Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.5out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 | 227 reviews
5 stars
168
4 stars
39
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
10
Sort by: 
1-20 of 224 reviews
1-20 of 224 reviews
No more Blue Buffalo for us!
4/28/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been feeding my dogs Pure Balance Chicken and Brown Rice for 2 years now. They love it! From my 22 year old Bichon to my 4 month old Maltese. The Bichon used to have severe hot spots and since feeding him the Pure Balance food...no more hot spots. Sometimes for a treat I'll mix the Pure Balance canned Chicken, Vegetables, and Brown Rice food with some of the dry. They love it! Check DogAdvisor and compare your dogs food to the Pure Balance...No more Blue Buffalo for us. When I'm in the store purchasing the Pure Balance, I always mention to the customers how great this dog food has been for us. Many switch at that time. If the dogs are happy and healthy, so is Mom.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
MY GERMAN SHEPHERD LOVE THIS FOOD!
8/14/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Male German Shepherd I recently change my dogs food to this and I have to say this is one of the best food that his been eating! It made his coat look more darker and shinier. Anyways what I like about this product is that is has NO By-Products & NO Corn. This food is also high in protein. Last I always mix this with Pure Balance Can food to make sure he has well balance complete diet. Last this food makes him Hyper! I reccomend you feeding your do this. Heres what I feed my German Shepherd: -Pure Balance Chicken & Brown Rice -Pure Balance Can Food Chicken -Grizzly Salmon Oil(Amazon) -Dog Multivitamins -Colostrum(Recommend by my vet, produce more white cell or called anti bodies to fight off infections and bacteria, this is an Immune system booster)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (71)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than Blue and Wilderness
12/9/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We tried the big names you see on tv, and Pure Balance beats them all. The dogs clean the dish everyday, and have been doing so for 3 years. They eat less- 2 dogs (1)a 95 lb lab/husky/border collie, 2)a 45 lb jack russell/gsd/??) 5 cups a day And the vet said our big boy could stand to lose some weight The quality of the ingredients rivals the big names, but beats them all on price. Our dogs are healthy, they're coats are shiny and soft We tried Blue, we tried Wilderness, and we have healthier dogs and we spend less for them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (155)No (32)
Report
Was this review helpful?
We love this food
10/5/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We have a bullboxer who was diagnosed with demodectic mange when he was 6 months old and severe food allergies. We found Pure Balance and we love it! Not only is his skin starting to clear up, he doesn't itch anymore. He has tons of energy, bright eyes and his hair growing back shiny and soft. Our other dogs are also benefiting from this amazing food. We've tried more expensive foods but some of them caused other issues (gastroenteritis). We never had a problem with pure balance. It is a great food at a great price and I recommend it to everyone I know.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Dog food allergy
8/31/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This food is corn free which is so important for a dog with a corn allergy. He was scratching all his hair off until we started feeding him this food. It is also more affordable than other corn free dog foods.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
All natural dog food
2/21/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The best deal on market for quality all natural dog food.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Seems to be doing the job
8/30/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have only used this food for 2 weeks. I found out my dog had a pancreatic tumor and it was recommended to get him this type of food. The price is higher than I really can afford, but if it works than that's all that matters. My dogs seem to love the food and it also comes in can food.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Slow down 3 of my dog's aging process
11/21/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Less white hair, shiny coat! I feed this to my diabetic dog. I mix the pure balance chicken and brown rice (3.5 out of 5)with pure balance bison and pea grain free (4.5 out of 5) according to dogfood advisor.com On occasions I mix the dog food with chicken,vegetables, and brown rice stew (rate 5out of 5 ) on dogfoodadvisor.com
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Plastic string
6/6/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We have been buying Pure Balance for a few years now and our dogs have been a good weight. Today I noticed something strange and after taking the time to look through some of the food, I found what appears to be plastic string (similar to fishing line) sticking out of Andes pieces of food. I'm absolutely appalled and will NEVER buy this brand again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
There were bugs in my dogs food!!
4/17/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this dog food as I have been for the past few month. No real complaints before but just two days ago I noticed two (that I know of) dead bugs in the food. My dogs' appetite has decreased as well and I'm thinking it could pontientally be from this bad bag of dog food. Upon recently reading reviews on Ol Roys products I don't believe I will ever be buying this brand again!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great dry dog food at the right price.
12/20/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I did plenty of research on-line and found Pure Balance to contain much of the same ingredients of other "premium" dry dog foods. What sold me was that it contained no corn products. Other foods may list corn or corn meal as the #1 ingredient. The vegetable list is what I found recommended on a number of sites. The fat is not animal fat or tallow, but derived from flaxseed and poultry fat. Animal fat/tallow is found in many of the low-end dog foods. When I started to convert my 11 year old pooch over to Pure Balance Chicken & Rice Formula by mixing in the new food, she spit out her old food and picked out the Pure Balance. She is a self feeder, has been on this for several months now and is doing great. Her stool is firmer and her coat is as shiny as ever. Don't get fooled by the "Ol Roy" brand of manufacture. I have been buying and paying almost double for her old food that doesn't have near the quality ingredients of Pure Balance. I would recommend Pure Balance to anybody looking for a great dog food at a reasonable price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (258)No (26)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A very high quality food for a very good price
11/4/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Pure balance is such a great food for such a great price! Owners have no excuse to buy things like "beneful" for their dogs because of price. Beneful kills dogs, pure balance makes them healthier! The ingredients are great, there aren't food colors, etc. We feed this to all of our fosters and dogs because it's cheap and great quality. I am a dog trainer and sitter, I have seen many owners feed low grade food because of price differences and suggest switching to this brand. The differences in their dogs has been remarkable. There's no reason to feed a low quality food due to pricing now, pure balance has it both. I say this because I've witnessed first hand how much a dog's skin, coat, body type, and personality can change with a good food. Don't believe me? Go to dogfoodadvisor.com which rates dog foods and see why this one is so good and cost effective. If you're unable to spend a lot then this is the food for you -- quality isn't sacrificed for price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (123)No (31)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great food for a great price
10/21/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I got this for my black lab I adopted this month. She loves it and I'll continue giving her this brand for the time being. I didn't know much about dog food and started reading about it after adopting her from an animal rescue. I originally had bought her Purina, but after taking time to read info on dog food her animal rescue gave me, I decided to buy this dog food that is healthier and affordable. After doing some research of my own, I found out a lot of the dog food out there is made with corn, soy and meat fillers which is why so many dogs now a days are also getting cancer as well. It's not what they should be eating. This has meat, vegetables and rice as the main product and not soy and corn as the main product which most dog foods have. I am on a budget and looked into some of the other dog foods offered like Blue Wilderness or Natural Choice that also don't contain corn and soy as the main product, and by far Pure Balance is the best bang for your buck. I recommend it, it's affordable and my pet loves it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Much smaller stools
3/13/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 100 contributer
I had started my Lab on another grain free dog food, Rachael Ray Just 6, before I noticed that it contains the synthetic VitK that is getting so much attention now for causing organ damage. My PURE BALANCE came yesterday and I've fed two meals. I can already see much smaller stools when I pick up in the yard. Believe me, a large Lab can leave huge amounts.The gas problem has almost entirely gone away. I just don't know why people think they are getting a bargain with the foods that are full of corn and other grains. They have to feed more so they don't really save any money. But, it's hard to convince them. All they see is that cheap price tag. I have the Chicken and Rice Pure Balance as I think my Lab is sensitive to Lamb and I know he is to Salmon. I am so happy to be able to get a grain free and very good dog food at such a reasonable price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (73)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great food!!
2/3/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
So my pup had allergies. We were giving him the regular Purina brand dog food; due to budgetary restraints. We brought him to vet due to a ton of wheezing and like a nonsolid poop issue and the vet recommend changing foods she suggested that it may be food coloring that was causing the issue so we did our research went through a ton of reviews and came across pure balance. We ordered the chicken & rice biggest bag they had due to price per ounce and reviews as well as the fact there's no good dye and corn was not in the first three ingredients. And what do you know almost immediately after the changeover no more wheezing his waste became more solid. His breath was a little better. His coat appeared shinier. His dandruff was gone. I'd say for the money it seems well worth the extra cash for my dog to be able to go about his life like any other dog without the wheezing and itchy skin and poor stool. Great dog food!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Grain free dog food for my budget
9/19/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After realizing my dog needed grain free dog food it took me a little shopping around to find something in my budget, as I wanted to switch both dogs to the same food . I started with pure balance to see if it would be good because it was in my budget and didn't want to go out of my budget to start. (I would have had to if pure balance didn't work) .. within 2 weeks just two weeks my dog gained her weight back, her skin was less itchy, her yeast went away and she was much better overall, even her mood seemed to be better. I felt awful seeing her suffering, and I'm so glad pure balance helped her feel better. I'm definitely happy with this brand, and so are the dogs . :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pure Balance
9/23/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I use this food for all my dogs now. I started with my wennie dog who has no enzymes of her own plus allergies. With the enzymes I give her she tolerates this food as well as a more expensive grain free food.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GREAT
11/11/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been using this dog food for over a month. I had to switch dog foods as my Pitbull was having constant stomach upset with his old food. It was recommended to me that I switch to a grain free food. I searched a few stores and was surprised to find the cost of many of the grain free foods that were out there. I came across Pure Balance Dog Food while looking other treats for my dog. Well I have been using this dog food for over a month and it has been nothing but great. Dog loves it. Stomach upset has stopped. Stools continue to be firm. Thank god.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (64)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
9/16/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
my dog had a skin irritation and I read that some dogs are allergic to corn. Well most dog food is made from corn. I switched her food to pure balance and in just a couple of weeks her allergy has cleared up. She is more active now and her coat is black and shiny again. I won't feed her anything else now. I just wish I could get it at our local Walmart instead of having to order it online.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (146)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Outstanding Dog Food
1/3/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Pure Balance compares to the much higher priced dog food of the same quality and is better in quality ingredients to many other brands. I have 2 large dogs and they both love this dog food, it has improved their coats, and they are healthier. I recommended the Lamb and Rice to my sister for her dog that has an allergy to both chicken and corn. I just wish Walmart would give coupons on this once in awhile.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (80)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641765, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-