Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 65 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

65 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

65 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
17
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 59 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews
VERY GOOD PRODUCT READ BELOW, DETAILED REVIEW!
2/14/2013

Customer review by TheAssembler

5.0 stars 2/14/2013 by TheAssembler
by TheAssembler

For many of you I see many questions that need answering and I will make this as informative as I can and this review may cover all the necessary questions. 1. This is a BPA free container, and by law any item that comes in contact with food and water for long periods is supposed to be so. 2. This item will not hold or store alcohol, beer, fruit juice, milk or any other items that may spoil, cause damage to the plastics or otherwise compromise the integrity of it, it will also not hold or store hot teas, or beverages that are hot, or any liquid that is over 110 F-120 F or below temperatures of 50 F. 3. This item will not store water at sub freezing temperatures, its range is 50 F to 85 F or there about. 4. The jug is very durable, sturdy and will carry and hold 5 gallons of water for a very long time if proper use of a preserving agent is used. Drops sold in many retail chains that state they contain Tetraglycine Hydroperiodide are good for treating water only for bacteria not for storage, only tablets or drops that contain Sodium Hypochlorite should be used for water storage, or some other agent similar to Sodium Hypochlorite. 5. Proper care should be utilized when filling the container, rinse first, then eject the water, then fill to within 3 inches of the top, add drops, cap carefully making sure threads are properly aligned, then shake repeatedly and the cap interior covered in water while shaking, secure the cap lightly and allow small amount of water to escape to coat threads, then secure completely, port water through the main valve, then turn over and port water from the airflow valve. This will sanitize all ports as well. 5. Label with ink marker the date you store the water and the expire date, if opened prior to date retreat, and store again, making note of dates, 5 years usually for treated water. 6. Store water in a cool, dry, dark place, never outside. 7. Check the container every 6 months to assure it is secure and no leaks, making sure the water inside is intact and not able to leak from it through the ports, making sure the valve is in place and secure. 8. Making sure the container is clean and free of dirt, dust, animal waste and any other debris is always a good plan. Clean the exterior with a combination of 1 gallon warm water to 1 cap full of bleach. 9. Never, ever, rinse the interior with soap, bleach, or any other chemicals if you intend on using it for long term water storage.

Was this review helpful? (168) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheAssembler
Oak Grove, KY.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Top 250 contributor
Coleman Blue 5 Gal Water Container w/spout works!
2/20/2014

Customer review by Raezer

5.0 stars 2/20/2014 by Raezer
by Raezer

The Coleman Blue 5 Gal Water Container with spout works great! I have 3 of them and have used them 120 plus camping days a year. Durable and tough!

Was this review helpful? (32) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Raezer
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
11/11/2012

Customer review by BIGDOGG57

5.0 stars 11/11/2012 by BIGDOGG57
by BIGDOGG57

These jugs are great for transporting water from one place to the other. The cap for letting water out and the cap for air is really nice.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BIGDOGG57
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
New to Coleman
9/14/2014

Customer review by Colemantent

4.0 stars 9/14/2014 by Colemantent
by Colemantent

First I wanted a collapsible container but many of Colemans weak so I went with the hard plastic. Best thing I can say about this is that its not thin plastic, the spout is cheesy but very functional. The spout can be inverted when not in use to protect it during storage. When in use with the vent cap open, it allow s a steady controlled stream without wasting water all over the place. If you leave the vent close the stream is just enough to allow you to drink from it like a water fountain which is nice if you have a pet or lazy kids. Naturally once you fill it, its heavy. Guys don't leave this to your wife or kids to fill or carry. Its rugged enough that it stood up to 3 racoon attacks without be dragged away, dent, or punctured. Recommend you clean with baking soda to keep plastic smell out during storage

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Colemantent
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great size, easy to handle
8/26/2014

Customer review by COJ7

5.0 stars 8/26/2014 by COJ7
by COJ7

I couldn't believe we could still get these because we have had our first one so long so we grabbed another one. Coleman put a great non-slip surface on this so it's easy to handle when setting in place. Before we took it camping we put warm water and some lemon juice in it overnight to get the new plastic smell and taste out of it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
COJ7
Aurora, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good solid product
12/19/2013

Customer review by Brian82

4.0 stars 12/19/2013 by Brian82
by Brian82

Sturdy product. Also none of Coleman water jugs or coolers have ever had BPA in them, which is stated on their website in the Q&A section.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brian82
Saint Johns, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Good size which makes it easier to carry.
4/17/2014

Customer review by Pana

5.0 stars 4/17/2014 by Pana
by Pana

Great for emergency preparedness.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pana
Palm Springs, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE this product!
6/3/2014

Customer review by borntoshoponline14609

5.0 stars 6/3/2014 by borntoshoponline14609
by borntoshoponline14609

Rather than buying bottled water to take camping, we ran water through our Brita filter and poured into this container so we had 5 gallons of drinking & cooking water. I will be buying a 2nd one as well.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
borntoshoponline14609
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Water Cans
9/7/2014

Customer review by gracer1

5.0 stars 9/7/2014 by gracer1
by gracer1

I tried the Ozark Trail Desert Patrol 6-Gal Water Jug first. It was shaped nice and narrow and with a larger spout opening, but it seemed too flimsy or thin walled and too heavy with the 6 gallons. The vent plug also was cheaply designed and not built to last in that I read that it would leak over time. I think this Coleman 5 gallon jug is not too heavy and just right for carrying one or two jugs at a time. It is also of a thicker plastic.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gracer1
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It stores water.
1/2/2014

Customer review by MarkAndSheri

4.0 stars 1/2/2014 by MarkAndSheri
by MarkAndSheri

It costs some money but works great. I can't understand how plastics sell for so much, and yet here I am buying the products.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarkAndSheri
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A very good storage container for the price.
6/8/2014

Customer review by floridatrader

4.0 stars 6/8/2014 by floridatrader
by floridatrader

I purchased this unit because of the "Coleman" brand and that I needed a water container for my mobile food business that would hold up to constant handling on a daily basis. The 5 gal capacity was just what I needed. The handling weight of 5 gal unit was much more manageable then the 7 gal unit that I had been using. The only issue I have so far, is that the cap sometimes has a tendency to "cross thread". Other then that, it has held up very well for my needs.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
floridatrader
Orlando, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It Leaks
4/28/2015

Customer review by Spirittrooper

2.0 stars 4/28/2015 by Spirittrooper
by Spirittrooper

The gasket doesn't seal. It leaks. The spout breaks easy. The plastic vent breaks off. You can buy replacement parts but shipping is more than the parts cost!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spirittrooper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Just righ for camping etc.
10/4/2013

Customer review by CDOne

5.0 stars 10/4/2013 by CDOne
by CDOne

I got this water jug from Walmart,at a really good price. I filled it with water and ice,and took it with me on a three day camping trip with some friends, it worked out great!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CDOne
Spring Grove Va,
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sturdy Water Container
1/21/2014

Customer review by InternationalGypsy

5.0 stars 1/21/2014 by InternationalGypsy
by InternationalGypsy

In my town the water is undrinkable. It is pure poison so I need to store good drinking water. I had been doing the oodles of gallon jugs every month. However, this month I decided to try something different. I was pleasantly surprised by the durability of the container. The pour spout works great - not stiff or hard to turn. When the container is on it's side - it really doesn't take up as much room as I thought. I normally refill small water bottles - but with the pour spout I no longer need to do this. In this way I am saving space as well - a nice bonus!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
InternationalGypsy
Drumright, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dont debate
3/28/2014

Customer review by AngelKittyz

5.0 stars 3/28/2014 by AngelKittyz
by AngelKittyz

Buy this thing now... you would be stupid not to... what were you going to buy? (http://www.walmart.com/ip/Coleman-Water-Carrier-5-GL/13848633?action=product_interest&action_type=image&placement_id=irs-srp-1&strategy=PWVAV&visitor_id=69911703437&client_guid=86da5116-5f99-455d-935a-e8cd05331eee&customer_id_enc=d64630ce073ffa3ca27b5d65690cc860&config_id=8&parent_item_id=21156004%2C15140147%2C33006838%2C19305706%2C21020691%2C17134022%2C24413792%2C34016094%2C27024764%2C27013207%2C28646590%2C30371685%2C33885345%2C27112993%2C21931110%2C19581223&guid=d24eb481-94c4-4be9-9619-a72ab9cbb64a&bucket_id=irsbucketdefault&findingMethod=p13n) that worthless thin plastic water balloon? Don't do it, this one actually works, get it now, stop debating over it, be a smart person, buy it now.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AngelKittyz
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect water container !!!
12/30/2013

Customer review by ILJtheEnlightened

5.0 stars 12/30/2013 by ILJtheEnlightened
by ILJtheEnlightened

Rinse a few times before using. It's a nice compact size that holds exactly 5 gallons. I never liked the big bulky bottles for water dispensers. Make sure you drink or empty out the water carrier before filling. I love the big handle to carry this with 2 hands. Features: Big Handle, Water Spout, and Pressure Release Spigot, Blue Color. I'm thinking about buying another one :D

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ILJtheEnlightened
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great jug
4/11/2014

Customer review by rabble111

5.0 stars 4/11/2014 by rabble111
by rabble111

This thing is great. Works just like it should. And rugged too

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rabble111
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does the job.
4/26/2014

Customer review by GotNicknameIrritation

5.0 stars 4/26/2014 by GotNicknameIrritation
by GotNicknameIrritation

I purchased two to store them upright under a kitchen counter. They have not deformed and the plastic spout cover and button seal work exactly as they should. For this type dormant water storage, these units are good value and do the job. I cannot predict how well the containers would perform if stored differently, stacked, or in a more active environment.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GotNicknameIrritation
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great water container for your campsite
1/18/2015

Customer review by ScruffyPudgy

5.0 stars 1/18/2015 by ScruffyPudgy
by ScruffyPudgy

I like that it tilts up for storage with no chance of leakage. Spigot works well. Unit is compact. I prefer this over the soft sided foldable water carriers.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScruffyPudgy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Jugs
8/12/2015

Customer review by SjBMd

5.0 stars 8/12/2015 by SjBMd
by SjBMd

These jugs are made in USA, what a difference. Great quality product. Compact/ use on the boat for long distance sailing. We store them on deck lashed down. They can take a lot of abuse and hold up wonderfully. They will last for years not just one season.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SjBMd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews