Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1397 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

1397 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

1397 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1138
4 stars
154
3 stars
35
2 stars
33
1 stars
37
1-20 of 1395 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1395 total reviews
1-20 of 1395 reviews
The Best All in one Camera
1/1/2014

Customer review by NikonBoy

5.0 stars 1/1/2014 by NikonBoy
by NikonBoy

I am using this camera for almost 2 Years & its simply excellent. Its far better than its competitors Great Dynamic range Respectable Low light Performance for a crop sensor Great color reproduction I don't use the camera for Video much, except for the aperture control during videos, it works fine. Kudos to Nikon on this.

NikonBoy
San Diego, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to use for beginners, fun to use for the professional!
7/8/2012

Customer review by BFPhotography

5.0 stars 7/8/2012 by BFPhotography
by BFPhotography

I have owned my Nikon D7000 now for just over a year and I am still amazed by the quality of this product. I am glad I made this purchase after doing a total of 8 months of market research on DSLR's (4 months before the D7000 was available and 4 months after it was released). If you are looking for a good starter DSLR that you can grow into and won't need to upgrade for a long time, this is your camera. I look at this camera as more of an investment more than an expense. Don't get "sticker shock" by the price tag. This is truly an example of you pay for what you get. The quality you get outweighs the cost both for HD video and RAW or JPEG stills.

BFPhotography
Newmarket, NH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera for the $$
4/2/2013

Customer review by hunt4fun

5.0 stars 4/2/2013 by hunt4fun
by hunt4fun

I've been using Nikon for more than 30 years and have had several top-end film cameras and D1's. When i wanted an affordable upgrade without going all-in on a D4 this one seemed to meet most of my needs. There are a few things I wish it had, like a 10-pin connector, etc. but I realize those are "pro" features. The camera has always delivered tack sharp images when i do my part.

hunt4fun
Austin, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great D80 upgrade!
2/5/2011

Customer review by Photobug

5.0 stars 2/5/2011 by Photobug
by Photobug

Have owned the D80 for 3 years and liked that camera enough to buy one for my daughter. The D7000 blows the D80 away! Paired with the 16-85 VR lens, the pictures are razor sharp and dynamic range has definitely improved. The performance of the metering system and focus system is also improved very noticeably. Shutter release speed is much faster, which takes a little getting used to. There are more features to the camera that I have yet to master, but to date I love the new camera! Highly recommend this to serious photobugs!

Photobug
Forest, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So Far So Good. Product is packed with features
1/28/2011

Customer review by Picturetaker

5.0 stars 1/28/2011 by Picturetaker
by Picturetaker

I have been taking picture since Late December with this camera and have to say I am impresed with the overall quality of the picture along with the ease of use for the camera. I do get a few shots that seem slightly soft or just out of focus and have tried a few things to correct that and some have worked. I am so used always keeping my shutter speed at 1/60 to avoid camera shake but with the ease of changing the ISO speed I have been able to keep my composition the way I want it and get faster shutter speeds that are getting sharper pictures, I am using my Nikon D lenses which is why I bought this camera and I am very happy.

Picturetaker
New York,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best for every thing!
9/5/2011

Customer review by Micheal

5.0 stars 9/5/2011 by Micheal
by Micheal

This camera is perfect for every kind of photography I have had this for couple months, and trust me it is on of the best ever! Also it had wonderful noise control!

Micheal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best DSLR I have ever used
11/10/2010

Customer review by Gar

5.0 stars 11/10/2010 by Gar
by Gar

The Nikon D7000 seems to integrate all of the best features of prior Nikon DSLRs into one fantastic camera. I find that this camera is a real pleasure to use. It is designed in a way that just makes sense. The weight is just right. It is made to withstand rugged usage. Low light handling is a breeze. And, the results I have obtained look great. It is going to be hard for Nikon to "one up" this one.

Gar
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
One of the Best yet !!!
11/3/2011

Customer review by Dujeneke

5.0 stars 11/3/2011 by Dujeneke
by Dujeneke

Up Graded to the D7000 from the D5000 and putting it to the test, Low light, bright sun, inside, outside, still life and action (fast flying doves).Do not miss the tilt back. It does all that I want it to do and more. Leaps and bounds above the D5K and after using Nikon since the 70s this Camera is one of the best yet for Pro or Hobbyist and a keeper at least for me. No complaints at present shooting 3-500 shots a day, Yea Digital.

Dujeneke
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera =Great Photos=Happy Folks
2/1/2011

Customer review by American

5.0 stars 2/1/2011 by American
by American

Purchased my 7k soon after available, and am very happy I did. Coming from a strong rival's camera to a Nikon, I got what was expected based on my experience with my other Nikon optics. Have been extremely pleased with the results-enough to purchase three new Nikon lens and going to purchase the fourth soon. Recommend this camera to anyone except someone wanting pro level camera.

American
Southern Illinois, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My third digital SLR and the best so far !
2/25/2012

Customer review by Mike in Virginia

5.0 stars 2/25/2012 by Mike in Virginia
by Mike in Virginia

I have owned 3 DSLR's so far and this is my first Nikon. Far and away this is the best I have owned yet. I had owned 4 Nikon SLR film camera's being a 6006, an F3 HP and 2 F4s's. This camera is super easy to use and has plenty of manual control as well. The image quality is stunning and blew me away after my last digital started getting long in the tooth (an EOS 1Ds). I would recommend this camera to anyone especially since it can use all the older Nikon and Nikkor lenses. Great Camera !!

Mike in Virginia
Centreville, VA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/28/2011

Customer review by vijju

5.0 stars 1/28/2011 by vijju
by vijju

This is my first DSLR camera and i am just loving it ...... i am still exploring the advanced options but what ever i have used was simply superb. I just found only one issue with this which i am not sure if its really a problem or not .....when i close my lens cap and capture a hd video i see couple of tiny red dots instead of pure black video .....A HD video captured with this has a great quality including the audio. I def recommend this product

vijju
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera – worth the price.
1/28/2011

Customer review by Unitic

5.0 stars 1/28/2011 by Unitic
by Unitic

I moved from another brand and a D 40, and so the improvements are huge. I have also used a D 90 extensively, and the D 7000 is a big improvement there as well. The camcorder function is vastly improved, but I most appreciate the more logically arranged controls, and the ease in accessing the controls I use the most. I find that the live view allows me to take high and low shots more easily. I do a good bit of action photography, so the six frames per second is a great improvement. I also do a lot of lowlight photography, and the D 7000 really shines there as well. There is a lot more, but these are the ones I appreciate the most. Thank you Nikon!

Unitic
Billings Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera for a semi-serious photographer
4/14/2011

Customer review by Bigscars

5.0 stars 4/14/2011 by Bigscars
by Bigscars

The D7000 has been a great camera addition. It has a multitude of features that enpowers the photgrapher to take better pictures.

Bigscars
Boise, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love this camera!
6/23/2011

Customer review by Dangerous

5.0 stars 6/23/2011 by Dangerous
by Dangerous

I just got my new D7000 3 days ago. Woohoo! Huge upgrade from my D40X. Nikon hit one out of the ballpark with this superb, affordable camera. Body is surprisingly small and lightweight. I absolutely love the way you can customize settings. The U1 and U2 modes are easy to set. You can also assign "my menu" to the function button for easy access to settings (I have picture control as top selection). I am really looking forward to getting some close-ups with my 105mm macro lens. There are also numerous scene modes available if you need to take a picture on the fly and don't have time to fiddle with a bunch of settings. I recommend this camera wholeheartedly.

Dangerous
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera for the money!
12/21/2011

Customer review by William Near Chicago

5.0 stars 12/21/2011 by William Near Chicago
by William Near Chicago

I have owned a d100, d70s, d200 and now the d7000. Although all of the other cameras were good, this one is the best of the bunch. Excellent noise control, dual card slots, and auto features that actually work. Put it on one of auto settings and look at the perfect histogram! This model can handle the fastest CF cards made. The solid camera body is hard to beat at this price. Nikon has taken the best features of the d300s and added extra megapixels at a lower price. There will be many pro photographers that will use this camera for a backup.

William Near Chicago
Chicago, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera! Easy to use and understand
5/11/2012

Customer review by Marknikauai

5.0 stars 5/11/2012 by Marknikauai
by Marknikauai

We are very happy we purchased the D7000. it is a great size and is easy enough to carry around. It has many neat features that we learned about through taking a few community education courses. The D7000 is easy to use and produces excellent exposures. When combined with the good lenses we purchased, we are ready to expand our horizons! Even for the absolute beginner, like us, we defineately would recommend this camera!

Marknikauai
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Big upgrade from my D80.
2/15/2011

Customer review by Jaggedflying

5.0 stars 2/15/2011 by Jaggedflying
by Jaggedflying

I just bought the D7000 several days ago and have been taking a bunch of pictures with it and I am very thrilled with it. I have a D80 and I love that camera but the D7000 is a much more capable camera. I haven't had much time with the D7000, but I plan to do a lot of photography on my weekends off here soon. I will be going to a couple of airshows, car and motorcycle races this Spring and Summer. I will see how the D7000 will perform and I will keep you guys posted on its performance.

Jaggedflying
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exceeded expectations
4/24/2011

Customer review by Patrick

5.0 stars 4/24/2011 by Patrick
by Patrick

Agonized over buying this camera or the Cannon. This was a great choice when you see the first few results. Movie mode worked well buy internal microphone not too good. It was easy to use and auto focus worked very well.

Patrick
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The jump from point & shoot to DSLR
2/1/2011

Customer review by New to Nikon

5.0 stars 2/1/2011 by New to Nikon
by New to Nikon

I've used a point & shoot camera for years and had been looking at moving to a Nikon DSLR for a long time. I'm very pleased with the D7000 and its features and would buy it again in a heartbeat. It has a full auto setting that I'm able to slowly move away from as I learn more of the manual controls. The rear display is gorgeous, two memory card slots is a nice upgrade, and the way the camera feels in your hand is comfortable. Most importantly, it's a quality Nikon product that will last for years. It will meet my needs as a beginner, yet allow me to grow in skill without needing to purchase a new body. I'd recommend the D7000 to EVERYONE. Don't be afraid of the complexities if this is your first DSLR - you can ease into the manual settings. And those who are experienced photographers, can have all the control they like. Truly the best of both worlds!

New to Nikon
Oshkosh, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What A Camera!
2/19/2011

Customer review by McScots

5.0 stars 2/19/2011 by McScots
by McScots

I upgraded from a D70 that I've had (and still have) for 6 years or so. Of course, the first thing I noticed was the complexity of the camera. It's possible to actually explore this device for hours and hours and not come to the end of what is available. From in-camera editing options, to the customizations for function buttons there is a lot to learn about and from this camera. I think it's a great camera for beginners, if you're wanting to learn about photography what a way go, this camera is as forgiving as it is complex. Put it on auto and let it go and then learn from the information available to you. Landscape, sports or portraits whatever you're going for you can get there with this camera. I haven't even tried the movie portion yet!

McScots
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 1395 total reviews
1-20 of 1395 reviews