Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 30 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

30 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

30 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
7
1-20 of 21 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews
For a $120 bike it's a steal, but it has caveats
5/31/2013

Customer review by Godfree515

5.0 stars 5/31/2013 by Godfree515
by Godfree515

I saw this bike on sale online, and wanting to get back into cycling I bought the bullet and picked one up. I wasn't expecting an amazing bike, given it's only $120 who would, but I figured I would buy it and check it out, and if I didn't like it, I'd return it. I can definitely say that I got my moneys worth from the bikes, but it definitely has it's downsides: Pro's: -Cheap,costing as little as it did, I couldn't pass it up. -Dual Suspension - This bike rides surprisingly smooth even on uneven ground. I haven't hit any serious holes with it, but I think it would handle great! -Easy to pedal. Once you get your seat and handlebars set right, it pedals very smoothly. -Good braking. While there are some issues with the brakes, once adjusted a little you can stop QUICK (even from 30mph...yes I had it going 30...) -Quiet derailleur. Even though I had to adjust the derailleur myself, once I did and you get the gear positioning right this thing is VERY quiet in all the gears. -Good size. I stand 6' 170lbs, and this bike being 26" works well for me. I feel I have more controller over something slightly smaller so I think this is perfect coming from my 12 y/o 24" Con's: -Had to adjust the rear derailleur. It wasn't bad, but I knew it could shift smoother. Self-adjusted it, and it runs like a top! (stay out of the no-no gears ie 1-7 and 3-1) -Seat is uncomfortable. I plan on buying a replacement eventually. -No water bottle holes pre-drilled. I had to zip-tie my water bottle holder to it. -Brakes don't seem to want to center, one always likes to stay close to the wheel, sometimes dragging slightly. Overall though, for the price, I don't think that these issues warrant me taking a star away from it. Honestly buying a bike from a big box store, all of the issues I have with it aside from the seat and the no holes being drilled can be fixed by taking the bike to a professional servicer. Which face it...buying a bike from walmart you should consider doing anyways unless you self install it! Buy this bike! You won't regret it if you have the patience to put a little time into it!

Was this review helpful? (39) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Godfree515
Troy NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Performed well right out of the box
2/17/2013

Customer review by wizz141rb

5.0 stars 2/17/2013 by wizz141rb
by wizz141rb

Brakes needed daily adjustment until worked perfect. Bike should come with center-pull brakes, or give me the option for disc brakes without going over $200.00.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wizz141rb
west palm beach, florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for our needs
6/7/2013

Customer review by DanoH47

5.0 stars 6/7/2013 by DanoH47
by DanoH47

I purchased this bike to replace my growing sons 20inch bike. Upon receiving the bike, delivered via FedEx, the bike came partially assembled, all we had to do was put on the handle bars, seat and pedals. Set up took all of 15mins. My son loves the design and comfortable ride. I like how well the bike is constructed, very sturdy. The bike is lightweight but you can feel the high quality of the materials used to make it. Mongoose is a top name in off road mountain bike racing and I was happy to find this one for such a low price. We are very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DanoH47
Aurora,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No local bike shop can give you what this offers!
6/5/2013

Customer review by nonamesplease216

5.0 stars 6/5/2013 by nonamesplease216
by nonamesplease216

Good overall bike after you consider cost. Normally we will spend more for quality but we couldn't justify paying 4x's more for high good quality bike. This bike offered similar features for a lot less.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nonamesplease216
Cleveland, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Save your money!
11/15/2012

Customer review by QicVic

1.0 stars 11/15/2012 by QicVic
by QicVic

I bought this bike for my son. It is horrible. We put it together with our brains as there were no instructions with it, the brake wire was too tight on the front tire and the brake was rubbing the tire rim. The handlebars will not stay tight, even after tightening them several times. The tires were flat when we got it and already the back tire is flat again--we have only had it about 2 weeks. I have purchased other bikes from Walmart and understood they were inexpensive. I knew going in that you get what you pay for, however, this particular bike was $135.00 so I had presumed it was a better quality than the ones that are $89.00. I am very dissapointed with this purchase and will be returning it for a full refund.

Was this review helpful? (41) (60)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QicVic
Orlando, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great bike
7/13/2013

Customer review by rbell123

5.0 stars 7/13/2013 by rbell123
by rbell123

this bike is great for someone getting into mountain biking or just wanting a cheap way of transportation.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rbell123
marshfield,ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great bike for the price.
7/2/2013

Customer review by victory372

4.0 stars 7/2/2013 by victory372
by victory372

The price was great., The almost full assembly was a relief. I only have to say I thought the front wheel was going to be quick release and I think the handle bars could be better. Over all a good buy and Walmart makes it incredibly convienant.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
victory372
ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DO NOT BUY THIS BIKE COMPLETE GARBAGE
5/26/2013

Customer review by coachk77

1.0 stars 5/26/2013 by coachk77
by coachk77

Bought this bike put together very easily went to ride and handlebars fell apart tightened the screw on front of bars as tight as i could rode again had to tighten the screw every 10 minutes wrecked once because handle came almost all the way out of neck have tried everything but handlebars wont stay tight will be returning this piece of garbage soon oh yeah and the seat is unbelievably uncomfortable

Was this review helpful? (7) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coachk77
UC, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
7/28/2013

Customer review by Andralee

5.0 stars 7/28/2013 by Andralee
by Andralee

I just wanted a bike I could put a child seat on the back and take my daughter for family bike rides, and this was a great one for the price. Shifting is easy, and the ride is smooth. Assembly was not too challenging according to my husband. Love that the seat is so easy to adjust, too! I would recommend a softer bike seat though. We picked one up for a great deal, and now we are ready to ride regularly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Andralee
Milpitas, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great bike
7/25/2013

Customer review by PMommaW

5.0 stars 7/25/2013 by PMommaW
by PMommaW

We bought this bike so that we could go riding together as a family. We read lots of other reviews before purchasing this bike and there were a lot of great ones. One thing that is almost a must is replacing the seat with a more comfortable one!! We have rode several times already and the bike is wonderful. The gears shift great and it is def a smooth ride with the extra shock system. My only complaint is that when the bike was delivered the front tire was flat and the tube wouldn't hold air ~ BUT, Walmart replaced it with a new one with no difficulties or dilemmas!!! The brakes needed to be slightly adjusted also but that was an easy fix!! Overall, We would def recommend this product to friends and family!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PMommaW
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/30/2013

Customer review by Roughrider22

4.0 stars 6/30/2013 by Roughrider22
by Roughrider22

Bought this bike for my son and I will now be buying one for myself as well. For the price, you get a very solid bike that performs well on rugged terrain. The bike came nearly entirely assembled. All we had to do was put the handle bars, front wheel, seat, and pedals on which took very little time when following the easy-to-follow instructions. The reason I had to give it 4 stars instead of 5 is for 2 cons: First, the seat is VERY uncomfortable. We will be looking to replace it. Second, we had to spend significant time getting the gears to operate smoothly. They came assembled but one gear off and we spent significant time tweaking it to get it just right so there is no grinding/clicking while riding. However, for the price, I won't gripe too loudly and I am going to buy a second one for myself.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Roughrider22
Limington, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/24/2013

Customer review by borimami

4.0 stars 4/24/2013 by borimami
by borimami

Great!! My son loves it..

Was this review helpful? (4) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
borimami
Brooklyn N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
fell apart
4/1/2013

Customer review by Ninjagigi

1.0 stars 4/1/2013 by Ninjagigi
by Ninjagigi

I am guessing that it was inexperience in assembling this item. the bike fell apart at many areas. The seat wouldn't stay on, the shifters were not functioning well and falling apart. I think this would be a good bike if properly assembled.

Was this review helpful? (11) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ninjagigi
Murfreesboro, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Frame very small
3/25/2013

Customer review by Bret82

3.0 stars 3/25/2013 by Bret82
by Bret82

I did not buy this bike because when I looked at it in the store, I noticed the frame is very small. It almost seemed like it's a 24" frame with 26" wheels. I'm only 5'8" and the frame was too small for me.

Was this review helpful? (5) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bret82
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
6/11/2013

Customer review by 4874

1.0 stars 6/11/2013 by 4874
by 4874

waste of money..rims were bent and the brakes couldnt be adjusted..took it back and got a diff brand that cost me about $35 more...now thats 110% better then a mongoose

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4874
home
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/24/2013

Customer review by Codygma

1.0 stars 7/24/2013 by Codygma
by Codygma

The bike is fine,but the online purchase resulted in the theft of my credit card info. I will never buy from Walmart again!

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Codygma
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do NOT buy! The wheel WILL bend!
6/21/2013

Customer review by ZFrog

1.0 stars 6/21/2013 by ZFrog
by ZFrog

Looks great! But it is JUNK. Wheel bent without hitting anything. Bike came with missing parts that I had to request from manufacturer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZFrog
Atlanta GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Broke within 75 ft
5/4/2013

Customer review by Mark18302

1.0 stars 5/4/2013 by Mark18302
by Mark18302

Brake failure within 75ft.

Was this review helpful? (4) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mark18302
East Stroudsburg PA.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than expected
8/12/2013

Customer review by OutdoorMarc

5.0 stars 8/12/2013 by OutdoorMarc
by OutdoorMarc

Bought this bike for exercise....on special for $119...did not expect much. This bike has so far impressed me. Ordered it on-line...arrived two days earlier than expected. It was well packed in two layers of boxes...came nearly fully assembled...mount front wheel, seat, and handlebars...easily done. As with other reviews, the seat is narrow and hard...needs replacing. Only two weeks, have taken two 12 mile trips and two 5 mile trips....no real problems. The derailleurs need to be fine tuned, a little, and the linear brakes need to be centered, but bike seems heavy duty and rides, well. It is better and more than I expected.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OutdoorMarc
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good quality for the money!
7/12/2013

Customer review by realnurse

5.0 stars 7/12/2013 by realnurse
by realnurse

Easy assembly, just know the nuts are metric. Seemed to be well constructed, instruction information was complete, accurate, and easy to follow.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
realnurse
Homer, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews