Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 33 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

33 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

33 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 33 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews
Wonderful Camera

Customer review by scottbd

5.0 stars 12/15/2012 by scottbd
by scottbd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to use after having another model of Canon Camera. Have taken some beautiful pictures in the short time I've had it. Would recommend, to anyone, for trouble free photography.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Running Springs, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Novel experience of a DSLR with touch screen

Customer review by Kulti

5.0 stars 7/24/2012 by Kulti
by Kulti

STM in short should be synonymous to STepper Motor. I used a 64GB SDXC Memory card, compatible with the camera and my windows 7 laptop for shooting. Touch screen, new to DSLRs is a real bonus to amateurs who want to take professional photographs. Focus using a touch and tap once, to take the snap in live view mode. Video shots in HD are an amazing treat for a DSLR camera to take videos using auto focus features. Some small delay in focus can be edited using any movie maker software, if audio is not a hindrance for the continuity of the shot. The low light photos are far better than the previous models. With the help of multiple shots in “Hand Held Night Mode”, it is even better than taking pictures with an external flash. The HDR mode also takes multiple shots to get results on high back lighted scenes, with superior results. Variable angle LCD screen is also a versatile feature for self portraits. I think one should get this 18-135mm STM lens kit and enjoy the benefit of carrying one lens for travel and home photography.

Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simply Outstanding

Customer review by Random Rebel

5.0 stars 7/18/2012 by Random Rebel
by Random Rebel

I recently traded my T3i for the new T4i and am pleased with the T4i in almost every way possible. The only things I did not like was the 18-55 kit lens being slow and the plastic-like feel of the body.

Random Rebel
Moline, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera for the price, but...

Customer review by Mike

5.0 stars 10/22/2012 by Mike
by Mike

I waited patiently through the recall to get my hands on this camera with the STM lens and I was not disappointed. Compared to previous Rebels this one is definitely a leap ahead. Focus is greatly improved in both accuracy and speed, noise is less noticeable when shooting with higher ISO, and the menu system is generally easy to navigate. One drawback I have come across is during Live View shooting, a non-Canon compatible flash unit or remote flash trigger will not fire. You must use a device that can communicate with the camera through the hot shoe.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Camera for HD Video

Customer review by Jake

5.0 stars 9/11/2012 by Jake
by Jake

Purchased this to use for videography and I am extremely happy with it!

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect kit for amateur photographer

Customer review by Viktor Sv

5.0 stars 7/17/2012 by Viktor Sv
by Viktor Sv

I have purchased my first digital camera in 2004, and it was Canon Pro1, which was an amazing piece of equipment for amateur photographer like me. It had an articulated screen, L-grade 7x zoom lens, and tons of settings for creativity. I took thousands of great pictures with that camera, and was able to capture very memorable moments. Unfortunately Pro 1 had all the drawbacks of "point and shot" technologies - small sensor, slow processor, any ISO over 200 was not useful due to extensive noise, slow auto focus, etc. I was hoping for Pro2, but it never arrived. Since then I had owned many "point and shot" cameras, but none had the features or image quality of Pro 1, which I loved. My ideal camera should be able to operate in automated modes (with the ability to use manual modes as needed), should have articulated screen for recording videos, should have stereo microphone, should be able to deliver good pictures in low-light, should have sufficient zoom, and should have reasonable size/weight. In a nutshell, my concept of ideal camera is simple - I pay money, I press button ...and camera delivers. How it does it - I do not know, and frankly, do not care. In my "journey" for the ideal camera I had tried Canon D60, G12, G1X, as well as a few non-Canon products, but liked none due to lack of performance, convenience and/or features I was not willing to compromise on. I finally gave up, and computerized on the camera's size by buying Canon T3i, which then I had replaced with T4i. Canon T4i with 18-135 STM lens kit is the perfect for me, and has everything I need. With the 7.5x zoom it is unlikely I will ever need another lens (but it is nice to have options). This camera proved to be perfect for all types of shooting, and my wife loves it. The only true compromise is its size, but I am learning to deal with it. So, if you an amateur photographer, and need a perfect tool that can always deliver perfect quality photos and videos in "point and shot" mode, this kit is no brainier (as long as you can afford it).

Viktor Sv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great first DSLR

Customer review by benmej

5.0 stars 1/16/2013 by benmej
by benmej

This camera is perfect for beginners. It is very easy to use and is a powerful tool for the art of photography. I am learning a lot through this camera and it is preforming very well.

Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Camera Investment

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/8/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Great camera for the money. The 1080p is amazing to see.

An anonymous customer
London, ON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Recommended Product

Customer review by AgentRon007

5.0 stars 9/11/2012 by AgentRon007
by AgentRon007

I love my T4i for what it is. Though I do think they could've gave a little bit more in the upgrade from the's still a great dslr...besides the short battery life there's nothing to really complain takes great pics especially if you get the one with the STM lens..excellent camera for a beginner or someone who's starting to understand the logistics of photography like myself. Just another great product by Canon!!!

Long Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A powerful piece of equipment!

Customer review by Stonewall

5.0 stars 10/19/2012 by Stonewall
by Stonewall

I upgraded to the T4i from a T3i. I was optimistic given the reviews, and after a few days of use am happy with the decision. Basically, Canon bred the T3i with the 60D, threw in some brand new features, and the result is a very powerful camera. The sensor has been updated to permit continuous autofocus during video. I don't have an STM lens yet, but it works just fine with my 24-105mm L. Although I rarely shoot in Live View, the ability to pick your focus point by touching the screen is great. The touchscreen is very responsive and very helpful for changing settings quickly. The T4i picks up the shutter mechanism and autofocus points from the 60D. Five fps is noticably faster than 3.7 in the T3i, and with a UHS-1 card I am getting 7-8 shots per burst in RAW. The new Digic 5 processor seems to add a lot, it has 6x the processing power as the Digic 4 chip. My low light sunset pictures have much less noise, the clarity is amazing. Best of all, all of my T3i accessories work with the T4i. My Canon battery grip and remote and wired shutter releases carry right over. I've seen some reviews online that claim the improvements over the T3i are slight, but I disagree. While outward appearances are almost identical, the guts of this camera have been significantly upgraded on all fronts. Good job, Canon!

Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lock lens?

Customer review by PalaDolphin

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by PalaDolphin
by PalaDolphin

The 18-135mm IS STM comes with no documentation. So, when I used the EOS Rebel T4i Instruction Manual to look up what the Lock button on the lens does, it is nowhere to be found. None of the other lenses I bought had it. It appeared to do nothing. I discovered its use accidentally. The button only slides when in its in its widest position. Once locked, you can no longer zoom. That's all it does. It doesn't lock in any position, only in its widest position. There is no documentation for this feature.

Saint Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by Good Guy

5.0 stars 8/19/2012 by Good Guy
by Good Guy

I upgraded from a T1 to the T4 (with the new lens as well) and the improvements are quite nice. Having used a T1 I found the transition to the T4 quite easy. The sharpness of the pictures is significantly improved. Quality can be better as well with a wider range of controls. The larger swiveling LCD is a nice add too as is touch screen. It does feel a bit heavier but on actually weighing the 18-135 lens against my former 55-250 there is only about 40 grams difference. I'm looking forward to using the T4 on an upcoming trip to SE Asia.

Good Guy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best camera for price

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/2/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This camera is a very great camera. It is very reasonably priced for everything that you get along with the camera. The features of the camera are amazing the touch screen works perfectly and it isn't a light cheap feeling camera. It is very study it got dropped onto rocks the first day I had it and it only got a tiny scratch and works great still. The battery life is great even on a really cold night you get a lot of life out of it. Although the focusing of the lenses is a bit noisy.

An anonymous customer
Bozeman Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Extraordinary Value!

Customer review by RobNY

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by RobNY
by RobNY

I've owned many cameras over the years, Canon being my favorite for their quality and versatility, the T4i being no exception. This camera is loaded with features and offers a great bang for the buck when you compare it to other cameras similarly equipt. I was totally sold on the new swivel screen and HDR feature. Until I can afford a 5D MkIII, the T4i has practically most of the same features in a smaller, lighter package, for thousands less. True, the 5D MkIII is designed to take a better beating and is full-frame, but for my everyday, carry everywhere camera, you can't beat the T4i. Finally, continuous autofocus in video mode, even though I don't use video that often, is a nice feature to have. My only gripes are that the STM lenses are 100% electronically dependent. Unlike other EF/EF-S lenses, you cannot manully focus STM lenses without first turning the camera on. I may be old school, but I still like to walk around, put my camera to my eye, and play with the zoom and manually focus just to get a "feel" of my surroundings without snapping the shutter or wasting battery power. Also, I find that while the 18-135mm STM is quick and quiet, the 40mm STM is slower and noisy, particularly in video mode. But these are STM lens issues, not related to the T4i itself (note the 40mm STM is an EF mount lens, an indication Canon intends to add autofocus in video mode to their other lines and pro models in the future, perhaps a firmware upgrade?). The T4i may be made of plastic, but it is very tightly built. Overall, a great camera I intend to keep, even if I can ever afford a 5D MkIII.

New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Flash Control

Customer review by Chibins

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by Chibins
by Chibins

I take it back! Since my previous review I have found that there is a way to control my 580EX2 as a master flash. The menu options to get there were different than expected, but I found it and it is a powerful interface. On my wish list would be able to directly access the External Flash setup by assigning it to the "My Menu". This is minor.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by Pilcrow

5.0 stars 7/15/2012 by Pilcrow
by Pilcrow

I bought this camera today and love it! My first SLR camera was a Rebel Xti and loved that camera, But traded it in for the Canon 60D. Which I also loved, But it just didn't feel right. The knob on the left side and the noise of the shutter wasn't to pleasing for me. Then I seen the T4i came out recently and it was a mix of the rebel series with the hardware of the 60D. Some things are slightly different. But instantly I fell in love with this camera. It feels just like the XTI to me already, with the great feature of the 60D, plus some added goodies. The shutter noise isn't as loud, it dont weigh as much as the 60D. The quality is very good, specially the video. That is one of the reason I picked this camera up. The only thing I wish canon done for this camera, and I hope they read this. Is add recording of video footage while zoomed in 5x mode or 10x mode. I don't get why you can zoom in, but you cant record while your zoomed in.. I am sure this could easily be added and I hope they add this feature in a new firmware update soon. That was one of my favorite features of the 60D and I was hoping that same feature was in the T4i.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Master/Slave flash control...

Customer review by Chibins

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by Chibins
by Chibins

I have owned nearly every one of the Rebel Txx bodies in sequence as they have been released and I just traded in my T2i for a T4i and I an thrilled with all aspects of the camera except flash control. With the T2i I could use my 580EX2 afixed to the shoe of my T2i and use it as the master transmitter to all my other slave flashes. The T4i does not allow this and I am forced to use the internal transmitter of the T4i. This is a problem because I can't put my 580EX2 on a cord and aim it at slave flashes behind me for synch firing. Canon, please fix this in your next firmware update!

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Missing Video Digital Zoom Record

Customer review by AK

5.0 stars 12/22/2012 by AK
by AK

Add video digital zoom record function. This a great DSLR. Low-light performance is just superb. The faster burst rate is really useful. The steel body is quite solid.

Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amateur user with professional results.

Customer review by Ken

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by Ken
by Ken

I have purchased a number of cameras over the years, with this being my first DSLR. I am quite pleased with the quality of the pictures and ease of use. I have two young daughters who are constantly on the move. With my other cameras, those 'magic' moment shots typically result in blurred images. The T4i gave me new hope and opportunity to captures those moments with crystal clear, professional looking pictures and videos. This is a great camera and look forward to fully exploring all of its capabilities and continue to capture our family in motion through the years. The only con I have for this camera is when taking videos in AF mode, the AF noise is captured in the video. It's tolerable, but could stand to be a little quieter.

Las Cruces, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exceeds expectations

Customer review by g man

5.0 stars 1/15/2013 by g man
by g man

To whom it may concern: This is the best camera I've experienced using. I have to thank you for the design, it's ease of use and photographic qualities, I stretched the personal budget to optain it, it has not disapointed me, again Thank you.

g man
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews