Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.4out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 | 186 reviews
5 stars
110
4 stars
57
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
8
Sort by: 
1-20 of 186 reviews
1-20 of 186 reviews
The little vacuum that could have been great!
1/26/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This could have been one of the best hard floor vacuums on the market, but… I have been using this vacuum now for a year. I could almost be ecstatic about how good this little hard surface vacuum could be, except for falling short in its function. It has great suction, but my vacuum blows the discharge (exhaust) air downward directly where you are trying to vacuum. When the light hits where I am vacuuming, all you see is a big dust cloud boiling up off the floor. All that dust, dirt, and lint being blown up into the air to settle down on your furniture, tables, and kitchen counters. As is, I need to hold the vacuum low, almost parallel to the floor while I vacuum to keep the dirt from becoming airborne. The vacuum has great potential. It is extremely powerful for its size. But blowing the dirt up into the air makes we wish I had purchased something else. I am very disappointed with this aspect of the vacuum. Maybe mine has a production flaw. I do not know, but I wish it could be corrected. This only occurs on the right side of the canister, but it is significant. The left side discharges air horizontally, and does not impact vacuuming. The right side has an opening just above the dirt intake into the canister. This is where the air discharging down against the floor originates from. It does not look like much of an opening, but do not be deceived by this. The vacuum has great suction, whereby generating substantial exhaust air. The left side does not have this opening, and does not replicate the problem. (Please reference the attached pictures.) Other minor points worth mentioning: 1. If you are in a confined space vacuuming in a very upright position, the intake gets closed off by the floor head and you lose suction. 2. The canister is located so close to the floor head, it does not have the ability to reach more than 5” under anything. The 20’ cord is 5’ longer than my previous floor vacuum. This makes a huge difference in reach; very nice. 25’ may have made it superb. My previous vacuum was unable to stand alone. It needed to be propped against a wall when storing. The Powerair stands on its own; a nice feature. Pros: Great suction Very powerful motor Reasonably long cord, 20’ Stands upright for storage Cons: Canister discharges air towards floor directly where you are vacuuming A bit noisy (does not bother me, but may bother some) Upright vacuuming closes air intake, losing suction Needs more distance between canister and floor head for vacuuming under objects I hope this review help other in deciding if this is the right vacuum for them. I believe it has great potential, but mine falls short. I should give Royal/Dirt Devil a call to see if there is anything that can be done to correct the issue I am having with my vacuum.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
An Excellent Find!!!
5/4/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This had to be one of the best purchases I have ever made. As always when checking out various vacuums or any product,I read many or all of the reviews. I was convinced after reading so many high ratings for this light weight upright that it was for me. When it arrived, I found it easy to put it together and couldn't wait to turn it on. In my opinion, it was not over rated. I have two dogs so dog hair is a problem, but NOT a problem anymore It virtually sucked up everything including the area under the toe space of my kitchen cabinets and low furniture. I had to empty it twice, but that is so simple that this is not a chore. I like being able to see the container so that I know immediately to empty it. To be lightweight, the material appears thin and a bit fragile so I will see how it holds up. Believe me if it lasts a year and then wears out or breaks, I will immediately buy another. I tried to download 2 files but could only do one. This is Lady, who sheds the most hair. My miniature Australian Shepherd'
Was this review helpful?
Yes (51)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4 stars since its corded but not retractable
7/9/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased a second devil after buying one online for $29.99 order arrived one day earlier just was to small for my needs,My New Dirt Devil on sale also for $35.99 only 5 minutes to put together so easy to use my 8 year old loves vacuuming his on room. I also use it to clean my windowsill, vacuum the car with the attachments provided looks like a professional detailed my car love my new Dirt Devil I would recommend especially for the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Picker Upper
4/26/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this unit several years ago and it's performance is great. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome
9/20/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This little stick vac may not be made out of the finest materials but it's performance outweighs that, I use it just about everyday to go over my hardwood floors that I put in. It's lightweight easy to maneuver and boy does it have suction........plus you can't beat the price......I love it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Long time User
2/16/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've used these stick vacuums for years. This model and it's predecessor. Excellent suction power for bare floors and area rugs and low pile carpet. Would not work well on higher pile carpet. Only problem is the handle to unit engineering is not good. I have not have had a power unit fail. The problem is where the handle/stick part connects to the vacuum itself. It needs to be a stronger. Eventually it will fail. But this will be over a year or two of daily use. That is why I keep buying them. It also helps to secure the power cord up on the stick with tape or tie to help it prevent breaking the wires at the base of the power unit because of constant stress while using.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Its a no trouble machine
9/12/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We had our previous Dirt Devil for over twenty years.It was used all the time. It is a shame that the bearings in the motor broke down,the motor still worked,but the noise was to loud to be able to use. I was sorry that we were unable to get the triangular head on the new one, it was so good for getting into corners.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good vacuum
9/5/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a great vacuum for cleaning tile and wood floors. I have one which is 7 years old for our city home and I just bought this one for our weekend home which has all hardwood flooring. It has strong suction and even does a good job on a large braided rug I have. It is easy to empty and has disposable filters which I shake out and clean with an old toothbrush to make the filter last longer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
11/28/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Super powerful! I could actually see dirt being pulled toward the vacuum. The larger opening allowed the vacuum to easily pick up cheerios and bits of food under my kitchen table. We have carpet in the living room and bedrooms and it does great on them as well! Dirt cup empties clean easily. Good buy, 40 dollars well spent.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (82)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Powerful
12/14/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Wow does it have power, better be holding on tight when you turn it on or it will try to spin out of your hand... It does great on bare floors, does ok on rugs and low nap carpeting, at least it gets the stuff that is resting on top. Only thing I am not crazy about is it doesn’t seem real high quality, the handle is made of two metal tubes with the silver push buttons to hold them together and the floor piece is made of plastic and just snaps on.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
OMG!
10/14/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This vacuum is sooooooooooooooooo powerful and easy to use, though it has no brush bar it works great on shag carpet and fills all the way up on 15 feet. This cleaner is a power house though its hard to clean the cyclone it is awsome!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Dirt Devil
4/11/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Nice vacuum for the price. Has great suction. I don't like the bulky front mount motor and dust cup. It makes it hard to get the toe kick area of cupboards. You can get this area but you have to lay the vacuum down on the floor(well almost). This vacuum is on the loud side.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Small powerful vacuum
12/14/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
A lot of people post in the reviews that the vacuum container get full easily, even in one day use. But let's be honest, if you want to keep ur machine in good working conditions then you should take care of it cleaning it after you use it, otherwise that's how things get bad. I really like this vacuum cuz is small and it cleans very good, easy to move and use. The hair doesn't get stuck and it doesnt get tangle in the vacuum (like my old one). I really recommend it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/14/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I use the Dirt Devil Bagless Swift Stick every day. I have 4 shedding dogs and was losing ground keeping the floors clean. The Dirt Devil allows me to finally keep up with the fur on the floor. Emptying the cleaner is easy and you don't have to keep replacing bags. I would buy it again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wowwwie!
6/20/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Super Powerful little Vacuum ! I was testing on a runner rug in my living room and I accidentally vacuumed up one of My Daughters' socks. I didn't even know it happened until I saw a bright blue thing whirling in the cylinder! Ha!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (53)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very Good Sweeper for hard floors
8/21/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Lightweight, 10 amp motor, workhorse of a stick vacuum.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Features
8/18/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Used my new dirt devil this AM it is great for what I need it for..very light weight, easy to move around good stuff.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Serious suction
7/31/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this vacuum for the sole purpose of vacuuming hardwood floors. The suction is incredibly powerful --- so much that it leaps a little when I turn it on. It leaves nothing behind. I have also found it works beautifully on low pile rugs despite not having a beater bar. Great for picking up hair --- no brushes to get stuck on. The cord was a little short for me so I added a short extension cord to it and it works fine. I will never buy another battery powered vacuum again. This has as much power as a regular sized upright. The price is great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great suction
7/7/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I wish it was cordless. Otherwise works great. I have lots and lots of cat hair from my 3 cats and this little lightweight machine works better than my Dyson that stopped working about a month after I purchased.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
DOES'NT PICK UP
8/8/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
SAVE YOUR MONEY,JUST DOES'NT PICK UP AND HAS VERY POOR SUCTION
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640658, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-