Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 142 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

142 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

142 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
102
4 stars
29
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 140 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 140 total reviews
1-20 of 140 reviews
MY GERMAN SHEPHERD LOVE THIS FOOD!
8/14/2014

Customer review by PLaybook

5.0 stars 8/14/2014 by PLaybook
by PLaybook

Male German Shepherd I recently change my dogs food to this and I have to say this is one of the best food that his been eating! It made his coat look more darker and shinier. Anyways what I like about this product is that is has NO By-Products & NO Corn. This food is also high in protein. Last I always mix this with Pure Balance Can food to make sure he has well balance complete diet. Last this food makes him Hyper! I reccomend you feeding your do this. Heres what I feed my German Shepherd: -Pure Balance Chicken & Brown Rice -Pure Balance Can Food Chicken -Grizzly Salmon Oil(Amazon) -Dog Multivitamins -Colostrum(Recommend by my vet, produce more white cell or called anti bodies to fight off infections and bacteria, this is an Immune system booster)

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PLaybook
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than Blue and Wilderness
12/9/2013

Customer review by PupsinTheCounty

5.0 stars 12/9/2013 by PupsinTheCounty
by PupsinTheCounty
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We tried the big names you see on tv, and Pure Balance beats them all. The dogs clean the dish everyday, and have been doing so for 3 years. They eat less- 2 dogs (1)a 95 lb lab/husky/border collie, 2)a 45 lb jack russell/gsd/??) 5 cups a day And the vet said our big boy could stand to lose some weight The quality of the ingredients rivals the big names, but beats them all on price. Our dogs are healthy, they're coats are shiny and soft We tried Blue, we tried Wilderness, and we have healthier dogs and we spend less for them.

Was this review helpful? (85) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PupsinTheCounty
Northern Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pure Balance made a huge difference!
1/29/2016

Customer review by Alpinegirl

5.0 stars 1/29/2016 by Alpinegirl
by Alpinegirl

I have sweet huge (100b) rescue mix dog "Miro" which I fed Beneful. Mir became more and more passive, seemed to have always digestive or stomach problems. He was just not the happy, playful dog which a dog his age was supposed to be. I started researching dog foods and came across Pure Balance. I decided to try it out and now, after a few months feeding now all my dogs Pure Balance (mostly Lamb, Bison and Chicken) I have now three healthy, happy and playful dogs. Even Miro runs and plays now (I take them to the dog park every day twice) and seems to have no more stomach problems. I know, he is a very sensitive dog, he can't have anything other than PB food and maybe a Milkbone dog biscuit one in a while. If he gets a hold of something different than that, he gets immediately sick, is not playing, vomits, has runny poop, etc. So PB dog food gives my Miro a great quality of life.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alpinegirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great dry dog food at the right price.
12/20/2012

Customer review by 700fbd

5.0 stars 12/20/2012 by 700fbd
by 700fbd

I did plenty of research on-line and found Pure Balance to contain much of the same ingredients of other "premium" dry dog foods. What sold me was that it contained no corn products. Other foods may list corn or corn meal as the #1 ingredient. The vegetable list is what I found recommended on a number of sites. The fat is not animal fat or tallow, but derived from flaxseed and poultry fat. Animal fat/tallow is found in many of the low-end dog foods. When I started to convert my 11 year old pooch over to Pure Balance Chicken & Rice Formula by mixing in the new food, she spit out her old food and picked out the Pure Balance. She is a self feeder, has been on this for several months now and is doing great. Her stool is firmer and her coat is as shiny as ever. Don't get fooled by the "Ol Roy" brand of manufacture. I have been buying and paying almost double for her old food that doesn't have near the quality ingredients of Pure Balance. I would recommend Pure Balance to anybody looking for a great dog food at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (190) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
700fbd
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Amazed by this food
12/23/2015

Customer review by ACopsWife07

5.0 stars 12/23/2015 by ACopsWife07
by ACopsWife07

I have 2 dogs; a 1 yr old Yorkie and a 6 month old Boxer. Upon getting our Boxer I looked and researched so many dog food brands, flavors, etc before deciding on Pure Balance. I wanted a good 4-5 star rating dog food without by products and fillers because, well honestly, we spent what we consider a good amount of money on our Boxer and I didn't want him eating junk. Anyway, we put both dogs on this food and almost immediately I noticed the biggest change in my Yorkie. Her coat is SO smooth, shiny and grows way fast...it truly looks amazing! Our Boxer hasn't had any issues at all with the food, his coat also looks great but having switched my Yorkie from Hill's Science Diet to this...I'll never get them anything else. I am very very happy with this food that doesn't break the pocket book when feeding a large breed.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ACopsWife07
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A very high quality food for a very good price
11/4/2013

Customer review by kcmetric

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by kcmetric
by kcmetric

Pure balance is such a great food for such a great price! Owners have no excuse to buy things like "beneful" for their dogs because of price. Beneful kills dogs, pure balance makes them healthier! The ingredients are great, there aren't food colors, etc. We feed this to all of our fosters and dogs because it's cheap and great quality. I am a dog trainer and sitter, I have seen many owners feed low grade food because of price differences and suggest switching to this brand. The differences in their dogs has been remarkable. There's no reason to feed a low quality food due to pricing now, pure balance has it both. I say this because I've witnessed first hand how much a dog's skin, coat, body type, and personality can change with a good food. Don't believe me? Go to dogfoodadvisor.com which rates dog foods and see why this one is so good and cost effective. If you're unable to spend a lot then this is the food for you -- quality isn't sacrificed for price.

Was this review helpful? (77) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kcmetric
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My puppy loves it.
1/27/2016

Customer review by DeeDee

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by DeeDee
by DeeDee

My puppy loves it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeeDee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE THIS
12/2/2015

Customer review by Cheyenne

5.0 stars 12/2/2015 by Cheyenne
by Cheyenne

For about a year straight i couldn't figure out a dog food that couldnt upset my australian shepherds stomach. Everything was not made by real food. Made me feel really uneasy feeding my dog that stuff. while browsing the dog food aisle i can across pure balance and started to read the ingredients. i couldn't believe the first three ingredients were natural ingredients. i decided to try it, before checking the price i kept thinking in my head how much this is going to break my bank. to my surprise it was very reasonably priced. i started mixing it in with the other dog food. and within a few weeks he quit having problems. We've been buying pure balance for about 2 years now and we could not be any happier.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cheyenne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Much smaller stools
3/13/2014

Customer review by Jan75

5.0 stars 3/13/2014 by Jan75
by Jan75
Top 250 contributor

I had started my Lab on another grain free dog food, Rachael Ray Just 6, before I noticed that it contains the synthetic VitK that is getting so much attention now for causing organ damage. My PURE BALANCE came yesterday and I've fed two meals. I can already see much smaller stools when I pick up in the yard. Believe me, a large Lab can leave huge amounts.The gas problem has almost entirely gone away. I just don't know why people think they are getting a bargain with the foods that are full of corn and other grains. They have to feed more so they don't really save any money. But, it's hard to convince them. All they see is that cheap price tag. I have the Chicken and Rice Pure Balance as I think my Lab is sensitive to Lamb and I know he is to Salmon. I am so happy to be able to get a grain free and very good dog food at such a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (45) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jan75
Ft.Worth,Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
It's like having a new dog...
1/4/2016

Customer review by Voicetek

5.0 stars 1/4/2016 by Voicetek
by Voicetek

My wife and I got our dog from a shelter about 2 years ago and she wouldn't eat the "healthy" food they sent home with us. Because it was familiar, we ended up buying Alpo Prime Cuts which seemed ok. Our dog seemed to like the food ok, but she acted incredibly lazy and never wanted to play. My wife and I would joke that we must've gotten a cat disguised as a dog from the shelter because of how lazy she acted. After about a year and a half we started researching the ratings of certain dog food and found out our Alpo food received around a 1 star rating based on quality of ingredients. We were shocked! After doing more research and checking ratings for other brands, we were surprised to see that a lot of the big name "familiar" brands didn't receive more than a 3 star (at best) rating. What were we feeding our dog??? I noticed that the Pure Balance brand was rated quite high (between a 4-5 star based on the flavor) We decided to try the bison blend for our dog. After purchasing some at our local store, we got it home and put it in her bowl. Well let me tell you, she gobbled that stuff up like it was a special treat! We've been serving her Pure Balance now for about 4-5 months and we rotate between the bison and salmon blends. It has definitely made a difference. It's like having a new dog! Instead of laying around on the couch all evening, she seems more energetic and will actually play with you. She goes over to her toy basket frequently, pulls out toys, and plays with them. We've also noticed that she's slimmed down quite a bit and even toned up. Overall she just seems much happier and more alert. You wouldn't feed your kids sugar cereals every day for every meal, so why would you feed your dog junk with a bunch of corn meal and fillers? After seeing the difference this has made, I'd never go back to our old brands of dog food.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Voicetek
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great natural dog food
12/21/2015

Customer review by Kdela07

5.0 stars 12/21/2015 by Kdela07
by Kdela07

My husband and I were very set on finding a good natural dry dog food for our little guy. We found this several months back and my little guy is not so little any more but a healthy 75lb one year old! He loves this food and we are very happy with it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kdela07
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Felt so bad
11/17/2015

Customer review by Diane

5.0 stars 11/17/2015 by Diane
by Diane

I have been using the chicken and brown rice Pure Balance. Two months ago, I went to Walmart and they were out of it. I bought IAMS. What a mistake! I didn't realize that my golden retriever had some allergies. Her hair started falling out, she was constantly scratching and licking. I checked her and she didn't have fleas but bald spots. What was going on? Then my husband and I started doing research. It was the Iams food. I switched Nala back to Purchase Balance chicken and brown rice . What a difference! In a week after her food was changed, she stopped itching. I felt so bad that I had put my fur baby through this. I will never change food again. I also have it shipped right to my house...thank you Pure Balance !

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Diane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great food for a great price
10/21/2014

Customer review by Gen01

4.0 stars 10/21/2014 by Gen01
by Gen01
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this for my black lab I adopted this month. She loves it and I'll continue giving her this brand for the time being. I didn't know much about dog food and started reading about it after adopting her from an animal rescue. I originally had bought her Purina, but after taking time to read info on dog food her animal rescue gave me, I decided to buy this dog food that is healthier and affordable. After doing some research of my own, I found out a lot of the dog food out there is made with corn, soy and meat fillers which is why so many dogs now a days are also getting cancer as well. It's not what they should be eating. This has meat, vegetables and rice as the main product and not soy and corn as the main product which most dog foods have. I am on a budget and looked into some of the other dog foods offered like Blue Wilderness or Natural Choice that also don't contain corn and soy as the main product, and by far Pure Balance is the best bang for your buck. I recommend it, it's affordable and my pet loves it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gen01
Suburb of San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good wholesome dry dog food.
2/5/2016

Customer review by loncwgrl

4.0 stars 2/5/2016 by loncwgrl
by loncwgrl

I recently switched from Purina which has corn and grains. I mixed the two brands gradually increasing the Pure Balance. My dogs are happy and seem to eat a little less. Their bowel movements have a much firmer consistency and their coats are shiny. The cost won't break the bank either.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
loncwgrl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT
11/11/2013

Customer review by jncoguy1254

5.0 stars 11/11/2013 by jncoguy1254
by jncoguy1254

I have been using this dog food for over a month. I had to switch dog foods as my Pitbull was having constant stomach upset with his old food. It was recommended to me that I switch to a grain free food. I searched a few stores and was surprised to find the cost of many of the grain free foods that were out there. I came across Pure Balance Dog Food while looking other treats for my dog. Well I have been using this dog food for over a month and it has been nothing but great. Dog loves it. Stomach upset has stopped. Stools continue to be firm. Thank god.

Was this review helpful? (50) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jncoguy1254
Turnersville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Great food
2/8/2016

Customer review by Turbo231girl

4.0 stars 2/8/2016 by Turbo231girl
by Turbo231girl

Wish this item wasn't so expensive. My dogs do love it but just costly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Turbo231girl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Healthy
2/8/2016

Customer review by DeeDee

5.0 stars 2/8/2016 by DeeDee
by DeeDee

Best dog food

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeeDee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best dog food
1/5/2016

Customer review by Amanda

5.0 stars 1/5/2016 by Amanda
by Amanda

We switched dog food after our baby girl was chewing her self up with the other food she was on and she completely stopped chewing on her self love that there is no wheat, grain, or corn

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Amanda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/16/2012

Customer review by copia

5.0 stars 9/16/2012 by copia
by copia

my dog had a skin irritation and I read that some dogs are allergic to corn. Well most dog food is made from corn. I switched her food to pure balance and in just a couple of weeks her allergy has cleared up. She is more active now and her coat is black and shiny again. I won't feed her anything else now. I just wish I could get it at our local Walmart instead of having to order it online.

Was this review helpful? (136) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
copia
virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Value High Quality Food
11/13/2013

Customer review by ajcarp

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by ajcarp
by ajcarp
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is not your typical Ole Roy type of dog food you would get from Walmart. This is a highly rated, highly reviewed, high quality dog food for a fair price. It's main ingredients are actually good quality meat based as opposed to corn meal or fillers that are in most brand name foods you would think you could trust if you've never looked into dog food quality. For example, forget about all those brands that you know, even if their packaging and marketing claim its good for your dog. I'm referring to Purina, Iams, Pedigree, just to name a few. Do your research, your dog will appreciate it, and your dog will bring you and/or your family more happiness for a longer time if you feed it well.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ajcarp
Cookstown, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 140 total reviews
1-20 of 140 reviews