Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 74 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

74 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

5 stars
46
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
6
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 69 total reviews
Simply Boils Water! Great for Camping, Too!
10/9/2012

Customer review by Chuck893

5.0 stars by Chuck893

We have not been using this kettle long, but it is exactly as advertised. All it does is boil water, for tea, instant coffee, instant soup, instant ramen... We originally wanted it for our very small tent camper for when outdoor conditions are seriously foul enough that we don't want to go out to light the stove but are frantic for a cuppa coffee. So long as we have 110 volts in the camper we can boil water in perfect safety—no flame, no carbon monoxide. We now take it out of the trailer and keep it on the kitchen counter because it's so handy. The single best thing for me is the automatic shut off. I have totaled more stovetop teapots by forgetting and boiling them dry (I hate the sound of the whistles so I take them off). I've had other electric hot pots, forgot them, boiled them dry and ruined them. This one, used properly according to instructions, cannot be boiled dry. The water reaches a full rolling boil in minutes, then shuts off with an audible click. If you forget it there is no harm done. Being able to take it off the base makes it easy to fill, empty and clean. We haven't had it long enough to speak to durability, but I would expect it to last for many years.

Was this review helpful? (51) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Chuck893
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Kettle
12/6/2012

Customer review by Croseamore2

5.0 stars by Croseamore2

I use it at the Dental Practice I work at. We keep it at the front desk and serve hot tea and cocoa with it. It never disappoints. Its easy to fill, heats up quickly and is easy to clean. The best feature is that it turns off on its own and the water stays hot for a long period of time.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Croseamore2
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/25/2012

Customer review by Archedemus

5.0 stars by Archedemus

This is everything I was looking for in an economical electric kettle. However, I do wish they would say what kind of plastic it was made of. Does it have BPA or any other harmful chemicals in it?

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Archedemus
Central NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Go back to the basics
11/5/2013

Customer review by Bellevuemama

4.0 stars by Bellevuemama

I bought this $12 kettle after returning the one (w/problems), nearly 4 times the cost, to Amazon. I came to find out that very few kettles on the market, no matter what the cost, are without issues. Some of the reviews on the expensive kettles I read are down right scary. I called the Rival manufacturer about BPA since there is nothing mentioned on the outside of the box nor in the owner's manual. It's confirmed that this kettle is BPA free. It's too soon for me to rate this product but the value is good and its basic appearance does not bother me. I am still in the process of cleaning the inside of the kettle by boiling the water a few times. It took 10 minutes to boil 1.5 liter of water during my first try. It may be a long time to those who are in a hurry, but to those who can wait it's a secondary issue. Most important of all I hope it will hold up for several years like the one I bought 7 years ago from a drug store for $10.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Bellevuemama
Bellevue, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Plastic water taste
3/21/2013

Customer review by Delray123

1.0 stars by Delray123

I bought this because it was white and it was slimmer than the other models. Price was very attractive and you can not get any cheaper but I am returning it as the quality is simply not there: 1) regardless of cleaning and boilling water for several times the water has a plastic smell/taste. I did not see a disclaimer where it is a BPA-free products. 2) The smallest amount of water you can boil is .75 litters else the automatic switch did not work. In several test the water keeps boiling without switching off. 3) I did not realize the coils are exposed and eventually will rust much faster 4) Lid is cumbersome to open. 5) the base is not heavy enough and it lifts up when you lift the kettle - most of the times you need two hands. Back to square one looking for a quality small white or stainless steel cordless Kettle

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Delray123
Florida, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great electric kettle
1/15/2013

Customer review by TinRadio

4.0 stars by TinRadio

For thirteen dollars you really can't beat the features of this kettle. The cordless base is convenient to pour and wash without having a cord trailing behind. I tested the boil shutoff feature, it didn't work the first time but did afterwards. heats water quick and boils in in about 10 minutes. My only complaints with the unit is the base needs one or two more rubberized feet so it doesn't slide and the exposed heating element makes drying and wiping the bottom a small chore; but nothing too bad. also the fact the element isn't built into the bottom means you have to pour a little extra water to meet the minimum water level which in some situations if the water gets cold and you need to reheat, you need to pour more in to cover the element.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TinRadio
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Yes I would Reccommend BUUUUUTTTTT
12/29/2012

Customer review by CadensMommee

3.0 stars by CadensMommee

It boils fast and that is great when I have so much to do in the morning and just need that cuppa tea before I leave for work, but Had for less than a month and going for a replacement, it timer is not staying on and it turns off about every other time I use. The only way to keep on when it does this is to push down on top where handle is. When you pick it up to pour you can hear a bellish type sound so I am assuming that something is loose. I got this just before christmas as my ge stainless steel went off to ge heaven, and I like my tea on cold mornings and nights. Luckily it is a walmart product so no need to worry about looking for receipt because they will replace just might keep the box to return to the manufacturer. I definently love it and I think I only paid $14.99 compared to my last which I paid well over $50 for to only last a year. Today I will be braving Wal Mart after christmas return lines to exchange...

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CadensMommee
Santee, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
JUST WHAT A WAS LOOKING FOR...PERFECT!!
7/9/2014

Customer review by LINDY11757

5.0 stars by LINDY11757

I was looking for something that my kids could use to boil water to make instant soup and hot chocolate without using the stove or microwave. This kettle is definitely it. You fill it with water, wait for it to boil and the best part is that it automatically shuts itself off so you don't have to worry about turning it off if you forget. The water gets as hot as if boiled on the stove or if you put in the microwave which was surprising. With the see through water indicator, you can actually see the water boil. Another tip...order it on line and pick it up in the store because it is actually a few bucks cheaper than if you buy it off the shelf in the store!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LINDY11757
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fast and Efficient
9/20/2014

Customer review by Toota95

5.0 stars by Toota95

I purchased this kettle over a year ago for daily use when I condensed down to a one room rental. It was not only used to heat water for tea, coffee and ramen but for washing up too. Given all the uses for it, heating water multiple times daily, it outlived my expectations. Just recently, I began to notice connectivity problems where the kettle connects at the base. The 'On' light would blink off or if it did work, the auto shutoff didn't always work. I took it apart and cleaned the connections, but to no avail. It didn't last as long as I'd hoped for, but I liked it enough (and the price) to order another.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Toota95
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Kettle!
12/5/2012

Customer review by frances23

5.0 stars by frances23

Great, dependable. Would buy again!! Heats water very quickly.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
frances23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Auto shut-off does not work
12/14/2012

Customer review by Scandia

3.0 stars by Scandia

Works fine but does not shut off, even when water has been boiling furiously for more than 2 minutes. I would not leave it unattended. Other than that, it works great and is a good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Scandia
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works fine but they all have a tatal flaw
12/7/2013

Customer review by puhleeez

3.0 stars by puhleeez

These pots are great, but there is a part of the electronics that always gives out. None-the-less you get more than your money's worth of service. We buy 2 at a time. I have not found that the same type item at 4 times the price lasts any longer, so I stick with these little guys; we use two of them daily, probably 10-20 times a day.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
puhleeez
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/14/2012

Customer review by ksmom12

1.0 stars by ksmom12

Product stopped working after 3 uses and also fused my outlet. It is the worst electric kettle I have ever used

Was this review helpful? (8) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ksmom12
kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Better Than Expected
9/15/2014

Customer review by CocoaFLA

5.0 stars by CocoaFLA

After taking several weeks to find a countertop water heater, I found the risk was low on this sub $10 unit. Now that I've used it for several weeks, I can say that I'm very happy with it and I use it a minimum of 3 times a day. For a full pot, it will boil in 6-7 minutes and shuts off within 10 seconds of boiling. It feels secure and places on the base nicely. I did not expect it to be this good of a unit with such a low price. I'm very happy with this choice.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CocoaFLA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy for the money.
12/5/2013

Customer review by Jenyth

4.0 stars by Jenyth

Use for hot chocolate and mulling apple cider.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jenyth
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
i use everyday
9/23/2014

Customer review by karollima

4.0 stars by karollima

Good product. Do the job.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
karollima
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Leaked after a week
12/15/2013

Customer review by TRSHACK

2.0 stars by TRSHACK

We just bought it and now have to return it. It heats water exceptionally fast. Loved everything about it other then it started leaking out the bottom days after we purchased. Will be replacing with something else. Quality matters to us.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TRSHACK
Van Wert Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/8/2013

Customer review by FLWAN

5.0 stars by FLWAN

have had this for about a year with no problems - had a stainless steel one before and returned 3 as it kept rusting (wonder how stainless it was?) - this has worked perfectly and my family has been using it and they like it as well -one of the best purchases I ever made - bought it in Colorado and moved it home

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
FLWAN
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Kettle for who need boil hot water fast!!
7/21/2013

Customer review by PJOROSZ

5.0 stars by PJOROSZ

Great for the low Price. Hold a lot of water a boil water fast than the Microwave!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PJOROSZ
Cleveland,Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent for that hot beverage anytime.
7/28/2013

Customer review by MistyWB

5.0 stars by MistyWB

Coffee, tea, soup, it's perfect for anytime. It has the water hot before you know it. Love the automatic shutoff.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MistyWB
Haughton , LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 69 total reviews