Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 76 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

76 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

76 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
7
1-20 of 71 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews
Go back to the basics
11/5/2013

Customer review by Bellevuemama

4.0 stars 11/5/2013 by Bellevuemama
by Bellevuemama

I bought this $12 kettle after returning the one (w/problems), nearly 4 times the cost, to Amazon. I came to find out that very few kettles on the market, no matter what the cost, are without issues. Some of the reviews on the expensive kettles I read are down right scary. I called the Rival manufacturer about BPA since there is nothing mentioned on the outside of the box nor in the owner's manual. It's confirmed that this kettle is BPA free. It's too soon for me to rate this product but the value is good and its basic appearance does not bother me. I am still in the process of cleaning the inside of the kettle by boiling the water a few times. It took 10 minutes to boil 1.5 liter of water during my first try. It may be a long time to those who are in a hurry, but to those who can wait it's a secondary issue. Most important of all I hope it will hold up for several years like the one I bought 7 years ago from a drug store for $10.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bellevuemama
Bellevue, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Yes I would Reccommend BUUUUUTTTTT
12/29/2012

Customer review by CadensMommee

3.0 stars 12/29/2012 by CadensMommee
by CadensMommee

It boils fast and that is great when I have so much to do in the morning and just need that cuppa tea before I leave for work, but Had for less than a month and going for a replacement, it timer is not staying on and it turns off about every other time I use. The only way to keep on when it does this is to push down on top where handle is. When you pick it up to pour you can hear a bellish type sound so I am assuming that something is loose. I got this just before christmas as my ge stainless steel went off to ge heaven, and I like my tea on cold mornings and nights. Luckily it is a walmart product so no need to worry about looking for receipt because they will replace just might keep the box to return to the manufacturer. I definently love it and I think I only paid $14.99 compared to my last which I paid well over $50 for to only last a year. Today I will be braving Wal Mart after christmas return lines to exchange...

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CadensMommee
Santee, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Simply Boils Water! Great for Camping, Too!
10/9/2012

Customer review by Chuck893

5.0 stars 10/9/2012 by Chuck893
by Chuck893

We have not been using this kettle long, but it is exactly as advertised. All it does is boil water, for tea, instant coffee, instant soup, instant ramen... We originally wanted it for our very small tent camper for when outdoor conditions are seriously foul enough that we don't want to go out to light the stove but are frantic for a cuppa coffee. So long as we have 110 volts in the camper we can boil water in perfect safety—no flame, no carbon monoxide. We now take it out of the trailer and keep it on the kitchen counter because it's so handy. The single best thing for me is the automatic shut off. I have totaled more stovetop teapots by forgetting and boiling them dry (I hate the sound of the whistles so I take them off). I've had other electric hot pots, forgot them, boiled them dry and ruined them. This one, used properly according to instructions, cannot be boiled dry. The water reaches a full rolling boil in minutes, then shuts off with an audible click. If you forget it there is no harm done. Being able to take it off the base makes it easy to fill, empty and clean. We haven't had it long enough to speak to durability, but I would expect it to last for many years.

Was this review helpful? (54) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chuck893
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great electric kettle
1/15/2013

Customer review by TinRadio

4.0 stars 1/15/2013 by TinRadio
by TinRadio

For thirteen dollars you really can't beat the features of this kettle. The cordless base is convenient to pour and wash without having a cord trailing behind. I tested the boil shutoff feature, it didn't work the first time but did afterwards. heats water quick and boils in in about 10 minutes. My only complaints with the unit is the base needs one or two more rubberized feet so it doesn't slide and the exposed heating element makes drying and wiping the bottom a small chore; but nothing too bad. also the fact the element isn't built into the bottom means you have to pour a little extra water to meet the minimum water level which in some situations if the water gets cold and you need to reheat, you need to pour more in to cover the element.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TinRadio
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Kettle
12/6/2012

Customer review by Croseamore2

5.0 stars 12/6/2012 by Croseamore2
by Croseamore2

I use it at the Dental Practice I work at. We keep it at the front desk and serve hot tea and cocoa with it. It never disappoints. Its easy to fill, heats up quickly and is easy to clean. The best feature is that it turns off on its own and the water stays hot for a long period of time.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Croseamore2
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Plastic water taste
3/21/2013

Customer review by Delray123

1.0 stars 3/21/2013 by Delray123
by Delray123

I bought this because it was white and it was slimmer than the other models. Price was very attractive and you can not get any cheaper but I am returning it as the quality is simply not there: 1) regardless of cleaning and boilling water for several times the water has a plastic smell/taste. I did not see a disclaimer where it is a BPA-free products. 2) The smallest amount of water you can boil is .75 litters else the automatic switch did not work. In several test the water keeps boiling without switching off. 3) I did not realize the coils are exposed and eventually will rust much faster 4) Lid is cumbersome to open. 5) the base is not heavy enough and it lifts up when you lift the kettle - most of the times you need two hands. Back to square one looking for a quality small white or stainless steel cordless Kettle

Was this review helpful? (26) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Delray123
Florida, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
JUST WHAT A WAS LOOKING FOR...PERFECT!!
7/9/2014

Customer review by LINDY11757

5.0 stars 7/9/2014 by LINDY11757
by LINDY11757
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was looking for something that my kids could use to boil water to make instant soup and hot chocolate without using the stove or microwave. This kettle is definitely it. You fill it with water, wait for it to boil and the best part is that it automatically shuts itself off so you don't have to worry about turning it off if you forget. The water gets as hot as if boiled on the stove or if you put in the microwave which was surprising. With the see through water indicator, you can actually see the water boil. Another tip...order it on line and pick it up in the store because it is actually a few bucks cheaper than if you buy it off the shelf in the store!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LINDY11757
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/25/2012

Customer review by Archedemus

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by Archedemus
by Archedemus

This is everything I was looking for in an economical electric kettle. However, I do wish they would say what kind of plastic it was made of. Does it have BPA or any other harmful chemicals in it?

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Archedemus
Central NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Problem
3/28/2016

Customer review by chldkr

1.0 stars 3/28/2016 by chldkr
by chldkr

On 31, Jan, 2016, I bought an electric kettle (MK-17P13B2, RIVAL, Wal-Mart Stores, Inc) in a Walmart store (6051 University town center, Morgantown, WV, 26501). Today early morning, I drank in order of water, milk, and then milk coffee with a same cup like any day. After about 3 hours, I was cold, so I wanted to drink hot water. So, I boiled water with the same electric kettle. While pouring the water into the cup, I surprised. The water color was whitish. I drank the water as a milk coffee every morning for almost 2 month. So, I could catch with the problem color. So, I went to Walmart with the water and returned a kettle. At the same time, I collected the water into a bottle with a staff, and we can show that a lot of particles (white color) sank on the bottom (You can show picture). Then, I waited a manager to know the reason, but manager was not. So, I again purchased the kettle and came back my house. I’m a nanotoxicologist. So, I can guess that how can this particles move in my body. My stomach was almost empty, so absorbance rate was very high. These particles penetrated my red blood and accumulated in the spleen. My immune system might be damaged, the accumulated particles may induce chronic immune response. I did human experiment by myself. It’s terrible. I will analyze the component and perform the animal experiment.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chldkr
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent Kettle!
12/5/2012

Customer review by frances23

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by frances23
by frances23

Great, dependable. Would buy again!! Heats water very quickly.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
frances23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fast and Efficient
9/20/2014

Customer review by Toota95

5.0 stars 9/20/2014 by Toota95
by Toota95

I purchased this kettle over a year ago for daily use when I condensed down to a one room rental. It was not only used to heat water for tea, coffee and ramen but for washing up too. Given all the uses for it, heating water multiple times daily, it outlived my expectations. Just recently, I began to notice connectivity problems where the kettle connects at the base. The 'On' light would blink off or if it did work, the auto shutoff didn't always work. I took it apart and cleaned the connections, but to no avail. It didn't last as long as I'd hoped for, but I liked it enough (and the price) to order another.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Toota95
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works fine but they all have a tatal flaw
12/7/2013

Customer review by puhleeez

3.0 stars 12/7/2013 by puhleeez
by puhleeez
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These pots are great, but there is a part of the electronics that always gives out. None-the-less you get more than your money's worth of service. We buy 2 at a time. I have not found that the same type item at 4 times the price lasts any longer, so I stick with these little guys; we use two of them daily, probably 10-20 times a day.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
puhleeez
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Auto shut-off does not work
12/14/2012

Customer review by Scandia

3.0 stars 12/14/2012 by Scandia
by Scandia

Works fine but does not shut off, even when water has been boiling furiously for more than 2 minutes. I would not leave it unattended. Other than that, it works great and is a good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Scandia
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better Than Expected
9/15/2014

Customer review by CocoaFLA

5.0 stars 9/15/2014 by CocoaFLA
by CocoaFLA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After taking several weeks to find a countertop water heater, I found the risk was low on this sub $10 unit. Now that I've used it for several weeks, I can say that I'm very happy with it and I use it a minimum of 3 times a day. For a full pot, it will boil in 6-7 minutes and shuts off within 10 seconds of boiling. It feels secure and places on the base nicely. I did not expect it to be this good of a unit with such a low price. I'm very happy with this choice.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CocoaFLA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
i use everyday
9/23/2014

Customer review by karollima

4.0 stars 9/23/2014 by karollima
by karollima
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good product. Do the job.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
karollima
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy for the money.
12/5/2013

Customer review by Jenyth

4.0 stars 12/5/2013 by Jenyth
by Jenyth
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Use for hot chocolate and mulling apple cider.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jenyth
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/14/2012

Customer review by ksmom12

1.0 stars 11/14/2012 by ksmom12
by ksmom12

Product stopped working after 3 uses and also fused my outlet. It is the worst electric kettle I have ever used

Was this review helpful? (8) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ksmom12
kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
6/8/2013

Customer review by FLWAN

5.0 stars 6/8/2013 by FLWAN
by FLWAN

have had this for about a year with no problems - had a stainless steel one before and returned 3 as it kept rusting (wonder how stainless it was?) - this has worked perfectly and my family has been using it and they like it as well -one of the best purchases I ever made - bought it in Colorado and moved it home

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FLWAN
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/29/2013

Customer review by vee1017

5.0 stars 8/29/2013 by vee1017
by vee1017
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Was a gift and recipient is very pleased. Base could be a bit heavier but concept is very good. I have an older model which I've had for years. The bottom of mine gets a little warm since it sits flat on the counter and has a removable plug so I like the new model so as to eliminate the heat on the bottom.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vee1017
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Leaked after a week
12/15/2013

Customer review by TRSHACK

2.0 stars 12/15/2013 by TRSHACK
by TRSHACK

We just bought it and now have to return it. It heats water exceptionally fast. Loved everything about it other then it started leaking out the bottom days after we purchased. Will be replacing with something else. Quality matters to us.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TRSHACK
Van Wert Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews