Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

21 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

21 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-18 of 18 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Excellent Quality 20" Mongoose Freestyle Bike
10/29/2012

Customer review by NSBPhotography

5.0 stars 10/29/2012 by NSBPhotography
by NSBPhotography

This review is for the 20" Mongoose Mode 540 Freestyle Bike. Color black and red. Bought as a birthday present for my 11 year old son. Bike is well made with very good quality parts that look strong enough for freestyle bike riding. Price is a little more than what we had intended to spend but we found this bike to have a better build quality, a nice paint job and finish, with an easy to adjust brake system, and because every bike part was well made the bike was easy to put together and assemble. Hope to update review later with ride and use information after his birthday in November.

Was this review helpful? (94) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NSBPhotography
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing Bike For The Price!
12/10/2012

Customer review by MrGoodKat

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by MrGoodKat
by MrGoodKat

dont let the fact that its from walmart fool you this bike is sturdy lightweight and can take a beating. i used to love mongoose when i was a kid and they were really popular i would see pros riding them but as i got older i just saw them at walmart then when i needed a bike i saw this and loved the color and gave it a chance and i regret NOTHING about buying this bike its great the build is solid the break works perfect just take off the chain guard kick stand and your good to go.

Was this review helpful? (54) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrGoodKat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gets it Done
12/26/2012

Customer review by FootballHead

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by FootballHead
by FootballHead

Saw this 540 at the store and really liked the overall feel of the bike and also noticed that there were decent parts on it compared to other models. Has good crank on it and nice matching colors throughout. However I do suggest that you order it and put it together yourself that way you can assure that it is ready to rock and roll without the handle bars flying off. Although the bike has a little weight to it I find that it doesn't impede the performance. My 8 year old loves this thing and rides it like there is no tomorrow, and to be honest this bike is perfect for any kid that just wants to ride and do a few jumps here and there. Overall this Mongoose gets it done and looks pretty good too, and if you are thinking about whether or not you should get this, just get it.

Was this review helpful? (35) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FootballHead
Palm Coast, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Solid bike and uses same parts as some $300 bikes
1/2/2013

Customer review by WassupTim

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by WassupTim
by WassupTim

My friend down the street bought his son a HARO from a local bike shop and it has alot of the same parts like wheels, cranks, neck and grips. His cost over $300 and the mongoose was half of that.

Was this review helpful? (38) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WassupTim
Dickinson, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very great for an average biker.
12/14/2012

Customer review by Skyborror

5.0 stars 12/14/2012 by Skyborror
by Skyborror

i just go one and i have no problems with it. its very light and the grips are really soft. the breaks work perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Skyborror
Gaston,IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
best bike ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3/12/2013

Customer review by bmxking

5.0 stars 3/12/2013 by bmxking
by bmxking

WOW!!!!!!!!!!this is the best bike i have ever had it is light weight the hub sound is loud and the hand grips are very comfortableit has cool tires because of the red on the side and the treds the brakes work very well and it is easy to do wheelies or any other tricks that you can do .the bike can really take a beating.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bmxking
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Mode 540: A step in the right direction
1/10/2013

Customer review by rg98886

5.0 stars 1/10/2013 by rg98886
by rg98886

I normally don't buy on impulse, but this bike caught my eye, I picked it up, and it was very lightweight compared to the bikes I'm used to seeing at walmart.Very good quality parts,Handlebars and tires on this one are what sets it apart from the rest! The design is identical to a 2012 verde cadet bmx right down to the tires, (cadet bike costs $300 base price) google it. As a person who has purchased several bikes from walmart and bike shops throughout my younger years, I can honestly say that the Mode 540 is definitely a step in the right direction for walmart and pacific cycle.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rg98886
United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
awsome
12/21/2012

Customer review by asdfgh888

4.0 stars 12/21/2012 by asdfgh888
by asdfgh888

it is very great for the price.....it is overall excellent except for the fact that the bearings arnt sealed....good bike

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
asdfgh888
Denver,CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good bike for the money
12/2/2012

Customer review by ppaulten

4.0 stars 12/2/2012 by ppaulten
by ppaulten

This bike is a fair value for the money although it doesn't have some of the extras some of the less expensive Mongoose bikes have - like the device that allows you to spin the bars 360 degrees, the seat tilt is NON adjustable and the angle that it is at doesn't really work for an 8 yr old. The brakes don't really have any instruction on how to adjust them properly but our local bike shop helped in that department anyhow (you can have Walmart build it also). Even with these less than desireable features it is still a good value and it seems to be a quality frame and decent components. We opted for this model because in our home town Walmart they only stocked a limited variety of color options and we wanted something that the other kids in town may not have.

Was this review helpful? (12) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ppaulten
Kingman, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
mode 540
2/14/2013

Customer review by Jody169

5.0 stars 2/14/2013 by Jody169
by Jody169

It is a great bike so far. i got it today and its holding up real well. the hub is real loud. the brakes need a little adjustments. the cranks are strong and i like the 8 in rise bars. everyone at my neighborhood thinks it is a great bike. the 540 meets my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jody169
Plano,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
best bike for its price lightweight 25lbs
6/4/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/4/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

i had this bike for 2 months now and its going very well! its a very nice bike and lightweight which is like 25lbs, hub sound is very loud & cranks can take strong impact. i fell from an 8ft quarter pipe and sent the bike flying and now there is no damage on it. the frame is very strong and the bike can take very strong hits without making damage to the bike. its has very good brake systems the tires on the bike is 20x 2.3 .this bike is the lightest,strongest and most stylish bike for its price. i really do recommend it to a friend

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
san gabriel, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great
3/28/2013

Customer review by Travisbmx

5.0 stars 3/28/2013 by Travisbmx
by Travisbmx

Perfect im 17 and almost ready for. A sponsership i can 360 bar flat with this bike its the best mongoose has had and im used to pro from danscomp so im thrilled. When they comme with a. New color as long as the crank stays 3 piece

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Travisbmx
Fort wayne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/5/2013

Customer review by ponchopop

5.0 stars 2/5/2013 by ponchopop
by ponchopop

this is one of the best BMX bike that i have ever seen at walmart when i picked it up it was light wait and the tires wer so cool i recommend this bike to every body

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ponchopop
91303
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/21/2013

Customer review by Childwhisperer

4.0 stars 8/21/2013 by Childwhisperer
by Childwhisperer

My son loves it - Although after 2 days of having it the tire went flat and had to go buy a new tube. I'm not very handy so it was a difficult task for me. The bike wasn't in the store or I would have returned it so I didn't have to replace the tube and go through the hassle. He loves it because he can do tricks on it and its also faster then his last mongoose. I never knew that the smaller the round metal piece is, that makes the chain turn, the faster the bike goes...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Childwhisperer
Brooklyn Center MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good for a walmart bike
1/5/2013

Customer review by thebmxkid

4.0 stars 1/5/2013 by thebmxkid
by thebmxkid

8 inch rise bars light bike its really good for a walmart bike

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thebmxkid
palm coast, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Gray version
8/30/2013

Customer review by mode540

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by mode540
by mode540

Theres a grey one and its way better than this color and cheaper http://www.walmart.com/ip/20-Mongoose-Mode-540-Boys-Freestyle-Bike-Gray/26999372?adid=22222222227000000000&wl0=&wl1=g&wl2=c&wl3=21486607510&wl4=&wl5=pla&wl6=19880599990&veh=sem

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mode540
Everett, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Horrible seat
9/2/2013

Customer review by jonnyt

3.0 stars 9/2/2013 by jonnyt
by jonnyt

I purchased this bike a few days ago at a local Walmart store. It would normally get 4 maybe 5 stars from me if not for the horrible, non-tilt adjustable seat. No human would ever feel comfortable with a seat position like shown, especially a younger child like my son. Okay whatever, so I purchase a replacement seat, from Walmart (around $16.00) and come to find out that the existing seat post wont come off the current seat. So now I need to purchase a new seat post ($ amount unknown) which Walmart does not cary. Why Mongoose chose to put such a lame seat on an otherwise nice bike is beyond me. If I knew this ahead of time, I don't know If I would have bought this bike. Buyer beware.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jonnyt
Leawood, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great bike for People to start out with
6/2/2014

Customer review by Bmxboi428

5.0 stars 6/2/2014 by Bmxboi428
by Bmxboi428

My dad got this bike for me, and it was perfect. Everything on it was strong and perfect

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bmxboi428
Waukesha,Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day