Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.6out of 5 stars
3.6 out of 5 | 850 reviews
5 stars
381
4 stars
167
3 stars
50
2 stars
68
1 stars
184
Sort by: 
1-20 of 799 reviews
1-20 of 799 reviews
Great coffee maker for a cheaper price!
5/15/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got my hamilton beach single serve as a Christmas present this past year. So I've been using it now for roughly 6 months. And believe me when I say...I USE IT. I'm shocked I haven't worn it out by now. For the price...it's great. I don't love that you have to measure out the water based on the coffee cup you want to you but...hey...you DO have to. And if you measure it out...you won't have a crazy, leaky mess. I have had absolutely no issues with my coffee maker and would recommend it to anyone that wants a keurig but doesn't have the money for one. It makes a cup of coffee in less than two minutes and it's great! I love it!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (243)No (63)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worked once
6/8/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The first K Cup we used worked fine. after that the K cup blew up, spewed water everywhere. We contacted HB and at first they said it was the K Cups we were using so they sent us 6 K Cups turns out some were Green Mt. which was what we were using. One worked fine, the second blew. Contacted HB again and they let me return it to them and sent me a new one. Got the new one and guess what, yep blew cups again. contacted HB again and they said that because they found no problem with the one I returned they could not refund my money, however the would give me 50% off on another model from there site. Problem the model I purchased was the only one they made that uses K Cup. I responded by coping reviews from Walmart on this model and sent it to them. HB was very good at getting back to me, but the stance they took was "We test our products and there are no problems, so it must be user error" Well I guess all of us who have had the same problem just cant operate this model. Do you self a favor and don't buy this unit. I am also going to recommend that Walmart not sell this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (464)No (65)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Opt for the real Keurig.
12/21/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've had this unit for 2 days and will be returning it tonight. It leaked all over, even after it turned off, it continued to leak. It took nearly 10 minutes to barely make any coffee at all with a k-cup. It does not have cup size selectors like a keurig. Just terrible. Attached photo is of a normal sized mug after 10 min of brewing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (183)No (41)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent, fast and simple to use, love it
10/10/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Love it, easy to use, and clean. It is fast too
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Okay but small cups and weak brew
12/26/2015
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Couple things you should know... maximum amount of water is 10 oz and maximum amount of coffee grounds is 2 tbsp. I bought this because I thought it would be ideal for single cup of coffee for one person however even though I measured exactly 10 oz water it brews 8-9ish oz in the final cup, that's a small cup of coffee, like tea cup size. Also I like strong coffee about 3 tbsp to 10 oz is perfect for me, even using dark roast the coffee with 2 (really) rounded tbsp was just too weak. So for a small, weak cup of coffee it just isn't worth it. I didn't try k-cups because I don't like the taste so I really loved that this had a basket/filter that was designed to easily use your own grounds, and it is so easy, I just wished it worked and made a bigger cup of coffee, 8 oz is pretty small, so if you're envisioning filling up that to-go tumbler they show in the ad consider that you would probably have to brew 2-3 times to fill her up. I wish it worked better, really disappointed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (72)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Used it once, got rid of it!
6/26/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
While it looks nice, and has the features I wanted, after using it once I went straight to the store and bought a different machine. The reservoir can only hold 8 oz of water, so you'd think okay, 8 oz of water, 8 oz of coffee-perfect. Not so, you only end up with about 6 oz of coffee (both a waste and too little to fill a cup, even if you want room). More than that, where did the additional 2 ounces go you wonder? Oh you know, just all over your counter and through the machine, you see this one doesn't have the drier feature which nicer models do, that's fine you think, I don't need that fancy stuff. Not so, you do need it. The water is every where! So, you think to yourself, well at least I'll get a cup of strong coffee since only 6 oz went through; wrong again! It makes very weak coffee actually! So yeah, it's cheaper, it got the features you want (fitting both cups and travelmugs, K-cups and filter, sleek design)...but trust me, it's not worth it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (141)No (24)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Unit!
5/12/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I don't know how people could write bad reviews about this product. I would suggest you ignore them. This machine is great! Half the price of Keurig's cheapest brewer AND it comes with its own filter so you can use your own coffee instead of those expensive K-cups too. Just read the directions and you won't have any problems that people had in the bad reviews I read. Keep in mind that the brewer is for 10 oz. only and use a measuring cup to fill. Pour the water in slow so the bottom of your measuring cup is over the water reservoir too and nothing will spill at all! It's not rocket science, believe me! I am the only coffee drinker in my house and simply brew my second cup while drinking the first one. This thing makes coffee easier than pulling money out of your pocket to pay for coffee out. I simply love it! I could not justify the price of other k-cup brewers at all, but this Hamilton Beach FlexBrew is fantastic for the price and an absolute bargain!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (156)No (68)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Keep walking on by!
12/7/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We had a Keurig for years, before they were popular. We loved everything about it but the loud noise it made when the water was lifting up into the well. But, when it finally 'died' we looked for a latte' machine. Found one we like, but now we would like a cup of coffee on occasion. So, we saw this little guy. Cute, small foot print compared to the Keurig, and an "ok" price. The first night, it sputtered all over itself and only produced an old fashioned tea cup amount. The second day, yet another sputter mess on the back-splash and very little end product. In order to get a desired amount of coffee, which is past what is available in the holding tank, we have to measure out our cup and pour the water in little at a time. We are returning this item and replacing it with another Keurig. I guess we will just deal with the noise it makes as the water is moved up. Too bad. . . we were really loving the smaller foot print on our already limited counter tops. We also loved the double filter process for our own coffee. Keep trying, Hamilton Beach.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (94)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Magician Coffee Maker
12/27/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I received this product as a gift from my mother because I did not want her to waste her money on a Keurig. Well, unfortunately, this coffee maker is being sent back in the morning. I followed the directions exactly. I put my Kcup in the the top, put the water into the back and pressed down the handle before I turned the coffee maker on. I put the amount of water that my cup would need to make a full cup of coffee. However, when the coffee maker turned off, only a half cup was brewed. Where did all my water go? I can only assume that it was either still somewhere in the machine between the water basin and where the coffee comes out, or it evaporated (since there was an excessive amount of steam). Despite those results, I tried it once more, hoping that it was just a first time glitch. It was not. This coffee maker was loud, it splattered, did not make a full cup of coffee and is not worth wasting even the smallest amount of money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (84)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
9/19/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It does what it says, however, a few drawbacks: 1. You have to pour water in before brewing each time as there is no water holding tank. (Most coffee pots are like that but if you like the keurig with the water already in there to eliminate that step then this is not for you) 2. You can only brew 8 oz. of water at a time as that is all the bigger it will hold. (this is a single serving coffee pot so that may not be a problem, also the k-cups are really only meant to be used with 8 oz of water or they will be too diluted, but this may be a problem for people using the regular filter attachment with their own coffee and are limited to 8 oz.) 3. It does tend to squirt coffee out sometimes which gets on counter, not that much but worth mentioning. 4. The part that holds the k-cups needs pulled out and a quick rinse after each use because it gets the coffee all through that area and it dries there if not cleaned out. 5. Basic model, no settings, just put in k-cup and push start. 6. Not sure will last, does seem cheap. Still debating whether to return or not.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (62)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Value for size and price
1/14/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've had my "little red machine" for just over a week now. I use it quite frequently. I love it. It's become that I'm the only one in the house who drinks coffee so making an entire pot for myself became a little much. This little machine is perfect. It's brew time (according to the owner's manual is about 4 min) it seems a little quicker than that but what's 4 min when you've other things to be doing. Coffee, tea, cider cocoa. Doesn't matter what you're making. It's always perfect. I've read other reviews before purchasing; and thought either this was a faulty product or just bad usage. I believe bad usage in part. With you k cups you need to make certain that not only you push the cup down into the basket but that you push the handle down into the cup. Bare in mind these units are not meant to be used with the "new 2.0" models. IF you have issues with the cups then pre-poke the top. Problem, solved.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Terrible And Cheap Keurig Knock Off
3/20/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
You have to follow the instructions before you use it the 1st time. After that its easy to use. However its has too many flaws to recommend it. Its hard to insert K Cups or reusable K Cups in the place meant for them. The spot where you put water in is bad. Its hard to put water in there without spilling some water on the counter. You have the option to use ground coffee but that option doesn't work. Every time I use that the coffee spills everywhere. One time I even used a K Cup and all the stupid thing did was make noise and spill the coffee. It does work okay most of the time but for every 10th time used it acts up. I use a real, true, Keurig at work and its better all the way around. Its easier to use, makes the coffee better, and doesn't spill at all. So to sum it up just avoid this coffee maker. You are much better off paying $100 which is double the price for a real, true, Keurig, that will work every time and last years.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Coffee!
10/31/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was hesitant to buy this coffee maker after reading the reviews, but I had just visited relatives that had the full size one and it made a better cup of coffee than my Keurig. So I decided to get this one for my office and try it. Yes, it did spit water, but once I got familiar with the precise way to operate it, I had no more issues. It is more sensitive in that the k-cup has to be perfectly situated - make sure it is down as far as it will go in the holder until it clicks and you see the white tab below it. Then ensure the coffee holder piece is as far back as possible when you put it in and press down on the lever. It took be about 3 - 4 times to get it right, but it was worth it because to me, it makes a better cup of coffee than my Keurig, I attribute this to the fact that the water flows thru the k-cup slower and has more time to pick up the coffee flavor. I also like the fact that it also does loose ground coffee so I can also have some of my other favorites that are not in k-cups (i.e., Trader Joe's coffees). I am also going to replace my home Keurig with one of these as soon as it dies. I am on my 3rd Keurig and they have lasted me 2 - 3 years each.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (47)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The WORST ever!!
10/5/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased to replace my Keurig that had a pump failure at 2 years. I bought this and have exchanged it twice and finally gave up and returned it. This is the coffeemaker for you if 5 out of 8 times you enjoy mopping up hot coffee and coffee grounds from your counters or kitchen drawers where it runs everywhere. The first return was for the kcup mechanism appearing to be in place and when in fact it was actually NOT in place or even able to seat correctly due to manufacturing defects. I decided with the 2nd attempt to just give up the convenience of the kcups and use ground coffee...what could go wrong, right?? Well, a hole in the mesh could go wrong (and did) resulting in half coffee/half coffee grounds. The customer service rep at Walmart told me that they get about 1/2 of these back in returns and I totally get it.....this thing is JUNK.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (103)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good and not so good at one time.
4/20/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Pros: Good tasting cup of "hot" coffee. Much hotter than the Keurig machine by far, hands down! Can use either pods, soft pods, or ground coffee! Makes a tall cup of coffee, more than Keurig will brew, at one time. Cons: If you use a tall mug but shorter than a tall travel cup the coffee splashes on to the counter in the early brew stages. The stand does tall and short but not in between sizes. It takes a long time to make a cup and 2 mins between cups to rebrew another cup. I thought I did something wrong when it dribbled for a while in the beginning while heating the water, normal. Don't use a cup or mug to fill machine. Use a container intended for pouring liquid like a measuring cup. Water will pour down side of machine when filling if you don't. Don't overfill as it will pour over the top. Overall: I like this unit. I know what it's capable of making and how to make it and it makes a HOT(McDonald's coffee hot) cup of coffee that my broken Keurig never made. I got it with the combo offer for $49 and got a $10 Walmart credit and a $10 mfg rebate as well, from Hamilton Beach. $29 total cost!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (65)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Save your money
3/27/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought two of these (one for us and one for my step-mom). We've had it for the past 2 months and both units have the same problems. After loading the water and coffee and turning it on, it spits and sputters, for almost two minutes before the coffee starts to come out. Then, when the coffee does come out, you never know how much will come out before the machine shuts off (it doesn't always percolate the total amount of water you've added). It also continues to drip coffee for about 10 minutes after its "finished", one drip at a time. So if you remove your coffee cup and don't put something else in its place, you will come back to mess of coffee drips spilling over onto the countertop. These units aren't just sensitive, they are down right inconsistent and temperamental. If you can afford it, buy the more expensive units. Also, the "refillable" K-cups that Wal-Mart sells for around $5 don't work in this unit.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
EXCELLENT COFFEE MAKER
7/2/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I broke the carafe for our old coffee maker. Butter fingers (me) dropped it in the sink. Decided to find a single serve coffee maker. If you love scalding hot coffee that also tastes good then this is your coffee maker. You can make it really strong or regular. Clean up is easy. no more large glass carafe to fumble around with. It's easy to lift the lid to get access to the water reservoir. place your coffee packet in the holder press down and hit the brew button. Shoot you can do it in your sleep. It also has the capability to use coffee grounds also. Hamilton Beach finally made a great product. Love, love,love it. If it breaks that's okay. I'll run to Walmart and get another . No questions or reservations about this coffee maker. The price is just right. Inexpensive!!! you will not regret purchasing this coffee maker. Can't say enough good things about it. Love good tasting coffee!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Coffee Maker!! But got to read directions!!
11/12/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this as an alternative to making a whole pot of coffee with the filters and all that junk. The first time I used it I wasn't extremely satisfied! I bought K cups but to be honest its just as easy, if not easier, to just scoop 2 tablespoons of ground coffee into it! It made the ground coffee better than my previous coffee maker! Its quick, easy, and delicious. There are a few drawbacks. One is that it only brews 10 oz maximum which kind of stink but that usually fills one normal sized kitchen coffee mug (hence single serve) and if you want more just brew the first ten oz and run a few more oz through afterwards. another draw back is that the basket should be cleaned once a day! I fear that if it is not cleaned daily it will lower the life of the maker and the quality of my coffee! cleaning the baskets is as simple as running water over both! So if you keep your brewer in your kitchen its quite simple. the last drawback which i think is not so bad is that some K-cups do not work so well! they may cause the machine to steam excessively! I do not see this as a draw back because u can use regular grounds without purchasing and extra attachment! it comes with the product. I would definitely buy
Was this review helpful?
Yes (35)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Single-Serve Coffee Maker
10/12/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am completely satisfied with my Hamilton Beach Single Brew Coffee maker I do not think I could have made a better choice outstanding coffee maker whether it be with pods or grounds both are excellent ways of brewing your single serve of coffee.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice for making Indian style masala tea too!
12/12/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
I LOVE this coffee maker. In fact so much that I might just buy another. OK, let me start from the beginning. I wanted to find a way to make my indian style tea in a coffee maker. Neither me nor my husband really drink tea so we wanted a chai/tea maker instead of a coffee maker. I purchased a few K-cups (from safeway) and after a few uses the mechanism for the single cup didn't seem to work(hence the four star instead of five). The coffeemaker wasn't puncturing the cup, and so only got boiling hot water in our cups. So I tried using the coffee filter basket . I however used tea (loose,ground tea and not tea bags) and added some ginger for flavor. This coffee maker does an AMAZING job with this! No more waking up in the morning and stiring the tea for half an hour to make tea!Oh, just one thing, the cup size that the coffee maker can take is a tad bit smaller than what it should be. I LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640679, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-10.1.1, SHA-cd91c60c037ec69024941e99664518ad4edafe94, CID-