Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 173 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

173 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

173 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
91
4 stars
46
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 stars
16
1-20 of 161 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 161 total reviews
1-20 of 161 reviews
Another winner from Remington!
1/18/2013

Customer review by GB317

5.0 stars 1/18/2013 by GB317
by GB317

I have been shaving with Remington electric shavers since the early '70s and they've averaged a respectable 10 years of service life. Recently when my Remington Intercept model needed new cutting heads, I was informed the model was no longer manufactured. I took a chance on the F5 which boasted the new pivoting head which was supposed to follow the contours of your face. Well the shaver does what it's supposed to with surprising ease, cutting through sometimes 4 or 5 days worth of tough beard - very impressive! A great shave every time. However, I must say that the pivoting head (at least on mine) is a bust. It's too stiff to roll across the contours of your face which is why I only gave the shaver a good rating in the performance box. I still highly recommend it for the excellent shave.

GB317
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Really Like It
2/17/2014

Customer review by Coldwaterite

5.0 stars 2/17/2014 by Coldwaterite
by Coldwaterite

My old razor's battery was not holding a charge and needed new cutters, so it only made sense to move up to a new razor. I tried one of Remington's Rotary shavers, it was a nice lightweight, quiet razor but I just couldn't get it to shave as close as my old foil razor and couldn't get above my lip (mustache area) well at all. Remington was very prompt in returning my purchase price for that unit. So I bought this F5. Nice razor! Shaves well. I am very happy with this unit and very satisfied with Remington's return policy for the Rotary I tried). The intercept trimmer has eliminated all those little stray hairs that seem to spring up in the neck area. The best shave is when I use a pre-shave lotion; but I still get a good shave without the pre-shave lotion.

Coldwaterite
Coldwater, MI 49036, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
vERY GOOD SHAVER
2/26/2014

Customer review by TITUS

4.0 stars 2/26/2014 by TITUS
by TITUS

I ORRIGINAL USED THE MICRO SCREEN SHAVERS. I STARTED WHEN THE ADDS RUN ABOUT THE MAN WHO BOUGHT THE COMPANY. I USED THESE UNTL I SAW SANTA CLAUS SLEDING DOWN A HILL AND SWITCHED TO NORELCO. HOWEVER I NEVER GOT A SATISFACTORY SHAVE. ALSO USED THE 4570. UNFORTUNATELY REPLACEMENT BLADES AND SCREENS ARE NO LONGER AVAILABE FOR THESE OLD SHAVERS 88P2-10 AND MODEL 8MF1. THE 5800 IS EASIER TO HOLD AND GIVES A VERY NICE CLOSE SHAVE. YOU HAVE TO FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS:SMALL ROTARY MOTIONS. DOING THIS GIVES AN EXCELLENT CLOSE BLADE LIKE SHAVE. I AM 85 YEARS OLD AND HAVE USED THIS SHAVER FOR WEEKS. HAD A HARD TIME ON THE REMINGTON WEB SITE TO FIND THE REPLACEMENT SCREEN AND BLADES. THE ARE PRICED ABOUT THE SAME AS NORECLO,

TITUS
BERKLEY MICHIGAN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
My new favorite.
11/15/2012

Customer review by JohnnyT

5.0 stars 11/15/2012 by JohnnyT
by JohnnyT

For me this is the best razor I have owned. I have tried both foil and rotary and the F5 is the only one that doesn't leave my face burning or feeling like it's been through a blender. I am 51 and my beard is like straws now but I still have a baby face so for me using shave cream and a disposable are out of the question because I always wind up looking like I lost a knife fight. With the F5, It just takes me a few minutes even though my beard grows in different directions. It still leaves my face touchable and it doesn't feel like it's been pricked by needles. It works very well for me. Thank You Remington.

JohnnyT
Atlanta, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
F5800XLP - Bad Shave
4/11/2014

Customer review by Tom24

1.0 stars 4/11/2014 by Tom24
by Tom24

This shaver simply doesn't give you a close shave. I have given it over a month of daily use in hopes it would somehow, get better? It hasn't. You have to go over the same spots over and over, and it is terrible shaving when you have a two day beard growth. I have used Remington's Triple Foil shavers for many years. And I highly recommend them for ease of use and a super great close shave. I bought the F58 as a back up shaver which I keep at work. It has already gone in the trash. Time to get a Triple Foil backup shaver.

Tom24
Sonoma, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great Shave but Battery Issues
5/6/2014

Customer review by ireb

2.0 stars 5/6/2014 by ireb
by ireb

Got this from my wife for Christmas December 2013. Now in May 2014 it suddenly stopped recharging correctly. If I leave it on the charger cable for a full day then the green lights blink as if it is fully charged. It will run plugged in. As soon as I unplug it though the red light comes on and it does not work. I miss it, great shave for in the shower. Taking it to repair shop in Napa, CA, hope it is covered by warranty (hope we can find proof of purchase too!).

ireb
Davis, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Too early to tell
1/2/2013

Customer review by Woodyhuff

4.0 stars 1/2/2013 by Woodyhuff
by Woodyhuff

I have only just received the F5 shaver and it is too early to tell much about its durability and overall performance. The limited experience I have had with it has been pretty good but it doesn't appear to shave as closely as the Remington Model MS2 390 it is replacing after 5 years of outstanding service. Given my previous satisfaction with Remington shavers I must conclude that the F5 will also work out at least as well.

Woodyhuff
Arlington, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Average shave at best
9/2/2013

Customer review by MikeM

3.0 stars 9/2/2013 by MikeM
by MikeM

I have been a loyal Remington customer for close to 20 years and have really liked all of my previous razors. The pivoting head and foils don't shave as close as previous, non-pivoting, dual and triple foil razors I have had. The pop-up trimmer is terrible and barely works. I'm disappointed that pretty much all of Remington's foil razors have a pivoting head because I don't think it cuts as close as previous models.

MikeM
Columbus, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
It's shaped well and fits my hand well.
1/11/2013

Customer review by hwwlls

3.0 stars 1/11/2013 by hwwlls
by hwwlls

Does not shave as close as my old remington. Requires numerous passes to remove all stubble. There is a "comb" in the middle between the two cutters, and its sharp edges irritate my skin. On the positive side, it holds a charge really well and lasts a long time between charges. You will get numerous shaves from a single charge. It's shaped well and fits my hand well. The trimmer also works very well.

hwwlls
Monroe, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
This shaver is acceptable. The intercept technology is tough on the face.
2/2/2013

Customer review by RazorBurn1

2.0 stars 2/2/2013 by RazorBurn1
by RazorBurn1

I purchased this to replace a Remington F4790 dual foil shaver without intercept technology. I wanted something that addrssed the longer hairs and gave me a better shave. This F5 was not any better than the F4790, and the intercept technology is tough on my skin. It takes a long time to get a close shave. My unit did not come with a set of replacement foils. I would not purchase this product again

RazorBurn1
Texas, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
An Average Product For An Average Price
3/26/2013

Customer review by Rags

3.0 stars 3/26/2013 by Rags
by Rags

After about 2 weeks the razor is slowly adjusting to my face and gives a relatively close shave, although I would like to see better results. I think the shave would be closer if I weren't so gun shy about razor burn from the blade between the screens in the hair pocket. This design flaw is the major drawback of the product. The old razors without this feature worked just fine.

Rags
Arlington, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Poor, Poor, and Poor
8/11/2014

Customer review by George68

1.0 stars 8/11/2014 by George68
by George68

Extremely disappointed in the quality of this shaver. This shaver has turned into a money pit to maintain. Factor in The initial price, add cost of replacement foils, not once, but twice in the past three months, and I now need to replace them AGAIN! My face has been nicked to the point of bleeding, by the holes in the foils! Really? I am done with Remington Products!

George68
Deale, MD, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Burned
3/25/2014

Customer review by Dave60

1.0 stars 3/25/2014 by Dave60
by Dave60

This is the worst shaver I've ever owned. It's over-sized and under-powered. The shape is hard to hold onto. It takes ten minutes of steady shaving to achieve what I would call a barely passable shave. I received the wrong extra cutter and foil, but it doesn't matter because the shaver is in the garbage. I'll never buy another Remington product.

Dave60
Spooner, WI USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
F5 Shaver
1/22/2014

Customer review by Beegee

5.0 stars 1/22/2014 by Beegee
by Beegee

This is a step up from the 4800 shaver, nicer design, less noisy, heavier razor, and a step up in the rechargeable class of razors in general. If the motor doesn't quit after 2 years like the 4800, I will consider a true upward trend in quality of hand-held razors for Remington, since they stopped making the cheaper versions...

Beegee
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Total let down compared to older models
12/30/2013

Customer review by Mohd7999

2.0 stars 12/30/2013 by Mohd7999
by Mohd7999

The pop up trimmer doesn't cut longer hair and does a very poor job cutting/detailing side bearns or mustache. The interceptor trimmer did not perform as well as I expected. The only good to decent thing is the foil on this shaver. I would go back to buying an older remington model rather than buying this piece of junk

Mohd7999
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not just a replacement, a great new shaver.
9/4/2013

Customer review by archnlv

5.0 stars 9/4/2013 by archnlv
by archnlv

I finally had to let go of my last Remington Foil Shaver. 8 years of great shaves. The battery more than outlasted its normal life. The F5800 shaves even better and the battery is remarkable. 2 weeks is great! The interceptor is a great addition. No more stray whiskers discovered too late. Thank you Remington!

archnlv
Henderson, NV, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
worst ever
1/25/2015

Customer review by milbro

1.0 stars 1/25/2015 by milbro
by milbro

been using remington shavers for over 50 years.This model is terrible my face feels raw after shave as i have to keep rubbing many times to achieve something close.Dont know how it passed the product testing stage.Impossible to get close under nostril as cutting blades are not effective

milbro
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Product is the best Remington shaver in years.
3/30/2014

Customer review by Jerry42

4.0 stars 3/30/2014 by Jerry42
by Jerry42

65+ use daily-clean shaven. I have used the best of Braun,Norelco and Panasonic through the years and this shaver gives a very quick comfortable shave as any of the others mentioned. I would highly recommend this shaver.

Jerry42
Carrollton, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Use to be the best brand
12/29/2013

Customer review by sra4031

3.0 stars 12/29/2013 by sra4031
by sra4031

I have always love Remington Shavers, but now it seems everyone wants to make these things fancy. Go back to the basic models we used in the 80's and 90's These razors shaved as close as a blade, and would last for years.

sra4031
Smyrna, TN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Another Great Product
1/2/2013

Customer review by MrP01

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by MrP01
by MrP01

This is the 3rd Remington Shaver I have owned, and once again I love it! I've also tried Braun and others over the years but none brought as much satisfaction. Thank you for making consistently great products.

MrP01
Roselle, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 161 total reviews
1-20 of 161 reviews