Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 215 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

215 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

215 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
154
4 stars
38
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 stars
5
1-20 of 186 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 186 total reviews
1-20 of 186 reviews
In Love With My Vacuum
12/1/2011

Customer review by NavyWife

5.0 stars 12/1/2011 by NavyWife
by NavyWife

I love this vacuum so much! I have 2 English Bull Terriers. Even though they are short hair, they still shed a lot. I would have never known so much pet hair was embedded in my carpets until I ran the vacuum over them just once. I was astonished. I know this is not the animal Dyson, but it still works miracles. When I bought my Dyson, I wanted something that would convert easily from carpet to floors and be easy on stairs. I feel like I made the best choice. I literally can't wait to vacuum again. And I love the fact that the vacuuming wand adjusts so much. I am a 5'11 woman, so vacuums are always torture for me with bending over. This vacuum makes life so much easier for me. And I also love how the turbinehead brush bar is smaller then a regular vacuum. It makes it easier to reach under the tables and through the chairs. I no longer have to move everything around to vacuum. This has been the best investment I've ever made when it comes to a cleaning tool.

NavyWife
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Dyson DCTurbine 23
8/17/2011

Customer review by SSchrump

5.0 stars 8/17/2011 by SSchrump
by SSchrump

This vacuum is SWEET! I have always used a canister vac. And always chose another very popular brand. Until now, I never knew there was a better vacuum on the planet. The Dyson will suck your curtains of the rods if you let it. It is that powerful. It comes with all of the attachments anyone could ever want, and no bags, no mess, no smell. We have a Shar-pei so we vacuum just about everyday. Between his hair and his slobber this vacuum is the heat...It's also very funny to watch the stuff you vacuum up swirl around. A BIGGIE? If you suck up something unintended, you can clearly see it, and recover it without having to dig through a nasty, groce bag....How awesome is that???? It tucks away nicely into a closet and this machine is so well thought out. All attachments have a place on the machine itself, so no lost attachments. I will own a Dyson until the day I breathe my last breath, period. I now love to vacuum, who knew?

SSchrump
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Loving It!
12/8/2011

Customer review by floridagal

5.0 stars 12/8/2011 by floridagal
by floridagal

I'm finding myself actually looking forward to vacuuming! The vacuum head is a nice size and very light so it gets behind and under all the usual things that are in the way when you vacuum. The floor suction is wonderful. It does the rugs really great but it doesn't leave the rug looking as nice as my other, really big vacuum. It picks up so much dirt that I was embarrassed the first time I used it - to see how much dust and hair there was in the canister. The canister is very easy to empty and I love that all the additional tools are attached to the unit. The only complaint I have is the hose is a little bit short, especially when I go around chairs. It has a nice long cord but I still added an extension so that I can vacuum my whole house without changing plugs. I live in a small, mobile home in FL This machine is great for me but might not do it if you have a bigger home with more plush rugs.

floridagal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
May be returned to store.
9/15/2011

Customer review by saralee

3.0 stars 9/15/2011 by saralee
by saralee

Purchased the DC23 today, with high expectations, only to be disappointed. As far as the suction performance goes, I don't think many brands can beat Dyson. That said, the ease of use is very poor. When using hand held attachments, the hose kept twisting and getting caught on itself. It was a workout using it on sculptured carpet with very low pile, and this was just one 14 x 14 room. The head (with or without brush moving) would stick to the carpet and I had to really use some effort to move it. Tried adjusting the suction by the hooked lever on handle, but that's just defeating the purpose. I tried going different directions on carpet, but it didn't make any difference. I may use some of the store 30 day return policy to give this vac a chance, but I don't see myself getting new carpet to go with my new vacuum, pretty sure I will be returning it for refund.

saralee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Excellent suction-but won't pick up a lot of stuff
3/22/2012

Customer review by greendaypunkmom

3.0 stars 3/22/2012 by greendaypunkmom
by greendaypunkmom

To begin--yes, this product has excellent suction. Great for corners, couches, bare floors, curtains and stairs. However, it is designed for low surfaces. Since it DOES say this in the product description, I shouldn't complain. It's just hard not to, because I have children who leave pretzle/chip/cereal crumbs around---and a son who, when he cleans the fish tank, drops pieces of the gravel on the floor. This vacuum will NOT pick this stuff up at all. So, you will need to bend down and hand pick any "larger" items like this up yourself (unless you detach the vacuum head and suck it up with the wand. It's frustrating. Great for some things......but for normal "daily living" stuff--it's not very functional (especially if you have kids). The only other problem I have is that the debris collects in just one small area of the canister, which prevents the "swirling" and leads me to believe the vacuum isn't doing as good of a job as it should be doing. This results in a LOT of canister dumping before it's actually anywhere near full. I don't know, I'm thinking of returning it for another Dyson which is better for my needs.

greendaypunkmom
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Rug attachment
9/20/2016

Customer review by GrammaBev

1.0 stars 9/20/2016 by GrammaBev
by GrammaBev

The rug attachment didn't work well when we purchased the unit, and now it won't turn at all on any type of rug. We're trashing this model

GrammaBev
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Excellent product
11/17/2011

Customer review by TBowers

5.0 stars 11/17/2011 by TBowers
by TBowers

I received this vacuum as a gift. This was a purchase from QVC. I received the product and immediately looked at the manual. I guess diagrams are a universal way to describe how to assemble the vacuum but I personally found it confusing. There. I had to refer to the diagram several times to find out how to attach the hose in the front. Sometimes it's easier to read the directions rather than to refer to a diagram. It was helpful that they actually wrote the care instructions. I also found that what goes into the canister tends to clump in one spot and reaches the max line quickly and does not go anywhere else in the canister so I wasn't sure how often the canister needs to be emptied since the debris didn't fill the entire canister. Other than that I really think this is a good quality product and would recommend it to a friend.

TBowers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
DC23 Canister Vac
1/19/2011

Customer review by DysonFanx2

5.0 stars 1/19/2011 by DysonFanx2
by DysonFanx2

I LOVE this vacuum!!! Never have my carpets felt SO clean and looked so great. My husband brought this home for me 3 nights ago and I vacuumed one room 3 times - the first time I picked up so much pet hair it filled the canister to the "max" line - and the room looked clean (just vacuumed the day before w/ other in house vac), the second time was to pick up anything that may have been left as a result of the "full" canister. The third time there was nothing in the canister. I LOVE this vacuum - it is amazing!! We have a large dog who sheds A LOT and this vacuum proves that we now have the cleanest carpets in town :) Also, the suction power is like no other vacuum I have experienced. I will ALWAYS buy Dyson vac's from here on out. I am a complete convert! I promise you...no vacuum compares! So glad we bought this!!!

DysonFanx2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Glad I bought a Dyson!
4/10/2011

Customer review by Duckma

5.0 stars 4/10/2011 by Duckma
by Duckma

I bought a Dyson after researching & looking at them for several years. I knew I wanted a bagless canister as we do not have carpeting in our home. We do live in the country & also have an indoor dog & cat so plenty of dust & hair. I have been using the DC23 for about 3 months. The suction on this vacuum is strong from start to finish. I can vacuum the whole house (1200 sq ft) before I have to empty the container. Emptying it is easy & I am not contributing as much waste (vacuum bags) to the local landfill. I did buy a multi floor tool to use in place of the turbine head which works much better on our bare floors. The only "con" for me is that it is not as lightweight as my previous (cheap) canisters. Overall I am very satisfied with the quality construction, suction power & 5 year warranty.

Duckma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Cannister vs The Ball
2/8/2012

Customer review by franswami

5.0 stars 2/8/2012 by franswami
by franswami

I have used both the cannister Dyson, and The Ball. I feel that in a smaller space, like my current apartment, the cannister vacuum is definitely the way to go. The ease of using just a hose in smaller corners is a definite advantage over having to maneuver an entire machine. The turbine head is more than adequate for cleaning the carpet. If I were cleaning a larger area, the flow and speed of The Ball would be my choice. As many reviews state, an amazing amount of particulate matter still comes out of an apparently clean carpet. Buying a Dyson has made the chore of vacuuming more fun and exciting, since so many of the dust paths are transparent. The ability to see all that nasty dust whirling inside the cannister makes the job satisfying. The look of the machine is also a big plus for me.

franswami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
AWESOME
8/8/2016

Customer review by Z1W2D3

5.0 stars 8/8/2016 by Z1W2D3
by Z1W2D3

Have owned this since 2009 and have not seen any real reduction in its suction power. I only wish I had purchased it a year and a half earlier instead of another canister style.

Z1W2D3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
loving it
3/1/2012

Customer review by acer

5.0 stars 3/1/2012 by acer
by acer

Well, the DC23 made it's maiden voyage through the townhouse, all 3 floors in one swoop. including dusting surfaces & lampshades with hose attachments and then floors including carpet, tile, cement, coir rug and linoleum. and even though it's a new machine and there's some getting used to, it was mostly highlighted by, wow, this is amazing . . . so many positive qualities. canister-style vacuums can be tricky around corners and such but the cleaning power is so exceptional that other review issues weren't a problem. one can adapt to the on/off switch location and everything else because it's so effective and easy to use. no vacuum trails in my carpet, that's a good thing! I'm still getting accustomed to the switch on the head to change from carpet to bare floor, but that's about it.

acer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Amazing Vacuum!!!
7/14/2011

Customer review by TH1079

5.0 stars 7/14/2011 by TH1079
by TH1079

After having the same vacuum cleaner for 10 years I decided to finally buy this fantastic vacuum cleaner. I only know 1 person that owns a Dyson and was always told how wonderful it is. Hands down this is the best ever!! I have 2 cats and vacuum every 2 days to try to keep fur to a minimum. I purchased this vacuum on a Sunday and had vacuumed all of my rugs two days prior, when using this vacuum I realized how little my old one was picking up. There was enough fur after just one use on my small area rug to make another cat! I couldn't believe how amazing the suction was and how much dirt and fur it picks up. I highly recommend this vacuum. I could not be happier with my choice! Thanks for making such a fantastic product!

TH1079
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent !
1/6/2011

Customer review by KrzyNrz

5.0 stars 1/6/2011 by KrzyNrz
by KrzyNrz

Bought my first Dyson just yesterday after reading endless reviews and recommendations from my friend who has cleaning business and has been using Dyson for years. I vacuumed my boyfriend's and my son's house first. I told them to vacuum their carpets and hardwood floors before I arrive with my new toy. I couldn't believe how much the vacuum picked up! It was like they ignored my instructions in first place ! They couldn't believe how much their vacuums left behind! Then, was time for my house. After chasing my dogs with it, I took my time to do the job just to see all its advantages. First its very light and you can pick it up easily. The turbine head fits easily under beds and furniture and expandable wand allowed me to dust my high walls and ceiling. I have yellow lab and toy dog, the vacuum picked all the hair from my carpet and I had to empty the canister three times! The cord is long and I was able to vacuum family and dining room, kitchen and hallway before I plugged it in another outlet. The only thing I would recommend for Dyson engineers to consider is placing on/off switch on hand piece for easier access. But the big button on the main unit you press with your foot works just fine. Overall, great unit! My old vacuum cleaner is going bye bye for good.

KrzyNrz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
I'm impressed!
12/3/2011

Customer review by 1luckylady

5.0 stars 12/3/2011 by 1luckylady
by 1luckylady

It took me a long time to decide to spend that much money on a vacuum cleaner. I thought the performance was exaggerated. I WAS WRONG! I love it! Not only does it do a great job on my carpets, it does a great job on my furniture. The material on my sofa is like a wide wale corduroy and it's brown. I have a long haired cat that is gold and white. Not a good combination! My old vacuum couldn't get the cat hair off, so I bought brushes, sticky rollers, everything I could think of to try to remove it. Finally decided to try the Dyson canister because I could use it on everything. I can now keep up with my cats constant shedding and I can throw away all those sticky rollers and brushes. Thank you Dyson!

1luckylady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Excellent Machine
5/31/2016

Customer review by Vana

5.0 stars 5/31/2016 by Vana
by Vana

I know this machine is getting old, but with proper care and maintenance, it has performed very well for the last 6 years. I will only buy a Dyson product from now on.

Vana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Everything I wanted!
5/4/2011

Customer review by DeeBee

5.0 stars 5/4/2011 by DeeBee
by DeeBee

I decided to purchase a Dyson when my daughter told me about how wonderful her Dyson Animal upright was. I visited her and used her Dyson, and decided I would prefer a canister, as that is what I am used to. I find it hard to believe the incredible suction of this machine. We have persian carpets, tile, wood flooring and short pile wall to wall carpeting in our home. The Dyson actually lifts the persian carpets OFF THE FLOOR when I vacuum them! These are heavy, wool carpets that are 12 X 11 feet. The carpet is lifted off the floor even when vacuuming the center of the carpet. I love this vacuum. I also love the various tools you can purchase to go with it. Thank you Dyson!

DeeBee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Amazing device!
4/14/2011

Customer review by vivian

5.0 stars 4/14/2011 by vivian
by vivian

Dyson is undeniably produces some of the most innovative household devices in today's market. Their remarkable technology makes cleaning simple and efficient. The DC23 is light weight and easy to maneuver. It slips right into my kitchen cabinet above my fridge. Maintenance is simple and unlike other vacuums cleaners, the Turbinehead does not require the consumer to purchase additional filters -- rather a simple rinse every 2 months is sufficient for its maintenance. The only problem I have with the device is that the instruction manual was almost too minimal and simplistic and it was hard to do tasks that appeared elementary. For example, unscrewing the knobs does not require a screwdriver but any flat half-inch wide item will do the trick, such as a quarter. However, it took me a good hour of turning and twisting to screw it off. As well, the manual never stated how the long extension hooks onto the back (as it does in the image provided). It took me 2 months to realize the roll-head had to be attached in order for it to stand in that position. Overall, amazing produce but Dyson might of gone a tad too advance with their instructions, assuming all consumers inherently know how to use their product and not providing enough textual instructions. I cannot imagine my grandmother or even my mother using this product.

vivian
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Three Dysons
2/20/2011

Customer review by M1nistry

5.0 stars 2/20/2011 by M1nistry
by M1nistry

I own 3 Dyson Vacuum cleaners. I started out with the large heavey duty vac, Then got the one with the ball & finally needed a smaller model to use on my stairs. For this I attach the smaller vac head. Well...once I started using the cannister vac with such a great feature for picking up animal hair ( I have 3 Tonkinese cats) I fell madly in love with the light weight hard working suck-a-ma-bug. My husband likes it too, especially how easy it is to push around becasue he is now disbled and he used to do a lot of vacuuming for me. Problem solved. Would I give up any of my Dysons? Absolutely not! I have one Dyson vac on each of my three floors in my house.

M1nistry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Powerful on multiple floor surfaces
11/23/2015

Customer review by Jamie77

5.0 stars 11/23/2015 by Jamie77
by Jamie77

I have had this vacuum for four years and LOVE it. I have three kids and use the vacuum almost daily. This model is great on all floor types. I use it on my carpet, wood and tile with the same results. Great suction and cleaning power. It is awesome on edges. After having used this for four years straight, I need to replace the head because the agitator no longer spins. However, I am happy with this fantastic investment. I use and abuse my vacuum and this model keeps up with me. In the event my vacuum finally gives out, I will purchase the same one because I've had such a good experience.

Jamie77
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
1-20 of 186 total reviews
1-20 of 186 reviews