Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 763 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

763 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

763 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
350
4 stars
154
3 stars
42
2 stars
58
1 stars
159
1-20 of 713 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 713 total reviews
1-20 of 713 reviews
Great coffee maker for a cheaper price!
5/15/2014

Customer review by coffeelover2014

5.0 stars 5/15/2014 by coffeelover2014
by coffeelover2014

I got my hamilton beach single serve as a Christmas present this past year. So I've been using it now for roughly 6 months. And believe me when I say...I USE IT. I'm shocked I haven't worn it out by now. For the price...it's great. I don't love that you have to measure out the water based on the coffee cup you want to you but...hey...you DO have to. And if you measure it out...you won't have a crazy, leaky mess. I have had absolutely no issues with my coffee maker and would recommend it to anyone that wants a keurig but doesn't have the money for one. It makes a cup of coffee in less than two minutes and it's great! I love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (152) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coffeelover2014
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked once
6/8/2013

Customer review by Monty101

1.0 stars 6/8/2013 by Monty101
by Monty101

The first K Cup we used worked fine. after that the K cup blew up, spewed water everywhere. We contacted HB and at first they said it was the K Cups we were using so they sent us 6 K Cups turns out some were Green Mt. which was what we were using. One worked fine, the second blew. Contacted HB again and they let me return it to them and sent me a new one. Got the new one and guess what, yep blew cups again. contacted HB again and they said that because they found no problem with the one I returned they could not refund my money, however the would give me 50% off on another model from there site. Problem the model I purchased was the only one they made that uses K Cup. I responded by coping reviews from Walmart on this model and sent it to them. HB was very good at getting back to me, but the stance they took was "We test our products and there are no problems, so it must be user error" Well I guess all of us who have had the same problem just cant operate this model. Do you self a favor and don't buy this unit. I am also going to recommend that Walmart not sell this product.

Was this review helpful? (396) (52)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Monty101
Bernard, ME
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Opt for the real Keurig.
12/21/2012

Customer review by noguice

1.0 stars 12/21/2012 by noguice
by noguice

I've had this unit for 2 days and will be returning it tonight. It leaked all over, even after it turned off, it continued to leak. It took nearly 10 minutes to barely make any coffee at all with a k-cup. It does not have cup size selectors like a keurig. Just terrible. Attached photo is of a normal sized mug after 10 min of brewing.

Was this review helpful? (128) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
noguice
Murfreesboro, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent, fast and simple to use, love it
10/10/2014

Customer review by Raniana

5.0 stars 10/10/2014 by Raniana
by Raniana
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love it, easy to use, and clean. It is fast too

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Raniana
Hackettstown, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Okay but small cups and weak brew
12/26/2015

Customer review by CoffeeLover

2.0 stars 12/26/2015 by CoffeeLover
by CoffeeLover

Couple things you should know... maximum amount of water is 10 oz and maximum amount of coffee grounds is 2 tbsp. I bought this because I thought it would be ideal for single cup of coffee for one person however even though I measured exactly 10 oz water it brews 8-9ish oz in the final cup, that's a small cup of coffee, like tea cup size. Also I like strong coffee about 3 tbsp to 10 oz is perfect for me, even using dark roast the coffee with 2 (really) rounded tbsp was just too weak. So for a small, weak cup of coffee it just isn't worth it. I didn't try k-cups because I don't like the taste so I really loved that this had a basket/filter that was designed to easily use your own grounds, and it is so easy, I just wished it worked and made a bigger cup of coffee, 8 oz is pretty small, so if you're envisioning filling up that to-go tumbler they show in the ad consider that you would probably have to brew 2-3 times to fill her up. I wish it worked better, really disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (36) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CoffeeLover
Would recommend to a friend? No
EXCELLENT COFFEE MAKER
7/2/2016

Customer review by COOPIE98

5.0 stars 7/2/2016 by COOPIE98
by COOPIE98

I broke the carafe for our old coffee maker. Butter fingers (me) dropped it in the sink. Decided to find a single serve coffee maker. If you love scalding hot coffee that also tastes good then this is your coffee maker. You can make it really strong or regular. Clean up is easy. no more large glass carafe to fumble around with. It's easy to lift the lid to get access to the water reservoir. place your coffee packet in the holder press down and hit the brew button. Shoot you can do it in your sleep. It also has the capability to use coffee grounds also. Hamilton Beach finally made a great product. Love, love,love it. If it breaks that's okay. I'll run to Walmart and get another . No questions or reservations about this coffee maker. The price is just right. Inexpensive!!! you will not regret purchasing this coffee maker. Can't say enough good things about it. Love good tasting coffee!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
COOPIE98
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Used it once, got rid of it!
6/26/2013

Customer review by Linnelii

1.0 stars 6/26/2013 by Linnelii
by Linnelii
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

While it looks nice, and has the features I wanted, after using it once I went straight to the store and bought a different machine. The reservoir can only hold 8 oz of water, so you'd think okay, 8 oz of water, 8 oz of coffee-perfect. Not so, you only end up with about 6 oz of coffee (both a waste and too little to fill a cup, even if you want room). More than that, where did the additional 2 ounces go you wonder? Oh you know, just all over your counter and through the machine, you see this one doesn't have the drier feature which nicer models do, that's fine you think, I don't need that fancy stuff. Not so, you do need it. The water is every where! So, you think to yourself, well at least I'll get a cup of strong coffee since only 6 oz went through; wrong again! It makes very weak coffee actually! So yeah, it's cheaper, it got the features you want (fitting both cups and travelmugs, K-cups and filter, sleek design)...but trust me, it's not worth it!

Was this review helpful? (106) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Linnelii
Albuquerque
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Keep walking on by!
12/7/2013

Customer review by LadyJ70

1.0 stars 12/7/2013 by LadyJ70
by LadyJ70

We had a Keurig for years, before they were popular. We loved everything about it but the loud noise it made when the water was lifting up into the well. But, when it finally 'died' we looked for a latte' machine. Found one we like, but now we would like a cup of coffee on occasion. So, we saw this little guy. Cute, small foot print compared to the Keurig, and an "ok" price. The first night, it sputtered all over itself and only produced an old fashioned tea cup amount. The second day, yet another sputter mess on the back-splash and very little end product. In order to get a desired amount of coffee, which is past what is available in the holding tank, we have to measure out our cup and pour the water in little at a time. We are returning this item and replacing it with another Keurig. I guess we will just deal with the noise it makes as the water is moved up. Too bad. . . we were really loving the smaller foot print on our already limited counter tops. We also loved the double filter process for our own coffee. Keep trying, Hamilton Beach.

Was this review helpful? (65) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LadyJ70
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Magician Coffee Maker
12/27/2012

Customer review by KaitT

1.0 stars 12/27/2012 by KaitT
by KaitT

I received this product as a gift from my mother because I did not want her to waste her money on a Keurig. Well, unfortunately, this coffee maker is being sent back in the morning. I followed the directions exactly. I put my Kcup in the the top, put the water into the back and pressed down the handle before I turned the coffee maker on. I put the amount of water that my cup would need to make a full cup of coffee. However, when the coffee maker turned off, only a half cup was brewed. Where did all my water go? I can only assume that it was either still somewhere in the machine between the water basin and where the coffee comes out, or it evaporated (since there was an excessive amount of steam). Despite those results, I tried it once more, hoping that it was just a first time glitch. It was not. This coffee maker was loud, it splattered, did not make a full cup of coffee and is not worth wasting even the smallest amount of money.

Was this review helpful? (60) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KaitT
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great Unit!
5/12/2013

Customer review by JavaJavaJava

5.0 stars 5/12/2013 by JavaJavaJava
by JavaJavaJava
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I don't know how people could write bad reviews about this product. I would suggest you ignore them. This machine is great! Half the price of Keurig's cheapest brewer AND it comes with its own filter so you can use your own coffee instead of those expensive K-cups too. Just read the directions and you won't have any problems that people had in the bad reviews I read. Keep in mind that the brewer is for 10 oz. only and use a measuring cup to fill. Pour the water in slow so the bottom of your measuring cup is over the water reservoir too and nothing will spill at all! It's not rocket science, believe me! I am the only coffee drinker in my house and simply brew my second cup while drinking the first one. This thing makes coffee easier than pulling money out of your pocket to pay for coffee out. I simply love it! I could not justify the price of other k-cup brewers at all, but this Hamilton Beach FlexBrew is fantastic for the price and an absolute bargain!

Was this review helpful? (119) (58)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JavaJavaJava
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome product!
6/2/2016

Customer review by Smturner

4.0 stars 6/2/2016 by Smturner
by Smturner

I just bought this flex brew. I bought it because of the flexibility of being able to use both k-cups and ground coffee. It is also advertised as being able to be used with both travel mugs and coffee cups. This is true they will both fit under the brew system, but it only makes 8 oz of coffee. Now unless your travel cup is a lot smaller than mine you are still only getting a coffee cup full of coffee. Now let me also say that this 8 oz is not going to fill your cup to the brim, unless maybe you are using tea cups instead of today's coffee mugs. Now this is fine for me because it leaves room for creamer at the top. So to sum it up I recommend this for anyone that likes a cup of coffee or two and likes to use regular size coffee mugs.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smturner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/19/2013

Customer review by goodbyeheadache

2.0 stars 9/19/2013 by goodbyeheadache
by goodbyeheadache

It does what it says, however, a few drawbacks: 1. You have to pour water in before brewing each time as there is no water holding tank. (Most coffee pots are like that but if you like the keurig with the water already in there to eliminate that step then this is not for you) 2. You can only brew 8 oz. of water at a time as that is all the bigger it will hold. (this is a single serving coffee pot so that may not be a problem, also the k-cups are really only meant to be used with 8 oz of water or they will be too diluted, but this may be a problem for people using the regular filter attachment with their own coffee and are limited to 8 oz.) 3. It does tend to squirt coffee out sometimes which gets on counter, not that much but worth mentioning. 4. The part that holds the k-cups needs pulled out and a quick rinse after each use because it gets the coffee all through that area and it dries there if not cleaned out. 5. Basic model, no settings, just put in k-cup and push start. 6. Not sure will last, does seem cheap. Still debating whether to return or not.

Was this review helpful? (49) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goodbyeheadache
Pittsburgh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Value for size and price
1/14/2016

Customer review by Lala

5.0 stars 1/14/2016 by Lala
by Lala

I've had my "little red machine" for just over a week now. I use it quite frequently. I love it. It's become that I'm the only one in the house who drinks coffee so making an entire pot for myself became a little much. This little machine is perfect. It's brew time (according to the owner's manual is about 4 min) it seems a little quicker than that but what's 4 min when you've other things to be doing. Coffee, tea, cider cocoa. Doesn't matter what you're making. It's always perfect. I've read other reviews before purchasing; and thought either this was a faulty product or just bad usage. I believe bad usage in part. With you k cups you need to make certain that not only you push the cup down into the basket but that you push the handle down into the cup. Bare in mind these units are not meant to be used with the "new 2.0" models. IF you have issues with the cups then pre-poke the top. Problem, solved.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lala
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The WORST ever!!
10/5/2013

Customer review by CatyinDallas

1.0 stars 10/5/2013 by CatyinDallas
by CatyinDallas

I purchased to replace my Keurig that had a pump failure at 2 years. I bought this and have exchanged it twice and finally gave up and returned it. This is the coffeemaker for you if 5 out of 8 times you enjoy mopping up hot coffee and coffee grounds from your counters or kitchen drawers where it runs everywhere. The first return was for the kcup mechanism appearing to be in place and when in fact it was actually NOT in place or even able to seat correctly due to manufacturing defects. I decided with the 2nd attempt to just give up the convenience of the kcups and use ground coffee...what could go wrong, right?? Well, a hole in the mesh could go wrong (and did) resulting in half coffee/half coffee grounds. The customer service rep at Walmart told me that they get about 1/2 of these back in returns and I totally get it.....this thing is JUNK.

Was this review helpful? (90) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CatyinDallas
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Terrible And Cheap Keurig Knock Off
3/20/2014

Customer review by Flops

2.0 stars 3/20/2014 by Flops
by Flops

You have to follow the instructions before you use it the 1st time. After that its easy to use. However its has too many flaws to recommend it. Its hard to insert K Cups or reusable K Cups in the place meant for them. The spot where you put water in is bad. Its hard to put water in there without spilling some water on the counter. You have the option to use ground coffee but that option doesn't work. Every time I use that the coffee spills everywhere. One time I even used a K Cup and all the stupid thing did was make noise and spill the coffee. It does work okay most of the time but for every 10th time used it acts up. I use a real, true, Keurig at work and its better all the way around. Its easier to use, makes the coffee better, and doesn't spill at all. So to sum it up just avoid this coffee maker. You are much better off paying $100 which is double the price for a real, true, Keurig, that will work every time and last years.

Was this review helpful? (23) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Flops
Cleveland, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Decent little machine.
5/29/2016

Customer review by DenCOReview

4.0 stars 5/29/2016 by DenCOReview
by DenCOReview

After using a much-loved, large capacity, expensive Keurig for barely 18 months before it completely expired, I decided never to endure that expense again. So I picked up this very basic coffee maker - Hamilton Beach FlexBrew. It brews a decent cup of joe using k-cups, and even better if you grind your own fresh beans. It gets hot enough for my taste and the 3 minute wait is not inconvenient. Seriously, who can't wait 3 minutes while you make toast or tidy your counters? And by not heating a volume of water constantly in a water reservoir you aren't wasting energy needlessly. My only complaint is about the platform that holds your cup for brewing. It's a bit unstable, and has only two height levels. The opening for regular cups is a tad short for 14oz sized mugs. I don't own a small coffee cup, so none of mine fit. Have to flip the platform over to the travel mug size, which then puts the brew spout SO far away from the cup that you get a bunch of splatter. I have to wipe down the whole brew area every time I use it, as well as the counter surface in front of the FlexBrew. Using a travel mug would solve the problem completely, I just don't prefer them. I like a good sturdy ceramic mug! So, I get splatters... Those who experience intense sputtering and steaming out the top are possibly overfilling the water intake. I tried using the interior indicator (max fill line) but quickly found if I use a measuring cup and pour in only 8-9 oz instead of guessing, the sputtering is minimal and the coffee isn't weak - I like mine strong. Then the few puffs of steam produced as it finishes simply become my 'coffee's done' indicator. So, if you're tired of buying into those overpriced 'instant' machines, give this a try. If you don't like it, most merchants will take it back. Otherwise, if it croaks in a year you'll still have gotten your money's worth, by comparison anyway...

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DenCOReview
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrible when using k-cups
8/5/2016

Customer review by Smalls72

1.0 stars 8/5/2016 by Smalls72
by Smalls72

Grounds grounds everywhere when using k-cups, didn't even try with grounds, just sent it back.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smalls72
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best gift in a long time
5/27/2016

Customer review by mzeudora

5.0 stars 5/27/2016 by mzeudora
by mzeudora

I received an HB Flexbrew for Christmas 2015 and it is the best Christmas present I've had in many years. I played around to find just the right amount of coffee to water ratio. I don't use the K-cups (too expensive; not recyclable). I use the basket and my favorite ground coffee: two rounded tbs. of coffee to 11 oz. water. Beautiful.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mzeudora
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good and not so good at one time.
4/20/2014

Customer review by Jackobatsi

4.0 stars 4/20/2014 by Jackobatsi
by Jackobatsi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pros: Good tasting cup of "hot" coffee. Much hotter than the Keurig machine by far, hands down! Can use either pods, soft pods, or ground coffee! Makes a tall cup of coffee, more than Keurig will brew, at one time. Cons: If you use a tall mug but shorter than a tall travel cup the coffee splashes on to the counter in the early brew stages. The stand does tall and short but not in between sizes. It takes a long time to make a cup and 2 mins between cups to rebrew another cup. I thought I did something wrong when it dribbled for a while in the beginning while heating the water, normal. Don't use a cup or mug to fill machine. Use a container intended for pouring liquid like a measuring cup. Water will pour down side of machine when filling if you don't. Don't overfill as it will pour over the top. Overall: I like this unit. I know what it's capable of making and how to make it and it makes a HOT(McDonald's coffee hot) cup of coffee that my broken Keurig never made. I got it with the combo offer for $49 and got a $10 Walmart credit and a $10 mfg rebate as well, from Hamilton Beach. $29 total cost!

Was this review helpful? (53) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jackobatsi
Tampa Bay Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
twice bitten by hamiilton beach
8/20/2016

Customer review by onecupaday

1.0 stars 8/20/2016 by onecupaday
by onecupaday

i bought a flexbrew approximately 6 months ago. 3 months ago it stopped working - would not pull water from the tank, even after regular cleaning. would brew and brew and nothing in the cup. contacted hamilton beach and they were great - sent me a replacement machine. i have had that machine for 2 months now, and same issue -will not pull water from the reservoir to brew. i will not purchase again and would not recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
onecupaday
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 713 total reviews
1-20 of 713 reviews