Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

35 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

35 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 stars
6
1-20 of 28 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews
Great for the price!
9/4/2012

Customer review by Vane26

5.0 stars 9/4/2012 by Vane26
by Vane26

I ordered this Hoover vac after a lot of research. I ordered it on a Thursday and received it on Saturday. So shipping was great and free! Upon openin the box, the unit was dirty, smelly, and the packages inside were already opened. This made me really mad so I emailed Walmart and told them. They immediately sent out a new one which was in a little better shape. Odors it work yes! The instructions make it more difficult to use than it needs to be but do read them. It will be worth it in the end. For $100 I'm so glad I found this vac. It works perfect at getting out even old stains.

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vane26
McGuire AFB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good steam vac for the money
9/30/2012

Customer review by vickiecamp1

4.0 stars 9/30/2012 by vickiecamp1
by vickiecamp1

I wasn't expecting much due to the price but this thing works pretty darn good and I like that it has an attachment for upholstery. I have 2 dogs and 2 cats and for accidents this attachment works great. It's not as durable as I had hoped and it may not last as long as I'd like but with tender loving care I am sure I can get my money's worth out of it. For someone on a budget, I would recommend this vac.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vickiecamp1
Addy, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Does a decent job as decribed.
10/17/2012

Customer review by jfv111875

3.0 stars 10/17/2012 by jfv111875
by jfv111875

Pros: Does a decent job as decribed. The two separate tanks is a definite plus and easy to use. I believe it does a better job than a Rug doctor. Cons: SteamVac and “Heated cleaning” is misleading, it really does not heat the water much. The main brush is a single brush and stationary, it moves when you move he machine. Feels like it was made and designed to look bulky, underneath there is a lot of open space. Directions to put together were confusing.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jfv111875
Ames, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good bargain. Instructions difficult to follow
9/25/2012

Customer review by yannymc

4.0 stars 9/25/2012 by yannymc
by yannymc

Although assembly was not easy because instructions were hard to follow,The machine is worth the price. I originally had a more expensive machine and this cleaner does a comparative job. Good bargainI

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yannymc
freehold nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Excellent carpet vac, washer.
11/19/2012

Customer review by millzi70

5.0 stars 11/19/2012 by millzi70
by millzi70

I have now cleaned 5 rooms and 11 steps. Easy to work, really cleans and removes water so carpet dries fast. Been thru 2 Bissell carpet cleaners and they just don't hold up! I couldn't believe the dirty water that came out from my carpet. I think my carpets look better then they have in several years. I have told everyone I know about this cleaner. I did purchase this one from other reviews. Yes they were right. This is awesome.. Now I must say that I spent some time changing the floor tools. They are hard to slide on and off. Once you get it all together it really cleans. Best brush I have ever used on steps, wow my steps are so clean. I believe in going back over my carpets with cold water the next day , or sometimes the same day, to rise and it does make a difference. It is like washing your clothes with soap and not rinising the soap out. Your carpet will feel so soft to your feet. I have even walked around with white socks on and my socks were clean when I took them off. Now I am 64 years old and found this very easy to use. Now I just hope it will work when I pull it out to clean again.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
millzi70
Loveland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent product.
11/1/2012

Customer review by nicosia

5.0 stars 11/1/2012 by nicosia
by nicosia

This machine is perfect. I have 2 dogs and 2 cats and a 12 yr old kid that I am always cleaning up after. Works beautiful on those little mistakes they all make. Machine was very easy to put together. The separate water tank and dirty water tank are great. The are easy to get on and off. Would most definitely recommend this machine to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nicosia
Ft. Myers Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What a workhorse. what a value
11/3/2012

Customer review by RevenBVH

5.0 stars 11/3/2012 by RevenBVH
by RevenBVH

Truthfully my expectations weren't that high for a machine of this price. I was pleasantly surprised. Its a workhorse. not heavy, easy to use. My carpet looks great.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RevenBVH
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Great steam vac for pet stains!
10/6/2012

Customer review by dbled1978

4.0 stars 10/6/2012 by dbled1978
by dbled1978

I had rented commercial shampooers to remove pet stains from the carpet on my stair landing but they were unable to completely remove the stain. I was literally about to replace the carpet but I thought I would give it one last try. I sprayed a pre-treater on the stain first then went over the stain several times (until the water was coming up clear) and the stain is totally removed now. I was so happy to get rid of the embarrassing stain! I am going to try it on my tiled kitchen floor and living room furniture next.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dbled1978
Sioux City, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great Product
9/16/2012

Customer review by gummibearsmom

4.0 stars 9/16/2012 by gummibearsmom
by gummibearsmom

I have only used it once, but I loved the results. It was easy to assemble. The only problem I ran into was with the dirty water tank. You must be sure it is installed correctly or it will not suck up any of the dirty water (I learned that the hard way). Overall good product, especially if you have a little one that likes to make a big mess. Oh, one last thing the cleaning solution doesn't have a loud smell so if you have a sensitive nose this is great.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gummibearsmom
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
9/13/2012

Customer review by freakielady

2.0 stars 9/13/2012 by freakielady
by freakielady

Very heavy, cleaner lever doesn't activate easily & doesn't clean the carpet at all!! Haven't tried it on the kitchen floor yet but carpet results don't leave me optimistic for the hard surface either

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
freakielady
Amanda, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
11/19/2012

Customer review by nicklendimed

3.0 stars 11/19/2012 by nicklendimed
by nicklendimed

Machine does a good job. Durability is quetionable. After the first 3 times I used it the brush mecanism froze up. I took it apart, (after warany expired) and found that the tUrbine drive shaft was rusted. The brush drive is operated by a turbine via the suction presure the vacume creates. Very good theory for other aplications but not when moisture is volved, unless you use stainless steel shaft and bearings. Dont expect this to last more that a year and a half if you use it alot. Ive had mine about a year and a half, took very good care of it. Rinsed it out and let it dry before storage.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nicklendimed
Bentonville, Ar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
11/11/2012

Customer review by phillybajanqueen

1.0 stars 11/11/2012 by phillybajanqueen
by phillybajanqueen

Product was deliveried used ,missing parts and no instuction manul. I retured it to the store store.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
phillybajanqueen
Phila. Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
10/6/2012

Customer review by Kono47

5.0 stars 10/6/2012 by Kono47
by Kono47

This carpet cleaner works very well. It is powerful, holds a large amount of water and cleans carpets like new. The only flaw is the lever to lock the unit upright when not using is very weak. Otherwise this product is extremely good and a great price. No need to buy the cleaners that claim to be for pets-this one does the job!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kono47
Granville, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
10/31/2012

Customer review by Stevie103

5.0 stars 10/31/2012 by Stevie103
by Stevie103

For the price this product is great. Cleaned a rug that had not been cleaned for over 7 years.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stevie103
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top of the line shampooer for a low-end price
11/15/2012

Customer review by caysensmom

5.0 stars 11/15/2012 by caysensmom
by caysensmom

I LOVE this shampooer! It took up stains that has been there forever. It removed dog accidents and baby messes! PERFECT

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
caysensmom
Leakesville, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Returning from 1st rating
2/23/2013

Customer review by Deewdogs

5.0 stars 2/23/2013 by Deewdogs
by Deewdogs

My Unit is working great now! I did what my manual/website recommended - poured a cup of water on my basement floor & it extracted it immediately. Steam cleaned my family room, 2 bedrooms, it's done a great job for the money! Make sure you empty the tanks after each use.

Deewdogs
So. MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
8/14/2013

Customer review by RitualCommunicator

4.0 stars 8/14/2013 by RitualCommunicator
by RitualCommunicator

Given how time consuming it is to use, I would probably resort to having professional cleaners next time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RitualCommunicator
Ft.Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
5/25/2013

Customer review by GraceL

4.0 stars 5/25/2013 by GraceL
by GraceL

My machine stopped dispensing cleaning solution. I tested suction by putting water on my kitchen floor and that is fine. I have checked for proper placement of recovery tank and cleaning solution tank. They are fine also. This machine has worked great since purchased in June of 2010. I am at a loss to fix this problem, any suggestions?

Comment from Customer Care - 5/30/2013

Hi GraceL, we have a good idea of what's going on. We're reaching out to you via e-mail so that we can collect more information on your SteamVac. We'll get it working for you again. Thanks so much!

GraceL
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Works just fine
1/8/2013

Customer review by Delta

4.0 stars 1/8/2013 by Delta
by Delta

The lever on the waste water tank broke.

Delta
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Purchased over a year ago (late 2011)
2/3/2013

Customer review by desdogs

3.0 stars 2/3/2013 by desdogs
by desdogs

Have not put this Hoover to heavy duty cleaning, until recently, really needed to clean carpets for my family room, I have dogs. During December 2012 I had difficulty w/the unit not picking up excess water. Viewing Hoover's video, I may not have aligned that tank correctly, so, I will do carpets again in the Spring of 2013, then affirm if it is was misalignment of the tank or if something is wrong with the unit. Originally, it worked great! Wish me luck!

Comment from - 2/3/2013

Desdogs: You're right, a tank installed incorrectly can cause that issue. Here are a few more tips when you clean this Spring to ensure it's working optimally: 1. Make sure not only the tank, but the dirty water tank filter is installed correctly. 2. Also check the dirty water tank door. You can double check their installation in your owner's manual or see videos here: http://hoover.com/products/details/f5835900/steamvac-carpet-washer/ . Good luck on your Spring cleaning!

desdogs
So. MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews