Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 175 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

175 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

175 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
103
4 stars
55
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 175 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 175 total reviews
1-20 of 175 reviews
The little vacuum that could have been great!
1/26/2017

Customer review by rwisot

3.0 stars 1/26/2017 by rwisot
by rwisot

This could have been one of the best hard floor vacuums on the market, but… I have been using this vacuum now for a year. I could almost be ecstatic about how good this little hard surface vacuum could be, except for falling short in its function. It has great suction, but my vacuum blows the discharge (exhaust) air downward directly where you are trying to vacuum. When the light hits where I am vacuuming, all you see is a big dust cloud boiling up off the floor. All that dust, dirt, and lint being blown up into the air to settle down on your furniture, tables, and kitchen counters. As is, I need to hold the vacuum low, almost parallel to the floor while I vacuum to keep the dirt from becoming airborne. The vacuum has great potential. It is extremely powerful for its size. But blowing the dirt up into the air makes we wish I had purchased something else. I am very disappointed with this aspect of the vacuum. Maybe mine has a production flaw. I do not know, but I wish it could be corrected. This only occurs on the right side of the canister, but it is significant. The left side discharges air horizontally, and does not impact vacuuming. The right side has an opening just above the dirt intake into the canister. This is where the air discharging down against the floor originates from. It does not look like much of an opening, but do not be deceived by this. The vacuum has great suction, whereby generating substantial exhaust air. The left side does not have this opening, and does not replicate the problem. (Please reference the attached pictures.) Other minor points worth mentioning: 1. If you are in a confined space vacuuming in a very upright position, the intake gets closed off by the floor head and you lose suction. 2. The canister is located so close to the floor head, it does not have the ability to reach more than 5” under anything. The 20’ cord is 5’ longer than my previous floor vacuum. This makes a huge difference in reach; very nice. 25’ may have made it superb. My previous vacuum was unable to stand alone. It needed to be propped against a wall when storing. The Powerair stands on its own; a nice feature. Pros: Great suction Very powerful motor Reasonably long cord, 20’ Stands upright for storage Cons: Canister discharges air towards floor directly where you are vacuuming A bit noisy (does not bother me, but may bother some) Upright vacuuming closes air intake, losing suction Needs more distance between canister and floor head for vacuuming under objects I hope this review help other in deciding if this is the right vacuum for them. I believe it has great potential, but mine falls short. I should give Royal/Dirt Devil a call to see if there is anything that can be done to correct the issue I am having with my vacuum.

rwisot
Apex, NC
An Excellent Find!!!
5/4/2016

Customer review by Gin1240

5.0 stars 5/4/2016 by Gin1240
by Gin1240

This had to be one of the best purchases I have ever made. As always when checking out various vacuums or any product,I read many or all of the reviews. I was convinced after reading so many high ratings for this light weight upright that it was for me. When it arrived, I found it easy to put it together and couldn't wait to turn it on. In my opinion, it was not over rated. I have two dogs so dog hair is a problem, but NOT a problem anymore It virtually sucked up everything including the area under the toe space of my kitchen cabinets and low furniture. I had to empty it twice, but that is so simple that this is not a chore. I like being able to see the container so that I know immediately to empty it. To be lightweight, the material appears thin and a bit fragile so I will see how it holds up. Believe me if it lasts a year and then wears out or breaks, I will immediately buy another. I tried to download 2 files but could only do one. This is Lady, who sheds the most hair. My miniature Australian Shepherd'

Was this review helpful? (50) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gin1240
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4 stars since its corded but not retractable
7/9/2016

Customer review by Clermontshopper

5.0 stars 7/9/2016 by Clermontshopper
by Clermontshopper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased a second devil after buying one online for $29.99 order arrived one day earlier just was to small for my needs,My New Dirt Devil on sale also for $35.99 only 5 minutes to put together so easy to use my 8 year old loves vacuuming his on room. I also use it to clean my windowsill, vacuum the car with the attachments provided looks like a professional detailed my car love my new Dirt Devil I would recommend especially for the price.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Clermontshopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Picker Upper
4/26/2017

Customer review by Keyplayer53

5.0 stars 4/26/2017 by Keyplayer53
by Keyplayer53

I bought this unit several years ago and it's performance is great. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Keyplayer53
Ashtabula, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Long time User
2/16/2015

Customer review by DogHairChaser

4.0 stars 2/16/2015 by DogHairChaser
by DogHairChaser

I've used these stick vacuums for years. This model and it's predecessor. Excellent suction power for bare floors and area rugs and low pile carpet. Would not work well on higher pile carpet. Only problem is the handle to unit engineering is not good. I have not have had a power unit fail. The problem is where the handle/stick part connects to the vacuum itself. It needs to be a stronger. Eventually it will fail. But this will be over a year or two of daily use. That is why I keep buying them. It also helps to secure the power cord up on the stick with tape or tie to help it prevent breaking the wires at the base of the power unit because of constant stress while using.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DogHairChaser
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/28/2012

Customer review by 4Runner73

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by 4Runner73
by 4Runner73

Super powerful! I could actually see dirt being pulled toward the vacuum. The larger opening allowed the vacuum to easily pick up cheerios and bits of food under my kitchen table. We have carpet in the living room and bedrooms and it does great on them as well! Dirt cup empties clean easily. Good buy, 40 dollars well spent.

Was this review helpful? (82) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4Runner73
Schaumburg, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Dirt Devil
4/11/2016

Customer review by Bob123

4.0 stars 4/11/2016 by Bob123
by Bob123

Nice vacuum for the price. Has great suction. I don't like the bulky front mount motor and dust cup. It makes it hard to get the toe kick area of cupboards. You can get this area but you have to lay the vacuum down on the floor(well almost). This vacuum is on the loud side.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bob123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Powerful
12/14/2015

Customer review by logibeartnwi

4.0 stars 12/14/2015 by logibeartnwi
by logibeartnwi

Wow does it have power, better be holding on tight when you turn it on or it will try to spin out of your hand... It does great on bare floors, does ok on rugs and low nap carpeting, at least it gets the stuff that is resting on top. Only thing I am not crazy about is it doesn’t seem real high quality, the handle is made of two metal tubes with the silver push buttons to hold them together and the floor piece is made of plastic and just snaps on.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
logibeartnwi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
OMG!
10/14/2013

Customer review by olemissboy

5.0 stars 10/14/2013 by olemissboy
by olemissboy

This vacuum is sooooooooooooooooo powerful and easy to use, though it has no brush bar it works great on shag carpet and fills all the way up on 15 feet. This cleaner is a power house though its hard to clean the cyclone it is awsome!

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
olemissboy
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:14 - 18
Works Great so far
5/9/2017

Customer review by TRISTAR

4.0 stars 5/9/2017 by TRISTAR
by TRISTAR

so far this item is doing great. My only request would be a wall mount to hang it up.

TRISTAR
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Serious suction
7/31/2016

Customer review by Lots2vacuum

5.0 stars 7/31/2016 by Lots2vacuum
by Lots2vacuum
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this vacuum for the sole purpose of vacuuming hardwood floors. The suction is incredibly powerful --- so much that it leaps a little when I turn it on. It leaves nothing behind. I have also found it works beautifully on low pile rugs despite not having a beater bar. Great for picking up hair --- no brushes to get stuck on. The cord was a little short for me so I added a short extension cord to it and it works fine. I will never buy another battery powered vacuum again. This has as much power as a regular sized upright. The price is great.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lots2vacuum
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Small powerful vacuum
12/14/2015

Customer review by Lori

5.0 stars 12/14/2015 by Lori
by Lori

A lot of people post in the reviews that the vacuum container get full easily, even in one day use. But let's be honest, if you want to keep ur machine in good working conditions then you should take care of it cleaning it after you use it, otherwise that's how things get bad. I really like this vacuum cuz is small and it cleans very good, easy to move and use. The hair doesn't get stuck and it doesnt get tangle in the vacuum (like my old one). I really recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lori
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome suction!
5/4/2017

Customer review by TulsaWalker

5.0 stars 5/4/2017 by TulsaWalker
by TulsaWalker

I have tried numerous stick vacuums and been very disappointed with their lack of suction and poor performance. This Dirt Devil Power Air is by far the best I have used and it makes very quick work of sweeping hard floors. You will not be disappointed if you purchase this vacuum! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

TulsaWalker
Tulsa, OK, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Little Disappointed
3/11/2017

Customer review by Tel864

1.0 stars 3/11/2017 by Tel864
by Tel864

Ok, I'll admit that I only picked up this vacuum today, but I'm a little disappointed. To begin with, it's loud, louder than my full size Shark. It's flimsy, and the only thing I can compare it to is the toy vacuum my daughter had when she was small. As someone else mentioned, the air discharged from the front tends to blow dust away from the head. What really disappoints me is the fact that for 15 to 20 bucks more I could have purchased a full size vacuum. I'm on the fence as to whether I'll even keep it or not, my wife says keep it till it breaks and then we'll just throw it away. I suspect that won't be a long time in coming because it's actually the second Dirt Devil I've owned. Although the other was quite a few years ago, it wasn't much of a vacuum either. Would I recommend it to my friends........no.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 5/17/2017

Hi Tel864! We appreciate the time you took to review your Power Air. We strive to provide the best products possible to our consumers. We will pass your comments along. Thank you! -Michael, Dirt Devil Customer Care

Tel864
Would recommend to a friend? No
8/14/2013

Customer review by FurryFriends

5.0 stars 8/14/2013 by FurryFriends
by FurryFriends
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I use the Dirt Devil Bagless Swift Stick every day. I have 4 shedding dogs and was losing ground keeping the floors clean. The Dirt Devil allows me to finally keep up with the fur on the floor. Emptying the cleaner is easy and you don't have to keep replacing bags. I would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FurryFriends
Pittsboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wowwwie!
6/20/2013

Customer review by SilverJellie

5.0 stars 6/20/2013 by SilverJellie
by SilverJellie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Super Powerful little Vacuum ! I was testing on a runner rug in my living room and I accidentally vacuumed up one of My Daughters' socks. I didn't even know it happened until I saw a bright blue thing whirling in the cylinder! Ha!

Was this review helpful? (52) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SilverJellie
Home of the Spurs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great suction
7/7/2016

Customer review by ekpw

4.0 stars 7/7/2016 by ekpw
by ekpw
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wish it was cordless. Otherwise works great. I have lots and lots of cat hair from my 3 cats and this little lightweight machine works better than my Dyson that stopped working about a month after I purchased.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ekpw
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT PRICE
5/24/2016

Customer review by SUNNY20

5.0 stars 5/24/2016 by SUNNY20
by SUNNY20
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

WORKS WELL FOR SMALL APARTMENTS, GOOD SUCTION.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SUNNY20
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
For Smooth Floors Only
11/7/2013

Customer review by RD4729

4.0 stars 11/7/2013 by RD4729
by RD4729
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Dirt Devil has lots of power and the dirt container is easy to empty. We purchased this item for our laminate and porcelain tile floors. It does a great job of cleaning those types of floors. It is not designed to work on rugs but will work on low pile rugs without any problem. The only negative is that we wish the vacuum head had a stop on it so that it didn't flop when you picked it up and carried it to a new location.

Was this review helpful? (42) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RD4729
Grand Marais, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super Easy to Use
1/26/2016

Customer review by Robin1

5.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Robin1
by Robin1

This vacuum is exactly as advertised. Very powerful on hard surface floors, convenient and easy to use! It fell over once on the tile floor and I thought for sure something broke on it due to being made of a hard plastic. I guess the plastic and construction is better than I thought because other than the canister popping off, nothing broke and it was good as new! So far, so good!

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Robin1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 175 total reviews
1-20 of 175 reviews