Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 212 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

212 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

212 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
156
4 stars
39
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
8
1-20 of 210 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 210 total reviews
1-20 of 210 reviews
We love this food
10/5/2016

Customer review by Peaceloveandpuppies5

5.0 stars 10/5/2016 by Peaceloveandpuppies5
by Peaceloveandpuppies5

We have a bullboxer who was diagnosed with demodectic mange when he was 6 months old and severe food allergies. We found Pure Balance and we love it! Not only is his skin starting to clear up, he doesn't itch anymore. He has tons of energy, bright eyes and his hair growing back shiny and soft. Our other dogs are also benefiting from this amazing food. We've tried more expensive foods but some of them caused other issues (gastroenteritis). We never had a problem with pure balance. It is a great food at a great price and I recommend it to everyone I know.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Peaceloveandpuppies5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Slow down 3 of my dog's aging process
11/21/2016

Customer review by dogfoodresearcher

5.0 stars 11/21/2016 by dogfoodresearcher
by dogfoodresearcher

Less white hair, shiny coat! I feed this to my diabetic dog. I mix the pure balance chicken and brown rice (3.5 out of 5)with pure balance bison and pea grain free (4.5 out of 5) according to dogfood advisor.com On occasions I mix the dog food with chicken,vegetables, and brown rice stew (rate 5out of 5 ) on dogfoodadvisor.com

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dogfoodresearcher
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
MY GERMAN SHEPHERD LOVE THIS FOOD!
8/14/2014

Customer review by PLaybook

5.0 stars 8/14/2014 by PLaybook
by PLaybook

Male German Shepherd I recently change my dogs food to this and I have to say this is one of the best food that his been eating! It made his coat look more darker and shinier. Anyways what I like about this product is that is has NO By-Products & NO Corn. This food is also high in protein. Last I always mix this with Pure Balance Can food to make sure he has well balance complete diet. Last this food makes him Hyper! I reccomend you feeding your do this. Heres what I feed my German Shepherd: -Pure Balance Chicken & Brown Rice -Pure Balance Can Food Chicken -Grizzly Salmon Oil(Amazon) -Dog Multivitamins -Colostrum(Recommend by my vet, produce more white cell or called anti bodies to fight off infections and bacteria, this is an Immune system booster)

Was this review helpful? (60) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PLaybook
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Seems to be doing the job
8/30/2016

Customer review by Mater

4.0 stars 8/30/2016 by Mater
by Mater
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have only used this food for 2 weeks. I found out my dog had a pancreatic tumor and it was recommended to get him this type of food. The price is higher than I really can afford, but if it works than that's all that matters. My dogs seem to love the food and it also comes in can food.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mater
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than Blue and Wilderness
12/9/2013

Customer review by PupsinTheCounty

5.0 stars 12/9/2013 by PupsinTheCounty
by PupsinTheCounty
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We tried the big names you see on tv, and Pure Balance beats them all. The dogs clean the dish everyday, and have been doing so for 3 years. They eat less- 2 dogs (1)a 95 lb lab/husky/border collie, 2)a 45 lb jack russell/gsd/??) 5 cups a day And the vet said our big boy could stand to lose some weight The quality of the ingredients rivals the big names, but beats them all on price. Our dogs are healthy, they're coats are shiny and soft We tried Blue, we tried Wilderness, and we have healthier dogs and we spend less for them.

Was this review helpful? (139) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PupsinTheCounty
Northern Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great dry dog food at the right price.
12/20/2012

Customer review by 700fbd

5.0 stars 12/20/2012 by 700fbd
by 700fbd

I did plenty of research on-line and found Pure Balance to contain much of the same ingredients of other "premium" dry dog foods. What sold me was that it contained no corn products. Other foods may list corn or corn meal as the #1 ingredient. The vegetable list is what I found recommended on a number of sites. The fat is not animal fat or tallow, but derived from flaxseed and poultry fat. Animal fat/tallow is found in many of the low-end dog foods. When I started to convert my 11 year old pooch over to Pure Balance Chicken & Rice Formula by mixing in the new food, she spit out her old food and picked out the Pure Balance. She is a self feeder, has been on this for several months now and is doing great. Her stool is firmer and her coat is as shiny as ever. Don't get fooled by the "Ol Roy" brand of manufacture. I have been buying and paying almost double for her old food that doesn't have near the quality ingredients of Pure Balance. I would recommend Pure Balance to anybody looking for a great dog food at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (244) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
700fbd
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A very high quality food for a very good price
11/4/2013

Customer review by kcmetric

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by kcmetric
by kcmetric

Pure balance is such a great food for such a great price! Owners have no excuse to buy things like "beneful" for their dogs because of price. Beneful kills dogs, pure balance makes them healthier! The ingredients are great, there aren't food colors, etc. We feed this to all of our fosters and dogs because it's cheap and great quality. I am a dog trainer and sitter, I have seen many owners feed low grade food because of price differences and suggest switching to this brand. The differences in their dogs has been remarkable. There's no reason to feed a low quality food due to pricing now, pure balance has it both. I say this because I've witnessed first hand how much a dog's skin, coat, body type, and personality can change with a good food. Don't believe me? Go to dogfoodadvisor.com which rates dog foods and see why this one is so good and cost effective. If you're unable to spend a lot then this is the food for you -- quality isn't sacrificed for price.

Was this review helpful? (114) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kcmetric
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great food!!
2/3/2017

Customer review by Jenna

5.0 stars 2/3/2017 by Jenna
by Jenna

So my pup had allergies. We were giving him the regular Purina brand dog food; due to budgetary restraints. We brought him to vet due to a ton of wheezing and like a nonsolid poop issue and the vet recommend changing foods she suggested that it may be food coloring that was causing the issue so we did our research went through a ton of reviews and came across pure balance. We ordered the chicken & rice biggest bag they had due to price per ounce and reviews as well as the fact there's no good dye and corn was not in the first three ingredients. And what do you know almost immediately after the changeover no more wheezing his waste became more solid. His breath was a little better. His coat appeared shinier. His dandruff was gone. I'd say for the money it seems well worth the extra cash for my dog to be able to go about his life like any other dog without the wheezing and itchy skin and poor stool. Great dog food!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jenna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great food for a great price
10/21/2014

Customer review by Gen01

4.0 stars 10/21/2014 by Gen01
by Gen01
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this for my black lab I adopted this month. She loves it and I'll continue giving her this brand for the time being. I didn't know much about dog food and started reading about it after adopting her from an animal rescue. I originally had bought her Purina, but after taking time to read info on dog food her animal rescue gave me, I decided to buy this dog food that is healthier and affordable. After doing some research of my own, I found out a lot of the dog food out there is made with corn, soy and meat fillers which is why so many dogs now a days are also getting cancer as well. It's not what they should be eating. This has meat, vegetables and rice as the main product and not soy and corn as the main product which most dog foods have. I am on a budget and looked into some of the other dog foods offered like Blue Wilderness or Natural Choice that also don't contain corn and soy as the main product, and by far Pure Balance is the best bang for your buck. I recommend it, it's affordable and my pet loves it.

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gen01
Suburb of San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best to oder online
12/14/2016

Customer review by whymsicalme

5.0 stars 12/14/2016 by whymsicalme
by whymsicalme
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I do a lot of shopping online from Walmart, but the Pure Balance Chicken and Brown Rice is usually out. My dogs really like the food. When I went to pick up the items at the store, they gave me 2 different types of the food. Thankfully they had a bag of the right kind in store. I think Yucca Valley needs to keep the stock updated on this dog food because it's good for dogs.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
whymsicalme
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Much smaller stools
3/13/2014

Customer review by Jan75

5.0 stars 3/13/2014 by Jan75
by Jan75
Top 100 contributor

I had started my Lab on another grain free dog food, Rachael Ray Just 6, before I noticed that it contains the synthetic VitK that is getting so much attention now for causing organ damage. My PURE BALANCE came yesterday and I've fed two meals. I can already see much smaller stools when I pick up in the yard. Believe me, a large Lab can leave huge amounts.The gas problem has almost entirely gone away. I just don't know why people think they are getting a bargain with the foods that are full of corn and other grains. They have to feed more so they don't really save any money. But, it's hard to convince them. All they see is that cheap price tag. I have the Chicken and Rice Pure Balance as I think my Lab is sensitive to Lamb and I know he is to Salmon. I am so happy to be able to get a grain free and very good dog food at such a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (65) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jan75
Ft.Worth,Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 100 contributor
Great product at great price
2/19/2017

Customer review by Mary

5.0 stars 2/19/2017 by Mary
by Mary
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My 2 Weimaraners love this food.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful
2/18/2017

Customer review by Jill

5.0 stars 2/18/2017 by Jill
by Jill
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

No more dandruff, no more scratching. Peace at last.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazed by this food
12/23/2015

Customer review by ACopsWife07

5.0 stars 12/23/2015 by ACopsWife07
by ACopsWife07

I have 2 dogs; a 1 yr old Yorkie and a 6 month old Boxer. Upon getting our Boxer I looked and researched so many dog food brands, flavors, etc before deciding on Pure Balance. I wanted a good 4-5 star rating dog food without by products and fillers because, well honestly, we spent what we consider a good amount of money on our Boxer and I didn't want him eating junk. Anyway, we put both dogs on this food and almost immediately I noticed the biggest change in my Yorkie. Her coat is SO smooth, shiny and grows way fast...it truly looks amazing! Our Boxer hasn't had any issues at all with the food, his coat also looks great but having switched my Yorkie from Hill's Science Diet to this...I'll never get them anything else. I am very very happy with this food that doesn't break the pocket book when feeding a large breed.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ACopsWife07
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great dog food
2/15/2017

Customer review by Bama1965

5.0 stars 2/15/2017 by Bama1965
by Bama1965

I have been feeding this dog food to both my pomeranian and yorkie for over 2 years and I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bama1965
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT
11/11/2013

Customer review by jncoguy1254

5.0 stars 11/11/2013 by jncoguy1254
by jncoguy1254

I have been using this dog food for over a month. I had to switch dog foods as my Pitbull was having constant stomach upset with his old food. It was recommended to me that I switch to a grain free food. I searched a few stores and was surprised to find the cost of many of the grain free foods that were out there. I came across Pure Balance Dog Food while looking other treats for my dog. Well I have been using this dog food for over a month and it has been nothing but great. Dog loves it. Stomach upset has stopped. Stools continue to be firm. Thank god.

Was this review helpful? (58) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jncoguy1254
Turnersville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Excellent my Pomeranians live it
2/14/2017

Customer review by Vicki

5.0 stars 2/14/2017 by Vicki
by Vicki
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this grain free great dog food Please try it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vicki
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/16/2012

Customer review by copia

5.0 stars 9/16/2012 by copia
by copia

my dog had a skin irritation and I read that some dogs are allergic to corn. Well most dog food is made from corn. I switched her food to pure balance and in just a couple of weeks her allergy has cleared up. She is more active now and her coat is black and shiny again. I won't feed her anything else now. I just wish I could get it at our local Walmart instead of having to order it online.

Was this review helpful? (141) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
copia
virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sounds good.
2/9/2017

Customer review by Shush

3.0 stars 2/9/2017 by Shush
by Shush
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My dog doesn't care for this food, but my cat eats would rather eat this food then cat food. My dog was eating Beneful that caused diarrhea, so I researched dog food that didn't have by products or full of grains and found this dog food. My dog hasn't had any digestion problems since.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shush
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outstanding Dog Food
1/3/2013

Customer review by seawolveslady

5.0 stars 1/3/2013 by seawolveslady
by seawolveslady

Pure Balance compares to the much higher priced dog food of the same quality and is better in quality ingredients to many other brands. I have 2 large dogs and they both love this dog food, it has improved their coats, and they are healthier. I recommended the Lamb and Rice to my sister for her dog that has an allergy to both chicken and corn. I just wish Walmart would give coupons on this once in awhile.

Was this review helpful? (76) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
seawolveslady
Ocean Springs, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 210 total reviews
1-20 of 210 reviews