Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 18 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

18 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

18 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-17 of 17 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great price, great quality
5/30/2013

Customer review by Jeffresito

5.0 stars 5/30/2013 by Jeffresito
by Jeffresito

This is a great receiver for a great price. The sound quality and channel separation is great.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeffresito
Phoenix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Pioneer A/V Receiver is Awesome!
9/16/2013

Customer review by WaterDove

5.0 stars 9/16/2013 by WaterDove
by WaterDove

This receiver like I said is awesome, the first thing you need to do is put the CD into your computer, I printed my book out, which is best. I did find that I could not use my other speakers, even though they were from a prior 1000 watt system, they weren't the right Ohms, so I purchased an entire speaker system with sub woofer, and for better sound buy professional speaker wire, as for the amount of speaker wire needed depends on how your setting up your speakers, for my set up I had to buy 150 ft for the size of the room the system is in. For anyone out there that is hard of hearing, you can program the speakers for the voices, and with the speakers I purchased I was even able to have voice sounds come out the rear speakers as well, with the bass controls on the sub woofer is awesome in itself, then add the bass this Receiver offers and you'll have mega thundering bass, you'll feel it through the floors, and everything is crystal clear. just make sure you don't buy a cheap speaker system. Using this Receiver with an HDMI T.V. is the best, you can do so much with this Receiver it's unreal and I love it, and I won't be returning it. If you can afford to buy separate components then this is a must have, you'll hear things in any movies that you have watched before in a whole new concept you'll hear things you didn't even know was in the movies before, I even play my Mp 3 music through this unit, it does everything I need it to do, and if you play Star War movies you'll feel the fighters ships are in the room. You don't need to have the system loud to hear everything. The unit is a bit tricky to set up make sure you read the book carefully, and if you find you cannot do it yourself get help from a friend or even call Pioneer and they will help you out, just go slowly in hooking your system up read, read, read the book on the CD. and have high end cables, to get the most from the system

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WaterDove
Reading PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Entry Level Receiver
5/24/2013

Customer review by SkiNH2

5.0 stars 5/24/2013 by SkiNH2
by SkiNH2

I purchased this to power a set of outdoor speakers. After looking around and reading the reviews it seemed like a good deal, even though I was originally looking for just a stereo receiver. I have a higher end Pioneer for my TV room, so I was familiar with the setup which definitely helps. It did throw me for a couple of loops though. For example, you must use component or RCA video to the TV to get the onscreen menu to work. Don't immediately connect DVI out to the TV and wonder why it's blank (as I did for 20 minutes). Take the time and load the CD onto your PC to work through the setup instructions. 20 minutes up front will save you lots of frustration later. Even though I had done it before (a year or so ago), there were lots of differences in this model. I was never able to get the optical connection to work with my Apple TV box, but the box worked fine through a DVI connection. Sound/Power is fine for the money and I'm able to power a pair of TIC outdoor GS3's without any problem.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SkiNH2
Nashua NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent product
7/3/2013

Customer review by RBink

5.0 stars 7/3/2013 by RBink
by RBink

Exceeded my expectations....Set up was a little challenging, but I'm an old analog guy...

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RBink
Oldmar, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not designed for a casual stereo set-up
8/15/2013

Customer review by LikeMyMusic

3.0 stars 8/15/2013 by LikeMyMusic
by LikeMyMusic

I found that to get balanced sound especially in the low bass region, you must plan on using a subwoofer. It would not provide any usable bass frequencies to the front (left/right) stereo full range speakers no matter what settings that were input during the set-up for the receiver. I also found the FM radio tuner to be weak compared to other FM radio receivers in my home. I believe that if the main purpose is to use as a home theater A/V receiver, then it would be a good choice using the full 5.1 speaker system! But I do not believe it will provide a satisfying full range sound without a subwoofer as part of the system set-up. Because I had planned to use it as a stereo for music, and did not plan to add a subwoofer, I returned the receiver. I did find the USB port very satisfying, and the remote control of the connected iPod worked great! I was just disappointed in the lack of bass without a subwoofer connected.

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LikeMyMusic
El Dorado, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Check Compatibility with your devices
10/29/2013

Customer review by Oneofich

2.0 stars 10/29/2013 by Oneofich
by Oneofich

Discovered the hard way that this model is not compatible with the ROKU 2 XS. I could get video but no audio through the AMP only through Pass Through and then it would only come through the TV speakers so whats the point. Read a bunch of tech blogs and discovered I am not the only one to figure this out. I played with this thing for a day to try and get it to work but I ended up taking it back and got a comparable Sony model for about $30 more. Went through the same set up procedure on the Sony and all is well now. I know its weird that a receiver would have a compatibility issue with a device, but I guess as devices get more sophisticated that possibility will become more pronounced. I also had to update the driver on my home theater PC Sound card to get it to work with the Pioneer unit but by then I was already decided to return it since it would not play nice with all my devices. My Chromecast worked with it flawlessly so it wasn't a total bust I guess.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Oneofich
Seattle, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/28/2013

Customer review by PeterPiperPumkin

4.0 stars 6/28/2013 by PeterPiperPumkin
by PeterPiperPumkin

works well, good sound but instructions were not the best.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PeterPiperPumkin
Prescott
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/12/2013

Customer review by Nikki71213

5.0 stars 7/12/2013 by Nikki71213
by Nikki71213

Sound is wonderful and price is great!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nikki71213
Lake charles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pioneer VSX-522-K
11/6/2013

Customer review by Chas71

5.0 stars 11/6/2013 by Chas71
by Chas71

I like the receiver and think the quality is very good, I would have liked a switched outlet on the back though, I think the unit has excellent features and it powers the surround speakers with ease, it has plenty of inputs and outputs, the best feature is the HDMI in and out jacks, it produces very clear and crisp digital sound.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chas71
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy
8/25/2013

Customer review by Shuglittle

5.0 stars 8/25/2013 by Shuglittle
by Shuglittle

Easy set up & great price

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shuglittle
Pomona, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good sounding system
1/2/2014

Customer review by AutobotBumbleBee

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by AutobotBumbleBee
by AutobotBumbleBee

Easy to set up with the included microphone plenty of power great looks brings HD audio tracks on Blu-rays to life on screen display (for set up only)...must use the composite (RCA) Monitor video out.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AutobotBumbleBee
Granbury, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy for the price
7/2/2014

Customer review by patriotspride

5.0 stars 7/2/2014 by patriotspride
by patriotspride

Pioneer makes a quality product. This receiver is perfect for a family room setup as it has lots of HDMI inputs, and the power to handle large or small speakers. For the price you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
patriotspride
Palm City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do not buy
6/25/2014

Customer review by Skipburg

1.0 stars 6/25/2014 by Skipburg
by Skipburg

I have had to replace this unit once 60 days after I purchased it and it just quit working yesterday. It will not power up...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Skipburg
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great base for home entertainment
7/23/2013

Customer review by Ricktlr

5.0 stars 7/23/2013 by Ricktlr
by Ricktlr

Very happy incredible sound

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ricktlr
Commerce CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
took a while to figure out.
8/20/2013

Customer review by crgdurango

3.0 stars 8/20/2013 by crgdurango
by crgdurango

You need the manual to set up this product and the only manual is on the included CD or off the web and you have to print it out and study it before you can properly set up this unit with your TV.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crgdurango
Durango, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
purty guud
5/8/2014

Customer review by wanttiresforanmg

4.0 stars 5/8/2014 by wanttiresforanmg
by wanttiresforanmg

i dont like complicated things. this isn't. works good, easy to set up, make sure you know what cable you need afore hand. got no issues with it other than i dont know what half the buttons do but thats what my kids are for.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wanttiresforanmg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/28/2013

Customer review by Juedye

2.0 stars 8/28/2013 by Juedye
by Juedye

I returned this item unopened .... changed mind.

Was this review helpful? (0) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Juedye
Montgomery TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.