Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 14 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

14 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

14 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-10 of 10 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Best Bike I've Ever Owned
4/29/2013

Customer review by Harbard

5.0 stars 4/29/2013 by Harbard
by Harbard

I bought this bike at our local Wal Mart after my old one was stolen. I love the shocks on the fork and seat and the ease of shifting gears. Even though it's only a seven-speed, it's more than enough. I have no trouble keeping up with my friend and his 21-speed. This bike is rock-solid dependable. I've had absolutely no problems with it after riding it every day for four months. It's heavy, but fast. I don't think the weight gets in the way at all. As a matter of fact, the steel frame gives a much more solid ride, more comfortable and has more "Glide," if you know what I mean. Aluminum frames are light, but the ride is vibratory and flimsy. This bike was made for comfort, but it's plenty fast. The attractive blue color is a plus. Everything on it is wel made and sturdy. I can't say enough about it. Having only one sproket on the front (It's a seven speed) makes the gear shifting dependable and quiet. This is the smoothest shifting, smoothest riding bike on the planet. This is an old-school bike, solid, comfortable, and sturdy. Also FAST, faster than you'd think! Buy it, you won't be disappointed!!!

Was this review helpful? (44) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Harbard
Waycross, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Terrific bike for getting around town!
10/14/2012

Customer review by nowbatting19

5.0 stars 10/14/2012 by nowbatting19
by nowbatting19

I had a Schwinn Hybrid "Comfort" 21 speed bike prior to this purchase. This 5th Avenue Schwinn is more comfortable (to me) with the suspension seat and it has the shock absorbing forks as well. It is a very nice looking bike with the blue frame and brown seat and handle bars going together quite nicely. This bike is a 7 speed, which is better for me as most of my riding is on level or slight incline in the city. I never used all 21 speeds on my previous bike. The tires on this are narrower as this bike is meant for city and not mountain use. The frame is very strong and I especially like the features like the rack on back for strapping things. The bike was very easy to put together; all you need is a hex wrench, a small box or open end wrench and maybe a phillips screwdriver. The only parts you need to put together are the handle bar to the bike (2 hex bolts), the front tire to the front forks (comes with the quick release), the front fender (2 smaller hex screws, a small box wrench and phillips screwdriver), and you also need to adjust the brakes somewhat. The rear wheel, rear storage rack, rear fender and all cables are already attached. You will need to also inflate the tires. If you plan on riding it at night you are going to need a headlamp & tail light as there are not many reflectors on this bike and you wouldn't want to get run over. The only disappointment for me was the fenders are made of plastic. In the old days of course you would have got metal fenders but hey they serve the purpose. But I would have preferred metal fenders. Other than that I am very happy with this bike and I would recommend this to anyone thinking about using this to ride about town. I'm sure you can ride this off-road as well but I would not recommend this for riding up rugged hills or anything. This 5th Avenue is made for city commutes.

Was this review helpful? (37) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nowbatting19
Pasadena, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/22/2012

Customer review by Tifefe

4.0 stars 12/22/2012 by Tifefe
by Tifefe

Great bike for recreational purposes. It is perfect for people of my age (sixty and up).

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tifefe
Homestead
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I'm so glad I bought this!
9/7/2013

Customer review by BikingEd

5.0 stars 9/7/2013 by BikingEd
by BikingEd

Fantastic! I hadn't ridden a bike in years so I shopped around. I guess I'm just not sophisticated enough to tell the difference between a $700 local bike shop model and this Schwinn Fifth Avenue. (I'm sure there are differences; I just don't know what they are.) So I ignored all my bike friends who told me to skip the big box stores and listened to nowbatting19 & Harbard from the reviews here. I picked it up at a local Walmart already assembled, put air in the tires at the gas station next door and rode 10 miles home. I've been riding 25 miles round trip to work 2 to 3 times per week for the past 2 months and I love it! If you had told me I'd be doing this, I would have thought you were crazy. What a great way to get exercise that doesn't seem like exercise. I replaced the seat (too hard), added lights, and a rack top bag in back. I had to adjust the handle bars and brakes once. Only nit: you can't shift gears once your hands get too sweaty so you need either gloves or a paper towel. That's it. Great bike! I take it almost everywhere now. Reminds me of when I was a kid.

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BikingEd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Didn't meet my needs
7/1/2013

Customer review by RandieL

3.0 stars 7/1/2013 by RandieL
by RandieL

I was looking for a bike where I would be able to sit upright and one with a comfortable seat. The seat on the bike is comfortable. When trying to adjust the handlebars I found that they could tilt forward or back, but they cannot be raised. The stem is fixed in the fork. I decided that the handlebars were not high enough for me. Helpful hint...when trying to adjust the tilt of the handlebars, use the adjustment underneath, not on the sides. The instruction book was not clear about that. I had been unable to try out the bike before buying as it was not in stock in the store and had to order it. Return was very easy, thanks.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RandieL
Ocean View, DE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't buy online from Walmart
4/16/2013

Customer review by Dewerner79

2.0 stars 4/16/2013 by Dewerner79
by Dewerner79

My bike came with two scrapes on the frame from the girl running it into the door bringing it out. I rode the bike 1 day and the next day the front tire was flat from the valve being faulty. I bought a replacement tube the day I bought the bike but the size you sell is a presta valve not a Schrader valve which fits the Schwinn bike. Walmart does not sell those valves but do sell the bikes. I was told by a Walmart employee that Target sells the correct inner tube which I went to and bought my replacement tube. I wish I would have bought my bike there as well. Not a good experience! The faulty inner tube was not a Schwinn product. It was cheap and defective!

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dewerner79
Titusville, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bike for the casual rider
9/10/2013

Customer review by MountainsideMom

5.0 stars 9/10/2013 by MountainsideMom
by MountainsideMom

This is a perfect bike for my son's first adult bike. We only ride casually on paved trails and this bike rides well. He likes the carrier on back to put a bottle of water on or carry a small cooler or backpack. He likes the blue color too.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MountainsideMom
Christiansburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Surprisingly nice bike!
7/22/2013

Customer review by Arkydad

4.0 stars 7/22/2013 by Arkydad
by Arkydad

I bought this bike along with a Schwinn trailer for my kids. I wanted a simple, comfortable bike for fitness and fun. This is the perfect one for me. It is very comfortable and 7speed is just enough gears. It rides great on paved and dirt roads..the front shocks absorb the bumps to provide a smooth ride. If you are looking for something to cruise around town, ride some trails, and ride in comfort this is a steal at the current price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Arkydad
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Iffy, at best.
12/13/2013

Customer review by GeeGee7

3.0 stars 12/13/2013 by GeeGee7
by GeeGee7

I tried to adjust the nadle bar height (front fork) and guess what? There is no height adjustment! A tall guy is supposed to just stay scrunched over? For God's sake, this is a street bike, not a racing bike. Too, the usually difficulty in adjusting to the largest cog. Too, it's always a good idea to have a spare inner tube so I went down to Wal-Mart which had none in stock - had to order one. Bummer !

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GeeGee7
ORANGE, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Bike
12/20/2014

Customer review by Guard1031

5.0 stars 12/20/2014 by Guard1031
by Guard1031

I just purchased this great bike 2 days ago at Walmart for some reason it had a price ticked on it for $200 but was marked down to $100 what deal it much have been there a while it had a little rust on the one of the sprockets which I easily corrected with WD 40 I love it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Guard1031
Would recommend to a friend? Yes