Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 47 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

47 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

5 stars
19
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
7
1 stars
9
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 40 total reviews
Surprisingly good
8/22/2012

Customer review by Stjamesg8

5.0 stars by Stjamesg8

I'd been using a Remington double foil shaver for the past few years, but it finally gave out. So, back to searching for something good at a decent price. WalMart had just gotten these in, so decided to give the Intercept idea a try. And it does a very good job...better than my old shaver ever did. Actually, I bought a Braun Series 1 at the same time to compare and here are my findings after using each shaver every other day. Appearance: The Braun is a better looking shaver, being smaller and more modern looking. The Remington F4 is noticeably larger and bulkier looking. Operation/Use: The Braun is a single foil shaver, so not really a fair comparison, but I wanted to be in the same price range. The Remington is smoother in shave comfort and overall feel while shaving. With the Braun, I could feel motor vibration and it was noisy. The Remington is smooth and not as noisy. The Braun's motor would bog down when shaving slightly heavier areas of stubble or when pressing a bit harder against the skin, while the Remington has yet to show any signs of bogging down, no matter what. Closeness of shave is among the best I've experienced with the Remington, I believe in part, due to the center cutter in conjunction with the two foils. The Remington's head swivels to conform to the face when shaving areas such as the chin, jaw, etc. Absolutely no irritation. I'm still on the first charge, and have completed six shaves with no loss of power. I wanted to see how the F4 performed on 3-day stubble, so allowed a short beard to grow, and the F4 cut through it like butter....smooth and sure without bogging down a bit. Nice. Cordless run time: The Braun's run time is listed at 20 minutes, but it began to deplete within three shaves. The Remington's run time is listed at 30 minutes and as mentioned, after six shaves, including one with 3-day stubble, it's still running strong. Trimmer: The Braun's trimmer worked fairly well, probably better than the F4. I don't particularly like the perpendicular orientation of the F4's trimmer but I use a dedicated trimmer for sideburns, etc anyway, so not an issue. I also don't like the power button placement on the F4 and keep accidentally turning it off while shaving. It's located right in the center of the handle and can be easily pressed while shaving. I'm trying to get used to holding it in a different position. One other thing, I searched for the foil/cutter replacement spf300 as noted on the box, but doesn't exist at this time. I contacted Remington and was told the F4 is a new product and they expect the replacement foil/cutter to be available soon...but WILL be available. Overall, I like this shaver, although I have no idea how it will hold up over time. At this price, if I can get at least a year or two our of it, I'll be happy.

Was this review helpful? (79) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Stjamesg8
Madison, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best I 've ever owned
11/15/2012

Customer review by jonzz

5.0 stars by jonzz

This shaver works great in all aspects..like all electrics, better with one days' growth but handles 2 with a couple of passes..swiveling head adds to comfort. All good here. The shaver does not run on power cord alone so keep it charged.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jonzz
tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Shaver for Seasoned User!!!
12/15/2012

Customer review by LRW1

5.0 stars by LRW1

Great Shaver all around. I have been a Remington user for over 30 years, switched to a Braun Series 3-320, and went back to my Remington F4790 with new blades and cutter with a better shave than the Braun. Then tried this new F4-4900 at Walmart for $29.99, and I love it. The Interceptor is great for the neck and long hairs, and the two foils give great close shave with little effort. They have the F5-5800 Interceptor on sale for $44.95, which if I was not so happy the F4-4900, I might look into. Hope Walmart carries the replacement blades soon, at least online for a fair price. I remain faithful to the Remington and highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LRW1
Citrus Heights, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT SHAVER
1/9/2013

Customer review by PITMAN1

5.0 stars by PITMAN1

I hadn't used an electric shaver in 3 years. The last one I had was the $130.00 Braun shaver that sat in its cleaning fluid. The one before it was the $100.00 Norelco. They worked fine, but when they needed new heads, I went back to a razor and shaving cream. A week before Christmas, I developed a cold sore on my lip and when you shaved with a razor, you cut it. So I decided to buy a Cheap electric shaver to use in times like that and when I didn't want to lather up. So I saw this Remington F4 shaver reg $39.00 at Walmart for $29.00 which I bought. Boy was I suprised! It shaves just as good as the $100.00 + Norelco and Braun. I got a full weeks shaves out of it before I had to recharge it. Plus you just brush the cutters with a brush and once a month rince the head under the faucet. I was so impresed with the razor, I decided to go ahead and order another head for it , since the instructions said you should replace them in 6 months. It is a new razor and no one has the heads yet so you order the heads on line direct from Remington for $24.00. Before I did I went to WalMart on line and saw I could order another new shaver $5.00 cheaper than the heads. They had the shaver on sale on line for $19.95. So I now have 2 F4 shavers. Like I said, I love the the shaver. It shaves just as good as the high priced brands and a 1/3 the cost. I would highly recommend the Remington F4 shaver.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PITMAN1
WINSTON SALEM, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
TRY IT...YOU'LL LIKE
12/4/2012

Customer review by kk1117

5.0 stars by kk1117

I had a 15-year-old Braun Activator that finally gasped its last breath. I read others' ratings of this shaver--including one who chose this one over a new Braun. I completely agree with his evaluation. Not only is it much less expensive than anything Braun makes--it does at least as good a job. Fast, quiet, cuts quick and you are done! Great product at ANY price!

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kk1117
York County, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/8/2013

Customer review by dedwall

5.0 stars by dedwall

This shaver is more expensive than the other Remington shavers I have used, but it does a better job and is much quieter. After 1-2 months, I have not yet learned when it is time for recharging: there is no indicator, and not much difference in the noise between fully charged and when it suddenly dies. Nevertheless, I am pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dedwall
Thousand Oaks, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good razor but costly to maintain as recommended.
10/8/2013

Customer review by Canuk31

4.0 stars by Canuk31

This purchase was a replacement for a Remington F$-4900 Shaver. The original worked well until the foil wore out after nearly three years of use. I had chosen not to follow the manufacturer's recommendation to replace the foil and cutter every six months, at the cost of 75% of the original price of the razor. And I chose not to replace the foil and cutter when it wore out. Investing 75% of the cost of a replacement razor in a razor with aging, irreplaceable, rechargable batteries was not a good bet. A redesign, with user replaceable NiCad batteries might induce the user to replace the extremely overpriced replacement screen and cutter, but no one in their right mind would have spent three times the price of the razor over a three year period.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Canuk31
Creston BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awful
10/2/2013

Customer review by z80kid

1.0 stars by z80kid

This thing leaves stubble all over my face, no matter how many times I go over it. My last shaver was the MS-280. It lasted 5 years and did a wonderful job. But my local Wal-Mart doesn't carry it anymore. So I decided to try this thing. Big disappointment.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
z80kid
Manchester, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/31/2013

Customer review by kressnut

5.0 stars by kressnut

I have owned a lot of razors in my 79 years of life & this remington F4 intercepter is the best razor ever. Close shave no burning. Just love it Kressnut

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kressnut
Ontario, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/24/2013

Customer review by 1074

4.0 stars by 1074

Have used Remington shavers since the 1950s and this is the best of them. Purchased this to replace my F4790. It's much quieter and easier on sensitive skin.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
1074
Martha's Vineyard, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice idea!
1/9/2013

Customer review by dpeavey

2.0 stars by dpeavey

appears that remington tried to copy Brauns/panasonics foil razors using an integrated cutter between the foils in this low-budget shaver. It lacks power from my previous F-5 triple foil and did not shave as well. I returned it and purchased a Panasonic which I love. Too bad walmart does not carry panasonic shavers.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dpeavey
maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/29/2013

Customer review by large56

4.0 stars by large56

Like most electric razers they do not shave as close as a blade but i am happy with this one i think it does a pretty good job i like the moving head which gives a close shave under the nose

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
large56
MAINE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great shaver for the price.
1/9/2013

Customer review by igogolf9

5.0 stars by igogolf9

Very smooth operation, easy to hold. I have only had it for a week, but it does a very good job.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
igogolf9
Columbus, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great shaver
10/27/2013

Customer review by renirt

5.0 stars by renirt

The first time I tried a foil shaver and like it over a rotary one

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
renirt
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
really good shaver
1/21/2014

Customer review by FrogMAP

5.0 stars by FrogMAP

The shave is much better than any rotary or the Braun. The trimmer is greatly improved and works well. The grill does not last as long as I'd like, but it's still my favorite choice for a shaver. I wish the black blade cover stayed on better.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
FrogMAP
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/2/2013

Customer review by DJSmitty

5.0 stars by DJSmitty

Remington has proven to be a pretty reliable product. As for Walmart....they are my number one shopping place.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DJSmitty
Rochester, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gave this to Wife's dad.
12/30/2012

Customer review by Jessejr

5.0 stars by Jessejr

He Likes it a lot.

Was this review helpful? (3) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jessejr
Brownsville TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not worth low price
12/18/2012

Customer review by WildcatEJO

2.0 stars by WildcatEJO

I would rate this as barely adequate. Needs multiple passes to shave clean. noisy. I threw mine away after on month of use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
WildcatEJO
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Did not like it all.
8/14/2013

Customer review by lightskin350

1.0 stars by lightskin350

I returned it within a week. You have to charge it for 24 hours before you use it. This razor might work for others but Not me. Spend a little more money and get you something better like I did.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lightskin350
Bluewell, West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Remington I've owned
3/29/2014

Customer review by cleanbody

5.0 stars by cleanbody

light weight, easy to clean, good close shave,

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cleanbody
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 40 total reviews