Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 32 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

32 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

32 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 27 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
Lives up to the Seagate reputation
3/29/2014

Customer review by PoorlyCoded1

5.0 stars 3/29/2014 by PoorlyCoded1
by PoorlyCoded1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just upgraded from Windows XP and was looking for an external hard drive to store a total backup of the Windows 7 Home Premium OS, plus all files. The new computer came with a one terabyte hard drive, so I needed something at least that large. As soon as I saw this 3 terabyte unit by Seagate with a usb 3.0 connection, I felt that I couldn't go wrong. The unit arrived a day earlier than the anticipated date, and was well packaged/protected. (The packaging by Seagate, alone, provided substantial protection. The additional shipping packaging just added to it). Upon receiving the unit, I looked at the brief pictorial instructions and simply plugged it in and connected it to the computer. This thing is literally plug 'n' play. With the imaging backup software already installed, you just make a few clicks and off you go. It's so quiet, that if not for the blinking blue light indicating that it was running, you would wonder if anything was happening. I'm very pleased with the Seagate unit.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PoorlyCoded1
New Smyrna Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/31/2012

Customer review by Gordo88

5.0 stars 10/31/2012 by Gordo88
by Gordo88

Wow, I got a consistent 160MB Write speed and 170MB Read speed on this for a 1TB folder that took just 2 hours.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gordo88
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good external hard drive to own
2/3/2013

Customer review by beamkenny

5.0 stars 2/3/2013 by beamkenny
by beamkenny

i had this for a month it is what i want to have for my files and others' that i have sitting arround the house and some others that i can think about put some more on my external hard drive and yes i would to see some friends and family to use this for their home computer and or laptop.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beamkenny
carbondale, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Storage
1/3/2014

Customer review by NewShura

4.0 stars 1/3/2014 by NewShura
by NewShura
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The hard drive comes equipped with the Windows software; if you are on Mac as I am, you will first need to go through the pains of using the Disk Utility to format it (your Mac will see the drive but you will not be able to write on it otherwise). Meets expectations - Good, because this detail was not mentioned in the product description. That little thing done, the disk works well. The missing part is the on-off button; hence the ease of use grade, Good.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewShura
Claremont, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not as good As Maxtor
5/17/2015

Customer review by CriticalOne

2.0 stars 5/17/2015 by CriticalOne
by CriticalOne

As I understand Seagate bought out Maxtor but why aren't they using their excellent software? I have a 250GB Maxtor Plus One drive I use for backup which works beautifully. For the initial save, Seagate changes ALL file dates to the saving date!! WHY? Ex: Recently I backed up my computer after a week or so with both my Maxtor and Seagate drives using USB 2.0. The Maxtor took 4-5 minutes to save the 85 files in several different folders totaling approx. 1GB. The Seagate took between 22-30 minutes! My Maxtor saved all files with their original dates intact whereas the Seagate put the saving day's date on all files - most undesirable especially with pictures! The Maxtor reassembles all the changes giving one exactly what one sees on their computer main drive whereas the Seagate shows only the changed/added files themselves. (Continuous Mode)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CriticalOne
Would recommend to a friend? No
less than a year harddrive crashes
10/25/2013

Customer review by cblueyes49

1.0 stars 10/25/2013 by cblueyes49
by cblueyes49

Will never buy another Seagate product not even a year yet and lost everything on the drive

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cblueyes49
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product great price.
1/7/2014

Customer review by CMill3

5.0 stars 1/7/2014 by CMill3
by CMill3
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was a project to expand storage and limit extra drives. Had it set up and partitioned into 3 drives in minutes. Haven had a problem since.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CMill3
Santee, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works well with USB 2.0
1/23/2014

Customer review by SlowComputerUser

4.0 stars 1/23/2014 by SlowComputerUser
by SlowComputerUser
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just plug and play. Windows 7 Pro with USB 2.0.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SlowComputerUser
E Rochester
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
fast, very reliable
3/19/2013

Customer review by savvyshopperz

5.0 stars 3/19/2013 by savvyshopperz
by savvyshopperz

Bought one at St@pels online for under $100 delivered free. Great deal, watch for price wars on this item. Backward comparable USB, no software to install, easy to setup.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
savvyshopperz
NW Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product
3/12/2013

Customer review by HeavenAbove

5.0 stars 3/12/2013 by HeavenAbove
by HeavenAbove
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Seagate expansion hard drive was SO easy to install, plug and play, and works great. Using it to store camera videos and am very pleased with it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HeavenAbove
Elyria, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT GREAT LOVE IT
2/19/2014

Customer review by antennaguy1955

5.0 stars 2/19/2014 by antennaguy1955
by antennaguy1955
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy yo set-up and use

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
antennaguy1955
tacoma wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great fo everyone
1/10/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/10/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Exactly as I expected. Good, Reliable, Fast

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Palm Coast, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Trouble
2/19/2015

Customer review by Sadone

3.0 stars 2/19/2015 by Sadone
by Sadone

I could not get it to load properly and had to take it to my computer shop. Would not open nor back up my files. I was not happy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sadone
Would recommend to a friend? No
Quality & Value
2/17/2015

Customer review by iceman5000

5.0 stars 2/17/2015 by iceman5000
by iceman5000

Seagate HD are top notch in my book. It was a better performing than WD Hard drives. I chose this item over a 1 TB drive for 89.99.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iceman5000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3 TBs @ $33.00 each WOW
3/1/2015

Customer review by HighCommander

5.0 stars 3/1/2015 by HighCommander
by HighCommander

Great value it fast to move files to backed the whole home network

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HighCommander
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Decent price, great storage, great performance
12/5/2012

Customer review by Evets88

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by Evets88
by Evets88

I don't mean to be "that guy", but these other reviewers have to be doing something wrong. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this drive. I plugged it in and immediately started transferring data. I've filled it up to almost 2TB already. Obviously it's a little slower running through USB 2.0, but USB 3.0 on my Dell XPS 13 is amazing. I moved over a few GB at over 200MB/s. I've got nothing bad to say about this drive.

Evets88
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Stores lots of movies!
12/10/2012

Customer review by Mjolnir

3.0 stars 12/10/2012 by Mjolnir
by Mjolnir
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good amount of storage for movies, pictures, files, etc. Unfortunately, it doesn't work on our Playstation 3 like the other external hard drive we have to watch movies which is why our rating for this product was average.

Was this review helpful? (2) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mjolnir
Guam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good When They Work
7/5/2014

Customer review by Ubervid

2.0 stars 7/5/2014 by Ubervid
by Ubervid

I took my first one of these back with a bad USB 3.0 port, right out of the box. They exchanged it with no problems, but now that I have 1.6 TB stored on it, it decides to go out. Not a happy camper at all. It's well under a year old and it's all but gone. Sometimes it will mount, but usually not. When it does, the max transfer rate is about 700 KBPS. Try transferring 1.6 TB to a new drive at that speed! I think I'll give the WD a try next time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ubervid
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Shipping was wrong
1/12/2015

Customer review by Taylorjh82

1.0 stars 1/12/2015 by Taylorjh82
by Taylorjh82

You shipped a very fragile item in a garmet bag as if it was a t shirts Hard drives should be package and shipped for ultimate care ... This was just in a envelop bag no padding no help ........ Last item I order from Walmart

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Taylorjh82
Would recommend to a friend? No
so far so good
9/23/2014

Customer review by superpanamax

4.0 stars 9/23/2014 by superpanamax
by superpanamax
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

on from out of the box non-stop for a week now, formatted for MAC and is holding about a TB of data that my main drive accesses daily, heavy traffic transferring files to and from it, turned it off for the first time after seven days, expect no issues for boot up later, comes with 1 yr warrantee, no issues so far, guarded opinion so far; good value

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
superpanamax
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews