Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 24 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

24 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

24 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-18 of 18 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

SO LIGHTWEIGHT! AWESOME road bike, Top Value.
9/7/2012

Customer review by TRayAllDay

5.0 stars 9/7/2012 by TRayAllDay
by TRayAllDay

This is by far the best road bike i have ever ridden for $250. I have owned the infamous GMC denali bike, and this schwinn blows it out of the water. I swear this bicycle feels like its under 20 lbs. Its SO light weight next to the other road bikes walmart carries. The shifters shift fine after adjustment. You WILL have to adjust the high and low screws before you hop on for a long ride. The back brake came PERFECTLY adjusted, the front break just needed a squeeze with a tightening of cable tension and its good. If you want a perfectly adjusted derailleur you may need to take it to a shop, which im debating to do or not. I'm 5'11, 200+ pounds and it fits my legs fine with proper raising of the saddle. If 6 you're any taller than 6 feet, you may feel slightly uncomfortable. I like these style shifters VS the twisty shifters on the GMC denali. I actually Love the saddle, it feels perfectly padded without going overboard. The front wheel is a quick release, which is very convient for transporting in my car. This bike comes with pedal cages, reflectors, but not a water bottle cage. You can order a schwinn water bottle+ cage and it will fit perfectly. Its a sharp looking bike. VERY impressed with it, especially how light it is for being under $300. If you're around 6 feet tall and looking for a legit road bike, get this. Pay the extra 90 bucks over the GMC denali.

Was this review helpful? (63) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TRayAllDay
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very Good Bike, Great Deal!
10/6/2012

Customer review by VeloChic

5.0 stars 10/6/2012 by VeloChic
by VeloChic

I am a beginner to the cycling world. I've been biking long distances (20+ miles) with a mountain bike that I outfitted with hybrid tires. I upgraded to the schwinn varsity road bike and my rides have been great. I've ridden road bikes of the past but this is certainly a much smoother ride. I am now easily able to ride (50+ miles) a day with no difficulty. The bike is a mans bike but I've been facing difficulty as a young woman finding a bike that fit me well... I'm only 5'5 but I have a 32' inch inseam... so I'm all leg. This bike is a comfortable ride for me, but if your inseam is less than 32' you will not be able to straddle the bar...

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VeloChic
Corning NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike For The Money
1/28/2013

Customer review by Fergon28

4.0 stars 1/28/2013 by Fergon28
by Fergon28

Well, It's a really good bike! I got it for about 300 dollars, including a warranty. The only problem that I have with it is with the rear derailleur. It will not shift to 7th gear. It all works fine, I just need to take it to the shop to tune the shimano's correctly. Walmart assembly isn't the best. Overall a great bike.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fergon28
Eustis, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Opps, just one small problem
4/18/2013

Customer review by Longoman

4.0 stars 4/18/2013 by Longoman
by Longoman

As good as hopefully expected but... Bike came w/ defective tire tube (near stem). Called warranty and 2 new two tubes were shipped/arrived in two days. Everything OK now

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Longoman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bike for everybody!!!!
9/22/2012

Customer review by galateo

5.0 stars 9/22/2012 by galateo
by galateo

Best road bike option! I will say just buy this one don't waist time trying something else!

Was this review helpful? (17) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
galateo
long beach, california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Glad I purchased
3/20/2013

Customer review by Jennywo

5.0 stars 3/20/2013 by Jennywo
by Jennywo

My husband saw a gentleman riding this bike. He liked it so much he had to stop and ask questions. He Liked the fact that the bike was light weight. When he inquired about the price and where it was purchased, he was surprised as well as shocked at the price and that it came from Walmart. He immediately headed to the local Walmart store. He was a bit disappointed when he found out that the bike was sold only at one store in the area, and that quantities were limited. Of course the store was out of stock and though he was offered an alternative, he have had to refuse. I went online and found exactly what he wanted. We opted for the site to store offer and received the bike in about eight to nine days. Assembly was not as bad as he expected, make sure you have an Allen wrench. He showed it to his brother who in turn purchased one also. I recommend this bike. It makes for a great Christmas, Birthday, or Father's day gift.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jennywo
Newport News , VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I strongly recommend this bike!
3/23/2013

Customer review by Songwriter49

5.0 stars 3/23/2013 by Songwriter49
by Songwriter49

I ordered mine online shipped to my door so the assembly and initial tune-up was up to me. I own a bike repair stand and tool set which makes the set-up feasible so I adjusted the brakes and derailleurs plus pumped up the tires before I rode it. The factory settings (out of the box) may not be "road ready" so I'd suggest properly adjusting the bike or taking it to your LBS for help if unable to do it yourself. I also stripped the factory handlebar wrap and re-wrapped with a red and black camouflage cork wrap to trick it out a little and added the Schwinn frame accessory bag. I am 5'11", 200# and find the bike to be a perfect fit. This bike is light, smooth to ride and looks awesome. The seat is comfortable, very attractive and has great stitching. If you're looking for a drop-down bar road bike for under $300 this is the best bike I've seen for the money. Happy riding!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Songwriter49
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good to learn on, I guess
7/3/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 7/3/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this bike with no prior experience in road cycling. Did a little research before hand, so I knew I wasn't buying anything special. After a quick youtube session, I had the bike fitted to me (other than I'm way too short for the frame) and I was on my way. Having nothing to compare it to, I thought the ride was nice and I was able to maintain a fair amount of speed at ~19-20mph. I now know that isn't impressive at all lol. After that first ride, I did some more youtubing and got my derailleurs set up right and my brakes to where they'd stop me in a reasonable distance. Now that I have more than 150 miles on it, I'm looking for a new bike. The bike was great for someone who doesn't know if they will keep with cycling and doesn't want to spend $1000 on an "entry level" bike, but if this is something they'll do for a while, I'd suggest skipping this step and just get a real bike.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Lake Charles, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Starter, Great for Learning How to Upgrade
2/12/2013

Customer review by Paleocyclist

4.0 stars 2/12/2013 by Paleocyclist
by Paleocyclist

This is a great bike for the budget tinkerer/engineer. I have an older (2009, "natural" aluminum with yellow and black) version of this bike. It had languished outside the store until the price was $160. I used this bike to learn how to build and rebuild a bike by using better quality but inexpensive parts. The only original parts are the frame, headset, and fork--but the fork and headset will be changed this year. I used a microSHIFT Centos groupset (which is available here on Walmart.com) to upgrade from the Shimano A050 shifters to brake/shift levers and low-end Shimano front and rear derailleurs. This also allowed me to go from a 7- to 9-speed casette, which meant that I needed a new rear hub, as these 7-speed hubs are older-style freewheels, not freehubs--so I learnt how to build a rear wheel. Again, a good bike for a tinkerer.

Was this review helpful? (4) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Paleocyclist
Corsicana, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not what i expected for the price
6/28/2013

Customer review by soler13

3.0 stars 6/28/2013 by soler13
by soler13

i bought this bike a month ago because it said Aluminum and it looks nice,but thats where it ends,the bike feels light enough but when i ride it it feels like it weighs a ton.As soon as i stop pedaling the bike slows down considerably unlike other schwinn bikes ive had in the past,i bought a used schwinn after i purchased this one and its ten times better,nice and smooth and feels light and does not slow down when i stop pedaling.i have checked everything on this bike and its just not worth the money they charge for it,im thinking about selling it and buying a used bike.I would recommend that if you are thinking about getting into bike riding dont buy this bike,go online and buy a used one that has been tweeked in a bike shop,it will feel better than this one,if its just for casual riding then this one is ok.i hope this review helps those of you thinking about getting into bike riding.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
soler13
miami fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/25/2013

Customer review by Whatnex

5.0 stars 8/25/2013 by Whatnex
by Whatnex

Great bike,very light weight....loving it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Whatnex
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beginners road bike
9/2/2013

Customer review by lg020769

5.0 stars 9/2/2013 by lg020769
by lg020769

After ridding my mountain bike for a while I decided to upgraded to a Road Bike. I started asking a couple of friends about road bikes and its amazing how they would all say to get an entry level road bike that would cost me aprox $600.00 USD. I went through several websites and found the same answer, they recommend a beginners road bike of USD$600.00. To me that was insane because all I wanted to do was exercise and not compete in the Olympics. So, if you are looking for a good road bike for exercise no need to go any further this bike is just fine. At the end of the day you still have to pedal in order to go around the block.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lg020769
Miami, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bike for a novice rider
7/25/2013

Customer review by MisterOOOOOO

5.0 stars 7/25/2013 by MisterOOOOOO
by MisterOOOOOO

I hadn't ridden a bicycle in 30 years and wanted to get back into it as a form of exercise. This is a great starter road bike for someone who doesn't want pay a lot of money. The bike is very light weight. I purchased at the store so it was preassembled. A Walmart employee tuned the brakes for me. Other than that it was ready to go. I removed the foot traps because I wasn't very comfortable with getting my feet out of them when I needed to stop. All in all I am very happy with this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MisterOOOOOO
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
9/12/2013

Customer review by Brianbigmac

5.0 stars 9/12/2013 by Brianbigmac
by Brianbigmac

I bought this bike a couple of weeks ago and have about 100 miles on it. I completed a tri with a 14 mile ride last weekend on this bike and it performed great in race conditions. The course was very hilly (much different that I am used to). Shifting was easy during the race with the Shimano components (I think I used every gear going up and down the hills). I did get it up to 34.7 miles/hour at one downhill part of the race. I would recommend this bike to anyone wanting to get into a road bike without spending $700. Schwinn makes a quality product. The bike is light and easy to ride. The assembly was easy and I had very little issues (I had to adjust the front derailleur, but it was easy with a twist of a screwdriver). To make it feel like more of a racing bike, I removed the reflectors from the tires, front and back and the plastic protector from the rear wheel hub (I read that someone else did this from another review). Additions: • Schwinn water bottle that I bought from Target (sorry Walmart). • Cateye Micro Wireless (CC-MC200W) (bought from Amazon (sorry Walmart)). • I also bought a Schwinn tire pump off of Amazon (sorry Walmart). The tires require 100 psi and I would recommend checking it each time you take off for a ride.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brianbigmac
The Woodlands, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bike for the price
8/7/2013

Customer review by Mckeycee

4.0 stars 8/7/2013 by Mckeycee
by Mckeycee

Love this bike. Pros: sleek, slim, light, fast, looks cool, and great for the price. Some places wanted $3000 and up for a bike I felt that was just as good, yeah right maybe if i was lance armstrong. Psh Cons: bike assembly was difficult due to vague instructions, bike was missing one front brake pad upon delivery, and the bike does not handle bumpy roads very well I had a flat tire within the first week of urban riding.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mckeycee
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great Bike for its price
9/12/2013

Customer review by JAMX2009

4.0 stars 9/12/2013 by JAMX2009
by JAMX2009

I've had my bike for a month already and there more i ride it the more i love it. at the beginning was a little disappointed because some parts are not as good as i thought they'd be, but after take it for a couple of rides i realize it just do the job. besides, it's great price compare what you get elsewhere. I would definitely recommend it to a beginner rider that is just looking to be fit and recreational use (a professional rider might consider it a piece of junk). It's easy to put together, however some adjustment has to be done in order to ride, the chain keeps falling off until you fix it, but after you tune it, it just runs smoothly and comfortably. I read some bad reviews that it is not worht it, but I'm very satisfied with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JAMX2009
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Bike
8/17/2013

Customer review by DMX123

4.0 stars 8/17/2013 by DMX123
by DMX123

It´s a very nice bike, not too heavy, it´s a good value for money deal. The only thing I disliked is the shifts are very old fashioned, you can´t see them online, they are simple plastic, big and attach to the top of the maneuver, which makes it difficult to reach. If that isn´t an issue, I would recommend this bike.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DMX123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Porsche in a old volkswagen motor
9/14/2013

Customer review by Wheels4682

2.0 stars 9/14/2013 by Wheels4682
by Wheels4682

The bike is absolutely beautiful until you start ridding it. I was wandering around looking from store to store for a new bike I could afford. I just about gave up till I ran into this bike. I thought no way too good to be true. The bike weighs 25-30 pounds. Sounds light, right? I rode another expensive bike and these two bikes arent even in the same league. The wheels stop as soon as you stop pedaling. If your serious about getting into the Road bike world, I would recommend saving for a little longer and buy yourself a better bike that performs good. If your a casual bike ridder this bike is perfect for you, but if your serious about ridding through the city dont do it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wheels4682
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.