Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 467 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

467 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

467 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
259
4 stars
84
3 stars
19
2 stars
32
1 stars
73
1-20 of 458 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 458 total reviews
1-20 of 458 reviews
Engineering Disaster!
1/21/2013

Customer review by Nothappyatall01212013

1.0 stars 1/21/2013 by Nothappyatall01212013
by Nothappyatall01212013

I cannot believe the other reviews! I have had several carpet cleaners and this one is by far the worst. The main tank holds about 1 gallon of water, yet I can only clean about 20 linear feet (about 20 square feet) before the tank is empty. Too much time emptying and refilling! Plus we had to set up a 'hazmat area' to empty the thing! When you remove the top section of the tank, dirty water drips everywhere. The tank is too tall to fit under the sink spigot so we had to use a pitcher. Water inlet hole is too small, needed a funnel. The cleaner solution must be mixed with water and when you run out of clean water in the main tank there is still 1/3 tank of cleaner. So how do you figure how much cleaner fluid and how much water to mix?!!! Pros: It does a good job getting up dirt in carpet. Cons: Main tank way too small. Cleaning fluid tank feed rate WAY out of synch with water dispersal. Very messy at refill area. Too much time refilling and not enough time actually cleaning! Very, very poor design! I will never buy anything with this type of design again!

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nothappyatall01212013
Seneca, S.C.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Easy to assemble, Great instructions, Easy to use.
11/11/2012

Customer review by Hercumer

5.0 stars 11/11/2012 by Hercumer
by Hercumer

Bought this machine today to clean the dirty traffic lanes in my apartment. I have been looking to buy a carpet cleaner for some time. I had been renting Rug Doctors or using the attachment for my Shop Vac. After looking at the other brands on display at my local Wal-Mart, I choose this model for price and machine construction. Easy to assemble, 4 phillip screws, took all of 5 minutes. Then mixed the cleaner and filled the tank with hot water. Used the Bissell Pre-treat on the heavy traffic dirt. Pre-treat and sample cleaner comes with the machine. My carpet has never looked this good in 15 years and is almost dry.

Was this review helpful? (44) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hercumer
Roanoke, VA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Very happy after 4 yrs of owning it
4/3/2013

Customer review by Dre303howyadoin

5.0 stars 4/3/2013 by Dre303howyadoin
by Dre303howyadoin

We have 6 chihuahuas a boxer and a cat, plus a teenager. This thing cleans the carpets awesomely. Makes the whole room smell fresh and the carpet looks new every time. Easy access to waste water. MUST empty waste water after steam cleaning or you will get a smell to high heaven. Have had to have it serviced maybe 3 times over the years (once a year? maybe) at 69$ each time. I dont fault the steam cleaner on this due to the abuse it receives at our house. The service consists of minor issues like clogged soap lines or loss of suction etc, EACH Time the vacuum repair guy was able to get the parts to replace this under warranty so I never had to pay over 69.00 for cleaning the unit. After the service runs like new again. Has held up externally as far as hose, attatchments, side trim etc, very very sturdy. ONLY FAULT : DO NOT USE OXY CLEAN POWDER OR ANYTHING ELSE TO CLEAN YOUR CARPETS OR IT WILL CLOG THIS MACHINE Def recommend this product. The pet hair eraser vacuum from the same line, not so much.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dre303howyadoin
aurora co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
POWER BRUSH
1/24/2016

Customer review by Grannyb19

1.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Grannyb19
by Grannyb19

Worked great when i bought it only 18 months ago but the front part that vacuums up the water came apart at the seam and apparently they have discontinued all parts already, so i wouldn't recommend buying Bissel if they discontinue parts that fast.

Comment from Juan - 1/27/2016

HI Grannyb - While this model was disconnected a couple years ago the front nozzle is still available for your cleaner. Check it out here: http://www.bissell.com/floor-nozzle-withend-caps-for-proheat-2x-carpet-cleaners-2037649?productid=9200A&cid=ccsocial2107 Hope this helps!

Grannyb19
Alberta, Canada
Gender:Female
Good Cleaner if it works!
11/13/2012

Customer review by Specialk1989

2.0 stars 11/13/2012 by Specialk1989
by Specialk1989

I have had to take mine in for repairs several times and again its not spraying water. If you buy this product DO NOT PUT HOT WATER IN THE TANK! The tank is not durable and the the plastic recedes making the water not spray i have experienced this even with luke warm water, Every time after your done using it you have to do a full rinse , the lines get clogged very easily. I have talked to the suggested repair retailer many times and he says he understands the frustration I have had. He told me that out of all of the carpet machines the Bissell pro heat 2 x is the machine that is most brought in for repairs. I have repaired and replaced the entire machine and I'm getting a different brand this time! When it works its a good machine it picks up a lot of dirt! But I wouldn't waste my time or money!

Was this review helpful? (46) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Specialk1989
Taylor, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Love it!
1/7/2013

Customer review by kadacoza

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by kadacoza
by kadacoza

I purchased this last week at Walmart (It was only $149 at our local store). Pay close attention when buying these to the length of warranty. I bought this one because it has a 2 year warranty rather than one year like some of the others. I also purchased the additional 3 year warranty at Walmart for just $20 more bringing the price of my machine to $169. It was a replacement for my old Bissell (which had been a $350 machine). This works as well if not better than the old one did! The only things I do not like is it seems to me like I run out of water fairly often and have to refill it. (It holds one gallon) And I also do not like that there is no way to know if I am out of water without removing the tank and looking. (My old one had a little spinner thing on top that stopped spinning if I was out of water or cleaning solution) It does a great job of cleaning my carpets-they look almost like new and they are 7 years old. It was easy to assemble and I had it together and running in about 15 minutes. I would recommend this product to anyone looking for an economical carpet scrubber.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kadacoza
IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Mixed feelings
2/10/2013

Customer review by goldielocs1973

2.0 stars 2/10/2013 by goldielocs1973
by goldielocs1973

Ive owned 2 Bissell proheat 2x in the last 4 years. Both have stopped working. Ive followed the instructions for when the machine has lost suction and still doesnt work. Now these machines are 200.00. For me to have it fixed or even sent in to have them look at it will cost just about as much for a new one. Guess what??? This is just another product thats meant to be thrown away. They want you to have to buy a new one. So frustrating. Im a pet owner who likes a clean house so guess what?? They certainly know what they're doing. I wrote Bissell a letter and we'll see what they'll say. Most likely nothing that will help me at all. Im sure I'll end up buying another one. (just what they want me to do) I will say this....when the machine "works" its fabulous. But is that helping me right now? Nope.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goldielocs1973
Plover, wi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome cleaner!
10/7/2012

Customer review by TerriSun1964

5.0 stars 10/7/2012 by TerriSun1964
by TerriSun1964

I think this is a great product! I tried it out right away and it took me a minute to figure out the suctioning part and how to place it properly. If you read the instructions and dont try to guess..like I did at first...it works great! It's like a professional cleaner. I never knew how dirty my carpets were till I used this cleaner. I think it's a great deal and works awesome for the price of approximatly $190.00. I'm happy with it!

Was this review helpful? (83) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TerriSun1964
Lincoln, Ne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
As great as advertised
10/29/2012

Customer review by Ken123456

5.0 stars 10/29/2012 by Ken123456
by Ken123456
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For once a product that lives up to it's advertisement. At 70+ years old I've used many carpet shampooers, this one is undoubtedly the very best.

Was this review helpful? (56) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ken123456
Dickinson, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor Design and poor suction.
2/25/2013

Customer review by Entertained

1.0 stars 2/25/2013 by Entertained
by Entertained

I purchased this product to replace a 8 year old hoover. There are several design problems with the Bissell. First the all in one tank for clean and dirty water is not very large. Clean water tank holds about 2 quarts of water which does about 1/2 a room. You cannot tell the water level in the tank after it is on the machine as the dirty water surrounds the clean water bag. Additionally the sealing gasket is very large and will likely fail if dirt gets on it or it gets nicked. When this gasket fails there will be no suction at all. After emptying the tank several times, it was evident that only about 1/4 of the water was being vacuumed up and the carpets remained wet. I broke out the 8 year old Hoover and went over the areas that I had done already. It sucked up as much as the Bissell had. The Bissell is getting returned tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Entertained
Annapolis MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Very Nice
12/17/2012

Customer review by remodeladdict

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by remodeladdict
by remodeladdict

Just bought new Bissell Pro heat 2x shampooer. I tried it already was easy to put together Just have one word of advice I did my whole hallway got ready to dump dirty water, and saw that i had no dirty water just make sure you have them hooked together correctly it worked great That was totally my fault for not reading instructions,as i have had other bissell's. Did a wonderful job my carpet is from 1978 and looks new again. very pretty purple,which is one of my favorite colors .If you are looking for new one this is a great one. Had my other one for years,gave it to daughter.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
remodeladdict
Eastern Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Fabulous Cleaner When it Works
12/3/2012

Customer review by laurenlee72

2.0 stars 12/3/2012 by laurenlee72
by laurenlee72

I agree with the other reviewers in that this carpet cleaner does a GREAT job! I was amazed at the amount of dirt it pulled up from our carpets! We have big dogs and this cleaner did great on pulling up dirt, stains and even high traffic areas. On the down-side, we invested in the higher-end Bissell thinking it would be a longer-lasting product. Not so. After just a few uses, it broke. Have had it repaired multiple times, but different things keep breaking. This last time, the authorized repair place said it was not fixable. Good money down the drain... Also, there is only one water tank on this product - not separate for clean and dirty water... If you buy this product, get the extended warranty! You'll need it...

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
laurenlee72
Brenham, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great cleaner
11/25/2012

Customer review by stocktonwallyman

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by stocktonwallyman
by stocktonwallyman

Having a cat and having to deal with little surprises I got tired of scrubbing by hand. I bought this today and gave it a try. Works great. The built in heater works great and the carpet comes out clean and drier too. Easy to assemble and operate.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stocktonwallyman
Lodi, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Powerful Cleaning but Weak Durability
7/29/2012

Customer review by sciencelab

1.0 stars 7/29/2012 by sciencelab
by sciencelab

I just bought the ProHeat2X today, took it home and used it. It was amazing to see how well it was cleaning my carpet. I was smiling the whole team very pleased at how well it was cleaning until 30 minutes into the task it locked up. I suddenly could not push it forward. The front brushes appear to for some reason not want to move. A dragging sound began to sound out if I tried to push the unit forward. I emptied the water, cleaned the brushes, reduced the setting to some less than heavy traffic but the problem continues. It rolls if I have it in the straight up position but soon as I press the foot pedal and tilt it back with the power button on it refuses to roll forward. It appears as though there is nothing I can do. I need my carpet cleaned today so I'm taking it back to the store. Maybe I should have bought a more expensive model? Beats me but I never had a steamer that would only run for 30 minutes before something like this happening.

Comment from Joe - 8/1/2012

I'm so sorry about your first experience with your ProHeat 2X. I have never heard of that happening before. Let us know if we can help, or if you had a problem exchanging that unit.

sciencelab
La Verne, CA, USA
Gender:Male
I think I am gonna like this
5/13/2012

Customer review by Mary

4.0 stars 5/13/2012 by Mary
by Mary

First of all I did not intend to buy the pet 2 model. I wanted the regular pro heat but found I was given the pet model by mistake. Ok...not worth the hassle of repacking it and lugging it back to the store. Secondly I have no pets but figured it should still do the job. I cleaned my living room carpet and found that it was very easy to use. After my run through to suck up all the water I found it left pretty deep marks on the carpet. The carpet felt stiff after it was dry. The next day I decided to do a clean water cleaning and dry cycle. Since the pet 2 model does not have a way to do this I simply filled the soap container with water and cleaned it as I did the day before using only clear warm water. I also figured this would be a good way to put it away with all the hoses being cleaned of soap. After it was dry it felt a lot softer. Next time I will cut down the amount of soap I put in the soap container and hope that this will take care of the excess soap that was left in the carpet. Overall, I am pleased with the product.

Comment from Joe - 5/16/2012

Thanks for the review Mary. Often carpet cleaning can leave the carpet feeling stilff. We recommend waiting until it is completely dry and vacuuming it to "soften" it up as you've mentioned.

Mary
Indiana, USA
Gender:Female
Half and Half
2/21/2012

Customer review by OCD MAMA

2.0 stars 2/21/2012 by OCD MAMA
by OCD MAMA

I just bought this product yesterday and gave it a try on a fairly clean carpet (no tread paths, stains or spills). The Bissell scrubs the floor much better than my other machine from another company did. However, the suction of the Bissell is sorely lacking. It picked up about a third of what it put down and left much of the dirty water in the carpet. I went over the carpet four times with the Bissell and the carpet was still soaked. Then I went over it with my old machine, which lifted most of what the Bissell had left behind. The dirty water in the Bissell was dirty, but the old machine actually pulled up sludge and the water was much darker and there was much more of it. The old shampooer also has a more powerful blower to dry the floor in a more timely fashion. So now I have two shampooers and they both equally suck, but at different things and I really don't have room to store either, much less both. My old deep cleaner is eight years old and the brushes no longer even spin, but I have to admit that the Lift Off is going back.

Comment from Joe - 4/2/2012

Thanks for the feedback OCD MAMA. I wanted to offer some assistance as the unit should have strong suction. I'm worried that the pod may not be set properly or the front nozzle may be clogged. Did you check these two items? The other pieces of advice that I have to offer are to make sure you check the lint screen and the suction gate on the base of the machine. Debris on either could reduce suction. Always feel free to contact us by email or phone at the following link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/?icid=ccrr

OCD MAMA
Green Bay, WI, USA
Gender:Female
A well designed machine to trust in but has flaws
10/31/2013

Customer review by GACIF

2.0 stars 10/31/2013 by GACIF
by GACIF

The ProHeat 2x 9200A is a great featured machine for a great price! We bought it hoping for outstanding performance from its powerful motor. Coming from an electro-mechanical background, I was very pleased how it cleaned our carpet with three dogs. All dogs are house trained, but there are hair issues. We used the machine a total of six times in the past two years. The second time we used the machine it started to malfunction and leaks in which I repaired. The third time one of the screws housing unit broke and the brush failed to rotate. I repaired that as well. I also noticed the water heater feature didn't keep the water hot or warm but there is nothing I can do about it. And now the machine is failing to have suction because of the pieces not coupling properly together for a tight fit. I ordered the parts to get a better fit. I still believe in this machine because of its beautiful design and hope to get more usage with this machine.

Comment from Lisa - 11/6/2013

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry for the trouble with your deep cleaner. Please know we have a great FAQ section if you ever need help with your machine. To view, please click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/faqs/?c=282&sc=300 Also, if you want personal help, please try this link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/

GACIF
Texas, USA
Gender:Male
Sadly, not impressed.
3/24/2013

Customer review by DaytonsDrammy

1.0 stars 3/24/2013 by DaytonsDrammy
by DaytonsDrammy

I couldn't agree more with the numerous reviews from disappointed users of Bissell ProHeat2. I had owned other brands in the past and replaced them only after several years of frequent use. After the birth of my grandchild I decided to buy the Bissell because of the water heating system, as I felt it might offer even better cleaning results. BOY WAS I WRONG! The water dispenser has been a problem from day 1, even after following all the "helpful" tips on your website. On the rare occasion when I can get the water and cleaning solution to actually dispense the machines ability to suction up the dirty water is terrible. Bissell is a brand I grew up with and I expected so much more for my money than what I got. With so many customers offering up similar complaints I would have expected more of a response from your site than a simple referral to the "helpful" tips page. I guess customer service and satisfaction isn't what it used to be.

Comment from Lisa - 3/28/2013

We are sorry for your trouble. To better assist you with warranty repair, please click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/.

DaytonsDrammy
Elkton, MD, USA
Gender:Female
11/11/2012

Customer review by fancieone

5.0 stars 11/11/2012 by fancieone
by fancieone
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Seems to be ligter than my last shampooer. great power and easy to handle.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fancieone
tracy, ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
amazing!
12/20/2012

Customer review by donna777

5.0 stars 12/20/2012 by donna777
by donna777

I normally would not term a carpet cleaner amazing but I'm going to do this one. I had a cheapie unit that was doing a 1 or 2 star job. It did what it needed to for the spills and pet messes. It died this week and we bought this cleaner from Bissell. It has only been a week since I used the cheapie cleaner and I vacuumed thoroughly prior to using the new one for the first time. I still had handfuls and handfuls of dirt and fur that came out of the carpet. The dirty water was dark chocolate brown. I like the design overall except for filling the clean water tank. The fill spout cannot be filled in the tub and it is too tall to fill in the bathroom sink. It works well in the kitchen sink. I Iike that I can switch over to rinse without refilling the tank or wasting cleaning solution. My only other comment is....it is rather heavy to move... especially to carry up and down stairs. I realize the need for being heavy but if it is possible to make it lighter it would be better. I would give it 4.5 to 5 stars overall and I am very pleased with this product.

donna777
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Gender:Female
1-20 of 458 total reviews
1-20 of 458 reviews