Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 61 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

61 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

61 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 58 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews
Surprised indeed...
11/5/2012

Customer review by JohnK76

5.0 stars 11/5/2012 by JohnK76
by JohnK76

I've read many reviews on these ride-ons and it seems on many brand, it's a hit and miss, where the product they purchased, is not necessarily what was advertised (different color, etc...) Many of these ride-ons are either 6V or 12 V, and was skeptical at first of this 16 Volt, which is supposed to be much faster. I was trying to find a review for this particular ride on but was unsuccessful. So, I took the leap of faith and purchased, and may be the first to write a review. First off, the installation took about an hour. It was rather easy, but I didn't want to make a mistake and took step by step, according to the instruction. PLEASE FOLLOW the instruction as each step is crucial for next. My biggest problem was installing the rear tires, which wasn't clearly laid out on the instruction, but I kind of figured it out. That took most of my time, at about 20 minutes. Everything else, was pretty easy and a snap. After the setup and the initial 12 hour charge needed, my 4 year old daughter took her first ride out. Let me just say, she LOVES it. Its responsive and and pretty fast. There is a "slow setting" and fast setting. We are still at slow setting until she gets used to the car for few more months. Fast setting can be set when you unscrew a single bolt in the shift. In the slow setting, it's still decently fast....2-3mph? My daughter drives it all around the neighborhood and ALL gets the attention of ALL the kids...including the older ones. My piece of advice, follow care on the battery as per instructions. This is one important part of making sure the car doesnt die on you in the next 2-3 months.

Was this review helpful? (150) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JohnK76
Porter Ranch, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best powered ride-on value for 2012!!!
12/31/2012

Customer review by RandyPhxAZ

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by RandyPhxAZ
by RandyPhxAZ

It was difficult to pass up on this Viper. I had previously purchased the Dune Racer but when I was shopping for gifts at Walmart I saw this and couldn't believe what this Viper had to offer. First is the 16-Volt battery. That basically means more power and you'll need it when you have 2 kids in the car. You'll also need that extra juice to power the many features: working lights, a radio with MP3 capabilities, and a working horn. What I really like about this car is that it looks like the real thing. I wouldn't say the proportions are the same as the real thing but they're better than most. You'll note that the designers ensured the car had rear proportions including a non-working trunk and tail lights. Look at the other car-like designs and you'll notice there's no real rear - the car basically ends after the seats. Also, the wheels on this car are the best I've seen so far and they look just like the ones on the real car! As with anything you get in a box that needs assembly, you worry about fit and finish. This is where I was surprised as I assembled each piece of the car. I was surprised cause fit was spot on and quality was pretty good, nothing flimsy. Assembly instructions are pretty good but will take an hour or 2 for one handy person. If I could improve the product, I would somehow make the steering easier. Not a problem when the car is moving but can be difficult if stationary - this is on concrete. This becomes challenging when trying to turn in reverse since your kid would need to turn with one hand and shift in reverse with the other. Just have to teach your kid to turn after the car is moving or just get them to start lifting weights. :)

Was this review helpful? (40) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RandyPhxAZ
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Mini Fast & Furious
1/18/2013

Customer review by 9nersfan4life

5.0 stars 1/18/2013 by 9nersfan4life
by 9nersfan4life

After taking back 2 overpriced oversized trucks(the ram truck & the perrigo dune buggy), i have to say this power car is fast, fast, fast. Normal speed is 4mph, 2nd speed is 7-8mph, depending on the terrain. So, you as a parent would need jog or ride a bike to keep up w/ this vehicle. The accessories are as much as you can ask for a toy, the passenger will love the ride playing w/ the sound fxs or the fm radio/mp3 connected. The vehicle took about an hour to assemble, the parts don't seem cheap or flimsy. With a 16volt battery, there is no issues w/ power or the battery dying out. Another thing that I like about this car is that the radio & sound fx's are powered by separate double A batteries, so that less drain on the main battery. The only knock that I have is that the edges get a little scratched up on curbs, so I took some clear 2 inch tape & line the bottom edges around the vehicle. But other than that, my 5yr old & 2 yr old loves to ride this around the neighborhood for a good hour & half. So a must buy if your unsure about a power vehicle. It looks good & it definitely fast.

Was this review helpful? (32) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
9nersfan4life
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Perfect Convertable!!
1/25/2013

Customer review by dkuk

4.0 stars 1/25/2013 by dkuk
by dkuk

We got this convertible for my daughter as her Christmas gift. It took a while for my husband to put it together that he felt like an actual mechanic. My daughter loved her car and she loves driving it to go to get mommy her groceries and visit grandma. It does not work well driving it on the grass but she does drive it around the block and the battery has lasted. My daughter who is almost 4 yrs old learned to drive it and control the car fast. My husband loves that the headlights turns on and makes the sound when you first turn on the car. It would of been nice if it came with pretend keys that would start the car but it doesn't. The speed works for the purpose of this car and for the children's age. Now if i only had a convertible like this i would also be happy driving it around the block.

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dkuk
pico rivera, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awesome car!!
12/13/2012

Customer review by GisTremommy

5.0 stars 12/13/2012 by GisTremommy
by GisTremommy

My husband picked this out for our daughter for Christmas & I was completely surprised by this car. It has a lot of great features, the headlights come on & their fairly bright, before you can drive the car you have to crank it and t makes the start up sound and sounds just like a sports car! The radio plays real music, etc This was one of the best purchases we made this year. I know she'll love it. Also it's pretty fast.

Was this review helpful? (24) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GisTremommy
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Brought a Viper cause i alwayz wanted 1 !!!
10/23/2013

Customer review by GrimmyD

5.0 stars 10/23/2013 by GrimmyD
by GrimmyD

Got this for my daughters 5th bday. Car was a perfect fit for my daughters ego now shes all ova the place

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrimmyD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Car with one issue
3/2/2013

Customer review by TheCrackin

4.0 stars 3/2/2013 by TheCrackin
by TheCrackin

I'll make this short and sweet. This is a great car. The radio works fine, cool head lights, horn sounds and the engine roars. The only problem is the steering is a little too stiff. I want to keep it for my 3 year old but he is not strong enough to steer the thing. I put a 9 year old in it and it was tough for him to steer also. I believe it is the rubber in the middle of the tires that grip the concrete that make the car tough to steer. That's the only con about this product that I have. Oh yeah, watch the bottom front spoiler on curbs and when lifting the car; will scratch easily. The gas tank/plug cover on the car wore out on me and wont stay closed; happened during the first day.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheCrackin
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Battery Issues VERY COSTLY
8/29/2014

Customer review by Tiger8124u

1.0 stars 8/29/2014 by Tiger8124u
by Tiger8124u

We purchased the Kid Trax 16v Vipor for my daughters 3rd birthday last Oct for what we thought was an unbelievable deal. Early this summer it quit running. Unfortunately for us, we have lost the receipt or I would have taken it back after finding out the problem. The battery went bad! I would have no problem with the toy and a bad battery that could have been at our own fault, if the replacement battery wasn't so expensive! On top of that, I just read where Kid Trax is going to discontinue making the 16v riding toys, which I believe that the Vipor is the only one they make in the 16v at this time. The battery is manufactured by a company called SBB Sunbright Battery, catalog number 8-FM-12. They will not assist and no one else makes a replacement for it. If it wasn't a sealed case, possibly one of the Battery Plus type stores could possibly rebuild the cell for a fraction of the cost of a new one. I DO NOT RECOMMEND UNLESS YOU ARE OKAY WITH SHORT FUN TIME SPENT MONEY!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tiger8124u
Would recommend to a friend? No
A true best buy for ride-on toys!
4/8/2014

Customer review by ProductCritic2

5.0 stars 4/8/2014 by ProductCritic2
by ProductCritic2

I have bought 4 vehicles like this over the past year. This one has proven the best of them all. The 16V battery is the only one of its kind and gives significant strength/endurance to the vehicle. It will go 6mph, and my daughter absolutely loves this when she's competing with her twin brother! (most are limited to 5mph) (this speed pushes limits for a 5 year old though, wouldn't want more) The auxiliary hook up plays her iPod nicely, though volume is somewhat limited of course. Radio works well too! Traction has not failed and it has the power to go through grass easily. The other three we bought, one a 24V, were all at least $60 more and none proved as reliable or fun! Highly recommend this one, even though it wasn't the pink convertible she really wanted!

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ProductCritic2
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/26/2012

Customer review by Fujison

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by Fujison
by Fujison

My nephew LOVED the car. He is five and could not beleive all the bells and whistes. It took three men to put it in the house and two men over an hour and a half to put togetherBUT well worth the money. My nephews expression on Christmas Day I will never forget.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fujison
jefferson, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/14/2013

Customer review by steelmajor

5.0 stars 6/14/2013 by steelmajor
by steelmajor

Great car, my kid loves it. A little bigger than most of the battery cars out there. My four year old will be able to use it for a good couple years.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
steelmajor
Big Town, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cool Car!
1/21/2013

Customer review by upncomingphotographer

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by upncomingphotographer
by upncomingphotographer

We bought this car for my daughter's 5th birthday. It is a really cool car and she loves it. The only problem I can see is finding a new battery for it. Since it takes a 16 volt and not the standard 12v, I think it may be harder to come across. So far, I have not been able to find one. I hope this is not a problem in the future.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
upncomingphotographer
Mount Dora, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great car, awesome speed and all the kids love it
5/7/2013

Customer review by Liznaut

4.0 stars 5/7/2013 by Liznaut
by Liznaut

After riding it for only two days one of the engines went bad. We are exchanging it though for a brand new one, because we are hoping it was just a fluke. The car is a bright red and my son looks like a "stud" riding down the block and in the park. Awesome sounds, real radio, turns and reverses great. He loves adjusting the side mirrors. Great gift for my son's 5th birthday.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Liznaut
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Kids never got to ride!
12/15/2013

Customer review by Vipercustomer

2.0 stars 12/15/2013 by Vipercustomer
by Vipercustomer

Two days on the charger with a new (had to change) part an still wouldn't work kids never got to ride an back to the store it went I think the car is very nice but the steering wheel is sitting to low an the problem we had just made it worst. I rate value low b/c they never rode it in I can't say expectations average b/c the looks is all I could go by.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vipercustomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works for a Day
8/2/2014

Customer review by Princess2283

1.0 stars 8/2/2014 by Princess2283
by Princess2283

We had the ride-on for one day, and it stopped working. Waiting from company to figure out issue, but they do not work on weekends. So far, not worth the hundreds of dollars I spent on it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Princess2283
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Unfortunately back wheel gear was slipping
12/26/2013

Customer review by FastRedcar100

1.0 stars 12/26/2013 by FastRedcar100
by FastRedcar100

Great looking car for the price however Back wheel gear was slipping and wasn't fixable. This portion of the car is already built so we had to return it the day after we gave it to our boys. Made horrible clicking noise and would have worn out/broken very quickly. Also wasn't good on grass - no traction.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FastRedcar100
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a good product
9/5/2014

Customer review by Jr6969

1.0 stars 9/5/2014 by Jr6969
by Jr6969

Had it 2 weeks horn won't work radio worked for 2 min then never worked again. Doors won't stay closed and plastic body coming apart.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jr6969
Phila pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREATEST PURCHASE MADE!!
4/22/2014

Customer review by TRIPLELGRAMMY

5.0 stars 4/22/2014 by TRIPLELGRAMMY
by TRIPLELGRAMMY

AFTER HAVING JEEPS, CARS, ETC. THAT WOULD NOT MOVE WITH A 4 YEAR OLD IN THEM, DECIDED TO GIVE IT ONE MORE TRY. THIS IS A GREAT CAR. THE TWO OF THEM (7 YEAR OLD AND 5 YEAR OLD ) GO EVERYWHERE IN IT AND BOTH LOVE IT. UP AND DOWN HILLS, SIT AND LISTEN TO THE RADIO...SPEND HOURS EVERY WARM DAY THERE IS, IN THEIR CAR. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE FROM KID TRAX TOYS COMPANY. IF YOU ONLY WANT TO PURCHASE ONE AND BE DONE...MAKE IT THE DODGE VIPER.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TRIPLELGRAMMY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just gave this to my 2 year old granddaughter
6/19/2013

Customer review by MountainMoa

5.0 stars 6/19/2013 by MountainMoa
by MountainMoa

Very easy for my granddaughter to use. She loved that it had a radio and that it looked and had everything that a real car has. Her feet could touch the peddle. I live in Virginia and my Granddaughter lives in California. I had it sent to a store near them and didn't need to pay for shipping. I paid for the extended warranty also. Better to be safe then sorry.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MountainMoa
Ewing, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
All around great car
1/30/2013

Customer review by Cooldad1987

5.0 stars 1/30/2013 by Cooldad1987
by Cooldad1987

This had to be the best choice for my son he loves cars. This car exceeded all my hopes the light are extra bright for night time riding it has two optional speeds which are very cool and the high speed makes him take off like a bat out of h33! Lol great buy. I put it together buy myself a little work but sons face was priceless

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cooldad1987
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews