Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 54 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

54 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

54 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
5
1-20 of 46 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 46 total reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews
Works well
10/8/2012

Customer review by LWicht

4.0 stars 10/8/2012 by LWicht
by LWicht

Tested with 10" cast iron chicken fryer/pot and 4 cups oil uncovered Setting Watts Temperature F 1 .... 450 .. 170 2 .... 800 .. 195 - 220 3 ... 1000 .. 270 - 285 4 ... 1200 .. 330 - 345 5 ... 1500 .. 370 - 385 Some stainless steel works NEVER PUT A BARE/EMPTY PAN/POT ON IT!

Was this review helpful? (93) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LWicht
Marietta, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
9/18/2012

Customer review by hills519

5.0 stars 9/18/2012 by hills519
by hills519

I love it. I don't have to worry about the water overflowing into the coils on the stove. I don't have to worry about food falling into the stove coils. Heats up fast too. I wanted the NuWave PIC, but this is just as good.

Was this review helpful? (59) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hills519
East Falmouth, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
good price for easy to use induction cooktop
9/11/2012

Customer review by nowdoit

4.0 stars 9/11/2012 by nowdoit
by nowdoit

This Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop is indeed portable. It is light weight, and I moved it from the dining room to the kitchen to cook on it two separate times. It is a nice way to find out if you like induction cooking, reasonable price and easy to use. The cooking modes are easy to set and I like that I don't have to use a heated electric stove to prepare just one food item.

Was this review helpful? (55) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nowdoit
Nevada, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
good value
9/15/2012

Customer review by Cyalexa

3.0 stars 9/15/2012 by Cyalexa
by Cyalexa

Purchased to use while I am waiting to replace my broken 6 year old expensive Kenmore Elite induction cook top. I am familiar with cooking with induction. The fan is a little noisier than I expected and the cycling on and off to maintain the temperature is annoying. In general though it is a good value and certainly better than my broken Kenmore.

Was this review helpful? (38) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cyalexa
Stillwater, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
love it
9/12/2012

Customer review by khume

5.0 stars 9/12/2012 by khume
by khume

brings water to full boil in 30 sec. burners do not get hot,, I can clean up spills on burner with out getting burned. low hum at beginning and end of cycle. I can take it with me to cook. I love it

Was this review helpful? (45) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
khume
Niles, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So far it's a great appliance, very fast & easy.
11/24/2012

Customer review by Gonkoda

4.0 stars 11/24/2012 by Gonkoda
by Gonkoda

A tip if you're considering buying this product & wondering whether your pans or skillets will work with it, if a magnet sticks it will.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gonkoda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good for the price
9/15/2012

Customer review by hulk48

4.0 stars 9/15/2012 by hulk48
by hulk48

I found the unit to be noisy. It only has 6 power settings and did not have a timer or temp readout. The unit works good and very good buy for the price.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hulk48
Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect for rv
10/17/2012

Customer review by Ginialyn

5.0 stars 10/17/2012 by Ginialyn
by Ginialyn

I purchased this induction cooktop for use in our RV. It is large enough to handle any size pot or pan. I actually thought is would be smaller but was pleasantly surprised. It is very fast so I use it more than the propane gas stove.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ginialyn
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not reliable
4/11/2013

Customer review by fossil112

2.0 stars 4/11/2013 by fossil112
by fossil112

I used the cooktop to reduce maple sap into maple syrup. Induction is perfect for this because the constant power requirements are very high, so high efficiency is a must. I placed a piece of parchment paper between the pot and the unit to prevent any spillage from landing on the face of the unit. The unit would operate for 1.5 hour or so, perfectly fine - but it would randomly shut off the induction portion with the fan running. It did this several times. I sent the unit back to NESCO for their engineering to determine the cause. They could not replicate; but it's no surprise because they didn't perform their testing using the same equipment or settings that I used. Anyways, they sent an RMA packing slip for me to send the unit back to them free of charge. Standard shipping was 1 day, since I lived so close to the manufacturer. They received my unit at 10:30am on a Thursday and didn't ship me a replacement until the following Monday. By that time, I had purchased a different induction cooktop (NuWave) and it works flawlessly for over 48 hours straight. I'm returning this product and will keep the NuWave.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fossil112
South Bend, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/12/2013

Customer review by FreeShippingForMe

5.0 stars 8/12/2013 by FreeShippingForMe
by FreeShippingForMe

I wanted to try induction cooking and this seemed the best, and most cost effective way. This product has delivered what it said it would. I am very pleased with it. It comes with a magnet, so you can determine what cookware you already own, is compatible to use. Turns out we had a lot. My first test was boiling water. It passed. So fast. I was surprised at how large the cooking surface is. It was hard to tell from the pix on line just how big the cooking surface is. One thing that I especially like, is the portability of the unit. My regular cook stove is on the opposite side of my kitchen from my sink. It is hard for me to lug a full pan of water from sink to stove. This unit allows me to have it on the counter, by my sink and not have to lug heavy pans/pots of water across the kitchen.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FreeShippingForMe
Yreka, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fast and Efficient
11/14/2013

Customer review by TucsonKid

5.0 stars 11/14/2013 by TucsonKid
by TucsonKid

With the right cookware, this is a fast and efficient way to cook. It is not good for slow-cooking. Walmart carries GraniteWare which works really well with induction cooking.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TucsonKid
Tucson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Induction Cooktop
9/6/2014

Customer review by PileWorm

4.0 stars 9/6/2014 by PileWorm
by PileWorm

Use Induction Cookware (Magnetic). Cast Iron Cookware get's too hot and the Cooktop turns off while you are still cooking.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PileWorm
Oakland, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great cooktop for price!
12/8/2012

Customer review by Terrf1953

5.0 stars 12/8/2012 by Terrf1953
by Terrf1953

I have another brand cooktop that I paid more for and this one works just as well if not better. Very pleased with how it works and functions on the front of cooktop. My other one has just an up/down buttons for temperature settings. The reason I ordered another one is because I love induction cooking and now I want another burner to take on our camper because they work so well.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Terrf1953
Scottsdale
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product.
12/3/2012

Customer review by Handsontester

4.0 stars 12/3/2012 by Handsontester
by Handsontester

Before I bought this Nesco Portable Induction Cooktop, I bought a much more expensive one from Amazon. The expensive one didn't cook. I had to ship it back. The Nesco portable works great. Only sometimes when I change the power level, it still cooked the same. That is why I give it four stars. It cooks fast. Much better than gas or regular electric cook top. It is inexpensive. I also bought two year warranty on it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Handsontester
Chagrin falls, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nesco cooktop
9/25/2012

Customer review by nooniepig

3.0 stars 9/25/2012 by nooniepig
by nooniepig

I am still out on this cooktop, i got it basically to fry chicken, thinking it would keep at a certain temp without burning the grease. It got extremely hot and cooked too fast. I will continue to use one more time, if it fails again, back it goes.

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nooniepig
nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
6/9/2013

Customer review by Fast1075

4.0 stars 6/9/2013 by Fast1075
by Fast1075

I live in a studio that has no range, and had been using my microwave and a hot plate for cooking. For items that don't ccok well in a microwave, the hotplate takes FOREVER to get to temperature. The Nesco was pretty well rated and inexpensive, so i gave it a shot. I am very pleased with it overall. It will bring a 3 quart sauce pan full of tap water to a boil in less than 5 minutes. MUCH faster than the hot plate. It takes a bit of learning how to use it (like any new toy), because the 5 heat levels cannot be fine tuned like a $2,000.00 cook top. Since it is an induction device, the size of the cooking vessel affects how quick, and how hot it will run on each setting. You quickly learn how to run it. Just don't for example, turn it to "boil" and leave it unattended, no more than you would leave a skillet full of frying chicken unattended. You may have to play with the heat level as you work with it. Depending on the size of the pan, "warm" can simmer, and "simmer" can boil. Anyway, I have no trouble at all operating it. If you want a set and forget cooker, go ahead and buy that $2,000.00 cook top. There appears to be an internal limit thermostat, in that at times it will "appear" to quit working. If you stir the pot, it starts working again. Normal operation. As I said you have to learn how to use it. I like mine enough, that I have ordered a second one, so I will have a makeshift "cooktop". The glass top makes for easy cleanup, and the appearance is good. There have been mentions of noisy fans, and a hum. For goodness sakes, it is a budget cooking device, shut up and cook. I use T-Fal stainless cookware I also bought at Walmart, works well. Don't forget, you need MAGNETIC STEEL cookware for any induction cooker to work.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fast1075
Central Forida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Seems to work good
11/10/2012

Customer review by JMR52

4.0 stars 11/10/2012 by JMR52
by JMR52

Heats up fast .took me a few days to fine the cookware to use on it.Just have to learn how to use the settings..There is no cookbook with it to tell you how to cook at what temp??

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JMR52
Silver Springs Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It gets the job done.
2/8/2013

Customer review by kjwefbvcugbse

3.0 stars 2/8/2013 by kjwefbvcugbse
by kjwefbvcugbse

I am glad to have an induction cooker, but a little disappointed with this one. The cooking modes do not accurately do what is stated. For example, I brought something to a boil and then turned to simmer, however, it still continued in a raging boil. It gets the job done but not with the finesse I had hoped....Oh well, you get what you pay for and I went cheap! (P.S. I am using pots that are magnetic.)

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kjwefbvcugbse
Asheville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Didn't work as I expected
5/21/2013

Customer review by Soupri

1.0 stars 5/21/2013 by Soupri
by Soupri

Didn't work with my stainless steel pans and work only on my cast iron 10'in pan. Try to fry on it but would not stay hot long enough to complete my frying. I was disappointed and liked the idea to have a light weight energy efficient hotplate.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Soupri
Narragansett, RI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
help in kitchen
11/10/2013

Customer review by tnt811n

5.0 stars 11/10/2013 by tnt811n
by tnt811n

this small top comes with big results. it will help me make my candies. a regular electric stove makes it very hard to melt my chocolates. and for when you just need to make it perfect for small spaces. what a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tnt811n
germantown, wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews