Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 57 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

57 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

57 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
19
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 54 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews
No More Smelly Behind!
2/10/2014

Customer review by darvos

5.0 stars 2/10/2014 by darvos
by darvos

My yellow lab was weaned on a name brand feed recommended by our vet. He has always had soft or loose stools, and my vet assured us this would change as he matured. As he matured we continued the same brand and he began to develop a bad smell from behind. My vet tested him for all kinds of worms and parasites; everything was negative. The loose stools continued and our vet had us add different products to his feed in order to "bulk" up his stool. Our vet felt a harder stool would naturally help secrete the smelly glands and thus clear up the problem. Nothing worked, if anything his stools became looser. After numerous painful (and expensive) gland excretions, my vet suggested surgery to remove the glands to get rid of the smell, but said he would probably be incontinent of stool the rest of his life. He was only a year old at the time, and there seemed no other option. Our sweet lab was stinking up the entire house and making everyone gag. After a conversation with a friend about her daughters food allergies, I thought I would look for a new food for my lab. While in Walmart getting dog toys I walked past Pure Balance Lamb & Brown Rice Dog Food. Within three days of this new food my labs stools were normal and formed for the first time in his life. His smelly behind cleared up within another week and that was over a year ago! He has been eating Pure Balance Lamb & Brown Rice Dog Food for over a year and he is a picture of health. No more painful gland excretions or costly life changing surgery! No more smelly behind! Oh, and we changed vets too! Love this dog food, it changed my dogs quality of life. Thank you Pure Balance.

Was this review helpful? (131) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
darvos
southgate, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great dog food
7/1/2016

Customer review by Angel

5.0 stars 7/1/2016 by Angel
by Angel

I've had my new dog Ace for about 2 weeks now and when I got him they gave me some food that the adoption place was feeding him he's a chihuahua and the pieces of food were huge and he would only eat maybe 6 pieces and I just brought this home and he ate the whole bowl so I hope he sticks to it I work for Walmart so I get a good discount on it so if he continues to eat it I will buy it

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Angel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
pure balance
4/12/2016

Customer review by missy

5.0 stars 4/12/2016 by missy
by missy

We have a 3 month old boxer and just adopted a one year old boxer. Our 4 month old boxer would eat andcstill act as if she was starving on whole earth farms from petco. The one year old boxer is very skinny and acts like shes starving all the time and they both would devour at least 6 bowls of water in one setting. Ever since we started them on pb lamb snd brown rice they eat slower and actually drink less water. The one year boxer is putting on weight. We are very pleased with pb.

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
missy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
wish I would have bought it sooner
9/18/2015

Customer review by Lisa

5.0 stars 9/18/2015 by Lisa
by Lisa

I am so happy that I found this dog food. My dog has been having seizures for almost 4 years now and they had gotten more frequent and longer in length, as often as 2 weeks apart and over 10minutes. The vet ran tests a few times and told me it was most likely epilepsyepilepsy and suggested putting him on meds that would cost over $100 month. He also had issues with gas and throwing up his food that were becoming more frequent which is what prompted me to buy this food for him. He has been on this food for over a month and has not got sick once, no more gas issues, and he hasn't had any seizures. His coat is also gone from dry to silky smooth. I'm not sure if maybe all his issues could have been from a chemical or allergens in previous foods I've tried but I do know that he is doing fantastic on the pure balance for sensitive stomach lamb and rice food and I will be buying it from now on.

Was this review helpful? (45) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lisa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Doesn't work for us
7/18/2016

Customer review by durdenfam

1.0 stars 7/18/2016 by durdenfam
by durdenfam

My black lab doesn't like this food. He barely eats half the bowl at mealtime. We're switching back to Purina One which he has eaten well for 7 years.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
durdenfam
Would recommend to a friend? No
Three dogs can't be wrong!
2/27/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/27/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have three dogs, different breeds, different sizes. And they are all different ages. They all eat Pure Balance. They're active, healthy, happy, and very appreciative of their Mommy. What else could you ask for?

Was this review helpful? (36) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Switching back
7/23/2016

Customer review by Darla

5.0 stars 7/23/2016 by Darla
by Darla

I was happy with Pure Balance but feeling a little guilty that I was not purchasing the very expensive (the "best") dog food at the localPet Food chain. I purchased a bag of the expensive "best" and my Yorkie has been sick ever since. I thought she had caught something until I went online today and discovered the expensive food I was purchasing was giving other dogs the same symptoms and killing some. I am switching back to Pure Balance today.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Darla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Dog food!
6/7/2016

Customer review by SGMempho

5.0 stars 6/7/2016 by SGMempho
by SGMempho
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Top Premium Dog Food that I have tried. our Dogs Love it!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SGMempho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for dogs w/sensitive skin &/or stomach
2/20/2016

Customer review by KARMAsPerson

5.0 stars 2/20/2016 by KARMAsPerson
by KARMAsPerson

We adopted our American Bulldog, Pit Bull mix @ 4 months of age. She's now 2. She was on a VERY expensive, high quality dog food you could only buy at feed-stores in my area. My pup didn't seem to like it, she had loose stools & would get little sores on her white chin. We gradually switched her to another high-quality, limited ingredient food for sensitive stomachs. This still left her skin itchy & her chin breaking out. We stuck with each food awhile hoping to see gradual improvement. We didn't. After much research, we decided to try Pure Balance since we do have a Walmart within 20 minutes, but no pet stores any closer than 40 minutes away. We started with the Pure Balance Salmon & Pea. We stuck with that awhile, but she didn't seem to like it. We would even heat water to put on the food to make a gravy & give it to her slightly warm. She'd eat it, but not enough. After several purchases of the salmon & pea, we knew her skin & stomach were doing ok, she just didn't care for it... So we tried the lamb & brown rice. Suddenly, we had a good eater w/ NO itchy skin, no sores on her chin and no stomach issues!! She eats twice a day & typically has 2 bowel movements a day. On the weekends, if my husband is in town, she sometimes manages to have a 3rd BM. I think that's just for him though because she only does it on nights he is home, lol. Our dog does NOT "drink excessively" as I've read some people mention. Although, I will add that in the evening, she does drink half (to 3/4) of the water in her dish. Since she barely drinks in the morning before I go to work & doesn't drink at all during the day, I don't find that excessive. She just chooses to do it all at once & there's nothing wrong w/ that. PB lamb & brown rice is not always available in the largest bag at the Walmart closest to us, but @ least we know we can always get it w/o paying an outrageous amount! We have a 2nd Walmart 40 minutes away in a different direction, in a more populated area. That Walmart always carries the big bags. Knowing that we have a back up store if we need a large bag, & can't get it locally, is a blessing because we're adopting another pup this week. She is currently on Puppy Chow but will be switched over to Pure Balance as well. Our 2 year old started on PB while still a pup herself. She's a perfect weight for her height & breed mixture. I still break her food into two meals a day & that works well for her. I would recommend this as a puppy food AND an adult food - especially for any dog with sensitive skin or a sensitive stomach. American & English Bulldogs are known for having skin issues. Our girl still reacts (an occasional chin sore in spring or summer) to something in the grass (we don't fertilize or put chemicals down), but at least she no longer has constant chin sores from her food!! This is worth trying not only if your dog has "issues" but if you want a quality food that is also made w/o any allergen triggers such as corn, wheat, etc. We are VERY HAPPY with Pure Balance!

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KARMAsPerson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/26/2012

Customer review by Dukedog1

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Dukedog1
by Dukedog1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My boxer mix developed a red rash, hair loss, severe itching along with a very bad smell. Vet determined a yeast infection due to food allergy. Pure Balance Lamb and Brown Rice has worked really well. Soft smooth hair has returned to his sides and stomach, no more scratching and now the stinky smell is gone. Also, I have noticed he is eating less food while maintaining a normal weight so this has to be more nutritious than some of the more filler based (corn, wheat, soy, etc.) foods on the market that I was previously using. I highly recommend this product and will continue to purchase it.

Was this review helpful? (90) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dukedog1
Lyles, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My dogs eat it all gone!
11/14/2015

Customer review by Tamsta

5.0 stars 11/14/2015 by Tamsta
by Tamsta

My dogs both have food allergies and can eat this food woth no problem!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tamsta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great non-grain dog feed
3/21/2014

Customer review by vtskier

5.0 stars 3/21/2014 by vtskier
by vtskier
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Since I switched to the Pure Balance my black lab hasn't skipped a meal and his ears are cleaner and his coat is shinier. I love it and so happy with the change and having it shipped right to my door can't be beat!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vtskier
vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
new Pure Balance dog food (walmart ole roy series)
9/13/2012

Customer review by trailrider731

4.0 stars 9/13/2012 by trailrider731
by trailrider731

WELL, the dogs seem to like it. Price could be better, mixed reviews all over the net but reccommended by many. I would like to see it say in BIG letters MADE IN USA and the city. I really had to hunt to find anything about origin. I've stayed away from Ole Roy in the past but this one does seem to out do some of the other "name" brand dog foods. I do have TWO large dogs so I would like to see a larger bag sold at my local store. I suppose having to buy smaller bags will lure me in more often? Dunno, jury is still out. I hesitate to buy a dog food also that is only availble in certain stores. Blessings to all our barking friends from Central SOUTHERN USA

Was this review helpful? (40) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trailrider731
Land Mass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great!
2/23/2016

Customer review by Cherrylee82

5.0 stars 2/23/2016 by Cherrylee82
by Cherrylee82

Good food at a good price! Thank you Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (15) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cherrylee82
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
worth the money
10/26/2012

Customer review by RadPack

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by RadPack
by RadPack
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

my 4 mastiff's love it also 1st food to clear up 1 of my dogs face no more pimples very happy

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RadPack
Centre AL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DOGS LOVE IT!
2/17/2014

Customer review by BRinFl

5.0 stars 2/17/2014 by BRinFl
by BRinFl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

They love it too much! I really have to pay attention to who eats what. I am measuring it and trying hard to follow guidelines. I own five large dogs. Its a tad costly for me. But, it seems to be doing what I was hoping for. No more itching and costing me money at the vet's for a shot for allergies...Figured it would be worth paying more to save $$ down the road in vet bills. Coats seem to be getting more shinny also. BUT they gobble the food like it's steak! I did have one shepherd to have upset stomach with the lamb and rice? She could have just been not feeling good. I will probably just stick to the Chicken with the Brown Rice...only because of $$...it is lower in cost. So far so good.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BRinFl
Fla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pure Balance dog food
3/18/2016

Customer review by Adam16651

5.0 stars 3/18/2016 by Adam16651
by Adam16651

This variety of Pure Balance dog food seems to be exactly what my dogs need. It keeps them healthy and active. Other customers must agree because this size in this variety is almost never available in store it's always sold out. Glad I can get it online.

Was this review helpful? (7) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Adam16651
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/15/2013

Customer review by snookernhalo

5.0 stars 3/15/2013 by snookernhalo
by snookernhalo

I am very suprised with this food as it's ol roy. I decided to try this and my 3 boston terriers love it. They have bright shiny coats and full of energy. Solid firm stools and less of it plus this food keeps them full so they eat way less of it. I also mix this with the canned pure balance every day and my pups are gaining weight which is really good considering they was so skinny and couldn't gain weight with other foods.

Was this review helpful? (34) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snookernhalo
Herrick illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A GREAT dog food for a Great dog! Mine!
3/3/2014

Customer review by PagoPago

5.0 stars 3/3/2014 by PagoPago
by PagoPago
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

From the "other" dog food, my dog was extremely gassy. She had itchy skin, and always seemed hungry even after being fed. After a couple of days on PURE BALANCE / Lamb and Brown Rice, her gas problems vanished. As the days go by, her scratching has almost totally stopped. I'd give it at least 3 thumbs up if I had another thumb!

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PagoPago
Perris, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pure Balance Dog, Lamb & Brown Rice
4/1/2016

Customer review by AngelB

5.0 stars 4/1/2016 by AngelB
by AngelB

Simply THE BEST dog food on the world. I have been feeding my Great Pyrenees with this food Since he was a baby, he will be 2 years old in 23 days and he is the most beautiful, healthy and active dog ever. Thanks to Pure Balance.

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AngelB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews