Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 206 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

206 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

206 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
147
4 stars
38
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 stars
4
1-20 of 179 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 179 total reviews
1-20 of 179 reviews
9/8/2012

Customer review by GFcleanfreak

4.0 stars 9/8/2012 by GFcleanfreak
by GFcleanfreak

Haven't had the vacuum long but so far I like it. The suction is great. The cord is a nice length and the auto winder works well. It is easy to extend the wand and easy to remove the motorized head. The only problems so far are minor. It is easy to remove and open the canister to empty but shaking it is not enough to remove the contents. Hair and dust bunnies get caught and have to be removed with a long, narrow tool. The other inconvenience is the feature to turn off the motor in the head. You have to lay down the wand and reach down with both hands to pull out the button so switching from wood floor to rug or carpet is not as easy as it could be. It seems like the connectors are better built than most canister vacuums I have tried so I think they will last longer.

Was this review helpful? (42) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GFcleanfreak
Benton, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
10/7/2012

Customer review by mmdmom

5.0 stars 10/7/2012 by mmdmom
by mmdmom

This has been on clearance for some time, and I was hesitant to purchase it- due to the fact that it was on clearnace to begin with. I just took the plunge, and purchased my new dyson. I owned my last dyson for 5 years, never had one problem. I just wanted a new one. I have been happy with my new dyson so far. Suction is just as good, if not better, than my upright dyson was. And best of all, I can easily vacumm under our beds and dressers. I love this dyson! What an amazing deal. Thank you walmart! No complaints! 100% 5 stars!

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mmdmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best vacuum!
8/29/2012

Customer review by Thistley

5.0 stars 8/29/2012 by Thistley
by Thistley

This is the best vacuum that I've ever owned! It makes my rugs look brand new. I can't believe how much stuff it gets up from my floors!

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thistley
Tampa, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Powerful
8/29/2012

Customer review by NorthGA

5.0 stars 8/29/2012 by NorthGA
by NorthGA

This was a good value even at $279 because it came with the optional upholstry cleaner which works very well and retails for $70. Overall a powerful vacuum and does not require bags which will probably save $150 over the life of the vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NorthGA
north GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Dyson DC23
10/26/2012

Customer review by WallyWurld

2.0 stars 10/26/2012 by WallyWurld
by WallyWurld

Owned a trusty Hoover bagged canister for 15 years. Did a ton on online research to get up to speed and replace it. Finally decided to order and test drive: Dyson DC23 and Hoover Platinum Bagless. I returned the DC23. Hoover has a better powerhead; you can feel the suction/tension between the power head and the carpet. It lifts and fluffs the carpet pile back into shape. You can visually see where you've been. This is how vacuuming should be. DC23, no...while it sucked alot of debris, it seemed to be skimming along the carpet surface. Hoover won out, though I DID prefer the way the DC23 collection bin released/emptied, onboard tools, etc. (Hoover should pay attention here!) I felt the DC23 was overpriced (bad enough at $270 sale, but original $400??). Also looking at a Shark vacuum... Good Luck in your vacuum shopping endeavors.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WallyWurld
Ottawa, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Never thought I would actually enjoy vacuuming
10/31/2012

Customer review by GreatStar

5.0 stars 10/31/2012 by GreatStar
by GreatStar

This is the best vacuum I have ever owned. I have always wanted to purchase a Dyson, but the sticker price scared me away. The price Walmart was offering the vacuum for was too good to pass up. Free shipping also factored into my purchase. I literally received the vacuum 48 hours after I had placed my order. I used the video below as part of my research before I made this purchase. The vacuum does everything in the video. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4oC3wJ9IsLU&noredirect=1

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GreatStar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good performance, easy to use
10/8/2012

Customer review by amgab56

4.0 stars 10/8/2012 by amgab56
by amgab56

The vaccuum cleaner has very good suction power, the rotary "beater" works well getting dog hair off of rugs. Also the canister is easy to remove and clean. However, the vacuum would serve my purposes better if it had included a different attachment with a brush designed specifically for hardwood or tile floors. I have a lot of hardwood and tile and feel as if the current attachment leaves fine dust and some of the dog hair on my hard floor surfaces. I clean these surfaces with a micro fiber dust mop to really get them clean. Overall the vaccum is easy to use and carry around house and would be perfect for a house with a lot of rugs.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amgab56
Martinsville, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
great value
9/30/2012

Customer review by moosemaniac

4.0 stars 9/30/2012 by moosemaniac
by moosemaniac

The day my last vacuum cleaner handle snapped off was the last straw! I went on Walmart.com and found the Dyson DC23 on clearance. It arrived within a week and snapped together quite easily. I have mostly hard wood floors with area rugs. This vac cleans both very well. I was shocked by the amount of dust and hair it picked up as I had vacuumed only a few days prior. I've always had an upright vac but now will never own anything but a canister. I can get under furniture and beds with ease due to the low profile turbine head. Also, very easy to dump the container. I would definitely buy this vac again. I plan to get one for a Christmas gift for my daughter.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moosemaniac
Northern Mass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great suction, but quality isn't all that
12/7/2012

Customer review by GrantInPhilly

2.0 stars 12/7/2012 by GrantInPhilly
by GrantInPhilly

I've had two Dyson uprights, and I will say there are very effective vacuums; I had problems with the foot release lever jamming on them and one of these levers broke once - wasn't impressed. SO! I decide to try a canister vacuum this time around. The suction is great, as I expected it would be. The powerhead was a disappointment. On the uprights the powerbar is powered by an electric motor; on this canister (and all new model canisters) the powerhead is driven by the SUCTION from the vacuum, which reduces the amount of suction available to pick up the dirt - which is the whole point of vacuuming, isn't it? Also, the powerhead that shipped with it worked just OKAY on bare floors, but when I sent to vacuum a VERY short pile oriental carpet the powerbar stopped, altogether. Completely. It didn't have enough power to even turn itself on even the lowest pile of carpet. Then the powerhead started speeding up and slowing down on its own, at times winding up to near-jet-engine screaming noise so much so you couldn't hear anyone talking next to you, then it would slow right down again - all just sitting there on a bare floor, not even moving. I called Dyson and they sent a replacement powerhead. Same thing, it barely has enough force to turn the powerhead, leaves hair and lint behind on carpet. It took me 15 minutes of going over the carpet again and again and again before I eventually got all the lint up - and then the powerhead clogged. Come on, for $400?? My $75 dirt devil upright does a better job!! I am unhappy. It works great on upholstery - whoopie - a $400 sofa vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrantInPhilly
Philadelphia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best vacuum I have ever had
9/25/2012

Customer review by acobra

5.0 stars 9/25/2012 by acobra
by acobra

The vacuum takes a little while to assemble, but it is not difficult. The canister is much easier for me to use vs. an upright vacuum. Does well with pet hair, too

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
acobra
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Power & Suction for a Canister Vac
9/26/2012

Customer review by ZGreen56

5.0 stars 9/26/2012 by ZGreen56
by ZGreen56

I purchased this Dyson Canister Vac because I needed something more lightweight. I have an older Dyson upright and I really love it but it is just too heavy for me to lug up and down the stairs. I was attracted to this particular model because it is small and packs a lot of power. I especially like the Mini Turbinehead Tool, great for the stairs and furniture. I also like the retractable cord - no more winding the cord!! However, I have one very small complaint, the cord is a few feet shorter than my other Dyson. With my upright Dyson, I can vacuum through three rooms before I have to move to another electrical outlet, with this one the cord can reach through 2 rooms. Other than that one minor issue I love it and would recommend it to anyone looking for a powerful canister vac.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZGreen56
Berryville VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great compact option for a vacuum
11/16/2012

Customer review by playgroundgirl

5.0 stars 11/16/2012 by playgroundgirl
by playgroundgirl

This is my second Dyson. I still have the first one that I bought which is an upright. I have a business and was using it several times a day for 4 years. I needed a second vacuum that was a little more compact and easy to load so I chose the DC23. It fits in a 24" duffle bag that I can easily load into the car with the rest of my equipment. I have found that when first using most Dysons, there are quirky little things that tend to be hard to get used to but once I get used to them, I love my Dysons. They are a true workhorse. I have sucked up many things that I should not have and been able to take apart the machine easily and quickly and unclog it. I have never had to send my Dyson in for repairs but I have heard that their customer service is excellent. Many people have told me that Dyson doesn't even make it in the top ten for best vacuums but I am here to say it is the #1 vacuum for me. They are really worth every penny I have spent on them. I just wish they would come out with a floor cleaning machine.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
playgroundgirl
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love it, love it, love it!
9/26/2012

Customer review by aviatrix3988

5.0 stars 9/26/2012 by aviatrix3988
by aviatrix3988

I have four dogs, and it handily tackles their sheddings on my carpets. I believe that I will never own anything but a Dyson in the future.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aviatrix3988
Haymarket VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Love it!!!
11/13/2012

Customer review by Bryana

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by Bryana
by Bryana

I love my Dyson. I had an upright Dyson but wanted the canister. We recently got rid of all our carpet . I shopped around for a good price and when I saw it on sale, I decided to get it. I also read the reviews about this model and how much others loved it on their harwood floor and decided to give it a try. I love it too !! I have two big dog and 2 kids . It follows me when I vacuum and as a Dyson vaccum doesn't loose suction. I would recommend this or any dyson vac to anyone looking for a good vacuum that has kids or animals and wants to keep their house clean!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bryana
Riverside,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
NOt for hard floors.
12/8/2012

Customer review by Nanabanana4

1.0 stars 12/8/2012 by Nanabanana4
by Nanabanana4

If this had a good hard floor attachment, it might have been good, but neither attachments work well with hard floors. My house has no carpet, so this is not the vacuum for me. Returning it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nanabanana4
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
There is a difference to a Dyson!
1/13/2013

Customer review by Seniorcleaner

5.0 stars 1/13/2013 by Seniorcleaner
by Seniorcleaner

I've been reluctant to spend the money for a Dyson but with the special purchase model available at Walmart, I decided to buy. The quality is top notch. The turbine head canister vacuum is extremely well constructed. The design is efficient and user friendly - parts snap together smoothly and easily. Emptying the canister is simple and clean. I'm really impressed (especially when comparing to a "similar" competitive vacuum I own) with every aspect. It also cleans very effectively - I purchased a separate head for hardwood/tile floors. While it probably wasn't necessary, the attachment is very versatile in getting to the hard to reach places. I opted for a canister model because a shoulder injury makes it difficult to maneuver an upright. This model is light weight and easy to operate without giving up cleaning power. Thanks to Walmart for providing a great item at a reasonable price!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Seniorcleaner
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I LOVE MY DYSON!!!!!
12/10/2012

Customer review by Cicero95

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by Cicero95
by Cicero95

I've had this Dyson model for about 2 weeks now. I'm very impressed with the suction power and in particular the great job it does on hardwood floors. This is my 3rd Dyson, and I would never switch. I've had 2 uprights & decided to try a canister style this time. I believe the canister is better on hardwords for ease of use compared to the uprights (though both styles are great) and easier to vacuum steps. I would recommend this vacuum to anyone who has both hardwoods, carpet and pets.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cicero95
Cicero NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I Love it!
1/12/2013

Customer review by Gigi2100

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by Gigi2100
by Gigi2100

Easy to assemble; very powerful; love the retractable cord; light weight and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gigi2100
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
wonderful vacuum
9/23/2012

Customer review by onlineshoppernut

5.0 stars 9/23/2012 by onlineshoppernut
by onlineshoppernut

This is the greatest vacuum I have ever owned. Had many in my day, but this one tops them all, way to go Dyson.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onlineshoppernut
zoey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nothing to write home about
12/9/2012

Customer review by Redhair68

2.0 stars 12/9/2012 by Redhair68
by Redhair68

Maybe I had high expectations but this vaccum is nothing to write home about. Yes it doesnt loose sucction but is not that incredible to start with. I had an old magic blue kenmore and it did the job well. True that I had to spend money in bags but the vaccum costed less than $100 so you do the math. This Dyson is advertised as great for carpets and bare floors and this is not accurate. The floor/ carpet piece is not great for bare floors. I had to buy a separate part for bare floors and it works a lot better but that was another $50. This vaccum does the job but I do not think it's worth it price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Redhair68
San Juan,PR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 179 total reviews
1-20 of 179 reviews