Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 607 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

607 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

607 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
280
4 stars
131
3 stars
30
2 stars
42
1 stars
124
1-20 of 557 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 557 total reviews
1-20 of 557 reviews
Worked once
6/8/2013

Customer review by Monty101

1.0 stars 6/8/2013 by Monty101
by Monty101

The first K Cup we used worked fine. after that the K cup blew up, spewed water everywhere. We contacted HB and at first they said it was the K Cups we were using so they sent us 6 K Cups turns out some were Green Mt. which was what we were using. One worked fine, the second blew. Contacted HB again and they let me return it to them and sent me a new one. Got the new one and guess what, yep blew cups again. contacted HB again and they said that because they found no problem with the one I returned they could not refund my money, however the would give me 50% off on another model from there site. Problem the model I purchased was the only one they made that uses K Cup. I responded by coping reviews from Walmart on this model and sent it to them. HB was very good at getting back to me, but the stance they took was "We test our products and there are no problems, so it must be user error" Well I guess all of us who have had the same problem just cant operate this model. Do you self a favor and don't buy this unit. I am also going to recommend that Walmart not sell this product.

Was this review helpful? (187) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Monty101
Bernard, ME
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Best Coffeemaker!
11/16/2012

Customer review by Superdasmith

5.0 stars 11/16/2012 by Superdasmith
by Superdasmith

My Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffeemaker was truly a wonderful gift from a great friend that knows my passion for a great cup of coffee! I love it because this coffeemaker gives me 3 different options to have my favorite K-Cup, Melitta or Senseo Pods, and my favorite medium ground coffees too! FYI: It is important to be aware after brewing ground coffee you will need to properly clean the scoop filter to prevent any build up. The bottom of the scoop snaps open and the just run some warm water through it after every cup to prevent it from possible clogging. I always get an incredible and consistently perfect cup of 10oz.coffee w/my FlexBrew!

Was this review helpful? (280) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Superdasmith
Bentonville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wanted to love this
10/31/2012

Customer review by greatvaulemom

3.0 stars 10/31/2012 by greatvaulemom
by greatvaulemom

The K-cup worked just as good as Keurig. You will get the value if you like using k-cups But what really drew me to this single serve coffee maker was the ease of use to use your own coffee grounds. Unfortunately attempting to use my own coffee grounds failed twice. Both times the coffee grounds seeped out and just made mess. I followed the instructions and unfortunately it did not work. If you're interested in using your own grounds this may not be for you.

Was this review helpful? (151) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
greatvaulemom
bay area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
I'm divorcing hubby and marrying my K Cup Machine
12/20/2012

Customer review by Mathscidi

5.0 stars 12/20/2012 by Mathscidi
by Mathscidi

Just kidding but we both absolutely love this. We bought it for xmas for the both of us, hahaha (now mine)....I love this and can not say enough about it. I ordered it on line at walmart, it shipped free, great price and it arrived in a day. This is my first K Cup machine but we have successfully used many different brands of K cups already. Just make sure you hear the snap on the k cup to tell you it punctured and is ready to go. I love the ease of cleaning especially when using hot coco. You just pull out and rinse and put back. I have used pods also but not the grounds yet. You can tailor water level to the size of the cup ranging up to 10 oz, just dont go over 10 oz. We can use small cups if we want it stronger and big cups if you desire it weaker.....all these functions without the expense and complication of extra buttons. I was nervous after reading some of the comments about this machine leaking and kcups exploding but those are operator errors only if you put too much water, use too fine of grounds or use cheap kcups that the foil top may not be sealed as well as others. I have had no trouble. I love this and we are both enjoying all the new flavors of coffee available, coco (dark choc at walmart and caramel dizzle is a fav) and would recommended this to anyone who enjoys coffee.

Was this review helpful? (157) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mathscidi
Wagener, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to brew one cup qucik
11/8/2012

Customer review by ejk725

3.0 stars 11/8/2012 by ejk725
by ejk725

For the price this is a good single cup coffee maker. It works best with the k-cups rather then grounds. The K-cups are no mess, no fuss and no clean-up. When I brewed a cup with the grounds 2 out of 3 of the times it worked, the third time the grounds seeped through and created a mess. This is a small coffee maker so will take up minimal counter space which is nice. I like that it auto turns off when finished brewing but wished that it was easier to make a cup with grounds.

Was this review helpful? (106) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ejk725
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
The WORST ever!!
10/5/2013

Customer review by CatyinDallas

1.0 stars 10/5/2013 by CatyinDallas
by CatyinDallas

I purchased to replace my Keurig that had a pump failure at 2 years. I bought this and have exchanged it twice and finally gave up and returned it. This is the coffeemaker for you if 5 out of 8 times you enjoy mopping up hot coffee and coffee grounds from your counters or kitchen drawers where it runs everywhere. The first return was for the kcup mechanism appearing to be in place and when in fact it was actually NOT in place or even able to seat correctly due to manufacturing defects. I decided with the 2nd attempt to just give up the convenience of the kcups and use ground coffee...what could go wrong, right?? Well, a hole in the mesh could go wrong (and did) resulting in half coffee/half coffee grounds. The customer service rep at Walmart told me that they get about 1/2 of these back in returns and I totally get it.....this thing is JUNK.

Was this review helpful? (61) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CatyinDallas
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Opt for the real Keurig.
12/21/2012

Customer review by noguice

1.0 stars 12/21/2012 by noguice
by noguice

I've had this unit for 2 days and will be returning it tonight. It leaked all over, even after it turned off, it continued to leak. It took nearly 10 minutes to barely make any coffee at all with a k-cup. It does not have cup size selectors like a keurig. Just terrible. Attached photo is of a normal sized mug after 10 min of brewing.

Was this review helpful? (71) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
noguice
Murfreesboro, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Used it once, got rid of it!
6/26/2013

Customer review by Linnelii

1.0 stars 6/26/2013 by Linnelii
by Linnelii

While it looks nice, and has the features I wanted, after using it once I went straight to the store and bought a different machine. The reservoir can only hold 8 oz of water, so you'd think okay, 8 oz of water, 8 oz of coffee-perfect. Not so, you only end up with about 6 oz of coffee (both a waste and too little to fill a cup, even if you want room). More than that, where did the additional 2 ounces go you wonder? Oh you know, just all over your counter and through the machine, you see this one doesn't have the drier feature which nicer models do, that's fine you think, I don't need that fancy stuff. Not so, you do need it. The water is every where! So, you think to yourself, well at least I'll get a cup of strong coffee since only 6 oz went through; wrong again! It makes very weak coffee actually! So yeah, it's cheaper, it got the features you want (fitting both cups and travelmugs, K-cups and filter, sleek design)...but trust me, it's not worth it!

Was this review helpful? (52) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Linnelii
Albuquerque
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great coffee maker for a cheaper price!
5/15/2014

Customer review by coffeelover2014

5.0 stars 5/15/2014 by coffeelover2014
by coffeelover2014

I got my hamilton beach single serve as a Christmas present this past year. So I've been using it now for roughly 6 months. And believe me when I say...I USE IT. I'm shocked I haven't worn it out by now. For the price...it's great. I don't love that you have to measure out the water based on the coffee cup you want to you but...hey...you DO have to. And if you measure it out...you won't have a crazy, leaky mess. I have had absolutely no issues with my coffee maker and would recommend it to anyone that wants a keurig but doesn't have the money for one. It makes a cup of coffee in less than two minutes and it's great! I love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (56) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coffeelover2014
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good and not so good at one time.
4/20/2014

Customer review by Jackobatsi

4.0 stars 4/20/2014 by Jackobatsi
by Jackobatsi

Pros: Good tasting cup of "hot" coffee. Much hotter than the Keurig machine by far, hands down! Can use either pods, soft pods, or ground coffee! Makes a tall cup of coffee, more than Keurig will brew, at one time. Cons: If you use a tall mug but shorter than a tall travel cup the coffee splashes on to the counter in the early brew stages. The stand does tall and short but not in between sizes. It takes a long time to make a cup and 2 mins between cups to rebrew another cup. I thought I did something wrong when it dribbled for a while in the beginning while heating the water, normal. Don't use a cup or mug to fill machine. Use a container intended for pouring liquid like a measuring cup. Water will pour down side of machine when filling if you don't. Don't overfill as it will pour over the top. Overall: I like this unit. I know what it's capable of making and how to make it and it makes a HOT(McDonald's coffee hot) cup of coffee that my broken Keurig never made. I got it with the combo offer for $49 and got a $10 Walmart credit and a $10 mfg rebate as well, from Hamilton Beach. $29 total cost!

Was this review helpful? (41) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jackobatsi
Tampa Bay Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!
1/9/2013

Customer review by Kelita909

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by Kelita909
by Kelita909

This is my first single-serve k-cup type coffee maker. I absolutely LOVE IT! After a month of use, I noticed my second cup didn't brew. After reading the instructions, I discovered the needle that punches the kcup was clogged. A simple cleaning with a paper clip, as recommended, did the trick.

Was this review helpful? (64) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kelita909
Highland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hamiltion Beach
12/1/2012

Customer review by jhayman

5.0 stars 12/1/2012 by jhayman
by jhayman

This is well worth its money and I thank its better then buying the Kergue brand that is to expensive. I am very happy with this product and all the K cups work in it! It brews Hot choc. Apple cider too.

Was this review helpful? (39) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jhayman
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointing
11/7/2013

Customer review by jennAye

1.0 stars 11/7/2013 by jennAye
by jennAye

I purchased the Flex Brew about a month ago. I discovered the splatters, and leaks, from day one but I was able to look past it because I really enjoyed the k cup varieties. This morning I inserted the cup and added the h2o, and turned the machine on. Next, I heard a burst of unnatural noises coming from the kitchen,and found the machine was heating the water in the holding tank and boiling it there. Zero water traveled through the pump and zero coffee ended up in my cup. I tried again and same result. I'm very disappointed that this machine didn't last longer.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jennAye
honeddale pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Keep walking on by!
12/7/2013

Customer review by LadyJ70

1.0 stars 12/7/2013 by LadyJ70
by LadyJ70

We had a Keurig for years, before they were popular. We loved everything about it but the loud noise it made when the water was lifting up into the well. But, when it finally 'died' we looked for a latte' machine. Found one we like, but now we would like a cup of coffee on occasion. So, we saw this little guy. Cute, small foot print compared to the Keurig, and an "ok" price. The first night, it sputtered all over itself and only produced an old fashioned tea cup amount. The second day, yet another sputter mess on the back-splash and very little end product. In order to get a desired amount of coffee, which is past what is available in the holding tank, we have to measure out our cup and pour the water in little at a time. We are returning this item and replacing it with another Keurig. I guess we will just deal with the noise it makes as the water is moved up. Too bad. . . we were really loving the smaller foot print on our already limited counter tops. We also loved the double filter process for our own coffee. Keep trying, Hamilton Beach.

Was this review helpful? (38) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyJ70
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
9/19/2013

Customer review by goodbyeheadache

2.0 stars 9/19/2013 by goodbyeheadache
by goodbyeheadache

It does what it says, however, a few drawbacks: 1. You have to pour water in before brewing each time as there is no water holding tank. (Most coffee pots are like that but if you like the keurig with the water already in there to eliminate that step then this is not for you) 2. You can only brew 8 oz. of water at a time as that is all the bigger it will hold. (this is a single serving coffee pot so that may not be a problem, also the k-cups are really only meant to be used with 8 oz of water or they will be too diluted, but this may be a problem for people using the regular filter attachment with their own coffee and are limited to 8 oz.) 3. It does tend to squirt coffee out sometimes which gets on counter, not that much but worth mentioning. 4. The part that holds the k-cups needs pulled out and a quick rinse after each use because it gets the coffee all through that area and it dries there if not cleaned out. 5. Basic model, no settings, just put in k-cup and push start. 6. Not sure will last, does seem cheap. Still debating whether to return or not.

Was this review helpful? (39) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goodbyeheadache
Pittsburgh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Splashes everywhere
11/9/2012

Customer review by KBEM

3.0 stars 11/9/2012 by KBEM
by KBEM

I have to admit that it's realyl easy to use and setup. I like that you can use coffee grounds or K-Cups. But I hated that it made a mess out of my kitchen counter. It splashes everywhere as it makes coffee.

Was this review helpful? (32) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KBEM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Magician Coffee Maker
12/27/2012

Customer review by KaitT

1.0 stars 12/27/2012 by KaitT
by KaitT

I received this product as a gift from my mother because I did not want her to waste her money on a Keurig. Well, unfortunately, this coffee maker is being sent back in the morning. I followed the directions exactly. I put my Kcup in the the top, put the water into the back and pressed down the handle before I turned the coffee maker on. I put the amount of water that my cup would need to make a full cup of coffee. However, when the coffee maker turned off, only a half cup was brewed. Where did all my water go? I can only assume that it was either still somewhere in the machine between the water basin and where the coffee comes out, or it evaporated (since there was an excessive amount of steam). Despite those results, I tried it once more, hoping that it was just a first time glitch. It was not. This coffee maker was loud, it splattered, did not make a full cup of coffee and is not worth wasting even the smallest amount of money.

Was this review helpful? (30) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KaitT
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great Unit!
5/12/2013

Customer review by JavaJavaJava

5.0 stars 5/12/2013 by JavaJavaJava
by JavaJavaJava

I don't know how people could write bad reviews about this product. I would suggest you ignore them. This machine is great! Half the price of Keurig's cheapest brewer AND it comes with its own filter so you can use your own coffee instead of those expensive K-cups too. Just read the directions and you won't have any problems that people had in the bad reviews I read. Keep in mind that the brewer is for 10 oz. only and use a measuring cup to fill. Pour the water in slow so the bottom of your measuring cup is over the water reservoir too and nothing will spill at all! It's not rocket science, believe me! I am the only coffee drinker in my house and simply brew my second cup while drinking the first one. This thing makes coffee easier than pulling money out of your pocket to pay for coffee out. I simply love it! I could not justify the price of other k-cup brewers at all, but this Hamilton Beach FlexBrew is fantastic for the price and an absolute bargain!

Was this review helpful? (93) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JavaJavaJava
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Coffee Maker!! But got to read directions!!
11/12/2013

Customer review by DOC70

4.0 stars 11/12/2013 by DOC70
by DOC70

I purchased this as an alternative to making a whole pot of coffee with the filters and all that junk. The first time I used it I wasn't extremely satisfied! I bought K cups but to be honest its just as easy, if not easier, to just scoop 2 tablespoons of ground coffee into it! It made the ground coffee better than my previous coffee maker! Its quick, easy, and delicious. There are a few drawbacks. One is that it only brews 10 oz maximum which kind of stink but that usually fills one normal sized kitchen coffee mug (hence single serve) and if you want more just brew the first ten oz and run a few more oz through afterwards. another draw back is that the basket should be cleaned once a day! I fear that if it is not cleaned daily it will lower the life of the maker and the quality of my coffee! cleaning the baskets is as simple as running water over both! So if you keep your brewer in your kitchen its quite simple. the last drawback which i think is not so bad is that some K-cups do not work so well! they may cause the machine to steam excessively! I do not see this as a draw back because u can use regular grounds without purchasing and extra attachment! it comes with the product. I would definitely buy

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DOC70
Platteville, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This was an EXCELLENT CHOICE!!!
12/27/2013

Customer review by DominickL

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by DominickL
by DominickL

I have wanted a "K" cup coffee maker for such a long time now. I resisted buying one because I just couldn't swallow the high price of the K Cup coffees. Also a single serve coffee maker was $129 from Keurig and $79 from Mr Coffee. When I considered the cost of the coffee maker and the cost of the coffee I said, "NO, NOT ME!" But I kept looking, hoping the price would come down, as they sometimes do. When I saw this coffee maker at $49, a single serve and it also took K cups, I said I will have to give this a try, I honestly expected to be a little disappointed with it, mostly because it had such a great price. I have used it now a few weeks, numerous times a day, and whether I use my regular ground coffee or a K cup I always get an EXCEPTIONAL CUP OF COFFEE!!!!! To say I am Extremely satisfied is an understatement!

Was this review helpful? (31) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DominickL
North Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 557 total reviews
1-20 of 557 reviews