Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 85 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

85 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

85 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
47
4 stars
27
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 83 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews
Great Smoker
3/1/2013

Customer review by LansingX

5.0 stars 3/1/2013 by LansingX
by LansingX

This smoker exceeded my expectation. I was a bit skeptical about an electric smoker, as I am a fan of real fire/charcoal. This smoker heats up quickly and stays at the correct temp. The smoker is easy to maintain and requires very little tending. The water pan and the wood chip pan lasted about 3 hours per fill at 225 degrees. The first use was with pork baby back ribs with apple wood chips and no sauce. Was the best ribs I have made to date. I see this smoker getting some use and making some awesome BBQ meals. The folks a Masterbuilt did a good job making this smoker. The packaging department did quite well too. If you get one, you will see.

Was this review helpful? (78) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LansingX
Lansing, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value - does the job
9/25/2012

Customer review by emtva

4.0 stars 9/25/2012 by emtva
by emtva

This is a basic electric smoker, my first, after doing alot of research and wanting one that was double walled (for heat control) with the capacity to smoke a turkey or multiple smaller food items. Price was also a factor. I've used it just twice with good results. Unlike more expensive digital thermostat controlled models, this is manual, which requires you to monitor and adjust it to get the chips smoking and set at the right cooking temperature using the dial-type thermostat regulator. I found little correlation between the dial settings of low-medium-high on the regulator and the actual temperature attained as the dial allows you to spin it around more than 360 degrees (that was somewhat disappointing). Overall, it's a good value.

Was this review helpful? (49) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
emtva
Manassas, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good for both smoking and cooking
1/28/2014

Customer review by dkmf47

5.0 stars 1/28/2014 by dkmf47
by dkmf47

Great product because no digital controls to go bad. Most smokers only go to 275 degrees. This smoker, cooker has simple control and goes to 400 degrees. It will cook or smoke anything you wish to cook or smoke.

Was this review helpful? (55) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dkmf47
wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Food taste great and easy to use!
6/8/2014

Customer review by SmokerFan

5.0 stars 6/8/2014 by SmokerFan
by SmokerFan

After 20 years of using bullet type charcoal smokers I didn't expect the electric smoker to please my taste requirements. But after using this smoker a few times I love the food and ease of use. If you are tired of spending more money on charcoal than the meat your cooking then electric may just be a great option for you. Also after you get the temp set where you want it, you will not have to mess with it till your food is ready or you run it out of water. Doing a whole chicken really slow took around five hours and used about 2/3 of the water up. So if you were doing a large meat item you would need to add some water. Suggestion: A wireless thermometer or any thermometer with a probe you can run in the back hole of the unit to give you a temp reading without opening the door helps a lot. Warning: If you are wanting to cook really low and slow with lots of smoke this may not be for you. I don't get lots of smoke from the wood chips till around 250* But I don't care for a heavy smoke flavor so I like this aspect. Also THIS IS NOT A GRILL it is a smoker!

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SmokerFan
Northeast, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
If you want a cool smoke, this isn't for you.
3/23/2014

Customer review by DeepwoodSam

1.0 stars 3/23/2014 by DeepwoodSam
by DeepwoodSam

The product seems well made, sturdy, easy to assemble, although it has space for a couple more racks. The element is huge, 1500 watts, and the way the smoke tray is located, you need to turn up the heat to get it to smoke. On low, which appeared to keep the temperature at about 175, the wood chips would only dry out for me, not char. When I turned it up to medium, the chips started to smoke, but the temperature went up to 275. I do not like to smoke fish hot, I like to keep the temp around 175 for a longer period of time so I can put a couple of batches of smoke chips in. This doesn't work for me. The only way I could get the chips to smoke on low was to remove the chip and water tray holder, place the chip tray directly on the element, near the calrod entry point. The water and chip trays appear to be Stainless Steel. The smoker is double walled, so temp should be easier to maintain. The racks are chrome plated and look good. The temp control is similar to one used in your electric fry pan, but does not have any temperature settings other than low, med and high.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeepwoodSam
Thompson Falls, MT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well made, good smoker for the money.
4/5/2013

Customer review by Wooof

4.0 stars 4/5/2013 by Wooof
by Wooof

I purchased this smoker based on the information provided on the Wal Mart web site. One of my criteria for an electric smoker was to be able to add wood chips without having to open the main door where the food is cooking due to the fact that when the door is opened to add chips, heat is lost and on an electric smoker it takes time to re-heat the inside. The information on the site mentioned that the wood chip tray was on the outside of the box under the the smoker, so i purchased this smoker based on the fact that the wood chip tray was on the outside as stated in the article on the web site. When i started assembling the smoker, i realized that the wood chip tray was not on the outside of the smoker as stated. The grease drip pan is on the outside, on bottom of the smoker. This is disappointing to me, the product was misrepresented in the description on the web site. Once again, i made this purchase based on the fact that the wood chip tray was on the outside of the unit. If you are wanting to purchase an electric smoker with the wood chip tray on the outside, stay away from this one.

Was this review helpful? (33) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wooof
Atlanta Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is a great smoker
4/4/2013

Customer review by rosie864

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by rosie864
by rosie864

great smoker, much better than the "bullet" type. Lots of control with the thermostat so you can slow cook ribs so they fall off the bone.Smoked a turkey and then some ribs, both came out fantastic. I would recommend this product to the novice or experienced backyard warrior.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rosie864
worcester, ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Masterbuilt Electric smoker
12/29/2013

Customer review by mrsfrey

5.0 stars 12/29/2013 by mrsfrey
by mrsfrey

This is our first smoker but my husband has had experience in smoking meats and cheeses in a smoke house on the family farm in the past. Living in a "neighborhood" we needed a better option than building a smoke house in the back yard. The smoker was very easy to set up, kept a very even temperature during the smoking process. We made 50 lbs of deer sausage the first day and smoked racks of ribs a week later. There are alot of great websites that will give recipes and info on the types of chips to purchase. I ordered a bag of each flavor online but found them much cheaper when I went to the Walmart store a few days later. Since it was out of season, I ordered the smoker online and had it delivered to the house. It was pretty heavy... too heavy, in fact for me to have loaded and unloaded myself to hide it for my hubby for Christmas. Much easier to have it shipped to the door!

Was this review helpful? (34) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrsfrey
Lincold, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Smoker
6/27/2014

Customer review by jckick

4.0 stars 6/27/2014 by jckick
by jckick

We have used it a few times and each time worked great. One time, we smoked over 20lbs of meat including 12 lbs of pork sholder, 5lbs of brisket, 6 lbs of turkey breast and a couple of pounds of chicken wings for a party. Added them at different intervals but pulled them all out around the same time. All of it came out great with that smoke smell and taste. Not sure where people say that it will not smoke at low temps, I had no issues with the small chips (pre-soaked) smoking until they were ash as they are right above the element. I had the temp at between 180 and 210. For a 6-8 hour smoke, we did have to add chips every 1.5-2 hours as the chip tray is a bit small but not really a big deal. The chips smell like burnt wood to start but once the meat start to warm, you get that smokey smell. I recommend it

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jckick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not as good as advertised
6/9/2013

Customer review by Decksmoker

2.0 stars 6/9/2013 by Decksmoker
by Decksmoker

Keeps a good low 200's temp, but doesn't go as high as advertised. Thermometer is inaccurate as well. Welds leak drippings from bottom pan, very messy. Almost Impossible to level because of non adjustable legs

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Decksmoker
Rochester, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good smoker
5/3/2014

Customer review by McGo

4.0 stars 5/3/2014 by McGo
by McGo

I love it. It's nice and sturdy. I have used it several times and it does a great job at smoking food.

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
McGo
Martinsburg, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good value for smoker of this quality.
11/10/2013

Customer review by Smokeruser

5.0 stars 11/10/2013 by Smokeruser
by Smokeruser

Easy to complete assembly. Worked very well. My previous electric smoker was the round kettle type. This one heats up and holds heat much better. Easy to get to good, water, and wood chips using convenient front door.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Smokeruser
Mebane, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worth the purchase price
11/18/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/18/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I'm a beginner at meat smoking; this works better than I expected. More heat generated than I thought would be; wood chips last longer than I expected them to.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Richmond, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great smoker!
5/29/2014

Customer review by fullandhappy

5.0 stars 5/29/2014 by fullandhappy
by fullandhappy

first, the smoker arrived within days... very fast shipping. next, all the pieces.. legs, handles, shelves,.. etc. were wrapped in foam paper.. very well packed! after seasoning per the instructions, we smoked a 6 lb brisket on med for 8 hours. it was very tender, and there were no leftovers!! I tested the temp dial and found lo gives you about 125 degrees. med is 225 and high puts the temp at the max of 400. I picked an electric smoker because it is easier to maintain temp. for long smoking times. I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fullandhappy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Messy
7/19/2014

Customer review by cdmsberry

4.0 stars 7/19/2014 by cdmsberry
by cdmsberry

I've had all types of smokers and have gotten lazy in old age so went back to electric. I wanted to have a fixed temp. It did a good job. I loaded ir down with two racks of ribs, one whole chicken and a deer roast. The roast should have come out sooner, it was too too dry. The ribs and chicken were fine. The inside of the smoker looks like a black grease fire happened inside. I cleaned the racks and the water and chip containers half way and the bottom of the smokers the best I could. I might try to put a pan on the bottom rack to catch the grease next time with some water in it. The door somehow on the inside is bent and sticks when you try to open or close it. I don't know if I put the handle screws in too tight and put too much pressure on it or just from the heat it warped. My temperature was fine I try to keep my smoker between 225 and 250 the chips smoked fine. I could see smoke coming out of the unit the whole time, but then again it could have been from all the grease.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cdmsberry
Deltaville, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Great first smoker
6/1/2014

Customer review by JeffofJacksonvilleNC

5.0 stars 6/1/2014 by JeffofJacksonvilleNC
by JeffofJacksonvilleNC

This is the first smoker I ever owned or used so I don't have anything to compare except comparing experiences with friends that have one. Was first thinking I wanted a gas smoker but I'm glad I went with the electric. It's very easy to maintain desired temp using the built in thermometer and temp controller. I checked the thermometer for accuracy and it reads about 12 or 13 degrees low at 250. (I bought a "must have/use" digital meat thermometer for about $15 at Wal-Mart.) The door doesn't fit perfectly as a lot of smoke comes out on the hinge side. I haven't looked close to see if it can be tightened up but I think it is riveted with no way to adjust. There is an adjustment on the latch side. Like other reviews I read stated, you can't add chips without opening the door (the smoker description says you can). This hasn't been a problem because I've had it going over 6 hours without needing more chips. I've had the smoker 2 weeks and have smoked 5 pork butts (3 10lb'er last night for church lunch today), a couple chickens (smoking 3 more right now for lunch today at our church), salmon, and a brisket. The only time I added more chips was for the brisket (9 hrs - which was too long). I ordered some chips with the smoker but they didn't come until several days later. Instructions say to use chips to "season" the smoker before first use so had to go to Wal-Mart and found the chips cheaper than what I paid on-line. It's a little messy with drippings falling on chip and water pans. Nothing soap and water won't fix. I line the bottom with tin foil. Made sure I poked a hole through foil for drip pan. For the price, I may buy a second smoker to have on hand for large get togethers. Can wait to do some ribs next weekend!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JeffofJacksonvilleNC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Smoker that is very easy to use
4/27/2013

Customer review by TSIG

4.0 stars 4/27/2013 by TSIG
by TSIG

Smoker works very good temperture is consistant and cooks very well it's great not having to constantly monitor temperture plug it in set temperture and walk away . The wood chip bowl & water bowl should have been made a little larger in my opinion and the water bowl should not be sitting directly over the heating element . I have only used it twice since receiving it and have not gotten as much of a smoke flavor as I would like like I had on my charcoal smoker . Price wise I have found this same smoker at Tractor Supply Company for $129.00 now I will have to see if Walmart will match this .

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TSIG
Katy,Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Recieved control unit defective
12/2/2012

Customer review by wmorris4x4x4

1.0 stars 12/2/2012 by wmorris4x4x4
by wmorris4x4x4

Recieved new Dec 1 2012 Saturday, unit heats up but control unit shuts down after 3min and goes to 32deg then error message. Plugged and unplugged unit to reset same fault, now i have to wait till Monday to call Mastrbuilt to see if they will exchange the controller, or do a return. Dont think i will buy another Masterbuilt Electric Smoker, should of just got a Yoder.

Was this review helpful? (8) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wmorris4x4x4
Cheney,Ks
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
A good value
9/6/2013

Customer review by abaritone

5.0 stars 9/6/2013 by abaritone
by abaritone

Sturdy built and easy assembly. Temperature control was easy to use to find the desired temperature. Makes good smoke using a small amount of wood chips. Easy to clean. Looking forward to many tasty meals from it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
abaritone
Newaygo, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I recomend this
5/18/2014

Customer review by suthrnbelle

5.0 stars 5/18/2014 by suthrnbelle
by suthrnbelle

This smoker is very nice. Big, Sturdy & Works GREAT!! It cooks little quicker than I antisapated. My food was done about an hour & 1/2 sooner than we expected but that's ok. Ribs will need to cook on lower heat. Chicken on Med so it doesn't dry out. I recommend you Practice"" before inviting your friends over...get the feel of how fast or slow you want to cook your food.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
suthrnbelle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews