Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 3646 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

3646 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

3646 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
2458
4 stars
792
3 stars
174
2 stars
94
1 stars
128
1-20 of 3576 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 3576 total reviews
1-20 of 3576 reviews
Not what I expected
9/25/2012

Customer review by ParkerHouse

2.0 stars 9/25/2012 by ParkerHouse
by ParkerHouse

I have always used Sonicare, since they were introduced. They last a LONG time. Mine finely died after several years of good use. I went to WalMart to get a new one, and didn't really think I needed to "compare". I just got this one because it used the brush heads that I like and the price was fair. I did not realize until now that this thing "turbo charges" after 14 uses! It seemed OK when I first started using it. Then I started getting sores in my mouth. I changed brush heads thinking that was the problem. Then I realized it was not pausing every 30 seconds, which is really something we all need to get an even brushing time. I came on here and found out that is a "added feature" when it used to be standard. I have been having to use a manual toothbrush waiting for my mouth to heal. If I do try the automatic again then I get another sore place. If I still had the box I would take it back for sure. I am curious if anyone else is having problems with the speed being to rough on their gums.

Was this review helpful? (63) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ParkerHouse
Conway, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So glad to be back to a Sonicare toothbrush!
12/11/2013

Customer review by 78texan

5.0 stars 12/11/2013 by 78texan
by 78texan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I used a Sonicare toothbrush for several years until the battery finally died. As I was looking for a new one I read the reviews of Oral B toothbrushes and decided to give it a try to see if it might be even better. I used the Oral B for the past couple of years. It was fine but I noticed that my I was getting a lot of plaque buildup on my teeth and I was having to floss every single day without fail to keep up with it. My teeth also just started to not feel clean even after brushing. I noticed an ad a couple of weeks ago for a Sonicare toothbrush that was on sale and I decided to try Sonicare again. I was so shocked at the difference!! After the first use my teeth felt cleaner than they had in a long time, and the plaque isn't a problem like before. It's just amazing to me the difference between the two, and that's why I wanted to share my story and give a review on this. Hope it helps!

Was this review helpful? (109) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
78texan
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sonicare Toothbrushes are Excellent
12/8/2012

Customer review by GrandpaLarry

5.0 stars 12/8/2012 by GrandpaLarry
by GrandpaLarry
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

As the items were purchased as Christmas gifts, I will review the Sonicare toothbrush based on my use of the same series device. I have been using my Sonicare toothbrush for several years. It took only a short time to get used to the feel of the toothbrush's vibration. After brushing, my teeth feel much cleaner than they did with a manual toothbrush. Despite being three years old, the Sonicare toothbrush still holds a normal charge, which usually lasts about a week. My only complaint is the cost of the replacement heads, ~$36 for four. If you change them as often as Sonicare recommends, you could spend a small fortune for the replacement heads. Actually the heads last considerably longer than what is recommended by Sonicare. I usually rely more on the appearance of the brush head than the color indicator that supposedly show when a brush head should be replaced. When I start seeing the bristles fanning out, I replace the head. It is an excellent product and I would strongly recommend it to others, if they can afford the ongoing cost of the replacement heads.

Was this review helpful? (59) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandpaLarry
Olathe, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sonicare Toothbrushes
11/29/2013

Customer review by SueLLURDH

5.0 stars 11/29/2013 by SueLLURDH
by SueLLURDH

I am a dental hygienist of 25+ years. The Phillips sonicare is the toothbrush that we recommend for our patients who just don't master manual toothbrushes. It is the BEST one for removing plaque which is your enemy and the cause of all forms of dental disease! I have read about this model not having the 30 second timer to time your brushing per arch, but COME ON people. We are all grown up enough to count to 30 and switch arches. For this price the brush is phenomenal! And yes they do take some getting used to, and don't ever start the brush unless it is IN your mouth, unless you enjoy cleaning your bathroom, especially the mirror! The heads are expensive to buy, but it is far cheaper than being referred to the Periodontists office, where you are looking at $5000.00 just to walk in!

Was this review helpful? (74) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SueLLURDH
So. Calif.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sonicare Essence everyday!
6/17/2012

Customer review by GreatLakesRock

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by GreatLakesRock
by GreatLakesRock

The combined use of the Philips Sonicare and flossing equals teeth that feel as clean as having just come from the dentist. The micro movement of the brush bristles mean that I no longer brush hard. The result is that the gums are not receding as they had been before with use of manual brushing. I have been a Philips rechargeable toothbrush user for many years now. If when traveling I've forgotten to pack the unit, I am most unhappy at brushing time having to use a manual toothbrush. My only disappointment is that the long-term reliability of the battery apparently requires leaving the unit on the charging base most constantly. This does not seem eco-friendly. With my previous unit I used until it needed battery, then placed on base for a full charge. In less than a year the unit would not take a recharge, so Philips did replace it. I would think the battery could be designed to charge, fully drain and recharge, so that a nearly fully charged unit does not need to live on the charging base.

GreatLakesRock
Chicago, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Decent Product for the Price
4/18/2013

Customer review by PapaRaffa

4.0 stars 4/18/2013 by PapaRaffa
by PapaRaffa

This is the third Sonicare Rechargeable Toothbrush we have owned, and I have been satisfied for the most part with all of them. This particular model is very similar to the previous two and is a good performer. The battery life is as advertised, and I usually keep the brush in the charger when not in use; but I went out of town for a week without the charger and the brush held its charge the entire 7 days that I was away with no dropoff in performance. I think the design could be a little more ergonomic to allow for brushing of the inside part of the gums and teeth, but it's still manageable. I also think that it is a little difficult to clean inside the mechanism, and perhaps Philips should include with the packaging a little brush specifically designed to clean the inside of the housing. Overall it is of good quality, despite the drawbacks I have mentioned here. I am comfortable with its use and satisfied with the price and would definitely purchase another one if the occasion should arise.

PapaRaffa
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Wonderful product
9/17/2012

Customer review by Bizzychild

5.0 stars 9/17/2012 by Bizzychild
by Bizzychild

I am using my second Sonicare and would never be without one. I use the smaller brush attachment, which is sold separately, because I have bridgework, and I get wonderful results. I never paid attention to the beeps anyway because certain parts of my mouth need more time than other parts. No matter what model you use, you can be sure you're getting great results. Would not hesitate to buy this improved model. If you want your hygienist and dentist to tell you how amazingly clean your teeth are and that you're doing a great job brushing and flossing, buy and start using this toothbrush. You won't regret it!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bizzychild
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/11/2012

Customer review by pavedngold

4.0 stars 12/11/2012 by pavedngold
by pavedngold
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is important to read the instructions! At first I wasn't sure I could stand the tickle and feel of the product. However, the instructions advised this would improve with use. Another nice feature is the built in gradual increase in performance over a period of time. I am now passed all of the weird sensations and learning to use the brush properly and I love how it leave my teeth feeling smooth and clean

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pavedngold
Raleigh, North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
goodbye pain
9/28/2012

Customer review by jnvl

5.0 stars 9/28/2012 by jnvl
by jnvl

I purchased this power toothbrush because my wife has been using one for about 6 months. We just had our 6 month dental check up and my wifes cleaning took about a third as long as mine. In the past she had the longest cleaning time and she always complained about the pain. I immediately went looking for the same toothbrush. Thanks Sonicare.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jnvl
New Braunfels, Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Only Sonicare for my teeth.
11/8/2012

Customer review by Salegoddess

5.0 stars 11/8/2012 by Salegoddess
by Salegoddess
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had my last Sonicare tooth brush for over 10 years, when it finally died on me. So I went on line to check out prices. Walmart had the best price, and I ordered one for myself. I am very happy to have another new Sonicare tooth brush. The bottom line is that I liked it so much I went back to Walmart and purchased 2 more for my teenage grand kids for Christmas presents. As it happens I was in a big box store, and checked their prices, and while I was there this guy was also looking at the Sonicare tooth brushes, but he did not need 2 just one, I told him to go to Walmart to purchase just one and save some big money. Thanks Walmart. As for ordering online, it was a snap, and pick up was a breeze, with no lines etc. Yes, I have saved time and money this way. Watch the online prices as they do change, and Walmart just may have what your looking for in the local Walmart store.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Salegoddess
Temecula, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I wanted to love this product but its not happening ,hard to hold ,& have already returned one & the replacement is not performing correctly. it was
10/21/2011

Customer review by gma2la8

2.0 stars 10/21/2011 by gma2la8
by gma2la8

I am very disappointed with this product . We had a sonicare years ago & also had problems ,but I really wanted to try it again so i purchased one for my husband. Within a couple weeks it started to have problems {wouldn't charge ,no longer did the "timer" pauses} things that should not be happening with a brand new product. The company did send a replacement with no hassles ,but it TOO does not work correctly !!!! I have not called about this one yet but i am Very disappointed over-all with this product. I also am surprised that the handle is not designed better to be held by a wet hand ,it seems that it would have some ergo-dynamic design,or grips etc. I have arthritis & find it awkward to hold. I really hate to be this critical because i had hoped that we would love it but sorry to say I am not happy at all . I keep thinking that we got a lemon but as its not the first one we have owned ,that's not very likely . keep working on it you are close !! Gina

gma2la8
ravenna Oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Poor batter life, lousy warranty replacement
6/30/2016

Customer review by dduck

2.0 stars 6/30/2016 by dduck
by dduck

Great toothbrush, however very poor batter life. Quickly starts slowing down at end of battery without giving the "time to recharge" signal at the end of a brushing. Warranty replacement handle does not have the quad pacer feature. Not a 1 for 1 warranty replacement in my book.

dduck
Vancouver
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Better cleaning than Braun
11/5/2012

Customer review by schlomomotion

5.0 stars 11/5/2012 by schlomomotion
by schlomomotion
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Sonicare cleans more thoroughly than our prior braun vitality model. Also NiMHd batteries don't have memory and don't have to be "run down" monthly to prevent battery memory. The intensity of the brushing takes some time to get used to.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
schlomomotion
sarasota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product, makes brushing fun.
9/17/2012

Customer review by Mike234

3.0 stars 9/17/2012 by Mike234
by Mike234

The toothbrush works great and leaves your teeth feeling fresh. The 2 minute timer really helps with keeping good oral hygiene and makes it difficult to "cheat" and brush for less time like with a regular manual brush. It is incredibly simple to use, just plug and play. After using my first Sonicare for a year, the brush refused to hold a charge and stopped functioning. Customer service made it hassle free to get a new one under warranty and sent a replacement right away. I have been using this replacement for about 2 months now and it seems to be working well. However, there was one incident with this replacement. A couple weeks ago after leaving the brush in the charger overnight to fully charge, the brush only lasted one 2 minute cycle and then indicated that the battery was low again. After another full charge, it seems to be behaving. For now. It is a nice little product but I can only recommend this product with the great customer service.

Mike234
LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Love this toothbrush!
8/31/2014

Customer review by NeilRG

5.0 stars 8/31/2014 by NeilRG
by NeilRG

This is my second Sonicare toothbrush. My first one finally gave out after many years. Before I bought this one, I tried some of the cheaper electronic toothbrushes. I really noticed a difference between them and the Sonicare. Not even close! So then I bought this model as my second Sonicare, and I love it! Wouldn't use anything else. Very easy to use; stand is the recharger; and your teeth and gums feel so clean after using it. It's a bit pricier than the cheaper electronic toothbrushes, but it's definitely worth it! Plus, the toothbruth mechanism lasts a long time. The heads are replaceable, and only cost about $10-12 each. So it ends up being as economical as the less expensive ones, after the initial investment. Like I said, I wouldn't use anything else. HIGHLY recommended!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NeilRG
DFW, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Best toothbrush ever!
11/5/2012

Customer review by Mdub87

5.0 stars 11/5/2012 by Mdub87
by Mdub87
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

In love with my new sonicare! It leaves my mouth always feeling clean. I especially like the two minute timer which allows you to get the recommended time to brush. Overall just a great product and would recommend it to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mdub87
Queens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cant hold a charge
6/17/2012

Customer review by sassyreba

3.0 stars 6/17/2012 by sassyreba
by sassyreba

Got this as a Xmas gift and I'm not real pleased with it. It won't hold a charge over a week. I shake the toothbrush dry but still moisture goes into the ring around the handle and when I opened it up, it had grown black mold inside which freaked me out (I keep my toothbrushes clean), never knew water was getting inside that ring and mold was growing (so I have to clean it once a week to keep that under control). The other problem is that black spots will grow inside the clear plastic cover that goes over the bristles. Can't get anything in there to clean it. I have to get small, tiny pieces of tissue to get it out (another thing to keep up with) and my biggest problem is that I can leave it charge for 2 solid days even and it won't hold a charge for an entire week. Maybe this one is defective, but I don't like the mold factor so I may just go back to my normal battery powered toothbrush. I didn't have these problems. Also the replacement bristle heads are EXPENSIVE. There is no reason for them to be that expensive!!!!!!!!!!!

sassyreba
Oceanside, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
The most basic model Sonicare works just fine.
10/25/2014

Customer review by BeriganFan

5.0 stars 10/25/2014 by BeriganFan
by BeriganFan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Walmart stocks a couple of Philips Sonicare models that cost 80 and over 100 dollars. I went for the basic Sonicare, only available on the web. The web-available basic model isn't even available for pickup at my nearest Walmart in Cranberry Township, PA. So I had to cross the state line and pick it up at the Walmart in Austintown, Ohio. Go figure. About nine years ago I bought one of Philips' pricier models -- back then the comparable model to one now selling for $80 was $60. It worked great. As the only user I babied my $60 Sonicare along for 9 years. My dentist and periodontist agree that regular use helped save me from gum surgery. A product that actually works. Wow. However I love equally the one that you can order for $40. The thing doesn't have multiple speeds, lights, bells, whistles or mudguards. But it is doing its job just as well as the more expensive ones. So hooray for Walmart and Philips.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeriganFan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Timer
9/18/2012

Customer review by partziuse

4.0 stars 9/18/2012 by partziuse
by partziuse

On other Philips Sonicare units I have used up until now, there existed a part that could be added to time the use during the 2 minute brushing, There would be a slight hesitation every thirty seconds letting one know when to change quadrants of the mouth. That way there was close to even use. This particular unit lacks this ability. Wish it existed on the Essence E5300 Power tooth brush.

Was this review helpful? (20) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
partziuse
Bishop, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I couldn't have picked a better product
4/18/2013

Customer review by Cathou50

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by Cathou50
by Cathou50

It took a while to adjust to the vibrations in my mouth as this is my first electric toothbrush, and I can't say that after 2 months I am comfortable with it, but I can tolerate it. The thick handle makes it somewhat difficult to rotate the brush around in the mouth so the base of the bristles frequently hit my teeth which causes a rattling sensation. The toothpaste tends to splatter out of my mouth, or fall out in globs. The diluted toothpaste gets inside the handle so it seems important to take the brush apart after use and rinse and dry the parts well. HOWEVER, the brush does a fantastic job at cleaning my teeth, and it is a real pleasure to run my tongue over my teeth after brushing! The 2-minute timer is of great help to assure me that I have brushed sufficiently, and I use this timer twice, once for the upper teeth and once for the lower teeth. This tool is of good construction and will last a long time I am sure.

Cathou50
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 3576 total reviews
1-20 of 3576 reviews