Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 70 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

70 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

5 stars
18
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
32
47%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 57 total reviews
No Fortune Cookie for You! One Year!
11/18/2012

Customer review by saobrie

1.0 stars by saobrie

My 7 seven year old daughter selected this toy for her birthday. It was her top pick for a gift. The Good: The instructions are easy to follow. The Fortune Cookie Maker is easy to work. The Bad: It doesn't make fortune cookies. (You get a broken taco-looking shell.) The dough is dry. (The instructions specifically say not to add more water.) My daughter is very sad. Following the directions you get dry dough that crack. So we did try again. We broke the no extra water rule by a few drops, and the dough was sticky. This toy was a waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (110) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
saobrie
Glendale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does not meet expectations
11/19/2012

Customer review by Vanvas12

1.0 stars by Vanvas12

I bought this for my son, because the advertisement on tv was intriguing. We bought and immediately came home to test it out. We followed the directions step by step. We put the rolled out dough in the cookie maker, pressed it down and when it popped up the edges didn't close at ll, tried it again same thing, and again... The cookie maker does not close the cookie. So we pinched the edges with our fingers. Waited 15 mins for them to dry, like the directions say, decorated them and waited an additional two hours, because it didn't seem to be drying. Finally we ate them, it just tasted like concentrated super sweet cake mix. Not at all crunchy. I think for the younger kids this could work, but for people with an expectation of what a fortune cookie should be like... No way. I even tried leaving it in the microwave for longer, or adding more water the next time. Still, same poor results.

Was this review helpful? (59) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Vanvas12
Boston ma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
10/26/2012

Customer review by gakkari

1.0 stars by gakkari

Followed instructions and cookies tasted raw and not crispy at all. My granddaughter was very disappointed. She saw it on tv and mentioned it to me, so I thought I would surprise her on her birthday. She was so happy when she received it,but extremely disappointed because the product was a failure. I was so embarrassed I got that gift for her and said I will not order anything you see on TV.

Was this review helpful? (88) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
gakkari
Honolulu,HI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't waste your money
11/4/2012

Customer review by mamasharon

1.0 stars by mamasharon

My 9 year old saved her allowance for this and it was not worth the money she spent on it. The cookie mixture crumbles when you try to roll it out and will not hold together long enough to cut out the cookies. This happens even though we followed the directions exactly.

Was this review helpful? (68) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mamasharon
jasper,ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
11/22/2012

Customer review by ChristineNH

1.0 stars by ChristineNH

The cookies do not stay together. They fall apart before you're even to the drying process. My daughter ate one and she said they tasted awful. She was very dissapointed as she used her money she saved for it. She had even paid for refills before we realized how terrible it was. I definetly would not recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ChristineNH
Navarre, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
11/7/2012

Customer review by Orjangestat

1.0 stars by Orjangestat

I purchase a lot of toys for my grandchildren and this was the worst I ever got. Very cheaply made does not work like in the commercials or in the instructions. If I could return this right now I would but he is a little boy and really wants to keep it but he will probably never use it again. What a waste of $29.99 or whatever it cost. As a senior citizen I value every penny I have and I definetly wasted my social security money.

Was this review helpful? (30) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Orjangestat
Bloomingdale, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Delicious, but not enough cookie dough.
11/19/2012

Customer review by camartin

4.0 stars by camartin

My 7 year old son, found the directions very easy to follow. He enjoyed making and decorating the cookies, but after he made the 9 cookies they give with the purchase, he was out of cookie mix and I have been hunting around and cannot find them any where. Moose toy company does have a .com site but you cannot buy the mix from them directly even though they offer 3 different types of cookies.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
camartin
Durham, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Waste of money!!
11/26/2012

Customer review by momto3inCharlotte

1.0 stars by momto3inCharlotte

If I could give this toy a negative star I would!! It is such a waste of money! My son asked for this for a birthday present and I'm really wishing I'd done my research! It was really hard to get the dough to do right and then it tasted awful! Since he really wanted to make REAL fortune cookies we have resulted to making them from a recipe I found online. DO NOT BUY!! Buy your child/grandchild something better for your/their money!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
momto3inCharlotte
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
My grand daughter loved it
11/13/2012

Customer review by BRADY121

5.0 stars by BRADY121

I ordered on line and picked up in my store same day. It was quick, easy and just what I wanted

Was this review helpful? (24) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BRADY121
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/29/2012

Customer review by CentsAbleMom

4.0 stars by CentsAbleMom

I bought for xmas for daughter (10yrs) and it is fun to make. Mix doesn't taste like actual fortune cookies - more like sweet cake dough. The cookies don't get crispy like the real ones so it's good for small kids and big kids alike. First batch was rough (too soft) but 2nd & 3rd tries came out much better. Super fun to make and easy to follow directions. The whimsy is writing your own predictions --though the kit has plenty of written 'fortunes' already. She can't wait to take to her friends at school. Great for sleepover parties. Will buy the refills but I think I could use my own recipe and be ok. If you want the real thing aka fortune cookies, go to Panda Express #though you won't get purple icing & sprinkles!# - this is for people with imaginations and a sense of creativity. I think the price should come down as it's not an complicated machine, which is why I'm giving it 4 stars.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CentsAbleMom
San Antonio,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
So fun - once you get the hang, it's great!
11/26/2012

Customer review by DaveM78

5.0 stars by DaveM78

Bought this for my daughter's birthday, she loved it in store! Couldn't say no. We had a great time with it: - instructions were very clear - comes with absolutely everything, including utensils and tools - fun process - we did it together on a rainy day, played for a few hours! Dough was quite dry to begin with, the 2nd time with my assistance it was much better. By the 3rd time we were pros! For Christmas the kids are getting some refills. End result is great, you get everything to decorate them. The cookies are sweet and have made good gifts to visitors at home. Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DaveM78
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Fun Playtime Activity for a 4- and 6-year-old
11/24/2012

Customer review by Grams55of2

5.0 stars by Grams55of2

Easy directions, set-up and construction!! The fortune cookies are microwaveable, so a great activity for the little ones.

Was this review helpful? (9) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Grams55of2
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Christmas gift for granddaughter
12/24/2013

Customer review by lreeves

4.0 stars by lreeves

We bought this as a gift for our granddaughter for Christmas. This is what she wanted. We hope it is a good product for her.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lreeves
macon, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My granddaughter & I love the fortune cookie maker
1/5/2013

Customer review by barn222

5.0 stars by barn222

The Wal Mart Fortune cookie maker is a good value and my granddaughter and I love it. We'll have many hours of fun with it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
barn222
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love Love Love This!!!
1/6/2013

Customer review by KatelinMariee

5.0 stars by KatelinMariee

At first, I was disappointed with this product. My fortune cookies turned out to be dry (even though I added more water) and fell completely apart, but they still tasted fine. The second time, I realized I didn't follow the directions to the T and made sure I did, and they turned out perfect! They were crisp after drying and tasted delicious. My whole family love this, my only complaint is that the packets only make 2 (at most 3) fortune cookies so it can get annoying and expensive. Make sure you follow the directions! You have to mix after you microwave!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KatelinMariee
Clarksville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
12/2/2012

Customer review by reviewer00013

1.0 stars by reviewer00013

It was a cool concept if only you could bake it and eat it. Who wants to eat dough. Not worth it. We tried it once and never again.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
reviewer00013
harrisburg, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Toy is unFORTUNE-et
11/24/2012

Customer review by Grifa

1.0 stars by Grifa

I bought this toy for my nephews birthday and it has not been the fun he was looking for. He is unable to use this toy without adult help even though he meets the age requirements. The cookies taste like raw dough and you have to have hands of lightening to even get the cookies into the mold before they turn solid. I also found that refills are very difficult to come by. All in all, disappointed shopper and most importantly a disappointed nephew.

Was this review helpful? (5) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Grifa
Saint Johns, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Unacceptable
1/3/2013

Customer review by FrustratedParent101

1.0 stars by FrustratedParent101

Seemed like a simple enough idea, but the dough included is horrible to work with and cracks easily. Difficult for kids to work with.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
FrustratedParent101
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Product Flop!
1/2/2013

Customer review by jmm2009

1.0 stars by jmm2009

This product did not make fortune cookies!! It was a total flop and a mess!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jmm2009
Porter, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!
1/2/2013

Customer review by Ronbo9503

1.0 stars by Ronbo9503

i SHOULD OF LISTENED TO THE OTHER REVIEWS BUT MY SON WANTED THIS SO BAD FOR CHRISTMAS. WHAT A PEICE OF JUNK. THIS IS! THE COOKIE DOUGH WOULD NOT STICK TOGETHER AFTER SEVERAL TRIES. TOOK IT BACK FOR REFUND.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Ronbo9503
Wake Forest, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
1-20 of 57 total reviews