Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 122 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

122 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

122 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
60
4 stars
45
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 stars
4
1-20 of 97 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews
Great bike for the price. More than what I expecte
6/18/2013

Customer review by shadowriderv

5.0 stars 6/18/2013 by shadowriderv
by shadowriderv

I have had this bike for a month now.Which I ride every weekend about 10 miles. For the price it is a good bike. The first thing I would do to the bike is add a mirror for safety reasons. (Which I did) Second up grade the seat. I am a man 5’9 and 240 lbs. I will tell you that seat needs some help. When it comes to shifting I had problems. But I think that was mostly due to me not knowing what I was doing after not having a bike for 20+ years. I watched some you tube videos on how to shift a 21 speed bike and that seemed to help. I have not had any trouble shifting since. When you first get the bike I would recommend checking the air in the tires. When I got the bike the tires where only 25psi. They should have been 50 psi. I would also recommend going to the store and looking at them. This is because they have more colors at the store then what the show online. Bottom line I would buy this again and recommend it to a friend. videos to watch ie. http://youtu.be/cNnKvVzzGw0

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shadowriderv
Adams County PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great, but
4/27/2013

Customer review by Thatguycarlitos

4.0 stars 4/27/2013 by Thatguycarlitos
by Thatguycarlitos
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Overall the bike is great, but the only problem I had was that the front and rear wheels were somewhat bent/deform. It's not a big issue, I still ride my bike and is very comfortable. The shock observer is great. I'm Carlos, and I recommend this bike!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thatguycarlitos
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best bike in it's price range!
1/2/2013

Customer review by WPR1106

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by WPR1106
by WPR1106

I wanted a new, economical bike for Christmas, and had researched bikes for a month before deciding on this model. Having been an avid bike rider from years ago, I new all the good features to look for, and this bike is packed with features only found in more expensive models and brands. One of the key features is the light weight aluminum frame and wheels. Light weight means everything in cycling. I love the newer twist gear shifters too, combined with the shock absorbers makes for a very comfortable ride. The necessary partial assembly was easy. The other reviews I have read that complained about the initial setup, could have been easily solved with the easy to read instructions on how to fine tune the bikes parts, gears, chain, and shifters. My only disappointment is that this model does not have the factory screws for mounting a water bottle cage. I am now so excited about getting back into cycling with my new Mongoose Ledge 2.1 bicycle! Without a doubt this is the best bike on the market in it's price range!

Was this review helpful? (74) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WPR1106
Pace, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Alot better than the Havoc 26"
10/6/2012

Customer review by CobraXP

5.0 stars 10/6/2012 by CobraXP
by CobraXP

I originally bought the Havoc 26" mens mountain bike. It would not shift properly or keep air in the tires. I returned it for the Mongoose Ledge 2.1. This bike shifts smoother and rides overall better than the Havoc. The front shocks seem to be a little better than the Havoc also. It seems to be a smoother overall ride compared to the Havoc. I am 6'3" 240lb and this bike is perfect for my size/weight. I did change out the seat for the Bell memory foam seat. I raised the handlebar, pumped up the tires and adjusted brakes before riding. I have not had an issues yet. I like this bike a lot better than the Havoc. Do yourself a favor and spend the extra $6 for this bike if you are looking for something in this price range. I am a newbie at bike riding so this is my starter bike. I am hoping this bike will last me a while till I get the itch for bigger/better bike, but so far so good and happy with my Ledge.

Was this review helpful? (95) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CobraXP
Royal Palm Beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent value at this price point
4/28/2013

Customer review by WalmartShopperNJ

5.0 stars 4/28/2013 by WalmartShopperNJ
by WalmartShopperNJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was searching for a mountain bike for my teenage son when I saw this bike that had a recent "price rollback". It has a Shimano rear derailleur, but the other components are not. For this price, you cannot expect high-end components. It does have 21-speeds and came pre-adjusted with nothing needed out of the box except front-wheel, handlebar, pedal and seat attachment. Anyone with basic mechanical knowledge and some allen wrenches and wrenches can assemble it. For a full-suspension, with an aluminum (not steel) frame, I would say this is a very good value. The wheels are a lighter alloy as well and are not your typical Huffy heavy weight rims. Yes, I know the difference because I have owned Huffy's in the past and they are heavy bikes. As the other reviewers have noted, the seat is a bit uncomfortable, but can easily be fixed with a seat gel-pad or replacing the seat altogether.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartShopperNJ
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great mountain bike (MTB)!
2/1/2013

Customer review by Craigery

4.0 stars 2/1/2013 by Craigery
by Craigery

I like this bike. I'm 5'11", 185#, and the bike fits fine. I purchased at a local Walmart; it was assembled perfectly for only $4 more than the online price ($135). The only thing lacking is predrilled waterbottle screw holes! This is a mountain bike -- riders need hydration -- put screw holes in it!! I was able to put two waterbottle holders on the bike with a Topeak waterbottle attachment. I also replaced the stock tires and tubes (which are thin but fine for normal use) with thorn-resistant tires and tubes, because we have a severe trail thorn problem in the Spring. The stock tires are fine for most riders, however. I don't think any purchaser would be at all disappointed unless they were a hard core trail rider; then more expensive components might make sense. But don't be scared off by the low price on this bike -- it's great for most!! --

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Craigery
Concord, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
10/7/2012

Customer review by Pedro548

5.0 stars 10/7/2012 by Pedro548
by Pedro548

Have owned this bike for a month now and the only thing I have had to do is get a more comfortable seat.The stock seat is a bit hard for me on rides.Other than that the bike rides good shift's great and if you take care of it don't believe you would have any problems with it.

Was this review helpful? (59) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pedro548
Eastern Mass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for trails, road, and dirt roads.
9/3/2012

Customer review by Mildgamer002

4.0 stars 9/3/2012 by Mildgamer002
by Mildgamer002

I knew this wouldnt be a high end bike, that isnt what it was meant to be, it did however survive much more rigorous tests than the last bike i bought at mor ethan twice the price of this one, i lost the disk brakes on the last one in the first 5 hours, this bike had a much more stressful first test, about 60 miles, some tar roads, some dirt bike paths, and even a few hours of heavy biking on mountain bike specific trails and difficult singletrack, the only problems i have had are with the haldbar assemblies, the screw clamps on them werent able to grip when i stood up, since up hills the force of pedaling pulls the bike to each side and handlebars are used to balance so that doesnt have effect. They repeatedly came loose until i tightened them as hard as i could and that worked until the clamps that made it so the handlebars stayed perpendicular to the wheel came loose and I am not sure whether to see if it is an easy fix or if i will have to replace the bar mount or send it back to get fixed by walmart, and i would honestly rather fix it myself so i dont have to go weeks without a bike. However, this was much more stressful than most people would use this for, it is just as good quality as my last bike which lasted 5 years mostly on dirt road and simple bike path use. i did use it on single track and more difficult trails in the last year but at that point it was already 4 years of wear and tear. that was also a mongoose of similar design. The seat on this bike is simply aweful, at least on long rides, it is 3/4 to 1 inch too narrow and has very little padding at all, as my friend said when he tested it out, "its liek sitting on a brick" but anyway i swapped it with the seat from my old bike which is a more comfortable mongoose seat. The shimano derailers and parts are good quality for a bike in this price range, and the frame and shock/suspencion system on this bike are very nice ompared to others this cheap. You dont find bikes at 140$ with metal pedals (very nice) and shocks that are good enough to not move much when i sit on the bike (170lbs) and still do a great job cushioning rocks and pot holes. The brakes are also very good for the basic liniar pull brakes they are, and if they wear out, they are very cheap to replace, unlike disk brakes that cost 300-500$ new. The frame on the bike is a smaller frame, probably too small for what i needed, as i am about 6'4" and probably would be more comfortable with a 29er or at least a frame with a taller seat post support/mount. the post on the seat is long enough so that i can tolerate it with my long legs. The bike looks great, the cobalt blue and nickel silver are a great combination, and the bike looks very sleek and clean. "you get what you pay for" i think in this case you get a little bit more, not much, but enough so i am very happy with it even with the negatives that came with it, and i tested it mor ethan most people will need it. give it love and you will get love back.

Was this review helpful? (200) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mildgamer002
Central Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good 4 price
1/17/2013

Customer review by Iamchris

3.0 stars 1/17/2013 by Iamchris
by Iamchris

I've had the bike for a couple of months now. It seems to be holding up pretty well for the daily use i put on it. (about 5 miles a day) The first thing i noticed was the frame length. When you turn sharply the front tire will scrub your foot. This bike is definitely suited for a shorter person. (I'm 5' 8") The gear shifter works okay no adjustments needed. The seat is not comfortable. If you're not a regular bike rider and will only use the bike recreationally you will want a seat cushion or a new seat. It has steel pedals where most are coming with plastic. (bonus) If you are basing any part of your decision on the fact that it has the rear shock know this. Unless you are doing some serious off road biking with large drops this is not something you need. I ride in an urban / sub-urban area with lots of curbs, medians, grass hills, etc. and it does nothing for the bike but add weight. Front shocks are good enough. My last bike was front shock only and worked exceedingly well. Also the bike seems to lean to the right really bad when I ride with no hands. I do this allot to keep my back upright. Much more difficult to keep in line than with my last bike. I wish I had just went ahead and bought the same bike I had last tome. Shwinn Alumicomp. 26" http://www.walmart.com/ip/Schwinn-Aluminum-Comp-26-Men-s-All-Terrain-Bike/16913452 This is a much better bike! (Minus the plastic pedals, no biggie!) SPEND THE EXTRA MONEY!!!!! Trust me!

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Iamchris
Jacksonville, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/16/2013

Customer review by Kallisti333

4.0 stars 4/16/2013 by Kallisti333
by Kallisti333
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The bike is pretty much what I expected. It's a fairly reliable, cheap little bike. For the price it's hard to beat. I haven't had much to complain about, except that it's a bit hard to get the gears properly adjusted and it feels a bit small on my 6'1" frame compared to the last 26" bike I owned.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kallisti333
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
best in the price range!
5/21/2013

Customer review by Nemanja

5.0 stars 5/21/2013 by Nemanja
by Nemanja

I have had a road bike for some time now and decided to get a mountain bike so i can go off road, i wanted something cheap that will last me a year or two, and this bike is doing its job, 250 miles and it still rides like it did the first day, seat is a bit to hard otherwise a great bike, i got it for 120 dollars which is i think a great value, the reason why i chose mangoose is because a friend of mine has had one for like 6 years, and still rides great, amazing!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nemanja
Rockford Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike.
1/1/2013

Customer review by Bikerama

5.0 stars 1/1/2013 by Bikerama
by Bikerama
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this bike for my boyfriend for Christmas. He had an excellent time taking it for a spin. The only problem he had with the bike is that the seat is a little uncomfortable but it is fairly easy to switch it out for a more comfy seat. Other than that the bike was affordable and and well made.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bikerama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent for General bike riding
4/12/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/12/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This bike is perfect for regular bike riding in the neighborhood or to the park. I have not yet taken it Mountain biking so I can't give any recommendations on that. This bike is very sturdy and can support even us larger guys. I'm 6ft 225 and it supports me just fine. The shifting is smooth with the Shimano shifter and it was easy to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent cheap bike for mountain biking.
3/19/2013

Customer review by Natok777

5.0 stars 3/19/2013 by Natok777
by Natok777

This bike lived past my expectations. It has a nice deep blue with striking silver. The front dual shocks are very smooth but the back shocks are a little harder. The seat is very comfortable compared to other Mongoose bikes. The gears are fine and worked great. It was better than my old red Schwinn. This is overall a great bike.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Natok777
Littleton, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent - dial in your drivetrain
1/31/2013

Customer review by briggle

5.0 stars 1/31/2013 by briggle
by briggle

This is an excellent bike for the price. I needed a cheap and reliable beater bike, and I got more than I could have imagined with this one. It rides smooth, it tracks straight at any speed, and it is very agile. I've been on many mid-grade mountain bikes, and this bike performs closer to the mid-grade bikes than the low-end ones. Not to mention the fact that this bike is sexy! I took off all the decals, and it looks like it means business. If you look at the Mongoose website, you can see that this is the equivalent to the Status 2.2 frame, while the Status 2.0 supplies the forks, controls (shifting and brake), and pedals. The drive train and the headset is the same on both bikes. So, the Ledge 2.1 is a hybrid between the Status 2.2 and the 2.0, and the upgrade is the frame. The front suspension is essentially the same, but the forks on the Status 2.0/Ledge 2.1 are not designed for disc brakes. The Status 2.0 has an MSRP of $179, and the Status 2.2 has an MSRP of $209. So, you do the math! BE AWARE...multi-speed bikes need to be dialed in properly!!! I bought this from a store fully assembled, and of course there was a minor issue: the bike was ghost shifting (shifting on its own when I hit a small bump). The derailleurs needed to be adjusted. If you know what you're doing, it takes 10 minutes. If you don't know what you're doing but you know how to use tools and follow instructions, it takes 30 minutes. If you don't know how to use tools, then take it to a real bike shop and have them adjust the derailleurs for 20 bucks or less, and you have a $180 bike with an upgraded frame (or a $209 bike with downgraded forks and pedals) that was professionally setup for $160 or less.

Was this review helpful? (21) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
briggle
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/7/2013

Customer review by atlbiker40

5.0 stars 5/7/2013 by atlbiker40
by atlbiker40
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Exactly what was described. Easy twenty minute assembly and fine tune. I have been riding for over two weeks now, on and off road, and have no major concerns. Would recommend for anyone who wants inexpensive bike but great quality. Worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
atlbiker40
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Bike
10/4/2012

Customer review by Monstermanhbf

5.0 stars 10/4/2012 by Monstermanhbf
by Monstermanhbf

Great bike for the money, rigid and beefy. Great for trail riding and off road use. Cant go wrong with a Mongoose!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Monstermanhbf
Babylon NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike
6/13/2013

Customer review by ThatGuyBri

5.0 stars 6/13/2013 by ThatGuyBri
by ThatGuyBri
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Rides really well. I've had a Mongoose before and this one shifts gears much more smoothly and takes bumps like a Cadillac. It fits me... and I'm 6'7". I had it mailed to me, I received it on time and it was pretty easy to assemble ... but you're gonna need your own tools. The color looks even better in person. Overall I'm very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThatGuyBri
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/25/2013

Customer review by gioelite

5.0 stars 4/25/2013 by gioelite
by gioelite
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i'm no bike expert by any means but i give this bike a great rating for my purchase experience, ease of assembly and quality of the bike itself. i bought it as a means of exercise and to tool around the neighborhood on with my kid. if you're looking for the same experience, you will likely be very happy with your purchase. about the only thing i could think of as a short coming would be the seat. it is a bit stiff but then again i.m a big guy and it's probably not broken in yet. bottom line..i would buy again. no regrets or issues.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gioelite
rochester,ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent bike for the price
5/6/2013

Customer review by ghmnok

4.0 stars 5/6/2013 by ghmnok
by ghmnok
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I knew this Mongoose product was made by Pacific Cycle who also bought the Schwinn name brand. The Schwinn and Mongoose bikes that sell for $100 to $200 are made by Pacific Cycle which is a middle of the road bike manufacturer (bikes made in China) but still use low to mid-line Shimano components. If you treat the bikes well they are a good value for the price paid. The previous bike that my son outgrew was a Schwinn Ranger made by Pacific and it lasted him for three years with decent quality.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ghmnok
Stillwater, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews