Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1397 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

1397 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

1397 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 1395 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 1395 total reviews
1-20 of 1395 reviews
D7000 DSLR is an Amazing Camera!

Customer review by Mike in AZ

5.0 stars 11/11/2010 by Mike in AZ
by Mike in AZ

For several months I had been planning to upgrade from my Nikon D70 DSLR to a new DSLR. When Nikon announced the D7000 I knew that I had found my dream camera, at least on paper. When I received the D7000 a week after it started shipping in mid-October, I was quickly thrilled to find that it met all my expectations and even exceeded many of them. I use the D7000 for both general photography and for astrophotography with my 8" telescope. The high ISO settings of 2000, 6400, 12800, and even 25600 have yielded some amazing astrophotos. I hope I will soon receive the extra battery and the AC adapter connection cable that I ordered at the same time as the D7000. But other than those being delayed, I have been totally impressed with the D7000. Is there anything I don't like? Yes, there is. That would be the use of the SD card format. Compared to the CompactFlash card used on the D70, the SD cards seem flimsy and the metal contacts are exposed to dirt and skin oil. But that is really a matter of choice, and other than that, the D7000 is a camera that Nikon should be proud of. I know I'm a proud D7000 owner!

Mike in AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
awesome camera

Customer review by Ranj

5.0 stars 11/22/2012 by Ranj
by Ranj

Its awesome camera suitable for all situation . well done nikon

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Professional camera in a small body !

Customer review by LifeInPictures

5.0 stars 5/10/2013 by LifeInPictures
by LifeInPictures

I get professional looking pictures every time .I use my with a nikkor 85mm 1.4 and i used in the past with the 85mm 1.8 both D lenses .With either lens this camera is a killer !!! I rate this camera a 10 , top to bottom , from ergonomics to focusing speed . I have nothing to complain about !!!!! Two thumbs up all the way .If i was a wedding photographer this would be my choice for backing up a D800 or maybe back up the D7000 with the D800 ! LOL

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I Love This Camera

Customer review by Pattie Pooh

5.0 stars 8/19/2012 by Pattie Pooh
by Pattie Pooh

My first DSLR was a Nikon D60 and I later purchased a Nikon D40 camera. After 3 years, I was ready to advance to a bigger and better camera and I'm glad I did. Everything I've read about the Nikon 7000 is true. The weight and balance is just right for my rather small hands and all the features feels like a professional camera. This is the way to go...Thanks Nikon!!

Pattie Pooh
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
it's the best for those who can't afford full frame

Customer review by Nickname

5.0 stars 5/9/2013 by Nickname
by Nickname

if you can't afford buying a full frame camera, the most decent thing to do is to buy this one :) simple as that ...

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
In a word: Excellent

Customer review by Newcomer

5.0 stars 10/25/2010 by Newcomer
by Newcomer

I am admittedly a newcomer to the DSLR. I had a D2H for a few months, and have used a D3 several times, but this is the first DSLR of my own. I do NOT feel intimidated by the D7000. It is smaller in the hand than the D2/D3, but has a SOLID feel and nice weight that doesn't tire you out. The menus and options, while plentiful, are intuitive and easy to manipulate. I have captured some great photos using Auto and Scene modes, and also been able to flip to Manual mode and manipulate the shots to get exactly what I want. One selling point that really proved to be a wise "test" for a new camera is that my wife, a point-and-shoot veteran but DSLR newcomer, can pick it up, turn it on and literally point and shoot and capture STELLAR images in Auto and Scene modes. Not too many DSLR's can offer that kind of diversity with relatively little user input. I LOVE it and will only like it better as I become more familiar with all the settings and options. The ONLY drawback, and it is a relatively minor one, is battery life. It's NOT terrible by any means, but I feel it could be better. Once I am able to buy a couple of spares, this will not matter.

Madison, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A camera for the world and pros

Customer review by TheMasterofReality

5.0 stars 3/22/2013 by TheMasterofReality
by TheMasterofReality

My camera has already been in a film as I was shot on video while shooting a tribal bikini shoot on some dunes. I shot for six hours for a magazine and clothing line and did maybe two thousand or more shots and the little monster didn't even need to change its battery. The buffer problem is easy to fix with the right card. It is a lowlight champ, and because its saturation, sharpness, is actually customizable, it is a brilliant design. I would only like a bigger viewer, like a 35mm film camera, but overall, it is simply a great camera and with it a talented shooter can take on mightier cameras. It was rated as a backup camera for pros but it really exceeds expectations. I want another one. In Manual settings it just rocks with its two main control spin dials and often I run four different speedlights off it. I use some powerful speedlights and the whole commander system is just great. In studio with the right glass it seizes beauty. I really don't need another camera and if I did it would be for a certain Nikon glass, the legendary 135mm 2.0, and I would go D3x or D4. The focus system is a gift from the camera gods! I would include a photo but that's advertising and guess what I like to do! I could use another one of it as a backup.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by Steve R

5.0 stars 4/28/2011 by Steve R
by Steve R

Great camera which allows me to take better pictures.

Steve R
Anaheim, Cal.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simply Amazing !!!

Customer review by SamD7000

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by SamD7000
by SamD7000

I am still amateur to photography but the first shot from my new D7000 is already making me feel that I'm a professional photographer.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awsome camera!

Customer review by RadiantPortraiture

5.0 stars 5/1/2013 by RadiantPortraiture
by RadiantPortraiture

I'm a semi-pro photographer and this little gem is one of the best cameras I've ever used. The pictures are extremely crisp and I love the 39 focal points.

Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera

Customer review by HSE Photography

5.0 stars 11/16/2012 by HSE Photography
by HSE Photography

Just upgraded from my beloved D90 (an amazing camera in its own right). The D7000 has everything I loved about the D90 + more. It's made for MANUAL shooting with very easy to use controls. Very solid feel (although I did add a battery grip for better personal comfort). Fast, accurate focusing. Great resolution. I also like that I can easily meter and manual focus older lenses. Can't wait to put the D7000 to good use. Another great Nikon product.

HSE Photography
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellant Camera

Customer review by raybug

5.0 stars 1/27/2011 by raybug
by raybug

The camera is the best, the photos are unbelievable in detail. Just need more time using it to get the best of every function and mode.

Deland, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A lot of in camera adjustments

Customer review by heavyone

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by heavyone
by heavyone

The D7000 is such a joy to use, I'm happy I got it. If you got an artistic eyesight, get this or the D7100. I think that Nikon cameras are the best cameras to have.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SB card problems

Customer review by jeanerette

5.0 stars 12/17/2011 by jeanerette
by jeanerette

A week or so ago I thought that I had a problem with my D-7000. After switching brand cards, 300 + pictures all is well.I had a problem within taking 40 or less pictures on 3 different Extreme Pro cards. Please to say my 7000 is good.

Jeanerette La.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sweet camera

Customer review by foodphotographer

5.0 stars 2/20/2013 by foodphotographer
by foodphotographer

I decided to upgrade my DSLR recently from a very serviceable D3000 and I had a few criteria I was looking at. It had to be a Nikon, I wanted a large, bright viewfinder, I wanted a focus motor in the camera and I wanted good low-light capabilities as well as easier access to full manual control. My plan was to pick up a D90 body after the D5200 was introduced and the price went down, but that changed after I held a D7000. I was ruined. Watching the prices I realized that the D90 was only a hundred bucks less than the D7000 so it wasn’t worth considering. I’m not going to reiterate everything said in past reviews, so I’ll simply reflect on a few features I like so far. The Viewfinder- Bright, large and full of information. I can see what settings I’m changing without taking my eye from the viewfinder. Manual Settings- Very easy to access Low Light Capabilities- I normally set it at 160 (reminiscent of Kodak Portra) for normal shooting and have the automatic ISO set at a maximum of 6400 with a minimum shutter of 1/30th. I took a photo of my grandson at ISO 6400 and cropped the image after converting to black and white. Making it full screen on the laptop and zooming in on it to the equivalent of a 16x20. It still looked good with some noise that gave it the look of Tri-X-Pan. Indoor color shots of food (that’s my primary use of the camera, food blogging) at 1600 ISO are magnificent. Two card slots- Nice feature. I set it up so I shoot JPEG on one card and RAW on the second. Depth of Field Preview- I missed this feature on cheap cameras. Focus- Many people claim this camera has a ‘back focus’ issue. I can’t say that I have it on mine; I can’t say that I do. What I can say is that I find it to be the fastest focusing camera I’ve ever had. I also find that it focuses on what I want, most of the time. No camera will ever be 100% accurate. Sharpness- Pictures are sharp and clear. I set the color to vivid for everything but portraits. Live Screen- Nice, but I like the viewfinder. It doesn’t like to autofocus as well in live mode as the camera uses a different (more archaic) focus system. I haven’t used to video mode as yet, it wasn’t important in buying the camera. Overall, I’d recommend this camera to the photographer who wants superb photos and ease of control.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's like a hybrid of D90 & D300S

Customer review by Tommy

5.0 stars 11/11/2010 by Tommy
by Tommy

Just like I said, a hybrid DSLR of D90 & D300S. Combined both features and even better. Very fast shooting camera. I really like the User 1 and User 2 function on the dial. Moreover, the super nice bonus is the dual SDHC slots. Now, I wish Nikon would ship the MB-D11 battery grip and the EN-EL15 sooner. I would recommend this to any DSLR shooters that just started shooting DSLR or even the Pros would love this camera. A sample a the picture taken with D7000, SOOC.

Pearland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic camera!

Customer review by ClassicDigital

5.0 stars 10/19/2013 by ClassicDigital
by ClassicDigital

I own two Nikon D7000's. One I bought used over a year ago and a new D7000 that I bought about six months ago. My used D7000 was like new when I bought it with only 2,300 clicks. It even came with all the original accessories, paper work and packaging. However if your going to buy a used camera I really do recommend that you thoroughly check it out. I took a chance buying used but the camera has been fine. I own two D7000's only because when I shoot at events and such I like the speed and the ability to simply grab another setup instead of switching lenses. This way I'm able to get the shot instead of missing it. The D7000 is a fine camera even by today's standards. Its 16mp sensor captures amazing detail and it's 39 point AF system is both quick and incredibly accurate. The U1 and U2 modes allow you to quickly change settings since you can save specific exposure settings. The buffer on this body is small but its quick to load RAW images to the SD card. If you don't have a heavy trigger finger and have good timing then the buffer really isn't an issue. I limit myself to 4 shot bursts, but the buffer can hold 8 RAW images. I've been able to capture fantastic images of hummingbirds in flight with ease. Once the AF system starts tracking, the subject just stays in focus. I use the 70-300mm VR with my D7000 for wildlife photography. The 39 point AF system combined with the 70-300 VR's super fast AF motor means you won't get stuck with a lens that's too slow to keep up with the action. I use AF-C 9 point mode for most wildlife subjects. For portrait work the D7000 combined with either the 50mm 1.8G or the 85mm 1.8G is a fantastic way to get tack sharp images every time. The detail and Bokeh on the 85mm 1.8G is really something you need to see to believe. The D7000's 16mp sensor combined with the 85mm 1.8G is really able to pickup on every little detail. With this lens you can crop as much as you want and the image will retain amazing clarity (I hate cropping but its nice to know you can if need be). As for macro work the D7000 again scores high marks. You can really pin point where you want to focus. I use the Nikon 85mm 3.5G ED VR macro lens for most of my macro work. The VR really comes in handy and the 85mm working distance helps allot with insects. I often use my D7000's with my SB-700 and SB-600 for off camera flash photography. I use the built in flash as commander which works well. I use Nikon's CLS system for food photography and for macro and portrait work. The i-TTL system does take allot of the guess work out of the equation, but if you want a certain look to your images then you have the freedom to command two groups from the camera. Since I have two flashes I can use one in group A and the other in group B, thus independently controlling both flashes outputs to suit my needs. Overall the D7000 is a body that I would highly recommend. Its a step up from those who are using any of Nikon's entry level bodies or older prosumer bodies. Thankfully Nikon hasn't changed much in the way the D7000 and all the newer bodies operate. So stepping up to a D7000 or higher is really a short learning curve. However if your not used to a complex AF system then you will have to get used to it as I did. The smaller AF points are ALLOT more accurate then any of the older 3 or 5 point systems. Its also different in operation to the way Nikon's 11 point system works. If you want to focus on someones eye then the AF point needs to be on the subjects pupil not the eyelash or anywhere near the eye. The system will focus on tinny things such as eye lashes and pimples. So you must be aware of this. The older systems had much larger points which resulted in larger focusing areas.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This Camera Makes Me Look Good

Customer review by D7000FAN

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by D7000FAN
by D7000FAN

I bought my D7000 camera when the model was first released and I have loved it from Day 1. The D7000 is easy to use, is fast and efficient and the results achieved with this camera draw lots of compliments from my family and friends and make me look way more talented than I really am. Since I purchased this camera, I have taken, literally, thousands of shots and the results continue to please me enormously. As I am a lover of the latest and the greatest products, I have frequently been tempted to upgrade to a full-frame Nikon camera. However, when I review the amazing images that I have captured over the last few years with this wonderful camera (and not being a skilled professional photographer), I have to ask myself, how much better can my enthusiast/amateur results be with a more sophisticated camera?

Los Angeles, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Unquestionable king of APS-C's

Customer review by Panujit

5.0 stars 11/18/2012 by Panujit
by Panujit

This is the best non-full frame DSLR camera out there. Enough said.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
this is the best camera!!

Customer review by bdesigns

5.0 stars 11/10/2010 by bdesigns
by bdesigns

I first bought d3100 than I saw the d7000 wow what a difference!! Love this camera!!

Boca Raton, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 1395 total reviews
1-20 of 1395 reviews