform very well. When it's turned on, it only lowers the maximum volume and does not actually level the highs and lows. It still lets loud sounds pass through while making normal dialogue very difficult to hear, so I am still fumbling for the remote during action scenes. It has a nice simulated surround feature which adds impressive depth of sound when it's turned on, but doing so makes the volume weak. It works well for music but makes dialogue very difficult to hear in movies and TV. Since using the speaker, I've noticed that the sound has become slightly muddled since purchase. When new, the sound was crisp (albeit weak). Now, after a little more than a year, I can hear faint distortion even at low volume. I do not recommend this for use in large rooms (or when placed more than 10 feet away). When I purchased it, I was living in an apartment with a small living room. I later moved into a larger house and the speaker just can't get loud enough for my new 12x15 ft. living room. It comes with two RCA inputs and one TOSLINK optical input. I configured mine with the optical and never had a problem. I did try the RCAs once - back when I first purchased it - to connect an MP3 player and the sound came out severely distorted. The static was present through either RCA input. I then tried running sound to the RCA inputs with my TV and a different cord to try and determine the cause. The same distortion occurred. Obviously, it was the speaker's RCA connections that were faulty and I haven't used them since. Overall, it's a nice looking unit, it has a versatile (and equally stylish) mounting kit/pedestal, it's inexpensive and, when used moderately in a small room with TOSLINK, it sounds great. But, in the long term, I'd recommend something more powerful with better design.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vanillinvillain
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Overheats and shuts off!
8/19/2012

Customer review by KevinMiami

1.0 stars 8/19/2012 by KevinMiami
by KevinMiami

I purchased the VSB201 40' inch Vizio Soundbar as a package with the Vizio 47' inch 3D TV. The original soundbar overheated after 1-2 minutes of use with the TV and/or other audio devices #DVD player, MP3 player, laptop, iPOD#. The 1rst replacement sound bar from Vizio had the SAME PROBLEM! It overheated after about 3-4 minutes! I even set up the sound bar with fans around it to keep it cool but with zero success. Waiting for my 3rd replacement sound bar. After 2 weeks of owning this sound bar I have only had issues and wasted time shipping it via FedEx back to Vizio. Complete waste of money and time!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KevinMiami
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great sound bar.
10/27/2012

Customer review by Shai911

5.0 stars 10/27/2012 by Shai911
by Shai911

We upgraded from the old wired speaker surround and this has a better sound quality and takes up very little space in addition to not having run wires under the rugs or around the walls. We have a Visio HDTV we purchased a little less than a year ago which may or may not make a difference but together they are terrific.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shai911
Camby, In
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/14/2012

Customer review by RoadRunner2012

1.0 stars 10/14/2012 by RoadRunner2012
by RoadRunner2012

i am not happy with this product i purchased with a new vizio flat screen. got everything set up and the sound was no different. thought maybe i hooked it up wrong contacted vizio and was informed that the two items where not compatiable. which made me mad, because they had the two items, paired toghether. electronics associates need to know this.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RoadRunner2012
Bismarck, North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bust
8/14/2012

Customer review by Billyd2440

1.0 stars 8/14/2012 by Billyd2440
by Billyd2440

I bought this yesterday with high hopes and it was awesome...for 8 seconds. It then make a loud popping sound like the speakers were blowing out and with one final pop, turned off. I then turned it back on and it had a crackling noise then repeated the above process. I'm taking it back today.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Billyd2440
Colorado Springs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Variable volume and somewhat muddled voice
11/18/2012

Customer review by Rolo1

2.0 stars 11/18/2012 by Rolo1
by Rolo1

I have purchased 2 sound bars and both have the same problems. One, the volume changes without being adjusted: two, the dialogue(movies) can be muddled sometimes. I've tried using RCA cables and optical connections and had the same problems.Also, if you don't used the the SRS feature(while watching DVDs) the volume is very low.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rolo1
Dade City,Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sound bar enhances the sound, and easy to install
10/31/2012

Customer review by pattyasm

4.0 stars 10/31/2012 by pattyasm
by pattyasm

Sound bar was so easy to install to our new 47" Vizio HDTV Smart TV, but I cannot get the WOW feature to stay on. Book says the orange light will stay on, the lights are blue, not green. I have tried everything I can think of to get the WOW feature to work, but cannot get the orange light to stay on. The orange light staying on lets you know the WOW feature is working. Does anyone else have this problem?

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pattyasm
Ponca City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/14/2012

Customer review by RB7497

1.0 stars 10/14/2012 by RB7497
by RB7497

I purchased this product and immediately connected it to my television. After approximately 30 minutes the sound bar automatically shutdown due to overheating. I reinitialized to no avail. since it continually shutdown every few minutes. This product is not worth purchasing. I do not recommend it and am taking mine back tomorrow to the WalMart store from which I purchased it for a complete refund. Next time I will do my homework and select a better grade home theater sound bar.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RB7497
Atoka, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great sound-no sub-woofer needed.
12/8/2012

Customer review by einbier

5.0 stars 12/8/2012 by einbier
by einbier

Good looks, great sound, and super easy to hook up. Action movies are really enhanced without assaulting your eardrums.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
einbier
La Crosse, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/15/2012

Customer review by lilfoot71

4.0 stars 12/15/2012 by lilfoot71
by lilfoot71

For living in apt. and not wanting speakers up in every corner this soundbar perfect!!!!!!!!!!! it fits right up underneath my tv.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilfoot71
Citrus Heights, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than expected
12/29/2012

Customer review by tbn1111

4.0 stars 12/29/2012 by tbn1111
by tbn1111

I have a 36 inch Samsung. Sound was awful. Connected up the soundbar today and a big different. Even my wife said it sounded much better and when I told her I was thinking about getting one, she thought the sound on the TV alone was fine. After she heard it, she noticed a big difference. Other review said they had some issues because the product had a defect or something, but overall a great purchase for under $100. I was also able to find the codes to allow me to control the volume level of the soundbar through my main controller. I programed the aux button. I found it on comcasts forum: http://forums.comcast.com/t5/XfinityTV-and-Equipment/remote-code-for-vizio-soundbar-VSB200/td-p/898865 The remote that comes with it is not that strong, but using my main remote works great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tbn1111
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value!
12/11/2012

Customer review by jeffincincy

5.0 stars 12/11/2012 by jeffincincy
by jeffincincy

I was surprised to see that this sound bar gets a lot of bad reviews, I am VERY pleased with it! I have had many friends comment on how good it sounds. I have to admit that I did add an inexpensive subwoofer to it, but the sound bar alone is quite impressive. I totally recommend!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jeffincincy
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
many problems
12/17/2012

Customer review by bigjamesjoan

1.0 stars 12/17/2012 by bigjamesjoan
by bigjamesjoan

you would think vizio would correct the problems. several reviews are the same. the wow feature does not work. you cannot control the sound level with the remote.sometimes the remote does not turn on the bar. lots of problems. i will not purchase again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigjamesjoan
port st lucie fla
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Product does not come with required cords
12/18/2012

Customer review by Valueshopper66227

1.0 stars 12/18/2012 by Valueshopper66227
by Valueshopper66227

Returned product

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Valueshopper66227
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for someone who's trying to save money.
12/31/2012

Customer review by slaprick

3.0 stars 12/31/2012 by slaprick
by slaprick

I purchased this sound bar at my local walmart without doing my homework. The price was great,wasn't looking for anything out of this world as far as sound goes just a lil sound boost for my 51inch samsung.The set up was very easy,but because i have no audio output to my t.v, i had to hook the rca cables from the sound bar to my cable box,once soundbar came on i was VERY impressed with the sound,crystal clear audio,no humming or static,when playing music the bass is very deep(no subwoofer needed if its set up in a small living rm)my t.v. has a movie mode and SRS added,so when watching the matrix it sounded as if i was in the theater,but with all those postives i just mentioned,their are negatives!! After ONLY 3 hrs of operation the SOUND went dead!! I unpluged it 3 diff times rehooked cables 3 diff times,tried 3 diff t.v's, still NOTHING!! No sound,the sound bar power was on and the led lights,the vol on the sooundbar indicated the vol was going up or down when pressing the remote,but still no sound,neither less to say i returned the soundbar the same day for another 1,so far the new 1 is ok,but its only been a few hrs. hopefully the first one was a defect. Also the SRS WOW HD light doesn't stay on.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
slaprick
miami,fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/2/2013

Customer review by Kansas1990

3.0 stars 1/2/2013 by Kansas1990
by Kansas1990

Having issues with this sound bar periodically heating up and tripping the internal breaker. Once the unit cools down it operates fine until the next time it heats up. Have seen other reviews incicating the same problem with this device, so there is obviously some issues that need to be addressed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kansas1990
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You get what you pay for
12/31/2012

Customer review by Carpoolmommy

1.0 stars 12/31/2012 by Carpoolmommy
by Carpoolmommy

Speaker sounded great until it stopped working just two days out of the box. I plan on returning it for another product. Maybe I got a lemon.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carpoolmommy
Alexandria, La
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stay Away
1/7/2013

Customer review by Blondiesgirl

1.0 stars 1/7/2013 by Blondiesgirl
by Blondiesgirl

I never write reviews cause I never care. This was one good deal on price. Never did any research and just bought it. The sound was Great, then just like all the other reviews the sound died. You have to turn it off and and wait. Then turn it back on and it works for like 2min then dead again. Taking back. Had it two weeks. Bought at walmart. Saddened that it was such a let down.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blondiesgirl
IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day