Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

35 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

35 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 35 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Looking for the perfect replacement
4/8/2013

Customer review by MRL4

1.0 stars 4/8/2013 by MRL4
by MRL4
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Several years ago I bought a small inexpensive weed eater that was perfect. For what I paid, I got more than my monies worth over 7 years. This weed eater is the 3rd replacement since the original stopped working 3 years ago and it still isn't what I'm looking for. I tried a Black and Decker auto line feed and wanted to run over it with my car because the auto feed never worked. This model is supposed to be a bump feed so I expected better results. Not only is keeping the line fed a problem, the shaft where the weed eater attaches to the power source never stays tight. No amount of twisting and tightening will keep it in place. So as you work the weed eater starts to change position relative to the handle and power source. It's a waste of time and money, it's going back. The only positive thing I can say about this model is it is powerful enough for my lawn but I have a small lawn and I'm not cutting through any tall or thick brush.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MRL4
The Colony, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Reasonably powerful for an electric.
7/2/2015

Customer review by sharpstick

4.0 stars 7/2/2015 by sharpstick
by sharpstick

This trimmer works well for a plug in electric. Not as convenient as a cordless, but a third the price. Not as high maintenance as a gas model. I didn't mind dragging the cord around. I dragged about fifty feet of 12 gauge and 14 gauge cord around and it didn't have a problem. The cutting head, however was a big problem. It didn't bump feed as it was supposed to. The first time I used it, the cord broke off, as is normal, but when I bumped it, nothing happened. I tried to take it apart to find out what the problem was. I could open it at first. So, I read the fine manual, and found that the head on mine is not what the manual described. I finally googled it, found a manual for the head itself and saw that it has a secret chinese puzzle squeeze release. I have to open it up and unwind string every time it needs it, just like we did in the last century! When I find one, I'll get a better head that actually works. Other than that, it works well. I waded through some knee high grass over the septic tank. It cut slower than a gas one would, but did the job.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sharpstick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No more 2cycle
7/24/2016

Customer review by fiaroadster

4.0 stars 7/24/2016 by fiaroadster
by fiaroadster
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When I purchased this electric unit I threw away two 2 cycle trimmers. I had had it with the hard starting and un reliabity. Cons Trigger is stiff and it weighs a bit more than gas. Wish it had a variable speed trigger. Pros Starts EVERY time and has a good spool on it. It can also use a number of other manufactures spools. Quality construction. Very powerful.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fiaroadster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Power
7/22/2016

Customer review by Jimbo

3.0 stars 7/22/2016 by Jimbo
by Jimbo

This unit has a crazy amount of power. It cuts through everything I've put it to test thus far. What I don't like is the design of the safety lever and trigger mechanism. It is not very ergonomically friendly in that regard....very difficult to continuously hold down both switches for extended periods of time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jimbo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worth the money
5/23/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/23/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Over all, I think it is worth the money. Likes: The 10 amp motor is ever bit as strong as a gas trimmer , in my opinion. Also like the long Pro style shaft. I'm tall and that helps my back. Dislikes: The hand grip and trigger should be at a more ergonomicly comfortable angle. A pistle grip style would be great. Your wrist gets tired having to be bent forward like holding a sword pointing straight out. Also, the string feed system is typical and sucks. No falt of GreenWorx. Within the first 10min. of use the string broke off too short and the end pulled back into the coil housing. Do your self a favor and as soon as you get your GreenWorx trimmer, remove the string line coil mechanism and replace it with a trimmer blade type. The GreenWorx will work great for hours (as long as your Wrist holds up).

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So Far, So Good
4/25/2016

Customer review by Brenda

5.0 stars 4/25/2016 by Brenda
by Brenda

Disclaimer: We've had a 2+ year history of suboptimal trimmers, so we're probably pretty easy to please as long as the trimmer does it's job. So far, this one seems to do its job! It's easy to operate and cuts through the weeds, and it's lightweight. It was hard to figure out how to extend the string (this was not outlined in the instructions), but once my husband figured out that you just tap the head of the trimmer, we've had no problems with it to date (although our use of it has been limited thus far).

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brenda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great trimmer for those who can handle the weight.
4/4/2013

Customer review by Buddyrat

4.0 stars 4/4/2013 by Buddyrat
by Buddyrat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This trimmer was just what I was looking for. The 10 amp makes for a very powerful trimmer. This also makes it much more heavy than a 4 or 5 amp trimmer. This is great for me but others might like a smaller lighter trimmer. The only drawback is the time wasted with the bump feed system used in most powerful trimmers. Sometimes I seem to spend more time on clearing the spool than trimming. This drawback was present in my last gas trimmers. I purchased the trimmer on-line with free shipping to my local Walmart. I was very pleased with this option.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Buddyrat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Weed eater!!
6/19/2016

Customer review by Cody

5.0 stars 6/19/2016 by Cody
by Cody
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this looking for a powerful corded electrical weed eater and this seemed to fit the bill. When it arrived I hooked it up to a 100' cord and took it to the backyard to cut some jungle thick weeds that have been growing since the beginning of the year. This is plenty sturdy and more than strong enough to cut through some of the thickest weeds you can find. I was thoroughly impressed with this machine and would buy another one. Great product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cody
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Greenworks Model 21142 electric string trimmer
6/19/2016

Customer review by BigSteve54

4.0 stars 6/19/2016 by BigSteve54
by BigSteve54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First of all the price was right (67.99 + tax and free shipping) and ordering was pretty simple although I am still not sure whether the unit came directly from Walmart or an outside vendor since no invoice was included. It came on the date promised (5days) in perfect condition. As far as performance is concerned it works very well on my suburban, slightly less than 1/4 acre lot trimming and edging. Ergonomically it is a little on the heavy side and slightly awkward although I attribute the latter to my 6'4" frame. Edging takes a little getting used to but the shaft has three positions spanning 180 degrees so with a little trial and error you should find your "sweet" spot. I found it much easier with the guard removed to see what I'm doing after observing all the local landscapers and nary a guard on any. Do not ever attempt to operate without complete eye protection since it is very powerful for an electric unit and pebbles ricochet in all directions. I found reloading to be fairly simple but 2 things to remember, first use a good quality ROUND string and second avoid the temptation to overload. My particular spool uses a single length bent in the middle and wound simultaneously for both strings. I found starting with a 16 or 17 foot total length (8 or so feet for each string) to be ideal. The bump feed has so far worked well although a fair number of reviews claim otherwise I haven't had a problem. Last thing I want to mention is remember with the motor up and away from the dust and debris you should get quite a few years of service with no hassle except for dragging the cord behind you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigSteve54
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This thing is a powerhouse
7/22/2014

Customer review by HandyAdam

4.0 stars 7/22/2014 by HandyAdam
by HandyAdam
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this to replace a Black and Decker that while not too old burnt up after 1.5 hours of continual use. The motor on the B&D is down on the trimmer head, like most electric string trimmers. This made it unbalanced and also led to the cooling passages getting filled with weeds and dust. Bad design IMO. Also the shaft was too short, I'm tall and had to hunch over to use it. This Greenworks tears. it. up. It feels twice as powerful. I'm using it to clear a variety of overgrown weeds on a half acre property and I can get twice as much done in half the time, no joke. It's built solid, has a long enough shaft to actually reach the ground and the motor is so torquey it just tears through everything without bogging down like a gas trimmer might. I also don't have to worry about maintenance, just plug it in and go. It's pretty light, for being so powerful the motor isn't bulky. The motor is at the right end so it won't get clogged up with weeds and dust again. It isn't perfect. The handle feels a little weak and uses a plastic nut to tighten, I imagine I'll have to replace this nut at some point. It may be my 4 foot weeds but it may be because of the design of the shield, the head will get wrapped up with weeds fairly often and I have to pull them off. The trigger mechanism isn't a positive action like I would hope, I'm a little nervous about this wearing out quickly. I would certainly buy it again though. It does it's job very well and so far my quality concerns haven't led to real issues in several hours and a couple spools of use. I wanted the biggest, baddest plug in electric string trimmer I could find and I think this is it. The fact that it was barely more than most of the other options and cheaper than any decent gas trimmer makes using it that much more satisfying.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HandyAdam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Greenworks 10 amp string trimmer works great
8/17/2014

Customer review by Littleweasel2

5.0 stars 8/17/2014 by Littleweasel2
by Littleweasel2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Greenworks grass trimmer did an excellent job of clearing out an over grown garden plot. I had no problems with the trimmer and I've used for 2 days already catching up with this years growth. I also received this trimmer 3 days earlier than expected using site to store delivery. I'm a very satisfied customer.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Littleweasel2
kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wrong Item
6/13/2016

Customer review by TexasLarry

1.0 stars 6/13/2016 by TexasLarry
by TexasLarry
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Item shown online has a clamp to secure attachment. The one delivered has a weak two piece plastic part which allows attachments to rotate.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TexasLarry
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good trimmer, but it depends on your preferences
6/9/2015

Customer review by OldDood

4.0 stars 6/9/2015 by OldDood
by OldDood

I have had string trimmers since they were invented, and have had a few electrics and one gas. This is a corded electric model. My preference since every rechargeable tool I have owned always ended up to be a problem. Be prepared that this is a heavy duty implement and its weight is considerably more than the usual electrics, but it has power to spare, so much so that you need to be careful around tree and shrub trunks. The motor is located behind you for balance like a gas powered model. The motor has some torque that you can feel. The lines (2) are larger diameter so it really cuts well. The line feed system is the type that you have to tap (bang) on the ground which is a type that I have found to be most reliable compared to the "automatic" which tend to actually turn out to be "manual" in real use. I loaded some line into after a couple of uses and although a two reel type, it had a feature that held the lines secure as you reinstalled instead of that annoying tendency to unwind as you try to stick the spool back in other brands. So, the pluses are it is solid and heavy duty, but as such it is also heavy in weight. It cuts better than most electrics you can buy at twice the price. The only negative I have found is that the switch is two stage. There is a trigger on top of the handle and on the underside and you must depress both. I put a piece of tape on the top trigger to hold it down, otherwise my hand became very fatigued trying to hold both just right to keep it turned on. Be sure to hold it over your head in the yard and make Neanderthal grunts at your neighbors so they will be appropriately envious.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldDood
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Powerful
7/16/2014

Customer review by FindHIM

5.0 stars 7/16/2014 by FindHIM
by FindHIM
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Only used once but it's more powerful and easier to handle than my troybilt gas trimmer. I look forward to it being more dependable as well. It is well worth the bother of using an electric cord. Very high reviews on Consumer Reports.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FindHIM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Will never go gas again...
9/16/2014

Customer review by KailuaHawaii

5.0 stars 9/16/2014 by KailuaHawaii
by KailuaHawaii
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Wow, amazing. I can't believe how much power this trimmer packs. Having to use the 12 gauge extention cord makes it A bit heavy, but is totally worth it. Assembly was easy, after that it's just 'plug and play'. Note: For those of you that have trouble with the whole 'tap and feed' line mechanism, I recommend purchasing a Grass Gator 8010 four string cutting head for it. It's easy to attach to the trimmer and makes loading the line so much simpler.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KailuaHawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good design, excellent workmanship,
5/21/2016

Customer review by vabrou

5.0 stars 5/21/2016 by vabrou
by vabrou
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

very powerful.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vabrou
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome
5/16/2016

Customer review by Alex

5.0 stars 5/16/2016 by Alex
by Alex

This is the most powerful electric trimmer I have used. It is easy to use. It also has attachments that can be used with it. The line is easy to reload.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alex
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A little heavy. String release difficult
5/8/2014

Customer review by bugman62

3.0 stars 5/8/2014 by bugman62
by bugman62
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very powerful. Like a gas trimmer. It is a bit heavy. I've only used it once, but I found the string release did not work very smoothly.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bugman62
mt airy, md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The power I needed but
7/31/2015

Customer review by wmws

4.0 stars 7/31/2015 by wmws
by wmws

I wanted to replace my gas trimmers I did not want a constant feed I have a large yard , heavy weeds etc. unit works great on 100 foot cord #12 a two speed switch would be nice. also the hold down safety lever along with the micro switch is a pain to hold I made a conversion also the twist lock comes loose while in use letting the head turn on you Other then that it does what I want it to do. I am 78 years old in good shape to handle this heavy unit for long periods of time

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wmws
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Weed eater
8/16/2015

Customer review by Ervin

5.0 stars 8/16/2015 by Ervin
by Ervin

It was great. I didn't want to pull a cord to get it started this did the trick. It's powerful and covenant. It cord advances effortlessly. I see no disadvantages.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ervin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews