Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 33 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

33 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

33 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

27%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 stars
17
1-20 of 30 total reviews
27%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews
Less then 4 mos use/broken
7/10/2012

Customer review by clynndel

1.0 stars 7/10/2012 by clynndel
by clynndel

I paid good money for these thinking the quality would be better. Boy was I wrong! I purchased app 6 mos ago. I took them out of the car for an extended work trip so it wasn't even used for 2 months or more out of the 6. It was used only when my grandchildren were in the car which was seldom use. Now the thing will not load any DVDs it just says it's loading and makes squeaking sounds, then says there is no disc. I am so totally dissatisfied with this barely used product that I wasted over 100 bucks on. Now I have to purchase a new one because I misplaced the receipt. But I won't be getting this one!

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
clynndel
Florence AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Lasted only 4 months....
7/7/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 7/7/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I chose this brand because it tends to be higher quality but that was not the case with this set. The door warped and started rubbing the DVD until it would stop and say NO DISC. It had nice picture quality when it worked but it had low sound quality. The only good thing I have to say.....I bought Walmart's replacement plan for $7. When it broke, I called Walmart, 10 seconds later I had a return label in my email. 24 hours after I dropped the broken unit off at UPS I had a full refund. Yea for the replacement plan!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Didn't serve it's purpose
7/9/2012

Customer review by Lmom464

1.0 stars 7/9/2012 by Lmom464
by Lmom464

We bought this for a long trip since we no longer have a built in DVD player. They could hardly hear it and it didn't keep our 4 year olds twins occupied, which made for a very long 10 hours. I wish I had took the time to read the reviews before buying it!

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lmom464
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Will be returning
6/25/2012

Customer review by lrasbell

2.0 stars 6/25/2012 by lrasbell
by lrasbell

I purchased this set just yesterday because my 7" Phillips set quit on me after barely a year of use. It seems to work okay but the DVD starts back over AT THE BEGINNING PREVIEWS every time the car is turned off. I'm sure this would be okay for a long trip but I do more driving around town and HATE having to skip thru previews every time I turn the car back on. After reading reviews on other websites I see that this product doesn't look to be much better than the Phillips set I'm having to replace. I'll be returning this ASAP while I still can...

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lrasbell
Dalton GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/16/2012

Customer review by Lee48

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by Lee48
by Lee48

I am so surprised by the reviews of this RCA dual dvd player. I have had mine for almost 3 years and it works great. I bought it when my granddaughter was about 2 and her Mom was pregnant so I knew I would need the two screens. I have not had one problem. It's a blessing on long trips in the car. I don't let the girls play with it. I put the dvds in and I use the remote to control it. The youngest one started kicking the screen on her side so I removed it for a while. Then the older one told me she thought her sister had learned not to kick it so I put it back in. So far so good. I am buying them another one for their father's car for Christmas.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lee48
Valatie, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
9/17/2012

Customer review by ab36

2.0 stars 9/17/2012 by ab36
by ab36

I received this for a birthday gift and after barely a year it no longer loads the CD's as the previous reviewer indicated. It just reads loading and the screen goes blank. Very frustrating because it only had been used on 3 trips.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ab36
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
8/9/2012

Customer review by RISKTAKER3

1.0 stars 8/9/2012 by RISKTAKER3
by RISKTAKER3

Purchase the RCA DVD player for our kids vacation so they could have something to watch during a 12hr ride, It played only 3 movies before it quit, needless to say it was a long trip for them. The sound level was also low.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RISKTAKER3
Nrwburgh,In
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY
7/13/2012

Customer review by NothappynTennessee

1.0 stars 7/13/2012 by NothappynTennessee
by NothappynTennessee

purchased this DVD a few months ago. It was used less than 10 hours total, It has stopped working. The warranty will cover repair if I want to pay to ship it back to manufacture. I WILL NOT BUY AN RCA DVD PLAYER EVER AGAIN.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NothappynTennessee
Jackson, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
I did not even get 6 months out of this.
7/4/2012

Customer review by Ahoffy

1.0 stars 7/4/2012 by Ahoffy
by Ahoffy

This dvd player was bought for my daughter when she was 6 months old for a long road trip. Once she was older (10 & 11 months) we started using it in the car daily. She is now 11 months and it one day started skipping and now it will not read ANY DVD. I am so disappointed. I now have to start shopping for a new one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ahoffy
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lasted loner than expected...
2/16/2013

Customer review by Chele19

4.0 stars 2/16/2013 by Chele19
by Chele19

My husband bought this for our son last year in Feb for our road trip home. It worked perfectly fine playing DVD+. I think after playing them so long it finally gave out on us this Jan. Plus I doubt my son kicking it helped at all. Investing in another player today.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chele19
Manhattan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Do not buy!
12/4/2012

Customer review by shopperforlife1234

2.0 stars 12/4/2012 by shopperforlife1234
by shopperforlife1234

I bought this DVD player in May (6 months ago) for a long car trip and played about 4 movies, worked ok then. We have just used it for the second time taking another car trip this week and played 2 movies. The second screen began displaying lines during the first movie and not working properly, and then suddenly during the second movie the DVD stopped and main DVD player power just stopped working (the charger cord is working so it is something internal within the unit). Do not waste your money, or time on this DVD player! Any suggestions on a more durable player?

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shopperforlife1234
St louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Looks Great but...
12/12/2012

Customer review by Lisha1771

1.0 stars 12/12/2012 by Lisha1771
by Lisha1771

Bought this set for a 2 year old to keep him occupied on long trips. Well...It looks great, the sound is great, and unlike other reviews ours does start back where it stopped when you turn the car back on. But... only when it decides to work!!! We bought our first set in May for a 14 hour trip. It worked perfectly for the week long trip. A few days later...NOTHING, would not turn on, no power at all, so I took it back & exchanged for another one, because I thought maybe it was just this set. UGH The new one does the same thing, it works when it feels like it! So irritating, waited too long to return the second one so I'm stuck with an overpriced piece. It is a great set if it would work consistently. My advice DO NOT BUY THIS!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lisha1771
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Says "no disc" after 8 months
9/27/2012

Customer review by MissingSA

1.0 stars 9/27/2012 by MissingSA
by MissingSA

My review is similar to a previous review. After about 8 mos of use, it takes a while to load the disc, then says "no disc". Ours had pretty heavy use as it was bought for the kids, but really? Less than a year? Really frustrated with this product. Luckily, it was a gift from my dad and he bought the protection plan. SO WORTH THE $9!!! Really, I wouldn't buy another without it! They are completely replacing it! Thanks to Walmart, NO THANKS TO RCA!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MissingSA
Corpus Christi, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worked for a couple years of occasional use then..
7/1/2013

Customer review by ABCforme

1.0 stars 7/1/2013 by ABCforme
by ABCforme

We used this product for a couple years 2-3 times a year. It worked well for a year and a half then we began having problems. The movies would not load and upon further inspection all the disks were scratched. I keep my movies in the car and ONLY used them with this DVD, they all have circular scratches from the DVD. Finally the player failed in the middle of a long road trip with 4 year old twins, it was terrible!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ABCforme
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
Worst prodect ever
7/14/2013

Customer review by AlexisF

1.0 stars 7/14/2013 by AlexisF
by AlexisF

Was a gift for my one year old after a couple uses wouldn't load any discs I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone waste of money

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlexisF
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Volume issues
9/26/2012

Customer review by Busymommyof5crazykiddos

1.0 stars 9/26/2012 by Busymommyof5crazykiddos
by Busymommyof5crazykiddos

After 1 month of use the volume in the second player stopped working!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Busymommyof5crazykiddos
Would recommend to a friend? No
keeps the kids entertained
1/27/2013

Customer review by AyLove2Shop

5.0 stars 1/27/2013 by AyLove2Shop
by AyLove2Shop

I don't understand why this product has such horrible reviews. I had the first set for 6 months but my son kicked it during a tantrum in the car so I got a new set which I've had 7 months now. Never had any issues... in fact the first set still worked but the movies would skip so it wasn't COMPLETELY broken from a two year old throwing a fit. Now that he's a bit older he cries because I'm done driving and the dvd player is off. My 7 yr old is completely quiet while a movie is playing in the car as well and we've taken 12 hour trips so it's definitely a GREAT product. My best friends daughter will be receiving this for her birthday next month!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AyLove2Shop
southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not as bad as people say.
4/16/2013

Customer review by boznicknametoshort

5.0 stars 4/16/2013 by boznicknametoshort
by boznicknametoshort

We currently purchased this model. Because the one we wanted was not available at the time. Was skeptic because of reading the reviews. we used it for a road trip to myrtle beach with the kids. Dvd system worked great. the sound was very clear. The speaker is on the back of the system. but with a newer car and the angled head rests in it. there was no problem. assembles in mins. and was enjoyed for the whole trip. the only problem with the dvd system is if you have a dvd with scratches it will take time to read. with unscratched dvds no problems. I did buy the extended warrant just in case of problems and that is good for 2 yrs past manufactors warrenty and it was only $8. would recommend to anyone interested. As I said on Heading Not as Bad as people say

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boznicknametoshort
buffalo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good product - no specific issues
6/28/2013

Customer review by Notyournormalsoccermom

4.0 stars 6/28/2013 by Notyournormalsoccermom
by Notyournormalsoccermom

My four year year old uses these in our vehicle. We've had no complaints about it except this: we cannot seem to locate an in-home power source. We'd intended to allow him to take these inside hotel rooms... but there is no power supply. I even went to the RCA website and was told these weren't designed for in-home use. I really wish that was an option; if it had been, I would have given this item 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Notyournormalsoccermom
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
So far so good!
9/28/2012

Customer review by mrsjones5

4.0 stars 9/28/2012 by mrsjones5
by mrsjones5

These were so easy to install in my car, and they work very well for the price. The only drawback is that the DVD starts over from the beginning whenever the car is turned off. With the remote, my older children can get to the scene selection from the menu and find the spot where they left off, but it is kind of a pain. Really, we only use it long trips so it's not like it starts and stops all day long. Also, another reviewer mentioned that it was hard to hear. I have headphones for my kids with a splitter so we can have 3 pairs hooked up, and I can hear the DVD through their headphones when they are wearing them, so I know it is plenty loud. However, I haven't tried it without the headphones to see what the sound is like. I think I am going to invest in some noise-cancelling headphones because I like to listen to my music or audio books, which they can hear with the cheapy headphones on. That should fix the background noise problem. I did buy Walmart's $9, 2 year replacement plan which does cover accidental damage as well as defects.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrsjones5
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews