Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 40 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

40 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

40 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 39 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
As Good As Petsmart Foods
8/14/2013

Customer review by sippi3

5.0 stars 8/14/2013 by sippi3
by sippi3

I started out with Blue Buffalo Call of the Wild puppy food for my German Shepherd because I wanted him to have the best food. It started to break the bank so I started looking at the foods Walmart had. Pure Balance is the ONLY dry dog food that Walmart sells that is free of corn, wheat and soy. My dog loves it!! I mix the wet food in on occasion and he thoroughly enjoys every bit!! I definitely recommend this food to everyone with a dog!!

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sippi3
MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great food
10/26/2012

Customer review by OKLAHOMAOUTLAW

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by OKLAHOMAOUTLAW
by OKLAHOMAOUTLAW

after doing research on another website I find out this food is ranked higher than Hills science diet dog food. If you needing to feed you dogs quality food better than junk food like some brand names this is your food for you dogs and mine has never got sick on this food compare to other brands.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OKLAHOMAOUTLAW
OKC,OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Seems to be a great premium food for the price.
9/26/2012

Customer review by 700fbd

5.0 stars 9/26/2012 by 700fbd
by 700fbd

I went to two stores and found they were not carrying this product and then ordered a small bag to try, on-line, for in store pickup. The delivery was quick and the pickup was easy. My dog previously would not touch a premium food and I tried them all. She has been on a "semi"premium" food for years. I mixed in the Pure Balance Chicken & Brown Rice with her regular food and she picked out the regular food and spit it on the floor and ate the Pure Balance. The contents of the Pure Balance would indicate it has ingredients you would usually find in a premium dog food and the price is certainly a plus. I've been paying close to $50.00 for a 37 lb. bag of her regular food. Some of the comments I've seen on the web relate to the manufacturer, 'Ol Roy, as being suspect. In the past, I would not purchase an 'Ol Roy product because, based on content, I felt it was a cheap substandard dog food. Because of the content of the Pure Balance food, I have no problem using this product and my dog loves it.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
700fbd
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5/5/2013

Customer review by pjtank

4.0 stars 5/5/2013 by pjtank
by pjtank

Use to buy Blue Buffalo for my dogs. 15 Lb bag was $30.00 and this has the same stuff and dogs love it also.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pjtank
indpls,in
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good dog food for the price
10/16/2012

Customer review by Malteseland

4.0 stars 10/16/2012 by Malteseland
by Malteseland

We have 4 dogs and swithced to Pure Balance from Wellness recently. They like it and one of them is a picky eater. She is also very emotinal and doesn't eat much most of times or doesn't eat at all sometimes. But she likes this food and finish her bowl everytime now! I wanted to save money on dog food, but didn't want to feed them low quality food either, and I found out about this food. Wellness received a little better rating(half star) than Pure Balance from analysis but Pure Balance is good enough and much cheaper. And I shop at Walmart often, so I can grab a dog food while I'm there. I have saved some money and a trip to a pet store! Wish they have a puppy formula and canned, too.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Malteseland
Huntington Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great food
2/21/2013

Customer review by kyms999

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by kyms999
by kyms999

I am so happy to have found this food. I was feeding our three dogs the Ol Roy' Healthy balance or something like that #it was a version of benful# and I thought the dogs really liked it, because they ate it all up. However they were starting to look very bad, coats not shiney, shedding alot from the lab/pit dog and then the lab/pit developed terrible diarrhea. It was so bad he began to have almost total liquid instead of a bowel movement. I quickly threw away the food and looked for a dry food without any corn or soy and found pure balance. I went to dogfood advisor.com and saw that it was a good product, as opposed to the ol roy food I was feeding him. I gave the lab/pit some probiotics, white rice and started him on this new pure balance food and within 2 days he is having normal bowel movements. On day 4 I notice less shedding and also all 3 days really enjoying this kibble. Thank you God for this food and my dogs all doing better. Now I really look at ingredients on the dog food. Please dont feed your dog the cheap ol roy food, it is so bad for their systems.

Was this review helpful? (23) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kyms999
Western MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very good value...
12/17/2012

Customer review by surelyshopper

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by surelyshopper
by surelyshopper

This dog food has the same ingredients as much more expensive dog food. It's a great value and my dog likes it just as well as the super expensive stuff.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
surelyshopper
conroe, texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Finally A Great Dog Food by Old Roy!!
7/21/2013

Customer review by NanaYana

5.0 stars 7/21/2013 by NanaYana
by NanaYana

We had five dogs and I have tried all the dog foods that were cheap and had nothing but problems. Two of our beloved pets (a Great Pyrenees and a Sheltie/Shepard Mix) died of Cancer and I'm not taking anymore chances feeding them cheaper foods. Pure Balance healed our Chocolate Lab of all his dry skin and sores. He use to be covered in fleas and now they are gone too. His coat is now full and soft to the touch and shines. If you love your pet do them a favor and spend a little more. They eat less of the good foods and it helps them in so many ways compared to the cheaper foods. Pure Balance compare to most any of the higher priced name brands, but its been a life saver for our dogs so its all I will buy from now on. I tell everyone shopping the dog food aisle now about it and what its done for my pets. Happy pet owner and Wal Mart Shopper. I would like if it were a lower price and had coupons available, but no complaints otherwise.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NanaYana
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
affordable good alternative to pet store food
3/17/2013

Customer review by gr8tdanemom

5.0 stars 3/17/2013 by gr8tdanemom
by gr8tdanemom

Finally a dog food I can feel good about feeding to my dogs. I have a great dane and an unknown breed from the pound. They both love this food and seem happy at feeding times. I give plain dry in the morning with some chicken broth added, and add 1 can wet food with the dry at night. They go back and lick each others bowl to make sure it is all gone. My great dane had bumps under her chin and horrendous gas with other corn foods and those have all but disappeared. Her chin is smooth and shiny. She is a fawn color, and it is hard to see a shine on her hair, but she is slick and the other day, I saw a golden shine on her slickest hair. Something must be good in this food. My dane just had an operation for GDV (bloat/torsion) and this is the food I started her back on. I do not notice much gas, which I am thankful for, since it leads to the bloat, but hopefully no more torsion since she had the gastropexy. I put this dog food in water, to see how much it expanded. It didn't expand, it just got softer and would crumble when I squeezed it. So I don't think it is a food that will grow and expand in their stomach with water, like corn based foods. I can't afford the "best" food, but in my opinion, this is the best for me. I find it the best deal to get the 30 pound bag, but started off with the 15 pound bags at first. Pure Balance also makes canned dog food, but I cannot splurge on $1 per can right now. Since I feed 14 cans a week, in addition to the dry. I have tried it, and it is also good quality. I have just used the chicken and rice, and have not tried the lamb and rice. Because though I have heard lamb is for sensitive stomachs, I have always had the opposite when I tried lamb food in other brands. I will maybe try the lamb/rice dry in the 8 pound bag for starters one day. My two dogs eat about 12 cups a day of this dry food, between the two of them.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gr8tdanemom
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Seems To Be A Good Dog Food, dogs like it
11/17/2012

Customer review by mashacandyroo

4.0 stars 11/17/2012 by mashacandyroo
by mashacandyroo

I have tried lots of expensive brands of pet foods the last one made my one dog have blood in her stool, I read the reviews on pure balance and gave it a try. Every one of my 5 pets love the food, they pick out the pure balance and then eat the old regular food I'm changing from. I like that I can get it at walmart.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mashacandyroo
Pennsylvania,Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great food for dogs wit skin problems
3/22/2014

Customer review by Consique

5.0 stars 3/22/2014 by Consique
by Consique

My dog is allergic to wheat, soy, corn and chicken by products. Found this food was being offered in my Walmart store. It has no ingredients that he's allergic too, he likes it and the price is less that other brands with the same ingredients. Hurray for Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Consique
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best dog food!!!!!!
2/11/2014

Customer review by bigskiohio

5.0 stars 2/11/2014 by bigskiohio
by bigskiohio

Our dogs scratched constantly had sores one lost alot of hair. We went to vet they were no help they wanted to give a shot that lasted 2 weeks. finally tried pure balance can and the dry and the dogs love them and guess what ..... no more scratching skin is all cleared up and all hair is growing back and it is beautiful.. Thanx walmart for the great price. started buying the canned food too and they love it mixed together one can split among three dogs. Best dog food out there period.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigskiohio
n.w. ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
PB products makes Dogs Happy
10/5/2013

Customer review by ibboo72

5.0 stars 10/5/2013 by ibboo72
by ibboo72

I started my three spoiled babies on the Lamb and Brown Rice. I then purchased the Chicken and Brown Rice. They Love the lamb, and didn't want to try the Chicken. So I mix it in. The Lamb and Rice and Chicken and Rice, mixed in with the PB wet 95% chicken or beef wet food. They are always satisfied and want more. They are getting a bit chubby so I don't give them more right now! For the price I like the Chicken and brown Rice. I am hoping to just get the Chicken flavor in a 35ob bag next time, and give them lamb for a treat! :D Overall very satisfied with the product and the shiny gleam on the coat! No vomiting, No diarrhea, No complaints! I never used Ol' Roy in the past. But this is worth it! and Nothing at all like the ingredients in Ol' Roy foods for dogs.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ibboo72
Pittsburgh PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good quality dog food for a great price!
11/26/2012

Customer review by lillyj77

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by lillyj77
by lillyj77

First found this food on dogfoodadvisor.com, it was ranked surprisingly high for such an affordable dog food - most average grocery store brands (Ped/Pur) barely rank 1.5-2 stars, this ranks 3.5 among some much pricier brands found at specialty stores. Both of my dogs love it (an Aussie and a Lab). They've been on it for a couple of months now and their fur is noticeably softer, and they're both behaving like they're happy and feel great - can't ask for much more than that for a 7 and 12 year old! We mix it with Ol' Roy Healthy Mix moist food (in the tubs, not the cans) at night (also ranked highly by dogfoodadvisor.com), and they wolf it down every time! Definitely plan to keep them on this :)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lillyj77
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My dog loves it
11/27/2012

Customer review by MsJeseBear

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by MsJeseBear
by MsJeseBear

My pit has food allergies and she's a picky eater when it comes to dry food but she loves this stuff. Her coat looks great and she finally stopped itching! Best of all they deliver it right to my door!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsJeseBear
Myrtle Creek , Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/11/2013

Customer review by cbamil

5.0 stars 10/11/2013 by cbamil
by cbamil

After reading the good reviews about pure balance dog food on dog food advisor I decided to give this dog food a try it's been about a year now and I must say my 110 lb. shiloh shepherd and I are very satisfied with this dog food, she loves both pure balance dry and wet and her coat looks absolutely beautiful.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cbamil
illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
About a year of use
6/17/2013

Customer review by ToxicHolly

5.0 stars 6/17/2013 by ToxicHolly
by ToxicHolly

When I actually started reading what was in my dog's food, I realized we needed a change. My dog used to itch quit often, but I thought nothing of it... I just started adding some coconut oil to his food, thinking he had dry skin. Nope, after switching, he has stopped.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ToxicHolly
Jax Bch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great dog food on a budget
1/22/2014

Customer review by kaytrinigirl

5.0 stars 1/22/2014 by kaytrinigirl
by kaytrinigirl

I am so happy that I found this dog food. When I compared the ingredients to blue buffalo it stood up for half the price! My long haired Chihuahua loves this stuff. Thanks walmart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kaytrinigirl
Ft Washington, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My dogs seem to love it !
12/21/2012

Customer review by youdidwhat

4.0 stars 12/21/2012 by youdidwhat
by youdidwhat

Great for my dogs....they eat it !! I was tired of buying dog foods, just to find that my dogs would not touch it, they are so picky....but much to my surprise they really seem to enjoy their food now, and when my dogs are happy and healthy, I'm happy too !!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
youdidwhat
Winston, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bad Results
3/25/2014

Customer review by NurseAly

2.0 stars 3/25/2014 by NurseAly
by NurseAly

I was so excited about this food and finally got a chance to have my dog try it out. He's a pit bull mastiff. He got sick and had diarrhea and was scratching a lot. I thought I thought was just a reaction to switching to the new food, but then his diarrhea never cleared up and his itching got worst and he lost a lot of hair. :( The food seems really good for dogs and has healthy ingredients. Dogfoodadvisor.com labeled it a 3 1/2 star..which is really good because they don't give out good ratings like that too easily. If only this had worked out for my dog

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NurseAly
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews