Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

21 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

21 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 20 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

9/14/2012

Customer review by Pry1

4.0 stars 9/14/2012 by Pry1
by Pry1

I have received my new bike and I really like the way it looks and function. I'm not too keen on the small contoured seat but that can be replaced. It would be nice if you could have some input in how you would like to tailor the bike to your needs before receiving it being that it's a special order; That way you would not have to have added expenses in making the bike functional for your needs. Overall; I'm pleased with the purchase and the timelyness of receiving it.

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pry1
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good sturdy quality for the price
10/12/2012

Customer review by AestheticLotteryResults

4.0 stars 10/12/2012 by AestheticLotteryResults
by AestheticLotteryResults

I purchased this bike for the size and price. Excellent on both counts. Once I received the bike through FEDEX (super fast delivery) I replaced the handlebars and seat for personal comfort and aesthetics. (also had to repaint it because I wasnt particularly interested in the color it came in) After riding the bike for over 100 miles here are my findings: Pros: Smooth, comfortable ride. The bike frame is solid. Amateurs: The rear wheel is slightly larger than the sides of the rear frame, making the rider constantly have to adjust for wheel locality. (this problem will probably go away once the rear tire gets slightly worn, but I had to address this issue) Beginners: It comes with mastergrip shifters, which is fine, but I personally prefer shimano shifters just for the ease of shifting. Mastergrip shifters tend to slip out of its handle after a year or so of wear, so just be aware of that. Overall its a pretty good quality bike for the price they sell it for. I'd get the 3 year service plan with the order just to be completely safe.

Was this review helpful? (23) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AestheticLotteryResults
Northville, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good entry level mountain bike.
12/10/2012

Customer review by eZrYdIr

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by eZrYdIr
by eZrYdIr

First impressions are this bikes build/design/assembly quality are acceptable.Clean welds,tight tolerances,practical design. Not really an aggressive hardcore mountain bike;but fills a segment of market for beginner or mild riders. Delivered partially assembled. Shifters are twist style Shimano Grip Shift;I prefer the thumb style shifter but this was a budget decision.Factory set but minor adjustments for proper function were needed and this is outlined in their owners manual. Front disc brakes are Zoom brand.Adjustment(loosen mounts,pull brake and tighten mounts) and break-in are necessary.Rear brakes are standard caliper pulls. Seat is ok but questionable for long rides. Rear axle kickstand is new to me and could be a problem to some. Turns wider than a 26" but rides over bumps etc. easily. I owned a 20" Mongoose over 30 years ago and it was almost indestructible.If this bike is half as tough I'll be pleased. This bike is designed or distributed or marketed by Pacific Cycle.IDK what the full relationship with Mongoose is. Can't comment on durabilty for many miles to come. Overall a great deal for the $

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eZrYdIr
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall Great Product!
11/14/2012

Customer review by EverydayRider

5.0 stars 11/14/2012 by EverydayRider
by EverydayRider

This bicycle is a great investment. I use this bicycle as my main form of transportation everyday. I ride both on and off road and no problems at all with the bicycle. The frame is lightweight but still very solid and durable. Shifting between gears is easy and effortless. The shocks make the transition from road to off road flow smoothly. Everything on the bicycle is easily adjustable. The price on this bicycle is a great deal for the products overall manufacturing and design.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EverydayRider
Westfield,MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/29/2012

Customer review by Rookie196

5.0 stars 9/29/2012 by Rookie196
by Rookie196

Purchased this for my son. Very nice bike, well built. Like it so much I'm going to order another for myself.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rookie196
Mobile, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Read the manual!
10/3/2013

Customer review by dlaughin50

4.0 stars 10/3/2013 by dlaughin50
by dlaughin50

I purchased this bike to ride to and from work daily. It works very well for that purpose. The dual shocks absorb any size bump. I go over 4 railroad tracks each way. Ride is relatively smooth for a mountain bike on pavement. I do recommend that you pay attention to the manual when it states that you should not ride in the highest gear at all times. I left my bike in 21st gear in order to strengthen my legs, but this caused too much stress on the chain and sprockets and caused the chain to pop off when I would start pedaling from a stop. Also, the assemblers at Walmart did not properly adjust the gear changers so my bike would reach the highest gear in each graduation by the 6th selection instead of the 7th. I was able to adjust this, but it should have been right at purchase. One last problem that I experienced was the crank loosening and eventually coming off. I believe this too was because I was starting off while in the top gear all of the time and over-stressing the crank. I had to add lock washers to the crank to keep it from working itself off while riding. Other than these self-imposed problems, the Ledge 3.1 is a great workhorse bike. By the way, I weighed 260 when I started riding and the bike handled my bloated body without flinching... ( I weigh 230 now. :-) )

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dlaughin50
Auburn, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Initial Review
7/9/2013

Customer review by shotoshine

4.0 stars 7/9/2013 by shotoshine
by shotoshine

Rode this bike 20 miles past weekend, it performed very well. I would recommend if you buy this bike to go ahead and purchase the memory foam seat as well, you will be glad you did. I know they say your backside will toughen up with riding, but I would just as well get the memory foam seat, and not have to suffer the pain. lol Bike shifted fine, brakes worked well, I did adjust them just a bit. I purchased the 3 year warranty with it, and I got the bike for $159. So overall, I am very pleased with it. would have given full 5 stars, but I havent owned it long enough.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shotoshine
Russellville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike
5/20/2013

Customer review by lunnimal

5.0 stars 5/20/2013 by lunnimal
by lunnimal

I ordered this bike to be delivered to my house, and it arrived early. Only took about 20 minutes to assemble it and it works great. I am 6'1", 245lbs, and it easily takes my weight. By far the most comfortable riding bike I have ever owned.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lunnimal
pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/6/2013

Customer review by candleman68

4.0 stars 9/6/2013 by candleman68
by candleman68

sharp bike....I am 6`2 290 lbs. and it works for me.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
candleman68
levittown,pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Bike for the price!!
5/26/2013

Customer review by Fireman873

5.0 stars 5/26/2013 by Fireman873
by Fireman873

I use the bike for general riding not off road. The bike handles great has nice style and I really like the 29" tires. Just a Great Bike for the Money!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fireman873
Belmar, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
200 mile check up in about 1.5 month
8/3/2013

Customer review by juliet1

4.0 stars 8/3/2013 by juliet1
by juliet1

Been using this bike. No major issues. Had to do minor adjustments to brakes, rear shifter cable - too tight but nothing anyone could learn to adjust. Other than 2 flats, bike is doing great over rough terrain. So far no bearings feel worn out in the crank, or headset (steering) or wheel hubs. So far getting my moneys worth. Seat hurts but getting used to it and think seats hurt everyone in the beginning. Really looks nice with additional light accessories, front bag, and foot pump mounted on frame with cords. For a budget bike it turn eyes and do think the 29" fits a taller person with long leg better than a 26". Use this bike every other day with a min of 10 mile ride

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
juliet1
san antonio texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awsome Bike!
9/1/2013

Customer review by CC812011

5.0 stars 9/1/2013 by CC812011
by CC812011

After I got this bike I took it out on a 15 mile intermediate single track and I was astounded at how well the bike performed for the money...it rides like a 1500 dollar bike. the front disc brakes and rear pull brakes work great on steep downhill's, the shifters and derailleurs worked in sync for smooth shifting, and the seat is just as comfortable as any other seat you will find on any mountain bike. Also, when you get the bike make sure you tighten all the nuts and bolts, and the brakes will need to be adjusted to your liking.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CC812011
Manchester, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Overall Bike for the Price
4/18/2013

Customer review by BikerWV

4.0 stars 4/18/2013 by BikerWV
by BikerWV

Even though it took ordering two of these bikes (first one came and frame was not straight), it was worth it as the second bike has performed very well in intermediate riding. The 29" wheels make a huge difference on the trails for smoother and more comfortable ride, as well as performance.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BikerWV
Martinsburg, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good for beginner
8/27/2013

Customer review by avc709

4.0 stars 8/27/2013 by avc709
by avc709

Overall the bike gives u a decent amount of components for the money but this is not a bike for someone who will be doing anything more than intermediate trails. I bought this bike for my younger brother. We usually go on trails rated for beginners to intermediate so for now it works but I can already see that he will outperform this bike within a year or so. But I also didn't have $500 or more to spend at a bike shop for the type of bike that can keep up with him. By then he should be working and he can buy it himself lol. This was one of the best options after a "little" research for a new bike that was in the $200 price range. Other than the fact that I already know ill have to replace the rims and tires as they will not hold up to some of the intermediate trails the bike is a pretty good bang for your buck.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
avc709
long island, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good for the price
6/25/2013

Customer review by bigmax250

4.0 stars 6/25/2013 by bigmax250
by bigmax250

I love this bike but, I had to change the seat.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigmax250
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Too many little problems
8/8/2013

Customer review by Dude234765

2.0 stars 8/8/2013 by Dude234765
by Dude234765

I have had this bike for about a month now and the tires have already worn down ( they dont give much tread to begin with ) and the back brake never really worked and the brake pads in the back wore down really quickly. Another problem is that the chain is starting to skip in the higher gear so you cant stand up and pedal. I have rode this bike normally. seeing how it hold up on the road makes me not want to take it on trails. I think for the price its not worth it because for 220 dollars there was to much " trying to fix it ". Overall the bike looked like a good and quality built bike but dont let that fool you...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dude234765
Newark
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Terrible.
1/7/2013

Customer review by Squoshua17

1.0 stars 1/7/2013 by Squoshua17
by Squoshua17

I was very displeased with this particular bike. Gears are inadequate at best... Seat is uncomfortable and not durable at all. (My seat got a rip, simply from my sitting on it - I weigh 175 pounds). The suspension isn't as responsive as they claim. This bike is priced about 100 dollars too high in my opinion. 1 star, only because there isn't a zero star option. -I ultimately dropped down to a 26" Schwinn Sidewinder, and it is an amazing bike. And no, I have no affiliation with Schwinn; I'm just saying that Schwinn clearly makes a better product than Mongoose.

Was this review helpful? (8) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Squoshua17
Hendersonville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Do Not Buy!!
8/5/2013

Customer review by wantabike

1.0 stars 8/5/2013 by wantabike
by wantabike

Interested in this bike based on size & price & eOrdered two of these online & ended up having to order it twice...1st bike came with a damaged crankshaft & faulty gears....replacement bike came with a short rear brake cord which caused the brake to be applied when the handlebars are turned to the left. 3 times will NOT be a charm! Going to a reputable bike shop & will pay a bit more but it will be worth it. AVOID THIS PRODUCT!

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wantabike
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible bike
7/22/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/22/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Too many problems I give up.

Was this review helpful? (2) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Dodge city Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
good for the street
10/3/2012

Customer review by drsous

1.0 stars 10/3/2012 by drsous
by drsous

this bike has the wrong gearing for riding in the woods

Was this review helpful? (6) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drsous
cumberland R.I.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day