Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 109 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

109 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

109 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
65
4 stars
33
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 107 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 107 total reviews
1-20 of 107 reviews
Not as good as advertised
6/9/2013

Customer review by Decksmoker

2.0 stars 6/9/2013 by Decksmoker
by Decksmoker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Keeps a good low 200's temp, but doesn't go as high as advertised. Thermometer is inaccurate as well. Welds leak drippings from bottom pan, very messy. Almost Impossible to level because of non adjustable legs

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Decksmoker
Rochester, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good smoker
5/3/2014

Customer review by McGo

4.0 stars 5/3/2014 by McGo
by McGo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love it. It's nice and sturdy. I have used it several times and it does a great job at smoking food.

Was this review helpful? (18) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
McGo
Martinsburg, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Messy
7/19/2014

Customer review by cdmsberry

4.0 stars 7/19/2014 by cdmsberry
by cdmsberry

I've had all types of smokers and have gotten lazy in old age so went back to electric. I wanted to have a fixed temp. It did a good job. I loaded ir down with two racks of ribs, one whole chicken and a deer roast. The roast should have come out sooner, it was too too dry. The ribs and chicken were fine. The inside of the smoker looks like a black grease fire happened inside. I cleaned the racks and the water and chip containers half way and the bottom of the smokers the best I could. I might try to put a pan on the bottom rack to catch the grease next time with some water in it. The door somehow on the inside is bent and sticks when you try to open or close it. I don't know if I put the handle screws in too tight and put too much pressure on it or just from the heat it warped. My temperature was fine I try to keep my smoker between 225 and 250 the chips smoked fine. I could see smoke coming out of the unit the whole time, but then again it could have been from all the grease.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cdmsberry
Deltaville, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Food taste great and easy to use!
6/8/2014

Customer review by SmokerFan

5.0 stars 6/8/2014 by SmokerFan
by SmokerFan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After 20 years of using bullet type charcoal smokers I didn't expect the electric smoker to please my taste requirements. But after using this smoker a few times I love the food and ease of use. If you are tired of spending more money on charcoal than the meat your cooking then electric may just be a great option for you. Also after you get the temp set where you want it, you will not have to mess with it till your food is ready or you run it out of water. Doing a whole chicken really slow took around five hours and used about 2/3 of the water up. So if you were doing a large meat item you would need to add some water. Suggestion: A wireless thermometer or any thermometer with a probe you can run in the back hole of the unit to give you a temp reading without opening the door helps a lot. Warning: If you are wanting to cook really low and slow with lots of smoke this may not be for you. I don't get lots of smoke from the wood chips till around 250* But I don't care for a heavy smoke flavor so I like this aspect. Also THIS IS NOT A GRILL it is a smoker!

Was this review helpful? (43) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SmokerFan
Northeast, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little smoker
5/22/2014

Customer review by HoustonSmoker

4.0 stars 5/22/2014 by HoustonSmoker
by HoustonSmoker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Having never smoked meat before I was a little fearful of how things would turn out. In fact, the process was very easy and the results very satisfying. The smoker itself arrived in good condition with the exception of missing one of three bolt sleeves on one of the legs. The unit was sturdy enough so I just added some gorilla glue and secured it with the other two bolts. The smoker is actually a bit sturdier, thicker and better well built than I was expecting. My first foray into smoking involved four chicken quarters and a rack of St. Louis ribs. The chicken quarters were mildly smoky in flavor and super juicy. The ribs were tasty but not as tender as I would have liked. I smoked the chickens for four hours and the ribs for five. Will leave the ribs in a bit longer next time and see if they soften up a bit more. Excited to try some more stuff and this smoker is so easy to use I won't be so fearful next time.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HoustonSmoker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
If you want a cool smoke, this isn't for you.
3/23/2014

Customer review by DeepwoodSam

1.0 stars 3/23/2014 by DeepwoodSam
by DeepwoodSam
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The product seems well made, sturdy, easy to assemble, although it has space for a couple more racks. The element is huge, 1500 watts, and the way the smoke tray is located, you need to turn up the heat to get it to smoke. On low, which appeared to keep the temperature at about 175, the wood chips would only dry out for me, not char. When I turned it up to medium, the chips started to smoke, but the temperature went up to 275. I do not like to smoke fish hot, I like to keep the temp around 175 for a longer period of time so I can put a couple of batches of smoke chips in. This doesn't work for me. The only way I could get the chips to smoke on low was to remove the chip and water tray holder, place the chip tray directly on the element, near the calrod entry point. The water and chip trays appear to be Stainless Steel. The smoker is double walled, so temp should be easier to maintain. The racks are chrome plated and look good. The temp control is similar to one used in your electric fry pan, but does not have any temperature settings other than low, med and high.

Was this review helpful? (52) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeepwoodSam
Thompson Falls, MT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well made, good smoker for the money.
4/5/2013

Customer review by Wooof

4.0 stars 4/5/2013 by Wooof
by Wooof
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this smoker based on the information provided on the Wal Mart web site. One of my criteria for an electric smoker was to be able to add wood chips without having to open the main door where the food is cooking due to the fact that when the door is opened to add chips, heat is lost and on an electric smoker it takes time to re-heat the inside. The information on the site mentioned that the wood chip tray was on the outside of the box under the the smoker, so i purchased this smoker based on the fact that the wood chip tray was on the outside as stated in the article on the web site. When i started assembling the smoker, i realized that the wood chip tray was not on the outside of the smoker as stated. The grease drip pan is on the outside, on bottom of the smoker. This is disappointing to me, the product was misrepresented in the description on the web site. Once again, i made this purchase based on the fact that the wood chip tray was on the outside of the unit. If you are wanting to purchase an electric smoker with the wood chip tray on the outside, stay away from this one.

Was this review helpful? (36) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wooof
Atlanta Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value - does the job
9/25/2012

Customer review by emtva

4.0 stars 9/25/2012 by emtva
by emtva

This is a basic electric smoker, my first, after doing alot of research and wanting one that was double walled (for heat control) with the capacity to smoke a turkey or multiple smaller food items. Price was also a factor. I've used it just twice with good results. Unlike more expensive digital thermostat controlled models, this is manual, which requires you to monitor and adjust it to get the chips smoking and set at the right cooking temperature using the dial-type thermostat regulator. I found little correlation between the dial settings of low-medium-high on the regulator and the actual temperature attained as the dial allows you to spin it around more than 360 degrees (that was somewhat disappointing). Overall, it's a good value.

Was this review helpful? (59) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
emtva
Manassas, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent purchase
7/13/2016

Customer review by daveyboy

5.0 stars 7/13/2016 by daveyboy
by daveyboy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Exactly what I was looking for. The temperature gauge is off 25degrees so you should put an oven thermometer in it to test it. Other than that, very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
daveyboy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Smoker
3/1/2013

Customer review by LansingX

5.0 stars 3/1/2013 by LansingX
by LansingX
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This smoker exceeded my expectation. I was a bit skeptical about an electric smoker, as I am a fan of real fire/charcoal. This smoker heats up quickly and stays at the correct temp. The smoker is easy to maintain and requires very little tending. The water pan and the wood chip pan lasted about 3 hours per fill at 225 degrees. The first use was with pork baby back ribs with apple wood chips and no sauce. Was the best ribs I have made to date. I see this smoker getting some use and making some awesome BBQ meals. The folks a Masterbuilt did a good job making this smoker. The packaging department did quite well too. If you get one, you will see.

Was this review helpful? (110) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LansingX
Lansing, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Masterbuilt Electric smoker
12/29/2013

Customer review by mrsfrey

5.0 stars 12/29/2013 by mrsfrey
by mrsfrey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is our first smoker but my husband has had experience in smoking meats and cheeses in a smoke house on the family farm in the past. Living in a "neighborhood" we needed a better option than building a smoke house in the back yard. The smoker was very easy to set up, kept a very even temperature during the smoking process. We made 50 lbs of deer sausage the first day and smoked racks of ribs a week later. There are alot of great websites that will give recipes and info on the types of chips to purchase. I ordered a bag of each flavor online but found them much cheaper when I went to the Walmart store a few days later. Since it was out of season, I ordered the smoker online and had it delivered to the house. It was pretty heavy... too heavy, in fact for me to have loaded and unloaded myself to hide it for my hubby for Christmas. Much easier to have it shipped to the door!

Was this review helpful? (37) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrsfrey
Lincold, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Smoker
6/27/2014

Customer review by jckick

4.0 stars 6/27/2014 by jckick
by jckick

We have used it a few times and each time worked great. One time, we smoked over 20lbs of meat including 12 lbs of pork sholder, 5lbs of brisket, 6 lbs of turkey breast and a couple of pounds of chicken wings for a party. Added them at different intervals but pulled them all out around the same time. All of it came out great with that smoke smell and taste. Not sure where people say that it will not smoke at low temps, I had no issues with the small chips (pre-soaked) smoking until they were ash as they are right above the element. I had the temp at between 180 and 210. For a 6-8 hour smoke, we did have to add chips every 1.5-2 hours as the chip tray is a bit small but not really a big deal. The chips smell like burnt wood to start but once the meat start to warm, you get that smokey smell. I recommend it

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jckick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is a great smoker
4/4/2013

Customer review by rosie864

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by rosie864
by rosie864

great smoker, much better than the "bullet" type. Lots of control with the thermostat so you can slow cook ribs so they fall off the bone.Smoked a turkey and then some ribs, both came out fantastic. I would recommend this product to the novice or experienced backyard warrior.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rosie864
worcester, ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great price, great smoker.
10/12/2014

Customer review by TarheelTim

5.0 stars 10/12/2014 by TarheelTim
by TarheelTim
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this smoker to replace my trusty bullet style smoker. Just used it for the first time today and did a turkey breast and a butt. Like the ease of access. No problems with the assembly. Instructions were more than adequate. Slight leakage around door, but not problematic. Don't know if I'll put on a gasket as suggested or not. Thermometer on door was correct within 10 degrees +/-. No problem getting smoke as long as you like it kind of light. Cup of chips soaked briefly lasted 2 hours. Thought about propane, but electric is so easy! Temperature control is accurate and easy. Decided all that digital stuff was just something else to go wrong. I will line the liquid pan with foil next time as it was hardest to clean. For the money, you can't beat this smoker.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TarheelTim
Granite Falls, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little smoker
6/26/2016

Customer review by NanaSuSu

5.0 stars 6/26/2016 by NanaSuSu
by NanaSuSu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this as s gift for my SIL. So far, he loves it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NanaSuSu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good beginner
4/30/2016

Customer review by Jamison1967

4.0 stars 4/30/2016 by Jamison1967
by Jamison1967

Works good only used one day. Digital temp might be better. But heats up well. Still new to smoking.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jamison1967
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for both smoking and cooking
1/28/2014

Customer review by dkmf47

5.0 stars 1/28/2014 by dkmf47
by dkmf47
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great product because no digital controls to go bad. Most smokers only go to 275 degrees. This smoker, cooker has simple control and goes to 400 degrees. It will cook or smoke anything you wish to cook or smoke.

Was this review helpful? (71) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dkmf47
wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works as described
6/7/2016

Customer review by Buss

5.0 stars 6/7/2016 by Buss
by Buss
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had been doing quite bit of research on electric smokers.. After numerous online sale locations Walmart had the best price for the same unit others were selling. Plus free home delivery........

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Buss
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Masterbuilt smoker
6/5/2016

Customer review by Southerngrandma

5.0 stars 6/5/2016 by Southerngrandma
by Southerngrandma
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Got this smoker for my husband. Very easy to use. Temperature gauge seems accurate. Seems well constructed. Had compared some others, then my brother recommended this one to us as he had one too. Glad we got it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Southerngrandma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Smoker that is very easy to use
4/27/2013

Customer review by TSIG

4.0 stars 4/27/2013 by TSIG
by TSIG

Smoker works very good temperture is consistant and cooks very well it's great not having to constantly monitor temperture plug it in set temperture and walk away . The wood chip bowl & water bowl should have been made a little larger in my opinion and the water bowl should not be sitting directly over the heating element . I have only used it twice since receiving it and have not gotten as much of a smoke flavor as I would like like I had on my charcoal smoker . Price wise I have found this same smoker at Tractor Supply Company for $129.00 now I will have to see if Walmart will match this .

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TSIG
Katy,Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 107 total reviews
1-20 of 107 reviews