Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 83 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

83 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

83 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
58
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
2
1-20 of 82 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 82 total reviews
1-20 of 82 reviews
Exceptional product
10/20/2014

Customer review by Zuni2

5.0 stars 10/20/2014 by Zuni2
by Zuni2

My 3 very picky eaters refused to eat 99% of commercial products. They love this one. The canned versions are like a super treat for them. One has developed his old darker color. All are perkier. I still have to supplement with magnesium in their drinking water to avoid seizures.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zuni2
NW Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Seems to be a great premium food for the price.
9/26/2012

Customer review by 700fbd

5.0 stars 9/26/2012 by 700fbd
by 700fbd

I went to two stores and found they were not carrying this product and then ordered a small bag to try, on-line, for in store pickup. The delivery was quick and the pickup was easy. My dog previously would not touch a premium food and I tried them all. She has been on a "semi"premium" food for years. I mixed in the Pure Balance Chicken & Brown Rice with her regular food and she picked out the regular food and spit it on the floor and ate the Pure Balance. The contents of the Pure Balance would indicate it has ingredients you would usually find in a premium dog food and the price is certainly a plus. I've been paying close to $50.00 for a 37 lb. bag of her regular food. Some of the comments I've seen on the web relate to the manufacturer, 'Ol Roy, as being suspect. In the past, I would not purchase an 'Ol Roy product because, based on content, I felt it was a cheap substandard dog food. Because of the content of the Pure Balance food, I have no problem using this product and my dog loves it.

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
700fbd
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
She Likes it... I Love it!
1/22/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/22/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

After getting my 4yr old Chow-Terrier mix from the Humane Society, and doing some research I decided to go RAW (organic and grain-free diet). This was the BEST choice I could've made! I read up on a few "grain free" kibble brands but nothing really seemed that good. I decided to try Pure Balance for the price AND for the ingredients. Like many other posters she is a picky eater, unlike our previous family dogs who would eat ANYTHING. She has no skin or allergy issues and the vet and groomer love how healthy her skin/coat is. Her stool went from liquidy and soft to very firm and sold. I've tried almost every flavor (except beef) of the dry, but have mixed every single wet flavor of this brand with her dry and she loves it! I also sometimes mix in other natural ingredients (half boiled egg, steamed sweet potato, canned pumpkin, etc) and they mix very well! If you want a healthy dog, but dont want to break your pockets I HIGHLY recommend this product! Your dog will love you for it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Finally A Great Dog Food by Old Roy!!
7/21/2013

Customer review by NanaYana

5.0 stars 7/21/2013 by NanaYana
by NanaYana

We had five dogs and I have tried all the dog foods that were cheap and had nothing but problems. Two of our beloved pets (a Great Pyrenees and a Sheltie/Shepard Mix) died of Cancer and I'm not taking anymore chances feeding them cheaper foods. Pure Balance healed our Chocolate Lab of all his dry skin and sores. He use to be covered in fleas and now they are gone too. His coat is now full and soft to the touch and shines. If you love your pet do them a favor and spend a little more. They eat less of the good foods and it helps them in so many ways compared to the cheaper foods. Pure Balance compare to most any of the higher priced name brands, but its been a life saver for our dogs so its all I will buy from now on. I tell everyone shopping the dog food aisle now about it and what its done for my pets. Happy pet owner and Wal Mart Shopper. I would like if it were a lower price and had coupons available, but no complaints otherwise.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NanaYana
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great food
2/21/2013

Customer review by kyms999

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by kyms999
by kyms999

I am so happy to have found this food. I was feeding our three dogs the Ol Roy' Healthy balance or something like that #it was a version of benful# and I thought the dogs really liked it, because they ate it all up. However they were starting to look very bad, coats not shiney, shedding alot from the lab/pit dog and then the lab/pit developed terrible diarrhea. It was so bad he began to have almost total liquid instead of a bowel movement. I quickly threw away the food and looked for a dry food without any corn or soy and found pure balance. I went to dogfood advisor.com and saw that it was a good product, as opposed to the ol roy food I was feeding him. I gave the lab/pit some probiotics, white rice and started him on this new pure balance food and within 2 days he is having normal bowel movements. On day 4 I notice less shedding and also all 3 days really enjoying this kibble. Thank you God for this food and my dogs all doing better. Now I really look at ingredients on the dog food. Please dont feed your dog the cheap ol roy food, it is so bad for their systems.

Was this review helpful? (31) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kyms999
Western MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Couldn't be happier with this product
1/25/2016

Customer review by Christina

5.0 stars 1/25/2016 by Christina
by Christina

The best decision me and my family ever made was to switch our dog to this food. He started getting fat, had sores on his body and face, itchy red skin. He just didn't seem happy. I began to suspect the dog food that he was eating which was a well known brand. I did a little research and settled on trying Pure Balance. Within a month he had lost the extra fat, sores on his body, and his skin was once again white and not red. I wouldn't have believed it if I hadn't seen it my self. In fact my family is so impressed we immediately changed our cat food as well to Pure Balance. Heaven help us if they ever get rid of it. Also be patient if switching it took my dog about a week to completely get used to this food because it is small and he was used to larger sized kibble. So pleased and well worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Christina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Price for a Good-Quality Dogfood
7/25/2016

Customer review by HAMMERHEEL68

5.0 stars 7/25/2016 by HAMMERHEEL68
by HAMMERHEEL68

My Dog is a Very Picky Eater, and he Likes it, which is Very unusual. I did research on this Brand before purchasing, so I was sold on the Quality. Very Pleased.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HAMMERHEEL68
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome
7/26/2016

Customer review by unhappyHPowner

5.0 stars 7/26/2016 by unhappyHPowner
by unhappyHPowner
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Walmart associate

Great duct. Dog loves it and great prices.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
unhappyHPowner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Walmart associate
Awesome
5/30/2016

Customer review by Guenny

5.0 stars 5/30/2016 by Guenny
by Guenny
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I buy this dog food all the time it has helped with my dogs allergys

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Guenny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good dog food for the price
10/16/2012

Customer review by Malteseland

4.0 stars 10/16/2012 by Malteseland
by Malteseland

We have 4 dogs and swithced to Pure Balance from Wellness recently. They like it and one of them is a picky eater. She is also very emotinal and doesn't eat much most of times or doesn't eat at all sometimes. But she likes this food and finish her bowl everytime now! I wanted to save money on dog food, but didn't want to feed them low quality food either, and I found out about this food. Wellness received a little better rating(half star) than Pure Balance from analysis but Pure Balance is good enough and much cheaper. And I shop at Walmart often, so I can grab a dog food while I'm there. I have saved some money and a trip to a pet store! Wish they have a puppy formula and canned, too.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Malteseland
Huntington Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
As Good As Petsmart Foods
8/14/2013

Customer review by sippi3

5.0 stars 8/14/2013 by sippi3
by sippi3

I started out with Blue Buffalo Call of the Wild puppy food for my German Shepherd because I wanted him to have the best food. It started to break the bank so I started looking at the foods Walmart had. Pure Balance is the ONLY dry dog food that Walmart sells that is free of corn, wheat and soy. My dog loves it!! I mix the wet food in on occasion and he thoroughly enjoys every bit!! I definitely recommend this food to everyone with a dog!!

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sippi3
MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent food! No need to look any further!
6/28/2015

Customer review by RescueMomma

5.0 stars 6/28/2015 by RescueMomma
by RescueMomma

I have 2 dogs, a 5lb Chihuahua and a 40lb Staffordshire Bull Terrier. They are both 3 years old and have their own "Special Needs" Now, my Chihuahua has never been a shake the bag and come running type of eater and is usually not too excited about dinner time. My Staffy is a bottomless pit with sensitive skin issues and is more high maintenance. I wanted to try and get a food that met both my girls' needs and had tried quite a few. I was told to go grain free and make sure no corn, wheat or soy was in the formula so that's what I did. I was getting Sam's club brand "Exceed" and then I tried Rachel Rays. I felt like I had to always add in ingredients to get my dogs to eat their dinner. I felt bad every time I put their bowl on the floor! I knew they didn't like it! Long story short, I have been feeding my babies this food for about a month now and OMG! What a difference! My girls love this stuff! I have never seen my Chihuahua get excited over dinner but she does now. Their stools are solid and healthy, Coat is beautiful and shiny and no gas!! I am so relieved I have officially found their food =)

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RescueMomma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Picky pup (dog) loves it
6/10/2016

Customer review by Janbo

4.0 stars 6/10/2016 by Janbo
by Janbo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My pup who is a super picky eater loves this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Janbo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/5/2013

Customer review by pjtank

4.0 stars 5/5/2013 by pjtank
by pjtank
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Use to buy Blue Buffalo for my dogs. 15 Lb bag was $30.00 and this has the same stuff and dogs love it also.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pjtank
indpls,in
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this food!
7/9/2016

Customer review by Mandy

5.0 stars 7/9/2016 by Mandy
by Mandy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Feeding my dogs healthy food can become expensive, but this brand gives me a more affordable alternative. Best part is my dogs absolutely love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mandy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great food
10/26/2012

Customer review by OKLAHOMAOUTLAW

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by OKLAHOMAOUTLAW
by OKLAHOMAOUTLAW
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

after doing research on another website I find out this food is ranked higher than Hills science diet dog food. If you needing to feed you dogs quality food better than junk food like some brand names this is your food for you dogs and mine has never got sick on this food compare to other brands.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OKLAHOMAOUTLAW
OKC,OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Need 15 lb. bag for SMALL BREED DOGS
6/19/2016

Customer review by Cindie

5.0 stars 6/19/2016 by Cindie
by Cindie

My 3 small breed dogs love the Pure Balance Food but I have to add water to soften if I buy the "adult" 15 lb. bag. I want the Pure Balance dog food for Small Breeds to come in a larger size than a 7 lb. bag. Many people own more than 1 small breed dog and we have to spend more money on the same dog food, that is larger in kibble size because we can only buy the smaller size bags, with small kibble size, for our small dogs. Help us out here Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cindie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
sensitive stomach ok
6/26/2016

Customer review by NJS1

5.0 stars 6/26/2016 by NJS1
by NJS1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My pup can't eat all the beef-heavy dog foods and does very well on this one

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NJS1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dogs like
6/23/2016

Customer review by maddashin

5.0 stars 6/23/2016 by maddashin
by maddashin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Dogs do well on it and I can have it delivers. I can t lift heavy bags so the smaller backs are not outrageously crazy more than the big bag per pound.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
maddashin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it
6/17/2016

Customer review by Steph84

5.0 stars 6/17/2016 by Steph84
by Steph84
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I did a lot of research trying to find a good healthy dog food that would not break our bank. This did the trick...could immediately tell a positive difference in our dogs weight, activity, and coats. Won't ever buy anything else..even switched our cat to this brand.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Steph84
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 82 total reviews
1-20 of 82 reviews