Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 52 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

52 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

52 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
17
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 47 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews
Excellent Ride!! Loved it.
12/21/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I had this delivered straight to my house. It was very easy to assemble as it already came pre-assembled. All I had to do was attach the front wheel, the hand rail, and the pedals. It took me less then 20 minutes to assemble. After that, my first test ride was great. No issues what so ever. The ride was great and it was very easy changing gears. The on thing I wish it had more of was the ability to attach lights in more places. I ride during the evening here in the east coast. It's currently winter and so I attached a few lights. I ride along heavy traffic in a small rode with no walk way or bike path so I have to ride along with cars. You can definitely get two lights installed easily and 1 in the front but I wanted at least two more to be extra safe. Since the break wires and gear wires come in the way, I was unable to put additional lights. No worries. Otherwise bike is awesome for the price.

Was this review helpful? (75) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Princeton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/14/2012

Customer review by shelnian

4.0 stars 10/14/2012 by shelnian
by shelnian

Had same features and was the same weight as $500 bikes at a bike store. Front derailier needed adjusting but rear derailier was adjusted correctly. Bought a softer seat to be more like a cruiser. Seat that came with the bike was more of a street seat which is fine if you want that type of seat. Seems well made and has screw blocks for mounting accessories, which some of the $500 bikes didn't.

Was this review helpful? (65) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shelnian
Poulsbo, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice bike weight is only 35 LBS
4/3/2014

Customer review by dnalraps

5.0 stars 4/3/2014 by dnalraps
by dnalraps

Nice bike,easy to put together,weighs only 35 Lbs which is prefect for my bike rack which holds 70 Lbs that i have on the back of my travel trailer. All the gears worked great straight out of the box didn't have to adjust on the 2 bikes i bought. Did have one tire go flat after short ride. Called Schwinn they sent new tube. Bike shop charged $13 for a tube can buy online for $6 took me awhile to find the correct size 700 x 28-35 27 x 1- 1/8 x 1-1/4 hope this helps if you want to buy a spare.

Was this review helpful? (41) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dnalraps
Big O
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good design, several quality problems
5/17/2014

Customer review by Sharkiebob2

2.0 stars 5/17/2014 by Sharkiebob2
by Sharkiebob2

I like this bike but couldn't recommend it. Lightweight frame, looks good and the stand over height is perfect for my short legs. Shipment came quickly and was well protected with a double box. Here's why I rated it only fair overall and poor for ease of setup. Frayed rear brake cable. Had to replace. Damaged chain. Bent in one spot. Had to replace two links. Cones on rear wheel were tightened too tight. They were compensating for a slightly bent rear axle. Derailleurs were way off (front and rear) and looked like they were just slapped on and not adjusted. Slight out of true on front wheel. Good news is that I took it to a pro who fixed all the problems except the rear axle. These problems should have been caught at the factory. I could have returned the bike but my experience is that bikes bought over the internet will need some work. Plan on it. Unless you are very lucky, you will need a professional to tune the bike before riding. It's $75 well spent.

Was this review helpful? (38) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sharkiebob2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good for a comfortable commuting
5/7/2013

Customer review by vwal

4.0 stars 5/7/2013 by vwal
by vwal

I was reviewing schwinn seventh avenue and schwinn solitaire for my ride to office. I have choosen schwinn seventh avenue for following i am 5'6" , I can comfortably sit in upright position unlike a road bike where i have to lean too much; I can comfortable rest standing on the bar at signals and place where i have to stop. Gear shifting is very good. Walmart assembled the bike and is decent. For the same route when i used a mountain bike where i have to change gears but with schwinn seventh avenue i can comfortable go in one gear with ease. This bike lacks mudguard like in schwinn solitaire and front wheel is little bit noisy. Frame quality is decent; In the begining front fork is very hard and also while riding i can feel the road very hard may due to new tires, after increasing tire pressure, seem ok but still little hard.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vwal
san jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Baby boomer Weight loss machine
6/7/2014

Customer review by Slimhandy

4.0 stars 6/7/2014 by Slimhandy
by Slimhandy

Knowing the height weight and age of the reviewer is important in the decision on which bike you choose. I'm age 57 weight 209# male 72.5" tall. I am not an expert.I Do not work for any of the companies involved or it's competitors. It is tall enough for me. if you are more than 74" well..? Shipping; well packaged, box inside box tape 5 stars. setup; out of the box you put the front wheel on and the seat.Yea,Your gonna need an expert for that ( Sarcasm). I tweaked the breaks a little. I was impressed with how much the hand breaks have improved in 40 years since my last bike. Durability, I've only had it for 3 weeks, can't comment. What's Hybrid about it? It has off road suspension, springs on the fork,spring on the seat neck, springs under the seat. The tires are road tires. Off road bikes have noisy, slow tough tires.for obvious reasons. The seat is more cushy that a road bike. handle bars are off road. You are likely giving up speed for comfort with this trade off. Buying a bike was the best decision I've made for my health in a long time. Buying this particular bike, value wise,was a good choice.I wanted more gears for hills. My buddy's bike cost 600 but he is much taller than I. Perfect bike for my age weight and height. If you are 50 pounds heavier it should still be good!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Slimhandy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's the bike meets all I need
1/23/2014

Customer review by Fellowresident

5.0 stars 1/23/2014 by Fellowresident
by Fellowresident

I previously purchased a 26" hybrid for cruising down a leisurely bike path, but I felt that the wheels are a little bit small for me in terms of riding comfortably, even though the 26" is easier to turn around that why most of mountain bikes come with 26". I returned the 26" and purchased this one, it turned out the 700c is much smoother when riding in the paved roads. I heard a lot, even from some sales men, that the 26" wheels are as same size as 700c. but this is wrong! 700c wheels are 3 inches bigger/higher than 26", i myself compared two side by side, that makes the 700c more comfortable and smoother. Does it make sense? The bigger wheels make the bike higher, of cause, but its perfect for me even I am a short guy only have 5'5 as long as you set the saddle in the lowest position. The saddle is the only thing I'd complain that makes me uncomfortable after riding for a while, this is a common problem when I read some reviews. However, you could spend $18 to change to a comfortable saddle. This bike is made of aluminum for the frame, so its a little bit lighter that is an advantage of it. I've owned this bike for one month and riding every couple of days, I really enjoy it so far.

Was this review helpful? (35) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fellowresident
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bike, description
7/8/2013

Customer review by lnux9898

4.0 stars 7/8/2013 by lnux9898
by lnux9898

First, the good: - For the price, the bike is a fantastic buy - It has decent components - It is lightweight - It arrived quickly and and easy to assemble with minimum fuss - Good for road and slight off-road tracks. Now the bad: - It is much bigger than the description lead me to believe. I couldn't stand comfortably over the bike so it is going back - it comes with 28" wheels - description doesn't mention that - The seat is not comfortable. I would change to something else or put a cover if you plan to go off-road. If I was taller, much taller, I would definitely hold onto the bike.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lnux9898
NorthEast, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bike for the price
9/21/2013

Customer review by Mec3

5.0 stars 9/21/2013 by Mec3
by Mec3

I got this bike mainly for commuting. I did a little research and I was a little undecided between a road bike and a hybrid. Of course a road bike is faster but this bike is comfortable to ride and it is also quite fast. Assembly was quite simple, but it did need some adjusting, which I was expecting. For a mechanically inclined individual, this should be fairly simple to do. But taking it to a professional to get it done might be better for some people. After I did all the necessary adjustments took out for a ride and it shifted quickly and quietly. The breaks worked great. The rapid fire shifters are so much better than the grip shifters, so that is a big plus. The only bad thing that I noticed while adjusting the bike was that the fine tuning barrel adjuster for the foward derrauiller was broken. This did not affect the performance on the bike whatsoever because it is used for fine tuning. I just wanted to add this on because I contacted schwinn's service department and they sent me a new shifter assembly at no cost to me. So schwinn does honor their factory warranty. That saved me the hassle of returning the bike. To sum it all up, this is a great bike for someone around 5'10" to maybe 6'1. I"m close to 6' and it fits me perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mec3
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent bike but poor factory test on quality
6/13/2014

Customer review by alex8888

5.0 stars 6/13/2014 by alex8888
by alex8888

Excellent bike, smooth ride, perfect design for me - not to stretch forward much because of the back issues, smooth and quick gear switching,light weight!, very comfortable seat, very comfortable ride for 6ft /32 inseam. Cons: extremely poor factory test on derailleurs. my story: ordered schwinn dsb and seventh ave. dsb arrived with damaged rim and rear tube was off the rim. clear scratch from heavy hit on the rim. package was not damaged at all. returned it. seventh ave. came in a great condition, 15 minutes to assemble, check bolts/nuts. adjusted breaks quickly. problem: duraillers were off completely. the chain was scratching not only front gear on different positions but also scratching rear dureiller small wheel, visually was off on seventh gear (the small rear gear). decided to go to shop versus adjusting myself: +75$. did look like nobody even tried to tune it at the factory at all. - just dropped on the components and that is it. overall, i'm very satisfied to have a great bike for less than 300$. components are inexpensive but very much better than competitors in the same price range hybrid bikes of 230-299$ at retailers.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alex8888
redmond
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Nice ride due to shocks and balloon tires.
10/26/2012

Customer review by victor56

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by victor56
by victor56

Shift up and shift down is different on either side of handle bar, no clue why reversed but it works. Frame allows addition of rear carry rack ( most important ).

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
victor56
Phoenix AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/18/2013

Customer review by enjoybikeing

5.0 stars 2/18/2013 by enjoybikeing
by enjoybikeing

I ride this bike on trails ,sidewalks, its great light weight for speed, plus built tough for trails i ride 10 miles a day 7 days a week.This is a great buy wally marts sent me a text when it got to the store they put it together the same day.I had a schwinn sidewinder bike from wally marts it never wore out half of my 10 mile trek is on asphalt so i wanted more speed this hybrid gives me that,you dont have to spend a fortune for a good road bike that will last.No one will ever beat wally marts price or service i know if i would have change my mine at any time wally marts would have refunded my money thats great about them ,so get out there and buy a bike and have some fun.

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
enjoybikeing
naples florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Schwinn Bike
6/10/2013

Customer review by djrmjtech

5.0 stars 6/10/2013 by djrmjtech
by djrmjtech

I really enjoy this bike, an awesome bike, the who shipment of this bike was well packed in it's box. I really didn't have to put too much into it to start riding it. But this bike is comfortable and has a smooth ride and is very light. I definitely would recommend this bike to my friends. I take it to work and all my friends like the bike. First of all it's a HYBRID BIKE!!! And I'm happy with buying it online through Walmart...I have no regrets...Thanks Walmart and Thank You Schwinn bikes...

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
djrmjtech
Sanger, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Highly recommended
7/7/2013

Customer review by papa813

5.0 stars 7/7/2013 by papa813
by papa813

Double boxed shipping, very secure. The bike itself exceeded my expectations. Quality workmanship, attention to detail, lightweight. Easy to ride, shift and brake. You cant go wrong with this purchase!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
papa813
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Robert
4/6/2013

Customer review by RAM48

5.0 stars 4/6/2013 by RAM48
by RAM48

Had it shipped to my home. Fairly easy to put together. Was riding it in about 40 minutes. Gears worked great without any adjusting. Brakes needed a small adjustment to be to my liking. Bought the women's Seventh Avenue a couple of months ago for my wife and she loved it, so I bought the men's to match. We use them when we go camping and really enjoy them.

Was this review helpful? (17) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RAM48
Aberdeen, Ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not the best product but ok for the price
8/18/2013

Customer review by ReviewbyDoug

3.0 stars 8/18/2013 by ReviewbyDoug
by ReviewbyDoug

I bought both the men and women's model and they are decent enough but I wouldn't recommend them unless you are mechanically inclined. The women's one I haven't even got a chance to ride yet because the tire popped when filling it with air and rather than taking it back and buying a new one I just spent 5 bucks on a new one. The men's bike was a little out of wack I spent some time adjusting the gears so that it would shift properly and adjusting the brakes. The adjustment knob for the front gears broke so it doesn't shift into second now. I have to go buy another part before it will function correctly. I'm sure the female one is the same I just haven't had a chance to even take it for a ride and see how it shifts, Hence the reason I say if you are not good at that type of stuff I would buy a bike from a local shop who will take care of these problems for they sell you the bike. If I didn't already invest the time in getting it running right and putting a baby carrier on it I would just take the back and buy something local. It is also not a hybrid bike in the sense of a hybrid being you can go on or off road it is a hybrid frame what ever that means. It has road tire on it so if you plan to go off the road don't buy this bike.

Was this review helpful? (15) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ReviewbyDoug
Greenville sc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good bicycle for anyone
7/20/2014

Customer review by Shoopfizzle

5.0 stars 7/20/2014 by Shoopfizzle
by Shoopfizzle

I just received this bike extremely quick! I used ship to home service. The setup was a breeze, but i have assembled plenty bikes from boxes. The part that was surprising was that i didnt have to adjust much in the way of brake placement, or shifting. I still would never expect a bike to come in a box and not need adjusting, so this was a nice change. The shifting on this model seems very quick and smooth. The seat is comfortable. Lots of people complain about seats being uncomfortable, but they dont give themselves time to get used to it. Honestly, when we first started driving, our foot was quite uncomfotable holding down the pedal because we werent used to it. So be patient with any bike seat and start off with 15 min ride then gradually move up in duration and your ability to tolerate any seat will be greater. This bike has the sadle post shock, spring seat, and front fork shocks so it takes quite a bit of the bumps for you. Very good bike for the price. This bike helps you to get a rode bike feel without discomfort in your shoulders, wrist, and neck.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shoopfizzle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Bad start but came thru
6/8/2013

Customer review by justsaytim

4.0 stars 6/8/2013 by justsaytim
by justsaytim

Got the bike and the back tube had a hole and wouldn't air up. Easier for me to buy a new one than take it back and once done the bike is everything I expected. Rides good, gears work perfectly. Wife got the matching girls bike and she loves it as well.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
justsaytim
Garfield, Ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Value for the Cost
5/3/2014

Customer review by JC999

5.0 stars 5/3/2014 by JC999
by JC999

I replaced my old $600 Bike Store hybrid with the Schwinn. The old one had several problems. The Schwinn was easy to assemble and I had no need to adjust the gearing. The components seem to be decent quality. It rides great. I am amazed at the quality considering the reasonable cost.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JC999
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5/20/2013

Customer review by transplantedYank

4.0 stars 5/20/2013 by transplantedYank
by transplantedYank

Early delivery was a good surprise. Assembly went easy, however, the derailleur adjustments that were supposed to be done at the factory were lacking. I could not get the chain to shift onto the large front sprocket. The rear sounded like it was between shifts. Other than that I really appreciate the comfortable ride and how easy it controls on the shallow dirt trails.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
transplantedYank
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews