Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 107 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

107 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

107 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
76
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 105 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 105 total reviews
1-20 of 105 reviews
Great dry dog food at the right price.
12/20/2012

Customer review by 700fbd

5.0 stars 12/20/2012 by 700fbd
by 700fbd

I did plenty of research on-line and found Pure Balance to contain much of the same ingredients of other "premium" dry dog foods. What sold me was that it contained no corn products. Other foods may list corn or corn meal as the #1 ingredient. The vegetable list is what I found recommended on a number of sites. The fat is not animal fat or tallow, but derived from flaxseed and poultry fat. Animal fat/tallow is found in many of the low-end dog foods. When I started to convert my 11 year old pooch over to Pure Balance Chicken & Rice Formula by mixing in the new food, she spit out her old food and picked out the Pure Balance. She is a self feeder, has been on this for several months now and is doing great. Her stool is firmer and her coat is as shiny as ever. Don't get fooled by the "Ol Roy" brand of manufacture. I have been buying and paying almost double for her old food that doesn't have near the quality ingredients of Pure Balance. I would recommend Pure Balance to anybody looking for a great dog food at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (124) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
700fbd
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/16/2012

Customer review by copia

5.0 stars 9/16/2012 by copia
by copia

my dog had a skin irritation and I read that some dogs are allergic to corn. Well most dog food is made from corn. I switched her food to pure balance and in just a couple of weeks her allergy has cleared up. She is more active now and her coat is black and shiny again. I won't feed her anything else now. I just wish I could get it at our local Walmart instead of having to order it online.

Was this review helpful? (104) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
copia
virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Inexpensive "Premium" Food
9/15/2012

Customer review by BoilerMama

4.0 stars 9/15/2012 by BoilerMama
by BoilerMama

I switched to this from a more expensive holistic food. With 2 dogs, we needed to cut down on how much we're spending. The ingredients on this are very similar to other more expensive premium foods. Both of my dogs seem to like this food, including my dog with a sensitive stomach. I definitely recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (91) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BoilerMama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
IAMS move over
10/24/2012

Customer review by DWS22

5.0 stars 10/24/2012 by DWS22
by DWS22

Did plenty of research online before making any purchases for my new pooch. Product exceeds expectations and the new and old pooch love it.

Was this review helpful? (53) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DWS22
High Point, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Outstanding Dog Food
1/3/2013

Customer review by seawolveslady

5.0 stars 1/3/2013 by seawolveslady
by seawolveslady

Pure Balance compares to the much higher priced dog food of the same quality and is better in quality ingredients to many other brands. I have 2 large dogs and they both love this dog food, it has improved their coats, and they are healthier. I recommended the Lamb and Rice to my sister for her dog that has an allergy to both chicken and corn. I just wish Walmart would give coupons on this once in awhile.

Was this review helpful? (44) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
seawolveslady
Ocean Springs, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT
11/11/2013

Customer review by jncoguy1254

5.0 stars 11/11/2013 by jncoguy1254
by jncoguy1254

I have been using this dog food for over a month. I had to switch dog foods as my Pitbull was having constant stomach upset with his old food. It was recommended to me that I switch to a grain free food. I searched a few stores and was surprised to find the cost of many of the grain free foods that were out there. I came across Pure Balance Dog Food while looking other treats for my dog. Well I have been using this dog food for over a month and it has been nothing but great. Dog loves it. Stomach upset has stopped. Stools continue to be firm. Thank god.

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jncoguy1254
Turnersville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
A very high quality food for a very good price
11/4/2013

Customer review by kcmetric

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by kcmetric
by kcmetric

Pure balance is such a great food for such a great price! Owners have no excuse to buy things like "beneful" for their dogs because of price. Beneful kills dogs, pure balance makes them healthier! The ingredients are great, there aren't food colors, etc. We feed this to all of our fosters and dogs because it's cheap and great quality. I am a dog trainer and sitter, I have seen many owners feed low grade food because of price differences and suggest switching to this brand. The differences in their dogs has been remarkable. There's no reason to feed a low quality food due to pricing now, pure balance has it both. I say this because I've witnessed first hand how much a dog's skin, coat, body type, and personality can change with a good food. Don't believe me? Go to dogfoodadvisor.com which rates dog foods and see why this one is so good and cost effective. If you're unable to spend a lot then this is the food for you -- quality isn't sacrificed for price.

Was this review helpful? (57) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kcmetric
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Much smaller stools
3/13/2014

Customer review by Jan75

5.0 stars 3/13/2014 by Jan75
by Jan75

I had started my Lab on another grain free dog food, Rachael Ray Just 6, before I noticed that it contains the synthetic VitK that is getting so much attention now for causing organ damage. My PURE BALANCE came yesterday and I've fed two meals. I can already see much smaller stools when I pick up in the yard. Believe me, a large Lab can leave huge amounts.The gas problem has almost entirely gone away. I just don't know why people think they are getting a bargain with the foods that are full of corn and other grains. They have to feed more so they don't really save any money. But, it's hard to convince them. All they see is that cheap price tag. I have the Chicken and Rice Pure Balance as I think my Lab is sensitive to Lamb and I know he is to Salmon. I am so happy to be able to get a grain free and very good dog food at such a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jan75
Ft.Worth,Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Great Cost Effective Dog Food for Puppies
1/23/2013

Customer review by MassanuttenRef

5.0 stars 1/23/2013 by MassanuttenRef
by MassanuttenRef

I have a 4 month old German Shepherd that weighs a little more than 50 pounds. I wanted a modest priced dog food that was good for my pup. The Pure Balance Dog Food seemed to be a good product because of the absence of fillers in the food. However, Pure Balance does not have any information on the package as to what age the food has been formulated for -- which I think is an unfortunate oversight on Ole Roy's part. I called Ole Roy and was assured that the formula was good for dogs of all ages, to include puppies like mine. By the way, I encouraged them to add such language to the package to help consumers. So, I bought the Chicken and Brown Rice product and my pup loves it. He has been eating it now for a few weeks and seems to be more active, his coat seems brighter, and his dumps in the backyard are smaller and less frequent. He also is scratching less. I wanted to point out something very important from a cost standpoint. Nearly all other dog foods prescribe 5 cups of food for a dog weighing 50 pounds. Pure Balance only prescribes 3 3/4 cups of food for the same weight. I asked Ole Roy whether their directions were accurate and I was told that since the food had less filler, it required less food to nourish the dog. I can tell you that I free feed my Pup and he is satisfied with around 4 cups of food per day. Whereas, he was eating 5 cups of both Ole Roy Puppy Food and Purina Puppy Chow fed to him in the past. So, this food may be more expensive, but you actually feed the dog less food -- this food is actually cost effective. Plus, I can pick it up at my local Wal-Mart during regular shopping and not have to make a separate trip to a Pet Store. For these reasons, I concluded that this a great cost effective dog food for puppies. The less dumps in the backyard is just icing on the cake -- okay, bad analogy.

Was this review helpful? (36) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MassanuttenRef
Massanutten, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than Blue and Wilderness
12/9/2013

Customer review by PupsinTheCounty

5.0 stars 12/9/2013 by PupsinTheCounty
by PupsinTheCounty

We tried the big names you see on tv, and Pure Balance beats them all. The dogs clean the dish everyday, and have been doing so for 3 years. They eat less- 2 dogs (1)a 95 lb lab/husky/border collie, 2)a 45 lb jack russell/gsd/??) 5 cups a day And the vet said our big boy could stand to lose some weight The quality of the ingredients rivals the big names, but beats them all on price. Our dogs are healthy, they're coats are shiny and soft We tried Blue, we tried Wilderness, and we have healthier dogs and we spend less for them.

Was this review helpful? (66) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PupsinTheCounty
Northern Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is good food.
4/14/2013

Customer review by rainstick87

4.0 stars 4/14/2013 by rainstick87
by rainstick87

Most reviews on here are GOOD.....If you would like to see more GOOD ones go to dogfoodadvisor.com he rated it a 3 1/2 star out of 4...not bad for me...I have 7 dogs and switched form high $$ to Pure Balance...and they love it..One had a bad tummy and lots of gas since on this it is ALL gone and we are very happy for that...lol I find it to be very good for the price and see alot of people do like it as well...So please check out the website above and you decide on what YOU want not other people. I would start with the small bag....just like people everyone can't eat the same thing so why would animals be different??? My gang says....give it a lick...you will see....

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rainstick87
Cocoa Beach,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A GOOD FOOD
1/25/2013

Customer review by missmarlakay

5.0 stars 1/25/2013 by missmarlakay
by missmarlakay

If you want to find out more about this food go to dog food advisor.com....it rated Pure balance with 3 in a half stars out of 5....because of a breakdown of things, but over all they recommend this food!!!! There are High end name brands that are not.....you will be surpised, also it explains alot about what each ingredent is made from. This is a good dog food!!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
missmarlakay
wv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Value High Quality Food
11/13/2013

Customer review by ajcarp

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by ajcarp
by ajcarp

This is not your typical Ole Roy type of dog food you would get from Walmart. This is a highly rated, highly reviewed, high quality dog food for a fair price. It's main ingredients are actually good quality meat based as opposed to corn meal or fillers that are in most brand name foods you would think you could trust if you've never looked into dog food quality. For example, forget about all those brands that you know, even if their packaging and marketing claim its good for your dog. I'm referring to Purina, Iams, Pedigree, just to name a few. Do your research, your dog will appreciate it, and your dog will bring you and/or your family more happiness for a longer time if you feed it well.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ajcarp
Cookstown, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dog loves new food!
7/5/2014

Customer review by GSmom1964

5.0 stars 7/5/2014 by GSmom1964
by GSmom1964

We fed our dog Pedigree for years but felt like we needed to upgrade her diet as she's gotten older. Our vet recommended Pure Balance dry and canned. Our dog loves it! She licks the bowl clean after every meal and her energy has improved.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GSmom1964
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
MY GERMAN SHEPHERD LOVE THIS FOOD!
8/14/2014

Customer review by PLaybook

5.0 stars 8/14/2014 by PLaybook
by PLaybook

Male German Shepherd I recently change my dogs food to this and I have to say this is one of the best food that his been eating! It made his coat look more darker and shinier. Anyways what I like about this product is that is has NO By-Products & NO Corn. This food is also high in protein. Last I always mix this with Pure Balance Can food to make sure he has well balance complete diet. Last this food makes him Hyper! I reccomend you feeding your do this. Heres what I feed my German Shepherd: -Pure Balance Chicken & Brown Rice -Pure Balance Can Food Chicken -Grizzly Salmon Oil(Amazon) -Dog Multivitamins -Colostrum(Recommend by my vet, produce more white cell or called anti bodies to fight off infections and bacteria, this is an Immune system booster)

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PLaybook
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good dog food
11/8/2012

Customer review by bevbailey

4.0 stars 11/8/2012 by bevbailey
by bevbailey

Got my grandson a boxer...got him the ole roy dog food as I was dog sitting, very loose stool. Did some research, found they can be allergic to corn products. Found the pure balance seemed to be what was recommended for this breed, and stool immediately firmed up. A bit expensive but less so than other brands.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bevbailey
Jamestown Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Happy I bought it
4/8/2014

Customer review by grandmabethie

5.0 stars 4/8/2014 by grandmabethie
by grandmabethie

Purchased this dog food as my dog was getting sick on Beneful. He loves this Pure Balance Chicken and Brown Rice and has been feeling much better. He's 8 years old and has begun to get all that energy back. I will purchase this again from Walmart.com.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grandmabethie
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pure Balance is Great.
9/19/2013

Customer review by PumkinDreads

4.0 stars 9/19/2013 by PumkinDreads
by PumkinDreads

My Poochie was eating pedigree large breed dog food... well actually she wasn't. i would put down breakfast and she would not touch her food until it sat there for a day or so. and even then she would only eat enough to stay alive. i purchased the pure balance Lamb and Brown rice and even forewent the food mixing process to slowly integrate the change of foods. she had absolutely no problems. she is actually EXCITED to eat and seeming happier than ever. i stand by pure balance and i DEFINITELY recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PumkinDreads
Tooele, ut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT DOG FOOD!!!!
3/29/2014

Customer review by 030811

5.0 stars 3/29/2014 by 030811
by 030811

I have two mixed breed dogs (part Lab & part spaniel & I have been feeding them Iams for two year. My daughter recommend that I try the Pure Balance w/Real Chicken & brown rice. She has three dogs of her own & that is what she feeds her dogs. They love it. They are very active & really seem to enjoy it. Plus the cost is great, as I'm now retired.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
030811
Naugatuck, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
no corn soy or wheat
7/7/2014

Customer review by sammyandchloe

5.0 stars 7/7/2014 by sammyandchloe
by sammyandchloe

My dog is allergic to corn.i had been buying him other foods without corn but they are very expensive.this food isnt my dogs love it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sammyandchloe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 105 total reviews
1-20 of 105 reviews