Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 76 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

76 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

5 stars
40
4 stars
26
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 stars
3
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 73 total reviews
Outstanding audio value for the cost
11/19/2013

Customer review by Barzillai

5.0 stars by Barzillai

Pioneer's VSX-822-K arrived 7 days earlier than scheduled. It replaced a 20-year old Aiwa shelf unit. The essential instructions included in the box were adequate for a basic setup. I encourage others to download the detailed instructional manual and read carefully to maximize the plethora of features this AV receiver offers. The HDMI inputs and dedicated analog inputs are more than one would need to connect a host of legacy and current AV devices. Our family uses this receiver with our TV, as a tuner, for gaming, and AV presentations from a PC. Our sons found the iPad/iPod connector and cable a useful feature for their many AV needs. Overall, we are pleased with this receiver and heartily recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Barzillai
Garland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BULKY!
11/9/2013

Customer review by Gab3

4.0 stars by Gab3

Receiver is great. The picture quality it provide is amazing. So is the sound quality with the appropriate subwoofer. Not only is it a good receiver but it also comes with all the necessary cables. Only problem I had was that It is HUGE, but very affordable. The feature on this receiver are just superb. I would recommend this receiver for budget buyers.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Gab3
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value
1/20/2014

Customer review by AudioProfessional

4.0 stars by AudioProfessional

As background, I am an audio-visual professional, photographer and film maker. I have designed and installed many high end auditorium audio-visual installations, so I am very familiar with pro gear in this field. I was very pleased with the sonic clarity of this AV receiver, and the switching flexibility, plus the price. Pioneer has released the VSX-823 now, and I caught a close out deal on the VSX-822 at WalMart (all other suppliers were about $60 more). The other things to be aware of is that it is compatible with a limited subset of iPads/iPhones. I had an older iPod which will not communicate with the receiver. You can download the full manual from Pioneer's web site to get the list. The IOS app is also very nice, and the Pandora and internet radio functions work well, though there is a bit of setup (as with any receiver of this sort). You do need a TV or monitor attached in order to fully setup the receiver, a common requirement. You might also note that if you are using a DVD deck with analog video out, this receiver does not output it through HDMI. You run a separate analog line to the TV, which can make switching between video sources a multi-step process. Higher end Pioneer receivers convert the analog to HDMI output. Overall, I don't think you will find a better value AV receiver at this price point.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AudioProfessional
Charlottesville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Minor issues with analog audio broadcasts.
11/15/2012

Customer review by KD007

4.0 stars by KD007

Overall the functionality of the receiver is good, however depending on the broadcast of the audio there is a sgnificant loss of volume or total loss of the audio for the speaking parts of a program and requires changing the audio format on the receiver to regain. This may be able to be corrected with an optical audio feed from the cable box. Video is stunning with the HDMI and there are no issues with the Xbox or DVD components.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KD007
Parrish, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great 5.1 Surround Receiver
12/28/2013

Customer review by Rhett

5.0 stars by Rhett

This relatively inexpensive 5.1 Pioneer audio receiver provides great surround sound/video fidelity. Improved audio and video were very apparent with my TV and DVD units. This is typical of all Pioneer receivers I have owned. Because of previous stereo system hook ups I had little problem hooking into my input components. For those with little or no experience in hookups follow the instructions closely. The "instruction book" comes as a CD which is not as convenient as the actual instruction book. Conclusion: A great A/V amp at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Rhett
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor
Good receiver if all your components have HDMI
2/5/2014

Customer review by LANMan1

2.0 stars by LANMan1

Although there are analog connectors available for some components, such as DVD, CD, and TV, there are 6 HDMI-in connectors and 1 HDMI-out. The speaker connectors are fiendishly difficult to use. They are packed tightly together, you have to insert into a small opening, then screw down the terminal. Not fun - for 5 speakers it took me 30 minutes with a lot of do-overs. The sub-woofer uses an RCA-type jack, thank goodness. There is an rj45 jack for internet radio, not mentioned in the specs when I looked at it. The manual is 64 pages in PDF format and you will refer to it often during setup. For instance, there is a microphone that will do an automatic adjustment of the speaker levels for best surround sound. It takes up a page in the manual to describe how to do this procedure. I ran it several times and I don't know if it did the best job. To summarize: it's inexpensive, has a lot of features, and it's complicated to set up and operate.

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LANMan1
Carrboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/7/2013

Customer review by Pokeetaz

5.0 stars by Pokeetaz

Got the 5.1 receiver because it was cheaper than the 7.1. Thought I was settling then did some research and found out the 7.1 would have been a waste of money. Am very happy with this. Does everything I bought it for.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Pokeetaz
Moapa Valley, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Product
2/7/2013

Customer review by overcated

4.0 stars by overcated

I bought the 822 as an upgrade (HDMI input switching) to my 816 (component/composite) so I already knew what to expect from the receiver. Cons: Like most electronic equipment, Pioneer has decided to insure that you can hardly see the control descriptions (i.e., volume, etc.) - they are printed in small, dark grey lettering on a black cabinet. Also, I miss the switched AC power outlet and the "B" channel speaker tap. Pros: The user manual (on a CD only) is a little confusing but it is many-many times better than the 816 user manual - which I never fully understood. It's too bad they don't supply a written version. (2) The 822 seems to run cooler than the 816. (3) Buying from Walmart saved me $100 off the price off the local big-box electronics store.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
overcated
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value
2/7/2014

Customer review by Jxaxmx

4.0 stars by Jxaxmx

I bought this receiver because it is one of the few receivers out there that still has pre-outs. I recently bought a Sony str-dn1040 that had great reviews for $600, assuming it would have pre-outs. it did not. Yet another Sony disappointment. Neither receiver had enough clean power to properly drive a pair of Magnepan speakers. When I hooked my 200W/channel power amp to the Pioneer, it did not work. Simply plugging my power amp into yet another Yamaha receiver I have, worked perfectly. I placed a call to Pioneer customer service and spoke to a very helpful women who walked me through how to "trick" the receiver into thinking its powering the rear surrounds. There was still an issue, but it worked. This product has plenty of HDMI inputs and is a great bargain. Would recommend highly.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jxaxmx
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does the job well.
12/5/2013

Customer review by Tv3398

4.0 stars by Tv3398

I think its a good product for the price, It works well but the instructions can be a bit confusing.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Tv3398
Napa, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great receiver for an old timer
5/26/2014

Customer review by DaddyOP

4.0 stars by DaddyOP

I replaced an old Panasonic 5 disc changer I had for over 15yrs. My first major task with this Pioneer VSX 822 was hooking up different components and speakers. This system educated me and let me know I am way behind in modern technology. I had to purchase a high speed HDMI cable that is equipped to perform the ACH connection back from my Smart TV. That did not work because my TV does not have the ACH capabilities. I ended up purchasing a 12' Digital Optical Audio Cable to get the return audio from my TV.I now can play Pandora, Netflix and Amazon from my smart TV with the audio coming from my receiver. I am still learning about my receiver and loving it more everyday. If you are looking to modernize your system and looking something inexpensive this is the one for quality sounds.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DaddyOP
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice intro into surround sound
12/29/2013

Customer review by ByronMn

5.0 stars by ByronMn

Nice unit, lots of features. Especially like the ability to plug my USB stick into it and access a whole library (32G worth) of music

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ByronMn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sound is really good.
1/1/2014

Customer review by Jun4Jesus

5.0 stars by Jun4Jesus

I was planning to buy an equalizer bi=ut the sound quality is so good that I believe don't need it. Setup takes a little beat because have some hi tech features that need to be configured before you can take full advantage of all of them. I'll recommend to setup each one by the time you need it, probably you don't need all of tham at once. Overall is a nice unit.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jun4Jesus
Fayetteville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice hdmi receiver for home entertainment system
4/23/2014

Customer review by FrankSilvio1975

5.0 stars by FrankSilvio1975

I had to get rid of my old receiver since it only had component cable inputs and i am switching to internet streaming tv (amazon fire tv) which is only hdmi. Love that it has 6 hdmi inputs to one hdmi output. I have my amazon fire tv, netgear wifi (w android mirroring), dvd player, and cable box all hooked up and I still have 2 available hdmi in's. I am going to hook up a pc tower and stream everything thru it. This way I can tell my time warner cable providers to take a hike. Great receiver for the cost! It even has apple's airplay so if I wanted to mirror my son's iPad 2 to it...I could. Although I haven't tried it yet. I am an android person and use a netgear box to mirror my devices...so this isn't an apple only device or I wouldn't have bought it. It's a great receiver that also happens to have airplay if you want to use it. Pros: Inexpensive 6 hdmi inputs Has Apple airplay (you don't need to have apple products to own or use this receiver) Sleek Cool design Cons: I takes a second or two to switch between inputs...although I have a 25 foot hdmi cord connecting my TV in my great room to my equipment in my basement...so I don't know if that has anything to do with it. But...it's not that much of a delay. Overall...it was well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
FrankSilvio1975
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great features but don't all work
12/28/2013

Customer review by Ember13

4.0 stars by Ember13

This is a great system with lots of great features. Loved using the microphone placed in the viewing area that calibrated all speaker volumes. Unfortunately Pandora is not working even though it is working on other devices in my home and other internet radio stations are working on the receiver. Been calling pioneer for two days and keep getting a busy signal.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Ember13
Tiffin, oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great system.,but needed amplified sub woofer
6/27/2014

Customer review by godofhorseshoes

5.0 stars by godofhorseshoes

Once hooked up,this system is pretty awesome,but it is a little harder than you would think to set up,also I had to purchase a power sub woofer with this unit as well. A regular sub woofer will not work. It has to be amplified.Once you figure out all the little details the system is amazing.especially the internet radio,which is my favorite.The sound quality is crystal clear with this unit. The setup directions are on CD. Make sure while setting this up that you have them displayed. For the money I spent on the receiver the extra cables and the amplified sub woofer,you would be hard pressed to find a better deal anywhere and especially on a Pioneer system. You can adjust the decibels to each speaker separately,but you must have the menu displayed on your TV to do so. This system has plenty of power and with the amplified sub the sound is theater quality.I would definitely purchase again.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
godofhorseshoes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great AV receiver
12/25/2013

Customer review by Nodon

4.0 stars by Nodon

The instructions are on cd which requires you to print. The instructions are awful complicated and our not useful. I went on line and printed out "how to connect a AV receiver" a generic blog and connected my 822k. Remote control is poorly designed button are to small.............

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Nodon
Ft washington Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Sound
3/5/2014

Customer review by Silverfox355

5.0 stars by Silverfox355

Easy to connect your components except for the speakers, could use a little more room between the connectors.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Silverfox355
Enola, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value, but.. seems a little old school.
4/17/2014

Customer review by MikeCT01

5.0 stars by MikeCT01

I've always been a fan of Pioneer products. So, when I was in the market for a new receiver, Pioneer was first on my list. Overall I am quite satisfied with this one. Sounds great, and relatively easy to use. The remote takes a little getting used to. Also, I was quite surprised at this units display. It seems really antiquated compared to some A/V displays today. It just seems like they cut corners there. I can say the same as far as the on screens menus. They remind me of an old DVD on screen menu I had about 10 years ago. But, with those minor issues aside, so far so good. I also really like that this unit does not get hot like my old Onkyo did.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MikeCT01
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Reciever
5/7/2014

Customer review by Alonzo2012

5.0 stars by Alonzo2012

This reciever is great it"s very powerful the sound is superb ,the bass response is awesome for a 400 watts of power, movies make you feel like your sitting in those high price theaters. the surround sound will make you jump especially watching a horror disc .regular tv it bring it out tremendesly. to listen to music too the purity in the sound with headphones it sound like your in the studio. im happy with the price you can"t beat it all this for what i paid you can"t go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Alonzo2012
Manchester Ct.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
1-20 of 73 total reviews