Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 43 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

43 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

43 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 38 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
No Hassle Satellite TV While Traveling
8/13/2013

Customer review by AZtravelinGal

5.0 stars 8/13/2013 by AZtravelinGal
by AZtravelinGal

I'm a full time RVer and the tailgater is perfect. It beats the pricey satellite antennas that go on top of your rig and lugging around a large satellite dish that you have to calibrate, not to mention the room it takes up when traveling. I spoke to Dish about replacing my existing equipment with this setup and was assured that it could be done. They did caution me about the fact that this is a mini dish and clouds could affect service. Thus far have gone thru about 3 weeks of monsoon rains and have had no problem losing service. Sets up in about 15 minutes!

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AZtravelinGal
Great Sand Dunes, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very easy to set up.
6/20/2013

Customer review by SpanielChariot

5.0 stars 6/20/2013 by SpanielChariot
by SpanielChariot

Easy to set up and works great. Must call Dish Network whenever you change locations to get local networks and then you have to go through the system setup again. The dish gets it's power from the receiver and, when you power the receiver down to go through the system setup (to get local channels), the dish has to repeat the process to locate the satellites. It takes twenty minutes or so to go through the process. If you have a power outage, the process starts all over again. However, once it's up and running it works great. Perfect for our motorhome. We also purchased the external hard drive to use the DVR. Must buy the one with the external power supply.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SpanielChariot
Cape Coral, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Expensive but worth the money
9/13/2012

Customer review by FightOnTrojans

4.0 stars 9/13/2012 by FightOnTrojans
by FightOnTrojans

We have taken the DISH satelite to USC games and have enjoyed watching the game with friends. We will be retiring soon and look forward to many rving trips with our DISH. Walmart has great service and though we are not planning on returning our DISH it is comforting to know Walmart has a "Costco-like" return policy....LOVE THAT!

Was this review helpful? (27) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FightOnTrojans
Malibu, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Not as easy as 1-2-3
11/21/2013

Customer review by LhCoCa

4.0 stars 11/21/2013 by LhCoCa
by LhCoCa

We just received the Tailgater HDTV system and the ViP211K HD receiver last week. The intention is to use it in an RV. Now, we also have Dish Network in our home, but chose not to use one of those receivers because it is way too much trouble to unhook and hook it all back up with our home setup as it is. Lots and lots of cables in a small area. Anyway, what they don't tell you when you buy this, so save the money on a service call, is that the initial downloads for the new receiver must be done from a home Dish Network system first, which was a crazy mess for us! Not sure how to set it up if you don't have a Dish Network system at home, but this is what we had to do. It was such a frustrating couple of days of phone calls and trials......BUT, I will say, the Technical support thru Dish was terrific! Outstanding! Once we got the right person on the phone, he walked us thru EVERYTHING, step by step; which was no easy task for us non-techno, impatient people. He was patient, kind and dealt with our frustration like a champ! Our receiver is now programmed correctly and works in the RV, which is another long story but I'll spare you the details. Of course, the RV hasn't left the garage yet, but soon to be remedied! Hopefully now it will be as easy as 1-2-3!

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LhCoCa
Lake Havasu City, AZ.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beware of DISH sales and marketing reps
4/17/2014

Customer review by FrankXYZ

2.0 stars 4/17/2014 by FrankXYZ
by FrankXYZ

I called DISH about this product before purchasing. I asked if the "pay as you go" plan allowed the purchaser to buy in daily or weekly increments, as opposed to buying one month at a time. I was told "yes", only to find that this was not true. You have to buy one month, even if you intend to use the service only for a few days at a time. Too bad, because it was easy to set up, and I like the portability aspects of it. If you already have DISH for home service, purchasing a month at a time is not a big issue, since adding this receiver is allegedly less than $10/month. I don't know for sure, since I have FIOS at home. I'm probably going to return this unit.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrankXYZ
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice idea, unable to get local channels
9/4/2013

Customer review by FootballFanAuburnAL

2.0 stars 9/4/2013 by FootballFanAuburnAL
by FootballFanAuburnAL

The setup is super easy, and if you don't need local channels you will be happy with it. I worked with DISH customer support for 2 days trying to get local channels (other people with one of these less than 100ft away could get locals) and they basically gave up and told me to contact a retailer for assistance. I would think that DISH advanced technical support would have more knowledge than a local retailer... I returned the product because I was unable to get my local channels, but that was the only problem I had - deal breaker for me, but maybe not for others. I was unimpressed with the DISH tech support team, so I didn't waste any more time trying to troubleshoot.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FootballFanAuburnAL
Auburn, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little no hassle sat setup
7/14/2014

Customer review by 9411

5.0 stars 7/14/2014 by 9411
by 9411

Traveling with my travel trailer in places that may have no tv this works well. Easy to setup and use.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
9411
Brownsville, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great and easy to setup
4/7/2014

Customer review by rshaw821

4.0 stars 4/7/2014 by rshaw821
by rshaw821

We use the Tailgater for camping. The Tailgater was easy to setup. After calling Dish to initialize the receiver, we were watching TV in less than 15 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rshaw821
Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Tailgater is exactly what we needed.
6/13/2013

Customer review by lilbitsofit

5.0 stars 6/13/2013 by lilbitsofit
by lilbitsofit

This is great for camping. Set up is very easy once you find a spot to let it find the satellite. It is kind of like you set it and forget it. I would highly recommend this unit to everyone. So far it has work great. We live in PA and were going to be camping in VA so I had this item ship to the Walmart in Gordonsville, VA. I also received excellent help from Kim in the electronics department at this Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilbitsofit
Flinton, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
WILL NOT GO ANYWHERE WITHOUT IT
4/18/2013

Customer review by FOURFOOT

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by FOURFOOT
by FOURFOOT

LIVING IN OKLAHOMA AND BEING IN 3 TORNADO'S AT LAKE EUFULA WITHOUT GOOD WEATHER INFO. FROM TULSA, WE USED THE TAILGATER AT THE LAKE FOR THE LAST TWO WEEKS ,IT WAS GREAT, WE WILL NOT GO ANYWHERE WITHOUT IT, WE LIKE KEEPING IN TOUCH WITH THE WORLD. A.D.L.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FOURFOOT
OKLAHOMA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bad experience
7/10/2014

Customer review by BCHogryder

2.0 stars 7/10/2014 by BCHogryder
by BCHogryder

System not what I expected. Had a lot of problems getting it to work. I was on the phone with Dish for about an hour and a half before the system would operate at all. The next day it would not operate . I was told to call the manufacturer, called and was told it would 2 to 3 hours before they could help me and to leave a message. I never did get to speak to them. After the third day of working with it I finally got it to work, but not the way it should. I have not had a very pleasant experience with the system. Wish I had purchased the warranty with it, had I had known the problems it could create I would have.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BCHogryder
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
non functional in nw pa
5/30/2013

Customer review by rny1

1.0 stars 5/30/2013 by rny1
by rny1

tailgater not designed to work in nw pa. tried it in three different locations all within 100 mi. of pgh.Need three satellites to recieve full programming and hd. we could only get two and that was at home where we have a dish on the roof. other two locations yielded one satellite. dish tech support was as helpful as always. read the script and said to call King controls. They advised they had no secret information. Tailgater was designed to pick up western satellites. Fortunately the device was purchased from Walmart. Best part of the experience. IT arrived when it was scheduled and picked up without any fuss. It was returned without fuss either crediting card with purchase price and price of extended warranty. If you are considering this item, make sure you buy it from Walmart

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rny1
nw pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent
5/25/2013

Customer review by kellndan

5.0 stars 5/25/2013 by kellndan
by kellndan

We love our new Tailgater satellite, very lightweight & portable, & love the pay as you go plan.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kellndan
Ormond Beach, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
8/18/2014

Customer review by farsell

5.0 stars 8/18/2014 by farsell
by farsell

I use the Tailgater with my RV and it works great and was very easy to setup.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
farsell
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A must have for RV'ers
4/14/2014

Customer review by PoliceChief

4.0 stars 4/14/2014 by PoliceChief
by PoliceChief

This is a no brainier for RV'ers. The Tailgater was easy to setup and performed flawlessly. Just follow the instructions and when prompted contact Dish to activate your receiver and in minutes you are watching TV.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PoliceChief
Avon Park, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Buy on a Great Product
9/15/2014

Customer review by Flowback

5.0 stars 9/15/2014 by Flowback
by Flowback

I had a great experience with this transaction from the time I ordered it until I was viewing the football game on a remote oil well location in rural southern Texas. It was $50.00 cheaper than you could get it on the Dish website. Free shipping and easy setup. All my co-workers have a similar product and I paid less than everyone of them.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Flowback
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
As easy to use as advertised.
10/27/2013

Customer review by Halmo

5.0 stars 10/27/2013 by Halmo
by Halmo

We received the product sooner than expected. Everything was in great shape. It was easy to set up and after Dish activated it we got full service in 5 minutes. And of course Walmart had the best price around. We would definitively recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Halmo
Victoria, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This was easy to set up and works for most station
8/10/2014

Customer review by happy916camper

5.0 stars 8/10/2014 by happy916camper
by happy916camper

Some stations didn't get perfect reception, but since I was camping in the mountain I thought it worked well. The kids could watch their shows when weather was bad. Easy to set up.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happy916camper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy system for hunting cabin
11/25/2013

Customer review by Hunter37

4.0 stars 11/25/2013 by Hunter37
by Hunter37

I bought the Tailgater to use during hunting season at our cabin. The initial set up takes time for the receiver to download software, and for the account to be activated. Overall, it works as advertised.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hunter37
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do not buy
3/28/2014

Customer review by Broncron

1.0 stars 3/28/2014 by Broncron
by Broncron

Did not ever pick satellite up tech support from dish network was bad was very disappointed with prpduct.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Broncron
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews