Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 51 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

51 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

51 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
7
1 stars
9
1-20 of 43 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
Surprisingly good
8/22/2012

Customer review by Stjamesg8

5.0 stars 8/22/2012 by Stjamesg8
by Stjamesg8

I'd been using a Remington double foil shaver for the past few years, but it finally gave out. So, back to searching for something good at a decent price. WalMart had just gotten these in, so decided to give the Intercept idea a try. And it does a very good job...better than my old shaver ever did. Actually, I bought a Braun Series 1 at the same time to compare and here are my findings after using each shaver every other day. Appearance: The Braun is a better looking shaver, being smaller and more modern looking. The Remington F4 is noticeably larger and bulkier looking. Operation/Use: The Braun is a single foil shaver, so not really a fair comparison, but I wanted to be in the same price range. The Remington is smoother in shave comfort and overall feel while shaving. With the Braun, I could feel motor vibration and it was noisy. The Remington is smooth and not as noisy. The Braun's motor would bog down when shaving slightly heavier areas of stubble or when pressing a bit harder against the skin, while the Remington has yet to show any signs of bogging down, no matter what. Closeness of shave is among the best I've experienced with the Remington, I believe in part, due to the center cutter in conjunction with the two foils. The Remington's head swivels to conform to the face when shaving areas such as the chin, jaw, etc. Absolutely no irritation. I'm still on the first charge, and have completed six shaves with no loss of power. I wanted to see how the F4 performed on 3-day stubble, so allowed a short beard to grow, and the F4 cut through it like butter....smooth and sure without bogging down a bit. Nice. Cordless run time: The Braun's run time is listed at 20 minutes, but it began to deplete within three shaves. The Remington's run time is listed at 30 minutes and as mentioned, after six shaves, including one with 3-day stubble, it's still running strong. Trimmer: The Braun's trimmer worked fairly well, probably better than the F4. I don't particularly like the perpendicular orientation of the F4's trimmer but I use a dedicated trimmer for sideburns, etc anyway, so not an issue. I also don't like the power button placement on the F4 and keep accidentally turning it off while shaving. It's located right in the center of the handle and can be easily pressed while shaving. I'm trying to get used to holding it in a different position. One other thing, I searched for the foil/cutter replacement spf300 as noted on the box, but doesn't exist at this time. I contacted Remington and was told the F4 is a new product and they expect the replacement foil/cutter to be available soon...but WILL be available. Overall, I like this shaver, although I have no idea how it will hold up over time. At this price, if I can get at least a year or two our of it, I'll be happy.

Was this review helpful? (86) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stjamesg8
Madison, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Shaver for Seasoned User!!!
12/15/2012

Customer review by LRW1

5.0 stars 12/15/2012 by LRW1
by LRW1

Great Shaver all around. I have been a Remington user for over 30 years, switched to a Braun Series 3-320, and went back to my Remington F4790 with new blades and cutter with a better shave than the Braun. Then tried this new F4-4900 at Walmart for $29.99, and I love it. The Interceptor is great for the neck and long hairs, and the two foils give great close shave with little effort. They have the F5-5800 Interceptor on sale for $44.95, which if I was not so happy the F4-4900, I might look into. Hope Walmart carries the replacement blades soon, at least online for a fair price. I remain faithful to the Remington and highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LRW1
Citrus Heights, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT SHAVER
1/9/2013

Customer review by PITMAN1

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by PITMAN1
by PITMAN1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I hadn't used an electric shaver in 3 years. The last one I had was the $130.00 Braun shaver that sat in its cleaning fluid. The one before it was the $100.00 Norelco. They worked fine, but when they needed new heads, I went back to a razor and shaving cream. A week before Christmas, I developed a cold sore on my lip and when you shaved with a razor, you cut it. So I decided to buy a Cheap electric shaver to use in times like that and when I didn't want to lather up. So I saw this Remington F4 shaver reg $39.00 at Walmart for $29.00 which I bought. Boy was I suprised! It shaves just as good as the $100.00 + Norelco and Braun. I got a full weeks shaves out of it before I had to recharge it. Plus you just brush the cutters with a brush and once a month rince the head under the faucet. I was so impresed with the razor, I decided to go ahead and order another head for it , since the instructions said you should replace them in 6 months. It is a new razor and no one has the heads yet so you order the heads on line direct from Remington for $24.00. Before I did I went to WalMart on line and saw I could order another new shaver $5.00 cheaper than the heads. They had the shaver on sale on line for $19.95. So I now have 2 F4 shavers. Like I said, I love the the shaver. It shaves just as good as the high priced brands and a 1/3 the cost. I would highly recommend the Remington F4 shaver.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PITMAN1
WINSTON SALEM, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best I 've ever owned
11/15/2012

Customer review by jonzz

5.0 stars 11/15/2012 by jonzz
by jonzz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This shaver works great in all aspects..like all electrics, better with one days' growth but handles 2 with a couple of passes..swiveling head adds to comfort. All good here. The shaver does not run on power cord alone so keep it charged.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jonzz
tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good razor but costly to maintain as recommended.
10/8/2013

Customer review by Canuk31

4.0 stars 10/8/2013 by Canuk31
by Canuk31
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This purchase was a replacement for a Remington F$-4900 Shaver. The original worked well until the foil wore out after nearly three years of use. I had chosen not to follow the manufacturer's recommendation to replace the foil and cutter every six months, at the cost of 75% of the original price of the razor. And I chose not to replace the foil and cutter when it wore out. Investing 75% of the cost of a replacement razor in a razor with aging, irreplaceable, rechargable batteries was not a good bet. A redesign, with user replaceable NiCad batteries might induce the user to replace the extremely overpriced replacement screen and cutter, but no one in their right mind would have spent three times the price of the razor over a three year period.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Canuk31
Creston BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awful
10/2/2013

Customer review by z80kid

1.0 stars 10/2/2013 by z80kid
by z80kid

This thing leaves stubble all over my face, no matter how many times I go over it. My last shaver was the MS-280. It lasted 5 years and did a wonderful job. But my local Wal-Mart doesn't carry it anymore. So I decided to try this thing. Big disappointment.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
z80kid
Manchester, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
TRY IT...YOU'LL LIKE
12/4/2012

Customer review by kk1117

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by kk1117
by kk1117
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had a 15-year-old Braun Activator that finally gasped its last breath. I read others' ratings of this shaver--including one who chose this one over a new Braun. I completely agree with his evaluation. Not only is it much less expensive than anything Braun makes--it does at least as good a job. Fast, quiet, cuts quick and you are done! Great product at ANY price!

Was this review helpful? (11) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kk1117
York County, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/24/2013

Customer review by 1074

4.0 stars 6/24/2013 by 1074
by 1074
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have used Remington shavers since the 1950s and this is the best of them. Purchased this to replace my F4790. It's much quieter and easier on sensitive skin.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1074
Martha's Vineyard, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/31/2013

Customer review by kressnut

5.0 stars 5/31/2013 by kressnut
by kressnut

I have owned a lot of razors in my 79 years of life & this remington F4 intercepter is the best razor ever. Close shave no burning. Just love it Kressnut

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kressnut
Ontario, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Remington messed up with this one
8/6/2014

Customer review by mrmooshy

1.0 stars 8/6/2014 by mrmooshy
by mrmooshy

I used to be the one who would only use Remington shavers. I recently purchased this one and was really disappointed. The old foil shavers were much better. They changed the style of the trimmer from the sliding to flip up style. The flip up is not as stable and makes it harder to use. The even bigger problem is that this one can't be used while charging. You will hear it running out of energy about 10 seconds before it's done. Try explaining to everyone you see why only half your face is shaved. This was not worth the discomfort.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrmooshy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Amazing Value
12/3/2015

Customer review by Terry

5.0 stars 12/3/2015 by Terry
by Terry

The Remington F4-4900 is an amazing value. This is the third one that I have owned (after 2-3 years, the battery doesn't last as long). The center "interceptor" bar makes short work of long hairs. And the foil gives a smooth and close shave. And to top it off, the pop-out trimmer can make side-burns look sharp.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Terry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good product
12/11/2015

Customer review by mtrmth

4.0 stars 12/11/2015 by mtrmth
by mtrmth

not as loud as other razers i have had. the trimmer is at an odd angle, but it works.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mtrmth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Second purchase of the same razor
11/18/2015

Customer review by gramps99

5.0 stars 11/18/2015 by gramps99
by gramps99

Have used the same model Remington razor for about six years now. Thought that I lost it when we went on a trip recently but found it after the new one came. The absolute best electric razor that I have ever had. The only one that doesn't burn my face when I shave when my face is dry. The center cutter cuts stray long hairs that other razors would keep missing. Great value and great razor!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gramps99
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nice idea!
1/9/2013

Customer review by dpeavey

2.0 stars 1/9/2013 by dpeavey
by dpeavey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

appears that remington tried to copy Brauns/panasonics foil razors using an integrated cutter between the foils in this low-budget shaver. It lacks power from my previous F-5 triple foil and did not shave as well. I returned it and purchased a Panasonic which I love. Too bad walmart does not carry panasonic shavers.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dpeavey
maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/8/2013

Customer review by dedwall

5.0 stars 4/8/2013 by dedwall
by dedwall

This shaver is more expensive than the other Remington shavers I have used, but it does a better job and is much quieter. After 1-2 months, I have not yet learned when it is time for recharging: there is no indicator, and not much difference in the noise between fully charged and when it suddenly dies. Nevertheless, I am pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dedwall
Thousand Oaks, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/29/2013

Customer review by large56

4.0 stars 6/29/2013 by large56
by large56
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Like most electric razers they do not shave as close as a blade but i am happy with this one i think it does a pretty good job i like the moving head which gives a close shave under the nose

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
large56
MAINE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value for the price
4/19/2014

Customer review by ixtheos

4.0 stars 4/19/2014 by ixtheos
by ixtheos
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've only shaved with Remington Electric Razors for 30 years and this is not like the previous ones, but for the price paid its probably what we are going to get.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ixtheos
St Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great shaver
10/27/2013

Customer review by renirt

5.0 stars 10/27/2013 by renirt
by renirt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The first time I tried a foil shaver and like it over a rotary one

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
renirt
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not as good as I expected
12/12/2012

Customer review by duckman

4.0 stars 12/12/2012 by duckman
by duckman

I have used a rotary shaver for several years and decided to return to a vibrating foil-type shaver - F4. My expectations were apparently too high. I can't get a really close shave unless I spend an inordinate amount of time going over and over. Also, if I skip a day it is very difficult for the foil head to "capture" the longer hairs. Finally when the head pivots, the motor slows down noticeably. This can't be good for the long-term durability. I have only had it for a couple weeks. I hate to give up on it, but I don't like to start out each day feeling stressed about shaving.

duckman
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Review of Remington shave F4-4800A shipped on 03/13/2014
4/9/2014

Customer review by Mervrem

1.0 stars 4/9/2014 by Mervrem
by Mervrem

I have been using the shaver for over three weeks, and it is as I expected. I have no trouble shaving my face, mouth, chin and neck, and opening the front and back of the cutter assembly to clean the stubble and loose hairs from the blades with the cleaning brush. It normally takes me about 45-50 minutes to shave, and after it is done I recharge the shaver for 5 hours. Some times this is not enough and I have to recharge the shaver again before I have finished shaving. Is this method and time for recharging the shaver about right?

Mervrem
Phoenix, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews