Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 364 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

364 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

364 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
226
4 stars
91
3 stars
17
2 stars
4
1 stars
26
1-20 of 304 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 304 total reviews
1-20 of 304 reviews
Good Product with voice and North America Maps
11/15/2013

Customer review by eRickster

4.0 stars 11/15/2013 by eRickster
by eRickster
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ordered the refurb GPS for my in laws. The product comes with lifetime maps for North America (US, Canada) and traffic. This is good as we go to Canada once a year and it comes in handy have a GPS instead of paper maps or cell phone service (roaming charges). The product was easy to set up and took about 4 hours to load in the updated maps. Voice command was decent and recognized most of the addresses or places (it will provide a list of places or addresses it thinks you said for you to select). Overall a good GPS with 5" screen and good touch sensitive. It also comes with other features like bluetooth, gas mileage, ... etc. (I don't use them much) You can also download voices, cars, etc from Garmin website. I gave it two stars for value because a week after I received it, I saw that it was on sale at other on line merchants for $10-20 less than what Walmart was charging. I did not return it as I already set it up for my in-laws to use.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eRickster
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Garmin 2595LMT is Awesome!
10/25/2012

Customer review by kkahn

5.0 stars 10/25/2012 by kkahn
by kkahn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have several GPS's 2 Garmin 1 Rand Mcnally for the rv and a magellen - of all of them is is by far the most accurate, feature filled gps I have ever owned. I use it in portrait mode and really show far down the road. I would highly recommend this GPS to anyone!!!! I you are questioning the purchase don't, you wont be sorry. I bought the reconditioned unit and it was 100% perfect, even updated the maps with no trouble the day I had purchased it. I have had it for several weeks and have taken many trips. Traffic worked great in Chicago and it even showed construction and lane closures on the map, really impressive. It did recommend changing routes during rush hour and it was right on the money. Voice recognition works very well, I have a convertible and today with the top down in was able to be controlled via voice.

Was this review helpful? (78) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kkahn
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Refurb may not work
3/6/2013

Customer review by Bondman1432

1.0 stars 3/6/2013 by Bondman1432
by Bondman1432
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When I was considering this item, I searched the website for "what's in the box" information. Nothing but the unit itself was displayed and no other information was to be found. Made the purchase and used it twice. On the second use, I realized that I was not getting traffic updates and since the unit included lifetime maps and traffic, I thought I had been send the wrong cable. Afterall, how could I know if the unit was fully functional if the proper cable was not part of the deal. The proper cable is included in new units and in the absence of any contrary information, I assumed it would be included in this purchase. I was disappointed and made an email inquiry but my decision was made the following day when the unit would not turn on at all. So, sadly, the great deal I thought I was getting by taking a chance on a refurb unit went sour. Gladly, however, I was able to return to unit to my local Wal-Mart which sort of made up for the issued I experienced. I would not have purchased this unit if I had known that the traffic information receiver cable was not included. Wal-Mart is making an error by not offering complete information or a disclaimer about this product and I can assume other products.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bondman1432
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great GPS - Great features
9/2/2012

Customer review by DaveBInNH

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by DaveBInNH
by DaveBInNH

I really like this GPS. This is replacing my Nuvi 660 which was great for that time. This one is way better. Love the voice actuation for accesing saved addresses but the find address using voice is awful. Still a huge step in the right direction. The dual screen is great. The maps are very well detailed with lots of POI. Not sure about the audio since I can't seem to access tunes or recorded voice. A bit tricky there. Nice big screen. Fast uploading new maps. The touch screen is great. You can drag the map to see more which is great when looking for areas of interest. Unit turned off a few times. It was me touching the power button which has a much lighter touch than the previous unit I had. Walmart was fast and getting a refurb was really getting a new unit from what I can tell. enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (51) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DaveBInNH
Rural NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Great Garmin
10/22/2012

Customer review by BobC6254

5.0 stars 10/22/2012 by BobC6254
by BobC6254

I was hesitant at first to try a refurbished product, especially a GPS that I would be using almost daily! My son convinced me otherwise and I am now glad that he did. I have had absolutely no problems with it. Once it's out of the box you would never know it is refurbished. The 2595 is everything and more they advertise. I especially have enjoyed the Bluetooth connection for my smart phone. I tried the on board audio book, but I still prefer turning pages rather than hear some one droning on...So I probably will not utilize that feature. Easy input for trip changes/stops and for new addresses. Especially like the fact that construction sites are listed for my chosen route! Great investment, especially for the price savings.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BobC6254
Cleveland, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No trafic , Sound loud for GPS- Too low for phone
10/31/2013

Customer review by Nishant

1.0 stars 10/31/2013 by Nishant
by Nishant
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Right out of the box unit looked impressive. When I did a test drive, I noticed distance error of 80 to 140 feet at turn. When I am zero feet from turn which mean I have to turn, GPS showed about 100 feet remaining. When I called Garmin, I was told that you download maps and software, it will improve. Well it did not. GPS volume if adjusted for normal hearing, it is too low for incoming phone to listen. If kept at maximum to listen to phone then it is too loud for GPS. I noticed no trafic- all grayed out. USB loose contact so my powerpoint shows connection OK but GPS continues in battery mode. Most irritating thing was that GPS for first 30 seconds showed me charging symbols in car (similar you see when connected to computer) before it showed the map. Not acceptable. Returned for refund.

Was this review helpful? (40) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nishant
Chicago IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/25/2012

Customer review by Emmert

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by Emmert
by Emmert
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

product is exactly what I ordered, service was outstanding, received sooner than original date given, only problem I have and it is disturbing is the fact they do not send an owners manual along with the gps, only a quick start, this gps has so many options a quick start won't do it, in order to be more productive a owners manual should be included and pointed out in the advertising of said product(s), it is all about doing something the other guy doesn't, that's how you stay on top and become #1, thanks. I give an avg for meets expectations only because of not receiving a manual, the unit itself does meet my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Emmert
Magnolia, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Upgraded & I like it
9/3/2012

Customer review by middleyoung

5.0 stars 9/3/2012 by middleyoung
by middleyoung

Upgraded from a 700 series Garmin. I find many of the new features very useful and functional. The voice command works very well for me. I also have an Acura navigation with voice control and this Garmin work as well or better than the Acura nav. I appreciate knowing which lane I need to be in for an upcoming intersection. I do a lot of driving in major cities (LA) so this is very helpful. The larger screen is also nice. The one item I miss is the quick disconnect button of my old Garmin. With one push of the button the unit was removed from the mount and power was removed. With this unit it clicks into a simple plastic mount and power is on a separate connector which needs to be removed.

Was this review helpful? (42) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
middleyoung
Cedar Rapids, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great GPS - very easy to use
9/14/2012

Customer review by gpsma34

5.0 stars 9/14/2012 by gpsma34
by gpsma34

I recently upgraded from a 1450. This unit has many more useful features. It's voice recognition is much better than Siri's. So far it's found every address I've spoken to it on the first try. The only bad point is that the bluetooth feature that makes it a speakerphone is almost useless because the volume of the internal speaker is much too low - and I have a very quiet car and good hearing. This is not just my opinion - check out other reviews on amazon, etc..

Was this review helpful? (109) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gpsma34
St. Louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Ready, Set, Wait!
12/10/2014

Customer review by MAMBB

4.0 stars 12/10/2014 by MAMBB
by MAMBB

I am still learning how to use the Garmin GPS and used it for the first time today and I was able to hear the directions clearly, which is a real plus for me since I think I'm a little hard of hearing. I didn't know how to tell it how to avoid the freeway so I put the address I wanted in and just ignored the directions that would have taken me to the freeway and the GPS kept right on directing me as where I needed to go. It was also great about telling me where I would need to turn and in which direction so I would be in the correct lane. Also, the building I was going to sat it little in the back and the GPS let me know when I had reached the right address, which was great because I would have passed it and would have had to turn back! It took over 12 hours to download the maps and I was furious about that and did not expect to like the GPS after that but if it continues to give directions the way it did today, I will be very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MAMBB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Another good GPS unit (2595LMT) from Garmin
11/7/2012

Customer review by poolmangmr

4.0 stars 11/7/2012 by poolmangmr
by poolmangmr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is my second Garmin unit and is way better than the one from a couple of years ago. It is easy to use and a pretty accurate touch screen. Some of the options/settings take a little while to figure out and could have been made easier to find, but all in all it is a great, user friendly unit. the screen looks great and the split screen to show you an exit is a wonderful idea. It reroutes if you detour from the scheduled direction very quickly. The one I purchased was refurbished, less expensive and it works great.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
poolmangmr
Seattle WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Large Display.Free Live traffic
10/16/2012

Customer review by allcat

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by allcat
by allcat

Love the free live traffic, even warns of accidents.Roadway colors change with traffic congestion.Also has a traffic function which shows a large satellite map of many square miles, which can be narrowed down to your specific area.Large display with auto split screen to show highway exit signs.Voice command works well.I bought a dashboard beanbag mount for this unit from ebay (super). Saved $100 by buying a Walmart "refurbished", which is like brand new,Great unit & no complaints.Try to get "refurbished" and save a bunch of money.Walmart stands behind these units as new.

Was this review helpful? (56) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
allcat
LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Refurb - worked well enough for me, for the price
1/5/2013

Customer review by Tearsfall

4.0 stars 1/5/2013 by Tearsfall
by Tearsfall
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Overall, I am very pleased with the Garmin Refurbished nuvi 2595LMT 5" GPS w/ Lifetime Maps and Traffic I purchased. I imagine it was returned by the first owner for its lack of touch sensitivity around the edges of the screen. Sometimes I really have to ride a button to get a response. I don't know if this is normal for this model... but that is the only issue I have found, and for the refurb break in price I am happy enough with the unit. The main feature I wanted is present - the ability to preset up routes using GPX files. This is a rare feature for auto GPS's - more common for handheld hiking-type GPS units. If one has any sort of delivery or similar business that requires visiting several locations in an efficient manner, this feature is a valuable time-saver. The display can be flipped 90 degrees for horizontal or vertical viewing, making it work ok as a "wilderness" GPS for short times. Battery life is fine, though the nice large color display does tend to shorten total charge life, so it is better plugged-in as a car-mount. The voice command recognition works well with my Southern TN accent - not so well with my GF's Northern MA accent. I think it is the lack of "R's". She drives a "CAH", not a CAR. All in all, a good buy and what I wanted.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tearsfall
Murfreesboro, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Appeared to be brand new, with full warranty...
11/22/2012

Customer review by SoCalAnybody

5.0 stars 11/22/2012 by SoCalAnybody
by SoCalAnybody
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

To those who are considering buying this factory refurbished product; It showed up at my door in new packaging with proper protection on the screen and a full set of instructions. I would recommend this refurbished unit to anyone who is concerned with saving a little money.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SoCalAnybody
SoCal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My Garmin was purchased at a reasonable price.
11/18/2012

Customer review by TopJohnBoy

5.0 stars 11/18/2012 by TopJohnBoy
by TopJohnBoy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was hesitant to purchase a refurbished item. However, the product warranty was the same as a new item plus I used AMEX which will give me an additional 1 year under warranty. So, if the visible condition looked new and not abused, and the item functioned as new, why not? My only regret is that none of the product information packaged with the item was in English. That was only a minor setback since all could be obtained on line.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TopJohnBoy
Arlington, Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love My Garmin nuvi 2595LMT
3/6/2013

Customer review by pkppt

5.0 stars 3/6/2013 by pkppt
by pkppt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have upgraded from a Garmin StreetPilot c330 to Garmin nuvi 2595LMT. The 5 inch display is nice and bright. I am still learning to use all the new features. The touch menu is fast and easy to navigate. It is compact and comes with the windshield mount, cigarette charger / traffic antenna and a short mini USB cable. The mini USB cable is used to add POI, firmware updates, and transfer Google maps destinations from PC to the GPS unit. There is a micro SD slot for file transfers. Even though it is a refurbished, the unit looks and feels like brand new. It comes with Bluetooth but I haven't try it out.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pkppt
Fresh Meadows, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works as described
3/9/2014

Customer review by Tillman1650

5.0 stars 3/9/2014 by Tillman1650
by Tillman1650
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Really nice GPS. This is my first GPS with voice recognition, and I must say I am impressed. I thought it might be like most phones I have had, where you have to try 6-10 times in order to get it to understand you, but this product works really well. Of course, there are moments where it doesn't understand you and you have to repeat yourself, but if you are driving, much safer than trying to mess with navigation control (of course we never do that), and keeps from having to pull over. Lots of features that work really well. Most feature rich GPS I have ever owned. Works well with Smartphones too, as this give you the opportunity to add aditional features as they work together, and helps to sync phonebook and call info with the GPS. However, I agree with others' reviews that the callers voice while connected via Bluetooth is simply not loud enough. This problem makes using the device as a Bluetooth headset virtually useless. Otherwise, I have no complaints, and for price of this refurb I am ecstatic. Unfortunately, you can't customize it with the most of the Garmin add-on voices or icons but that's minor for me. For the price of this refurb you cant beat the plethora of features, and voice commands and voice navigation. I paid the extra few bucks for the Wal-Mart care plan as this saved me from the last refurb I bought. This product is a must have, for those who have never had a voice command GPS before. Totally awesome.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tillman1650
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/1/2012

Customer review by Excalibur1952

4.0 stars 12/1/2012 by Excalibur1952
by Excalibur1952
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Garmin GPS devices generally have fewer features and customisations than the older Tom Toms, but this one comes close. I always wanted my GPS device to show me time and distance to destination and a compass to show driving direction on the main screen, and this one allows you to select a dashboard which provides that information. The compass is just a letter showing N or S or whatever direction you are moving in, which is not as useful as a diagramatic compass, but it is the next best thing. The other main feature of this device is voice operation which actually works fairly well for simple commands and common names and places such as McDonalds, but not as well for full addresses or less common names. Even so, it is a boon and takes much of the stress out of operating the device while driving. Free life time map updates are now more or less standard on many GPS devices and so too is free lifetime traffic, so I wont comment on these features except for noting that updating maps is painful and laborious, and traffic is often misleading but on other occasions useful. Routing on all Garmins is not as good as on Tom Toms, but its not a deal breaker because the difference is not critical in most situations. In summary, this is a pretty good GPS device but don't expect it to be perfect .. it has a fair dose of deficiencies which will irritate you from time to time but end of the day its benefits outweigh its deficiencies.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Excalibur1952
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gave poor rating because of customer support
3/14/2013

Customer review by br62env

1.0 stars 3/14/2013 by br62env
by br62env
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Unit worked fine until I did the updates which took 10 hours to down load. After down load was completed received error mess "cannot unlock maps". Attempted to call customer service several times but was unable to speak to a person. (waited over 1 hour) I then attempted to use their FAQ section under customer support. They did have a solution posted to address the "cannot unlock maps". After meticulously following the directions I still received the same message. I then attempted to contact a technician via e-mail, for some unknown reason the customer service portion of their web site did not recognize me or my device even though I was registered and had a dashboard. After eventually receiving a response to my e-mail the technician referred me to the FAQ section and the same procedure I had already tried. I than returned unit for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
br62env
Citrus Springs, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Loved it so much - Bought TWO!
2/10/2013

Customer review by TechGirlFriend

5.0 stars 2/10/2013 by TechGirlFriend
by TechGirlFriend

My husband & I had older Garmins - 765 & 255 for years. We always loved the simple Garmin interface (my husband is not a techie). We've had lifetime maps with our older Garmins and really did not want or see the need to upgrade to newer models. Well, the screen on my husband's Garmin 765 began to fade even when the brightness is at its max. It's probably the GPS's age (almost 5 years) and my husband leaves it on the dash even during the hot summer (we live in the south - Georgia where it gets over 100 degrees). So I researched and ended buying this model from Wally. For those who are afraid of "refurbished", fear not. They look brand new and work flawlessly. The 2595's 5 inch screen makes a big difference. It allow you to see roads and signs more clearly. It also boots much faster and does not make the annoying "recalculating" sound when you are off course. The voice command takes a little getting use to but once you get a hang of it, it works most of the time. Try saying the entire address without pausing. The GPS is also sensitive to how quickly you say things. A little practice will go a long way. Lane assist is great. I hate missing exits on multiple lane freeways. The traffic is basic and is the least useful feature for us. After testing this GPS in my vehicle for my husband, I loved it so much versus my older 255 that I ended up buying another 2595 for myself. The price since then has gone up by $5 but it is still a bargain! We paid $99 just for lifetime maps years ago for my husband's 765. Buy now because the supply goes pretty quickly. I bought my husband's in Dec. 2012 and it went out of stock for a couple of months. When it became available again in Feb. 2013, I immediately bought another one for myself. BTW - you can transfer all your favorites from your previous GPS to this new one. Just google it. There is no need to reenter all your favorites. It's amazing how reliant we've become to GPS's. What did we do before they were part of our lives? More stressful driving, I guess. Remember pulling over on the side of the road looking at a map and trying to figure out where you are? YUCK! Buy the 2595 today! I promise you will not regret it even if you have an older Garmin. It is well worth it!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TechGirlFriend
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 304 total reviews
1-20 of 304 reviews