Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 33 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

33 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

33 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 33 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews
Novel experience of a DSLR with touch screen
7/24/2012

Customer review by Kulti

5.0 stars 7/24/2012 by Kulti
by Kulti

STM in short should be synonymous to STepper Motor. I used a 64GB SDXC Memory card, compatible with the camera and my windows 7 laptop for shooting. Touch screen, new to DSLRs is a real bonus to amateurs who want to take professional photographs. Focus using a touch and tap once, to take the snap in live view mode. Video shots in HD are an amazing treat for a DSLR camera to take videos using auto focus features. Some small delay in focus can be edited using any movie maker software, if audio is not a hindrance for the continuity of the shot. The low light photos are far better than the previous models. With the help of multiple shots in “Hand Held Night Mode”, it is even better than taking pictures with an external flash. The HDR mode also takes multiple shots to get results on high back lighted scenes, with superior results. Variable angle LCD screen is also a versatile feature for self portraits. I think one should get this 18-135mm STM lens kit and enjoy the benefit of carrying one lens for travel and home photography.

Kulti
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful Camera
12/15/2012

Customer review by scottbd

5.0 stars 12/15/2012 by scottbd
by scottbd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to use after having another model of Canon Camera. Have taken some beautiful pictures in the short time I've had it. Would recommend, to anyone, for trouble free photography.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scottbd
Running Springs, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
missing important feature
5/4/2013

Customer review by AZ Cowboy

3.0 stars 5/4/2013 by AZ Cowboy
by AZ Cowboy

After purchasing camera I discovered it can not put "date taken' on the front of the picture. I am retired, take lots of long trips and hundreds of pics on each trip. My other camera applies 'date taken' to the front of my pics., I download them to my PC and when I view them the 'date taken' info is very helpful. With the T4i, it downloads the pics to my PC without "date taken' on front of pic. After the download I must then use Canon ImageBrowser EX software to manually add "date taken" to each pic. This is a VERY time consuming task, can often take several hours.I The Canon software developers seem to have dropped the ball, I am certain it would be simple to make this feature available. When I use my T4i I ask myself "do I really want this pic, if I do then I know in advance I am going to be hunched over my PC using Canon Imagebrowser to complete a task that should have happened when I snapped the pic.

AZ Cowboy
Sun City West, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
7/15/2012

Customer review by Pilcrow

5.0 stars 7/15/2012 by Pilcrow
by Pilcrow

I bought this camera today and love it! My first SLR camera was a Rebel Xti and loved that camera, But traded it in for the Canon 60D. Which I also loved, But it just didn't feel right. The knob on the left side and the noise of the shutter wasn't to pleasing for me. Then I seen the T4i came out recently and it was a mix of the rebel series with the hardware of the 60D. Some things are slightly different. But instantly I fell in love with this camera. It feels just like the XTI to me already, with the great feature of the 60D, plus some added goodies. The shutter noise isn't as loud, it dont weigh as much as the 60D. The quality is very good, specially the video. That is one of the reason I picked this camera up. The only thing I wish canon done for this camera, and I hope they read this. Is add recording of video footage while zoomed in 5x mode or 10x mode. I don't get why you can zoom in, but you cant record while your zoomed in.. I am sure this could easily be added and I hope they add this feature in a new firmware update soon. That was one of my favorite features of the 60D and I was hoping that same feature was in the T4i.

Pilcrow
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera
2/1/2013

Customer review by Pilcrow

5.0 stars 2/1/2013 by Pilcrow
by Pilcrow

I was one of the first people to review this camera on here. Now after owning it sense july. I must add, I still love this camera! There is only one thing I don't like about it still. I wish you where able to record while digitally zoomed in 5x or 10x. This option is available on the canon 60D and it comes in handy a lot during distance recordings. So I hope and wish canon would release an updated firmware that will activate this option. I also wish they would update the aperture feature. I usually shoot with 5.6. leaving the background blurry. But Lately I been wanting to get the whole scene in focus. Even with the aperture at 40. There is still a large portion of the scene that is blurred and there isn't much difference between 5.6 and 40. Canon, hook us up with a firmware update already! Thank you!

Pilcrow
utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amateur user with professional results.
11/28/2012

Customer review by Ken

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by Ken
by Ken

I have purchased a number of cameras over the years, with this being my first DSLR. I am quite pleased with the quality of the pictures and ease of use. I have two young daughters who are constantly on the move. With my other cameras, those 'magic' moment shots typically result in blurred images. The T4i gave me new hope and opportunity to captures those moments with crystal clear, professional looking pictures and videos. This is a great camera and look forward to fully exploring all of its capabilities and continue to capture our family in motion through the years. The only con I have for this camera is when taking videos in AF mode, the AF noise is captured in the video. It's tolerable, but could stand to be a little quieter.

Ken
Las Cruces, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Going DSLR
8/25/2012

Customer review by Mike

4.0 stars 8/25/2012 by Mike
by Mike

After of year of having to thru hurdles to use my EF lens for video. I finally decided to trade in my old xti & Cine-camcorder for a Canon DSLR. Originally I was leaning towards a 7D, but 3 gens of 5's later, I find it still quite expensive. So I compared it to the T4i. EF/EFs compatible,Faster, same sensor & custom WB,Flip touch screen,follow focus & stereo mic. I would like to see a stronger body. I always liked the Rebel's size but I wouldn't cry over a bit more armor. And it seems short on video options. For example it would be nice to have the same fps options if not more, for all video modes, a shot capability over 29.58 minutes. Altogether its pretty solid for the price.

Mike
Charleston,SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A powerful piece of equipment!
10/19/2012

Customer review by Stonewall

5.0 stars 10/19/2012 by Stonewall
by Stonewall

I upgraded to the T4i from a T3i. I was optimistic given the reviews, and after a few days of use am happy with the decision. Basically, Canon bred the T3i with the 60D, threw in some brand new features, and the result is a very powerful camera. The sensor has been updated to permit continuous autofocus during video. I don't have an STM lens yet, but it works just fine with my 24-105mm L. Although I rarely shoot in Live View, the ability to pick your focus point by touching the screen is great. The touchscreen is very responsive and very helpful for changing settings quickly. The T4i picks up the shutter mechanism and autofocus points from the 60D. Five fps is noticably faster than 3.7 in the T3i, and with a UHS-1 card I am getting 7-8 shots per burst in RAW. The new Digic 5 processor seems to add a lot, it has 6x the processing power as the Digic 4 chip. My low light sunset pictures have much less noise, the clarity is amazing. Best of all, all of my T3i accessories work with the T4i. My Canon battery grip and remote and wired shutter releases carry right over. I've seen some reviews online that claim the improvements over the T3i are slight, but I disagree. While outward appearances are almost identical, the guts of this camera have been significantly upgraded on all fronts. Good job, Canon!

Stonewall
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice camera
11/18/2014

Customer review by Chuck in AZ

4.0 stars 11/18/2014 by Chuck in AZ
by Chuck in AZ

I replaced a Canon XTi with this one and I was surprised at how much sharper my images are as I mainly got it for the new features. I liked the idea of a touch screen but quickly learned that was the worst thing they ever added. After a couple of outings where I accidentally screwed up my images from resetting the camera by bumping the screen with out knowing it, I quickly disabled that feature (once from RAW to small images). I do like the live view with the multi-angle screen so I can see it from many angles. I also do not use the video so I wish that I had not purchased the STM lens as it does a great job on auto focus but that is at the expense of manual focus. You have to turn the focus ring so many revolutions that, for practical purposes, it doesn't have manual focus. A few times it has locked up for no apparent reason and the only way to reset is to remove the battery. One trivial thing, I wish the sound of the shudder release was more substantial as it sounds rather cheap. Over all, it takes great daytime pictures and some (with luck) at night but the auto focus doesn't work on stars and neither does the manual focus. One previous reviewer stated he wished he could put date on the front. I can't even imagine doing that with a serious camera and serious photos. That is what the metadata is for (or point and shoot cameras).

Chuck in AZ
Tucson, AZ
Upgraded from T3i
6/3/2013

Customer review by Spencer

4.0 stars 6/3/2013 by Spencer
by Spencer

Great camera for taking personal photos. Not looking be be professional but the images are spectacular. I added a battery grip for extra capacity and bought a 45 mb card. I still had to refer to website support to obtain my 5 frames p.second. The self help and reference are awesome! This camera and it's lenses are a little pricey but worth the investment. Our kids play sports and we can reach out and touch them from the sidelines. It requires a trip to the library to grasp all the functions, but it wouldn't be worth it without all the bells and whistles. I hope to purchase a 28-250 IS lens to keep me from constantly changing lenses.

Spencer
Lilburn, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
EOS Rebel T4i Body
5/27/2013

Customer review by Steviewonder

4.0 stars 5/27/2013 by Steviewonder
by Steviewonder

I had an XTI with lenses so I did an upgrade with the T4i Body only. All lenses work very well. Bought Class 10 32GB Memory cards for the camera. Am using the camera in Manual for Video as my lenses are not STM, which is a silent focus lens. Video is really sharp. Stills snap out at you. Have not had to do much post processing except cropping so far. Build quality is very good with very good fit and finish. Using an aftermarket Battery Grip unit that holds 2 batteries. Also bought aftermarket batteries that have 1700MA capacity versus the 1100 that comes from Canon. Two of these batteries is 3X the single Canon battery

Steviewonder
Atlanta, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Master/Slave flash control...
11/25/2012

Customer review by Chibins

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by Chibins
by Chibins

I have owned nearly every one of the Rebel Txx bodies in sequence as they have been released and I just traded in my T2i for a T4i and I an thrilled with all aspects of the camera except flash control. With the T2i I could use my 580EX2 afixed to the shoe of my T2i and use it as the master transmitter to all my other slave flashes. The T4i does not allow this and I am forced to use the internal transmitter of the T4i. This is a problem because I can't put my 580EX2 on a cord and aim it at slave flashes behind me for synch firing. Canon, please fix this in your next firmware update!

Chibins
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect
10/6/2012

Customer review by Don

5.0 stars 10/6/2012 by Don
by Don

The quality of the SD card makes a huge difference on the speed of rapid shots and image processing. It does a great job at controlling the Eye-Fi SD Card through the touch screen. You can turn on and off the Eye-Fi card or check the connection status. I've shot several hundred photos with this enabled before the battery ran out. Not sure why people says it is noisy. It sounds like any other DSLR. There are settings to turn off noise (beeps/clicks) Told by friends that it is almost exactly like the t3i except it is faster, higher quality and has a touch screen.

Don
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera for the price, but...
10/22/2012

Customer review by Mike

5.0 stars 10/22/2012 by Mike
by Mike

I waited patiently through the recall to get my hands on this camera with the STM lens and I was not disappointed. Compared to previous Rebels this one is definitely a leap ahead. Focus is greatly improved in both accuracy and speed, noise is less noticeable when shooting with higher ISO, and the menu system is generally easy to navigate. One drawback I have come across is during Live View shooting, a non-Canon compatible flash unit or remote flash trigger will not fire. You must use a device that can communicate with the camera through the hot shoe.

Mike
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing
8/19/2012

Customer review by Good Guy

5.0 stars 8/19/2012 by Good Guy
by Good Guy

I upgraded from a T1 to the T4 (with the new lens as well) and the improvements are quite nice. Having used a T1 I found the transition to the T4 quite easy. The sharpness of the pictures is significantly improved. Quality can be better as well with a wider range of controls. The larger swiveling LCD is a nice add too as is touch screen. It does feel a bit heavier but on actually weighing the 18-135 lens against my former 55-250 there is only about 40 grams difference. I'm looking forward to using the T4 on an upcoming trip to SE Asia.

Good Guy
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Could of had better
10/6/2012

Customer review by btregs

4.0 stars 10/6/2012 by btregs
by btregs

Its a great camera i love it takes great photos! However when i have it in video mode its very noisy which is one thing i do not like about it. I mainly got it as a camera to video with because all the options with the focus and dof shots its great for what i am looking for. Dslrs are great for that. I was hoping to get skate videos and ski videos but it 40%-60% the picture is noisy. I am gonna try and send it to canon and see f they can help and if that fails i might have to switch to the 60d or t3i to fix my problem.

btregs
east coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lock lens?
1/12/2013

Customer review by PalaDolphin

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by PalaDolphin
by PalaDolphin

The 18-135mm IS STM comes with no documentation. So, when I used the EOS Rebel T4i Instruction Manual to look up what the Lock button on the lens does, it is nowhere to be found. None of the other lenses I bought had it. It appeared to do nothing. I discovered its use accidentally. The button only slides when in its in its widest position. Once locked, you can no longer zoom. That's all it does. It doesn't lock in any position, only in its widest position. There is no documentation for this feature.

PalaDolphin
Saint Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best camera for price
10/2/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/2/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This camera is a very great camera. It is very reasonably priced for everything that you get along with the camera. The features of the camera are amazing the touch screen works perfectly and it isn't a light cheap feeling camera. It is very study it got dropped onto rocks the first day I had it and it only got a tiny scratch and works great still. The battery life is great even on a really cold night you get a lot of life out of it. Although the focusing of the lenses is a bit noisy.

An anonymous customer
Bozeman Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
slow operation in manual mode
12/16/2012

Customer review by jdj309

3.0 stars 12/16/2012 by jdj309
by jdj309

in P setting will only take 3 pics then stop and start taking pics again in jpeg or raw modes .thought it might be the memory card but put card in my t2i and worked perfectly at 31 pics without stopping.did have this problem with my t2i sent it to canon and said it was a bad shutter this unit is only 2 weeks old. in manual mode i do a 10 second exposure and will take 30 seconds to one minute to process. t2i takes only 1 to two seconds to process with same card....

jdj309
tularosa ,nm
Would recommend to a friend? No
Recommended Product
9/11/2012

Customer review by AgentRon007

5.0 stars 9/11/2012 by AgentRon007
by AgentRon007

I love my T4i for what it is. Though I do think they could've gave a little bit more in the upgrade from the T3i..it's still a great dslr...besides the short battery life there's nothing to really complain about...it takes great pics especially if you get the one with the STM lens..excellent camera for a beginner or someone who's starting to understand the logistics of photography like myself. Just another great product by Canon!!!

AgentRon007
Long Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews