Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 18 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

18 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

18 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-17 of 17 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Worth Every Penny
3/25/2013

Customer review by MOGfree

5.0 stars 3/25/2013 by MOGfree
by MOGfree

At $200, I have literally tried to beat this bike to death. Great boat bike. Other than replacing runnings with decent $25 tires and heavy inner tubes, it refuses to give up the ghost. With an aluminum frame and healthy welds, making it extremely light, it weighs in at about 26 pounds (ship weight is 32). Silicone spray and plumbers grease it and wipe dry/clean. Loosen the head bolt slightly with an Allen wrench, turn the bars 90 degrees and it lays flat against a wall. For sand, some argue, the tires are too narrow..... kid me not.... even with super wide tires, I am not riding in sand! That is when I want a light bike to 'pack out', geeeesh! No gears either... one speed, easy. Everywhere I stop, people have compliments. Get it at Walmart ASSEMBLED, then re-wrench it yourself to your personal fit. Such as, rotating the handle bars 180 degrees (for tall folks) and switching the front and rear brake levers to match your motorcylcle front brake position on the right.

Was this review helpful? (37) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MOGfree
Wilmington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Urban Bike
5/3/2013

Customer review by fenion

5.0 stars 5/3/2013 by fenion
by fenion

This is an amazing bike for the money it looks more expensive that it actually is. Great bike for the city, easy to carry up 3 flights of stairs. Just try to get a bike like this for under $500. No one comes close to walmart for Bikes firm.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fenion
Boston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Outstanding Value
2/24/2014

Customer review by bikehammer

5.0 stars 2/24/2014 by bikehammer
by bikehammer

I just returned my Mongoose Hex as it was a bit too small for me and could not be modified as I had hoped. It was doomed to remain an overweight road and path bike with slow knobby tires. I wanted to swap the bars, rear sprocket, and pedals, to take it off-road but the sizes were not standard to other mountain bike parts. I wanted to replace it with the Thruster 700C Black/Red but found a silver version of the Detain in stock for only $99! I was impressed with the weight, gearing, and alloy brakes (not stamped steel). It also offered decent 25C tires and deep rims. Once I got it home I adjusted the brakes and lubed the cables then turned the fork around the right way (it was mounted backwards). It is much faster than fighting the heavy knobs on the hex even though I am now restricted to pavement. The large number of heavy gauge spokes should keep things straight during abusive riding. I would recommend this as a good urban bike or rail trail cruiser that is faster and more nimble than a beach cruiser. It can be setup as a fixie or freewheel based on your taste. I would only recommend a better saddle. This one is firm and narrow (okay so far) and convex in shape (not okay for me). I recommend the Bell Dart saddle as a firm but flexible shell that is slightly wider and flatter side-to-side but not a huge padded sofa. Oh, and my clipless pedals fit on this crank where the Hex did not.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bikehammer
frankfort, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Reasonable bike!
8/19/2013

Customer review by Mas777

4.0 stars 8/19/2013 by Mas777
by Mas777

Light, and cool shape of the bike. A little too hard saddle, and poor shock absorption is not satisfactory. But overall, reasonable bike and I like this.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mas777
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/10/2013

Customer review by atreesleaf

5.0 stars 7/10/2013 by atreesleaf
by atreesleaf

i love this bike. it got stolen a few months ago and decided to buy the mongoose sinsure fitness bike but it does not compare to the mongoose detain. Mongoose Detain bike is faster and great. i loved it so much and am going to buy another one.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
atreesleaf
Santa Barbara, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great frame.....
2/25/2014

Customer review by Tubbs87

4.0 stars 2/25/2014 by Tubbs87
by Tubbs87

Swap out the Crank And the bottem bracket Then you have an ok bike Change the brakes Wheels Bars Stem Tires Seat Grips You have a great bike I have done delivery work on this bike for close to a year Also I have been hit by a f-150 (dent in fork and trued the wheels) Still a good bike Long story short good strong frame with a long reach and a tight responsive feel and is crazy stiff Walmart goofed up and made a good cheap frame

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tubbs87
Pittsburgh ,pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Bike, will need some extras to be great
9/12/2013

Customer review by Brianjd04

4.0 stars 9/12/2013 by Brianjd04
by Brianjd04

The bike is great for city dwellers in flat areas (e.g. Chicago). Take off all the stuff you do not want and put on what you need. Pros... Looks great once the labels are taken off. Works well when put together right. Cons... No room for a back rack or storage. Got a flat tire on first use use due to metal shavings in between the tube and the wheel. Rear flats are a pain to fix without quick release...invest in some tubes with the slime stuff to make sure you aren't aways fixing holes. Walmart does not carry those tubes.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brianjd04
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Parts missing
12/29/2012

Customer review by Catwax

3.0 stars 12/29/2012 by Catwax
by Catwax

Received my bike took it home to assemble my self only to find handle bar bolts and hold down clamp missing

Was this review helpful? (7) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Catwax
Delta B.C. Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent bike for $180
5/10/2014

Customer review by HyderabadHero

5.0 stars 5/10/2014 by HyderabadHero
by HyderabadHero

This is an amazing bike. I got this last month and so far I am very happy. I had a schwinn bike before. Best of all this costs less than $200. If you are in the market for a good street bike then go ahead and order this bike. I replaced seat with my favorite Selle Italia . Good luck !

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HyderabadHero
Manchester , CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Seat is a Midieval Torture Device
8/18/2014

Customer review by Quebot

4.0 stars 8/18/2014 by Quebot
by Quebot

I've only ridden this bike about 40 miles over the last couple of weeks, but I feel like I have a good idea on the quality of the bike. It's pretty standard for what you would expect from a Walmart product. It's not top of the line, but it's not complete junk. It has a nice frame, cheap breaks that took me forever to get adjusted correctly (but once I did, they work ok), and the seat is total garbage. I'm a 5'3 female and the bike is a tad big for me by about 2cm. But nothing to poo myself over. I've had four kids, have a wide set pelvis, and this seat is like a medieval torture device. I'd prefer drop handle bars, but these work. But I mean, this bike works. The tires have not blown out on me in spite of the horrible Atlanta roads full of potholes. Lots of complaints about the pedals, but they work. Nothing to hate about them. They don't look fancy, but whatever. Replace them when they break. I also took off the tacky stickers and cheap looking chain guard. Stuff I like about this bike: *I like very plain looking stuff. After I took the stickers off, this bike looked perfect for me. *I don't like fancy stuff that will get stolen. This doesn't look too fancy. Although some old man shouted at me while I was riding down the street, "Look at that Cadillac!" *It works as is. I can ride 5+miles without too much worry. *It's light. I can carry it up and down the front stairs of my house. *It was cheap. I hate spending money. *I really like the option to flip the back wheel around from SS to fixie. I enjoy riding SS most of the time, but it's nice to have options. Stuff that I don't like: *MY SEAT HURTS. No really. Someone took a sledgehammer to my rear. I can't wait to buy a new seat. I've been riding for the last two days without touching the seat. Ouch. But this will probably be different for every rider. Obviously. Behinds are different. *Chain guard. What a waste of time and money. So cheap looking. *Breaks needed some serious love and care, and after I finally got them just where they needed to be, resigned to the fact that my kids have better breaks on their bikes than I do. Will need to replace sometime in the future. *Something is squeaky. I think it is my back wheel or something. Needs further investigation and some lubricant. *Stickers were over the top. Totally an easy fix with a little bit of elbow grease and goo gone. *And of course, I am looking forward to replacing the handle bars to drop bars. But that's just me. All in all, it's working great and I'm pleased. Thanks to the reviews, I pretty much knew what I was buying and got exactly what I expected. Internet purchase success.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Quebot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/4/2013

Customer review by fcr216

3.0 stars 4/4/2013 by fcr216
by fcr216

the rims are cheapy made.the back tire been popping

Was this review helpful? (4) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fcr216
cleveland,ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/21/2013

Customer review by DJ313

1.0 stars 8/21/2013 by DJ313
by DJ313

I will not buy any more bikes from Walmart or Online. The tires wouldn't inflate, I had a big gash on my frame. I took my bike to a bike shop to be professionally assembled and ended up having to buy some new inner tubes because the ones that came with the bike were faulty.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DJ313
Detroit
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good bike
5/10/2014

Customer review by Noroc

4.0 stars 5/10/2014 by Noroc
by Noroc

is a good bike and look great

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Noroc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice bike if you like to customize.
5/18/2014

Customer review by fixiecustom

4.0 stars 5/18/2014 by fixiecustom
by fixiecustom

nice bike, if you replace all the components.

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fixiecustom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I would not recommend purchasing
3/22/2014

Customer review by Mike749

1.0 stars 3/22/2014 by Mike749
by Mike749

Sense I have purchased, during every ride the rear tire goes flat. I have road twice replaced tube and the knocking noise in the crank is getting louder.. It has turned out to be a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? (0) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mike749
Porterville, California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for the price
12/2/2012

Customer review by Kali347

4.0 stars 12/2/2012 by Kali347
by Kali347

One of the bicycles brought damaged tiers and the solution offered by Walmart stores I Puerto Rico was returning the bike and make the purchase again because they were purchased online and the item is not available in stores.

Was this review helpful? (1) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kali347
Puerto Rico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bike for the money
8/18/2014

Customer review by Broncosfan87

5.0 stars 8/18/2014 by Broncosfan87
by Broncosfan87

This bike is great for the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Broncosfan87
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.