Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 47 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

47 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

47 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
19
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 44 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews
No More Smelly Behind!
2/10/2014

Customer review by darvos

5.0 stars 2/10/2014 by darvos
by darvos

My yellow lab was weaned on a name brand feed recommended by our vet. He has always had soft or loose stools, and my vet assured us this would change as he matured. As he matured we continued the same brand and he began to develop a bad smell from behind. My vet tested him for all kinds of worms and parasites; everything was negative. The loose stools continued and our vet had us add different products to his feed in order to "bulk" up his stool. Our vet felt a harder stool would naturally help secrete the smelly glands and thus clear up the problem. Nothing worked, if anything his stools became looser. After numerous painful (and expensive) gland excretions, my vet suggested surgery to remove the glands to get rid of the smell, but said he would probably be incontinent of stool the rest of his life. He was only a year old at the time, and there seemed no other option. Our sweet lab was stinking up the entire house and making everyone gag. After a conversation with a friend about her daughters food allergies, I thought I would look for a new food for my lab. While in Walmart getting dog toys I walked past Pure Balance Lamb & Brown Rice Dog Food. Within three days of this new food my labs stools were normal and formed for the first time in his life. His smelly behind cleared up within another week and that was over a year ago! He has been eating Pure Balance Lamb & Brown Rice Dog Food for over a year and he is a picture of health. No more painful gland excretions or costly life changing surgery! No more smelly behind! Oh, and we changed vets too! Love this dog food, it changed my dogs quality of life. Thank you Pure Balance.

Was this review helpful? (57) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
darvos
southgate, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
wish I would have bought it sooner
9/18/2015

Customer review by Lisa

5.0 stars 9/18/2015 by Lisa
by Lisa

I am so happy that I found this dog food. My dog has been having seizures for almost 4 years now and they had gotten more frequent and longer in length, as often as 2 weeks apart and over 10minutes. The vet ran tests a few times and told me it was most likely epilepsyepilepsy and suggested putting him on meds that would cost over $100 month. He also had issues with gas and throwing up his food that were becoming more frequent which is what prompted me to buy this food for him. He has been on this food for over a month and has not got sick once, no more gas issues, and he hasn't had any seizures. His coat is also gone from dry to silky smooth. I'm not sure if maybe all his issues could have been from a chemical or allergens in previous foods I've tried but I do know that he is doing fantastic on the pure balance for sensitive stomach lamb and rice food and I will be buying it from now on.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lisa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My poor dog
1/7/2016

Customer review by Onora

1.0 stars 1/7/2016 by Onora
by Onora

We switched my pure black lab to this dog food because it had good reviews and somebody recommend it. After some research we found out it was the same company as blue buffalo(what she was eating before). Within a few days she had bloody diarrhea we thought it was from getting into the trash and took her to the vet. After the second vet visit and she wasn't getting any better we switched to a different food. She hasnt had diarrhea sense.....Disappointed in this brand.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Onora
Would recommend to a friend? No
10/26/2012

Customer review by Dukedog1

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Dukedog1
by Dukedog1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My boxer mix developed a red rash, hair loss, severe itching along with a very bad smell. Vet determined a yeast infection due to food allergy. Pure Balance Lamb and Brown Rice has worked really well. Soft smooth hair has returned to his sides and stomach, no more scratching and now the stinky smell is gone. Also, I have noticed he is eating less food while maintaining a normal weight so this has to be more nutritious than some of the more filler based (corn, wheat, soy, etc.) foods on the market that I was previously using. I highly recommend this product and will continue to purchase it.

Was this review helpful? (57) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dukedog1
Lyles, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Okay
1/20/2016

Customer review by Magentax

3.0 stars 1/20/2016 by Magentax
by Magentax

We have two dogs, and both are schnauzer mixes. They both like the taste of it, but one of them has vomited several times per day ever since we switched to this dog food. Since only one of them is reacting this way, it's hard to say what the problem is, except that perhaps it's just an allergy or intolerance. So, we are switching back to the dog food we had before (Taste of the Wild).

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Magentax
Would recommend to a friend? No
Dogs like,
1/26/2016

Customer review by Hillsidepuppies

4.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Hillsidepuppies
by Hillsidepuppies

Dogs like it, they are healthy

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hillsidepuppies
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dogs like it.
1/9/2016

Customer review by JoeR

4.0 stars 1/9/2016 by JoeR
by JoeR

Dogs like it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
new Pure Balance dog food (walmart ole roy series)
9/13/2012

Customer review by trailrider731

4.0 stars 9/13/2012 by trailrider731
by trailrider731

WELL, the dogs seem to like it. Price could be better, mixed reviews all over the net but reccommended by many. I would like to see it say in BIG letters MADE IN USA and the city. I really had to hunt to find anything about origin. I've stayed away from Ole Roy in the past but this one does seem to out do some of the other "name" brand dog foods. I do have TWO large dogs so I would like to see a larger bag sold at my local store. I suppose having to buy smaller bags will lure me in more often? Dunno, jury is still out. I hesitate to buy a dog food also that is only availble in certain stores. Blessings to all our barking friends from Central SOUTHERN USA

Was this review helpful? (33) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trailrider731
Land Mass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
worth the money
10/26/2012

Customer review by RadPack

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by RadPack
by RadPack
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

my 4 mastiff's love it also 1st food to clear up 1 of my dogs face no more pimples very happy

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RadPack
Centre AL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great non-grain dog feed
3/21/2014

Customer review by vtskier

5.0 stars 3/21/2014 by vtskier
by vtskier
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Since I switched to the Pure Balance my black lab hasn't skipped a meal and his ears are cleaner and his coat is shinier. I love it and so happy with the change and having it shipped right to my door can't be beat!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vtskier
vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/15/2013

Customer review by snookernhalo

5.0 stars 3/15/2013 by snookernhalo
by snookernhalo

I am very suprised with this food as it's ol roy. I decided to try this and my 3 boston terriers love it. They have bright shiny coats and full of energy. Solid firm stools and less of it plus this food keeps them full so they eat way less of it. I also mix this with the canned pure balance every day and my pups are gaining weight which is really good considering they was so skinny and couldn't gain weight with other foods.

Was this review helpful? (23) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snookernhalo
Herrick illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A GREAT dog food for a Great dog! Mine!
3/3/2014

Customer review by PagoPago

5.0 stars 3/3/2014 by PagoPago
by PagoPago
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

From the "other" dog food, my dog was extremely gassy. She had itchy skin, and always seemed hungry even after being fed. After a couple of days on PURE BALANCE / Lamb and Brown Rice, her gas problems vanished. As the days go by, her scratching has almost totally stopped. I'd give it at least 3 thumbs up if I had another thumb!

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PagoPago
Perris, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I'd recommend it to my best friends
11/22/2015

Customer review by TimoL14

5.0 stars 11/22/2015 by TimoL14
by TimoL14

Before we started using the Pure Balance Brand (Lamb for this review but my dogs have loved multiple flavors since we started using it) one of my dogs refused to eat more than a few bites of anything we put in front of her. We really went through pretty much all of Walmart looking for something she'd tolerate that wasn't too pricey but had good ingredients. She loved the wet foods but we can't afford to have her on that full time especially since our other dog would then demand it. Luckily the Pure Balance brand was the perfect match for her. The minute she had a little she just fell in love with it. We often catch her sneaking the end of her dinner in the middle of the night (she's still slow to start usually but at least she finishes it). Also when we do heart worm we often use liverwurst to trick her into eating it since she's so picky and she devours all of her bowl once she finishes that piece because once the taste starts she just can't stop. Our dogs both manage to pass movements without any issues as well when on this (a bit TMI but I figure what else can I say about the product I don't know how it tastes nor do I have any inclination to find out). Product works, high protein content with the first ingredient being meat, my dogs love it, and it's easy to buy in bulk from Walmart. It's a success -- I'd recommend it to my friends... my two best friends.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TimoL14
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DOGS LOVE IT!
2/17/2014

Customer review by BRinFl

5.0 stars 2/17/2014 by BRinFl
by BRinFl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

They love it too much! I really have to pay attention to who eats what. I am measuring it and trying hard to follow guidelines. I own five large dogs. Its a tad costly for me. But, it seems to be doing what I was hoping for. No more itching and costing me money at the vet's for a shot for allergies...Figured it would be worth paying more to save $$ down the road in vet bills. Coats seem to be getting more shinny also. BUT they gobble the food like it's steak! I did have one shepherd to have upset stomach with the lamb and rice? She could have just been not feeling good. I will probably just stick to the Chicken with the Brown Rice...only because of $$...it is lower in cost. So far so good.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BRinFl
Fla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good dog food for the price
3/31/2014

Customer review by JSpaulding

4.0 stars 3/31/2014 by JSpaulding
by JSpaulding
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Seems to be working for my dog's skin problems & my dog loves the taste. He told me! LOL.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JSpaulding
Whitehall, MT.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My dogs eat it all gone!
11/14/2015

Customer review by Tamsta

5.0 stars 11/14/2015 by Tamsta
by Tamsta

My dogs both have food allergies and can eat this food woth no problem!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tamsta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A+++
10/21/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/21/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Onpy dog food my dogs eat. First ingredient is meat. An amazing product for a decent price!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great ingredients...just my dog wouldn't eat it!
10/10/2012

Customer review by momackley

3.0 stars 10/10/2012 by momackley
by momackley

I was disappointed my dog would not eat this food. He would wait until he was absolutely starving before he would eat it. My dog tends to have a sensitive stomach so I thought I would switch him to the lamb...he will eat the PB chicken and rice though, although still with not great gusto but way better than with the lamb.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momackley
Easton PA.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
So far so good
10/11/2015

Customer review by Maureen

4.0 stars 10/11/2015 by Maureen
by Maureen

Just change to this food. Dogs seem to liked it

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maureen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No more stinky gas!!!
9/16/2015

Customer review by Peedee

5.0 stars 9/16/2015 by Peedee
by Peedee

We rescued a Doberman back in January & fed him several dog foods to find one that did not give him stinky gas before finding Pure Balance Lamb & Brown Rice. Since he sleeps next to my side of the bed, this formula has been a life saver! He loves it & doesn't seem to eat as much of it as other foods. He's healthy & active with a gorgeous shiny coat. Though a bit pricey, it is worth every penny to keep Zeus happy, healthy & handsome!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Peedee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews