Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 26 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

26 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

26 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 26 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews
Great trimmer for those who can handle the weight.
4/4/2013

Customer review by Buddyrat

4.0 stars 4/4/2013 by Buddyrat
by Buddyrat

This trimmer was just what I was looking for. The 10 amp makes for a very powerful trimmer. This also makes it much more heavy than a 4 or 5 amp trimmer. This is great for me but others might like a smaller lighter trimmer. The only drawback is the time wasted with the bump feed system used in most powerful trimmers. Sometimes I seem to spend more time on clearing the spool than trimming. This drawback was present in my last gas trimmers. I purchased the trimmer on-line with free shipping to my local Walmart. I was very pleased with this option.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Buddyrat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Greenworks 10 amp string trimmer works great
8/17/2014

Customer review by Littleweasel2

5.0 stars 8/17/2014 by Littleweasel2
by Littleweasel2

The Greenworks grass trimmer did an excellent job of clearing out an over grown garden plot. I had no problems with the trimmer and I've used for 2 days already catching up with this years growth. I also received this trimmer 3 days earlier than expected using site to store delivery. I'm a very satisfied customer.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Littleweasel2
kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looking for the perfect replacement
4/8/2013

Customer review by MRL4

1.0 stars 4/8/2013 by MRL4
by MRL4

Several years ago I bought a small inexpensive weed eater that was perfect. For what I paid, I got more than my monies worth over 7 years. This weed eater is the 3rd replacement since the original stopped working 3 years ago and it still isn't what I'm looking for. I tried a Black and Decker auto line feed and wanted to run over it with my car because the auto feed never worked. This model is supposed to be a bump feed so I expected better results. Not only is keeping the line fed a problem, the shaft where the weed eater attaches to the power source never stays tight. No amount of twisting and tightening will keep it in place. So as you work the weed eater starts to change position relative to the handle and power source. It's a waste of time and money, it's going back. The only positive thing I can say about this model is it is powerful enough for my lawn but I have a small lawn and I'm not cutting through any tall or thick brush.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MRL4
The Colony, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Powerful
7/16/2014

Customer review by FindHIM

5.0 stars 7/16/2014 by FindHIM
by FindHIM

Only used once but it's more powerful and easier to handle than my troybilt gas trimmer. I look forward to it being more dependable as well. It is well worth the bother of using an electric cord. Very high reviews on Consumer Reports.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FindHIM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This thing is a powerhouse
7/22/2014

Customer review by HandyAdam

4.0 stars 7/22/2014 by HandyAdam
by HandyAdam

I got this to replace a Black and Decker that while not too old burnt up after 1.5 hours of continual use. The motor on the B&D is down on the trimmer head, like most electric string trimmers. This made it unbalanced and also led to the cooling passages getting filled with weeds and dust. Bad design IMO. Also the shaft was too short, I'm tall and had to hunch over to use it. This Greenworks tears. it. up. It feels twice as powerful. I'm using it to clear a variety of overgrown weeds on a half acre property and I can get twice as much done in half the time, no joke. It's built solid, has a long enough shaft to actually reach the ground and the motor is so torquey it just tears through everything without bogging down like a gas trimmer might. I also don't have to worry about maintenance, just plug it in and go. It's pretty light, for being so powerful the motor isn't bulky. The motor is at the right end so it won't get clogged up with weeds and dust again. It isn't perfect. The handle feels a little weak and uses a plastic nut to tighten, I imagine I'll have to replace this nut at some point. It may be my 4 foot weeds but it may be because of the design of the shield, the head will get wrapped up with weeds fairly often and I have to pull them off. The trigger mechanism isn't a positive action like I would hope, I'm a little nervous about this wearing out quickly. I would certainly buy it again though. It does it's job very well and so far my quality concerns haven't led to real issues in several hours and a couple spools of use. I wanted the biggest, baddest plug in electric string trimmer I could find and I think this is it. The fact that it was barely more than most of the other options and cheaper than any decent gas trimmer makes using it that much more satisfying.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HandyAdam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worth the money
5/23/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/23/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Over all, I think it is worth the money. Likes: The 10 amp motor is ever bit as strong as a gas trimmer , in my opinion. Also like the long Pro style shaft. I'm tall and that helps my back. Dislikes: The hand grip and trigger should be at a more ergonomicly comfortable angle. A pistle grip style would be great. Your wrist gets tired having to be bent forward like holding a sword pointing straight out. Also, the string feed system is typical and sucks. No falt of GreenWorx. Within the first 10min. of use the string broke off too short and the end pulled back into the coil housing. Do your self a favor and as soon as you get your GreenWorx trimmer, remove the string line coil mechanism and replace it with a trimmer blade type. The GreenWorx will work great for hours (as long as your Wrist holds up).

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Will never go gas again...
9/16/2014

Customer review by KailuaHawaii

5.0 stars 9/16/2014 by KailuaHawaii
by KailuaHawaii

Wow, amazing. I can't believe how much power this trimmer packs. Having to use the 12 gauge extention cord makes it A bit heavy, but is totally worth it. Assembly was easy, after that it's just 'plug and play'. Note: For those of you that have trouble with the whole 'tap and feed' line mechanism, I recommend purchasing a Grass Gator 8010 four string cutting head for it. It's easy to attach to the trimmer and makes loading the line so much simpler.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KailuaHawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A little heavy. String release difficult
5/8/2014

Customer review by bugman62

3.0 stars 5/8/2014 by bugman62
by bugman62

Very powerful. Like a gas trimmer. It is a bit heavy. I've only used it once, but I found the string release did not work very smoothly.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bugman62
mt airy, md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good trimmer, but it depends on your preferences
6/9/2015

Customer review by OldDood

4.0 stars 6/9/2015 by OldDood
by OldDood

I have had string trimmers since they were invented, and have had a few electrics and one gas. This is a corded electric model. My preference since every rechargeable tool I have owned always ended up to be a problem. Be prepared that this is a heavy duty implement and its weight is considerably more than the usual electrics, but it has power to spare, so much so that you need to be careful around tree and shrub trunks. The motor is located behind you for balance like a gas powered model. The motor has some torque that you can feel. The lines (2) are larger diameter so it really cuts well. The line feed system is the type that you have to tap (bang) on the ground which is a type that I have found to be most reliable compared to the "automatic" which tend to actually turn out to be "manual" in real use. I loaded some line into after a couple of uses and although a two reel type, it had a feature that held the lines secure as you reinstalled instead of that annoying tendency to unwind as you try to stick the spool back in other brands. So, the pluses are it is solid and heavy duty, but as such it is also heavy in weight. It cuts better than most electrics you can buy at twice the price. The only negative I have found is that the switch is two stage. There is a trigger on top of the handle and on the underside and you must depress both. I put a piece of tape on the top trigger to hold it down, otherwise my hand became very fatigued trying to hold both just right to keep it turned on. Be sure to hold it over your head in the yard and make Neanderthal grunts at your neighbors so they will be appropriately envious.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldDood
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Had been opened prior to my purchase
4/3/2013

Customer review by CPTRON

3.0 stars 4/3/2013 by CPTRON
by CPTRON

It was missing the screw that goes to the handle to keep it tight. Also, what about selling the rest of the attacvhments?

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CPTRON
DFW
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Greenworks Sting trimmer
5/28/2015

Customer review by MR2DUDE

5.0 stars 5/28/2015 by MR2DUDE
by MR2DUDE

This is a sturdy, powerful tool. Handbook needs better illustrations to guide the novice through threading and loading string onto spool. And the routing of power cable through the anchor points could use some guidance, its not intuitive. For the money, it rips through stubborn stuff cheaply.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MR2DUDE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Electric Trimmer
6/2/2015

Customer review by zzzziiii

5.0 stars 6/2/2015 by zzzziiii
by zzzziiii

Having used electric string trimmers for over 15 years, this is the one I have been looking for. The power and balance holding the machine are what I have always thought they should be. For tough Florida grass, this machine works very well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zzzziiii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Review of Greenworks Trimmer
5/29/2015

Customer review by Pacita

4.0 stars 5/29/2015 by Pacita
by Pacita

I haven't used it much since the replacement line reels are difficult to find. Only found one place on line, ordered reels in April and are still waiting for them. Hopefully this is not one of the models that will be discontinued and the replacement unavailable. One would think that the seller of the item (Walmart) would carry the additional items but they don't

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pacita
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very powerful but hard to hold very long
6/7/2015

Customer review by carguy

4.0 stars 6/7/2015 by carguy
by carguy

Super cutting strength, but non ergonomic handle made my wrist/hand hurt incredibly. I had to return it- but loved it's ease of use, and tremendous torque!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
carguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Greenworks 10amp Trimmer
5/31/2015

Customer review by None

2.0 stars 5/31/2015 by None
by None

Very poor cutting and trimming process. String feed constantly jams.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
None
Would recommend to a friend? No
Mo' power!
5/16/2015

Customer review by Sewman

5.0 stars 5/16/2015 by Sewman
by Sewman

This trimmer rips!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sewman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very powerful
7/25/2015

Customer review by tony2qq

5.0 stars 7/25/2015 by tony2qq
by tony2qq

for the money best unit out there very well built thinking of purchasing a second one

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tony2qq
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Power!
8/10/2015

Customer review by Champ

5.0 stars 8/10/2015 by Champ
by Champ

If you are looking to trim grass along the edge of your lawn, this is not the product for you. But if you have tough, nasty weeds to deal with this thing is crazy powerful for an electric trimmer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Champ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Greenworks 10-Amp string trimmer
8/10/2015

Customer review by G3r6

5.0 stars 8/10/2015 by G3r6
by G3r6

I appreciate the extra power this trimmer has. Haven't used it much yet, but seems to quickly chew through hard-stemmed weeds. Had trouble finding spare spools but bought them from Greenworks WEB site.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
G3r6
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
just what I needed BUT
8/11/2015

Customer review by DebbieD

5.0 stars 8/11/2015 by DebbieD
by DebbieD

This string trimmer was awesome. But I had to return it as not even enough string on it to do a part of what I bought it for. Then went to but the replacement spool and can't find it anywhere.Why would a store sell a product and can't get what you need to use the tool. Totally unsatisfied with WalMart but also Greenworks as nobody around carries it either.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DebbieD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews