Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 203 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

203 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

203 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
131
4 stars
46
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 stars
13
1-20 of 185 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 185 total reviews
1-20 of 185 reviews
Grandson loves it
10/12/2012

Customer review by bobsta

5.0 stars 10/12/2012 by bobsta
by bobsta

This bike met all expectations and was the hit of my grandson's fifth birthday party. The only thing I would change is I would add a kickstand. My gandson didn't need the training wheels and doesn't want to be setting it down on the ground. Very awsome paint job, looks great.

Was this review helpful? (42) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bobsta
Raymond, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
10/28/2012

Customer review by jcp0313

5.0 stars 10/28/2012 by jcp0313
by jcp0313

The bike arrived quickly as was promised. My husband put it together with no problems. It is for our grandson for his 4th birthday. I'm sure he is going to love it. Orange has always been his favorite color. I like that it has coaster brakes and hand brakes. I can't wait to see his expression when he sees it.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jcp0313
Saint Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Much better than cheaper bike
9/4/2013

Customer review by FloppyBob

5.0 stars 9/4/2013 by FloppyBob
by FloppyBob

We initially bought our son a blue Micargi bike, which was about $20 cheaper than this one. It really was pretty cheap. It was sparkly and arrived in great shape but ultimately rusted very quickly when wet, has relatively very short cranks which made it unnecessarily hard for him to get it up even relatively gentle slopes, and came with very cheap tires that were pretty much bald after a few months of very occasional, intermittent riding with training wheels. By contrast, for a mere $20 more, this bike seems to be made of better-quality steel, has longer cranks, comes with pegs (although we're certainly not going to put those on there yet!), better tires, and has both front and rear caliper brakes, which is something most bikes don't. In all ways, it's better. It is a little heavier and the seat is made of hard plastic which I think he finds less comfortable, but it also makes sense in that kids end up leaving their bike out in the rain occasionally no matter how hard you might try to convince them otherwise. I bought this for my son when he just started riding without training wheels, around his 5th birthday. He's been an avid rider for several months now and so far this bike has held up perfectly for any number of 3 to 5 mile rides, including some light trails / singletrack. And he's learning how to control the bike with the calipers rather than the pedal brake, which is a great technical skill to have as he improves. Overall, I have to say, this bike - at Walmart's price for it, anyway (it is far more expensive on Amazon) - is the best value around. There may be other bikes, but for the advanced rider with training wheels or the new rider without training wheels, this bike is just very, very good, and has all the sturdiness I think it'll need to stand up to my son's abuse... and maybe even his two younger brothers as well! Hopefully it'll only need a new set of brake pads and tires before being handed down to the younger siblings! Happy riding...

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FloppyBob
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Bike for the Price!
12/4/2012

Customer review by megan2006

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by megan2006
by megan2006

The only complaint I have is the bike did not come with a kick stand, there is a spot for one to install but I wish it came with one because once the training wheels come off I dont want the bike just laying on the ground. Other than that I am super happy with the quality of the bike! (-:

Was this review helpful? (27) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
megan2006
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks good, but heavy and not the best fit
7/1/2013

Customer review by Will343

3.0 stars 7/1/2013 by Will343
by Will343

My son turned four and he wanted a bike so I purchased this after reading reviews. Reviews had stated that people were putting children as young as two on this bike. That's a bad idea in my opinion. The crank arms are simply way too long for it to be a good fit. My son is plenty tall enough for the bike, but he has to bring his knees up high in an exaggerated motion to pedal. A 12" bike is too small, and a 16" is too big, in my honest opinion. I wish there was something inbetween for 4-5 year olds that was a better fit, considering these 16" bikes are listed for up to 8 years old. Oh yeah, and this bike is HEAVY. It is as heavy as my adult 29" mountain bike (also purchased from Walmart). I don't know how they packed that much weight into a small children's bike, but it's there, and I think the kids suffer because of it. My kid only weights 35 pounds or so, and the bike weighs as much as him. I don't get it.

Was this review helpful? (22) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Will343
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Bike! Very Happy!
12/4/2012

Customer review by Gicky08

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by Gicky08
by Gicky08

We were looking for a non disney character bike and this is a great one! Easy to put together and our son loves it!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gicky08
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great color, great fit, and great price
12/30/2013

Customer review by ilovecats123

4.0 stars 12/30/2013 by ilovecats123
by ilovecats123

We purchased the bike for my 4 yr old for Christmas. We bought it online and did the store pick up to save on shipping expenses (also to avoid any assembly that it may have required). The price for the bike is great! It's a neon orange, comes with training wheels, handle breaks, pedal breaks, front wheel pegs, comfy seat, and reflectors on both wheels, front handle bar, pedals, and back of the seat. This bike comes with more features than some of the character themed bikes and at a significantly better price! To go with the bike, we purchased a "Bell" black helmet designed with neon green paint splats. The neon colors go great and can definitely be seen on the road. My son is very pleased with his big-boy bike :)

Was this review helpful? (16) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ilovecats123
Savannah, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lasted 1 summer
5/7/2013

Customer review by JetScout

1.0 stars 5/7/2013 by JetScout
by JetScout

We are entering our 2nd bike season with this bike and the tires have worn through to the tubes and now need replacing (bike is out of commission during 6 winter months of the year). The bike seat is cracked in 3 places, the chain cover is coming off and luckily our son doesn't use the front hand brakes because the don't work due to the fact that the cables have worn. Both hand grips and both pedals have been replaced already. Bike should have come with a kickstand because it can't withstand a 4 year old setting the bike down on the grass or driveway when he's not riding it. The bike never spent a night outside of the garage so why does it look so incredibly worn?

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JetScout
Northern Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
9/4/2013

Customer review by Scarybel

5.0 stars 9/4/2013 by Scarybel
by Scarybel

Purchased for 4 year old grandson. He loves it. Already trying to be a little daredevil from day 1. Best part is, except for the training wheels, it is very similar to his older (10 yrs old) brother's Mongoose, so he definitely feels like one of the big kids! I was aware the bike did not have a kickstand (from other comments), and I agree this would be a great addition to add to the box since the training wheels won't be needed forever. This bike should last for a couple of years before he grows into a 20" bike. Love the REALLY bright orange color!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Scarybel
Keystone Heights, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Love it!
2/22/2013

Customer review by hotpockets40

5.0 stars 2/22/2013 by hotpockets40
by hotpockets40

I bought this bike for my son's 5th birthday. It's an awesome bike! I love that it has hand breaks (front and back) and foot breaks. The only thing that it needs is a kickstand. My son doesn't need training wheels so we took them off. My husband put on a new kickstand and also back pegs so my son could do "tricks." The color is VERY bright orange. You will for sure be able to see your child on this bike. I have no complaints about this bike, and I would recommend it to anybody who is looking for an awesome bike at a great price!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hotpockets40
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Junk
4/14/2013

Customer review by TexasFYI

1.0 stars 4/14/2013 by TexasFYI
by TexasFYI

The handle bar became loose rotating frontward to backwards. Tried to tighten all four screws but poor design will not solve the problem. The handle bar has splines but where it meets the yoke is a smooth surface therefore will not stay engaged allowing the handle bar to rotate. Only had one week and will be returning not to buy the same brand. Very disappointed in Mongoose.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TexasFYI
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Horrible experience
12/29/2013

Customer review by Unhappy12345678das

1.0 stars 12/29/2013 by Unhappy12345678das
by Unhappy12345678das

After buying the bike online, shipping was delayed and I wouldn't get the item until Xmas eve. I got the bike and started to put it together (which was very easy). One problem, the box didn't hv a seat. I had to give my son a seatless bike from Santa.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Unhappy12345678das
Phoenix
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great looking good little bike!
8/2/2014

Customer review by leahgatz

5.0 stars 8/2/2014 by leahgatz
by leahgatz

My 5 year old son picked this bike out for himself. His favorite color is orange and you couldn't get much more orange than this. I put it together myself and it was very easy to assemble. We didn't need the training wheels since my son already knows how to ride without them and I loved that the seat went down nice and low so that he could easily touch the ground with both feet. So as soon as I was done putting it together and pumped up the tires he took off on it. We have since gotten tons of complements on it and several people have asked us where we bought it. I am extremely happy with the purchase of this bike.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
leahgatz
Burlington, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
no kickstand?!?!
6/18/2014

Customer review by momoftwoinpa652

2.0 stars 6/18/2014 by momoftwoinpa652
by momoftwoinpa652

OK bike for the price but it didn't come with a kickstand?!? It's a pain to put away nicely and to teach my five year old how to take care of his toys.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momoftwoinpa652
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5 yr old loves it
4/26/2014

Customer review by Penelope02

5.0 stars 4/26/2014 by Penelope02
by Penelope02

We wanted to get a bike that could grow with our 5 yr old and this bike seems perfect! He is learning to ride without training wheels and it is sturdy, yet not too heavy for him. I think it's a good price for the bike. We ordered it for pick up and it was ready to go immediately and already put together. I do love that about Walmart. Would definitely recommend this bike.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Penelope02
Omaha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great purchase!
3/14/2013

Customer review by WhyMe7

5.0 stars 3/14/2013 by WhyMe7
by WhyMe7

I ordered this for my grandson's 6th birthday and he loved it. It was the perfect size for his small frame, and he loved the bright orange color. Easy to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WhyMe7
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/3/2013

Customer review by Dmkirch

5.0 stars 9/3/2013 by Dmkirch
by Dmkirch

We bought this bike for our son's 6th birthday and he loves it. It was very easy to put together and is an excellent quality for the price. The only thing I don't understand is why they don't put kick stands on kids bikes. My son didn't need the training wheels so now it is just laying on the garage floor!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dmkirch
Stacy, mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/5/2013

Customer review by ooua0012

5.0 stars 10/5/2013 by ooua0012
by ooua0012

I got this bike for my son and he loves it. He rides everyday even inside the house. The wheels do not leave any marks in the hardwood floors. Built great and also free assemble. I would recommend this item.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ooua0012
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I'm happy
1/11/2013

Customer review by RealNameNot88

4.0 stars 1/11/2013 by RealNameNot88
by RealNameNot88

My son turned 6 and loves this bike. Of course, took off the training wheels because he hasn't needed them for years. Handbrakes and footbrakes. Looks cool enough for him to like for several years. No issues.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RealNameNot88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great bike for my six year old. Bright orange.
8/21/2013

Customer review by sddad91941

4.0 stars 8/21/2013 by sddad91941
by sddad91941

This bike is better quality than the other three I've put together since being a dad. The bike is really heavy, like others in this class.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sddad91941
san diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 185 total reviews
1-20 of 185 reviews