Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 51 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

51 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

51 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
7
1 stars
9
1-20 of 43 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
Not as good as I expected
12/12/2012

Customer review by duckman

4.0 stars 12/12/2012 by duckman
by duckman

I have used a rotary shaver for several years and decided to return to a vibrating foil-type shaver - F4. My expectations were apparently too high. I can't get a really close shave unless I spend an inordinate amount of time going over and over. Also, if I skip a day it is very difficult for the foil head to "capture" the longer hairs. Finally when the head pivots, the motor slows down noticeably. This can't be good for the long-term durability. I have only had it for a couple weeks. I hate to give up on it, but I don't like to start out each day feeling stressed about shaving.

duckman
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Review of Remington shave F4-4800A shipped on 03/13/2014
4/9/2014

Customer review by Mervrem

1.0 stars 4/9/2014 by Mervrem
by Mervrem

I have been using the shaver for over three weeks, and it is as I expected. I have no trouble shaving my face, mouth, chin and neck, and opening the front and back of the cutter assembly to clean the stubble and loose hairs from the blades with the cleaning brush. It normally takes me about 45-50 minutes to shave, and after it is done I recharge the shaver for 5 hours. Some times this is not enough and I have to recharge the shaver again before I have finished shaving. Is this method and time for recharging the shaver about right?

Mervrem
Phoenix, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Love that Micro Screen
8/21/2014

Customer review by CDP43

5.0 stars 8/21/2014 by CDP43
by CDP43

Thus far the shaver gives me smooth clean shaves. To me the best feature is the micro screen surface. I have owned other Remington shavers with the micro screen head and prefer that over all other type shavers. While not operable and not a micro screen, I still have my first electric shaver from Remington circa 1963. If you're into clean comfortable shaves go for the Micro Screen!

CDP43
Montross, VA 22520
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Like the shaver for two features
12/12/2012

Customer review by Harv

4.0 stars 12/12/2012 by Harv
by Harv

The pivot feature is very useful and functonal, and the trimmer is much improved over shavers I have used in the past, including Remington and Braun. Not sure how long the screens will last, since the shaver is new. In the past, Remington screens have worn out way too fast.

Harv
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
ok
9/5/2013

Customer review by Packmommie

2.0 stars 9/5/2013 by Packmommie
by Packmommie

I have a Titanium MS280 that used to be much better until the trimmer broke. The trimmer on the new one is too small and doesn't work for me. The razor - I don't like the movement and it isn't much better. I usually love your products but this is the first time I don't

Packmommie
Sterling Heights, MI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
A great shaver for the money
3/11/2014

Customer review by Doc40

4.0 stars 3/11/2014 by Doc40
by Doc40

I like the pivoting head. I can get into areas on my face that were hard to shave before. It's fairly lightweight and easy to hold; it shaves closer than other razors I have had. My only complaint is the foil head is kind of difficult to remove for cleaning.Doc

Doc40
New Braunfels, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Overall disappointment.
11/4/2013

Customer review by PeteDude

1.0 stars 11/4/2013 by PeteDude
by PeteDude

I have always used a Remington for some 45 years and my recent purchase of the F4. in my opinion, has poor power and shaving ability (i.e. - technical machining of blades and a weak motor). I would be willing to pay more and get a better razor.

PeteDude
Marin / CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
A decent bargain shaver
12/22/2012

Customer review by keithieD

2.0 stars 12/22/2012 by keithieD
by keithieD

The F4 handles well and has a comfortable shave. It has two drawbacks: the pop-up trimmer is too small and doesn't feel durable, and the unit runs out of its charge with no warning - it just stops.

keithieD
Stow, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
This product does not work.......
3/25/2013

Customer review by Bowser

1.0 stars 3/25/2013 by Bowser
by Bowser

This shaver does not cut anything. I should have returned it. Useless and have to return to manual shaving. I do not understand how they can market/sale this shaver.

Bowser
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Razor
9/11/2013

Customer review by Neder

1.0 stars 9/11/2013 by Neder
by Neder

The razor I bought does not do a good job at all. After I use it I still have to shave with a regular razor. The claim saying that it shaves the neck is so false.

Neder
Warren, MI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Remington Trimmer
12/11/2012

Customer review by mechah

3.0 stars 12/11/2012 by mechah
by mechah

Doesnt stay on long and shaver takes forever to trim hiar. I wouldnt reccomend this cause trimmer because it is overpriced and not worth the money.

mechah
Austin Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Disappointed
8/11/2014

Customer review by StephenB

2.0 stars 8/11/2014 by StephenB
by StephenB

Lets just say it was so disappointing, that I sent it back for a full refund within the 60 day trial period.

StephenB
Corona Del Mar, Newport Beach, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
GREAT PRODUCT
5/10/2014

Customer review by Senior81

5.0 stars 5/10/2014 by Senior81
by Senior81

I have been using Remington shavers for about 30 years and this is the best one yet!!!!

Senior81
Cleveland, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Surprisingly good
8/22/2012

Customer review by Stjamesg8

5.0 stars 8/22/2012 by Stjamesg8
by Stjamesg8

I'd been using a Remington double foil shaver for the past few years, but it finally gave out. So, back to searching for something good at a decent price. WalMart had just gotten these in, so decided to give the Intercept idea a try. And it does a very good job...better than my old shaver ever did. Actually, I bought a Braun Series 1 at the same time to compare and here are my findings after using each shaver every other day. Appearance: The Braun is a better looking shaver, being smaller and more modern looking. The Remington F4 is noticeably larger and bulkier looking. Operation/Use: The Braun is a single foil shaver, so not really a fair comparison, but I wanted to be in the same price range. The Remington is smoother in shave comfort and overall feel while shaving. With the Braun, I could feel motor vibration and it was noisy. The Remington is smooth and not as noisy. The Braun's motor would bog down when shaving slightly heavier areas of stubble or when pressing a bit harder against the skin, while the Remington has yet to show any signs of bogging down, no matter what. Closeness of shave is among the best I've experienced with the Remington, I believe in part, due to the center cutter in conjunction with the two foils. The Remington's head swivels to conform to the face when shaving areas such as the chin, jaw, etc. Absolutely no irritation. I'm still on the first charge, and have completed six shaves with no loss of power. I wanted to see how the F4 performed on 3-day stubble, so allowed a short beard to grow, and the F4 cut through it like butter....smooth and sure without bogging down a bit. Nice. Cordless run time: The Braun's run time is listed at 20 minutes, but it began to deplete within three shaves. The Remington's run time is listed at 30 minutes and as mentioned, after six shaves, including one with 3-day stubble, it's still running strong. Trimmer: The Braun's trimmer worked fairly well, probably better than the F4. I don't particularly like the perpendicular orientation of the F4's trimmer but I use a dedicated trimmer for sideburns, etc anyway, so not an issue. I also don't like the power button placement on the F4 and keep accidentally turning it off while shaving. It's located right in the center of the handle and can be easily pressed while shaving. I'm trying to get used to holding it in a different position. One other thing, I searched for the foil/cutter replacement spf300 as noted on the box, but doesn't exist at this time. I contacted Remington and was told the F4 is a new product and they expect the replacement foil/cutter to be available soon...but WILL be available. Overall, I like this shaver, although I have no idea how it will hold up over time. At this price, if I can get at least a year or two our of it, I'll be happy.

Was this review helpful? (86) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stjamesg8
Madison, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Shaver for Seasoned User!!!
12/15/2012

Customer review by LRW1

5.0 stars 12/15/2012 by LRW1
by LRW1

Great Shaver all around. I have been a Remington user for over 30 years, switched to a Braun Series 3-320, and went back to my Remington F4790 with new blades and cutter with a better shave than the Braun. Then tried this new F4-4900 at Walmart for $29.99, and I love it. The Interceptor is great for the neck and long hairs, and the two foils give great close shave with little effort. They have the F5-5800 Interceptor on sale for $44.95, which if I was not so happy the F4-4900, I might look into. Hope Walmart carries the replacement blades soon, at least online for a fair price. I remain faithful to the Remington and highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LRW1
Citrus Heights, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT SHAVER
1/9/2013

Customer review by PITMAN1

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by PITMAN1
by PITMAN1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I hadn't used an electric shaver in 3 years. The last one I had was the $130.00 Braun shaver that sat in its cleaning fluid. The one before it was the $100.00 Norelco. They worked fine, but when they needed new heads, I went back to a razor and shaving cream. A week before Christmas, I developed a cold sore on my lip and when you shaved with a razor, you cut it. So I decided to buy a Cheap electric shaver to use in times like that and when I didn't want to lather up. So I saw this Remington F4 shaver reg $39.00 at Walmart for $29.00 which I bought. Boy was I suprised! It shaves just as good as the $100.00 + Norelco and Braun. I got a full weeks shaves out of it before I had to recharge it. Plus you just brush the cutters with a brush and once a month rince the head under the faucet. I was so impresed with the razor, I decided to go ahead and order another head for it , since the instructions said you should replace them in 6 months. It is a new razor and no one has the heads yet so you order the heads on line direct from Remington for $24.00. Before I did I went to WalMart on line and saw I could order another new shaver $5.00 cheaper than the heads. They had the shaver on sale on line for $19.95. So I now have 2 F4 shavers. Like I said, I love the the shaver. It shaves just as good as the high priced brands and a 1/3 the cost. I would highly recommend the Remington F4 shaver.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PITMAN1
WINSTON SALEM, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best I 've ever owned
11/15/2012

Customer review by jonzz

5.0 stars 11/15/2012 by jonzz
by jonzz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This shaver works great in all aspects..like all electrics, better with one days' growth but handles 2 with a couple of passes..swiveling head adds to comfort. All good here. The shaver does not run on power cord alone so keep it charged.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jonzz
tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good razor but costly to maintain as recommended.
10/8/2013

Customer review by Canuk31

4.0 stars 10/8/2013 by Canuk31
by Canuk31
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This purchase was a replacement for a Remington F$-4900 Shaver. The original worked well until the foil wore out after nearly three years of use. I had chosen not to follow the manufacturer's recommendation to replace the foil and cutter every six months, at the cost of 75% of the original price of the razor. And I chose not to replace the foil and cutter when it wore out. Investing 75% of the cost of a replacement razor in a razor with aging, irreplaceable, rechargable batteries was not a good bet. A redesign, with user replaceable NiCad batteries might induce the user to replace the extremely overpriced replacement screen and cutter, but no one in their right mind would have spent three times the price of the razor over a three year period.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Canuk31
Creston BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awful
10/2/2013

Customer review by z80kid

1.0 stars 10/2/2013 by z80kid
by z80kid

This thing leaves stubble all over my face, no matter how many times I go over it. My last shaver was the MS-280. It lasted 5 years and did a wonderful job. But my local Wal-Mart doesn't carry it anymore. So I decided to try this thing. Big disappointment.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
z80kid
Manchester, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
TRY IT...YOU'LL LIKE
12/4/2012

Customer review by kk1117

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by kk1117
by kk1117
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had a 15-year-old Braun Activator that finally gasped its last breath. I read others' ratings of this shaver--including one who chose this one over a new Braun. I completely agree with his evaluation. Not only is it much less expensive than anything Braun makes--it does at least as good a job. Fast, quiet, cuts quick and you are done! Great product at ANY price!

Was this review helpful? (11) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kk1117
York County, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews