Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 135 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

135 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

135 reviews | 4 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
79
4 stars
20
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 stars
17
1-20 of 130 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews
So much better than a blade grinder!
4/24/2016

Customer review by unclecarl

5.0 stars 4/24/2016 by unclecarl
by unclecarl

I am not a coffee geek brewing different styles each day. After years of using a blade grinder, I finally switched to this one and have been nothing but pleased with it for now more than 2 years. The grind is constantly uniform and adjustable for individual tastes. The admonition found in another review against grinding flavored, oily beans is, IMHO, unfounded. Then again, I follow up a hopper of those oily beans with one of "dry" beans. So, as they say, your mileage may vary. (Speaking of which, I read that the hopper holds a half pound of beans. Unless the design has changed in the last two years, mine holds approx. 12 ounces.) Finally, considering that when I first learned there was such a thing as a burr grinder the prices were in the hundreds of dollars, the price point for this unit definitely makes it a best buy. And lest you be swayed by those who have had maintenance issues with the grinder, let me assure you that Mr. Coffee's customer service department will make things right. I had an issue with my brewer and they resolved it extremely fast.

unclecarl
St. Louis, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Love not having to measure
5/27/2016

Customer review by JeannieC

4.0 stars 5/27/2016 by JeannieC
by JeannieC

I drink a lot of coffee and love having a fresh cup. I do not make full pots of coffee-- I brew many small pots-- 6 cups at a time. This is my second grinder-- the first one stopped grinding after 4 months- not sure why- but they replaced my grinder- they were very pleasant about it. I love this grinder. Select amount to grind-and it grinds the right amount every time. It keeps a good amount of coffee beans in the hopper. Needs to be cleaned often- the cup does collect fine powered coffee. I really do recommend this grinder, I am pleased with this very much.. now there coffee pots are another story, just wish I could get one to work longer that a few months- coffee is expensive and I waste a lot trying to get a pot to brew right.

JeannieC
Grafton, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Poor quality
6/20/2016

Customer review by sad coffee drinker

1.0 stars 6/20/2016 by sad coffee drinker
by sad coffee drinker

I was given this grinder as a Christmas gift and it worked decently for about 4 months when it completely quit working. I read online that these units are prone to getting clogged so I gave it a good cleaning and it worked again for 2 days and then died again. I have tried cleaning it again but it still won't work. There isn't anything lodged in it because the grinder turns freely.

sad coffee drinker
Texas
Gender:Male
Love this grinder!!!
6/25/2016

Customer review by Mary6279

5.0 stars 6/25/2016 by Mary6279
by Mary6279

I got this grinder at a great deal. It is quick and pretty accurate with the grinding. My only question is that my coffee maker uses medium-fine grounds so I am not quite sure which setting this would be.

Mary6279
North Carolina, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Unit started blowing coffee out the bottom
6/18/2016

Customer review by McCrows

1.0 stars 6/18/2016 by McCrows
by McCrows

When it was running it would blow ground coffee out onto the counter. At first I thought it was that the coffee chamber not pushed in far enough however the problem continued until I realized that somehow the cylinder housing was shooting the ground coffee into the housing.

McCrows
San Jose CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Total Disappointment
5/15/2016

Customer review by Sandy Beach 64

1.0 stars 5/15/2016 by Sandy Beach 64
by Sandy Beach 64

I purchase this product in late March, 2016. I have only used it a couple of times, followed the grinding instructions TO THE LETTER!! Today, 5/15/16, I try to use it but: a) did not grind for 6 cups; once it started it stopped. b) I did NOT overfill the hopper. c) made certain that hopper was installed correctly and snug. d) made certain that collection chamber was installed correctly. e) made sure it was plugged in. ALL TO AVAIL........so unplugged the unit and let it sit for 1 hr (as per troubleshooting guide). When I plugged it back in.......NOTHING!!!! Sorry to say but I will NEVER purchase another Mr. Coffee product. It is obvious that when you buy something based in the economy price you only get what you for. VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!

Sandy Beach 64
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
This grinder actually saved me money!
12/14/2012

Customer review by Mikeofquestions

5.0 stars 12/14/2012 by Mikeofquestions
by Mikeofquestions
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm new at making espresso coffee so I read the reviews to help me make the choice. The best review I saw was on the Mr. Coffee Burr Mill. I have to agree with that review. It looks good, it's a burr grinder which I understand to be the best to have. And the price is good. I had some coffee already ground (it came that way) and I ground it again as espresso grind. It worked very well! The coffee reground nice and fine, I compared it to a small espresso preground coffee and it was the same fine ground. I thought that was pretty good to be able to turn medium ground coffee into espresso coffee, course I won't make a habit of that, but it did save the coffee I had on hand because we are not going to make regular coffee in the future. I would recommend this Burr Mill Grinder to anyone that asks me.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mikeofquestions
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Features
5/20/2016

Customer review by coffee guru

5.0 stars 5/20/2016 by coffee guru
by coffee guru

Bought this as a gift for my in laws and they love it

coffee guru
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
11/16/2012

Customer review by Hutch62

5.0 stars 11/16/2012 by Hutch62
by Hutch62
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product has proven itself to the limit that this item is rated for. The grinder, ginds coffee from a very fine mixture to a coarse mixture, however you want it for the type of coffee you wish to blend. A great deal for the money.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hutch62
Sewanee, TN.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great grinder!
2/19/2016

Customer review by Number6

4.0 stars 2/19/2016 by Number6
by Number6

I wish I could give this 4.5 stars, since I think the thing's great, but has just a couple little things that keep me from giving it a perfect rating. First off, I got the red model, and the pictures absolutely do not do it justice. The true color is a deep, dark, metalic red that I think looks great. The picture shows a much lighter red that almost looks like plastic. As for performance, the unit seems to give a nice, consistent grind that tastes pretty good. On top of that, the grinder seems very tough and sturdy. There are a couple things I wish were a tad bit better though (mostly I'm just nit-picking). First off, the grind produces a lot of coffee dust in the bin, which can make the coffee taste a little bitter. I also would prefer if the lid of the bin were attached with a hinge, as I've dropped the thing a few times. Finally, I find that I always make a bit of a mess when dumping the coffee into my filter. I believe it's because of the wide mouth of the bin, combined with the first two issues I mentioned. Don't let my negative comments dissuade you from getting one. All in all, I think this is an absolutely great grinder... just not absolutely perfect (and I'm a hard grader) and for the money, you can't beat it.

Number6
Parsippany-Troy Hills, NJ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Quiet and efficient burr mill grinder
11/18/2012

Customer review by murraba

5.0 stars 11/18/2012 by murraba
by murraba
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I like this grinder. It is priced below comparable models, and it exceeded my expectations, grinding quietly and efficiently. It has a large hopper that can hold a pound of coffee beans. The bin that collects the ground coffee has a coffee measure and brush neatly fitted in the lid. I don't really know how durable the model is yet, but the ease of operation suggests it should hold up well.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
murraba
alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible!
4/16/2016

Customer review by Mitchin

1.0 stars 4/16/2016 by Mitchin
by Mitchin

Purchased for the sole intention of espresso grinds and it doesn't even come close! Will be returning to store! Buyer beware if your looking for something to grind espresso look elsewhere!!!

Mitchin
South Carolina, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Not for espresso grind
4/12/2016

Customer review by Love good coffee

2.0 stars 4/12/2016 by Love good coffee
by Love good coffee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for espresso grind. Very disappointed as the super fine grind is still very coarse.

Love good coffee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it when it works!
4/2/2016

Customer review by Mari7

3.0 stars 4/2/2016 by Mari7
by Mari7

I got this model about 3 months a go could say it was greate untill the hopper broke lost my receipt so I got a new one after only a week of use this one did the same have 2 broken hoppers and $80 later no coffee grinder see photos below you decide

Mari7
Riverside, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Does a great job for drip coffee makers but....
2/13/2016

Customer review by SpiceUmUp

3.0 stars 2/13/2016 by SpiceUmUp
by SpiceUmUp

First, let me say that we are very happy with the performance of this grinder. IT seems pretty consistent and the medium grind works perfectly for our drip coffee maker (also a Mr. Coffee). My sole complaint is the hopper is poorly made. We have been through two and I am about to order a third. The bowl separates from the tube. This is the second time we have had this failure in two years. WE don't adjust the grind and we only take the hopper off for cleaning the hopper and the burrs on occasion so it is beyond me why the tube and bowl cannot be more robustly assembled. BUT we love the performance of the grinder so I will keep ordering replacement hoppers....

SpiceUmUp
Butler, NJ, United States
Gender:Male
Exactly as advertised
2/19/2016

Customer review by miketron

4.0 stars 2/19/2016 by miketron
by miketron
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It takes the beans and makes them smaller. Exactly what I was looking for. I know the blade style grinders suck and I didn't want to spend $100+ on a expensive Burr Mill grinder. This does an awesome job for the money. I use this for pour over coffee. I think the grounds are pretty consistent - there is one spot near the rim where all the finest (bitter) bits usually stick, which is handy since I just discard those before dumping the remainder into my coffee maker. It's not a true burr mill grinder, but for the price it does the job quite well and it's easy to adjust the ground size depending on your application.

miketron
Lincoln, NE, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
OMG! I love this thing!
2/5/2016

Customer review by JdocJ314

5.0 stars 2/5/2016 by JdocJ314
by JdocJ314
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love coffee especially my favorite Colombian Supremo from SamsClub where I use to grind it in the store and every one would come wandering down the lane where the wonderful smell would draw them. I would think how wonderful it would be to fill up my hone with this smell instead of the store and this machine does exactly what I thought about doing for years. I never noticed how coffee starts to weaken and go stale almost immediately after it has been ground, now when I have my coffee ground fresh when I want to make a pot it is just to great to explain. I got a place on the kitchen counter for the rest of the MrCoffee equipment I can't wait to try.

JdocJ314
Blackwood, NJ
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best value for price
1/21/2016

Customer review by frozenj

4.0 stars 1/21/2016 by frozenj
by frozenj
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this grinder, which is why I bought it to replace the identical one that broke (after 4.5 years). Is it perfect? No. Is it the most durable grinder? Maybe not - but the parts that I've broken (until the last one) are easy to replace. What I did notice, however is after about 4 years of using this grinder, I started to find coffee grounds all over my counter. When I bought my replacement grinder, I opened up the old one to find that it had about 1.5 lbs of ground, rancid coffee on the inside of the housing. I'm not sure how it got there, but I'm assuming that something broke and that this is not normal. I do find that the bean hopper on the top does break from time to time (easy to replace).

frozenj
Abbotsford, BC, Canada
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great while it lasted.
3/24/2016

Customer review by Thassell

2.0 stars 3/24/2016 by Thassell
by Thassell

I bought this a couple of months ago, now it has just quit grinding. Great while it lasted, but I wouldnt purchase one every couple months just to have it.

Thassell
Washington, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Great Coffee Grinder
3/4/2016

Customer review by CaffeineTripp

4.0 stars 3/4/2016 by CaffeineTripp
by CaffeineTripp

It is wonderful to have a coffee grinder to get some fresh coffee in the morning rather than having to deal with the bland, stale coffee that comes in the cans. Recently, however, my grinder will not grind to the full setting I applied it to. 8 cup setting will grind to ~4, sometimes ~1, sometimes ~6, but never to it's full setting. It still works wonderfully though, and clean the outside often. Something wrong with the button/dial perhaps?

CaffeineTripp
Duluth, MN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews