Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 51 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

51 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

51 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
5
1-20 of 49 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews
the pictures aren't great, but the camera is a hit
12/18/2012

Customer review by smilingMomof3

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by smilingMomof3
by smilingMomof3

The quality of the pictures and video that this camera takes is not great, I don't know that more than 10% of the pictures would actually turn out if we printed them, but that has something to do with the fact that 3&4 year old just can't hold still to snap them either. There is a 1/2 second delay between the time you press the button to snap a picture and when it takes it, so if you can teach your child to wait, it may be better. The camera has games and TONS of other features for pictures, silly backgrounds, funny faces, animated stars, etc. That you can turn the lens so kids can see the video they're taking of themselves on the view screen is what makes this such a great item. Kids love to see themselves, and with this toy, they're the star. My son was 4 when he got this gift last Christmas, he has twin 3 year old sisters. The camera is played with every day, has been dropped and fought over, and we have had no issue. I recommend installing a bigger memory card than the one provided.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smilingMomof3
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Camera Even for Tech Savvy Kids
10/4/2013

Customer review by MomonaShoestring

5.0 stars 10/4/2013 by MomonaShoestring
by MomonaShoestring

I love this camera! Let me back up, I was sent a Kidizoom Camera Connect to review for my blog. I was skeptical. My 8 year old has had lots of experience taking pictures with digital cameras. FYI: I am a BIG advocate for using photography as a means for helping kids discover and explore. Sometimes I even give my kiddo my iphone to take pictures when we are on a walk or hike. Why on earth would he be interested in this camera when he has access to my cameras at home? Boy was I wrong...the Kidizoom Camera Connect is more than just a digital camera. It takes pictures, lets kids create cute frames for the pictures. Has games that incorporate the kids pictures into game play and has the ability to take video and do animation. My 8 year old takes it everywhere. It is durable, has it's own wrist strap and did I mention it takes GREAT pictures? I highly recommend this camera for anyone with a son or daughter under 9! PS: although I was sent this camera to review all opinions are 100% my own.

MomonaShoestring
Chicago, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Number of children:1
Perfect for the budding photographer
10/8/2013

Customer review by OhSoSavvyMom

5.0 stars 10/8/2013 by OhSoSavvyMom
by OhSoSavvyMom

The Kidizoom Camera Connect is designed for ages 3-8. I’d have to say that the age recommendation is spot on. The dual view finder is great for little eyes that don’t yet have the ability to wink or focus out of just one eye. The exterior of the camera is designed to fit easily into little hands. Each side of the camera is coated with rubber that insures a good grip and protection in case the camera is dropped. The navigation menu is very easy for the little ones to pick up on. Kids quickly learn that they can press the house button and be brought to the navigation menu that will allow them to use the little joystick to navigate over the different camera options. I really appreciate that there is an automatic shutoff on the camera that shuts the camera off after a couple minutes of non use. Both my 3 year old and my 6 year old LOVE playing with the effects and the games! Disclosure: I was sent this product for review purposes. I am not required to give a positive review.

OhSoSavvyMom
Bossier City, LA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Number of children:3
We LOVE this product!
9/18/2013

Customer review by flipoutmama

5.0 stars 9/18/2013 by flipoutmama
by flipoutmama

My sweet little baby Bean always feels a little bit left out. But, he's not left out anymore! As a matter of fact, our littlest guy has now become our official family photographer!! That's all thanks to the VTech Kidizoom Camera Connect! This camera is designed just for little hands, so it is perfect for our little guy! I don't have to worry about it getting broken, or him messing it up in any way, because it is MADE for him! I love it! This camera is really great for him, and his older brother has even been caught playing with it a few times too! So funny! We are all really happy with this camera, it has proven to be a great toy in our home, and it hasn't been here very long. It is already on the "our favorite toys" list, and the #1 toy that my little Bean has to grab every time he leaves the house! I would definitely recommend this camera if you have a little one in your life that is super creative, but still not yet big enough for a "real" camera or an iPhone or iPod.

flipoutmama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Kids love it
1/20/2013

Customer review by GrandmaPaula

4.0 stars 1/20/2013 by GrandmaPaula
by GrandmaPaula
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought one of these a few years ago for my now 8 year old grandson and he still loves it. So I bought one this month for my 4 year old grandson and he loves it! This one is an updated one from the last one i bought. It takes photos and little videos (with sound) and has fun frames and games in the camera that the kids enjoy. Technically, this is my 4 year old grandson's first video game system.LOL. So he is learning how to play the games on it but he loves taking pictures of his sister and brother and mom and dad and everything else he can. He uses it so much it goes through the batteries kinda fast. So I recommend rechargables. Other than that and I wish it took higher mega pixel photos (it takes 2.0 mp), this is a great first camera for the younger kids. I think this is his favorite birthday gift. I will get one for my granddaughter either this year when she turns 3 or maybe her next birthday. They come in blue and pink. I almost forgot, you can upload the photos and videos from the camera onto your computer for sharing. If you want big photos, they won't be as clear as the smaller ones due to the camera being only 2.0 mp. But you should still get nice quality photos if you print them at about 4X6 in size, which is an average snap shot size. Or smaller. You might even get a decent 5X7 photo.....

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandmaPaula
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
First toy she has ever broken
4/28/2016

Customer review by Dee425

1.0 stars 4/28/2016 by Dee425
by Dee425

I bought this camera for my daughter for Christmas and less than a month later, it won't turn on. She was sitting at the table for a snack and placed the camera next to her (since she literally never went anywhere without it). She must have bumped it accidentally and knocked it off the table. Blows my mind that a 'child's camera' can't withstand the shock of falling off of a table.

Dee425
Baltimore, MD, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Number of children:2
Enteratining Camera Perfect For Little Kids
9/23/2013

Customer review by PennyPinchingParent

4.0 stars 9/23/2013 by PennyPinchingParent
by PennyPinchingParent

Disclosure: I was provided with a sample of this product for review purposes. The opinions and thoughts expressed here are solely my own. My daughter is 6 yrs old and even at her age really likes this camera. It's easy for my child to hold, durable (so she doesn't have to worry about dropping it like mom or dad's camera) and because of the built in games and effects, it's fun. It's easy to connect to the computer, holds a lot of photos and takes fairly decent pictures for a 1.3 megapixel camera. Since the camera does not have a flash, you will obviously get your best pictures outdoors, but we use it inside all the time. Also, I know my gal sometimes has a little difficulty holding a camera still, so you are going to have some blurry ones, but overall it's a great beginner camera. For the price point, entertainment value of the effects (especially the voice recorder) the Kidizoom is a solid choice for a "kid-friendly" camera.

PennyPinchingParent
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Number of children:1
4yo review
4/30/2016

Customer review by Maxwell

5.0 stars 4/30/2016 by Maxwell
by Maxwell

Review from my 4yo son: "I like that it can take pictures and stuff because it's a great thing to have to take pictures. I love the camera a lot"

Maxwell
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great kids camera for a good price!
8/12/2015

Customer review by Tink

4.0 stars 8/12/2015 by Tink
by Tink

My daughter had another kids' camera that her aunt had gotten her but it only took still pictures and the video had no sound. This camera does pictures, video with sound and has really fun photoshop activities as well as basic little video games. You can add funny cartoons to your pictures and the latest feature that she just downloaded is an animation making app. She can take a bunch of still pictures and it will make it into a little movie for her, very fun! Downloading the learning lodge program to our computer was a bit of a hassle because I kept trying and it wouldn't work. But, after contacting customer support they e-mailed a program that would "clean up" the learning lodge program supposedly so that when I retried downloading learning lodge from their website, it worked! We just had to plug in her camera to the computer and the animation maker appeared on her camera!

Tink
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Number of children:3
Great starter camera and durable
1/10/2013

Customer review by greatestauntever1

5.0 stars 1/10/2013 by greatestauntever1
by greatestauntever1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Got this for my son and he loves it. Takes pictures of EVERYTHING. He is 3 so he drops it a lot and it still works. I love the fact that it has an automatic turn-off when it has been inactive for over 10 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
greatestauntever1
Aberdeen, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Light-weight camera can be taken anywhere
9/12/2013

Customer review by AlohaMomma

5.0 stars 9/12/2013 by AlohaMomma
by AlohaMomma

My daughter loved this camera. It's definitely durable and kid-friendly both in it's grip (how it feels in your hands) and the user-interface. The games and photo/editing features are really easy to play with. The video features are definitely a hit with my kids and it has inspired many short films already. The camera also has fun sound effects including music during the games. Best of all, there's an auto shut-off feature so it's not left on. My one thought for improvement is maybe the creation of a sliding cover for the lens because little fingers are always curious about touching that glass and once it's smudged it's hard to clean. I highly recommend the Kidizoom Camera Connect for your kids (recommended for ages 3-8). My kids have asked for a camera for years and now I have a camera I'm comfortable letting them run wild filling their movie director desires.

AlohaMomma
Honolulu, HI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Number of children:3
Excellent Gift!
9/9/2013

Customer review by HeidiPA

5.0 stars 9/9/2013 by HeidiPA
by HeidiPA

I was impressed with the quality and durability of the camera. You aren't scared to hand it over. I've seen plenty of kiddy cameras before, but never one that allowed for video and voice recording, and also had some built-in games. My son has spent many hours over the past few days totally absorbed by this versatile camera. My only "issue" with the camera is the fact that it takes four AA batteries. And they are NOT easy to install! But, I will say that I've been impressed with the battery life, so far. My son has gotten many hours of use out of the set that I first put in. The automatic shut-off feature will definitely help! Honestly, the fun factor alone makes this camera worthy of my recommendation. If you're looking for a fun, creative gift to give to a child in your life, I'd recommend checking out this camera.

HeidiPA
central PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Number of children:3
Great first camera but...games can't be disabled
12/30/2015

Customer review by SDMom

4.0 stars 12/30/2015 by SDMom
by SDMom

Our kids (4 and 6) love this camera and we are happy with the purchase. However, we did not look carefully at the features so we didn't know that it included games. This was our mistake. We wouldn't mind having them except there is no way to turn them off or disable them. We want the kids taking pictures and not playing games, so we have to monitor the use all the time and that takes away from their independence and creativity.

SDMom
San Diego, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Number of children:2
Great Toy - But it's a battery hog!
8/16/2013

Customer review by GelaHope

4.0 stars 8/16/2013 by GelaHope
by GelaHope

We got this toy for my son's birthday about 7 months ago, and he still loves it and uses it just like he got it yesterday. It is a super toy, and even when he isn't using it as a camera there are a few cute little games on it that he plays in the car and such. The only problem - it takes 4 AA batteries, and they just do not last very long with the amount that he uses it!! He wants me change them out almost every other day and sometimes I just have to flat out tell him no! But I guess I can't whine too much, because that just means that he loves the toy so much that he uses it frequently. I just wish it was rechargeable or something!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GelaHope
Saint George, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great toddler camera
4/11/2013

Customer review by LombardMom

5.0 stars 4/11/2013 by LombardMom
by LombardMom

This camera is great for my 2 and 4 year old who loves taking pictures and wants to see them right away. The quality of the picture is nothing I would ever want to print myself but they love taking the pictures which is the point. The extra features to edit and add frames are too advanced for my kids at this point, but they will grow into the camera. I like that it automatically shuts off and can be dropped repeatedly with no issue. It is the perfect gift for them.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LombardMom
Lombard, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fun toy
12/7/2015

Customer review by Jessy

5.0 stars 12/7/2015 by Jessy
by Jessy

My 4 year old son loves this camera! He has had it for over a year & it's one toy he continues to play with!

Jessy
Lancaster, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Number of children:1
Has lots of functions. Seems very sturdy.
2/11/2013

Customer review by Ry450

5.0 stars 2/11/2013 by Ry450
by Ry450
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I looked at several kids cameras and even bought another Vtech from Toys R Us. It does not have the spin lens which my granddaughters love and it was more expensive. I bought two of these for a 2 1/2 and 4 year old and one was defective so I have to return it. But I will replace it for the same kind. It is a very good camera for the price. The 4 year old was the perfect age for it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ry450
Boston MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
WOW! So much more than I expected!
2/18/2014

Customer review by Mickie

5.0 stars 2/18/2014 by Mickie
by Mickie

I searched carefully for a camera for my 4 yo grandson who liked to take pictures with mine. He's in a hurry to see the photo on the led screen. Somewhere I thought I read that the LED screen did not show the photo and knew he'd be upset. HOORAY, it shows pictures and movies on the LED. He absolutely loves it, takes it with him just about everywhere. Of course there are lots of ceilings, kitchen, etc. He loves the games. Mom deletes a lot at night, he'd keep them all! Since he showed so much interest in mine and I started young, no digital then, I wanted him to have the opportunity to start even younger. What a bargain! 10+. One minor thing, it's hard to get the wrist strap snapped on.

Mickie
Tucson, AZ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Number of children:2
Excellent!
12/26/2012

Customer review by Coolskin

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by Coolskin
by Coolskin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Seems very durable, many options and even has games! Takes video, has a flash, you can add fun graphics to pictures, take photos of yourself with the rotating 'eye'. Remember though it doesn't come with a memory card so get a good one. My son loves it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coolskin
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The VTech Kidizoom Camera will keep your kids engaged and happy for a long time.
9/18/2013

Customer review by ggilmore

4.0 stars 9/18/2013 by ggilmore
by ggilmore

The VTech Kidizoom Camera will keep your kids engaged and happy for a long time. My two girls, ages 6 and 9, love playing with the camera, using the fun clipart frames, and making their own videos. They also like the games, but making videos is, by far, the most fun for them. The voice recorder is also a favorite feature. The quality of the photos and video are fine for a children's camera and the fun factor makes this camera a great buy for kids. It's durable and, unlike older models, the new version has easier access to change the 4 AA batteries it requires. That's a plus in my book.

ggilmore
Montclair, NJ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Number of children:2
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews