Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

44 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

44 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
5
1-20 of 39 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
Good external drive, but inadequate heat dispersal
8/4/2013

Customer review by skst

4.0 stars 8/4/2013 by skst
by skst

This is a nice fan-less external hard drive. Unfortunately, the metal case is insufficiently bonded to the hard drive itself. It seems to rely on the ventilation holes on the underside of the case. As you know, heat rises, so it's a terrible design. I keep mine upside-down, and it still hits dangerous temperatures of more than 135-degrees Fahrenheit after heavy use. Since this is a 3T drive, it should be no surprise that gigabytes of data get copied to it or read from it, so these temps are unacceptable and will shorten the drive's lifespan. There should be holes on the top and side, or the case should touch the drive so it can conduct the heat away.

skst
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very dissappointed
9/4/2014

Customer review by Jeffffy

1.0 stars 9/4/2014 by Jeffffy
by Jeffffy

This hard drive's connection to the USB 3.0 cable has failed just after a year and a half. 3.5 terabytes lost. The drive will spin up sometimes if I hold the cable and press down on it where it connects to the drive, but it's so finicky that it will shut off again very quickly after finding the sweet spot. I am now in the market for a new hard drive and will not choose a cheapy like this again, especially from sea-gate.

Jeffffy
Victoria, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
Quick & Easy
9/5/2014

Customer review by kjsm

5.0 stars 9/5/2014 by kjsm
by kjsm
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this a month ago and not even close to capacity. It was quick and easy to setup, just plug it in and start downloading all my pictures and music onto the external hard drive. Backed up the computers and still have mega room to add more. It is just as easy to extract the data as it was putting it onto the hard drive. Have had absolutely no issues. Would definitely recommend.

kjsm
Airdrie, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent price, great storage, great performance
12/5/2012

Customer review by Evets88

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by Evets88
by Evets88

I don't mean to be "that guy", but these other reviewers have to be doing something wrong. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this drive. I plugged it in and immediately started transferring data. I've filled it up to almost 2TB already. Obviously it's a little slower running through USB 2.0, but USB 3.0 on my Dell XPS 13 is amazing. I moved over a few GB at over 200MB/s. I've got nothing bad to say about this drive.

Evets88
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lots of Storage for the Money
11/4/2013

Customer review by RalphEllis

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by RalphEllis
by RalphEllis

I use this hard drive to image and back up my other hard drives so it needs size and reliability. This is a brand name hard drive with industry standard connections that fills the bill. It is inexpensive, installs with no issues and handles the backups with ease.

RalphEllis
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
Horrible Drive
9/7/2014

Customer review by Arsenault

1.0 stars 9/7/2014 by Arsenault
by Arsenault

Bought this HDD and it didn't last a year. First the USB input on the case broke, then i bought an enclosure for the HDD a few months later i had sectors failing. Leaving it unable to recover any data.

Arsenault
Edmonton, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
! IT'S THE BOMB !
8/30/2014

Customer review by aceimus

5.0 stars 8/30/2014 by aceimus
by aceimus

That's how my daughter would describe this external, and this sums it all up. (1) Very Fast (2) Very Fast (3) Very Fast If you are running windows 8 or above be sure and download the Seagate Dashboard Installer from there website. Otherwise the drive will sleep after 15 min of inactivity which will increase the time it takes to open any seagate external.

aceimus
Southern Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
compact in physical size, enormous in torage size.
5/28/2014

Customer review by thesearethedavesiknow

5.0 stars 5/28/2014 by thesearethedavesiknow
by thesearethedavesiknow

This is my third hard drive and it is an absolute BEAST!! 3 TB of awesomeness!! I would recommend that everyone buy an external hard drive and if you need a big one, this is the one you need

thesearethedavesiknow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
User Friendly
4/2/2015

Customer review by Lassie123

5.0 stars 4/2/2015 by Lassie123
by Lassie123

Very happy with the product ....lots of storage and reliable

Lassie123
Sydney, NS, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great Value
1/11/2014

Customer review by Bucknut3291

5.0 stars 1/11/2014 by Bucknut3291
by Bucknut3291

This product is a great value for such a huge amount of storage. It is so user friendly. You can use it as an extra drive or have it backing up your system on a daily basis. Love it! Would recommend to anyone looking for an external drive for their computer back up storage needs.

Bucknut3291
Ohio, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
awesome drive
5/28/2014

Customer review by crazyfingers87

5.0 stars 5/28/2014 by crazyfingers87
by crazyfingers87

the drive is wicked 3 TB of space to use and comes with pc backup software.

crazyfingers87
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Lots of storage
9/28/2013

Customer review by scollum

5.0 stars 9/28/2013 by scollum
by scollum

Lots of storage for a great price and fast shipping

scollum
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
POPS
6/2/2014

Customer review by POPS401

5.0 stars 6/2/2014 by POPS401
by POPS401

Arrived sooner than expected. very easy installation. I followed the instructions, pluged it in and started using it immediately. The unit worked so well, I am considering another purchase of the same product in the near future.

POPS401
CHICAGO, IL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lives up to the Seagate reputation
3/29/2014

Customer review by PoorlyCoded1

5.0 stars 3/29/2014 by PoorlyCoded1
by PoorlyCoded1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just upgraded from Windows XP and was looking for an external hard drive to store a total backup of the Windows 7 Home Premium OS, plus all files. The new computer came with a one terabyte hard drive, so I needed something at least that large. As soon as I saw this 3 terabyte unit by Seagate with a usb 3.0 connection, I felt that I couldn't go wrong. The unit arrived a day earlier than the anticipated date, and was well packaged/protected. (The packaging by Seagate, alone, provided substantial protection. The additional shipping packaging just added to it). Upon receiving the unit, I looked at the brief pictorial instructions and simply plugged it in and connected it to the computer. This thing is literally plug 'n' play. With the imaging backup software already installed, you just make a few clicks and off you go. It's so quiet, that if not for the blinking blue light indicating that it was running, you would wonder if anything was happening. I'm very pleased with the Seagate unit.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PoorlyCoded1
New Smyrna Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/31/2012

Customer review by Gordo88

5.0 stars 10/31/2012 by Gordo88
by Gordo88

Wow, I got a consistent 160MB Write speed and 170MB Read speed on this for a 1TB folder that took just 2 hours.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gordo88
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good external hard drive to own
2/3/2013

Customer review by beamkenny

5.0 stars 2/3/2013 by beamkenny
by beamkenny

i had this for a month it is what i want to have for my files and others' that i have sitting arround the house and some others that i can think about put some more on my external hard drive and yes i would to see some friends and family to use this for their home computer and or laptop.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beamkenny
carbondale, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Storage
1/3/2014

Customer review by NewShura

4.0 stars 1/3/2014 by NewShura
by NewShura
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The hard drive comes equipped with the Windows software; if you are on Mac as I am, you will first need to go through the pains of using the Disk Utility to format it (your Mac will see the drive but you will not be able to write on it otherwise). Meets expectations - Good, because this detail was not mentioned in the product description. That little thing done, the disk works well. The missing part is the on-off button; hence the ease of use grade, Good.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewShura
Claremont, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
less than a year harddrive crashes
10/25/2013

Customer review by cblueyes49

1.0 stars 10/25/2013 by cblueyes49
by cblueyes49

Will never buy another Seagate product not even a year yet and lost everything on the drive

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cblueyes49
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product great price.
1/7/2014

Customer review by CMill3

5.0 stars 1/7/2014 by CMill3
by CMill3
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was a project to expand storage and limit extra drives. Had it set up and partitioned into 3 drives in minutes. Haven had a problem since.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CMill3
Santee, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not as good As Maxtor
5/17/2015

Customer review by CriticalOne

2.0 stars 5/17/2015 by CriticalOne
by CriticalOne

As I understand Seagate bought out Maxtor but why aren't they using their excellent software? I have a 250GB Maxtor Plus One drive I use for backup which works beautifully. For the initial save, Seagate changes ALL file dates to the saving date!! WHY? Ex: Recently I backed up my computer after a week or so with both my Maxtor and Seagate drives using USB 2.0. The Maxtor took 4-5 minutes to save the 85 files in several different folders totaling approx. 1GB. The Seagate took between 22-30 minutes! My Maxtor saved all files with their original dates intact whereas the Seagate put the saving day's date on all files - most undesirable especially with pictures! The Maxtor reassembles all the changes giving one exactly what one sees on their computer main drive whereas the Seagate shows only the changed/added files themselves. (Continuous Mode)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CriticalOne
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews