Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 651 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

651 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

651 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
327
4 stars
185
3 stars
43
2 stars
38
1 stars
58
1-20 of 645 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 645 total reviews
1-20 of 645 reviews
Needs works
2/16/2017

Customer review by Bigmac

2.0 stars 2/16/2017 by Bigmac
by Bigmac

On my 2nd unit. 1st had motor issue. 2nd hardly works

Bigmac
Michigan, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Yearly
Gender:Male
Interesting Gadget
11/7/2013

Customer review by dhipp

4.0 stars 11/7/2013 by dhipp
by dhipp

When I first saw one, my Son had purchased it for his room.  The wife and I liked it and soon bought one for ourselves.  It worked great for awhile, but due to clutter, arrangement of rooms, and not setting it on a set schedule, the gadget got to where it was going over the same areas several times and not moving to other areas that it once covered.  We left it charging too long so I guess the battery ran down and now I can't get it to turn on.  Tried ordering a battery but none in stock.  Did get the cord to upgrade through the computer, but don't have a charge on it to do so.  Neat gadget, but not for old fogies like myself evidently.  Would like to get it back working, so I could try setting it on a schedule.  I also moved it from downstairs to upstairs on occasion, so that may have confused it.  Would I recommend it?  Not to an older couple or anyone that has a lot of clutter and small adjoining rooms.  I gave it an overall rating of good since it did work, just not at my house.

dhipp
Cabot, AR
Usage frequency:Yearly
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Love this vacume
11/9/2013

Customer review by JoJo318

5.0 stars 11/9/2013 by JoJo318
by JoJo318

Purchased about 4-5 months ago, and it still cleans even better than our Kirby! We set it to go off at night every night in a different area of the house, and each morning it is back charging, and the floors are very clean. I'm always amazed on how much dirt and pet hair is in the canister, even after our housekeeper does her weekly cleaning Few tricks I learned about using Neato best: Schedule it often, the more it cleans, the better it seams to work??? Buy extra metal barrier strips to prevent the Neato from going where you don't want it to be. Change canister filter about 3 months. When it's stuck, don't pick it up. Picking it up should be a last resort. Remove the item blocking Neato, reset and let it continue. If you find it dead, pickup up both the body and the legs, take it to the charger, turn off/on and it seams to know where it is going the next time. I love this little guy, and when I can afford to, plan to buy two more instead of moving it every few days to a new area...

JoJo318
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
Love it when it works
2/5/2017

Customer review by Also disappointed

2.0 stars 2/5/2017 by Also disappointed
by Also disappointed

I bought it a month ago and TWICE it has stopped working. TEch support helped me get it working again the first time. I'm waiting to hear back from them now on the second episode. The machine's led won't light up, and the start button won't respond.

Also disappointed
Saint Petersburg, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
Great - Had it for years
2/2/2017

Customer review by cgask

5.0 stars 2/2/2017 by cgask
by cgask

We've used it about 1-2 years straight, then put it away and forgot to take it back out. Battery recharged w/out issues and it worked! Great quality. Only downside is that it has to relearn the house or its now area constrained.

cgask
Chicago, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Great cleaning device
1/22/2017

Customer review by Jimjames

4.0 stars 1/22/2017 by Jimjames
by Jimjames

Great cleaning device I love the neato because it doesn't wander around aimlessly. The only complaint I have is that on this model my door on the bin that keeps the dirt won't register at shut anymore.

Jimjames
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Spouse was leary in the beginning but loves it now
11/15/2013

Customer review by Dursh

5.0 stars 11/15/2013 by Dursh
by Dursh

My wife thought it was another one of myhair brained ideas but now would not do without it.  It does an excellent job. The menu system is easy to use.  We set ours to clean the heavy traffic areas twice a week.  The seldom used rooms we do individually.  We just put it in them and turn it on.  When it is done it goes back to where it started and turns off.  It does not bother the dog even though he is the jumpy sort.  It takes two charges to do the main area.  It goes to the charger to reload and remembers where it left off.  All your competition seemed to use random paterns to vacuum.  The Neato knows where it is going, knows where it has been and maps each section so it is efficient.  The only thing that throws it off is if you close a door after it has mapped that area.  It stopped, waited, and then shut off.  When I turned it on it had a message on the screen telling me  to"Please clear my path. Besides that it rarely gets stuck.  We love it. I am waiting for you guys to come up with a lawn mower!

Dursh
Houston, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Love my neato!
11/7/2013

Customer review by pssutton

4.0 stars 11/7/2013 by pssutton
by pssutton

The Neato XV-21 is great. I am continually amazed by how much dirt he is able to pick up each run (even though he runs twice a week for about a year now). Where is it all coming from?? I love that he runs while I am out, and is nearly maintenance free. Plus the clean lines he leaves in the carpet are great. There are a few things however that he isn't good at... While these haven't been a huge problem to me, if your house is different it may cause problems: 1) Thick pile rugs, he can't handle. 2) There's about a 1.5 inch gap between the edge of the machine and where his brush starts. This leaves about 1.5 inches of dirt around the edges of all my rooms which i have to manually clean. 3) He sometimes will get stuck under chairs or in tight corners. 4) You have to remove the hair wrapped around his brush weekly. Even though he isn't perfect, I'm still very happy with my purchase and hope that NeatoRobotics can release a software updated to address some of these issues.

pssutton
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Weekly
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Cleans well
9/27/2016

Customer review by VA Lady

4.0 stars 9/27/2016 by VA Lady
by VA Lady

The bot cleans well, not missing any spots and with strong suction. It is easy to set up and empty. Upon its first outing from base, it did stop, indicating it needed the brush cleaned, which of course it didn't. After re-starting it twice, the error corrected and the bot has not had the error since. It satisfies my neurosurgeon's recommendation to avoid too much housecleaning after my cervical fusion surgery. All good. However, its path was somewhat inefficient, covering the same territory unnecessarily, thereby wasting (in my opinion) battery time and making it less able to cover the full downstairs area I needed addressed. I bought more border marker tape (along with what came with it) so that I could restrict the bot's movements to the main areas. This has worked well for the efficiency issue. It does mean I have to remember to rearrange certain furniture (e.g., exercise bike) behind the barrier before the bot runs. Overall, I am glad I bought this model, as it is less expensive than the more sophisticated models but still accomplishes what I really need done.

VA Lady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Monthly
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
Sucks great - navigation poor
1/13/2017

Customer review by Neerok

3.0 stars 1/13/2017 by Neerok
by Neerok

Extremely satisfied with the cleaning ability of this machine. The navigation is quite poor after a year, however, after several "resets".

Neerok
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Easy to empty and clean.
11/8/2013

Customer review by RDub

4.0 stars 11/8/2013 by RDub
by RDub

I bought this robot after the extreme amount of hair from my two large labs killed my Roomba. In comparison, the Roomba seemed to get lost less, and found it's way back to base better - but the Neato pulls up more hair, and maintenance is so much easier. I would have to take the Roomba apart several times a week to strip the hair from the rollers, the Neato does such a good job I just do this monthly as a part of general maintenance, and the bin is so easy to empty and clean, and I am amazed at the amount of hair it picks up. The Roomba did a better job of getting into the corners, so it would be nice to see the spinning sweeper addition to the Neato. The only other feature I would like to see added is a "Clean Now" button. As these vacuums are loud, we schedule them to run when away from the home. If there is an interuption in the schedule, you must either reschedule for new time, or wait for the next scheduled run, it would be easier to push the button on the way out the door without changing any settings.

RDub
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
Works really good.
1/11/2017

Customer review by janis48

5.0 stars 1/11/2017 by janis48
by janis48

We received our Neato for Christmas, and I really didn't think I would like it, but my mind has been changed for the best thing you could ever get.

janis48
Arkansas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Yearly
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
better results than expected
1/4/2017

Customer review by knits4him

5.0 stars 1/4/2017 by knits4him
by knits4him

Admittedly skeptical, but had to try this, and I am thrilled. I love to watch it navigated everything from chair legs and corners to various surfaces. Very pleased with the ability for it to find so much surface, and completely clean the floor. As a cat owner I love the feeling of fresh floors and less pet hair.

knits4him
SWFL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
Did started as per instruction, but will not work.
1/5/2017

Customer review by yolly

1.0 stars 1/5/2017 by yolly
by yolly

I bought this refurbished from Amazon. I have until Feb. 1 2017 to return it, but if you can help me make it work I will be very happy to keep my neato. Thank You.

yolly
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Super Impressed!
12/21/2016

Customer review by Duntrune

5.0 stars 12/21/2016 by Duntrune
by Duntrune

First go was awesome! I was surprised and delighted at the level of accuracy with which the robot navigated the first floor, around and under furniture. The squared design made easy work of corners and it didn't miss anything; made perfect rows in every room! I look forward to a) not having to spend time vacuuming anymore and b) having a robot that ensures the same accuracy I would, if I were doing it.

Duntrune
Taneytown, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Wonderful Asset
12/26/2016

Customer review by Ycoppage

4.0 stars 12/26/2016 by Ycoppage
by Ycoppage

I received a refurbished neato for Christmas! It works wonderfully, except the battery wont keep a charge I have contacted the company and am hoping for a new battery.

Ycoppage
Meade County, KY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
Back Saver
10/19/2016

Customer review by UltimateConsumer

5.0 stars 10/19/2016 by UltimateConsumer
by UltimateConsumer

I broke my back over a decade ago, unfortunately it has left me with unrelenting pain in my right leg. On my not to do list is vacuuming. Dear husband never grasped this concept so Neato's to the rescue. I have owned a Roomba, but in my IMHO Neato''s do a far superior job cleaning. Both brands get stuck which is highly annoying. My VI did not get stuck as often as my new XV-21 which has a habit of climbing kitchen chair legs and becoming stuck. Apparently it does not have a learning curve. I have had my VI since 2011 and believe it is dying. It it sending me all kinds of error messages, it needs to be charged even though it shows a full battery. It needs it's sensors cleaned, it's wheels are stuck and the bin is full. So five years use on that machine, probably at least three batteries and three new rollers. Less expensive then paying maid. I would love to try the new Wifi Neato, but the price point is out of my budget; It is rated number one on most consumer sites and it costs $200.00 less then the top Roomba. I am considering putting my Neato on top of my bed while my sheets are in the wash to see what it pulls out of the mattress. What do you think?

UltimateConsumer
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Monthly
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
Cavalier Breeder lovin' it in Illinois!
11/8/2013

Customer review by Cavaliers

5.0 stars 11/8/2013 by Cavaliers
by Cavaliers

For me, as a breeder of Cavalier King Charles Spaniels, the Neato was a God send for our home. We recently replaced carpet with laminate flooring in our living room and I just set my Neato to clean every day right after I leave for work. It has a low enough profile to fit under most of my furniture and it picks up all the stray hair from my "kids". And, it cleans EVERY DAY for me right on schedule. I could never find the time to do that with an ordinary vacuum. Do I still use my upright on my Saturday cleaning? Yes, but the daily cleaning done by my Neato has really cut down on the time and quantity of dirt/hair/fuzz that I pick up on cleaning day. I no longer have dust/hair bunnies under my bed either! That was a place I could never get to with my high profile upright. I couldn't be happier with it. And, it makes me smile when it politely asks me to "please" empty my dirt bin, or "thank you" for replacing my dirt bin. A polite robot...love it!

Cavaliers
Mt Carroll IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
Worth every penny!
10/31/2013

Customer review by Carol

5.0 stars 10/31/2013 by Carol
by Carol

I have wanted a robotic vacuum for a long time, due to the fact I have issues with my back and running a vacuum is very difficult for me. I researched the products and settled on the Neato. I could not be happier if I had a maid coming in everyday. I have five very large rooms downstairs and four very large rooms upstairs with hallways and transitions through the doorways, all rooms are hardwood with area rugs scattered throughout the house. This thing is amazing!!! It cleans the entire house, no matter what floor I use it on, recharging itself occasionally and coming back to finish where it left off. It gets under the furniture and the beds with ease, in places that I couldn't go, and the dirt it picks up always amazes me. AWESOME PRODUCT! I have a puppy and four grandchildren that are always running in and out of the house. I schedule my Neato to run while I am sleeping and get up every morning to clean floors. I am saving up to buy another one for the upstairs, so I can have one on each floor and schedule them independently.

Carol
Osceola, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Daily
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 month
An Amazing Helper
11/7/2013

Customer review by VNABOB

5.0 stars 11/7/2013 by VNABOB
by VNABOB

Had I not read other reviews I would have been to skeptical about purchasing a "robotic" vacuum.  But the Neato sounded like it might really work and it does.  Her intelligence chip makes her much more efficient than competitors that just bump and reverse around the house.   We've had "Neata" as my wife calls her for several months and she has done a remarkable job dodging the furniture and thoroughly cleaning both carpeted, ceramic tile and hardwood floors.   We both are fussy about clean floors and she's taken the ache out of our arthritic shoulder and hands.  Since we have a large home we wish she had a  larger capacity dust bin and square footage cleaning range, but Neata does very will for about 1500 square feet.   I frankly even get enough entertainment value out of watching her work as I sit at my desk that I don't mind rescuing her when she occasionally gets a full dust bin or gets hung up on an unusual obstacle.   We may get her a sister if a next generation model is released so we an easily cover another floor of our home.

VNABOB
Milton, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage frequency:Yearly
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
1-20 of 645 total reviews
1-20 of 645 reviews