Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 83 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

83 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

83 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
26
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
12
1-20 of 77 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews
Great Bike for Your Buck
4/16/2013

Customer review by BaunTragger

4.0 stars 4/16/2013 by BaunTragger
by BaunTragger

I've had this bike for 3 months now. It has been ridden on both City Streets and Dirt Trails. Usage Frequency:Daily. First day I got it I made sure to tighten ALL bolts and screws and what nots.... and of course there were several lose bolts, cranks and such. Once I was sure everything was tighten and secure, I took it out straight to the Dirt Trail..... It handled very well. Fork is not the greatest. Like riding it on the streets a lot more. After 3 moths of usage approx: 180 miles, the bike has begun to have issues. Mostly things that should be fixed with a TuneUp. I bought the Product Care Plan which gives you the impression it will cover all issues including routine maintenance....... it doesn't tried filing a claim they told me to just return the bike for a new one. No way, I have upgraded the tires and brakes pads. Stripped it off of all sticker and plastic uselessness and like it too much to change it. Check out the pics. Will try to get it serviced after the 90 day return time. Not a Bad Bike at all for $170, including taxes $190 with 3 yr Care plan. CHA CHING!

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BaunTragger
Whittier, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great get back to riding bike
12/28/2013

Customer review by FreezPop

4.0 stars 12/28/2013 by FreezPop
by FreezPop
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My Husband was pleased to see the bike under the tree. It is a nice size bike for a 5'9" & up male. Color is a two shades darker than picture which I am glad.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FreezPop
Wilmington, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Nice Bike
6/17/2013

Customer review by tennesseetraveler

5.0 stars 6/17/2013 by tennesseetraveler
by tennesseetraveler

I purchased this bike after looking at several others and reading reviews on this site. I was impressed that I could find a bike for this price that had 29" wheels and dual disk brakes. I really liked the blue/black paint scheme too. I have ridden the bike over 30 miles since I bought it a couple weeks ago and I absolutely love it. I replaced the seat with a gel one, but I've never had a bike that had a comfortable stock seat. I've also done a few small things to it, but honestly, I could have left it alone and been perfectly happy with it. If you're on the fence about this bike because of the "Wal-Mart bike" stigma that bike snobs have placed on these, I can safely assure you that you will not be disappointed if you buy this bike over a $1000 TREK bike. If you do have any problems, contact Mongoose directly, and they will be more than happy to help you. The only thing I did have to do with my bike was adjust the front derailleur so it shifted in to third gear, but most bikes you buy need a little tweaking out of the box. A bike shop will do it for you for a very cheap price.

Was this review helpful? (32) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tennesseetraveler
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
this bike will need some upgrades
11/19/2013

Customer review by jwiggles9805

4.0 stars 11/19/2013 by jwiggles9805
by jwiggles9805

these bikes have issues right from the start. first thing you need to do is get one in the box and put it together yourself or completely take apart the "assembled" one and check everything out like make sure there is grease in the bearings, mine came with half greased bearings and half were dry...really??? its grease. really cheap be generous. front and rear brakes needed adjustment. rear shifter needed adjustment and lubrication. almost every nut and bolt was loose. left side crank arm had this issue where it would loosen itself after approx. 5 miles Zep high strength red threadlock compound fixed that for good. had this issue where the chain skipped and came off the front sprockets destroying the front derailleur and chain guard cause was the rear derailleur pivot pin sheared causing the chain skip. after all that mess i just upgraded both front and rear derailleurs, and am waiting for a sweet pair of rapid fire shifters to arrive. needed a new chain after only 100 miles . tires only good for around 200 miles. the seat is just awful uncomfortable. also the seat tube has a direct path right into the crank bearings allowing moisture and dust/dirt to get in the bearings....not good for grease. frame is really nice surprisingly strong and light. front fork is mediocre at best compresses but doesn't like to rebound on its own. I'm told they either won't compress or wont rebound so you have a 100% chance of it not working as expected. 500 miles of mostly road use in 4 months and $275 bucks in repairs and upgrades and I'm happy with it now. in summary if you want a bike that won't give you any problems this is not it. but if you want a good frame and are willing to spend some additional cash on upgrades this would be a great bike.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jwiggles9805
western massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great looking bike, poor assembly!
9/24/2013

Customer review by Newseriousrider2013

1.0 stars 9/24/2013 by Newseriousrider2013
by Newseriousrider2013
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Loved the look of the bike, the seat is very, very uncomfortable. Had the bike for 2 days and had 10 miles on it when the left side crank arm fell off, had to call someone for a ride home. Took back to the store immediately, I was warned about buying a relatively inexpensive bike and sure enough it came true, whether it was poor craftsmanship or just an inexperienced worker who assembled the bike, I had enough and didn't want to run the risk of being stranded somewhere. I returned the bike no problems and will be going to an actual bike store for a more durable bike for my needs ie fitness, trails and some road.

Was this review helpful? (10) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Newseriousrider2013
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good all around bike for the price.
1/26/2013

Customer review by chumby95

4.0 stars 1/26/2013 by chumby95
by chumby95

I Just returned from my local Wal-mart from riding my new Mongoose Stat 29er. I got a ride to the store money in hand, after reviewing all of my local walmart stores' 29" and 26" bikes. I initially wanted to buy the Ledge but there were no models in stock and that bike was roughly 9 Lbs. more than the stat. The only 29ers t the store were the stat and the Kent Genesis 29er. the Kent was too heavy for a comparable bike; I have a Genesis 26" V2100, which I rode everyday for a year. After comparing the components of the Mongoose and Genesis, I found the Mongoose has more solid state products. After buying my Stat, and from some pre-anticipated issues from my research, I anticipated there would be some "tweeks" to ride it to my home. First thing, in the parking lot, the front neck /was loose and the tires were low. I walked the bike to an air pump @ the local Giant, then to autozone for allen wrenches to tighten the loose neck. I rode the bike 5 miles with no problems.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chumby95
Espanola, N M
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
We just LOVE our bikes!
9/25/2012

Customer review by NNJ1118

5.0 stars 9/25/2012 by NNJ1118
by NNJ1118

My husband and I initially came into Walmart to hopefully (emphasis on hopefully) see if the Mongoose Deception or Snarl were in stock. We were already disenchanted with the fact that we were going to have to ship these bikes using site-to-store, and it would take a whopping 2 weeks before we'd receive them. We rolled the dice to see if we could cut into that long wait. Lo and behold, there wasn't just one Mongoose with dual-disc brakes on the bike floor...there were 2! The Mongoose Stat was not only in stock, but the bikes were fully (and correctly) assembled, and ready to go! We just rode them roughly 8 miles today, and the feel, the ride, the efficiency of the bike were all above our expectations. We are avid bike riders, and we know a good bike when we ride one. Correction...we're not just avid riders, our bikes are our transportation, so it is essential that they are efficient, smooth, can handle rough terrain and are user-friendly. Well, the price just CANNOT BE BEAT! Where on earth can you buy a 29" bike with DUAL DISC BRAKES anywhere for just $219? Although we just bought the bikes today, we have already gotten our money's worth. We just couldn't be more thrilled!!

Was this review helpful? (106) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NNJ1118
Chattanooga, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/5/2013

Customer review by drumwraith

5.0 stars 10/5/2013 by drumwraith
by drumwraith
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

In hopes of getting my sorry 59 year old undisciplined self back in some kind of shape, I purchased this bike. I read all the reviews about how the bike won't stand up to anything rough. Really...does anyone have to tell us that this bike probably won't suit professionals or class VI trails. I'm assuming that if you're looking at this bike, you're looking for a decent workout and the ability to ride off road with moderate intensity. This is the bike for that. I have had this bike for about 2 weeks now and have ridden it everyday. It was fairly easy to assemble, but I used to work on bikes a lot...I would think twice about it if you aren't mechanically inclined or never worked on bikes. My overall opinion is that I honestly can't believe this bike is priced this low. You get a really nice bike for the money. I mean, really...it has way too many gears for me to ever use. Brakes work good, shifter works good, wheels turn smoothly, frame is very stout and when I am done riding, I just glide right down the rock steps leading to my front porch. Upgrade the seat, though. The stock one will chap your hide and bruise your cheeks.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drumwraith
jasper ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bike for rural commute! 1000+ miles
10/9/2013

Customer review by jhambone

5.0 stars 10/9/2013 by jhambone
by jhambone

I bought this bike two months ago, as a commuter bike for use in a rural area. My daily commute is 10 miles each way, including several dirt roads. In that two months, I have put over a thousand miles on the bike. Other than replacing the rear tire due to normal wear, I have have not done anything to the bike, and she still runs as smooth as the day I bought her. I average 14.5 mph, over the ten mile ride, with speeds of up to 17mph. One thing I had been looking for is bike that rode as smoothly on the road as on the trails, and this bike has it. The front suspension will easily handle anything thrown in front of it, from curbs to tree roots, or the occasional 2×4 laying in the road that seems to appear out of nowhere at 430am. Very satisfied with this bike, has handled everything I have thrown at it over the last two months.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jhambone
Crawfordville, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome bike for the price!
10/14/2012

Customer review by MongooseJordi

5.0 stars 10/14/2012 by MongooseJordi
by MongooseJordi

The bike's color scheme was the first thing that caught my eye, then the frame which almost looks like an enlarged BMX frame. The 29 inch wheels are great because they provide greater balance being wider and bigger they grip more pavement. When I bought it I rode it outside the store and the front derailleur wasn't shifting up to 2nd gear from first. It was just misaligned and they quickly aligned for me at the store, now they shift smoothly and quietly. I love the quick release hubs on the wheels, they make putting they bike in the car so easy! For the size of the bike I find it quite light at 35 pounds, to be honest just the frame and wheels are worth more than the $220 that you pay. The frame looks smaller than what it actually is because of the angle of the top tube; the down tube is about 22 inches long. The quick release seat is also very handy when my mom, dad or sister want to ride it for a bit. The disk brakes are quick and responsive. The SRAM twist grip shifters are easy to use and I prefer them over the trigger shifters. The only thing that I found uncomfortable was the seat, although it could be that I haven't ridden a bike in 8 years! Overall I love this bike and I can see myself riding it for a long time!

Was this review helpful? (54) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MongooseJordi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Inexpensive yet gets the job done.
11/27/2012

Customer review by ibjimbham

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by ibjimbham
by ibjimbham

I'm having fun riding it. I mtn bike in Pacific NW (roots, rocks, mud, etc). Not your urban trail setting. This bike works! The 29" wheels roll over areas that would sometimes challenge a 26". The frame top tube has a steep angle to it so the bike can fit a wide number of riders. I was looking for a bike to keep around as a loaner when friends/family come to town so we can hit the trails. This bike is just the ticket. OK it is not fancy and has some limitations but what do you expent for a $200+ bike? It weighs about 3 Ibs more than my $800 mtn bike, not that big a deal considering it is 26" and this one is 29". The brakes are squishy but you allow for it. The shock is not too great but it works. You have to be careful shifting, not under load, but that also can be allowed for. I read some of the reviews here about bikes breaking down right away. It is clear that some were not assembled correctly at the store and people did not check the bike before hopping on for a ride. Consequently, broken axles, chain problems, etc. So do not trust the store to assemble it correctly. Check all fittings and alignments yourself before riding. Make sure the wheels are set in the hangers properly for instance. All things considered, a really good deal.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ibjimbham
Nortwest Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good bike, great Mongoose Customer Service
4/4/2014

Customer review by Jima54

5.0 stars 4/4/2014 by Jima54
by Jima54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just bought my second Stat; now I have one at home and one at my cabin. Had the first one 6 months and liked it—although it has not been problem free. The rear tire kept blowing off the rim (blowing the tube with it) and the freewheel sprocket fell apart on me. Mongoose Customer Service is great and promptly fixed me up with the replacement parts. The primary reason I bought these bikes is to exercise my dog off-leash; and as an added benefit I get exercise too. I ride on unused dirt roads, horse trails and through hay fields. The 29 inch tires help negotiate the rough terrain and disk brakes work good. Those knobby tires work well in the snow, although they have a little more rolling resistance than I’d like to see on hard surfaces. If there is a design flaw, it is that Mongoose seemed to keep the same gearing as the 26-inch bikes. That means with the 29-inch wheels, the lowest gear is not really as low as it should be for those long-steep-uphill runs. And the seat post is just barely long enough for a 6’2”rider. The newest Stat has worked problem free. All-in-all, the Stat is a good value, especially when I got them both at a discounted price of $154.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jima54
Gardner, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/17/2012

Customer review by Jollimus

5.0 stars 11/17/2012 by Jollimus
by Jollimus

The Mongoose Stat is an excellent bike. I needed a new bike and couldn't wait, so I bought it from a Walmart store. In the three weeks I had it, I managed to put 92 miles on it, with no problems of any kind. Street, grass, dirt, or mud, the bike handled it with ease. I would recommend this bike to anyone who's just starting to ride or on a limited budget. The seatpost was a little short for me, but I'm about 6'6" and a little more than half leg. Shorter people should fit just fine. Anyway, unless you get one that's poorly assembled for some reason, this bike should hold its own against anything you do to/with it short of being struck by a moving car.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jollimus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
29er for Average Guy
1/13/2013

Customer review by Mitch72

5.0 stars 1/13/2013 by Mitch72
by Mitch72

I went to the local Wally World to shop for a 26" tire mtn bike. Saw the Mongoose Stat and liked the way it looked. Pulled it out of the rack and adjusted the seat then found out that it fit me just fine. I have a 29" inseam so I didn't think it would fit. Absolutely the best deal out there for a dual disc brake, basic, 29" wheel mtn bike. Thanks Wal-Mart!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mitch72
Yuma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very Well Made Bike
12/4/2012

Customer review by djmixmode

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by djmixmode
by djmixmode

I bought this to ride on pavement, concrete, and light gravel (along a canal). So far I have taken it on about 16 miles of riding and so far it has been great! The brakes and shifting are excellent and the control is fabulous. I am 6'5" and 250 lbs and have no problem riding it.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
djmixmode
Gilbert, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A bit pricey but you get what you pay for.
11/3/2012

Customer review by Dawnstin

5.0 stars 11/3/2012 by Dawnstin
by Dawnstin

I bought this bicycle a couple weeks ago and try to get in 12+ miles in every other day. This bike handles the soft sand, bumpy terrain of the tree roots and dips on the path. And makes a great street bike. :) HOWEVER the seat itself could use a bit more padding as my backside tends to feel the brunt of it..lol wiggling my happy dance.

Was this review helpful? (27) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dawnstin
Ormond Beach, FLORIDA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Easy Assembly, Ride the day it arrives
4/4/2013

Customer review by Kisosen

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by Kisosen
by Kisosen

We had the bike shipped to our home (no charge) and it arrived in less than a week. It was double boxed/packaged to prevent damage - this impressed us. Then the bike was nearly already assembled. My son put on the handlebars, seat, and peddles - that was it. They did have to adjust the shifting, but that was not too big of a deal, and the bike came with paperwork offering fee assembly at our local Wal-mart, if we wanted it. The bike is a good deal for the price, attractive, easy to assemble, and rides well. The tires are good an knobby, perfect for dirt trails. The bike shifts smooth, etc. The seat is reasonably comfortable for long rides. I definitely would recommend this bike (you can't beat the quality and price when you have disk brakes front and rear).

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kisosen
Montpelier, VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great bike for the price, good value.
5/8/2013

Customer review by lmflower

4.0 stars 5/8/2013 by lmflower
by lmflower

Okay right off the bat, this is not a competition level DH/Single Track bike. It is however a tough bike that hauls my 250 lb. butt around without fail. The inner-tubes are a little thin but if you run some tire slime they even stand up to Arizona thorns/cactus needles reasonably well (fill them before you ride). The seat and stand over height are good for me at 6' 1" and the handle bars are cleverly designed, the reach and height can be almost infinitely adjusted throughout their range for a comfortable riding position. Brakes took a little work to adjust to a good grab without any squeak but they were well worth it once set-up correctly. The chain guard did break on the second ride due to a misaligned front derailuer but it doesn't matter to me. She is fun to ride and fun to tinker with. It gets ridden 5 days a week and beaten up in the park after I drop my daughter off without complaining. Good bike for the money!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lmflower
mesa, az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
great bike nice weight
10/24/2012

Customer review by elcholo

4.0 stars 10/24/2012 by elcholo
by elcholo

this is a great bike for tall people and its got a nice desigh on the frame,the color is also nice rides good

Was this review helpful? (24) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elcholo
chicago il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
4/16/2013

Customer review by skywalkeer

5.0 stars 4/16/2013 by skywalkeer
by skywalkeer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a pretty decent bike. I used to work at a bike shop that sold top of the line bicycles. This would be a starter bike for someone who just wants to ride around trails, and such. The disc brakes are alot better then the normal brakes. It also has whats called a A head set. which is alot better then the wedge type head set. The heavy duty peddles are a plus too. Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skywalkeer
Fairland, In
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews