Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 264 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

264 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

264 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
119
4 stars
86
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 stars
34
1-20 of 181 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 181 total reviews
1-20 of 181 reviews
works great!!!
1/13/2013

Customer review by collegeguyosu

5.0 stars 1/13/2013 by collegeguyosu
by collegeguyosu

I was a little nervouse about which p;ayr to buy after reading reviews on It automaticallly installed and updated the apps such as netflixbupon linking it (very easily) with the wifi in my house. However, ntflix was choppy when i tried to stream something from my instant que. To fix this issue simply go to setting and click on softwae update. It will update itself automatically and fix the lags and jerks experienced when streaming.

Was this review helpful? (41) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
collegeguyosu
oklahoma city, ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Blu-Ray Player!
2/25/2013

Customer review by KomputerSpecialist

4.0 stars 2/25/2013 by KomputerSpecialist
by KomputerSpecialist
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Samsung BD EM57C Smart WiFi Blu-ray is a great device. Even though I purchased it as refurbished, all features and components are working in excellent condition. The only slight downside was that there wasn't a manual that come with the device. So, I had to download the manual from Samsung's website, it was no big deal because the manual wasn't that big to download. The remote did take a bit of time to figure out even with the manual handy. Be warned that you will need to be patient and read the manual and there is a slight learning curve on the correct way to use the remote. A lot of people don't take the time to read the manuals, thus complain about the remotes without bothering to read up on the proper remote usage. Setting up the Wi-Fi was painless and easy to do. The auto-tune of the remote along with my cable box's feature was fairly quick and easy to do. I did get a message from the device's menu that the software had to be updated, that was done painlessly and the menus seemed to function a bit better. I did have to re-do the Wi-Fi settings again as it seemed to lose the original settings. Overall, I gave this Blu-ray player a 4 stars out of 5 with the small issues of the missing manual and a learning curve with the remote.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KomputerSpecialist
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Walmart's refurbs great value
10/11/2012

Customer review by Burtvc

5.0 stars 10/11/2012 by Burtvc
by Burtvc

This is the third refurb I've ordered from Walmart. All have been exceptional values. I'll continue to recommend and shop Walmart refurbs.

Was this review helpful? (67) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Burtvc
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice player for the price.
8/23/2013

Customer review by mmmissme

4.0 stars 8/23/2013 by mmmissme
by mmmissme
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After reading some of the reviews (I usually start with the lowest first) I was a little hesitant to order this player. But I know Walmart has a great return policy and if I wasn't satisfied it would be no problem to take it back. When I got it I was very surprised at how light weight it is. That is usually not a sign of good quality. We hooked it up and set it all up, very easy. There is about 1 second of lag from when you press a button, but no biggie at all. We got this player to play Netflix. When we watched a movie it kept stopping and buffering constantly which made it impossible to enjoy. Called Netflix and it turned out that our internet was too slow. Increased the speed and had no problems since. As for watching blurays and dvds we have had no problems whatsoever. We use it for Pandora and YouTube as well. Overall, I'm very pleased with this little player, and if you have any problems take it back to Walmart. Also if you register it at Samsung.com you will get a 12 month warranty.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mmmissme
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy setup, easy to follow instructions.
4/2/2013

Customer review by jbmrs

5.0 stars 4/2/2013 by jbmrs
by jbmrs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have always been skeptical on purchasing refurbished products, but Samsung is a good product and i am pleased with this purchase, plus the price was great.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jbmrs
Kiester, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/30/2012

Customer review by chesskingster

5.0 stars 7/30/2012 by chesskingster
by chesskingster

This system is a steal, very easy to connect over WiFi, has all the latest and greatest features. The blu-ray player is incredible. Very happy with this

Was this review helpful? (73) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chesskingster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lots of great features
1/31/2013

Customer review by lDigir0ker

5.0 stars 1/31/2013 by lDigir0ker
by lDigir0ker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had another refurbished Samsung Blu-Ray player from Walmart, but my network changed and my home theater connections changed so this player with it's built in wi-fi and Digital coaxial audio port fit my needs perfectly - lots of apps to choose from, a Netflix button on the remote is really convenient and the USB port on the front is easier to access than those that have them on the back. My son is still enjoying the refurbished Samsung Blu-Ray player that I replaced, so from my perspective they're reliable and quite a good value.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lDigir0ker
Waterford, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great player w/nice 6' HDMI cable included.
4/8/2013

Customer review by RuttyB1

5.0 stars 4/8/2013 by RuttyB1
by RuttyB1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This player exceeded My expectations for the price; even for a refurb. Priced @ $68 it was $73 shipped to the front door. Nice 6' HDMI cable included, remote w/ batteries & the player. Player has slim & tight profile w/front USB port & bright green display w/tall characters. It's size is deceiving, this is a powerful Blue-Ray! Start-up & general operation is fast, also WI-FI enabled with a really cool & user-freindly interface. Plays & reads over a dozen disc & data formats; a great asset for folks utilizing digital copy & USB expansion drives to store & play misc. media. The Samsung store & apps are also impressive; the "All-share" especially which syncs wirelessly to other devices on Your network(ie. computers, smartphones, game consoles, etc.) & will play/display their files as well; fast, smartly, & wireless! I've got a Sony WI-FI Blue-Ray player bought @ Wal-Mart in Dacember 2011; it was twice the price & is half the product of this Samsung. Again, this player was refurb'd thru Samsung & sold thru Wal-Mart, on-line @ $68 plus shipping. I haven't checked retail pricing on this player but if it's under $150 brand new, it's a great deal for quality, functionality & the included HDMI cable. It was a steal @ $68 & has thus far performed beautifully. I am highly satisfied with the product & the purchase & will definitly look @ Wal-Mart re-furb's in the future. One note to Samsung on what would be a great improvement/addition to this player; an additional, rear USB port. I'm making due with a "Rock-Band" 4port hub on the front & having no troubles. To all parties concerned, & I don't say this often much less give 5 star reviews; Great Job & Thanks!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RuttyB1
College Station, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Choice
4/1/2013

Customer review by Nxtlvl

5.0 stars 4/1/2013 by Nxtlvl
by Nxtlvl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was kinda skeptical but the player works great. The Wifi was easy to connect, it took less than 10 minutes and it has been working so well. The wireless connections stays strong, the discs play well and the samsung apps have a good span of variety. Very happy with this choice.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nxtlvl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Grab it - it's a great deal !
9/6/2013

Customer review by Johnny2step

5.0 stars 9/6/2013 by Johnny2step
by Johnny2step
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I did my home work and for the most part always found too many bad reviews and problems on other similar players,however, this light weight unit came out to be a heavy weight in performance, playing DVD's and Blu-ray. Ad to that wi-fi ( from my rear room study to my living room) I have no problems. I press the Net Flix button and I get it from the remote. Those pros far out weigh the only con I have and that's with the remote ( and it's no big deal, really) the upper right corner has a little dedicated box for Samsung TV's which ONLY controls input, volume and TV off/on. I use my Dish remote for these features. So what can I say more, maybe that I ordered another unit from Walmart along with a 2-year warranty for $6.50. If anything goes wrong it goes back to Walmart and not to a factory outlet. Oh, it doesn't put your internet browser on your big screen. They have another model for that if that's what you want. My tablet and PC do that for me. This unit is for entertainment and the color from DVD's and Net Flix is fantastic.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Johnny2step
Medford, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Was hoping for more form Samsung.
1/20/2013

Customer review by lpcruisergal

2.0 stars 1/20/2013 by lpcruisergal
by lpcruisergal

I guess the price for this was too good to be true! (Bear in mind, I don't believe the problems I see in this product are due to it being a refurb.) This Blu-ray player is going back to the store tomorrow!!!! It is horrible slow, horribly LOUD, and doesn't have an Amazon app or access to one and the Flixster app would not work. (We have had it for 12 days.) And the remote is confusing to even look at, let alone use! It's going back and we"re looking for something better that DOES allow me to access Amazon Prime. *I will say that once it does play your movie through whichever format you choose, the picture quality is VERY good. Which is the only reason it got 2 stars from me instead of 1!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lpcruisergal
lake placid, ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's probably better with matching this with?
8/13/2013

Customer review by IamJohnnyappleseed

2.0 stars 8/13/2013 by IamJohnnyappleseed
by IamJohnnyappleseed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A SAMSUNG TV. It will not control another tv but a samsung and you are not told this fact until you have it home and hooked up in reading it's manual. Than I found that certain apps that I already have on different players that work fine this machine tells me I must involve my time to call customer service for help. Later for that! and returned it went. Would I recommend this item well 50/50 cause it is a factory refurbish at the price that is good maybe and for that person that has a fairly new Samsung tv may find a decent product marriage with the two units and if you are willing to risk a little disappointment if you don't mind returning it in that search if it works for you then you may not mind giving this unit a shot. I did not hate the unit not at all I think this unit was geared to match a Samsung tv while putting up with another Brand which means it worked with my tv just some functions are specific only to a Samsung television.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IamJohnnyappleseed
Dingmans Ferry PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value
2/7/2013

Customer review by TCHS

4.0 stars 2/7/2013 by TCHS
by TCHS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this wifi blu-ray player to watch streaming movies on line....works perfect.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TCHS
Metairie LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
NOT WAL-MARTS' FAULT
2/2/2013

Customer review by mitzigolf

1.0 stars 2/2/2013 by mitzigolf
by mitzigolf

I bought this same player from Best Buy...It is awful. I thought something was hooked up wrong so I called the tech support and after doing all the things he told me to do, he finally just got honest with me. The player is slow, the remote control has a 1 to 3 second delay and some buttons on remote will not work. It will never get better. I thanked him for his honesty and took it back to Best Buy and got a SONY.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mitzigolf
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Returning Bad Product :(
8/3/2013

Customer review by MsJacquiiC

1.0 stars 8/3/2013 by MsJacquiiC
by MsJacquiiC

I ordered this blu-ray player a couple days ago and got it this afternoon. Walmart.com shipped the item quite quickly, which I always am impressed with. I will, however, be returning it later tomorrow afternoon for a few reasons: 1. The player has colored static lines when first starting. 2. The player would freeze -- the remote becoming useless -- and you'd have to restart it. How annoying! 3. I had a horrible time trying to connect to my home network, even though the process should have taken a maximum of 5 minutes. 4. Once finally connected - Netflix would not boot and the player would become unresponsive. What a great price for a bad product. Such a shame. I will be returning it and exploring other options tomorrow afternoon. J.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsJacquiiC
Oak Ridge, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
If you're buying this for streaming, get a Roku.
9/4/2013

Customer review by dorothysfriend

3.0 stars 9/4/2013 by dorothysfriend
by dorothysfriend
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The video quality of this player seems good, although I haven't tried a blu-ray video yet. But the setup and execution of the so-called "Smart Hub" is tedious and cluttered. I was on the phone with Samsung tech support for quite awhile. It would not install the channels and I was only getting 3 out of 5 signal bars. Tech Support told me I needed to move the router closer (it was only 20 ft. away) and since this was impossible, I lugged my 32" TV and this player upstairs to get it closer. I never had a signal problem with my Roku, which I plan on going back to. It also freezes sometimes during navigation, and the player needs to be turned off, then on again, with the wireless network connection re-checked every time, I assume because of the weak signal receiver. Bottom line, if you're looking for a decent blu-ray player, go with one of these refurbs, as they are a great value. If you're looking to stream videos, get a Roku.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dorothysfriend
Cornish, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
As described
4/7/2013

Customer review by Smurph0220

5.0 stars 4/7/2013 by Smurph0220
by Smurph0220
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Best media player I think I've ever had. So far so good. Even being refurbished it works very well

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smurph0220
Greenville,SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Replaced four time!
8/6/2012

Customer review by customer0217

1.0 stars 8/6/2012 by customer0217
by customer0217

Horrible player! Does not play netflix and then one day decided to not play any movies either. It always would freeze up. You get your money's worth. It is horrible!

Was this review helpful? (25) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
customer0217
st.george utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The functionality is as cheap as the price
10/8/2012

Customer review by Adeel

1.0 stars 10/8/2012 by Adeel
by Adeel

Old model. Very poor wifi performance.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Adeel
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Slow, Freezes, Slow
10/21/2012

Customer review by dgp330

1.0 stars 10/21/2012 by dgp330
by dgp330

I thought by buying a refurbished one they would have fixed the bugs, I think they just passed it right on through without doing anything to it. This thing is so painfully slow. Its like dial-up on downers. Netflix does ok but YouTube freezes up and i have to unplug the unit and replug in to get it going again.

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dgp330
71291
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 181 total reviews
1-20 of 181 reviews