Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 10 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

10 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

10 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-7 of 7 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Stopped working within 20 days.
11/6/2012

Customer review by chicago02

2.0 stars 11/6/2012 by chicago02
by chicago02

I was delighted to buy this desktop drive that can work on Mac and Windows. But unfortunately the drive stopped working within first 20 days. Not sure if this is a manufacturing defect or a design defect. But would like to return it and start searching for a better desktop drive.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chicago02
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works like a charm !!
8/22/2012

Customer review by Sanskrit

5.0 stars 8/22/2012 by Sanskrit
by Sanskrit

I just got a brand new drive 3TB in size. Used my Mac to partition on FAT format. Copied content back and forth between my Windows and Mac machines. Drive start/eject feature works fast. Desktop backup option using the inbuilt seagate s/w worked on windows very well. On Mac, i had just used Time machine to do timely backups and the device responded very well. With currently the deal going on the price, its the best buy for the price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sanskrit
Fremont,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Nice Data Locker
9/22/2012

Customer review by HammerQQ

5.0 stars 9/22/2012 by HammerQQ
by HammerQQ

Truly a 'plug-n-play' product. Literally within a few minutes you'll be on your way to storing everything you wish. No need to get caught up in Seagate's interchangeable docking platforms for the average home user using a desktop or laptop copying old CDs and DVDs to the the external drive. Most techno-users already have their mind made up if they wish to purchase the expensive add-ons for the uses they provide. It's a specific that the average user need not belabor over. Transfer speeds were fairly fast. The drive is rather quiet. The case is very durable and should a tumble occur (of normal heights) the survival rate is almost a certainty. The heat experienced was in the normal range - lesser when watching a movie, higher during mass transfers. I wish this unit had an on/off switch accessible on the unit other than pulling the plug on the back. Assured extended life depends on keeping your drive unpowered when not in use. The only other thing I questioned was why 300gb are not available for storage. 300gb seems rather high (10%). Nonetheless, there's ample room for the average user and you'll have a challenging time using up the remaining room. All-in-all, huge storage for a good price with no formatting or partitioning needed for under 150.00 seems like a good choice. I'm really enjoying the ease of use, the comfort of backup protection and no longer dragging out the DVD collection and shuffling through the albums to see what movie I wish to watch. One scroll to choose, one more click and the movie is playing. After years of prep work when reformatting my desktop, I now feel a lot better knowing all files will be organized and ready to be transferred back on the C: drive with one mere plug-in of this device. I will probably save the cost of this device in two years by no longer buying DVD blanks

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HammerQQ
Central Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Fantastic Hard drive
2/20/2013

Customer review by TweetyHawsFarGar1958

5.0 stars 2/20/2013 by TweetyHawsFarGar1958
by TweetyHawsFarGar1958

I like that it can be used 2 different ways which meets my needs just fine just had to make sure to not let it do computer backups to start with since i needed to to save some other stuff on first then once I get those items organized I will use it to back up my computer too. But I had stuff scattered on other portable hard drives and not enough room on any now I can organize and clean it up and put back on the smaller hard drives for safe keeping

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TweetyHawsFarGar1958
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fast with lots of storage
10/11/2012

Customer review by Zipcy

5.0 stars 10/11/2012 by Zipcy
by Zipcy

Seagate Retail 3TB Backup Plus Desktop Drive was Very easy to install and setup on multiple machines. I have one desktop and 3 laptops that vary in age with three different operating systems from XP and Win 7. The system installed without any problem. It is Fast with lots of storage. Great for network backups and shared files, but novice will have problems setting up the shares and security. Documentation is fair, but it could be more useful if they have provided a section to walk through a new user the possible ways to use the device prior to installation. The drive has been satisfactory in all regards: performance, ease of use, transfer of files from other sources, use by other individuals in the house, etc. I am well satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zipcy
Foster City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Very Good
10/28/2012

Customer review by wwtbilly

5.0 stars 10/28/2012 by wwtbilly
by wwtbilly

Needs USB3 to get all the speed. Did not use SeaGate Software.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wwtbilly
Lafayette, La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/8/2012

Customer review by RCCRI

5.0 stars 11/8/2012 by RCCRI
by RCCRI

THE PRODUCT, PRICE, AND DELIVERY WAS GOOD, BUT THE PRODUCT DID NOT COME WITH ANY INSTRUCTIONS. I WILL NEED TO SEE IF I CAN FIND INSTRUCTIONS ON THE INTERNET.

Was this review helpful? (2) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RCCRI
WINLOCK, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.