Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 194 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

194 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

194 reviews | 4 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
102
4 stars
52
3 stars
6
2 stars
9
1 stars
25
1-20 of 188 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 188 total reviews
1-20 of 188 reviews
Disappointed with the replacement
4/23/2014

Customer review by Cyclonengineer

2.0 stars 4/23/2014 by Cyclonengineer
by Cyclonengineer

When I first got the Neato XV-21 I was fascinated by it's ability to navigate through chairs, around objects, and otherwise to a great job of vacuuming the house. I'd leave it upstairs for a week and then move it downstairs in order to keep the whole house clean. Then the display died. Sent it in for a return and Neato sends a slightly older version of the XV-21 (I didn't even know there were older versions - but this one didn't have the battery power switch)....they also had a newer firmware version....and it is abysmal. While the first one could do the whole house and maybe get lost once - this one can't do 1/2 a room. Gets stuck on walls (yep, a wall with nothing around - it'll back up into it and then stop). After a string of 10 emails/calls with their customer service, I'm losing hope. Keep away - unless you end up with one of the good ones.

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cyclonengineer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AVOID NEATO ROBOTICS
5/7/2014

Customer review by ThisWarrantyisawaste

1.0 stars 5/7/2014 by ThisWarrantyisawaste
by ThisWarrantyisawaste

I bought my current XV21 exactly 13 months ago with a 3 year extended warranty. It was awesome for the 1st 6 months and then it all of a sudden now after running a cycle it dies before finishing and the power light is half illuminated with unresponsive buttons, so i have to unscrew the battery compartments and unplug both batteries then it powers on and I have to reset the clock. I called Neato and they said they would send a replacement and I would pay a $25 fee. I said well I have an extended warranty so I'll just use that since there is no added fee. Well needless to say I have sent it to Asurion 3 times while waiting about 3 weeks each time to get the unit back in seemingly worse condition (dirty and more scratched) with the exact same issue. I run it 1 or 2 cycles and it is half lit power requiring a battery pull and reset. So then I call Neato and the rep says I am 30 days past the 1 year warranty even though i called 4 months ago and they don't have any options for replacement. I said, "So I paid $380 for a small vacuum that worked for less than 6 months? When I calculate the 2 times a week for 6 months that I ran it I paid over $10 a use. Unbelievably the Neato rep actually said "unfortunately these vacuums don't have a long life." Well, I have a Roomba that is 5 years old that does my office and although it doesn't clean as thoroughly nor is as intelligent as my Neato it has gone over 500 cycles and hasn't even had the battery changed. So a durable Roomba cleans better than a smart but unreliable Neato that consistently doesn't work.

Was this review helpful? (55) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThisWarrantyisawaste
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great until.... the LCD screen quits
4/30/2014

Customer review by wildanimalpark

1.0 stars 4/30/2014 by wildanimalpark
by wildanimalpark

The robot is great until it dies at 15 months. The LCD screen is going blank on many of these so it is a known problem but Neato is not doing anything about it. If it happens in the first 12 months they will send you a refurbished one that has a 90 day warranty. If that LCD quits you now own a $300 anchor. Seek vacuums that last longer for your money.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wildanimalpark
Would recommend to a friend? No
Amazing technology!
9/2/2012

Customer review by mortoncr

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by mortoncr
by mortoncr

The XV-21 exceeded all my expectations. I could not believe the dirt it removed from my carpet right after a thorough vacuuming with my Dirt Devil upright. It cleaned closer to the room perimeters than my upright. After the third week, the dirt bin did not fill as quickly, but I think it will take two more weeks of weekly cleanings before it can vacuum the entire home with out overflowing the dirt bin where I need to empty it during each charging session. It runs about 45 minutes on a carpeted area (roughly two rooms or 300 square feet) before requiring a 3 hour recharge, so it takes about 12 hours to vacuum my entire 1400 sq. ft. home. After about 5 weeks I should be able to leave it unattended (no longer emptying the dirt bin). If there is a drawback, it is having to frequently empty the dirt bin the first month since it is more efficient than any vacuum I ever owned and is extracting 9 years of dirt in the carpet that my other vacuums failed to remove.

Was this review helpful? (141) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mortoncr
Cocoa, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
cleaning between cleanings
12/30/2015

Customer review by CleanLiving

4.0 stars 12/30/2015 by CleanLiving
by CleanLiving

It is a vacuum cleaner after all, so they do make noise. I program the cleaning at 1am for the downstairs, while we sleep upstairs. The unit cleans well, but I don't understand its vacuum patterns. However, the house is clean. The shape of the system works well in corners, under beds and different types of flooring-room to room. It is fun to watch as it exhausts its power, it shuts off the sweeper, and heads by to the base three rooms away. It backs into the charger as a mother bird settles into her nest. Neato recharges itself, then heads out to pickup where it left off. I found it goes in one direction from the base, which leaves my kitchen and laundry rooms untouched. Tonight, I set the base up at the far end of the house forcing Neato to clean the laundry room and kitchen before it does the rest. The collection tray is almost full, even though you could eat off our clean floors anyway, and we clean the filter with a tooth brush. It will get into a situation it can not get out of, then it shuts down, and waits for you to rescue it. Now, if I could only program it to make coffee!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CleanLiving
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not Happy
1/2/2015

Customer review by MAJAMO

1.0 stars 1/2/2015 by MAJAMO
by MAJAMO

Purchased Neato because of previous ratings and great Black Friday deal. Overall, easy to get started and program. But, after it kept stopping in the middle of the room and reading to clear it's path when there was nothing around it, I began to get worried. Then it started repeating it's cycle and getting stuck under a chair. Before the sale ended, I decided to refund my money and start with a new Neato. As soon as my new Neato arrived. I put it on the base to charge and programed it. It started as scheduled, but died 10 mins after it left the base even after a 48 hr charge. I hit the start button to restart and it took off to do its job but after about 5 mins out it stopped in the hallway and asked for the path to be cleared. My house is all hardwood and clear of all possible interruptions. I was done! I returned the Neato and purchased a Roomba for $150 more, but well worth it. Love My Roomba!!!! Sorry Neato, but you left me very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MAJAMO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best purchase ever!
12/7/2013

Customer review by Ncdgh

5.0 stars 12/7/2013 by Ncdgh
by Ncdgh
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I absolutely love love my neato soooo much!!! I'm a full time working wife and this has taken one of my chores off the list! It works extremely well! I have thick hair down to my low back and it picks up hair, dirt, dust and everything in between! I was sooo surprised the first time I ran it.. It covered my entire 1600 sq ft home and went from my tile to carpet to bathroom rugs whith no problem! I even tested it- after it vacuumed my house I went over my carpets with my cyclonic vacuum and nothing came up! I couldn't believe it! My mom bought the roomba and she is returning it for a neato because the roomba hardly picks up anything. The neato also goes in a methodical pattern so when I come home it looks like a freshly vacuumed . It is a little loud but I don't mind because I appreciate the power of the suction- I just turn it on and go to work!!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ncdgh
Beaumont tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
We love our new Neato (Nellie). She's a workhorse!
3/8/2013

Customer review by missging

5.0 stars 3/8/2013 by missging
by missging
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband and I bought the Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum a couple of weeks ago and she has become a part of our household. We call her Nellie and she cleans for us twice a day. It's absolutely amazing at the hair and dust that she is still picking up from our floors (and I thought I was a pretty good house cleaner). We do have both cats and dogs so we needed the pet and allergy vacuum. The folks who clean for me on a monthly basis were very impressed with the work that Nellie had done before they got to my house this past week. I gave her 5 stars because so far that's what she has earned...sorry I didn't know about this product sooner. Another plus is the easy-to-clean canister that catches the dust and hair. Nellie is my new best friend.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
missging
Hemphill TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love It But.....
12/31/2014

Customer review by Katcando

4.0 stars 12/31/2014 by Katcando
by Katcando

This works better than I ever thought it could!!! The only complaint I have is the documentation is almost non existent!! Even when I emailed a question to support they gave me the wrong answer. Got the right one from another owner on here. The docs tell you what you have to do when you install a new battery. What they DON'T tell you is that the battery in your vac-bot is, guess what, NEW, so you have to break it in also. That is why you have people complaining about the short time it runs before needing to charge. You will be surprised how well it does it's job after you give it a chance to learn your rooms. Even if you think it has missed part of it give it a chance. Most of the time it will go back and get it even if it does another room first. You need to run it about 3 or 4 times before it learns what it needs to. You need to learn where it needs help also. Like areas it might get stuck or what you should maybe move so it can work more efficiently. All in all I LOVE mine after I got to know how it works.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Katcando
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
confused robot
10/10/2013

Customer review by kymberlyjeka

1.0 stars 10/10/2013 by kymberlyjeka
by kymberlyjeka
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We did heavy research between this product, consumer reports, roomba, and the other competing models. This seemed like the best machine for several reasons: pet hair, features, durability, reviews, and design. We we're totally let down. Upon running the device for the first time it kept getting stuck under furniture and since it was scanning the room to a program and we had to keep moving it, it became confused and started to keep vacuuming the same areas over and over, never going to another part of the house and then eventually wouldn't leave the dock to vacuum at all even after a reset and attempting to work with Neato customer service. They want you to send them video which is fine but it seems like that was going to take forever to resolve. After enough disappointment and realizing we could have swept and moped the floors twice by the time this thing barely covered the living room, we decided to return it. Just seemed like more trouble than its worth even though we wanted it because we knew we'd be busy with the new baby and with pets you must sweep weekly at least. We gave it several fair chances. Let down.

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kymberlyjeka
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
worth the money...works better than roomba
8/29/2012

Customer review by Pamstress

5.0 stars 8/29/2012 by Pamstress
by Pamstress

I still can't believe i dropped this much money.....but it is well worth it. Very high tech little gadget. cleans VERY well. easier to empty and keep clean than roombas. you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (78) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pamstress
Oregon Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
works well, sometimes gets stuck
11/11/2013

Customer review by RedRobot8

4.0 stars 11/11/2013 by RedRobot8
by RedRobot8
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We let this loose, and it came back with a bin full of dust, even when the place looked fairly clean, and it's sure a lot easier than doing it with a manual vacuum cleaner! However, it does sometimes get itself stuck in tight corners, so it can't really be left completely without supervision except in rooms with simple geometries. So... kind of like a dishwasher -- a lot better than doing it by hand, but you might still need to clean the occasional dish.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RedRobot8
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/20/2012

Customer review by K1C2

5.0 stars 12/20/2012 by K1C2
by K1C2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a long hair cat and dog that shed constantly. The Neato XV-21 Pet and Allergy Robotic Vacuum has been the best investment since I purchased my laptop.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
K1C2
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/15/2012

Customer review by Nannie49

4.0 stars 11/15/2012 by Nannie49
by Nannie49
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am very pleased with my vacuum. No more pet hair! Can't wait until they start selling robots that do the rest of my cleaning for me. Only problem I have is that sometimes it gets confused and gets a little to friendly with my floor lamp. I just have to pick it up and put it back on track but other than that, no problems.

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nannie49
Saint Peters, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Truly a wife pleaser
12/21/2014

Customer review by Bosemer

1.0 stars 12/21/2014 by Bosemer
by Bosemer

This vacuum is a very welcome asset to our family, 3 dogs, cat and many birds. After extensive research, we selected the Neato XV-21 vacuum and very glad we did. Bottom Line Up Front: Wife very happy, I am happy, animals accept it and do not bother it and it cleans deep (even picked up dog hair etc after she used the Kirby an hour before. Exceptional easy to put into service and operates without any assistance other than picking up items on the floor like dog bones, etc. We programmed it to do our 1200 square foot downstairs two days a week at a specific time and it vacuums on schedule. We can control what rooms it vacuums by leaving doors open or closing them. Be careful! It does such a good job getting under the couches and beds that it finds things you did not know are there. Ours found a roll of paper towels under a couch and when it ate into it the machine shut down and displayed text to extract the item and return it to service. Our only issue was finding it when it did not return to it's home.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bosemer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
2/4/2013

Customer review by DannyDanni

5.0 stars 2/4/2013 by DannyDanni
by DannyDanni
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been very pleased with this product. It moves slowly and thoroughly vacuums. The nap on the carpet looks new after the vacuum is done. It also moves easily from hardwood to tile to area rugs and over heavier door mats and does an excellent job on these surfaces also. It picks up the dog hair and does a good job on the edges against the walls or furniture. I love using it in the bedroom. I just lift up the bed skirt, turn it on and close the door. When I come back it's all vacuumed including under the bed and the vacuum is back charging again. I'm amazed at how much it picks up. My only suggestion would be to make the lint/dirt collection box a little larger. And an added benefit is that it doesn't scare my dog like the regular vacuum does.

Was this review helpful? (31) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DannyDanni
Georgetown, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Anita the Neato
8/1/2015

Customer review by 910man

4.0 stars 8/1/2015 by 910man
by 910man

Purchased Dec 2013. Short carpeting along with hard surface floor coverings. February 2014: The original unit had battery issues and was replaced by the Neato factory. No problem. They sent me a refurbished unit and I returned the original unit on their dime. They took care of the problem and were easy to deal with. July 2015, the refurbished unit's lcd display died. Again the Neato factory was easy to deal with and they replaced the refurbished unit with a new unit. This time, being out of warranty, I paid shipping both ways. The new unit is working fine. A word to the wise: Keep the XV-21 and filter very clean ( I use a Datavac Electric Duster to blow the dust from the filter and product - outside). This product is great! It picks up very small dust and dirt particles. The first time I ran Anita it was alarming how much stuff was removed from the carpeting and floors. The filter was overflowing. Now used on a weekly basis only a small amount of matter is collected in the filter. The units are not perfect but as they evolve the are becoming hard to live without. I will keep using the Neato products.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
910man
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
a little pricey but does everything it claims.
12/31/2012

Customer review by LoveJoyPeace123

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by LoveJoyPeace123
by LoveJoyPeace123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Neato has a shorter running time than I expected, about 25 minutes then it returns to the charger, recharges over 30 minutes then off again starting where it left off. It did that three times to cover six rooms. When completed, it returns to the charger. I believe we will become friends.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveJoyPeace123
Charlton, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Vacuums the floor so you or your wife doesn't have
2/2/2015

Customer review by David

4.0 stars 2/2/2015 by David
by David

This is now my second XP 21 I've owned over the last two years. The device does a very good job in picking up the hair from our dog and two cats. There are some caveats however. We have one couch that sits just a little too low for a complete clearance of the robot such that it gets stuck under the couch. To remedy that I placed a few pieces of cardboard under legsof the couch. Also, there is a small bathroom where the robot frequently gets caught between the toilet and the wall. I leave the door to this bathroom close. Other than that the robot does a good job of cleaning for a good period of time going back to charge and then continue to clean where he left off.we named our robot Lance, after a famous cyclist who would do anything to win. I had to send the original robot back to the company at least one time however they sent me a new unit without charge. This happened again after the first year and my VISA warranty covered for a brand new one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
David
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/22/2012

Customer review by RapidTest

4.0 stars 12/22/2012 by RapidTest
by RapidTest

Purchased this to deal with the constant shedding from 3 dogs. My home has a combination of wood floors, area rugs, and throw rugs. After 2 weeks of daily use it does works as advertised. It's set to clean daily, however it does get 'stuck' at times requiring me to clear it's path or to clear it's brush, hence I don't leave it alone. I'm not so sure it actually follows an organized pattern, if it bumps up against a retrieved toy from the basket it may go around it, over it, or just turn around to vacuum another area. When it does get stuck, it will shut down and beep, if you can't get to it right away it will shut itself down. It does get under furniture very well, the dust bin is easily emptied, battery lasts about 2 hours of continuous cleaning, the boundary marker is pliable enough to be curved, when it needs assistance the display will say please and thank you. Maintenance on the brush is same as an upright. Unlike the upright vacuum, none of the dogs bark at it, instead they ignore it. Yes, it is noisy, but not as noisy as my Hoover upright if left on for an hour. I haven't noticed an scratches or other marks on the wood floor from using it, nor has it sucked up a throw rug because of a loose string. During the first couple of day of use the dust bin had to be emptied a couple of times per cycle, now it's emptied at the end. It doesn't pick up every bit of dust, my upright still gets a weekly workout but the house feels and looks cleaner. For me, Gladys, (yep I named it) was a good investment.

Was this review helpful? (47) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RapidTest
IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 188 total reviews
1-20 of 188 reviews