Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 24 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

24 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

24 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

50%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
11
1-20 of 22 total reviews
50%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews
Data card not good for 60 Days
9/9/2012

Customer review by Valleydog

1.0 stars 9/9/2012 by Valleydog
by Valleydog

Walmart on-line ad shows this card offers 5 gb of data on any T-mobile device for 60 days. I phoned the T-mobile number shown on Walmart email and activated my $50 card, explaining several times that it was purchased from Walmart and is good for 60 days. (It's only good for 30 days if bought from T-mobile). T-mobile rep never commented on the 60 day term but went ahead and activated card. I later noticed in T-mobile account that it was only good for 30 days. I called T-mobile to complain and the rep said that Walmart is in error and it should say that it is only for devices purchased at Walmart (Mine was not). I checked Walmart's on-line ad for this product today and still shows that the card is good for any T-mobile internet device. I don't see anything saying that the device has to be purchased at Walmart. Either Walmart or T-mobile is wrong on this, but I'm probably not going to waste any more time pursuing this.

Was this review helpful? (120) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Valleydog
Blaine, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Pass is Indeed Good for 60 Days!
1/1/2013

Customer review by linuxuser

5.0 stars 1/1/2013 by linuxuser
by linuxuser

Purchased a T-Mobile 4G Hotspot and $50 Prepaid Pass (good for 60 days) this morning. Ten minutes after getting home I had connected to T-Mobile, created my account, received my account number (which looks like a phone number), entered my scratch-off number from the Pass, and received $50 credit and 60 days' access w/a 5GB cap. This process used 190kb of my 5GB limit - not bad! BTW, a 6-minute Skype 2-way video session at 4G speeds and decent resolution will eat more than 90MB, so keep that in mind. Don't use this device and payment system for downloading or watchng streaming videos! It's perfect for me to do email, FB chats, and online banking as an interim service. Oh, and you can check your current usage at any time as well!

Was this review helpful? (45) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
linuxuser
Penniless Park, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The 60 day issue
1/19/2013

Customer review by bob4045

4.0 stars 1/19/2013 by bob4045
by bob4045

There is a potential problem with assuring that you receive 60 days of service with this card. First of all you must purchase the device through Walmart. Secondly you must make sure that at the time of activation that you give the T-Mobile agent the IME number (if the agent doesn't ask for it) otherwise only 30 days of service will show up in your account. There is apparently a mismatch in numbers that ocurrs if you don't give that number to the agent. I gave this product 4 stars rather than 5 because of the hassle involved setting everything up.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bob4045
Dunkirk, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not compatible
12/28/2012

Customer review by DrTJM

1.0 stars 12/28/2012 by DrTJM
by DrTJM

I bought two of these $50 Prepaid Mobile Broadband Passes (e-mail delivery) for use with 2 T-Mobile 4G Broadband MiFi Hotspots purchased as gifts. There is a MAJOR problem. When you set up the MiFi Hotspot and attempt to use the e-mail delivered broadband passes, T-Mobiles does NOT accept them. The T-Mobile system requires a 12 digit 'Pin' number for use in their system. Walmart sells you refill cards that use 10 digit 'Pin' numbers. INCOMPATIBLE. Do not purchase your Broadband Passes on-line for e-mail delivery until Walmart and T-Mobile works out this incompatibility.

Was this review helpful? (38) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DrTJM
US 46, Terre Haute, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/29/2012

Customer review by Energy2012

1.0 stars 10/29/2012 by Energy2012
by Energy2012

I had the same issue. When I used the card to autorize my device, I was only given the choice to buy their programs on line. Only for 1 vs 2 months. Also less data than posted on card.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Energy2012
Yuba City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart device purchase requirement
1/18/2013

Customer review by herman4045

4.0 stars 1/18/2013 by herman4045
by herman4045

I recently purchased this broadband pass thus I haven't had it for 30 days. However, to the point of a requirement to purchase a T-Mobile broadband device from Walmart is clearly stated within the first couple of lines of the product description: If I find that after 30 days I have an issue with the pass I will present that in another review. I didn't give five stars to this product as I found activation instructions didn't work causing me to contact T-Mobile tech support to resolve this issue.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
herman4045
Dunkirk, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
College student on a budget gives Thumbs up!
1/9/2013

Customer review by SavyCollegeShopper

4.0 stars 1/9/2013 by SavyCollegeShopper
by SavyCollegeShopper

Good for 60 days. I purchased the T-Mobile laptop wireless stick ( connects to laptop via USB drive). Works pretty well. I've had it for about 6 months now. The connection can go down randomly sometimes, but in most cases it is dependable. It is easier to purchase the 5GB reload via Walmart than T-Moble, because the website will not allow you to purchase while you still have GB's to use, you end up having to call into t mobile and get transferred to a specific department. With Walmart you can purchase a week or so earlier to running out of GB's and reload it via phone with T Mobile. You have to speak to person, the automated system does not accept the code. Would recommend the refill.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SavyCollegeShopper
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This can no longer be used effective 10/16/14
11/9/2014

Customer review by InkSpot4

1.0 stars 11/9/2014 by InkSpot4
by InkSpot4

I purchased my original T-mobile Hot Spot at a Walmart Store and have been using the 3.5GB/$35/60 days for quite some time. This has been discontinued T-Mobile told me. I saw online Walmart $50/5GB/60 Days and purchased it. I received it via email quickly. I had to call T-Mobile because when I entered the "pin" number it didn't go to my Data Usage but to a general balance. Their customer service explained as of 10/16/14 this type refill no longer exists. My options were only $50/7GB/30 Days or $30/3GB/30 Days. Walmart needs to take this off the online purchases as it does not even exist and you don't find out until you have already used the $50 refill but not for what you intended to buy.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
InkSpot4
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best option to refill your T-mobile wifi account
1/4/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/4/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

...as long as >>>you purchased your device from Walmart<<<. It's useless to you if you did not. It is an excellent value compared to most carriers, no doubt. My only complaint per se is it took most of the "up to 48 hours" of delivery time for the purchased PIN # to hit my E account - so allow for that 48 hour window when re-ordering (as I was for the first time...) to avoid loss of connection issues.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
EXCLUSIVE WAL-MART 60 DAY PLAN NO LONGER AVAILABLE
11/15/2014

Customer review by RoadWarrior59

1.0 stars 11/15/2014 by RoadWarrior59
by RoadWarrior59

AS OF 10/19/2014 THE ITEM DESCRIPTION CLAIMING THIS $50 DATA REFILL CARD (552086462)IS GOOD FOR 5 GB FOR 60 DAYS EXCLUSIVE TO T-MOBLE MOBILE BROADBAND DEVICES PURCHASED AT WAL-MART AFTER 6/1/2012 IS INCORRECT! I purchased this electronic delivery $50 prepaid mobile broadband pass for my Wal-Mart purchased hotspot on 11/15/2014 specifically to have the 60-day usage period advertised in the 'about this item' description. I had used many 60-day $35 3.5 GB passes exclusive to Wal-Mart in the past. I knew that particular plan was no longer available and had not re-activated my device after the last 60-day pass had expired. HOWEVER, since we were going to be traveling soon I looked online to see if any 60-day passes were still available and was pleased to see that this $50/5GB/60-day pass listed. UNFORTUNATELY, after activating the pass, I learned from T-Mobile Customer Support that NONE of the 60-day Wal-Mart plans are available any longer; indeed, those 60-day plans that had been 'grandfathered' after the 'official' expiration of the plan were not available after 10/19/2014. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PASS IF YOU EXPECT IT TO LAST 60 DAYS. IT WILL NOT. Furthermore, GETTING A REFUND AFTER ACTIVATING THE PASS IS NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE. Not impossible, but certainly not easy. T-Mobile only will only issue the refund after validating the PIN for the Wal-Mart issued pass and then will also require you to go to a T-Mobile store to update your account name and address before issuing the refund in the form of a pre-paid bank card mailed to you via USPS. Needless to say, you won't be seeing your $50 any time soon. WAL-MART: PLEASE REMOVE THIS ITEM FROM YOUR WEB SITE OR AT LEAST UPDATE THE 'ABOUT THIS ITEM' DESCRIPTION TO REMOVE ANY REFERENCE TO THE NOW-DEFUNCT 5GB/60-DAY PASS. This prepaid data card will simply add $50 to your prepaid account, which can be used to purchase one of the standard available T-Mobile Hotspot 'On Demand Passes' which are currently (as of 11/15/2014) limited to: $5 / 500 MB 1-day pass $10 / 1 GB 7-day pass $30 / 3 GB 30-day pass $40 / 5 GB 30-day pass $50 / 7 GB 30-day pass Note the lack of ANY 60-day pass. Too bad. The availability of the Wal-Mart exclusive 60-day passes was what made this particular hotspot a good deal for me. I had recommended this to several colleagues for this very feature, as many were looking for a reasonably-priced hotspot that worked well for occasional usage at a reasonable cost. I can no longer recommend the Wal-Mart T-Mobile hotspot for this purpose.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RoadWarrior59
Would recommend to a friend? No
Costs twice as much for half the data
11/20/2014

Customer review by ATEH

1.0 stars 11/20/2014 by ATEH
by ATEH

If I wasn't so busy I would figure out who to write a letter to at Tmobile and/or Walmart. We used to pay about $35 for 3G worth of data to be used over 60 days. Now it's only a 30 day option. This card I bought recently specifically said on the web site that it was a 60 day usage card. When I called Tmobile to find out why the reload section on the web site wasn't giving me that option I learned that the 60 day plans were discontinued a while ago EVEN THOUGH WALMART'S WEB SITE ADVERTISES IT. When I get more time to look around I will seriously consider no longer using Tmobile or Walmart for this service.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ATEH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy way to add $$ to prepaid account
8/6/2014

Customer review by calculatingconsumer

5.0 stars 8/6/2014 by calculatingconsumer
by calculatingconsumer

Easy purchase from Walmart with electronic delivery in less than 15 minutes. T-mobile has improved their process over past couple of years in regard to adding $$ to prepay account. Bought with an old Walmart giftcard.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
calculatingconsumer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good for a on the go
6/15/2014

Customer review by notneveragain

3.0 stars 6/15/2014 by notneveragain
by notneveragain

Took way to long for me to recieve this by email

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
notneveragain
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Two month $50 special not available
11/22/2014

Customer review by eway

1.0 stars 11/22/2014 by eway
by eway

T-mobile no longer honors the Walmart special 2 months of broadband for $35 or $50 even though it says it's available on the purchase web page.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eway
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good luck contacting customer service
11/26/2014

Customer review by INeedANewSolution

1.0 stars 11/26/2014 by INeedANewSolution
by INeedANewSolution

Received an e-mail asking for a review of this item. Before the review starts, there is a link that says I can contact customer service directly. Tried that on the website and the contact page has been moved (or so it told me over and over again). T-Mobile will not honor the 60-day advertisement for this pass. I did indeed buy my hotspot from Wal-Mart in 2013 and have been using the $35 3.5GB 60-day passes for more than a year. Wal-Mart is still advertising this as a 60-day pass for devices purchased from Wal-Mart. The offer "expired" in October 2014 according to T-Mobile. They will not honor it. E-mailed passes cannot be "returned" to Wal-Mart. T-Mobile told me I could buy a 7GB 30-day pass with the $50 credit they gave me for this pass. Since I never even used the 3.5GB over 60 days and T-Mobile always kept some of the data I purchased because the pass timed out before I used it up, buying even more for a shorter period of time was not exactly my idea of a solution. This internet solution worked great for my needs while it lasted but it is not available any longer. I need to figure out some other way. If you want a $50 credit at T-Mobile, go ahead and buy the pass. If you want a 60-day 5GB pass, you won't find it here.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
INeedANewSolution
Would recommend to a friend? No
Slow to update account
10/2/2014

Customer review by RsK11

3.0 stars 10/2/2014 by RsK11
by RsK11

The email delivery was prompt. The problem I had when I follow the instructions given in the email my account was not updated. I had to call T-mobile to update my account.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RsK11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Either Walmart or T-Mobile hasn't figured it out
9/30/2014

Customer review by daysnotbytes

1.0 stars 9/30/2014 by daysnotbytes
by daysnotbytes

I purchased a T-Mobile hotspot last month from Walmart. When I'd used the data that came with the purchase (5GB), I tried Walmart's offer of buying from them online and getting 5GB that was good for SIXTY (60) days (ref Walmart website). I was emailed a PIN. I had to enter the PIN at T-Mobile. T-Mobile gave me $50 credit (no more data). I called T-Mobile. They said I had to call to convert to data (and I would have to call every time if I did not purchase directly from them). They converted $ to GB. I hung-up; I checked my T-Mobile account and found I had 7GB of data good for THIRTY (30) days. I immediately called them back and they said it was too late to fix it since I had logged on (well duh, that's how I knew it was not right). It took me 40 days to go through the initial 5GB. I knew I was a light user and chose Walmart's offer because of the 60 days. "But you got an extra 2GB." Gee why didn't you give me 1TB, then at the end of 30 days I could use my 4GB and leave 996GB on the table instead of only three? Maybe I'll just buy directly from T-Mobile and at least avoid the phone call.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
daysnotbytes
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Purchased 4/14, 60 day deal over (Dec 2014).....
12/30/2014

Customer review by dwmorris

1.0 stars 12/30/2014 by dwmorris
by dwmorris

...and now I own a paperweight. To make matters worse, I just found out after purchasing a $50 / 60 day pass but TMobile just told me this is no longer the deal....it's now 30 days. I asked for a refund in my order, I have screen prints showing what I purchased does not match when I received and the vendor said the 60d deal stopped back in Oct 2014. HOW WOULD WE CONSUMERS KNOW? UPDATE THE PRODUCT DESCRIPTION WALMART! VISA charge-back time I guess.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dwmorris
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very good service
1/27/2014

Customer review by Cowgurlup1972

5.0 stars 1/27/2014 by Cowgurlup1972
by Cowgurlup1972

Great for people who can't get a regular internet service

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cowgurlup1972
Cleburne,Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good, but you must have a sum card already
1/6/2014

Customer review by Guz4NC

4.0 stars 1/6/2014 by Guz4NC
by Guz4NC

the sim card must be activated first then add the card

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Guz4NC
Durham, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews