Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 513 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

513 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

513 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
368
4 stars
96
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 stars
26
1-20 of 390 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 390 total reviews
1-20 of 390 reviews
Great tablet, Great pirce.
7/19/2012

Customer review by squeezyme

5.0 stars 7/19/2012 by squeezyme
by squeezyme

I ordered 2 of these tablets, one 8gb ( a gift for my father) and one 16gb for myself. I have owned several tablets, mostly android, but also an ipad. I have not owned a kindle fire, but i used one. This tablet is by far the best of the lot. I only have one complaint, but ill get to that later. It is fast as all get out. It is light, and easy to handle with one hand. It doesn't come overly burdened with bloat software. The price is amazing, especially when you add in the 25$ play store credit. The screen is impeccable, and the volume of video and audio playback really blew me away. There is no internal storage, so for me i would prefer the 16gb version, however realistically 8gb is plenty if you use any kind of cloud service, ie dropbox. You can stream off of most of these services without the need of putting it on the device, or you can download when needed, (for flights and suck) you can even use external hard drives and usb storage if you know how. Also the tablet comes only being able to be viewed in portrait mode, no landscape. However this is easily fixed by downloading an app from the play-store like (ultimate rotation control) this allows you to view the tablet however you want. Some people complain about the lack of a camera on the back, but for me i have never really used a tablet as a camera, as it is really just not practical. I have a cell phone that takes amazing pictures, and is far more convenient to hold a small phone than a big tablet up. This thing reads really well also, i love both the kendel app and the google books app, (a little tip, change to night mode, this makes reading much more pleasurable on any tablet). So lets go with pro's and con's PRO Fastest tablet i have ever used / Very snappy / Extremely good audio / Video playback is very nice, very clear / multitasking is a breeze / Very light, and easy to manage with one hand / has a great lether feal to the back, that grips well / perfect size for reading / Great price / 25$ google play credit / free movie CON No expansion on storage and only 2 options for this (this is easily fixed with a cloud storage, or an external hard drive of some sort) / portrait only viewing (also easily fixed with an app) Other than this i really cant think of anything. This tab is top notch. I have included 2 pics one in portrait and one in landscape, just to verify 1. it can be done 2. i actually have the tablet and am not someone just rambling about something i don't even have.

Was this review helpful? (1102) (63)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
squeezyme
south east Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Awesome compliment to computers
7/22/2012

Customer review by KalicoWulf

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by KalicoWulf
by KalicoWulf

Let me start by qualifying myself. I have 4 desktops, a laptop, a netbook, smart TV, smart alarmclock and an android phone. I've been around tech since a 1.44 Mb floppy was massive storage. I bought my Nexus7 as an augmentation to what I already own and not to displace anything. It fits a niche right between my netbook or laptop and cell phone. As a media device, web reader, and instant on computing source it is awesome. The quad-core processor makes it respond to change in application or screen rotation very snappy and helps keep the streaming content flowing even in HD. (better than my netbook actually) Due to the lack of memory card slot I did opt for the 16 Gb storage model and will continue to complain, (half heartedly since I have cloud services). I have heard lots of complaints about no rear facing camera but for me I have either my cell phone for unexpected shots or my DSLR for when I'm site seeing. I also love the battery life and have yet to run it out in a single day having included streaming Netflix and Pandora for several hours in the same day. Great value but keep in mind this device will not replace a laptop or cell phone. Two other comments regarding other posts. -Only the home pages are locked in portrait mode all apps I have tried rotate with my motions w/o an app to do so. Just need to unlock the screen rotation in settings. -The quality of this device is vastly superior to anything else I have test driven. Having already owned a lessor capable 7" tablet I wouldn't even put the two in the same room for comparison. I was very shocked to see the previous poster's comment about a bad screen and even more shocked that so early in the product release they were able to have already receive a second device as these have been selling out everywhere. (Just my 2¢)

Was this review helpful? (434) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KalicoWulf
Med-City, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Get this tablet!
8/4/2012

Customer review by SuperRobV

5.0 stars 8/4/2012 by SuperRobV
by SuperRobV

I had to travel out of town to purchase this tablet because it was sold out in my area. It was well worth the trip. The first tablet , the 16GB, had some distortion in the speaker so I returned the tablet and retrieved a replacement. This tablet is well worth the money and is much more responsive than any other tablet I have used such as the IPad and Samsung Galaxy. People complain about the lack of a SDC slot but you can get around with the USB cable. I put several movies on the tablet via the USB cable that were in MP4 and M4V format. They play well on the tablet. The tablet will not play MKV files so don't even try to load them. I also loaded some mp3 files through the USB cable. Cloud storage is nice as all my settings from the first tablet automatically downloaded to the second tablet including my wireless WPA settings. This is a cool tablet. It even has voice controls that rivals Siri. I can conduct web searches, order pizza, send email, through the voice control. Get one while you can.

Was this review helpful? (223) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SuperRobV
Columbus, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Far exceeds my expectations.
8/8/2012

Customer review by Sweetgbus

5.0 stars 8/8/2012 by Sweetgbus
by Sweetgbus

I always hate when people put down a competing OS's device based entirely on "fanboyism." Well, I've been an Apple junkie way before it was hip to be one, and I'll say with absolute integrity that the Nexus 7 is an awesome device. The minor differences between Android and iOS should not be the deciding factors when choosing a device this great. I dislike Google and I do not trust them based on their reputation as a marketing company, but this ASUS-built tablet is just beautiful. Operation is very smooth and the 7" screen is more accommodating than those of the 9"+ variety. The build quality is very good and the growing Android app store is very exciting. I do have reservations about the limited 16 GB capacity; however, I've already installed 22 of my favorite Simpsons episodes as well as approximately 34 games, and I still have over 6 GB left. I cannot recommend this tablet enough.

Was this review helpful? (169) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sweetgbus
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GET THIS TABLET!
8/10/2012

Customer review by Soxfan2012

5.0 stars 8/10/2012 by Soxfan2012
by Soxfan2012

I was weary at first for never being a tablet owner. I figured what the heck, for the price you can't beat it and give it a shot since it was returnable. Had an Iphone 4s so didn't want an IPad. Wanted something different to see what all the hub hub was about. Totally exceeded my expectations. Shocked even my Walmart had one left. So a couple things here: Did I really need it to be a camera? Answer no. Thats why I have my phone and digital camera. So only the front cam wasn't an issue. Hdmi port? No big deal. Not needed. This is perfect for reading my books,social networking,traveling,etc. Yeah it's only wifi, so you download your books and movies first before your flight,trip,etc. Well worth it in my opinion and screen display is excellent. Way better then any 10 and other 7 in screen versions I ever looked at.

Was this review helpful? (49) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Soxfan2012
Chicago, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is THE 7" tablet to get right now!
8/5/2012

Customer review by FourZero40

5.0 stars 8/5/2012 by FourZero40
by FourZero40

This is THE 7" tablet to get right now, it blows the competitors clean out of the water in terms of equipment and customization. Google has finally made a winning device, by entering a market not yet dominated by Apple. The device itself is simple to use and offers the latest version of Android. and promises to always give you the newest version -- first. Let's dig into the deets: Display: 7 inch IPS LCD, 1280x800 px (216 PPI), LED backlit, scratch-resistant Corning glass. Processor: 1.3 GHz quad-core ARM Cortex-A9. GPU: 416 MHz Nvidia GeForce ULP with 12 cores. Memory: 1 GB DDR3 RAM Battery: 4325 mAh, microUSB charger. Front facing Camera: 1.2 MP. Other: Multi-touch Touch screen, Gyroscope, Magnetometer, Accelerometer, GPS, microphone. Connections: NFC, Wi-Fi b/g/n, Bluetooth 4.0. OS: Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean). Footprint: Lighter and thinner than any others in the 7" size. Pros: + Powerful processor + All connections included (Wifi, Bluetooth, Near Field Communication (NFC). + Standard install of Android means you can customize it as YOU wish to, and all native Android apps are available. + Rich screen density, crisp and bright. + Light, small, thin. + Plenty of RAM for smooth operation. + Price. Cons: The only con I can think of is it doesn't have a microSD card slot, so if you need more storage the 16gb model might be better for you, but then there is Google Drive to hold you stuff as well, so it's not that big of a deal. Overall: This one pretty much hammers the nail in the coffin for the already struggling Kindle Fire, fortunately there are how-to guides online to move your stuff from the KF to the Nexus 7. I mention the KF since it used to be the number one in this category, the others are pretty much rendered obsolete as well. This is the best option in the 7" market right now. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FourZero40
Laredo, Texas,
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Good tablet for the price
7/24/2012

Customer review by ZSmileyG

5.0 stars 7/24/2012 by ZSmileyG
by ZSmileyG

A sd card slot would be nice other than that great tablet for the low price market. Have not had any problems or complaints.

Was this review helpful? (52) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZSmileyG
Oshkosh, wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Absolutely in love with some minor flaws
8/8/2012

Customer review by Tofuhomie

4.0 stars 8/8/2012 by Tofuhomie
by Tofuhomie

The Nexus 7 is amazing!! I was one of those people who thought it was a waste of time and money to ever get a tablet but this beauty changed my opinion for sure!! It was smooth, easy to use, and lightning fast! The only problem was that the love affair didn't last long due to dead pixels showing up only after a few days of use. I guess I'm OCD about buying a product and having it be perfect for at least a while.... So I ended up returning it in the end because I had already exchanged one for the same problems. I hope this gets fixed soon! I will change my 4 stars to 5 and be purchasing another for sure!! Maybe two! :D

Was this review helpful? (32) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tofuhomie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Tablet except for the no flash Chrome Browser
8/4/2012

Customer review by CardiacChaos

4.0 stars 8/4/2012 by CardiacChaos
by CardiacChaos

I ordered this device on 7/18 and received it on 7/31. The ordering process was easy and the device is nice. If you use the tablet for reading and news websites, which I mainly do it's great, easy on the eyes when reading for long periods of time. Even though it's a budget tablet, two things diminish an otherwise wonderful and attractive device: 1. No flash support. The chrome web browser does not have flash support so viewing video off a website like C-span is a problem. It's disappointing that no flash support was provided, especially disappointing given the number of websites using embedded video. I've tried using other web browsers but the play quality is disappointing. As the tablet goes into greater use, maybe there'll be more options but for now it's annoying. I also own a Blackberry playbook which has excellent flash support and the Nexus 7 should have aspired to that standard and make flash an afterthought not a forethought when you realize what you cannot do. My rating was lowered based on the lack of flash support. 2. SD Card expandability. I'm not lowering the rating I gave based on this, but I'd rather pay a bit more for greater storage.

Was this review helpful? (40) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CardiacChaos
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Everything I need
8/12/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/12/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was debating between the Nexus and an IPad. This is my first tablet and I LOVE it!! I am a teacher and I used it for classes. I carry in my pocket around school to get emails and type notes. The recorder is very handy for meetings and for parent calls in the car. The offline GPS map is great as well. I gave to my wife to use to help her navigate to a meeting spot with her friends across the city. She had no problems. Better than our TomTom. (: Overall, I think it is a great buy and look forward to using in my classroom this year.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Acworth, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Far Better Than An iPad Mini - For Much Less!
11/14/2012

Customer review by Mooper

5.0 stars 11/14/2012 by Mooper
by Mooper

The iPad Mini costs 65% more, but the Nexus 7 has a higher resolution screen with a better aspect ratio, is easier to hold in one hand, has a broadly compatible charger, can easily switch users (after today's 4.2 update), and has GPS and great maps (the iPad Mini lacks GPS and has terrible maps). Unless price is no issue and you're locked into the Apple ecosystem, there is no longer a reason to buy Apple. This thing worked perfectly out of the box and was so simple and fast... for so little money!

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mooper
Bozeman, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This tablet runs fast and has a great screen.
8/7/2012

Customer review by UptodateGrandma

5.0 stars 8/7/2012 by UptodateGrandma
by UptodateGrandma

This appears to be a great buy. I am not computer smart and found it easy to operate. I just wish it had better instructions. I have not owned a tablet or phone that uses Apps before, and I do not know how to remove unwanted Apps. I have a lot to learn about this device. It is a good size and fits well into a cover I had purchased. Works well using your finger or a stylus to move around. It did not give me the free $25 credit to purchase Apps as I had hoped, and I did purchase it during the offer period. I took the advice of others to set the screen on bright and set the unit so it would rotate from portrait to landscape. This can be done under "settings". I took the tablet to my daughter to help me get set up and she was quite impressed. She uses a lot of great electronic devices and didn't know how I could get rid of unwanted Apps either. She uses an IPad and thought this was a real good buy for the money. I purchased the 16G which is well worth the extra $50.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UptodateGrandma
Upland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Perfect Tablet for all my needs
8/10/2012

Customer review by Boot78

5.0 stars 8/10/2012 by Boot78
by Boot78

Surprisingly, I got my Nexus 7 16GB tablet today at a local Walmart. No stores in my area had any in stock. Setup was a breeze, the overall tablet was very impressive with fluid function and style. I had to shell out extra $50 for 16GB of mem because of no sd memory slot but overall VERY pleased with purchase.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Boot78
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent value
8/5/2012

Customer review by ladyarwen524

5.0 stars 8/5/2012 by ladyarwen524
by ladyarwen524

Who needs the Ipad when you can get this great devide, quad core! amazing, fast, and by purchasing it off HSN, got a lot of extra free apps like OfficeSuite Pro 6, Britannica Concise Encyclopedia 2012, Camera ZOOM FX, Cook'n for Android, EasyMoney, SplashID Safe and more, great value for your money

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ladyarwen524
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Compact, Responsive, Fun!!
8/19/2012

Customer review by kactusgal

4.0 stars 8/19/2012 by kactusgal
by kactusgal

The Nexus 7 feels sturdy and functions great for work and play. Not too large to fit easily in a handbag or backpack. Family members borrow it occasionally to watch movies or play games. No lag is noted while running any apps or processes. I do miss having a camera, Flash, and some apps which are not yet Jelly Bean compatible. The Quad core processor makes multi-tasking a breeze. Overall, a great value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kactusgal
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Terrific features, speed, value
11/3/2012

Customer review by printercpe

4.0 stars 11/3/2012 by printercpe
by printercpe

Actually, have already returned this, BUT WAIT! Device is wonderful. It's just that they reduced the price of the 16 GB version and came out with the 32 GB version for the price I had paid 10 days earlier, while the 16 GB came down by $50. So I returned the 16 and got the 32. I am not a big Google fan, so not all that familiar with Google tools, but I got a nice bonus with the new tablet. Apparently I had told the 16 GB version to back up. When I got the 32 GB version, I did not have to re-download and install all my apps. They were just there because it retrieved my backup. Saved me some annoying hours, for sure. Surprise for me, though probably not for Googlers. Device is FAST, versatile, Android 4.1 (ICS) with no limitations. You may read that you cannot run Flash on ICS (and that would prevent access to Amazon Prime streaming), but it ain't true. Just search out the Flash apk (you won't be able to get it from the PlayStore), download it, run, i.e. Install it, and voila! It won't work with the Chrome browser, so you will have to get Firefox (free app, of course), but then the Flash limitation is gone. Beautiful screen. Much higher res than the iPad mini, and much nicer rendering as well. Voice command is amazingly versatile and accurate - much better and faster than the Siri on my wife's iPhone 5. I get a solid 9 to 10 hours of steady work out of a charge, and several days of intermittent use, though it does take quite a while to recharge, especially if you use it at the same time. No back camera, but I have yet to see anyone taking pix with a tablet. Not a limitation to me. Only weakness I have found is the sound. Quality is fine, but volume is weak. Better have some earphones/pods if you want to listen to music or movies. If you like simplicity and your major use is media consumption, particularly Amazon Prime, the Kindle Fire may be a better device for you. But for versatility, speed, handling, looks (yeah, it's prettier, lighter and thinner than the KF), this may be the best value the tablet market has seen thus far.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
printercpe
Little Rhody
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Oh My, where have you been all my life...
9/12/2012

Customer review by HTownPhotog

5.0 stars 9/12/2012 by HTownPhotog
by HTownPhotog

First things first: you might not need 16GB. However, it REALLY comes in handy! Sleek, fast, very portable, not cumbersome or heavy like other 10" tablets, and it runs on Google. So if you have a Google account, prepare to be blown away by all of the integration this tablet provides. And, if you have an Android phone, it's even better. No more cables - let the Wi-Fi do all the work. It doesn't have 3G/4G, but I think that's because most people these days have a cell phone with mobile hotspot enabled, so if you need to stay on the internet with this, you either need to get to a hotspot, or use your phone as a hotspot. Movies are crisp (despite less resolution than the iPad), apps run with no problem, and it's just really useful. I've stopped turning on my desktop and laptop just because I have everything here. Some say that the Kindle Fire is comparable to this, but I think the processing power edges the Kindle Fire. Definite recommend.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HTownPhotog
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WOW!!
9/1/2012

Customer review by VinnyM

5.0 stars 9/1/2012 by VinnyM
by VinnyM

This tablet is blazing fast. Sleek design and has the latest Android, Jellybean installed. I'm retired from the computer field and this makes me jealous I didn't have it back in the 70's. The word awesome gets over used, but this is truly an awesome product. I'd suggesting going with the 16GB model like I did. It's worth the extra $50.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VinnyM
Western Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
An Excellent Table for a Low Price
11/24/2012

Customer review by ARELLANO81366

5.0 stars 11/24/2012 by ARELLANO81366
by ARELLANO81366

Cons: No HDMI. No SD card capability. Earphones input in bottom which, to me, is not good. No earphones included Pros: 16GB fits good to me, so far, I don not need extra storage Great screen! Imagen Quality rules This tablet is really fast Seven inches has proven to be a perfect size As a Google services user, this product integrates seamlessly with my services: Gmail, Google+, YouTube, Calendar, Chrome, Blogger, Maps and Currents. Great for either job or spare time. As a Nexus device, you will always had the most recent updates from OS Android.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ARELLANO81366
Veracruz, Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Android Device I have EVER Owned... Bar None!
8/10/2012

Customer review by aross6

5.0 stars 8/10/2012 by aross6
by aross6

I have owned a bunch of Android devices, from the original HTC G1, the Motorola Droid, Droid 2, Droid 3, the Motorola Xoom Tablet, the Lenovo K1 Ideapad Tablet, the Samsung Galaxy Nexus, and so forth. The Google Nexus 7 by ASUS is BY FAR the VERY BEST Android Device I have ever owned. Comparing to other tablets, it's light, versitile, well built, and feels great in your hand. Of course it's a Google Experience Device with 4.1.1 Android OS (aka Jelly Bean#, so it's fast and buttery smooth. I sold my Xoom and the wife's K1 Ideapad and bought each of us a Nexus 7, and there's no looking back. If you're on the fence, take the leap #because sitting on a fence for too long really hurts your bottom, LoL)! The Nexus 7 Tablet is a sure-fire winner in my book!

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aross6
St. Clairsville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 390 total reviews
1-20 of 390 reviews