Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 53 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

53 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

53 reviews | 4 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
6
1-20 of 52 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews
Fantastic little phone!!!
3/24/2013

Customer review by Imasupershopper

5.0 stars 3/24/2013 by Imasupershopper
by Imasupershopper

My Jitterbug Plus has everything I wanted in a phone and more. At 86, with a computer at home, I have no need for cyberspace on the road. The camera on it is great - much better than I'd expected, and so easy to operate. I can drape the phone from my neck as it has a place to insert a cord, which is reassuring if I'm alone and ever need to call for help. At a very affordable price it has an optional 24/7 GPS service where I can be located and aided by certified medical personnel no matter how many miles away from home base I am. Reception on it is fantastic. Additionally, I can readily see the calls I've missed - how many minutes I've used up to a certain time, etc. Customer service is wonderful too. My monthly plan is so much less than I was paying before - I opted for 200 minutes at $19.99/mo - and any unused minutes carry over for an additional 30 days. No contract if I ever become disenchanted (which AINT gonna happen, I'm sure.) What more can I say... I love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (332) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Imasupershopper
Danville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use but services are over-priced.
8/25/2013

Customer review by Loractenaj

3.0 stars 8/25/2013 by Loractenaj
by Loractenaj

Pluses: the phone itself is easy to handle, easy to read, easy to understand. It's to be used by a man who has slightly compromised vision and limited hand dexterity, and he has no problems with the Jitterbug. The Great Call service plan that comes with it has operators who answer in person, are knowledgeable and helpful. I have no complaints there, but on the minus side I marked down the value because we're required to carry Great Call's service which is too expensive. I couldn't transfer service from another carrier which was less pricey so I feel we're overpaying for the limited number of calls we make and receive. With taxes and fees the $14.99 monthly plan becomes nearly $20! Voice Mail isn't included so we do without rather than spending another monthly fee. Would I buy the Jitterbug again? Yes, if there were no other choices. The phone itself and customer service are excellent but service plan cost is out of line.

Was this review helpful? (134) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Loractenaj
Chicagoland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Basic Phone. Good Service.
5/7/2013

Customer review by CarAndSemiTractorMech

5.0 stars 5/7/2013 by CarAndSemiTractorMech
by CarAndSemiTractorMech

This is a great phone phone for anyone that needs reliable phone service. The screen is easy enough to read. Menus are simple and straight forward. The phone seems durable. There are some extra bells and whistles that can be added through Great Call after activating. Some are free, some have a slight up charge. The service, so far, has been excellent with Great Call. They followed through with the number transfer from Virgin Mobile and didn't forget about the transfer. Virgin mobile had to release my old number and it became time consuming releasing it. Wait time when contacting customer service has always been short and the phone utilizes the Verizon network so it makes and receives calls reliably. Customer service operators very polite and helpful. I should be a customer of Great Call for a long time if the phone and service maintain this level of quality. No complaints, no regrets.

Was this review helpful? (131) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CarAndSemiTractorMech
Lawrenceville,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My best friend
8/30/2013

Customer review by TaeChee

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by TaeChee
by TaeChee

I love my Jitterbug. I have had it for approx eight years. When the first one the battery wore out they replaced the whole phone. I had never had a dropped call. I am 76 yrs old and they are great with operator assit. Thank you Jitterbug.

Was this review helpful? (71) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TaeChee
Visalia, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great phone for an elderly person.
5/16/2014

Customer review by Noonay

4.0 stars 5/16/2014 by Noonay
by Noonay

We bought this phone for my mother-in-law who is 95 and lives in an assisted living facility. She wanted some contact with the outside world without having to pay for an expensive landline. The Jitterbug Plus amplifies the other person's voice so it's much easier for someone with a hearing problem to hear the conversation. We were amazed at how clear the voice was. She can now call her other two siblings who live in another state. The one problem with this phone is that the ringer isn't quite loud enough for her due to her hearing problem. We wish there was one additional choice for a ringer that would be louder for someone like her.

Was this review helpful? (48) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Noonay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect cell phone for a senior!
4/23/2014

Customer review by Lila33

5.0 stars 4/23/2014 by Lila33
by Lila33

This phone is awesome for a senior or anyone that wants a simple "user friendly" cell phone. My Mom is in her 80s and just wasn't comfortable with any of the other cell phones she had. But when the Jitterbug arrived she immediately was thrilled with just how easy it is to use. Clear, large numbers , simple stay on menu and phone book selections. She is actually using her cell phone now! And she just loves the style and color!

Was this review helpful? (39) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lila33
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not in use yet so can't review performance
7/8/2013

Customer review by OldSenior

3.0 stars 7/8/2013 by OldSenior
by OldSenior

I bought a Jitterbug cell phone through WalMart. I picked it up a couple of days ago. It is touted as being so simple and easy to use. So, being the naive O/F that I am, I read the instructions for getting it set up and started through the registration process on the internet. The next step said to install the battery. There was no battery in the box. So I figured, alright-maybe it is already in the phone but not fully seated or something. The instructions said to press down and slide the back in the direction of the arrow on the bottom of the case. There is not an arrow anywhere on the case and nothing presses down or slides. Talk about feeling old and out of it and helpless. I will take it back to WalMart tomorrow and get somebody in the Electronics department to help me.

Was this review helpful? (67) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldSenior
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Basic Cell Phone for calls and texting
8/7/2013

Customer review by Jesuslovesyou777

4.0 stars 8/7/2013 by Jesuslovesyou777
by Jesuslovesyou777

This is JUST what I needed. I did not want a phone with too many gadgets and it is simple and easy to use for calls and texting. The reason I could not give it 5 stars is because it is a great cell phone but it is so simple that it misses that element of suprise and challenge. But if you want a basic phone, then this is a great phone to have. I have dropped it three times and not one scratch!

Was this review helpful? (39) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jesuslovesyou777
Morgan City, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
8/30/2013

Customer review by Hendjimerson

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by Hendjimerson
by Hendjimerson

good phone,simple to operate,uses verizon towers so coverage is good,real reasonable price for the phone,no contract monthly rate is great,but you do have to pay $3 dollars extra for voice mail.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hendjimerson
Marengo,Oh.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for an elderly person
1/26/2014

Customer review by Simon249

5.0 stars 1/26/2014 by Simon249
by Simon249

Works just as described, very easy, large buttons, the emergency number on on call works great. Took seconds to program. Very easy online setup. It did take a while to finish the program but wasn't too bad. I love the yes and no easy for a elderly person to understand rather than the normal send and receive phone. The prices are perfect for someone that barely uses the phone it's basically an emergency phone for my in laws.

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Simon249
Nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Jitterbug cell phone is perfect for my elderly Mom
7/22/2013

Customer review by izul

5.0 stars 7/22/2013 by izul
by izul

Very easy to work, large buttons, very good sound and she loves it!

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
izul
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easier for sight-challenged; improvements needed
11/22/2013

Customer review by SM0110

4.0 stars 11/22/2013 by SM0110
by SM0110

Pros: Menu is 'yes/no', which should help navigate menus for the tech-challenged. Operator function!! Large buttons. Built-in way to attach a lanyard. Cons: Panel light doesn't stay on long (problem for sight challenged; no way to configure), no speed-dial function, operator is @call, unless doctor provides letter of sight problem. Plug-in spot is tiny (as on most phones), but for sight-challenged this is a problem.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SM0110
S.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Jitterbug phone cannot be activated.
4/9/2014

Customer review by SeaImage

1.0 stars 4/9/2014 by SeaImage
by SeaImage

Phone I recieved had been previosuly activiated so I am unable to activate it on line. Spent 25 minutes on phone with customer service and tech support. Still not activated. I now need to take time to figure how to return it.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SeaImage
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Big buttons, easy to read, simple to use
1/15/2014

Customer review by GrammaPatS

4.0 stars 1/15/2014 by GrammaPatS
by GrammaPatS

The phone is exactly as advertised with big, easy to read buttons and a simple "yes" "no" command center. I purchased this for emergencies while on the go for my parents and it was easy to explain to them, how to use the phone. It was fairly simple to go on line to set up the service. The instructions did NOT tell me that when I plug it in to charge the battery that it also turns the unit on. My criticism: It was VERY DIFFICULT to open the battery compartment. They will have to take this phone to a service center if they ever need to do it. My second criticism: I purchased the phone for $68.86 with free shipping and when it came the bill said $60. I would like to know, where is my $8.86?

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrammaPatS
Dallas OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not reliable
8/21/2013

Customer review by Alexqw

2.0 stars 8/21/2013 by Alexqw
by Alexqw

The battery won't hold a charge. Customer service was helpful and is sending a new charger. They said I had the wrong charger. I don't understand how that could happen.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alexqw
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Jitterbug Plus is simply the way to go! :-)
9/7/2013

Customer review by ImpulsiveThinker

5.0 stars 9/7/2013 by ImpulsiveThinker
by ImpulsiveThinker

Camera takes clear photos. Prepare for the camera to lag a bit. The screen shows "Saving" but the shutter has yet to sound. There is a delay for the sound and for the photo to save. Call volume is loud even at the lowest call volume. Call ringer is low in noisy areas. That is to be expected. Certain ring tones are more audible than others. For example, the "Telephone" sound is loud and clear, even in moderately noisy areas. The assigned phone number is displayed in the "PHONE INFO" and on the main screen when the phone is flipped open. "PHONE INFO" also displays the battery meter in percentage, signal strength as "Poor" "Fair" "Good" and strong. The time is ONLY displayed on the exterior screen. Entering contacts requires extra steps when using the device. The simplest way, out of three ways, is to create a login for "MyGreatCall" and enter the contacts online. The contacts are saved to the device wirelessly and take a few minutes to update. The third way is to call GreatCall's 24/7 Customer Service centers, verify your account, and allow the representatives to enter the contact for you. I love GreatCall's 24/7/365 Customer Service based in the USA. Each representative I have spoken with over the 10 or more times I have called GreatCall regarding their plans, devices (including the newest addition, the Jitterbug Touch 2), and MyApps have been clear to understand and more than willing to assist me with any and all my needs regarding GreatCall. Activation was a bit long, in that this device takes up to an hour to download all the required information to properly allow the device to be activated. However, once the updating completed, the process was quick and painless. I ported in two numbers. In order to port my numbers in, I needed to receive a temporary phone number from GreatCall. This number was given upon activation of my Jitterbug Plus phone. Second, I called GreatCall Customer Service and gave my departing company's account number and PIN, if any existed. The first ported number came from Net10 wireless. This number was ported (transferred) over in less than 30 minutes. I was told it could take up 2 hours for the port to complete. I was thankful it took less time. The second number ported (transferred) from AT&T GoPhone. This number ported over completely within 20 minutes. I was amazed with the quick service I received from GreatCall. The following starred information is NOT related to GreatCall but shows why I am partially amazed with GreatCall's number transferring times. **I ported a number to T-Mobile from Verizon Wireless prepaid and it took T-Mobile more than 18 hours to transfer my number in. What a disappointment T-Mobile.** On the other hand, GreatCall has more than exceeded my expectations. For a company that has existed for less than the major wireless carriers, while using Verizon's network, GreatCall has earned my business. My family and I have activated 3 Jitterbug Plus devices in the last month (since August 19, 2013) and we may very well add another two lines in the near future. GreatCall offers shared plans and discount off activation fees. They offer monthly bills, so there is no need to find retailers to purchase airtime cards. There is NO CONTRACT to sign. I find this to be an advantage over some of the other, more popular companies. No contract is the way to go for my family and I. Check GreatCall out. **On a different note but with respect to Walmart Product Assist protection plans, check them out too. I have purchased the product care plans for most of my cellular or electronic products over the last few months. They are fairly inexpensive, compared to monthly plans from all the companies that offer monthly protection plans. For accidental damages and incidentals, all claims I have submitted were covered 100%. Make sure you call or visit the website (PRODUCTASSIST.COM/WALMART) after you've purchased the protection plan in-store or online with your WALMART.COM purchase(s). The automated system understands 75% of what is said with voice recognition. Some times, however, it would be nice to speak with a human being to enter all the registration information. Filing a claim is quick and easy. Approval or rejection of claims, once submitted, may take up to 2 hours. I have experienced less than 30 minutes to receive the email with my postage paid shipping label to return, to a specified address, the item in the claim and all the original parts purchased with the item. The refund process is via electronic gift card for the original amount paid including taxes paid. The electronic gift card is sent via email once UPS has received, scanned, and issued a receipt for the returned items using the prepaid shipping label issued by walmart.com product assist. Hold on to your original purchase receipt with TE#, ST#, TR#, date, and how many items purchased in the transaction. These are some of the items requested for registration.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ImpulsiveThinker
Sarasota County, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Basic Cell Phone
11/11/2013

Customer review by Lalunablue

4.0 stars 11/11/2013 by Lalunablue
by Lalunablue

Very easy to use, with great simplistic directions. The only negative is that the ring volume is not very loud, even at the high setting.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lalunablue
St. Onge, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent for Senior Citizens
8/31/2013

Customer review by nordeln

4.0 stars 8/31/2013 by nordeln
by nordeln

I bought this phone for my 86 year old mother. I'm very happy with it, it is designed to be simple to operate, and the option to easily call and talk to a human operator is excellent in this digital age with infinite phone tree menus.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nordeln
Long Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
no good
12/15/2013

Customer review by billyboop

1.0 stars 12/15/2013 by billyboop
by billyboop

a nice looking phone, easy to use But $14.99 per hour to use. I call it the Donald Trump phone

Was this review helpful? (12) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
billyboop
RI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BAD Company! Don't buy from!
5/29/2014

Customer review by SoCAlie

1.0 stars 5/29/2014 by SoCAlie
by SoCAlie

I will never trust or buy a Jitterbug again! Great Call the service provider has decided all of their phones from last year and beyond are ABSOLUTE. You must buy a new phone and trash the old expensive one. I can't believe they would do such a stupid and irresponsible thing! NEVER AGAIN WILL I DO BUSINESS WITH jitterbug!

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SoCAlie
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews