Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.8out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 | 462 reviews
5 stars
400
4 stars
44
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
Sort by: 
1-20 of 458 reviews
1-20 of 458 reviews
My dogs loved it!
11/10/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have two dogs, a Belgian Malinois and a German Shepherd. The Malinois will eat anything, however the GS is very picky and has turned down many different brands of dog food and treats. Even her current food, she eats reluctantly. When I opened the bag of Purina One SmartBlend Lamb and Rice, they couldn't wait to try it. The GS actually stuck her face into the bag and began chowing down! Of course the Malinois followed suit. The first thing I noticed about the food was the wonderful smell. As I poured the food into their bowls, I was amazed at the amount of meat included-- and large chunks too. Both dogs quickly ate it all and were hoping for more! I'm definitely switching their food to Purina One SmartBlend! So glad I found something my dogs are excited to eat. I received a free product for the purpose of my review. Opinions are 100% my own. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My 3 dogs love Purnia One Smartblend Lamb & Rice
9/8/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have 2 one yr old sister Lhasa Apsos and a mixed collie that is 4 years old. Alabama will eat most any food but her sister, Ziva is extremely picky. The collie, Festus, has always eaten Beneful but this summer he became picky as well. Needless to say it has been an expensive try & failure period to find a food pleasing to all 3 dogs. The biggest failure was Dog Chow(thanks for the coupons anyway). Festus would actually dump the food out & then cover it with his bowl! I came to realize Dog Chow has no odor to attack or inspire the dogs to eat it! Fortunately, I found a coupon for Purnia One Smartblend Lamb & Rice. Problem solved, they love it! They also love the Chicken & Rice formula. Although I have tried other brands of Lamb & Rice/Chicken & Rice, Purina One Smartblend is the brand they love. I'm planning to try the cat formula as well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My dogs and cat love Purina One
1/27/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Both my dogs are rescues. Charlie, my golden is 2 years old and was in bad shape when I got him. Now he is a very healthy dog. His coat has improved immensely. He loves the lamb and rice the most. Mister, my Red-Nose English Staffordshire /Pit Bull was my brother's dog. He is 11 years old. I enheirted him when my brother passed away in December 2015. Mister was a Gravy Train dog. He absolutely loves the lamb and rice. Usually he would leave half the bowl of Gravy Train but the Lamb and Rice, he licks the bowl clean. I will always feed Purina One to the dogs. My cat, Winston has kidney problems and Purina One has a dry cat food for him. Thank yoiu so much....
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Food my dog absolutely loves
7/15/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have a Saint Bernard and we feed him the lamb and rice one. I had read that was good for their skin and it has not disappointed. He loves the food and the little morsels. Once, my dad accidentally picked up the puppy one instead of Lamb and Rice but he still loved it. Occasionally will get the chicken flavor but he loves them all. They are especially good because they have glucosamine and with such a big dog, the extra help is great for his joints. So many benefits to a food he absolutely loves.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love the little dry meat
2/20/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have two dogs a German Shepherd and a mixed Dachshund/Chihuahua. Bear my handsome German Shepherd loves this dog food. My Buddy the Dachshund/Chihuahua loves only the dry Lamb part of the dog food. But Buddy is also really picky on that he eats. lol
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
NEVER BUY
9/22/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My dog refused many times to eat this food but I never thought THIS food could be the reason as PURINA is the reputable brand until luckily my kid discovered brown worms in the food. i don't know how long they have been there, and i am worried that my dog have eaten some of them, and I have no way of knowing how many because they were almost invisible in his food (as same color) and i could have overlooked them for a while. I am not sure if this type of worm the kind that can damage dog's intestines? is the interceptor enough, or should we take our dog to the vet to eradicate any worms he may have eaten? I am just concerned.. Now when i started thinking of why my dog vomit often plus lost appetite. People DO NOT BUY Purina ONE SmartBlend Lamb & Rice Formula
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Quality food my Baby Girl enjoys
8/3/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My Shih-Tzu has enjoyed Purina brand dog food since she was 3 months old. Now that my Baby Girl is almost 10 she is very healthy, active and the big attention getter. Roxie loves to pick out the tender morsels out first and then carries a mouthful of food to a different location to eat it. Never understood that. Anyway, I will always use Purina Brand Products.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Beats the expensive brands everytime
7/10/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
When I got my puppy, I wanted to be the good dog mom and bought the expensive foods. She always had Innova, Blue Buffalo, or something similar. When I adopted my second dog, i really started reading labels- and price tags. I made the switch to Purnia One SmartBlend and they both loved it. My new dog's shedding, dandruff, and skin issues cleared up almost instantly. When I got married, I had more money to spend on food, so we tried Blue Buffalo again. My dogs got fat! And Farley's skin was a mess again. Neither one was ever excited for feeding time. I talked to my vet and was assured that Purina is just as good as the pricier models, and better for the dogs' weight. The dogs literally jumped for joy when they saw the SmartBlend bag come in the house! They can't get enough of those tasty morsels. For a treat every now and then, I switch to the chicken. They love them both. Now that I foster dogs, the rescue sends them with the top of the line, all natural, 4 ingredient foods. Usually the only way to get them to touch that stuff is to put some smartblend on top!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wonderful Product
6/26/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My dog is 10 years old. Was sleeping more lazy like us when we get older too! Eating Purina One I noticed a big change. He is more active ready to play now loves his walks too! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This food made our Dog happy again
5/17/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Our Springer Spaniel had a ton of skin problems and no matter what we tried we just could not help him. Our vet said that it was probably an allergy to something and that food was a good place to start. The ingredients in Purina One were what he said we needed so we started to feed our boys the chicken and rice , they got better but not great then we were told to try the lamb. Well after a few bags the problems started to reverse . Now he is sore and itch free and his coat is beautiful. Long story short we will be using Purina One Lamb and Rice from now on.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Finicky Eater is Less Finicky
9/22/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Shilah will be 7 years old in December 2016. Since she was a puppy she is very cautious of what she eats. She had breakfast and dinner. She did fine with the puppy chow, then we went to Pedigree. She would always go through phases of not eating her breakfast. We would entice her by putting chicken juice or ham juice in her food but we could not do that all the time. Then she was almost poisoned by the Pedigree food. We switched to a few others like Nature (which was expensive) then to 4health for a couple times but that became pricey. so we went to beneful. Still going through phases of a week of only eating one bowl of food instead of two. About 4-6 months ago my husband tried the Purina one. It had the meat in it and she loved it. The phases have almost disappeared. She eats much better now with this food than she did with anything else. Thank you.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sensitive Stomach
6/26/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My Autumn is a 9 year old Pekineses mixed. This last year I noticed that after she ate, a few minutes later she would throw up. Since I have two other dogs I was concern about changing out their dry food. I researched ALL brands of dry dog food. I came across the Purina One Dog Dry SmartBlend and read about the product as well as the reviews. but not just from the Purina site. I went and picked up a bag with the Lamb and rice. All my dogs love it. It is so funny how each one eats a certain flavor first and then eats the rest of they food. But the best thing is Autumn can digest her food and it doesn't come back up. As a matter of fact, all my dogs enjoy it and tolerates this food very well. It is a must try for everyone! I also discovered that Autumn can't tolerated food or dog snacks that is red. This was something she had developed as she has aged.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for skin and coat
3/4/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have a Border Collie, as he got older he was having skin and coat problems, itching, hair loss, skin allergies, etc. We tried several different treatments from our vet as well as homopathic remedies without much success. Decided to try some of the more expensive dog foods, he would not eat them, had to give it away. Went with Purina One Lamb and Rice, he loves the taste and he now has a beautiful red coat again. He never scratches, or bites himself, and his fur is thick and shiny and hasn't been this healthy looking since he was a puppy. I have recommended this product to several of my friends for their dogs because I am amazed at the results we have gotten. Anytime anyone mentions their dog I give them my testimonial, it is a joke that I am a Purina One spokesperson. I wish that I could attach before and after pictures of him so that you could see the difference in his coat, it is truly amazing. He went from a dry, scratchy, damaged orange coat, to a beautiful, thick, full, soft deep red coat. Great Product that is not only good for my dog but has the taste my dog loves, at a price anyone can afford. Thank you Purina.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My Dogs love it.
12/15/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
They even eat a little bit less and they seem to be fuller. Meat as the first ingredient is always better. RisRanDer2
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great taste
3/16/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My 2 dogs,a Siberan Husky and a Terrier mix, love the chicken & Rice blend. They will pick out all the chicken pieces first & then eat the rest. I have to watch them bc the Husky will steal the chicken pieces from the terrier's bowl after he eats his own food.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My dog eats it like it's candy!
11/16/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I and my dog Amber have reviewed and tested Purina One Smartblend dog food. I redeemed the coupon I received for free for a bag of the Lamb and Rice formula for her. Upon purchasing, the bag seemed sturdy and unlikely to rip easily. I did have to cut it open with a knife. After scooping a serving for Amber I found that the food smelled much more appealing that other dog foods we have fed her; it actually smelled like real food. Amber stood by closely watching for her new food. As I tried to set her bowl on the floor she already had her face in the bowl gulping as much of the food as possible. Purina ONE Smartblend has definitely earned our seals of approval. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Quality product
3/17/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We have fed this to our Weims from the start. The chunks of lamb mixed with crunchy kibble makes them slow down a bit and actually chew the food. They have great coats, good muscle tone and firm waste.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My dog seems healthier
10/25/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I took the Purina 28-day challenge where I got a bag for free from Smiley360. When I first fed my dog, she loved the taste and was looking for more food. After a few days, I noticed that she had more energy and would want to play throughout the day instead of just at night. Recently, I also noticed that she has softer fur, probably the softest her fur has ever been. Her eyes are also brighter making her light brown eyes pop out even more. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The One and Only
8/19/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
When we purchased our White Boxer 2 years ago there were many instructions that came along with him. I've had lots of rescued dogs over the years as a former K9 Officer and many different breeds, but this was to be my first Boxer. He's perfect ..with little side notes. :) I was recommended a higher priced dogfood, and though I have fed all my dogs Purina One or Purina Pro, I did as they said. We went through allergies, gas, not wanting to eat, everything... til we went back to this one...Lamb and Rice. He does not want anything else. His weight is perfect, His skin, health, energy..couldn't ask for more. Thank You.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
MY THOUGHTS :)
7/17/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I HAVE USED THIS FOOD FOR YEARS THE ONLY THING I WISH WOULD CHANGE IS THAT THEY WOULD MAKE A BIG SIZE BAG OF PUPPY SMALL BITES FORMULA I HAVE MORE THAN ONE PUPPY . I SWITCHED ONCE TO SCIENCE DIET AT MY VETS REQUEST MY OLDEST STARTED TO HAVE SEIZURES I HAD TEST RUN AND THEY COULDNT FIND ANYTHING JUST SAID HIS PROTEIN WAS A LITTLE HIGH MY HUSBAND AND I STARTED TALKING AND I REALIZED HE DIDNT START HAVING THEM UNTIL I SWITCHED HIS FOOD SO I SWITCHED BACK AND HE HASNT HAD ANOTHER ONE SINCE I SWITCHED BACK .. I HAVE BEEN USING IT SINCE 2004 HOPEFULLY THEY QUIT CHANGING THE OLD JUST ADD NEW KINDS :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640655, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-