Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 273 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

273 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

273 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
216
4 stars
30
3 stars
13
2 stars
6
1 stars
8
1-20 of 225 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 225 total reviews
1-20 of 225 reviews
great product for my son
12/4/2012

Customer review by Louny

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by Louny
by Louny

My son pick this up and was happy from the minute he saw animated items and his own profile picture. its like having a ipad for a little growing adult it takes picture,draws,read and making your own kinda movie and much more with added games great buy will last a long time. i recommend the recharger pack its a battery you keep in the and charges when you plug in the ac cord.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Louny
Woonsocket
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great buy!
12/8/2012

Customer review by MamaBrum

5.0 stars 12/8/2012 by MamaBrum
by MamaBrum
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We purchased this items his month for my son for his 8th birthday. He has the explorer and liked it so we wanted to get him something that seemed a little more mature like and IPad but more reasonably priced for children. He loves it! It is a lot more interactive for him and it has a camera on the front and back....great buy so far!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MamaBrum
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE IT!!
11/16/2015

Customer review by dommom2010

5.0 stars 11/16/2015 by dommom2010
by dommom2010

My son has enjoyed the LeapPad2 for two yrs. We've added books, games, and videos. He's advance in his class due to it. He enjoys learning with it. This system allows him to add characters that he loves: TMNT and Pow Patrol. We Love it!!

dommom2010
ATL,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/30/2012

Customer review by Unhappy2

1.0 stars 12/30/2012 by Unhappy2
by Unhappy2

I bought this gift for my daughter so she would stop playing with my cell phone and sneaking off with my mothers Kindle. Sadly she is still taking my phone and my mothers Kindle because the Leap Frog 2 keeps dying very quickly on her. I have had to change the batteries three times in one day for her. This is her 4th day and already I have spent over what I paid for the dang toy in buying batteries. I even bought rechargeable batteries and that doesn't work for long. They die out before the next set of rechargeable batteries is even ready. If I knew that it didn't come with its own charger I would have never bought it for her. I would have spent my money buying her a kindle and buying the educational games that way. It would have saved me the money I have put into this tablet. This was not worth the money I spent. If you decided to buy this for your loved one be prepared to spend double what you paid just buying batteries.

Unhappy2
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
LeapPad 2 - A tablet newbie's perspective
1/7/2013

Customer review by Ted62

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by Ted62
by Ted62

Our purchase of this device for our three year old was our first foray into the world of tablets, period. Based on our experience with the whole process and observations/comments from friends and family over the holidays, we sure seem to have made the right decision. I can't yet vouch for its ability to "grow" as our son gets older but I have no reason to doubt the claim based on playing with the built-in features and a couple of cartridges, and working through the Beginner/Expert options. The device functions well and appears sturdy enough to survive a three year old's inconsistent care. We did, however, purchase the Gel Skin covering, just in case ... Battery life is typical but sure makes one wish for a built-in Lithium Ion pack and plug-in wall wart option. (The one downside aspect of the aforementioned Gel Skin is having to remove it regularly to replace the 4 - AA batteries--this is NOT a fun process). Our 'adoption' into the LeapPad family has been a positive experience and I have already recommended it to several friends in similar circumstances.

Ted62
Norcross, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Educational & Learning Toy for Children!
1/9/2013

Customer review by Ash88

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by Ash88
by Ash88

My daughter loves her new LP2 pink! She says it is her favorite Christmas gift! It was expensive but I feel it was worth the price. The games that are included are very fun and since we set it up early for Christmas we got an additional 2 games! My daughter loves the music player and it is great for children, nothing too advanced or complicated. We also purchased 3 additional games (Brave, Math School, and I SPY) and the Pink Accessory/ Travel Bundle. The games are very fun and educational and the accessories were a necessity to caring for the LP2! My daughter outgrew the Fisher Price iXL and I believe this was a great next step. It was a tough decision on whether to buy the LeapPad2 or InnoTab2, but I believe I made the right decision. The LeapPad 2 has many more game, movie, song, etc. choices than the InnoTab2 and can grow with your child, whereas the InnoTab2 games are pretty standard for all ages.

Ash88
Whitehall, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/8/2012

Customer review by Deemechie

5.0 stars 12/8/2012 by Deemechie
by Deemechie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great bundle deal for the price

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deemechie
McKinney, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My nephe would not put it down!
12/9/2012

Customer review by Lisag104

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by Lisag104
by Lisag104
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love, love the educational advantages with this device. My nephew is 4 years old and he is learing his colors and alphabet and this is just the best thing on the market for him. He is not using the cartridges yet because the games that came with it are keeping him occupied. This is just an amazing tool for him and worth the small investment! Will recommend this to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lisag104
Talladega, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So disappointed
2/7/2013

Customer review by FeelingRobbed

1.0 stars 2/7/2013 by FeelingRobbed
by FeelingRobbed

LeapPad2 was a Christmas gift for five year old boy who already has a LeapFrog. This product is recommended for ages three to nine. Within a week or so he managed to shatter the screen with the stylus. Fortunately, Leapfrog offered a replacement, with the admonishment that there would be ONLY one replacement. Again, before the month was out, the screen shattered with stylus use. I have purchased several apps, rechargeable batteries, car charger, ear phones, case - pretty much the whole shebang and now I'm left with not one, but two, worthless LeapPads. For a product that is supposed to be used by young children, it is incredibly flimsy, and such a shame because it has such huge educational value. The internet is replete with similar stories of people looking for a way to replace the shattered screens. It's only a matter of time before we see a class-action suit against this company.

FeelingRobbed
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Christmas Present
12/8/2012

Customer review by MrNo1

4.0 stars 12/8/2012 by MrNo1
by MrNo1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought one for another child in October, and the kids liked it so well we are buying another for Christmas. We got a Great Black Friday Deal.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrNo1
Cali
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
this is GREAT!
6/26/2013

Customer review by spooktaffy

5.0 stars 6/26/2013 by spooktaffy
by spooktaffy

I am not one to have all the latest gadgets nor do I think kids need moving books or other features to learn to read. Bought this for my son for a 2 day car trip (each way) and the coloring apps mean less mess in the car (chasing crayons under seats). There are so many fun activities (some are not as good, or not worth buying). I even got hooked on Roly Poly Picnic (the original) and spent 3 hours getting through all the levels, grumbling at the annoying little cute guys! (but I couldn't put it down). Had to purchase 2nd game recently for my 2.5 year old daughter so she didn't steal her brothers' game. Now they both color the same thing or watch the same video. I LOVE that you can purchase a game and load it on BOTH systems! This is probably the BEST feature I just discovered. The limited ones loaded for her can be adjusted as she grows. Normal "paper" books are best, but this provides a fun activity to vary interest for an hour or so on those indoor rainy days. ONE THING I would CHANGE is that the initial "PLAYER" settings shoudl have a LOCK on them so the child (my 2 year old) CANNOT CHANGE SETTINGS.

spooktaffy
san antonio texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love the LeapPad 2!
1/30/2013

Customer review by Momof3Boyz

5.0 stars 1/30/2013 by Momof3Boyz
by Momof3Boyz

My three boys have every electronic device from DS3, iPad, etc. I was tired of constantly looking over my boys shoulders making sure they didn't surf the net or open inappropriate Youtube videos. I purchased 2 LeapPad 2's for my twin 4yr old boys and they loved them! My older son(6yrs) was trying to play on the LeapPad 2 and the twins wouldn't give them up. He was bummed Santa didn't bring him one. I ended up buying one for my 6yr old and I am so glad I did! The best part of the LeapPad 2's is the boys are learning with every app or cartridge and I don't have to stress about what they are doing. Also, I monitor their learning progress on-line and find out which apps they use most. Perfect device for kids older than 3yrs. Items I would recommend with the LeapPad 2: Gel skin, rechargeable battery and the Messenger Bag. I am so happy with my purchase and so are my boys!

Momof3Boyz
Henderson, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fun for various ages
4/23/2013

Customer review by Lunatiff

5.0 stars 4/23/2013 by Lunatiff
by Lunatiff

My five year old son and 3 year old granddaughter both received a LeapPad2 from Santa. Both are able to enjoy all the apps and share with each other. I like the variety of apps although they can be a little pricey. I also like that it can play music, videos, books, and games. I have not had any issues with memory and it is straightforward and easy to use with minimal guidance. I love that the stylus cannot be lost and that it can be modified for a child's level. I would change being able to add personal music to it as my son would like to use it as a music player and listening to Jake and the Neverland Pirates over and over again is getting a little old. I think it would also be good if it could connect to wifi and play online versions of the downloadable apps rather than having to use memory to download them. Overall I would recommend this product.

Lunatiff
Leander, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Thought on LeapPad2
12/31/2012

Customer review by Tjones

3.0 stars 12/31/2012 by Tjones
by Tjones

I purchased this item for my grandaughter who is age 5 & already in Pre-School. She has enjoyed the fun part of the LeapPad2 more than anything else so far. We got this for her at Christmas. She is still learning how to work, but she does enjoy it. The only suggestion would be to purchase the LeapPad2 Recharger Pack if you plan to purchase a LeapPad2. The LeapPad2 requires #4 AA batteries in order to work. I made a mistake and did not purchase the Recharger Pack. My grandaughter was using up the juice of Duracel AA batteries with in 1-day! Yes, I said 1 day! I will now be purchasing a Rcharger Pack 4-Sure! The online App Center is easy to understand & easy to order off of. Great for keeping track of your child's progress and growth and learning. I think in the long run this LP2 will be a great learning tool for my grandaughter!

Tjones
Georgetown, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/6/2013

Customer review by MommyBear

5.0 stars 6/6/2013 by MommyBear
by MommyBear

I purchased the LeapPad2 for my son for Christmas last year. He's 3 and I had been told that he would get bored with it, and that it wasn't worth the money. And then one family get together he was able to play with one that his cousin had. He sat there and was totally engrossed in it! So I decided to give it a shot. I am so glad that I did!! He loves it! When I started out he just had the LeapPad2 and the Jake and the Neverland Pirates game. Since then we've purchased several more games and apps for it. It is by far his favorite toy. I never make long trips without it! I will say that it goes through regular AA batteries like crazy, so my advice would be to buy the rechargeable ones for it. I also purchased the car adapter. It's very hard to keep a busy preschooler entertained while in boring places like doctor's offices, official buildings and banks. And any mom knows that getting little ones to sit quietly and be still is a challenge! LeapPad2 has been quite a helpful tool with this! My son can sit quietly and play his game, learn something at the same time, and Mommy can now talk to grownups and take care of all of those boring errands in record time!

MommyBear
United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful
12/10/2012

Customer review by Marjieka

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by Marjieka
by Marjieka
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very pleased with my purchase, timely delivery. My grandson is going to love it for Christmas.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marjieka
Hollywood, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Educational gadget
11/17/2012

Customer review by Phil

4.0 stars 11/17/2012 by Phil
by Phil

I have Tap, leappad explorer and leappad1 and now I got lappad2 for both my children, and this is the by far the best gadget and most engaging gadget. I prefer this gadget for kids instead of any other (including ipad) as this is so enriched with educational experience for them with out any other distractions. This gadget is one of its kind and highly recommended for any pre-school to primary school going kids. I like all features, except, it's battery features. I personally think, it should come with built-in battery pack and the power adaptor instead of buying them as accessories. Also, if this can feature wireless, make this product much more user-friendly. Overall, it is a great product and nearly a must to have gadget for Pre-6 grade kids. Thanks to the team, who gave us such a fantastic product.

Phil
Ballarat, VIC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best toy ever
9/3/2013

Customer review by Lydz

5.0 stars 9/3/2013 by Lydz
by Lydz

I love the Leappad 2. I just upgraded to the Ultra but you really don't forget your first love. Oh... my daughter loves it too. For me, I like that a team of educators have already reviewed the content for educational play. I only need to occasionally supervise so I can write reviews (and know what games to play if she rests it down...shhhhh). It is very durable too. This Leappad quickly became her favorite toy - there are toys from Christmas 2012 that have not been touched since opening them. Leappad 2 keeps her entertained. She complained once of her thumb hurting and I suggested that she put it down for a bit too relax fingers from play. That was not an option for her...I think she is learning to use both hands. The apps and cartridges do add up in cost but they are weighed for educational value too. I think parents must know their child to know which games they would like and would keep them entertained. The Learning Part analysis is a great detailed bonus of the child's play time, noting strengths and weaknesses points, areas of improvement, relative level of playfour each game and learning outcome. Truly a remarkable product. Have never regretted this investment in my daughter.

Lydz
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Leappad 2
1/16/2015

Customer review by Srae21

5.0 stars 1/16/2015 by Srae21
by Srae21

I got this product for my daughter 2 years ago. It has been a great investment. She has had a lot of fun with it while learning and being able to play games using some of her favorite characters. We have the rechargeable battery pack with it and it has been a life saver. My only problem with this product has arrived after having it for 2 years. It doesn't stay on anymore, we're lucky if we can get it to stay on passed the start-up screen (this is with a full charge#. Hoping customer service can help me resolve this issue. Hope it's an issue with the battery pack and not the leappad 2. I will be disappointed if I can't get it resolved, as will my daughter :# She loves her Leappad!

Srae21
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Second Leap Pad
1/6/2013

Customer review by Return

2.0 stars 1/6/2013 by Return
by Return

I purchased a second Leap Pad for my granddaughter for Christmas, the Leap Pad 2. I purchased it because my granddaughter loved the first one. The first Leap Pad I purchased was October 2011. I also purchased it because of the front-and-back cameras and video recorders, 4GB of memory. Here is my issue with the Leap Pad 2 it continues to freeze, I also purchased the battery charger for the Leap Pad 2, she is only able to use the Leap Pad 2 for less than 20 minutes at a time. I have to remove the recharged batteries wait a few minutes and then put them back in then 20 minutes later repeat the same steps. We also tried to use Duracell batteries and we are having the same issues as battery charger. Unfortunately, I'm at point of returning the Leap Pad.

Return
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 225 total reviews
1-20 of 225 reviews